Fated to Love You (2014)

Sort by:
Write a Review
allyson
50 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 12, 2014
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
TL;DR? Just absolutely wonderful. Full of lots of tears and laughter and romance, this drama has something for any romance enthusiast.

I will admit something here. I dropped this drama three times! The first time, I barely lasted 20 seconds, so maybe that doesn't count. The second time I made it a whole 5 minutes, and the third time I made it to 10. I just could not stand the lead actor. read more He was weird, and that laugh was so awkward, but not quite in a good way like Dokko Jin from The Greatest Love. I thought there was no way I'd watch it.

But then something really awesome happened. One of my drama besties started texting me about how amazing her new drama was, and how much chemistry the lead couple had. I scoffed when she told me it was FTLY. So I decided it would get one more shot from me before being relegated to my growing dropped list.

And thank god for that! I started it up for the fourth time, and this time I made it to when the leads met. And then I was 6 episodes in before I even realized what was happening. This weird, annoying character had somehow managed to work his way into my heart, and I was absolutely hooked. That annoying laugh? I was now looking forward to it. His weird behavior? Suddenly romantic. It was like a switch had flipped, and there was no turning back.

I hope you forgive all of that insane rambling! I swear, I do have a point! Three of my other Kdrama friends had also started and dropped this drama after the first few minutes, thinking it wasn't going to be up their alley. That makes me think there might be even more of you out there who are hesitant about this drama, and I really, really want to encourage to give it a shot!

Lee Gun is a caustic, lovable jerk. He is the quintessential CEO character, a little brash with people outside of his circle and definitely a little self-serving. Kim Mi Young is the exact opposite, known as the post-it girl because she is easy to get rid of and she admittedly has no backbone or ability to say no. They are as different as night and day, and yet when they come together they are the absolute best versions of each other.

In terms of character growth, this show is the absolute best. I don't think a single character made it through this show without maturing and changing. This drama was sad at times, and I will admit to a couple scenes that had me bawling like a baby. But even through all of the tears, it is absolutely worth it.

If you've made it all the way to the end of this inane review, I hope that you will consider giving FTLY a shot. The romance, the story line, the characters, all of it combines to make an absolutely unforgettable story.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
amrita828
70 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 2, 2014
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Have you ever asked yourself what's more important in a drama? Plot or acting? Can a good performance turn a mediocre plot into something unique?
Fated to Love You answers this question with a decisive Yes.

Let's have a look at this plot. Aside from it being a remake of a popular Taiwanese drama, this is a collection of old clichés: doormat girl meets obnoxious rich guy, an incident of some sort read more occurs and compels them to live under the same roof, meddling – and maddening – relatives, random humour, misunderstandings, birth secrets, the 'other girl' and the 'other guy', all spiced up with a lot of noble idiocy (although this might be one of the few cases when the noble act is frustrating but comprehensible). It's not hard to see why I treaded on this very makjang field on tiptoe.

Therefore, my overall 9 has to be ascribed entirely to the impeccable acting and one of the best thought of OST of songs I've come across. Try out the first 10 minutes of this show, and you'll have no doubts the whole thing is going to be played on style, rather than plot substance. The performance of the whole cast is brilliant, but the two leads manage to outshine everything and everyone.
What could have resulted in two trite, annoying characters in lesser hands, becomes one of the best matched couple in melo/romantic comedy. Even when their plot-line drags – and it does, here and there – they are both able to sustain the silence and make it resound.

Jang Hyuk… wow, the man can act. Yes, I suppose this is a very superfluous statement for the many of you who know him, but this is my first time and I was enchanted. The character he creates here has no grey areas: Gun is so over the line he goes from hysterically funny to heartbreaking in the space of a few minutes. At times the two aspects are interwoven, and the viewer gets glimpses of his pain through his laughter. But his best trait in my opinion is that he doesn't give a dry fig about what people think of him: he goes on doing what he believes is right in the craziest of manners.
It doesn't hurt that the actor is seriously hot. Seriously. When he cuts his hair – this is not considered a spoiler, is it? - I was so distracted here and there I forgot to watch the drama and just watched him.

This said, Jang Na Ra is downright brilliant. For the first time in my drama addicted life, I loved a 'weak' heroine. There's a special quality about the rendition of her character that turns her weakness into strength, and her compliance into endearing sweetness. One can see why Gun falls in love with her, because the viewer experiences the same. Possibly, we all know from the start that Kim Mi Young will eventually change, and yet she keeps her true, generous nature intact. With her beautiful, huge eyes she speaks volumes and her chemistry with Jang Hyuk on screen is tangible.

