Sort by:
Seven Days: Monday - Thursday
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
these kind of movies R normally a lil' slow, well sweet but slow. so just tuRned it on afteR a long tiRed day foR a good nap & guess wht. it happened to be a slow one..(thought i'll be black out haRdly in 15 mints.) ''DEMO'' i ended up finishing not only this one but also it's sequel, back to back in a Row & my haRdly 15 mints. eventually tuRned out read more to be 3 AM in the moRning ...
i think i'm kinda keen on to this genRe & it's one of my favoRites .. loved the leads .. diRections n specially those lil' mind talks
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Entangled
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Unfortunately, the summary above is somewhat of a spoiler. Since I had not read it, the events were quite a shock to me. This movie would best be described as a horror show. It is the unraveling of a family. The family dynamics are revealed one at a time until the final climax. It was quite unsettling and a unique watch. The acting is quite good and hauntingly realistic. Do not, however, read more expect a "feel good" movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Suddenly Seventeen
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
ime traveling is not a new concept in dramaland. In fact many of today's favorite dramas and movies involve time travelling....... to the point that some of us (me!) gets so sick of it.

Only one sentence got me watching this movie... it's "she revisits her past and learns what it takes to love herself again".

Really .... for those people who are depressed, on a slump, on the point of their read more life where they do not know what they are doing or on the point where none of your plans and visions work... take time to watch this movie.

As I said, time travelling is not a new concept, but what makes this movie unique is that only the mind of the main character travels back on time, forcing her seventeen years old self to live the life of her current 28 years old. Looks satisfying isn't it? to live your life when you're done studying, have your own job, and you do not have to worry about all the drama in your teens. But what if the current you isn't living the life you wanted? What if none of your "future" plans made it to your present? What would you do? This movie ventures on how a person can learn to love herself back despite of all the disappointments she made out of herself.

On the romance part...I do not really like what happens to her love life so no... I won't venture that part.

The acting was good especially the lead character. She was on point and it will really show the difference within the two "personas" just with her eyes. The rest of the cast were also good but nothing special of some sort.

I didn't pay that much attention to music with the the fuss going on...so no it does not make that much impact on me.

Overall, it's a must see movie.... especially to those who fits the criteria I mention above. If you don't meet the criteria.... ah who cares? I already said it's a must watch movie. So go... watch it!

I don't know if this count as a review and if it will ever help anyone decide... but oh well..!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Yoko The Cherry Blossom
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
overall, Takashi-san acting was the main poin to give 8.0 to this movie, he's just so amazing, i mean it
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Handmaiden
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I was itching to see Park Chan-wook's return to South Korean films after Thirst (2009) and his English-debut, Stoker (2013). Because of that, my expectations for The Handmaiden were definitely high.

Were they met?

Yes and no.

I don't know what I exactly expected to see. Maybe I was looking for something ala-Oldboy (2003), his best work to date and something better than Stoker (I didn't quite like it). But instead, I read more got something different. I just don't know if it's better or worst (than Oldboy but better than Stoker).

I find myself very enthralled with the production the most.

Park proves his mastery when it comes to making feels look beautiful and meaningful, and to me, his handling of build-up and then exploding them all at once is done so gracefully, so smoothly, so satisfying.

The Handmaiden is visually beautiful on all levels. Based (or inspired) by Sarah Waters' The Fingersmith, Park shifts the setting to 1930s colonial Korea. Just like Stoker, The Handmaiden is eerie, full of suspense and has a sexual, erotic tone—which clearly represents his film.

Broken into three parts, Park knows what cards to keep and when to reveal them—leaving room for a grand voila. The Handmaiden, itself, it not complicated nor does the plot try to be mysterious but its Park's touches that makes it sexually mysterious and ultimately full of taunting and teasing.

Colors emit a gothic vibe, the cinematography is superb, the score embraces the atmosphere and the characters are showered with undeniable tension from start to finish.

Ultimately, Park triumphs at showing female sexual satisfaction without the need of men. It's liberating as much as it's satisfying—an exploration, or explosion rather, of the female characters' undiscovered desires.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Master
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Maybe because I have a bias for Kim Woo Bin and Lee Byung Hun or the fact that I saw director Ui-seok Jo, Kang Dong Won and Kim Woo Bin during their premiere here in Hong Kong that I enjoyed this film. Or maybe because I have an undying crush for Kim Woo Bin so I liked this film.

Maybe those are clouded my judgement.

But I admit, Master is not a read more perfect film. It certainly helps if you love the actors you are seeing on screen.

