If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
lee min ho Episode 8
0 people found this review helpful
29 days ago

lee min ho

lee min ho is quite an actor. good looking and charming. i love all his movies. faith was very good one. he played it well.
Was this review helpful to you?
Lee joon-gi Episode 1
0 people found this review helpful
29 days ago

Lee joon-gi

hum, hum. what a fine man. handsome all around. he know how to make a woman blush. that a fine young man. i hope he far with career. Lee Joon-Gi what a beauty? a good actor. he is hard worker and i applause him. wish him the best
Was this review helpful to you?
heartbreaking Episode 5
0 people found this review helpful
30 days ago

heartbreaking

Wow I just cried so much by the death of the Mother.. I felt bad for Kang San who had to fool his mom that he wasn't sane but I'm glad his mom knew before she died..

Nice, the love is now in motion..
Waiting on how Kang To will react to his mom's death and when will Kang San open up to his brother. And how will Kang San now live?!? Sane or insane?
And waiting on when will Kang To reveal to his childhood beloved that he is Master Young.

ALSO SHINJI'S HYUNG NEEDS TO SERIOUSLY DIE !
Was this review helpful to you?
30 days ago

What a beautiful story

Now they are married and Mieko is the happiest girl. She gets pregnant and she is afraid of how would she be as a deaf mother. Her fears are reasonable, her parents understand her; however, her husband and in-laws are dying for that baby. I think I was tearful the whole episode. Little things, like the doctor with the sign-language-book, or the mother-in-law being so happy with the pregnancy (a woman who was against their marriage at the beginning), or every time Mieko cries... Indeed a beautiful story.
Was this review helpful to you?
Sep 21, 2017

I just love Song+her friend

He is playing hard to get but I know he likes her too <3

and about Ye Eun... she has bad friends :( I'm sure its not her ex but her best friend that sends these messages...probably she dated her ex before everything happened..
Was this review helpful to you?
Sep 21, 2017

One of my favorite beginnings

It's been a while, but I watched this when it first came out. The first episode struck every chord with me, and after watching it again 5 years later, it still hits me.

I think the reason is because the first episode does an excellent job of creating a sense of nostalgia among the characters. Set in the 70s, the first few episodes are basically a huge flashback sequence that sets up the rest of the series.

This episode is not complicated at all. In fact, it's highly traditional, down to the love triangle and straightforward dialogue. The timidity and vacillation of the characters does well to evoke a sense of a different time, a "simpler" time.

This drama's soundtrack is among my favorites as well. Melancholy, classical, sweet and endearing. Another contributor to the sense of nostalgia.

To be fair, I enjoy slower dramas that focus more on subtly and expression more than dialogue. For example, whereas not as many people enjoyed the drama Summer Scent because of its slow pace and development, I had a blast with it.

I enjoyed the 70s portion of the drama much more than the modern setting that begins in episode 5.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Poor Dal Bong LOL XD Episode 2
0 people found this review helpful
Sep 19, 2017

Poor Dal Bong LOL XD

I didnt like him in the first episode that much, I didnt like his first encounter with Seo Wool but I feel bad for him in this episode. How everyone in this family always thinks the worst of him and beats him. Really made me feel bad for him even slightly more than for the father.
But overall the father is to be pitied, he is so nice but the children dont care at all. I think Dal Nong is the least bad Child(he does feel bad for the father sometimes) and the worst is the oldest son... Gosh I want to slap him everytime he comes in the picture with this annoyed face. He is so rude to everyone, almost a sociopath.
Was this review helpful to you?
interesting Episode 1
1 people found this review helpful
Sep 19, 2017

interesting

it's pretty good :) i love it, great start
the setting is very mice
Was this review helpful to you?
So good! Episode 1
0 people found this review helpful
Sep 18, 2017

So good!

