+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Hello from Japan

Hello from Japan

I originally joined to keep track of what I have seen and what I want to see, but certain forums caught my eye, so if I'm not going to lurk I thought I should at least introduce myself.

My screen name comes from a nickname my college roommate gave me.
    My Japanese roommate called me "Risu," which is a small mutation of my real name, and means "squirrel" in Japanese. If you write squirrel in kanji (which no one ever does) it is 栗鼠. The first character is "chestnut" and the second is "mouse" (a mouse or rodent that eats nuts is a squirrel), and if the characters are read individually that is "kurinezumi."

I am American, and I have been studying Japanese since I was a high school student. At the time anime and dramas were not as well known or easily accessible as they are now, so I started just because it seemed interesting and my high school happened to teach it. (In "Japanese years," or years since I started studying Japanese, I would now be a high school senior... scary)

My studying increased exponentially after I first went to Japan (in high school) and was exposed to Japanese music and TV. Conversely, I recently started studying Korean and my viewing of Korean dramas has increased exponentially since I started studying. (It is listening practice right? So I consider it essential to my studying...)

I first started watching Korean dramas though because I now live in Japan (going on 9 years) and they are popular on TV here. I started off watching them dubbed in Japanese because that is the default setting on the TV, but figured since I was reading the subtitles anyway (and Japanese dubbing voices really annoy me) I should switch over to the original Korean. That was the first chance I got to really compare Japanese (subtitles) and Korean (audio), and see the similarities and differences, and why I decided to study formally.