Sort by:
Empress Ki Episode 8
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
18 days ago
8/10

"The game of hide and seek is over! "

Yes! There's my fierce Seung Nyang! She showed them. Though her assassination attempt was silly and disappointing. We'll see what the Emperor has to say.

Yom the Scum, ha-ha! I love the name. Though I fear most of these villains are going to make it to the end before they get what's coming to them. The King of Goryeo is going to be awesome to watch.

The Emperor is very clever and read more funny to watch. However, I want to see more of him trying to out scheme El Temur.

There is something I truly love about this drama. The inner voices of the characters! Even the brat Empresses' was great when she was in the marital bed. I hope that continues throughout the drama.

At this point I am truly stunned that neither Viki or Dramafever have the license for this yet. It's amazing and considering how much work it is to view the series, especially because of its length, I bet (from my view point for now) that this would be one heck of a popular drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Empress Ki Episode 7
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
18 days ago
8/10

"Please let her be a court warrior, not a damsel!! "

So now that Seung Nyang is a girl I get to slowly watch her become a damsel? I know it's different now, but I still expect her to save herself and actually look like she's plotting. Show that head servant who's boss, one quelling and it would be over. Or if she thinks that's a bad course of action do it a more sneaky way.

Looks like she may not be in read more that position long though.

This series is moving so swiftly. So I applaud that. Also that Seung Nyang was found out so soon. It's more realistic that way. Though the King of Goryeo and Seung Nyang have to realize that parting was so much more then loyalty. Right?

The bad guys are really winning everywhere here. The good guys/other people need to have some small victories. The only one with real game is Empress Dowager, you go girl!

That note I'm very excited to see the King of Goryeo, Tal Tal, and the general team up. They could make some great allies.

Oh, and I'm still peeved at the Emperor. I get it the fans love Ji Chang Wook, doesn't mean his character is great.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Empress Ki Episode 6
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
18 days ago
10/10

"Dang nabbit, had to be that guy who finds out. Creepy sniffer."

So this is what truly leads Seung Nyang to the path of vengeance. To be trapped in there with him dying like that, vengeance is needed. Though I thought the Emperor (Todon, Ta Hawan, whatever that's what I'm calling him from now on) knew who he was to Seung Nyang. Now I'm wondering if he doesn't? Because he'd feel even more guilty.

Oh, and I have a comment for last episode when read more the doctor was all like "I've never seen a woman in so much pain before." Um, how about every day living. Childbirth. I doubt that Seung Nyang was the first infected arrow wound he's seen on a woman. Woman suffer just as much or more, after all woman experience everything a man can and things they can't. Goodness. That really ticked me off.

Also, what is with making the villains laugh so cheesey? Even the Emperor's bride to be has some serious laugh issues.

So this episode packs one heck of a punch. We see why things happen, why the Emperor betrays everyone. But we're left with the frustration that we know and yet the other cast members don't. El Temur is one heck of an evil foe!

This episode really revved up my emotions. I'm angry and so ticked! I feel just as helpless as Seung Nyang. Vengeance! Blood! I'm even ticked at the Emperor and want his blood. (Sorry my beloved Ji Chang Wook).

Oh, fair warning you will want the next episode right after this cliffhanger! Dang nabbit, had to be that guy who finds out. Creepy sniffer.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
18 days ago
4/10

"Cutie patootie! Oh, my that dream and the butt grabbing."

That dream Bong Soon had was insane. Hilariously so! I mean Mion Hyeok didn't look too shabby dressed as a woman, and then Gook Du's whole reactions. Just--even thinking about it makes me laugh! (I've already rewatched the scene too many times.) Honestly I really want to see the bloopers from filming that so I can see the actor's, and set people's, reactions. That butt grab! How did Ji Soo keep such read more a straight face?

The hoodie girl! I know that's how they're paths met prior, but I didn't notice the red hoodie was Bong Soon until this episode. I have a feeling everyone is connected. Oh, well.

