Sort by:
Coin Locker Girl
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I felt melancholic most of the movie. Perhaps it is the penchant for happy endings or fairy tales.

I don't know if I like the theme or not. The theme was pretty dark and the delivery was quite... unnerving. My humanity made me hope for better things but, just like life, the film chooses not to. What made me despondent the most was the apparent definiteness in their lives. There were some read more parts I had to skip because I couldn't take the scene. It shows the characters' brutal reality and maybe some real people's lives, as well. It's sickening for us but it is reality for some people. The plot is solid all through out, it didn't drag on some parts and transitions between scenes were seamless. However, I would've wanted to see some background on the other "children" of Mother because there were some implied connections between the characters but it was never really explored. The movie held up on its own even without those but it would've at least made it easier understand why these characters opted to act that way.

The real star of this movie is the cast. Not just the leads but the entirety of the cast. Each member of the family depicted their parts well. Though at the beginning of the movie, I thought Kim Go Eun looked awkward but then I realized it was because I kept on associating her with her character on Goblin, which was a complete opposite of Il Young. Also, Miss Kim Hye Soo never disappoints. I've seen her in different movies and I'm amazed by her versatility as an actress, along with Kim Go Eun, of course. Jo Hyun Chul, though I have only seen him in this movie, was great as Hong Joo, he was believable as the mentally impaired child.

The music were mostly scores and I thought it complemented the scene very well, in fact, I did not even notice it. It was as important as the visual was. Though the visuals and the story was great. It's not something I would want to watch again. It was brilliant but it was too heartbreaking.

On the side note, credit should also be given to the make-up crew for the wonderful job on Miss Kim Hye Soo. The close-ups showed the face of a weathered "CEO" of a loaning "company".
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Perfect Imperfection
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
This a funny ..time pass flick
There isn't anything too deep abt the story ..just everything looks pretty ...and comedy works fine too
I would definitely recommend this ...esp for ahn Jae hyun ..is so good :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Train to Busan
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
15 days ago
15 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
I have been a fan of zombie movies ever since I watched Romero's original Night Of the Living Dead in middle school. Any chance I get, I watch them. Some are good, but most are really cheesy. I still love them. Train To Busan is in a class all by itself, however. It reminds me of a mix of Romero's Day Of the Dead and the British zombie virus movie 28 Days read more Later, both of which are masterpieces. Except it surpasses both.

From the get go it keeps you on the edge of your seat and freaks you out with the gory and truly horrifying cinematography. It is is so lifelike that the hordes of zombies will give you chills down your spine!

In terms of acting, it really didn't feel like anyone needed to strain themselves too much. Mostly it was all about showing the overwhelming terror and I feel like everyone did their job there. I was especially impressed by the child actress who played Gong Yoo's daughter. She played the sad and serious little girl to perfection. Her character was written differently than most children are written. Instead of being the cute and helpless little kid, she was an earnest and quiet one, brave and wise for her years.

I highly recommend this movie to anyone who is a fan of zombies and horror. It stands out from other Asian horror movies and can rival even the most acclaimed Western horror movie. I will most assuredly rewatch it, probably many times over. 10/10
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Phantom Detective
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
15 days ago
15 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
As a fan of crime and detective stories, I expected this movie to be dark and sullen. Since I've never seen the trailer beforehand, seeing its overall feel from its first few scenes was something unexpected.
It may have evoked the dark and miserable noir-like mood of Sin City but the genre is contrary to its visual aesthetic. The story is quite light, warmhearted and "cute" beyond belief. I would have categorized read more this in the family genre, but the excessive use of guns at the end crosses it out of that list.
Lee Jee Hoon's acting intensity was not as strong as Kim Sung Kyun but if the intention was to keep the protagonist still lovable despite his sad and dark past, I'd say his performance was jjang! And how can I forget the smarty pants Kim Ha Na(Mal Soon), who shook the protagonist milieu? Her little ways to antagonize Hong Gil Dong was finger cringing and amusing.
Overall, this movie is surprisingly worth watching, especially this holiday season. A time when I want to feel all warm, happy and fluffy. *dreamy
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Codename: Jackal
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
15 days ago
15 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
I didn't really know what to expect going into this, but the bad ratings kind made me put it off for a while and I'm so sad that I let them! While it's not a romantic, tear-jerker, it is a fast-paced, hilarity-ensues movie that has a bit of romance, action and craziness thrown in. I have no prior experience with any actors except for Song Ji Hyo. There are some R rated read more scenes or at least mature scenes, so do beware and it does kind of end open ended (I'm pretty sure I'm not spoiling anything) so if you like movies that give you a clear ending, keep that in mind.

Story-
I enjoyed it. I laughed and I was left shocked and while it did get repetitive, it wasn't awful because of the way the lead male played it, made it funny instead of eye-roll inducing. I really want to watch it again and I just finished it.