Cold Eyes (2013) director, Ui-seok Jo makes the style of Master, a reminiscent of his 2013 hit. Fast-paced, suspense and action-filled. I did enjoy Master a little bit more though, I felt like it has more substance, however questionable it may be.

Lee Byung Hun plays the bad guy (not a first), the CEO of a big company, One Network who is scamming their customers and is involved in fraud cases among others. Kim Woo Bin plays the section chief of communications/technology, a tech-whiz of some sort and Kang Dong Won plays the head of the investigating team. The three have good chemistry—each a talented actor on their own.

No doubt Lee has an actor. My first time to see Kang (and quiet guy during the premiere as well) and crime/action films are not new to him. Kim, this is probably his best role (for me) to date. Though, better characterization would work—given that we have 3 contrasting characters. But I think Ui suffers from that problem regardless.

Kudos though for showing us two badass female characters, played by Uhm Ji-won and Jin Kyung, though they deserve more screen time. And justice for Jin's character.

Master is messy. It starts strong—intriguing even, leading us on, much like Cold Eyes' exposition. But ultimately, things start to get a little bit out-of-place. There is little backbone or sense in how things escalated. They either seem ridiculous or just not how it's supposed to go.

Ui tries to back it up with comic relief which Kim does well and contrasts with Kang's serious demeanour. Lee does it well too.

Yu Eok does well with the cinematography, contrasting Seoul's tall buildings to the Philippines' tropical and cramped houses. Though as a Filipino, it's still a bit disappointing that Tondo (one of the largest squatter areas and poorest is the one chosen to showcase including the poor environment and such, there is so much more to show than that but okay).

Action-wise, it's more intense than Cold Eyes but the latter has better suspense and build-up though the former tried to throw a plot twist that seems wow at first but ridiculous the next...due to the lack of a backbone.

It's not the "exotic" place that would save Master. It's the cast. It's the reason that, despite all its flaws, that I ultimately still enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Age of Shadows
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Renowned South Korean director, Kim Jee-woon returns after a 3-year hiatus in the country's Best Foreign Film entry, "The Age of Shadows". Like Woon's other films, (I Saw the Devil, A Bittersweet Life), Shadows is an action-packed cat-and-mouse thriller extravagant.

Shadows has an amazing line up: Sang Kang-ho (Memories of Murder, Thirst), Gong Yoo (Train to Busan, A Man and a Woman) and cameo appearance from Lee Byung-hun (A Bittersweet Life, Inside read more Men) whom Kim has worked previously and Um Tae-Goo (Coin Locker Girl, Veteran).

Pulled at the edge of your seat from start to finish, Kim doesn't disappoint tossing action sequences and twists that he carefully crafts and builds in suspense, only to laid them out with the greatest satisfaction, it leaves you hungry for more.

Just like "I Saw the Devil" and "A Bittersweet Life", Kim starts Shadows with little-to-nothing description of what's going out, only to follow it up with an action-filled chase scene, an amputated toe nail and blood splashed across the wall.

Shadows' 30 minutes train sequence is one of the best I've ever seen. This is the juice. It builds the plot as much as it shapes it and moves it, that includes the characters too. Accompanied by a more menacing version of Ravel's Bolero, the adrenaline just doesn't stop. I, for one, had to pause the film just so I could breathe. Kim brings us from compartment to compartment from character to character from discoveries to discoveries.

Cinematographer Kim Ji-Young does a fine job of transporting us to a 1920s setting of South Korea and Shanghai (the accuracy may be question but it looks beautiful nonetheless) with retro-like colors and saturated tones. Kim ravishes in extremism at times, with loud shoot outs, dialogues delivered in sinister whispers, loud slapping sounds, to torture scenes that likens to his other film, "I Saw the Devil".

Kim channels his narrative into powerful loyalty that seems like The Age of Shadows take a patriotic approach but ultimately, this thrill-filled film is entertaining as much as it is greatly crafted.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Magician
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
Exploitation and corruption are never far from entertainment.

I probably heard that from somewhere but this was the first thing that came to mind while watching this movie.

Being a fan of historical movies/dramas, I knew I would enjoy this but the plot was quite predictable. Even better, this movie is capable of making you all mushy on the inside and then disgusted with the human race. Almost no in between.

This read more was my first time watching a film featuring the actress, Go Ah Ra. As the princess, I feel that her strong features and personality make her memorable and it worked well with the “Bear” joke going on between the main characters when they first met. in contrast, is Bo Eum( Jo Yoon Hee), the older sister with delicate features, portrayed with constant composure, and knowing of how she established herself- you can’t help but admire her.

