Sort by:
A Moment to Remember
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 22, 2012
Sep 22, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
This was a fantastic movie. I lost too many tears, now my whole face is swollen from all the crying. I think I cried more than in drama, 1 liter of tears. It is a pity for such a great guy to go through so much hardships. But in the end he found his true love, and he no matter what takes care of her.
I cannot believe Alzheimer exists at such read more a young age. I know someone with Alzheimer's disease, and this lady recognizes the voices of her loved ones, or I feel like she does. But I didn't expect that this is how it is. Anyways, I'm glad I've seen this movie-it is totally amazing.

I know this is a sad movie, but trust me I loved the ending, even though I cried and knew what might happen in the future. I am glad the writers ended at that, otherwise, I many more tears will be lost.

I had an English essay where I had to write a sad story, to get into the mood I was watching One liter of tears mv, but now I can add this movie to the collection.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Runway Cop
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 22, 2012
Sep 22, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I thought I will watch this no matter how many the negative reviews are just for the sake of Hong Gil Dong's memory. I thought I'm in a boring ride.. But I was wrong! Totally hilarious and will keep you watching till the end!

I love the acting.. You can never go wrong with Kang Ji Hwan! Plus the supports are great as well. There are a lot of fanservice *Kyaaa! And read more a bonus subtitle BL from the other 2 models for those who love BLs!

The OST and BGM was good. I think it is appropriate but nothing too worthy to add in you list of OSTs.

There was no plot holes in the story. Yes it is simple but it managed to deliver it awesomely and fast paced. I think there is no boring scene.

If you are looking for something light that has action, comedy and a bit of romance into it, I definitely recommend this one!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Runway Cop
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 21, 2012
Sep 21, 2012
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Oh NOs! i'm the first to write a review and it's not going to be pretty :(

i had really high hopes for this movie. KJH and SYR?? best couple EVER!

but the movie... just sort of...was. there are some funny moments, REALLY funny moments, mostly KJH being KJH the comedic genius that he is. but aside from that there really isnt a whole lot going on. SYR is just sort of read more there, it felt like she was only in the movie for may thirty minutes. when she was on screen she wasnt really a character more of a charactiture that turned into someone completely different somewhere along the line for no apparent reason. the plot is a mess, half the time it only makes sense in a "i heard what you are saying but, huh?" kind of way.

there are a couple of nice moments with the two main models but they are short and leave you wondering why these two are even in the movie to begin with other that to be young and pretty next to KJH's not that young and pretty.

to sum up, it just wasnt that great and the sparse awesome bits werent enough to compltely redeem it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sunny
5 people found this review helpful
by Aks
Other reviews by this user
Sep 21, 2012
Sep 21, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I loved this film...from beginning to end.

Story- It wasn't a completely original or necessarily a new plot but the execution was almost flawless, each character was individual and unique. The story spent a long time in the past, and it worked because we got to know them in the past before we saw them in the future. The only downside and its not really a downside, is maybe they could have read more made it a little longer so we could understand their lives a little better.

Acting- Just great! I don't really know Kang So Ra so I'm not biased but my favorite character was Sunny's leader Ha Chun Hwa she's feisty and loyal.

Music- I loved all the 80's music... surprisingly even though they were American songs they worked really well. They made the scenes funnier at times, and more touching.

I'd watch it again, and if you're considering whether to watch it definitely do. It's not too heavy, but its touching enough to leave an impact, but not the type that makes you feel depressed but the type that makes you feel like seeing all your friends.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Scandal Makers
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 21, 2012
Sep 21, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I think this movie is really great !
It has comedy but also serious part. Happy moment and sad moment. Family and a little romance as well.

At first I thought it's mostly about family but it's turn out really well. I love how the story cause I think it's fun, light, and unique. But I hope it would be more touching rather than depressing..

I love the cast they play the read more role really well ! I can feel the emotion from the acting as well ! I think the cast deliver all the feelings really well. Great Job !

I love the music and I think it's really worth rewatch but still since I don't like to rewatch stuff so I can't give 10 XD

Overall I love this movie even it's not that perfect to me but still I like this a lot ! I really recommend this to everyone ~
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
200 Pounds Beauty
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 19, 2012
Sep 19, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Usually, I hate Korean movies but this one is an exception. While most Korean movies have bad story lines, scenes that are supposed to be funny but aren't, or mediocre acting, 200 Pound Beauty is the opposite. I watched this movie with my family, and we all loved it. The acting is great, and I'm very happy with the casting. Although the theme that the movie is based around can be considered read more in a serious light and there are serious scenes (plastic surgery, pressure to conform to the social norms), the movie is hilarious and I was ROFL'ing throughout the whole movie. There are inappropriate innuendos (which I would normally dislike), but they fit into the story line and just add to the overall hilarity of the movie itself. And the music just makes everything that much more perfect. I found myself singing Ave Maria, Beautiful Girl, and Byul over and over again because the songs were so catchy-and not in a bad way. The overall atmosphere that the movie created put me in a bubbly mood.

There are a couple flaws in the storyline and there are a couple scenes where I thought "whaa-?" or "okay, don't really like this scene", and there were a few actors that didn't really act very well (but they scarcely appeared anyways so it doesn't really matter). Still, this is by far the best South Korean romcom in existence and the only one I'd recommend out of the myriad of Korean movies out there. I have watched this movie 10 times already and I'm still not bored yet.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Man From Nowhere
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 19, 2012
Sep 19, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I watched this a long time ago. And I'm still wondering why not many people have watched it. It's totally action-packed. And yes it's about a guy who comes outta nowhere to save a little girl. He's not a pervert though. (i don't know where that came from)

Anyway. The story was perfect, acting Won Bin stole my heart there and then. First time seeing him in action and I would definitely read more watch anything action-packed with him in it.