I swooned and cried with the first episode. It is really good, the romance is so sweet, Kanno Miho looked so cute. My favorite scenes where when someone surprised Mieko talking thru signs. Very touching.
Was this review helpful to you?
Strong Women Episode 2
0 people found this review helpful
Sep 18, 2017

Strong Women

I would have had a review for episode one, but this will do. All I can say is that I really, really like, the strong women who kick butt! If only I had those skills! WooHoo!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
Episode 2
0 people found this review helpful
Sep 16, 2017

Four Stars

General Thoughts/Feelings
Feel like there's quite a high level of realism with the complicated problem of leaving the bullying etc alone vs butting in. I can really understand the characters, especially the students.
It really shows the real life problems in school with all the issues of telling on other students. I hate how easy the teachers made it seem like 'You just have to tell me and everything will be OK' or trying to understand the student, 'Is it hard? Are you getting bullied?' because no it's not as easy as they make it sound. Though I may not have experienced what the characters are going through, even I know that there's even more problems involved if they tattled on their fellow classmates. I hate how the school system here is run with the whole late fee since common sense would tell you that's a terrible idea. Also, how the headteacher thought it's so EASY to control a group of students like 'Oh, you're not doing a good job with class 2' urrrrrrm I'd like you to get the first-hand experience with them.
You can argue that In Jae's determination to 'understand' the bully and probably try to change him like some cliche bad boy good girl storyline and her consistent butting of her nose into other people's businesses just creates more harm. It's so excessive and she gets hurt too. This leads to questions like how does do they stop bullying and bad attitudes if teachers don't interfere and the answers are hard to find. Though she may have gained some respect from the students at the end, any other outcomes could've been possible in this scenario but she just got lucky.
As a student, I'd prefer Se Chan as a teacher WAY more with his unique teaching and good humour etc. In Jae is a bit too uptight and tbh, she REALLY has no power to do anything so I feel like she should stop because she's the one about to get laid off now.
Really just want to get to the bromance that I've been hearing a lot about

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?

Thank you author, thank u director and thank you actors <3

Wow... The kiss scene felt like it happened to me...
I mean, I felt hot and couldn't breath when he came near and while the kiss and shortly after that my heart really pounded O.O I really do ship them. They're so perfect together I could cry TTTT
And it finally looks like Mi Young likes him (in that way) too...
Oh oh, things will get sooo dramatic from now on. I'm excited > <
Was this review helpful to you?

Episode 24: Plots Abound--And Yes, they Consummated

In this episode, we are confronted with more plots within the palace, Li'er and the emperor continue to grow in harmony, and Han Fei is imprisoned.

1.In a very chilling, but telling, conversation, Prince Yan tells the emperor that it is hard to feel warm in Qin because he is from Yan. The emperor becomes annoyed and then asks him why he pretended to lose at archery and today at chess (after first admitting in the past he had indeed acted on feelings frustration and vented his anger by doing things to hurt others) and then is extremely annoyed when Yan ignores his question and congratulates him on his victory in a very friendly, if tired way after Li Zhong announces it. The emperor states he will be playing chess with Han in the future.

2.On his way out, Yan runs into Li'er who is delivering a scroll on the art of governing to the emperor as a gift. She winds up lending it to Yan.

3.The emperor loses in chess and thanks Han for not faking. It is basically evident that while the emperor is now on top, he is finding that it is very lonely when you have all the power and everyone is obedient to you and fears you (remember he wanted this early on). AND THEN the emperor tells Han he should get married and have kids (it's like saying I know you love Li'er but I am tired of it)

4.That night, the emperor is laying with Li'er and throws a jealous tantrum when he learns that Li'er lent the scroll to Yan. Now this is an important scene, because Li'er doesn't get mad. Just as the emperor has learned how to deal with li'er, she knows how to deal with him. Without getting mad, she calmly tells him, after he insists to know exactly what they talked about, that she won't do as he wants--so putting two and two together I figure he likes it when she is disobedient because everyone tries to please him.

5.Then they go to bed together. So I am certain that they are sleeping together.