Interesting enough, it’s when she is shaken up by the antagonist, Gwi Mol (Kwak Do Won) , does it add weight to the villain. The subtle act of reintroducing him using his signature sharpened nails -loved it. It's brilliant how his revenge against Hwan Hee almost put the country in jeopardy - Gwi Mol is ruthless, merciless, clever as hell, but frankly bringing Hwan Hee back to the theater for the final showdown was a dumb ass move. Yes, I get how fucked up it is to turn his "home" to his grave but at the same time he brought Hwan Hee back to his element, assuring me he would fail.

I’m a sucker for plots that involve two characters who have a positive impact on each other but you can’t help but ignore the reality of their situation and feel all bittersweet about it. However, the twist that caught me off guard was (Lee Kyeong Yoeng) General Ahn’s decision for the princess in the end. I loved this character. He takes on the father role to the princess when all seem to have abandoned her, even sacrificing himself. I appreciated him so much.

Despite it’s predictability, this movie was enjoyable to watch, visually-appealing, and with great acting. I recommended it if you are a fan of the historical genre
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Sassy Girl
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 4.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 3.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Frankly, after hearing a lot about it, I expected something very different from what I got.

To me, I did not really care for this story. I did not care if the couple stayed together or never saw each other again. The dude was lame to say the least, and yes he did change for the girl, but, the girl wasn't that great either. So, in essence it's a story about two read more not so great people getting together, for some reason, or because of fate or something.

I only really watched this because of the kdrama that they are making this year that will be based on this plot. I hope both characters are some what better than these characters so I can root for them. These characters just made me want the movie to finish already. But, I guess I should have expected something like this, I have never really cared for most Korean Movies, and a lot had to do with the characters in the movie. I don't know why but, Korea makes great tv shows, but most of the movies I have watched from Korea are really lacking. The ones I have liked so far are IL Mare, Blind, and Miss Granny.

I liked the music and the actors in this movie however. I think they were the only thing good about this movie. The twists in this drama made me question more on how they were possible rather than be surprised at all. Like the tree twist, do trees really grow that fast in a year? This twist left me confused for ages. Anyway, I hope that if you decide to watch this, you do not feel like you wasted your time. I am not sure if I wasted my time or not, but, now I can say I have watched the movie. Not sure whether that is a good thing or not.

I don't know, I am just confused, after watching the movie, I am not sure what else to say. That's it for my review.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Little DJ
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Since I am a Kamiki’s fan and since there are no reviews for this beautiful movie, I really wanted to help others to know one of the viewers’ opinion about it.

So briefly, the story is about a 12-year-old boy named Taro, who loves baseball and radio, especially “Music Express”(a song request show).The actions take place in 1977 in a small seaside town, however Taro gets into a SERIOUS illness that leads read more him to be hospitalized for months. Throughout his stay, Taro becomes the DJ at the hospital and he gradually changes the depressing mood there to a graceful one. Taro starts to make friends and finds his love “Tamaki”, a girl who is a year older...No spoilers...just discover the ending yourself...

This movie is a tear-jerker, with so many amounts of feelings. Just imagine a young boy facing his illness and trying to recover from it and make others smile despite everything, a mixture of cute romance and heartwarming bonds with parents.

With great music from the 70's...you will definitely get in the mood of that innocent and pure times.

The cast: I started the movie simply for the brilliant actor, Kamiki and I ended up liking all the cast, they did a great job. Everyone strengthens the movie with his/her existence enough that you cannot help but worry about each character.

I honestly have no negative points to say about the movie, but I am sure that some of you might find it a little bit slow (but it was fine for me!)
If you like tear-jerkers or you are one of those hospital genre fans, “Little Dj “will definitely touch your heart...
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Gifted Hands
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I just finished watching "The Gifted Hands," and it is one of those movies that seems to leave a bitter taste in my mouth.
A warning for those faint at heart: this movie may not be for you. While the plot depicts a crime thriller, I found that this film's villain is more disturbing than other Korean crime thrillers I have seen.
As for the plot, my largest disappointment is that there read more was a lot of potential, but poor execution. The idea of having a character with psychometry, where he could see glimpses of another person's life by touching the person/an item they touched is cool in theory. The film had a few moments of showing the character's range of abilities, but I wish that they developed and explained the ability in more depth. I found myself a bit confused throughout the film as to what he could truly do.
Also, the plot felt rather choppy, almost rushed. There was not enough character background or development for the audience to get emotionally attached to the characters. Basically if one of them had a tragic end, I do not see myself reacting much, as I barely knew anything about the characters. While the film produced glimpses of the main characters' pasts, these hints were brief and did not contribute much to the plot.
While I would not recommend "The Gifted Hands" as a good example of Korean crime thrillers, it is not that bad for a lazy day watch. Just do not expect for it to be as complex or thought-provoking as the description makes it out to be.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Annoying Brother
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
The trailer and the synopsis defo do not do this movie justice. Let me say that first. DO NOT count on them for an accurate description.