Oh, oh! The whole The Bodyguard reference with the Whitney Houston song was perfection! I laughed so hard. >_< Not to mention Bong Soon's dad pulling out all his hidden money. The fractured toe that healed super fast. Bong Soon was totally into the gang wanting to make her their boss, she loved the hero worship! This episode just got me laughing.

The movie and dance club was too awesome. Though if she's that out of control when she's not drunk I'm pretty sure that the dance pole wouldn't have been the only causality when she's plastered. (Though I question crying at the super hero movies? I mean she has a secret identity to hide (that she can't keep), but not much in common with them otherwise.) Min Hyeok watching her dance and have a good time was great. I love that he didn't care what she said while drunk. His only response is that the morning after when she was acting all innocent about it was that she was cute, sexy, and such a "cutie patootie"! Min Hyeok's open interest for her is awesome! I love it! Though I wish he'd quit with the gay joke.

To be honest the writing for Strong Woman Do Bong is all over the place. There are so many plot things going on. Boong Soon parents both seem to have love interests. he love triangle of Bong Soon, Min Hyeok, and Good Du. Then the love triangle of Gook Du, Gook Du's girlfriend, and Bong Soon's brother. The weird kidnapping/murders, the person out to get Min Hyeok, Min Hyeok inheriting his dad's shady business, the development of the neighborhood, the gang that wants to get rid of or recruit Bong Soon, and the youngster gang wanting her to be their boss. That's just the in your face stuff. Despite it all I can't help, but be entertained. This is one of those dramas that is insane and I know there are flaws in the writing, but I can't help it. Park Bo Young (playing Bong Soon) is just too irresistible in comedy roles.

So will I be continuing this drama? You bet! I've gotten over my high expectations. Oh well, I'll enjoy the crazy fun.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
19 days ago
5/10

"Wow, like classic anime. "

Wow, this feels like a classic anime. Maybe that's just because I tend to like these kind of stories for my anime. Who knows? That said I like how Nobuko struggles with getting the courage to really accept getting "produced". I also like that it's this gradual thing and she's a work in progress.

What would really make this awesome is if neither boy or Nobuko fell in love. If they just read more became friends.

I love the feeling of this drama and how it makes me smile. Especially as Akira decided to make the paint thing so popular! He's cool enough to do it and makes it a trend. I loved the mafia suit that one student painted on. >_< I also love that it shows the struggles of adulthood. That you can't just be yourself and you need to enjoy youth why you've got it.

Just like this has a classic anime feel I'm wondering if all the foreshadowing will lead to something sad. Such as Nobuko giving up and killing herself. Just something along those lines.

Either way I really like this drama so far and feel like it could really take off.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
19 days ago
4/10

"Oh, I laughed so hard at Bong Soon's mom! "

"But still, don't you ever give up. You're just as good as Gook Du!"

Holy dramas. Bong Soon's mother just cracked me up this entire episode! Ha-ha! First she's encouraging her daughter to sleep with her boss and scolding Gook Du for being there and telling him to leave ASAP. Then she's scolding Bong Soon for not really sleeping with the boss. Encouraging ther to dress more sexy, and flashing her daughter read more her "sexy red socks"!! Oh, my. Her mom is so horrible, but I love her. >_<

Ah, I think the kidnapper/killer bride snatcher is one of Min Hyeok's brothers. At least if this is one of those dramas that likes to tie in everything. I think I read people think it's Bong Soon's brother. First off she would have recognized him and his voice, secondly no. I'd like it if it was someone totally unconnected. (Though if we wanted it to be someone "shocking" I'd vote for Bong Soon's dad? Her mom is enough to drive anyone insane!) Besides it looks like Bong Soon's brother is going to be sweeping Gook Du's girlfriend away.

Love that we pick up right back at the face off between Gook Du and Min Hyeok. Though to be honest I had completely forgot where I was in the drama, which doesn't bode well. Love that the scene kind of flips around to not just Bong Soon getting wrist grabbed, but doing it to Gook Du as well.