Notable mention for Song Ok Sook, aka Mi Young's mother. I enjoyed every minute of her antics and rejoiced in her relationship with both her daughter and her son in law.

I already mentioned the music. As a rule, I only like instrumental pieces in dramas. I'm making an exception here not only because the songs are beautiful, but because each piece is chosen with the utmost care, emphasising in turn the fun, the suffering, the romance, the absurd. Isn't this what an Ost should do? Perfect score from me.

Because I believe the plot to be absolutely secondary in this drama, I'm sure it lends itself very well to future re-watching.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
manicmuse
15 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 8, 2014
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
First I'll admit that, based on the synopsis, I thought this drama would be extremely dumb (another shotgun wedding story???). I still decided to give it a chance, and adhere to my four/five episode rule (watching at least 4 episodes before dropping a drama). Since it's a remake or a popular Taiwanese drama, I figured why would they bother to remake something dumb.

After the first episode I was convinced I had read more made a mistake, and was completely turned off. She was such a doormat, the look of it was so cheesy, and his laugh was out of control... I had no idea how hooked I would be. As far as K-Drama Rom-Coms go, this one is now among my favorites.

The story is indeed over the top, with moments of deliberate cheese, random fantasy cgi, and completely unrealistic scenarios, yet the story had enough heart to make it all seem completely plausible. This drama made me cry multiple times, surprisingly & literally LOL more than I think I ever have at any drama, and these cartoonish characters suddenly became completely realistic to me. It got me totally invested in their relationship and totally addicted to the show. Yes, it's still mainly just a love story, with most of the usual K-Drama love story elements (like a conniving ex girlfriend and damn near perfect yet hopelessly friend-zoned 2nd lead), but It deserves a lot of credit for doing exactly what's expected extremely well.

The cast is exceptional. It's pretty big task balancing slapstick comedy, heartbreaking drama, and romantic chemistry, but Jang Na Ra and Jang Hyuk make it look easy. I've never seen either in a drama before, and I was impressed. Jang Na Ra portrayal of Kim Mi Young may annoy viewers who prefer a stronger leading lady, but I liked watching her character grow while still staying true to herself. Jang Hyuk's Lee Gun was my favorite. He was hilarious, he was charming, he was touching, and even his laugh grew on me. I loved the entire supporting cast ("hamo hamo"), particularly Mi Young's mom. The weakest characters to me were actually the unrequited loves of the leads, but I thought they were still very good. Daniel Pitt and Se Ra were less colorful than the other characters, but I was invested in their story lines as well.

The music was great. If I can keep hearing the same songs over and over again, and want to sing along instead of punch myself in the head, then that soundtrack is a success!

I could see myself watching this again, mostly because Lee Gun is so entertaining, but also because the story is so well done. I also don't see it losing any of it's charm with repeat viewing. There were really no dull moments, no repetitive episodes just filling up the time, and the last episodes didn't drag, wasn't rushed, and left no loose ends. I also really loved the ending. It did have the potential to be extra corny, but I thought is was perfect.

Overall, I say this is a must see for rom-com fans. I can't compare it to the original, since I didn't see it, but I think I now understand it's popularity. If you're not that big on rom-coms, but you're ok with entertaining stories that don't try to reinvent the wheel, then you may be pleasantly surprised by Fated to Love You just like I was.

My recommendation is to give it a chance, and you probably won't regret it :)

Also, I really want one of those Ellie Kim bags... seriously. And yes, I did just stalk Yook Sim Won on the internet for one. Lol!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
BullandPear
17 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 21, 2014
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I was absolutely addicted to this show for the first half. A charming and funny watch for those who can handle a little bit of unnecessary angst along the way.

My rating: 9.0

In Short: The first half of this drama was absolutely hysterical. As soon as the angst hit, the drama was a bit more middling, but still enjoyable. The Jang-couple chemistry was great.

Pros: A great cast, and a wonderful read more set of side characters. I particularly enjoyed Mi Young's mom, Secretary Tak and Dragon. I also quite liked the music.