You expect comedy because of JJS, but i should have known because Do Kyung Soo isn't that type of actor(if you've seen other shows hes starred in you'll understand). The movie makes you smile and doesn't waste time on trivial filler bits, even Park Shin Hye read more i would count as a supporting character rather than a main as it wasn't about her. I don't want to say too much because its one of those movies you have to watch with no expectation so that you can get the full impact of emotions.

Music wise, there wasn't much but the closing song was sung by both male leads, which is cute.

I would definitely re-watch as it didn't even seem that long. Really enjoyed it

**WARNING**
Make sure you have tissues handy
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Seducing Mr. Perfect
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 4.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 5.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.5
Pretty as Daniel Henney is, I'm afraid he's the weak point of this movie. His acting is not really at a professional level, and his line readings are stilted and wooden. Uhm Jung Hwa acts circles around him. The plot was underdeveloped but pleasant enough. The music was lovely and evocative of the appropriate emotions.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Age of Shadows
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Have you ever watched Gaksital (Bridal Mask)?
Then you'll probably get a good idea about the time this movie is playing in. A Korean citizen (or Joseon person as it was called back then) who joined the Japanese forces and became a high-ranking police officer. And a group of Joseon citizen who secretly fight for their country's independence.

What I noticed about those kind of Korean movies is that they take their read more time to tell their story. It is very slow paced as the first half of the film is being used to set every detail in its proper place and to build the overall construction. So, don't let yourself be fooled by this phony silence that only tries to hide the inevitable threats that lie in the shadows. They will explode once in a while and keep you excited.

Although I could sympathize with people who get bored because of its long and calm progress... If you allow yourself to dive into this foggy story you will be rewarded at the end. You won't see it coming until it's already happening. Then you just sit there, watch blankly and feel that undeniable pressure in your chest.

As the movie shines with many ~high-ranking actors, there's only one that truly outclasses everyone else here. And that's Song Kang Ho. I already watched some of his other movies but never was I captivated by him the way I was here, with this performance. I didn't notice it immediately. But suddenly one scene, one moment, one gesture. And he killed it. And me. He caught me off guard and brought me to tears.

Sadly, I can't say the same for Gong Yoo. He was good, no doubt. And he also had moments where his character shined but his overall personality stayed too shallow. Even Lee Byung Hun's short appearance had more impact on me.

If there's one other thing I would complain about, then it would be that I missed some more light on the actual situation of the Joseon people during that time.

Altogether:
Recommended for those who have patience and don't mind slowly enveloping stories. People, who are interested in this period of time. And for people who don't mind a little blood. There's no exaggerating amount of it but some scenes make me advise you to not eat while watching if you're sensible to those things.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Frozen Flower
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
STORYLINE: 8.5/10
The storyline follows a homosexual king (Joo Jin Mo) and how he rules, hides and overcomes his desires. Personally, I felt the storyline controversial topic in the depicted culture/ era; plus my investigation revealed the possibility of truth in it which makes it that more provocative and debatable in my head as each sexual scene or plots was introduced.
The love triangle that forms is well thought through and broke read more down in a manner that may be relatable. The unfortunate status Jo In Sung finds himself born into additional to catching the king’s eye was heart breaking to watch as well as strengthening to observe his loyalty (brilliant acting by Jo In Sung as always).


ACTING: 9/10 - CHARACTERS: 7.5/10
All three main actors/ actress (Joo Jin Mo, Jo In Sung and Song Ji Hyo) delivered a believable performance of their roles; especially during the sex scenes. I totally did not expect such intimate scenes, both the heterosexual and homosexual ones for an Asian based film (a step out of the norm).
Every plot delivered is presented in a manner that derives emotions of sadness; together with the straight faces of the actors made certain scenes overly tense as the fear of suspense filled me.

MUSIC: 6.5/10


LIKED – Despite it making me a tad uncomfortable, I liked that despite it being a known taboo in mainstream Asian films; this did not stop them from showing such in-depth sex scenes.
DISLIKED – More on a personal note as a heterosexual individual the homosexual scenes made me uncomfortable to watch but do acknowledge their relevance in the film.


CONCLUSION:
You should watch this drama if you enjoy genres such as SUSPENSE – FORBIDDEN LOVE – HOMOSEXUALITY – GREAT PLOT – SLICE OF LIFE – WAR – HOPE – GREAT ACTING – NON FICTION – EMOTIONAL.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No