Sort by:
Boy Meets Boy
22 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 11, 2011
Apr 11, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This movie is 10 minutes of sweetness. I stumbled upon it while searching for something new to watch, and I was happily surprised. For being a movie where the actors don't say a word, I understood everything completely. The looks, the small movements and the light explains everything and I recall myself just sitting there squeaking. It is an incredible cute story and the actors are doing great. I have already watched read more it several times.

The only thing I dislike with this movie is the 3 minutes long song in the middle. It is dull, annoying and does not have anything to do with the story. Otherwise the soundtrack is as sweet as the story itself.

I highly recommend you watching this and I would, at the same time, like to mention that the director of "Boy meets boy" has made a 30 minutes long movie in the same spirit, "Just friends?". A movie just as delightful as this one.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Man From Nowhere
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 10, 2011
Apr 10, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
For some reason, the main lead actor, Won Bin, looked very similar to Keanu Reeves. The way Won Bin walked and acted always make me think of him. Anyway, the storyline slowly builds up and by the time everything come together, it somehow made me realise, a bit too late the intensity of the story. Also this movie's got incredible fight scenes that can be compared to Jason Bourne of the Bourne Trilogy.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Confessions
16 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 10, 2011
Apr 10, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0


I began watching this movie because of Okada Masaki, an actor whom caught my attention by being brilliant in most of his roles (He has a minor role in this movie but still managed to get an acting nominee for best supporting role). What made me keep watching was the thrilling story, something I did not expect (I didn't even read the synopsis before I began watching), the dark feeling read more and the overall fantastic actors. One would not think that 37 middle school students can create such an atmosphere. The woman who played the main character, Takako Matsu, was amazing in her role. But, let me quote "let's not forget the amazing ensemble cast of young Japanese actors who ultimately steal the show from Matsu's cold as ice teacher with their riveting performances as existential youth gone wrong".

This masterpiece was completed by their use of Radiohead's Last Flowers.

All I can say is: "Watch and be amazed" because this will mess with you.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Returner
9 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 10, 2011
Apr 10, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
This movie, for some reason, reminded me of E.T mixed with time travel, except with a much MUCH darker story. The story wasn't the best, but at the same time it did keep me interested. The cast did well. The music was alright, and served its purpose. As for rewatch value, it's probably not one of the types of movies i would rewatch, unless it's been a good 2-3 years since i read more last watched it and thus forgot everything that happened. Overall though, this is a solid movie which is even better if you're a fan of Takeshi Kaneshiro. It's perfect for a lazy Saturday.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
I Just Didn't Do It
8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 9, 2011
Apr 9, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
The story was very unique. The Acting and the cast were amazing as well. The music was ok, as for rewatch value, it has none. I don't know why anyone would want to rewatch this movie. Overall though, this movie was a 10 since I felt like it was....very unique! The main point of this movie is pretty much, do you give up and admit that you commited the crime/ pay a read more small fine for a crime you didn't commit, or do you continue to say you are innocent and potentially have a worst punishment. Overall a great, great movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kamikaze Girls
9 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 9, 2011
Apr 9, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
At first I'll say: this is my first review and I'm not good at writing these...

I've watched this movie two times and I loved it on both times. It's my favorite movie. Well one of my favorite movies. Anyway first time watching this movie I laughed my ass off all the time starting from the first seconds. Same with second time.

This is a typical Japanese movie with a silly story read more and not-so-good-but-not-bad-either acting, but isn't that the reason why we love Japanese movies/dramas? For me it is.

The chemistry between two main actresses is good. Not the best but it's good. I love the cast. Fukada Kyoko is an amazing actress but her acting wasn't the best in this movie...

Okay I'm making no sense anymore...