Cons: Could have been trimmed down to 16 episodes with great effect. The noble idiocy was a bit too drawn out.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
scarleT
15 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 9, 2014
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Magical. Whenever someone talks to me about “fate” I think about bright stars, hearts, and sweet candy (not that this series doesn’t have none of the above)… needless to say I’m a skeptic about true romances, and that’s coming from a person whose guilty pleasure is romantic comedies. Perhaps I enjoy living outside of my slightly jaded reality by experiencing the made-up drama world? In any case, although in Fated to Love read more You (abbreviated to FTLY just for short term sake) sent me into a spiral of apprehensive, “did that just happen? How impossible is that!” moments, I love the fact that even the most coincidental meetings can send us on an unexpected life path, which is why literally fell in love with FTYL, every ounce of the jaded heart in me. Now, I will keep this review to a minimum, and I won’t spoil this series for anyone that hasn’t seen it because there's just too much to look forward to people, so if this genre is your cup of tea, then I'll try and convince you to at least watch FTLY because it is actually a pretty magical experience.

Sure, for some “fate” may be an elusive term, it may be non-existing in our time and space for others, and perhaps at the end of the day “fate” is for the wishy-washy people that can’t get out of a peculiar disillusionment of love (only viewing it as perfect) and would rather live dream-like state. Still, in this instance, I prefer living in a dream-like state while watching some drama’s, in this case, what FTLY you has is a combination of metaphors, life lessons, joys, emotional pains, and of course endless possibilities concerning the belief (and questioning) of true love/destiny.

STORY:
Although FTLY was adapted from the Taiwanese version, it definitely lived up to its expectations for being a lighter, more romantically charismatic series. From the beginning to the conclusion of the series, the melodramatic edge to the story filled up necessarily when needed for the plot development, and found that it didn’t drag along the story relentlessly, which was a positive aspect to this series. The humour/comedy in this series is one of the best entertaining factors in this series; I suggest that this is its strongest point for being funny even in times when there were serious moments.

CHARACTERS:
Lee Gun: You will always remember Gunnie. There are many reasons why, and I'm sure those that have seen it are probably going to agree. His bright, sometimes enigmatic appearance/expressions on screen right from the beginning brings this series into a often sweet, but charming edge. He is not the regular main lead trope that constantly berates/belittes the main lead girl. Gun is actually a decent human being. As a male lead he treats Mi Young with sympathy and respect, which I thought was commendable. Of course given the circumstances, all the characters express and act on certain things because of events, but Gun is admirable in his character. If anything, this makes this series redeemable because of the fact that Gun isn’t the stereotypical kind of male lead.

Kim Mi Young: Ahh, Mi Young, my heart bleeds for this woman. She indeed goes on an interesting journey of self discovery and independence, from a “post-it” girl to a wonderfully, talented girl that has the rest of the world ahead of her. Watching a character blossom into their own individuality, while grappling with emotional pains was visceral but also bittersweet. I really felt a “realness” with these characters, and Mi Young especially. The acting just felt natural, definitely not forced. I enjoyed Gun and Mi Young’s chemistry, so in addition to these interesting back histories of each character it was nice to see a couple on screen convince me of their bond.

Daniel: He was breath taking. His character is un-predictable, especially in correlation to Mi Young. Of course I couldn’t help myself by *fan girling* anytime I saw him or Gun on screen just smiling and of course, existing. But there was depth to his character, and I thought at least emotionally speaking, that there was nothing I didn’t like about his character. At the risk of spoiling any more details about these characters, I must say that there are plenty of reasons to watch this series. Aside from the good laughs, good cries, and overall good impressionable moments/dialogue; these characters are sure worth while watching over the course of time. I can go on and on about how wonderful they all are, but I’m pretty sure you get the gist!

SOUND/OST: Simply beautiful. I was already enjoying the music by the second episode. There was a combination of upbeat to melancholic music in terms of the atmosphere/mood of the series, which I thought was played out well. Most of all, the sound was memorable for certain moments in the series. You expected a certain theme/song for certain characters and then certain scenes with characters interacting. It was thoughtfully well done!