Min Hyeok going along with the gay thing is odd, but proving to be hilarious. As the quote up top lets you know. I love everyone's reaction to Min Hyeok "flirting" with Gook Du, especially Gook Du's response.

The reveal for why Min Hyeok hates cops and wanted to be a criminal when he grew up should have been so obvious to me, but I like the plug in now. For a moment I thought Bong Soon had hurt Min Hyeok's dads people. Turns out not, but I'm wondering where the gang leader (not Min Hyeok's dad) is going to plug in. Not to mention that it looks like Bong Soon is the new boss of the neighborhood gang! What?

Ah, so it looks like the kidnapping/murder stuff is going to be Bong Soon's hero journey. Interesting way of setting it up.

That said this drama is still a mess and I think I'm just going to have to realize that my high hopes need to be put to rest. I'll just have to enjoy the craziness and have fun. Though I'm loath to admit that so far the 2017 dramas I'm watching aren't what I expected. (Curse you Missing 9) I do love the over the top humor and all the potty humor. It works.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
19 days ago
5/10

"An interesting start to a warped cinderella/transformation tale."

This episode reminded me of why I like anime. However, it might not be anime. Instead it just might be the way Japanese stories are. Or, I don't know. It made me feel very nostalgic.

This is the start of a very non-typical way to tell a very universal and typical story. The loneliness of adolescent. Clicks. Bullying. Life. Youth.

Akira is the cool guy who works at being cool and liked read more by everyone. He pretends to have it all together and tries to believe that he thinks life is a game. At times he seems sage and wise. Others sadly lost.

Nobuko (AKA "Nobuta") is the odd girl out who is immediately targeted by bullies. Why her frank talk about suicide seemed like a rough place to start. The reveal that as a child she called her step-dad "dad" and he turned her down resonated. That one single action caused her to shut down and give up. It's amazing and it goes to show that no matter the age you can cause damage.

Shuji is an odd rich kid. Personally I feel like he's a pot head. He's got to be on something. (Though I've suddenly become very aware about my own arming flapping down flights of stairs. What can I say it makes it feel like I'm flying!)

I like the theme of creating your own world. Or to me it seems like your own happiness or place that you belong. The bookstore being a safe haven is something I can relate to. (I miss you Border and Waldens!)

There's a lot going on in this episode and I won't address everything. I will say I really like Sada Yoko the vice principal. She's fun/insane. The monkey hand thing was creepy and hilarious! World peace fools!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Missing 9 Episode 14
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
20 days ago
2/10

"Meh. It's stupid. "

So now instead of just the good guys being stupid the bad guys are too. Let's see, why would they not make as many copies as possible of the recording? Hmmm. (Though apparently they only made one. WTF.) Just. Ugh. The full story of the murder was lame. If you couldn't piece it together before . . . I just don't know what to say. So this episode wasted more time finally read more revealing everything.

There were some cute moments. Such as Bong Hee calling Jun Oh oppa. So that was fun.

Other than that I was annoyed. The pacing is so miserable. Not to mention that we're finally given why Gi Joon couldn't be with Ji Ah. Really it didn't need to be in there and I found it stretching things out. Why not just a forbidden manager and star relationship? Sighs. Even then it's not really resolved well. Ji Ah is cool though.

Points for at least trying to make it look like there was some effort to the plot and that Jun Oh came up with a plan.

I just don't see why we need two more episodes. Because whatever the writer pulls its gonna be so dull. I'm so sad how done with this drama I am.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
20 days ago
7.5/10

"HUGE Departure from source material this ep!"

On this episode, Hanabi tells Mugi they will start dating. And she thinks to herself that she wants all love directed at her, to win over Akane, including Mugi's. This is VERY different from the source material (the manga). I'm REALLY curious to see how they plan to develop this adaptation from here.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Missing 9 Episode 13
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
20 days ago
2/10

"The stupidity! Why would she touch a bloodied (clearly used) knife???"

