Save the Last Dance for Me (2004)

Sort by:
Write a Review
_Rosie
29 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 22, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Let me start off by prefacing that I never write reviews but I noticed that no one has reviewed this drama & felt I had to rectify that glaring omission.

I stumbled across this drama never thinking I would really like it that much I had read the synopsis in MDL & was intrigued, anyway I was hooked from the first episode (which is rare). The main actors played their roles really read more well sweet without being saccharine.

What I liked best about it was the story yes its a a makjang & if you don't like that then steer clear, I personally love makjangs :D

The story had twists & turns & always kept you glued to your seat breathless with anticipation as to what would happen next. I found myself shouting at the screen at the near misses/missed opportunities for the protagonists & I am sure you will as well.

The whole look of the drama looks a little dated (fashion wise) as it is from 2004 but that didn't really phase me.

I have given a low score to the music simply because it wasn't particularly memorable to me.

Also a low re-watch score as I rarely re-watch dramas as I have too many to watch on my Plan To Watch List.

If you like dramatic, fast-paced storylines with lots of cliff hangers & good acting then this is the drama for you.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
biniBningPunkista
10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 11, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I have been thinking so much about the title, because it never really made sense to me even at the very end. Why the title? Koreans has this weird way of putting in titles to their drama which sometimes doesn’t make sense (or maybe it's just the translation?). I will dwell on title confusion some other time, but for now, let me talk about the drama.

Save the last dance is melodramatic read more so don’t expect yourself to smile all throughout the episodes because, I’m warning you in advance, you won’t. There would be action scenes in which I have noticed in most Korean melodrama series, they never cease to insert any fist-fighting-kick-ass-moves to make a statement that this is where all troubles began. Then after all these, the romantic moments come in along with conflicts.

The story revolves around two different people who have an entirely different family background: Kang Hyun Woo get’s the dose of amnesia, while Ji Eun Soo helps him recover his memories. In that period of time, romance blossoms and when things were going smoothly for both of them something tragic happens in Eun Soo’s end. Then the plotline gets pretty much out of this world after that.

I like how the story ran not letting you know what would happen next. The twist and turns at the ending and the portrayal of the characters were a bit refreshing after watching too much rom-com with predictable sub-plots. It’s quite amusing to see them running around, chasing something which may or may not be there because in truth, they’re just confusing themselves for the things they’ve done to each other.

Another highlight of this drama is the sound track. If it’s possible to be in love just because of a song… then I was probably already in love when I was watching this drama. The main theme song had a very nice composition and the lyrics (yes it was translated to English as well, that’s how good the song is) was simply love.

What made me recommend this drama are the story line and its romantic moments. That hooked me into the drama big time, then throw in the OST, ah… just perfect.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
makala
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 9, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
YOU WON'T GET BORED

I just finished watching it, so I'm still a bit disappointed that it seemed a bit redundant towards the end.
But overall it's an OK drama:it's interesting from the beginning;
you get charmed by the romance, even more so thanks to the beautiful theme song; the pull to go on and see what's going to happen (even though at times you can easily predict it)is somewhat strong; the read more actors aren't so bad and lastly taking into consideration that it was aired in 2004, when the dramas seemed to be a bit more exaggerated than now, I think that it's not a bad drama.
I got annoyed by the plot at times, but the overall feeling made up for it.
So I didn't fall in love with it, but it wasn't bad either.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
DreamingKoreanBallad
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 31, 2014
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This drama is one of my favorite romance dramas ever, I first watched it in 2012 I think, and the re-watched it again in 2013 - and finally I bought it <3
The story was really nice from the beginning to the end, I love how they met and how their relationship developed. To me this drama depicted the true "strength" of love - no matter what other people were telling them read more to do, they stayed true to their feelings. The poor guy (Ji Sung) loses his memory twice in this drama lol, the first is how he got to meet (Eugene)'s character, and the second time is when he forgot about her and the life he lived with her, when she comes back into his life however - the feelings are still there and it is beautiful to see how they are drawn to each other again (obviously she knows who he is, it's just him that doesn't remember).
Like there is on other dramas like: Stairway to Heaven, Tree of Heaven, 49 Days ectra - there is a significant necklace that holds their memories <3
Cast: is amazing, Ji Sung played his role really well and he was the handsomest I've ever seen him in a drama (p.s - this is also the drama where he met his wife Lee Bo Young). Eugene plays her role exceptionally well too (been a fan of hers longer than his).
Music: is to Live for! my favorite songs (there are 2 versions of each - one in Korean and one in English): Give My Love and Our Love Will Always Last by: Edward Chun - they are beautiful in both versions <3
Re-watch Value: is a sure thing - since I've already re-watched it and can re-watch it again anytime <3
The title of this drama is revealed somewhere in the middle of the drama - it's really neat (and based of the original song)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Grace lander
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 5, 2016
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I recently re-watched this series after many years, and wow it's still an awesome show. The main lead couple are perfectly cast for their roles, and this is definitely one of my favorite drama starring Ji Sung and Eugene. I actually don't remember how the story goes...but the sad scenes still managed to make me cry. It's funny i have this series in my closet for years, and couldn't get rid of read more it because I know it's a good drama. Then when I finally wanted to re-watch it I couldn't find it, and so I had watch online instead. Now I need to go get a HD copy of this series from my sister.