OVERALL IMPRESSION: From start to finish I fell in love with this series. It has a refreshing element to it in the sense that the humour and romance was balanced very well. I mean, I found myself bursting out in laughter for certain things Gun would say or do, and I'm sure if you have a funny bone that you'll enjoy it as well. Aside from the melodrama aspect to the drama, I do believe it did justice to audience members in keeping the story line engaging. I guess I was indeed fated to love this series even before it started because I still haven’t gotten over how wonderful it truly is.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
diana_list
13 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 6, 2014
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I haven't written a review on a drama in quite a while but couldn't resist writing one on this drama. This was a delightful drama. It was the first time I have watched Jang Hyuk in anything. Must say I am now a fan. The story line was easy to get hooked on. The characters had great chemistry. I watched this drama originally for Choi Jin Hyuk and he certainly did not read more disappoint...and Jang Na Ra was as adorable as could be. There were times that I felt this drama was a little "over the top" in craziness but that turned out to be part of the charm of this drama. I've mentioned how much I enjoyed the main characters in this, but I don't want to forget mentioning the others. This drama was filled with great characters. I don't normally rewatch a drama, however, I may make an exception with this one. I enjoyed the music also. I felt a full range of emotions with this drama. I laughed, I cried, felt happy and felt sad at times. I hope you will also enjoy this drama as I did.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
MysteryMel-Bookish
16 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 5, 2014
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Had fun riding the Gunnie & Mi roller coaster to love. This version of the Taiwanese drama was hands down grossly improved by the actors & onscreen chemistry. The humor, chemistry and story made this an easy to get hooked on and felt right for end of summer drama. Did the storyline change from the Tw version - not much... the comedy portions were endearing to the plot and not overplayed. For read more me the soundtrack was mesmerizing and well placed throughout the drama. The most poignant track, were the touching instrumentals played at heartfelt moments serving to heighten the moments at hand. The ending was nicely summed up and overall was the right length - no more -no less. Interesting that the two end of summer dramas are dealing with mental & family issues - life goes on. As a final note, the two leads looked like they had fun doing this drama, resulting in magnetic chemistry heartfelt through the screen, coupled with the remaining cast who just made you smile every episode. Well done and lots of HAMO HAMO!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
blessedsnail
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Aug 28, 2016
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
I've seen so many people comparing this remake to the original TW version and honestly, I don't understand why people hate this remake. As someone who has seen both versions, I think this version is equally outstanding and the comedy aspect makes it quite refreshing. It lightens the sadness of part of the plot, very clever! The original was more set to pull your heartstrings while this one is more playful. I read more think it just depends if you want to watch something more serious or something lighter and refreshing!

Unlike many other disappointing TW to Kdrama remakes, this one was amazing! I could see and feel the chemistry between the two leads and the feels were definitely there when needed. Each expression made was on point, especially at the heartfelt scenes. I've never seen either of the leads' works before, but they did a great job with their roles and I fell in love with both of them by the end! The plot is typical and VERY cliche but it has a nice twist to it. The pace was quite nice, maybe a little draggy in the end but not too bad. The first half hits hard for sure.

As for the music, Ailee did amazing. Her voice just makes you want to cry even more when you hit the sad scenes! I personally prefer the sadder songs for any drama OST, so I guess I'm biased already. The other songs didn't click with me as much but they still did what they had to: make you cry in a sad scene or get you hyped up in a cute/happy scene. I didn't really like the English song though...

Bottom line is: this drama is refreshing for a cheesy, cliche rom-com. I don't see a need to compare two dramas that were released in completely different years. Yes, the original was stupendous, but there is no reason to be closed-minded and not give the remake a try!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
purplenette
10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 15, 2014
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
FTLY is a rollar coaster of emotion. The story has some totally cute to extremely sad moments. Although it begins in a rather odd way, the rest of the story is typical with one twist that is traumitizing to the main characters. I don't know if I would call this a romantic comedy although there is plenty of both. I think it is more of an intense love story. The writing of read more the main male lead is frustrating to me, but his enteraction with the female lead is always charismatic even when he is being a total jerk. I have never seen the original, but I like this version.

What makes this drama worth watching is the acting and character development. Jang Na Ra is so adorable as Kim Mi Young. I like how her character blossoms under the guidence of both male leads. Although she becomes more confident, she doesn't lose that air of naivity and kindness. What can I say about Jang Hyuk? He can act any role he is given. Lee Gun is a strangely over the top, down to earth character. He takes life as it comes and deals with his emotions in peculiar way. I like that he is Mi Young's advocate from beginning to end (even when he is mad). That laugh is just too great. Choi Jin Hyuk's character, Daniel must be a glutton for punishment. He loved unconditionaly with almost no hope of it being returned in the way he wanted.

The music is great.

I might rewatch this some day.