But,
Watch the movie and see if you'll like it or not.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kung Fu Dunk
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 9, 2011
Apr 9, 2011
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
I first watched the trailer of this movie, which made me really excited to watch it. Add to that, that it stars Jay Chou, who I really liked(as an actor) after watching the Green Hornet. Unfortunately, the movie didn't live up to my unreasonable hype. The story was alright, though it felt like they were trying to cram in too many things into it...including time travel. The acting was better. The music read more was relatively mediocre. As for rewatch value, im not a person who rewatches most things, but for this i'd say don't rewatch it. Overall, i'd give this a 6. I guess it's alright for a Saturday night where you have nothing better to do or if you're a fan of Jay Chou.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kidnap
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 9, 2011
Apr 9, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
After I watched this movie, I fell into love with it. I told all my friends about it and forced them to watch it. It's storyline is interesting with tons of twists. I can't complain about the cast, and the music was good enough. The best part of this movie was definitely the storyline though. As for rewatch value, for movies that are mainly about twists, once you watch it once, you read more probably wont want to watch it again. Overall, it's definitely a good movie for a lazy Saturday night.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hero
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 9, 2011
Apr 9, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I watched this in a car on a long trip on my laptop, where my headset kept on disconnecting frustrating me to no end!

That being said, I still enjoyed this movie tremendously. Story wise it was amazing. Acting wise it was amazing. The music served its purpose well. Rewatchability...It's not a movie i would rewatch unless it was to enjoy the incredibly choreography in the fight scenes. Overall, it's definitely read more a movie Wuxia/historical Martial Arts fans should watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mulan
11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 8, 2011
Apr 8, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
When I was a kid I loved the disney version. Someone told me later that the ending of the real story was sugar coated and didn't end well like in the cartoon. I hated that idea. So I hesitated a long time with watching this movie. I also dont like war/historical movies. But yesterday I just watched it anyway - and I LOVED IT. I cried like a baby, but loved every read more bit of it. ^_^

The acting is great. First I thought that the main character is way too pretty to be accepted as a man. But she nailed it. Also the main male character did a good job. Both work great together, the character came to life and you could feel how they progressed, came closer, to a very sad, but perfect ending.

( I hope this isnt a spoiler, but I believe everybody is

familiar with the basic storyline of Mulan.)

The storyline is told in a way, that you accept the ending without a doubt in your mind. Beautiful. Which is actually a first for me. At least with sad movies (I hated Titanic)

Well, like I said, this movie is sad, not very comical, but beautiful.

If you're up to it you should def. watch it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Shaolin Soccer
11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 7, 2011
Apr 7, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Ah Shaolin Soccer, it has a soft spot in my heart.

This movie will make you laugh like no other movie has. I'm not one for rewatching, but i've seen this movie at least 4 times, once even with my dad. It's hillarious



The story line is probably not the best, but it's still fine.



The Cast and the Acting were amazing. Stephen Chow read more really knows how to act, as do the other cast members.



The music was ok and served its purpose well.



As I mentioned before, i'm not one for rewatching dramas and movies, but this is the one movie i really can rewatch as many times without getting too tired of it.



Overall, i'm giving this a 10 because in my opinion, it's an absolute must watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hanamizuki
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 6, 2011
Apr 6, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
It's really touching story. I cried in the middle, but it was worth. When you are looking for story about love and dreams, this is the best choice. The actors are amazing too.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hanamizuki
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 6, 2011
Apr 6, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This is a story about first love. The story is good. It tells about a girl who dreams of studying in Tokyo and a boy who dreams to be fisherman. It was amazing. This is worth watching and gives me a hope.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Postman To Heaven
8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 6, 2011
Apr 6, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This telecinima was wonderfully written and beautifully executed. One I could watch a thousand times and never tire of. I found it to be very touching and I was crying a lot. Some aspects seemed confusing in the beginning but as the story progresses they work themselves out. The two leads had wonderful chemistry as well. Overall it was one of my favorite movies next to Nineteen.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Baby & I
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 5, 2011
Apr 5, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
The storyline of this movie probably isn't the most original, however, it doesn't stop it from being an amazing movie.



The cast and the acting were exception, and you could feel the chemistry between the leads.



The music fulfilled its purpose.



As for rewatch value, i'm not much of a rewatcher, but I feel like comedy movies like this have great rewatch value. read more



Overall, I'm giving this a 9. It''s one of those movies which are perfect for times when you''re stressed. Just turn on this movie, and you'll feel the stress go away.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No