The soundtrack to this series is very beautiful. I remember listening it frequently when I was in college. To be honest this is not the first time I re-watched this series. I watched it so many times before but it has been a very long time since then.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
ShEy
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 1, 2015
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
I was thinking on how to rate this drama. I thought of the year it was aired, level of cast and other important factors. I did that to give consideration to this drama. However I realized, it will be unfair to other dramas I've rated and plan to watch so to be fair and square, here's my verdict.

The story is very promising. IT has really great potential and great cast. But read more as you go on and continue with the story, 70% of it is flat. Meaning, its lacking. 10% for me goes to the first episode which slapped my interest and the remaining 20% goes to a very beautiful few last episodes.

The cast are great if you look at them now but this drama showed that they are not that great wen they were young. The acting for me is forced. It showed a lot of crying but I did not feel the emotion (except for the last few episodes). Aside from that, several scenes showed they're just acting. They don't feel their roles.

The music hit the spot on those last few episodes. IT was playing the whole time through out the drama but it doesn't have the FEELS if you know what I mean.

So all in all, I feel that if there would be a remake of this one, with ji sung and eugene, this will be a big hit.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
PrettyCarEye
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 5, 2012
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 3.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Aigoo ... where to begin ...

This drama is melodrama personified.

The story started out with great promise, but quickly got derailed by ridiculous, nonsensical plot devices (I mean, how many damn time can one person disappear?), unreasonable character behaviours (faced with a problem? Don't stick around and deal with it - disappear!), convenient changes to the story line to suit the writer's purpose. Needless to say, such changes did not make read more a lick of sense to the over all set up of the story thus far.

The writers certainly did not appear to be writing with thinking people in mind since they pretty much went on a rampage of insulting the average viewer's intelligence and common sense.

With the exception of Ryu Soo Young, the acting was exaggerated and unengaging, but I'm not sure if this is due to the actors being bad performers or if it's just the bad material they were given to work with. I have a sneaking suspicion it is the latter rather than former. Whichever it was, the heroine and her perfectly flawed reasoning for doing the dumb sh-- she does got on my nerves. The hero wasn't much better. At the beginning of the show I was really drawn to his rebellious streak -- he was doing his own thing whether his family approved or not, but as the show progressed he became this wimp of a man who allowed others to yank him around like a puppet on a string.

The only notable performance was that of Ryu Soo Young who was surprisingly good at portraying the ruthless, tortured antagonist. I had previously seen him in 18 vs 29, a drama in which he played a cute, wholesome guy next door type. It was a role I thought suited him well, but his spin in Save the Last Dance For Me made me look at him in a new light. In fact, there were times when I wished his character was the lead, and not just because he's cute and I have a major crush on him, but because he was so much more interesting than our limp noodle hero. Because of him and a few of the supporting cast members I'll give acting/cast a 7.

I probably would not have cared about all the absurdities that take place in this drama if the romance was solid enough to distract me from it. But as soon as the characters had a moment of happiness some nonsense would occur to tear them apart.

Ironically enough, though, this show was like a train wreck you just couldn't look away from no matter how ugly it was. With all the eye rolling I did it's a wonder my damn eyes aren't permanently stuck in the back of my head.

I can say with a fair amount of certainty that I will not be re-watching this anytime soon, if ever. If you're like me and you can only suspend belief for so long before things start making you go WTF, skip this drama. The ending is satisfying, but overall I don't think it is worth the emotional investment to get there.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
DresdensDaringDamsel
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Aug 12, 2015
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
While entertaining, this show has almost every drama cliche in the book. If you're a fan of classic films you will recognize a lot of the plot lines. The beginning is like "Random Harvest", the end is like "An Affair to Remember", with a large dose of extra melodrama in the middle. I found it predictable, but that doesn't mean it wasn't also entertaining.

The acting was very well done. Lee Bo read more Young and Ji Sung have great on-screen chemistry together, especially in the first part. Even though a lot of the scenes were things you saw coming or cliches you've seen before, they were done with such heartfelt emotion that you don't really care.

It definitely has it's flaws, bit I had emotional investment to watch to the very end. Though that being said I doubt I'd sit through the whole thing again. Maybe if they did one of those condensed mini versions like they did on Love Rain? (Which I personally think didn't need any shortening.)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Save the Last Dance for Me

Alternative Titles

  • Native title:

    마지막 춤은 나와 함께
  • Also Known as:

    Save Your Last Dance for Me;The Last Dance Is With Me

Details

  • Country:

    South Korea
  • Type:

    Drama
  • Episodes:

    20
  • Aired:

    Oct 23, 2004 to Jan 2, 2005
  • Aired On:

    Saturday, Sunday
  • Network:

    SBS
  • Duration:

    1 hr. 5 min.

Statistics

  • Score:

    7.8 (scored by 1,407 users)
  • Ranked:

    #927
  • Popularity:

    #924