6.Meanwhile, Han sees Ru'er and this scene happened already so its botched editing...

7.Then Han runs into Qing'er. They were both ordered to be here by the emperor, thus it is evident he wants them to be together. Then Ru'er walks in (makes zero sense) and tries to imply that they were being naughty. Han leaves, and under pressure Qing'er admits the emperor arranged this.

8.THEN the emperor reveals to Li'er, after questioning Qing'er, that he tried to hook her servant up with Han. Because everyone deserves to be as happy as us! Just like someone newly in love...anyways Li'er says you are basically an idiot and shouldn't have done that without talking to me but he says you wouldn't have agreed....

9.Now Ru'er is just always popping up in the right places, and she observes Han basically telling Li'er that he loves her and is okay with her not liking him back....

10.Jing nurses Lan'er back to health

11.Han Fei is happy with Lady Han...and adorably shy

12.Li Si meets with Ru'er, who plays on his fears of being supplanted by Han Fei to get him to do something bad...

13.At court, it is announced that in spite of their victories they have lost to Zhao(?); Han Fei urges the emperor to take down Zhao and not stop because Zhao will try to use this victory to forge alliances and Li Si takes this as a chance to not only blame it all on han Fei, but to accuse him of secretly communicating with the Han King and then LADY HAN appears with the alleged message!

14.In the next scene, Lady is shown being awarded by Ru'er and then Li'er learns that Han Fei has been arrested. She visits him secretly and basically says I know you are innocent but we will have a hard time of dispelling the lies planted by Lady Chu/Ru'er.

15.The episode ends with Li'er being kidnapped.

Thoughts: While the pacing was good the writing was not so good for this episode. I liked how they set up plots but maybe it was the translations thoughts but a lot of things just seemed really sudden and random. It felt choppy. Not a lot of things made sense. Its like the writers are yet again falling into that problem of moving into another plot arc but failing to transition it very well. I also think not enough attention was given to the consummation, since they built up to. Come on guys.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?

Episode 23: Lan'er is like Goku: she just won't die, and Li'er Maybe Consummates?

So in this episode Jing masters the super secret technique, Qin attacks Zhao, and Li'er and the emperor may or may not have consummated. It just isn't clear.

1.beginning where we left off, Li'er has Qing'er make up a bed for the emperor on the floor (!) and he yanks her down beside him and she doesn't protest. They sleep on the steps together (uncomfortable)

LOTS of flashbacks

2.The next day Li Si, at court, suggest that the emperor annihilate Han since it is so weak. He also suggests it would be good for morale. In contrast, Han Fei suggests they attack Zhao because Han is not a threat. he urges the emperor to focus on Zhao and Qi, because if he topples the biggest powers, then everyone will fear Qin and all the alliances will crumble on their own. Li Si then suggests that Han Fei is protecting his home state...

3.Later, the emperor plays a game of chess with Li'er. He asks her what she thinks. This is a crucial scene because the emperor refers to her as wife, and she doesn't challenge this, when normally she would be like 'I'm not your wife'. Also, it shows how they are settling into a comfortable routine, now that it seems like he respects her opinion and listens to her. She tells him that everyone at court has an agenda they are pushing but she believes that Han Fei is genuine and has no ulterior motives, regardless of what he says. She believes that he is completely loyal to Qin. However, she tells the emperor that he should be decisive and not allow others to pull his strings, essentially he has to make this choice on his own and no one can tell him what to do.

4.Then the Queen Dowager comes in, and the emperor looks annoyed but then we see that apparently Li'er dotes on her and has been stopping by to give her gifts. Li'er is very patient with her and takes her advice, however strange or eccentric it is to make her happy.

5.I love the cutscenes to Jing because it is very interesting that in the midst of Li'er finally getting comfortable, the emperor's plan of unity becoming closer to a reality, Jing is training to upend all of this. So Jing has a ridiculous training scene that I will admit is a bit boring but I think it's important because I think this shows us exactly what moves he will use when he ultimately confronts the emperor.