The stupidity! Why would she touch a bloodied (clearly used) knife??? "Hi I'm Bong Hee if I see a knife that's clearly stabbed someone I'll put my fingerprints all over it for you!" Now there's a video of her pushing Tae Ho and her prints on the knife that stabbed him. If the writer remembers then Jang can probably frame her. Though considering how crappy the writing has become maybe it won't. read more There was only one thing that saved this episode. That is that for a brief moment we sympathize for Tae Ho as he realizes that he had not yet killed his friend. That Jang did it and that by that one action of trusting Jang his life went down a path that he realizes he regrets.

Of course you have to slog through all the stupid drug out bull crap! Not to mention flashbacks of things we've just scene. No whole long scenes were rewatched!!!!!!!! The humor is still stupid and so much of the character development is lost I feel nothing for this cast. Even the whole joke about Jun Oh falling to his knees to giver her the gift. -_-

Oh, and the reveal that So Hee was a villain was cool. The reality is that her might have been her boyfriend and recorded what happened, but she never did cave in to letting the truth come out. Instead she made Jun Oh the culprit so that the real murders would get away with it. All so she could black mail Jang so that she could steal and get good roles for herself. Wow. What a reveal.

Gosh. I don't even feel motivated to continue.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
21 days ago
8/10

"I feel a bit dirty after this episode. "

"I don't want to be alone. Being alone . . . makes me feel empty."

This episode made me feel a bit dirty. I actually had to check everyone's age. (Especially Mugi. *cough*) I think this twisted tale goes even further. Brother called Akane Hana when she tripped. Not to mention he didn't make a move on Akane until she confessed to being jealous of Hanabi. Ooooo, Brother likes Hana. He just read more won't go there.

Which means Hanabi's twisted plan just might work. Eccachan, looks like you're gonna be left in the dust. Poor Mugi as well. Hanabi's twisted mind doesn't actually care about loneliness and these people. She cares about Akane and how "she's stealing everything from her". She is only doing this because of Akane. Maybe Akane and Hanabi should hook up. ^_-

I have a feeling this is going to get so twisted fast. This also makes me wonder if Hanabi will target more than Mugi and Brother. If she'll target the student Akane was having a late night with? How twisted is this going to go. Holy cow I'm consumed! I can't wait for it to all go up in flames.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

"Pest control! Ha-ha! "

I like how this episode dealt with moving in. Especially so fast. They didn't really date before doing so. I love how he called the ring he gave her pest control. Though is it when it's on the right wedding finger? Because I wear rings on that finger all the time and I still get asked out.

Akito is still a smooth operator working on her brother. The brother is clearly on read more his side. Why not he's offering her marriage.

This was a fun and cute episode per usual. It was nice seeing Ryu and Asuka getting to know each other. On a radom note I'm surprised how clean this drama still is and the one kiss in this episode was a quick peck. Apparently this manga is supposed to be smut. With them living together I thought there might be hints of "adult" relations going on. Yet it's very clean. That's okay as I like the story revolving more on the characters.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Missing 9 Episode 12
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
21 days ago
1/10

"I lied, it got worse. "

Wow. What the heck is with this over the top and stupid humor? If this episode was trying to take it's over the top and drug out plot funny with over the top humor. So that wonderful balance of dark themes and humor that I talked about just got taken out to the shed. Boom! Shot all up.

Not to mention that I find Jun Oh super annoying. He's even worse than read more when he was first introduced. Not to mention that Bong Hee suddenly got stupid Bong Hee. What happened to the savvy survival girl? The one who thought about things?

I can't believe how the tone of the show and the writing took a dive. All the wonderful character building dead. I was so bored by this episode that I actually skipped/fast-forward. I tried to sit through it. The urge to dump this is strong. However, I need to know how it will end. Plus, considering how much I liked it in the beginning I need apparently suffer through the horrible "last part of the drama just killed it" episodes. Because I don't love myself enough.

