I am a teacher of Swedish as a second language. I’m thinking about adding “Swedish music” as a new feature in my Friday afternoon classes, that are supposed to be a bit “lighter”, more fun, than the rest of the week.

However, right now I have a group of new students and they are absolute beginners. Some of them already know some Swedish but not a lot. Soon they will be able to understand more but I’m thinking that right now it’s good to provide some translations when possible. (Some but not all of them speak English.) 

So, I’m here asking for help from native or fluent speakers of the following languages: Arabic, Turkish, Albanian, Thai, Tigrinja, Sorani, Kurmanji, Greek, Somali, Chinese.

I would like a translation of these phrases:

A famous Swedish song.

The Swedish anthem.

A lovesong.

A song for children.

A folk song. 

An old song.

A sad song.

It was written by.... in …. . It is (was) sung by …..

And if you have even more time to spare, also this sentence:

The Swedish anthem is about the beauty of the country and about the freedom we have here, far up in the northern part of the world.

I hope this is not too much to ask for! Please make space between the paragraphs (as above) so that I don’t mix up which translation goes with which phrase! (Also, if you read this and happen to speak a language not mentioned above, feel free to give me your translations anyway! I might get students who speak your language in the future.) THANK YOU! 

Hessa Volunteer Staff

In Arabic (Arabic in read from right-to-left. I did not include the dots cause MDL shows them in the beginning of the sentence; on the right):

أغنية سويدية مشهورة

النشيد الوطني السويدي

أغنية عشق or أغنية حب

أغنية للأطفال

أغنية فولكلورية

أغنية قديمة

أغنية حزينة

تمّ تأليفها من قِبل ؟؟؟ في ؟؟؟ وهي بغناء ؟؟؟

يتحدّث النشيد الوطني السويدي عن جَمال الدولة وعن الحريّة التي نتمتّع بها هنا، بعيداً في الجزء الشمالي للعالم