6.Meanwhile, the emperor and Li'er get into a bit of a dispute. It's very petty, and it is clear that Li'er is annoyed and overreacting: she assumes the emperor is irritated that she cares about his mother and also reminds him that she doesn't want to be the king. the emperor says fine, I won't mention it anymore and calmly leaves. Li'er is sort of left looking like the bad guy, and it annoys her a lot. she can't stop talking about it to Qing'er while Qing'er is clearly sympathetic to the emperor

7.Back to Jing. He learns the technique and goes to Lan'er but Lan'er is passed out and looks dead. Very dead. But she isn't. She wakes up and tells Jing that he should save Li'er but before she dies she wants to tell him that she loves him. And then it looks like she dies. In a panic, Jing breaks them out....

8.And then we cut back to Li'er who is still complianing about this petty argument while Qing'er brushes her hair. The emperor sneaks in, takes over, and pretends to be Qing'er while brushing her hair. she is surprised to turn and see him. We get a scorching kiss, and then he carries her to bed...and then its morning and they are holding one another with their clothes on>>>?? I can't tell if they consummated or if they are just cuddling.


9.Back to jing--I guess it's important because Li'er is essentially getting it on with the enemy while Lan'er is for all purposes dead--but she isn't! She revives and is surprised she is alive. Then Bao Ye shows up and has a knife to Lan'er's throat (Jing was distracted by a poem that is probably important). Then Yi Hou Young, Bao Ye's teacher appears. T hey basically want to learn the technique. Jing fights them, but remember, he is weak. Lan'er springs into action and gets stabbed protecting Jing, and then they somehow escape, and somehow she isn't dead yet.

10.The emperor summons Fan Wuqi, another general, and gives orders to attack Zhao. He tells his men not to bother returning if they fail. And then a narrator tells us that Wuqi is very successful and Zhao takes a major hit, loses 100,000 men, and it's just not good for Zhao (so he took Han Fei's advice)

11.Meanwhile, Li'er runs into Lady Jing who is ill. She breaks down into tears...and in the next scene she is in Ru'er's chambers, uninvited. I WONDER WHAT SHE LEARNED? Ru'er is barely civil, and Li'er tells her not to bother preparing anything (it's like Zheng fights to unify the states while Li'er fights to unify the harem)

12. Li'er tells her that she met lots of women while her grandpa worked for the state in Wei and she learned some sorcery (China is notoriously superstitious and ghosts are not really mentioned in shows) and tells her that she learned Jing is upset because she miscarried. She tells her that a child from a miscarriage turns into a dark ghost and hangs around and she has come to see if the ghost is perhaps haunting Ru'er. Ru'er naturally panics but the message is a clear warning to Ru'er to stop the b.s. and stop hurting others--I can't think of a show with so many warnings to one person. I mean in Empress of China you don't get a warning you just die.

13.The show ends with the emperor and prince Yan and Li'er playing archery. After this, li'er speaks with Yan and asks why he lost on purpose. He tells her that it is really hard to be living in the palace and powerless to help your people. he tells her that its hard to be around the emperor, knowing that while he is your friend, it is essentially an act and he is a slave. (the implication is also that Li'er must understand how he feels, being a woman in the harem). It also seems like Yan makes it clear he respects her a lot and Han looks very uncomfortable with this conversation.

14. Yan is last seen playing chess with the emperor....

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Sep 13, 2017

Good start for a new season!

I'm sad that Kang Unnie is leaving but there are really no stories left for her to tell.

In this episode I found out they changed the actress for the shy girl I liked the most in AOY1,our Eun Jae girl.. I still haven't decided if I like the new acting or not..but I'm giving her a shot. It just reminded an old soap opera habit where actors were changed every few episodes but the chatacter wasn't lol

Lovely episode anyway, they even saved lives of the couple without knowing..
Was this review helpful to you?