I never would have guessed this show would have gone this way. I gave it too much credit and was enamored by it. Heck, I was so busy overthinking how cool the plot would be, and all the amazing twists, that I never predicted it would deteriorate like this. Not only is the plot predictable, but it's now just boring. I honestly don't expect much out of this ending.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Missing 9 Episode 11
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
21 days ago
3/10

"Ugh. Is it really going downhill like this? "

Okay, so I admit that I've had my frustrations with the how easy the main bulk of the plot is too guess. BUT the amazing character development and cast is what truly made this drama. Especially how the humor was so wonderfully blended with the dark tones of the show.

Well this episode kind of shoots that all up. It's like one huge joke! AND none of the characters really acted how read more I expected them to. In fact, Jun Oh was suddenly transformed into the annoying idiot we met in the first few episodes.

Gi Joon just keeps saying his sorry. They never actually talk like. "Oh, hey. CEO Jang is really threatening Ji Ah I can't help you right now." "Oh, well why don't we crush them so we don't have to fear and live with threats anymore Gi Joon?" Why that would be the smart thing to do.

This episode felt so out of place and ruined the characters. It wasn't as painful as the stupidity of the last episode, but close. I won't lie I laughed at quite a few things. Pretty sure I'll be going "Don't ask questions." for a while.

Still I'm really disappointed by where this drama is going. What a waste. Depending how the next episode goes it all may just spiral into stupidity. I appreciated how unique this drama was for Korean dramas, but it looks like it's going the way of landing on its butt for the end.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Missing 9 Episode 10
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
21 days ago
2/10

"One of the most stupist and painful episodes I've had to watch."

One of the most stupist and painful episodes I've had to watch. Why you might ask? Because the writing . . . was atrocious. So Prosecutor Yoon already knows that other survivors will be at risk. So yeah for getting there super fast before anyone else. Yet when someone calls him with proof of So Hee's murder he goes running.

Huge stupid issues that any freaking moron would realize:
1) How is read more there proof, the witnesses are proof. ( I mean the murder happened on a deserted island. Isn't the whole rush for survivors is because they're testimonies are the proof???)
2) Why would you ever leave the witnesses (your only proof!!!!!) unguarded. Especially after what already happened to two of them?
3) How could you not see it as a trap?
4) Just why!!!!???

Not only was this episode based on the idea that ALL the good guys are dumb, but then no one had a smart idea. Bad guys are entering the hospital and looking for Ji Ah and Gi Joon. They are on the first floor. These bad guys are locking things up. Firstly I don't think regulations will let hospitals put grates over the windows unless it's a psych ward. Thirdly they are on the ground floor. By fire code (yes it's the same for hospitals in China and since this was a ritzy one I'm sure it had to follow code) the window should open for fire escape reasons. Their might be a screen. If that HUGE window somehow didn't open why not immediately break the glass and get out? As Bong Hee did a bit later to escape after all the stupid stuff happened.

I'm so disgusted I can't even bask in the afterglow of Ji Ah and Bong Hee kicking serious butt.

Because Gi Joon and Ji Ah caved and sided with Tae Ho. Personally I would have said I'd go along and then at the conference say Jun Oh didn't do it. Or statements were coerced and that stupid woman was well aware of it. Because how could you EVER be safe with Tae Ho and CEO Jang? The instant they can you're dead. It's just the way they work. Besides that Tae Ho is a serial killer. He killed people when he didn't have too! I mean WTF!?

So girl power awesome. Gi Joon and Ji Ah's banter in the hospital adorable. The ending pretty cool. I was sooooooooooooo upset, and then boom the hilarious twist. Though I'm guessing he doesn't know what happened. I'm betting that the only smart person is Reporter Kim Ki Wan. Who probably sent the proof to the one prosecutor he knew that would probably be interest in it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No