If you like love stories, then this is a good drama to watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
aliencouple
11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 5, 2014
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
Story/Plot: As I had originally watched the TW version, I already knew what was going to be the main plot and for those of you who haven't I'm pretty sure this rich chaebol - kind girl kind of plot is not unfamiliar. However, even with the main gist of the plot being reused over and over again, the story FTLY managed to win our hearts. Why? The script, it was very strong. read more Throughout the show, not only did we get the funny, we also learnt morals and values. Sure as many of you know one particular plot tool received much attention in the story, but I would have to say that it was used pretty effectively in this show as a source of conflict. How our fated couple struggled to solve their conflicts that arised internally was what made this series an utterly beautiful one.

Acting/Cast (I'm also going to talk about character development here...so if you are sensitive to a little bit of the plot since it can be hard to draw the line, do skip ahead)

Jang Hyuk: Damn this guy can surely act, there's no doubt about that. He acts not only through his voice and his eyes but through his hands too (there was an article on this hehe) He really managed to show the emotions of Geon during all his moments, be it conflict, sadness, happiness, perviness, you name it. He managed to show Geon's crazy and yet precious side in a way not many other actors would have been able to. In fact I would think that among all the acting in this show, Jang Hyuk's was one of the strongest.

Jang Nara: And who can forget our Jang Nara portraying the ever-so-adorable Dal-peng-ie. During the course of the entire drama, Mi-young made some smooth transitions from a post-kid girl to a mature and confident woman who knows how to stand up for herself. Props to Jang Nara for making Mi-young so lovable to all us viewers. Mi-young was really a representation for all those seemingly normal girls out there who wasn't all that normal after all :)

Choi Jinhyuk/Wang Jiwon: Sad to say, I've never had much to say about second-leads, this could be my own bias. But as second-leads I guess they did what they had to do and they did it good. Choi Jinhyuk played that typical too-nice second lead well as he really got all of us viewers aching for him and I'm glad Wang Jiwon was also allowed to portray Sera in a more human way.

Park Wonsook: As Geon's grandmother, I was hoping she could have had more scenes and played a greater part in this story. But since this was due to the limitations of the script, it has absolutely nothing to do with the actor's ability. Park Wonsook definitely delivered the funny as Geon's grandmother :)

Choi Wooshik/Park Heebon: I'm very happy with the character development for these two characters. As you know korean dramas tend to have a side-lined couple and this two were an adorable pair. Even though Yong wasn't that good-natured initially it was understandable. He eventually made the cut and his innocence and adorableness and his eventual pushing for OTP made up for it :) I'm glad Ji-yeon continued being part of the plot even when she and Mi-young went their separate ways. The two actors definitely made these 2 characters very likeable.

Choi Dae Cheol: I remember not having very high hopes of Choi Dae Cheol initially as Geon's secretary as Anson from the TW version was simply wonderful, but of course this actor proved me wrong. Secretary Tak had his own set of funny as he always competed with Yong to get into Geon's good books. As Secretary Tak, he was really wonderful and helped to bring in a lot of funny into this show.

Song Ok Sook: I really liked Song Ok Sook's portrayal as Mi-young's mum as their relationship was really heartfelt and the way this actress conveyed the heart of a mother was also really heartbreaking so much kudos to this actress!

Oh Sulmi/Lee Mido/Im Hyung Joon/Jung Eun Pyo: I'm quite upset that the two sisters didn't really have any interaction with Mi-young to show their relationships as sisters. This is especially so for the oldest sister who barely had like what 5 lines? in this show. So again, this is largely due to the limitedness of the script. For the soap suds duo, I was generally okay with the acting and especially loved the new term they coined ;D

Music:
There was a range of music from VIXX's Ken's light hearted tune to Ailee's and Jung Dongha's emotional tear-jerkers. Megan Lee's Ready for Love was also great for OTP moments. Jeff Bernat's song was pretty cute too, do give a listen :)

Rewatch value:
Since this was a rom-com, and a pretty great one while I'm at it, it definitely has high re-watch value. The chemistry between the 2 Jangs is a huge PLUS (their chemistry is definitely not one to belittle) There can be slow parts especially from episodes 11-17 but they're important for the plot I guess, and there is a lot a whole lot of meta and funny to make up for it. Definitely worth the watch and rewatch and rerewatch and...*snail signs*

Overall: DAEBAK for all those rom-com lovers and all those SSBG watchers who enjoyed it but lamented the lack of some you know rice-cake making or some K I double S. Okay that's it HAMOHAMO I'll miss this show :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mivaaa
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 2, 2015
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Once, or rather twice, I saw a series just like this one and it was Taiwanese and that made me very wary about this remake. You see I really did like the taiwanese version. It was awesome and I didn't really thought good of the Korean remake. But the thing about this little show is that already at the first episode it made me eat my own words. It turned out to read more have something really great.
And why?