Acting/Cast-
Ji Hyo and Jae Joong are a match made in heaven. They were hilarious throughout the whole film and really sold both of their parts. Their antics kept me laughing just because it was out there. It also doesn't hurt that they are both eye candy. The supporting cast didn't lack in laughs either with the cop-bromance and the sex jokes that weren't awful to hear.

Music-
I actually don't really remember any music... the story didn't need it to keep the viewer watching so if it did play (I'm sure it did) I never notice because I was to into the story.

Rewatch Value-
Yes. I will rewatch this. When you see some of the scenes, they are just so awesome that you have to watch it again!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Train to Busan
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
15 days ago
15 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
Yes, it's another zombie movie. Yes, people die. Yes the character you may be supporting may or may not die.

What sets this one apart is the superb acting of the leads. Gong Yoo is at his best! Ma Dong Seok is quite at a peak of his talent! The other actors are really amazing in lending an air of believeability in the cliche world that is Zombie Films. Yet, with all read more the zombies aside, this movie does portray the heroic (cliche) and horrible (cliche) parts of humanity at its best. You will be supporting the hero and wishing bad karma on the lead baddies. It will have you on the edge of your seats.

The story is well paced. The important characters all get a slice of development. The cause of the apocalypse was also explained. Not something usually gained from the normal zombie movie.

The effects! O my! Like wow! The zombies looked exactly like what you would expect them to be! It was also different to see this type of movie in the day, and not the scene setting of the night and darkness. The trains were utterly magnificent! The train yard effects and other vehicles were as real as real could get on screen. CGI or props they really hit the mark on that!

If you are a fan of zombie flicks this is a must see, it won't let you down. It has everything to like with the genre in an action packed capsule!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Magnificent Chivalry
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
16 days ago
16 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 5.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This movie was a bit hard to rate due to any factors but it all comes down to how much I was entertained. The biggest problem I have with many Jimmy Wang Yu is how obvious it is that he is in fact not a good martial artist, he can sell it reasonably well most of the time but the filming and editing style really differs on his movies versus single wide read more shot that were popular at the time. Jimmy's acting here is pretty good as was most of the cast. The story was quite a bit better than most of the "police goes undercover" films. The fighting is pretty clumsy and slow at times but the length and brutality shown more than make up for any short comings. The end fight is the biggest highlight of the film and it's what really raised the rating for me, it showed me somethings I've never really seen in this type of film, this is the first time I'm seen a sword fight in the mud and I really enjoyed it. Also both fighters became exhausted which as most fan would know doesn't happen in most martial arts movie as fighter will fight hundreds of opponents for an hours without even breathing hard, so to me at least this was refreshing. Overall this movie really entertained me with it's complex but easy to follow story, decent acting and great finale.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Always
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
16 days ago
16 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
In many ways, this movie follows the traditional plot of a fighting movie (like never back down). But in other ways, it's a tale of two people, and how fate can prevail. I fell in love with this movie as I watched it. I cried, laughed, and enjoyed the whole film. Unlike films where some parts feel inessential, every bit of this movie was worth watching.
Although the storyline of the fighting read more guy, and the girl he must protect is a bit cliche, the director altered it enough so that it was appealing. The backstory that the characters had, and how those stories connected was brilliant. The ending jumped a few years, and unlike other movies that jump time unsuccessfully, this was done very well, using the previous backstory to connect the characters once again. Even down to the ending, there is nothing more I could have wanted out of this movie.
The cast of the movie was excellent in that their acting on par to not only fulfill their roles, but render them believable and connectable to the audience. Plus, this was no easy feat, because only the two main characters have more than five minutes of screen time. To be able to have that much screen time placed on two characters, and not have story wane, or become lacking was a job well done for the director.
The music wasn't significant in this film, but they did a great job so that it wasn't distracting or taking away from the film.
I gave this a rewatch value of ten, because I feel like this is going to become a staple film for me to watch every couple of years. I enjoyed it enough that not only would I rewatch it in the future, but I would do so regurarly.
9.5/10
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
One Smile is Very Alluring
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
16 days ago
16 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
*I have to say that I DID watch the drama before I watched the movie version SO my review might be a bit biased, but I will try to write this review to mainly be based on this movie only.*

To start off, this movie was jammed pack with information and for the time that was available, they overall did a good job at fitting as much as they can from the read more book to this movie. But since it was a movie, they lost a lot of smoother transitions that would have made this a better production.

Plot/Setting: -8- For "A Smile is beautiful," I love this movie's storyline! The way the characters interacted online and offline was so cute and I have never seen any movie with that concept before! The downside was that since it was a movie, I got confused at some parts and the jumps between scenes were just too fast for me. Even so, they did a good job at capturing the main parts of the story and they made the scenes work together within 1.5 hours.

