If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.

Details

  • Country: Japan
  • Type: Drama
  • Episodes: 11
  • Aired: Jul 3, 2012 - Sep 11, 2012
  • Aired On: Tuesday
  • Network: Fuji TV
  • Duration: 45 min.
  • Genres: School, Drama, Manga
  • Rating: Not Yet Rated

Statistics

  • Score: 8.1 (scored by 2,225 users)
  • Ranked: #634
  • Popularity: #518
  • Members: 4,379
Write a Review
SayItAintSoJoe
15 people found this review helpful
Sep 18, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
The remake started out good but eventually it just felt like a cheaper version of GTO. The original was a masterpiece and this one was just average. The new Onizuka was just not even comparable to the original. The side cast is what made this interesting at first, but eventually even they couldn't pull off the show for me. I wouldn't say that it was bad, but it just wasn't that great IMO. I'd say that if you've already seen the old one then don't bother watching this one unless you really really want to. And if you have not seen the old one then watch the old one instead of this one.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
George
6 people found this review helpful
Jan 31, 2013
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I loved this drama. I hadn't seen the original live action or read the manga so I was new to the story. I thought the plot was amazing, but after watching this I went onto watch the older version and can see why people say its better. However I prefer this version because it is much more modern and more violent.
I thought the cast were really good- at lot of actors I had never seen in anything before- it was nice to see Kawaguchi Haruna in something other than Ouran. Shirahama Aran was brilliant and was the best out of the young actors in my opinion. Sometimes I thought it could have been acted better, but overall it was good.
The music was fine, the problem I have with music in most dramas is that sometimes they pick music that doesn't fit with the scene and ruins it for me, but GTO didn't have that!
I've already watched this twice and have just brought the DVD so I think its safe to say its now one of my favourites!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
chownz
7 people found this review helpful
Aug 31, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I watched the original live series some time ago, and read one or two of the mangas. So its with a suprise that a remake was done this year, but I can honestly say that I've enjoyed this remake and though the original was fantastic; this is more modern and very up to date.

I can honestly say that with the currently episodes online I have watched them for the second time, and being that its still 'on air' it will take time until I get to watch them all (one episode per week).

So if your looking to watch some light laughter and light hearted plots and usual teenage agnst!

Then take this series as one to watch, you wont be disappointed...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
DrMarmelo
3 people found this review helpful
Dec 29, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I have been a lot into high school based dramas lately and liked most until now , but this one is a lot different from your standard high school based drama it includes some violence, some romance and a lot of frustration it will seriously make you never forget this drama
The story was really good plus the acting makes it the almost perfect drama, the only thing that could be better is the music even though it is pretty good

So far my favourite drama
Was this review helpful to you?
18jade
2 people found this review helpful
Aug 27, 2013
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Watching 1998 version I believe i gave it very heigh marks. I'm not saying this is bad far from it i'm just saying this one in comparison isn't as good but it still is a great drama. I first comparing this to the 1998 original. For the ending (don't worry no spoilers) I thought this one was on par with the original although they took slightly different routs but both ended in almost the same ending, although i thought that this one added an unneeded element in the end which you know they'r gonna resolve right away. The cast in this one pulls it off quite well although in the later episodes i do find myself not as interested , although this might be because they're trying to fit a bit more story into 11 episodes, I felt that the last few episodes before the last episode were kinda almost boring and that spoils some of the rematch value. All in all a good show if you have the time you should watch it but if you haven't scene the original go watch that and the other golden school Drama's first.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
OneLifePillow
2 people found this review helpful
Jun 2, 2013
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 10
Love, happiness, and togetherness. All the things are the messages this drama gives. Just as a teacher should teach. Onizuka-sensei teaches and reaches out to his students on how life should be. Things like money and being successful are important but he teaches how to do it while being happy. Its something we as a society have forgotten. We focus on being the best, being successful, and making money that we forgot what is also important. Being happy. The things he teaches are what inspire me to be a teacher. I want to help my students become successful while helping them be happy. Everything in this drama makes you think about what is important. I think this is something everyone should watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Bloodshirt
3 people found this review helpful
Jun 15, 2013
Overall 1.0
Story 2.0
Acting/Cast 1.0
Music 4.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
I found this remake to have been very pathetic and pointless because really they crammed so many events and took out many relationships and character traits from the manga.