Firstly, the story.
The story is great. I mean come on its very romantic when a lonely and insecure woman that is looked down upon is kind of saved by the prince on a white horse (Come on, whether or not you like it, it's still very romantic) the thing is, where the show makes a turn from the typical White horse Handsome prince, is when you see that Lee Gun (our main lead) turns out to be this extremely hilarious nutcase. Good looking, Yes. Prince like, Yes. Sane, NO! But that is what makes the story differ from the Taiwanese version and doing its own thing.

Secondly, the cast.
The cast for this show is great. Fun thing is that the only one I knew of before watching was the female lead, Jang Na Ra. But I ended up loving the character that I thought I would hate the most. Lee Gun (Jang Hyuk) made me seriously love him in this show! He captured the crazy and nutcase(y) persona of Lee Gun so well and I felt that this man really don't give a F about how crazy he may look, he just went full on doing his thing and that ended up doing this remake a favor. It made the show so much more likable. It made the show so much more funny and when comparing it with its predecessor you really feel the difference just looking at the two main leads. The female lead, tho okay and really feeling like the post it note girl, sometimes felt like she was just there rather than being the biggest (second biggest) character that she was suppose to be. And even after the magical change that every damn character goes thru (in nearly every drama) she still felt the same for me and that was a tad wrong. However I do like Jang Na Ra as Kim Mi Young and she did do a good job. Maybe I'm just blinded by the great performance by Jang Hyuk, too bad.
The second male lead for me was totally useless. Sorry. I didn't like his character in T version either to be fare. And even tho I've started to like Choi Jin Hyuk quite a bit I really felt that he should've dissed this role. Because it was not memorable for me. I liked that Dylan (T version) never had a lot of drama around him, but in this version he ended up being a bit to much romantic. So the cast was okay, but really the reason for the score where because of Lee Gun. Awesome job!

Now we will talk about the music and here is also the reason for the magic that the show produce because this OST is perfection on it's own. It so wonderful and fits the show like a glove!I had to rewatch some scenes just for the perfection showing on my screen. Ailee is greatness itself singing the songs here and because of the show, I'm now a big fan of hers.I found myself bawling my eyes out and much of it because of the musical score.

The rewatch score is mediocre i know. The thing is that even tho I really liked it and all. I've sadly already seen the T version 2 times and even tho the two versions differ quite a bit, it's still the same show, at least based on the same story and in the end it shows. Maybe I will find myself watching it again in the close future, and to be honest I hope I do.

Overall and lastly, this show is good! Whatever you heard from me this show is a great show. Its a funny show as well as a sad one. It'll make you cry rivers and also make you laugh your lungs out. However If you have watched the T version you will compare the two, it's nearly impossible not to. I do hope that the majority of you reading this is newbies to Fated to love you because then I will whole heatedly recommend the K version to you. My mistake was that I already had seen the T version when this jewel came out and I just know that if I hadn't seen that first and this also was my first introduction then I would have loved it so much more. Truly a great show with an extremely crazy but lovable main lead that will make you love his crazy ass.


Happy Watching!
Mivaaa
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
meanie
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 18, 2014
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Simply: liked this! Didn't look that much exciting to be honest from the story line but the story flowed well and the characters developed along with the flow. Loved Jang Hyuk - he doesn't disappoint in all his dramas/films; loved the lady lead and the second leads. I wouldn't have put them together but they seemed to fit in well and there was chemistry between them.

This is a drama that focuses read more on the feelings and character development, the thoughts and emotions - and that's what I thought was refreshing. Some dramas seem a bit unbelievable but this one felt as if it could happen in real life... and so realistic that it could happen to someone. Loved the music too - I sometimes don't like dramas with too many songs but this had its faithful few and they brought on the emotions at the right time.

Nice!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Fated to Love You
Watch Trailer

Alternative Titles

  • Native title:

    운명처럼 널 사랑해
  • Also Known as:

    Woonmyungcheoreom Neol Saranghae; You Are My Destiny;

Details

  • Country:

    South Korea
  • Type:

    Drama
  • Episodes:

    20
  • Aired:

    Jul 2, 2014 to Sep 4, 2014
  • Aired On:

    Wednesday, Thursday
  • Network:

    MBC
  • Duration:

    60 min.

Statistics

  • Score:

    8.3 (scored by 11,658 users)
  • Ranked:

    #303
  • Popularity:

    #91