Pilansb:

Do you have a recipe for banchan?

Regular grocery stores wont have the authentic ingredients. In a couplr of weeks im going to make my first batch of kimchi.   I love the stuff.

I love the pickles!  I just bought my first bottle of kimchi this weekend. When you make your kimchi, various resourses recommended using the FINE grind of gochugaru for kimchi. (I am a newbie, so this is not based on my own experience. Just FYI :) ) I learned that it comes in coarse grind (for most cooking) and fine grind (for kimchi). I saw different types at each market, but not both at the same shop. I had a hard time finding it, which seems weird for such an important ingredient. 

If you search for 'Korean banchan recipes' on youtube or google, lots of recipes should come up. I made both Sesame Spinach Salad (amazing!!) and pickled daikon (dan muji). Banchan are all the little sides you get with a meal; so there are many different recipes. I also checked out a Korean cookbook from the local library.  Lots of banchan recipes in it. Title:  EVERYDAY KOREAN by Kim Sunée and Seung Hee Lee.  Has lots of cool pictures.  I hope to find more Korean cookbooks soon.

Good luck with your kimchi plans! Would be fun to hear how it goes whenever you do. Cheers!

@AlilaNguyen  I haven't even had Korean BBQ yet.  Am searching for a local restaurant. YUM! I can't wait to try many of the dishes you suggest here.

I've tried the kimchi and it's amazing. I really want to try Jajangmyeon and tteobokki. :)

I love Korean food! From Kimchi, to Kimbap to Bimbimbap and noodles... 

Need help making edible Sticky Rice... I have made a nice warm pot of sticky glop. 

Any tips on making GOOD sticky rice? I watched youtube videos, but am clearly doing something wrong. 

I washed and drained 1 cup rice. Let it sit for 60 minutes  in water. Drained. Added 1 cup water. Set on medium high heat until boiled, lowered to low heat for 15 minutes. Results = white glue-like mass.  ;-p