In fact many of the characters were reduced to utterly one dimensional or even cameos to the manga/anime. Complexity of a lot of the characters was also removed. In fact almost all of the class and at least half the adult characters came across to me as pretty robotic!

There was not plainly not much effort at telling a story and much of the wit and charm of the manga/anime was taken away quite a lot. In terms of character personalities I barely recognized anyone in fact most of them were a GTO character in NAME only most notably Azusa, Urumi, Miyabi, Tomoko, Misuzu Daimon, Uchiyamiyada, Ai Tokiwa, Mayu Wakui and many others I don't care to mention

In fact the manga stays relevant because of the themes of redemption, corruption, abuse of power, being stuck in the past and/or ones ways and various others I don't think this made it more modern or relevant at all. In fact the manga stays relevant simply because of the themes of the manga.

Also the Onizuka in this is portrayed with almost none of the humanity of the Onizuka of the manga.

I thought this was a very lazy effort while I did not care much for the original live action this has softened my attitude to it because Takashi Sorimachi's Onizuka and other characters at least had better personality to them and at least they made more effort at character development and storyline.

All in all a dreadful, bland and pointless remake with wooden acting which the makes plainly didn't put any real effort into and from his blogs Fujisawa plainly wasn't terribly enthusiastic or genuinely impressed even though his wife appeared in it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
okashiicake
3 people found this review helpful
Aug 14, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Overall I would leave this show with a 9. Compared to the first GTO drama that has been made I much prefer the careless thug style that Onizuka in this show represents. It follows the manga well and the soundtrack seems near perfect for his heroic yet idiotic take on teaching.
For those who know nothing of GTO, GTO is about a thug like man who never completed any further education. He originally wishes to be a school teacher to pick up girls as he notices a man who has a high school lover. He is what most Japanese people would call a Yankee and has a very unique style in teaching his students lessons.

It is also nice to see Yusuke Yamamoto as another comedic role, you will spot him straight away if you were an Ouran fan! (same with Haruna Kawaguchi, its obvious who she plays).

If you want something to make you laugh, try here.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
kjlover
2 people found this review helpful
Sep 7, 2012
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This has the feel of gokusen but much more modern and whilst i got bored with gokusen eventhough i wanted to watch it. This drama just made me curious with the next episode and finished almost half of the drama in a short amount of time.
I havent watch the original versions. But the characters in this one are awesome, if you like the main guy in tumbling and other dramas. his funny here. I love when the gang gets together :D there are some hentaiii kinda scenes but it gets less as the episodes progress i think. i need to watch ep 6 and onwards. I like it more compared to gokusen. and there's some mysterious secret to this class soon to be found out...cant wait. hope this helped.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
ama-ya
1 people found this review helpful
Aug 25, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 10
I super love GTO. eversince I was 13 y/o. And now I'm about 21 and I still cry whenever I hear Onizuka's thoughts. Cry because of the life lessons I learned from him, and cry because of too much laughter. ;)

Kanzaki is my favorite character. I hope a lot of kids nowadays will learn a lot from this masterpiece. Just like how I learned and overcome adolescence and now pursuing my dreams. :)

This remake is waay better than the 1998 one since they stick more closely to the manga. Though they alter a bit of some situations and order of encounters with Onizuka, it is still justified by it's perfect coherency since the alterations are needed because Jdrama usually are short.

The anime has 50+ episodes and the manga is still continuing right now. So the alterations are just reasonable. And besides, they gave justice to the whole essence of the manga.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?