Acting/Cast: -8- Angela Baby did a decent job playing Bei Wei Wei in this movie. From what I was expecting though, Bei Wei Wei's character could have been a bit more "introverted" but of course, a bit different doesn't always mean it's a bad thing :) Now Jing Boran, I have to say, does not have the looks like Yang Yang (Actor playing Xiao Nai in the drama version) but I love how his character was a tad bit more open in this version.

Music: -9- The music fitted in nicely with the scenes of the movie so no complaints from me!

Rewatch value: -5- Even though the movie had its pros, this is mainly a one time movie for me.

Overall: -7.5- Due to the jumpy transitions between the scenes, I will have to rate this movie an overall 7.5/10. But of course, for the limited time provided for them, they had great uses of ideas and it all fit together very well.

I would recommend this for anyone who wants to watch a gaming type movie with cute interactions between the two main leads.

Thanks for Reading!
|Ciao For Now! ~Lily L|
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Spirits' Homecoming
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
17 days ago
17 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Sad but powerful story. Would definitely watch again. Hope this atrocity is never repeated.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Bandage
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
17 days ago
17 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
For the longest time I avoided this movie because Jin just rubs me the wrong way (and it has nothing to do with kattun) but I eventually gave in for Shunji Iwai who produced and wrote it. I actually liked it more than I thought I would considering I saw a lot of negative opinions about the characters (especially the girl) and the ending. Like someone else said this movie is like read more a more mature version of Beck. The characters are not fully likeable but they feel more real and the story feels more authentic. They get moody, selfish, jealous, insecure, undeceive, immature, and abuse alcohol.

The volatile, kind of onesided, relationship between Natsu and Asako is portrayed quite well even if they were frustrating. It is not some fluffy story of 'tru luv'. At that point in their life they were pretty incompatible and Asako explained it well during their conversation towards the end.
The band members aren't some bffs with a dream, they get into conflicts - some petty, some serious. The focus isn't just on the band members as musicians and their inner drama but on the business side of the music industry in the early 90s and its pitfalls. Is fame worth the price of artistic integrity?

The acting is strong even with Jin there. At first I was like 'why was he even cast, he can't sing or act' but looking at Natsu's character I understood why Jin worked. Even if this is the only type of role he knows how to act, it was a fit here. Perhaps he was playing himself and that's why it worked JK :)

I liked the music very much here. I would have liked it more if Jin was a better singer but the songs were catchy, I even downloaded them (I liked the song by Happies the most). Lands is one of two fictional bands to ever top the music charts in Japan.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Man and A Woman
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
17 days ago
17 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Story-
story from everyday life which is often forced to keep as secret.
but the movie..you have to watch it as a classic with understanding of the emotions not the scenes..
i decided to watch this just for gong yoo and but ended up realizing common problem in human souls which is buried under the responsibilities of families..

Acting-
simply it was brilliant..cuz both of them were able to portray the real read more pain you face in such situations..if i just appreciate gong you that would be unfair..

Music-
it was ok..not much noticeable but blended with the situations..but they were not able to make my heart ache..that job was also done by the cast..

Re watch Value-
i dont re-watch anything..

Overall-
Classic..but only for the people who has open and understandable mind..i have to admit that its not for the people who are looking for fairy tales..
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
honestly this is the best movie i ever saw!!!!!!! i recommend it to everyone!!!!! the song in this movie is so good and beautiful, they made me cry especially " dream" by wang bowen.... his voice/ acting skills are amazinggggg
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ballad
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
18 days ago
18 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
If you wanna watch something slightly different and not too impegnative this movie is for you!
I love times-slipping movies and this one let me taste what was like during the sengoku period in Japan, a period known for the costant military conflicts. Of course It doesn't shows much violence, after all the protagonist is just a kid. The romance between the princess and the general is more like a side story, read more true love is just one of the many themes displayed... Friendship, loyalty and so on. It's one of those movie that leave you with a warm feeling and a clear message.
If I was able to make you just a little curious, enjoy! =)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
18 days ago
18 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
I am really amaze on how the creativity of the story made. I like the overall motive of this movie. The offender admit that he is wrong in the last scene which is good part that he learn to admit of his mistake because of love. Love make us crazy sometimes. But I believe the loves depend on how we define it and how we respond to situation. Doing stuffs like rape, read more or any unlikely inhumane acts is not an act of love but it's a "lust" that cause of some factor of irresponsible kind of love. I believe this movie is really happening in our real life. It's hypocrite to say that we can't do crazy thing because of love. As they commonly say "too much love can kill you". People has its own definition of love depends on how they interpret it base on their experiences and learning. The movie tell us many possibilities of a situation that cause of either true and selfish love. At the end of the line, we realize that love takes time to realize it's truly love. At the beginning, we feel uncertain if it's love or lust. As the time goes by, we can have our own answer of love in the right time. I believe the movie is great and awesome. A movie that Something we can be aware of. I believe its a movie that can make you cry due to several moral lessons of what love might bring you in the end. Enjoy watching this movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No