Many of you won't watch it because of 'violence'. But I'd say you should definitely give it a try because you're missing out on a lot and you don't even know it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Treeless Mountain
2 people found this review helpful
by Kris
Other reviews by this user
Sep 19, 2012
Sep 19, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Treeless Mountain is a tough film to watch as it is quiet and moves slowly. There is no soundtrack, but the lack of music adds a sense of rawness of the story. However, while the absence of music helps the viewer develop an honest connection to the characters, I think the film also could have benefited from occasional music to increase emotional impact and watchability.

The story is bittersweet and (modestly) powerful, read more and it left me feeling both hopeful and sad. The best parts of the film are probably the performances of the two little girls. The girls were very natural, making me feel like I was simply observing the children's journey through life. I also loved the cinematography. Some scenes were so beautiful that I can still remember them vividly a few years after seeing the film.

There were so many parts of this film that I loved, but because the slow pacing makes it a little difficult to sit through, I leave an overall rating of 7 ('good').
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Shaolin
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 19, 2012
Sep 19, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
To be honest, I watched this movie 'cause I mistook Nicholas Tse for Nicholas Teo from Smiling Pasta, silly me. The whole time I was watching this movie, I was waiting for Nicholas Teo to show up...but he never did. Nevertheless, I was not disappointed. AMAZING movie. The story was very touching, very heart warming. I bawled like a baby...I probably cried more watching this movie than 1 litre of Tears. Literally, read more I cried for 30 minutes straight. If you're looking for a happy ending, this movie isn't for you. But if you're looking for a heart warming story, amazing martial arts scenes, and a realistic ending, I totally recommend this movie. There's even comic relief during all seriousness when desperately needed, which makes it even funnier.
This movie would have gotten a 10...if Nicholas Teo actually did showed up...thought I was losing my mind looking at these bald men trying to find Nicholas Teo, instead I found Jackie Chan
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Secret
35 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 18, 2012
Sep 18, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
First thing I want to mention is its awesomeness in music department. This film’s music is composed by Terdsak Janpan & Jay Chou. Every track in the album is amazing and gripping. I love every track of album but I frequently listen to ‘Sunny Doll’, ‘Angel’, both themes of Xiaoyu and ‘The Flashback’. The music will grab you and blend you into the atmosphere. Use of Piano in this movie is effective, read more brilliant, breathtaking and touching. Piano performs crucial role in this movie, in characters’ feelings and emotions like when both leads are playing together and The Piano Battle.
Words of other reviewer, “It’s no exaggeration to say that its background music is another main character. Even if you hate soft music, once you try to listen to its music, it would begin to wear down your defenses. It won't let your ears close even for a minute.”

A reviewer said, “If you miss this movie, it would be one of the goofiest things you've done throughout your life as a movie-goer.” And I'm agree with him/her.
Before starting this movie I thought this movie is going to be average but surprisingly it was far beyond my expectations and now I placed this movie in my permanent favorites list including all Hollywood, Bollywood & all other non-Asian movies.
Don’t think that it’s a typical school romance with tearjerker moments, it’s more than that. I’d say it is beautiful, intelligent and a chiller thriller in a way. It is full of romance and mystery, blending of many genres like School, Youth, Melodrama, Comedy, Fantasy, Thriller, Mystery and Horror (Not horror but listen ‘The Flashback’ and you’ll know what I want to say).
And about ending; it’ll leave you thinking. Story needs some thinking to be able to understand it fully. You’ll probably think that there are many flaws in the story but there aren’t any because you’ve to think and most of things are logical in movie point of view. I know what happened in the end but whenever I watch it again it makes me confuse. I’m still confused about ending.

Visually it is more than satisfying. Its coloring is awesome and special effects are also good (Don’t expect effects like big budget Hollywood movies).

Lun Mei Kwai is beautiful and did brilliant job. She is lovely and charming.
And bow to “Singer/Songwriter/Composer/Actor/Producer/Director” Jay Chou. Before I thought he’s just another guy who looks cool and sings and because of obsessed fans he’s popular but now I take my words back. Now he is ahead of all those ‘SHOWCASE’ actors but still behind those ‘ACTOR’ actors. Now, I’m a fan of Jay (It’s surprising that he’s actually popular in India!).

Overall this movie is a must watch and after watching you’ll know that this movie will stay in your heart forever.

BTW Secret 2 is announced and currently in production. I hope Secret 2 will be as great as Secret and I also hope that it’ll be a sequel to Secret.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Beautiful Life
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 17, 2012
Sep 17, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Asia has a unique flavor of romcom that includes stirring in the melodrama about halfway through. Don’t let that description scare you away though! This Chinese movie may contain some sadness but it isn't overwhelming. Plus the comedy in the beginning is well-written and the development of the onscreen romance is uber sweet. Both Qi Shu and Ye Liu do a great job with their characters and their chemistry is amazing. Although read more I’m not a huge fan of Qi Shu’s border-anorexic look in this movie, I love her acting in this and some other films. She commits to her character and manages to bring some spunk while still being vulnerable and relate-able.

(above originally from my blog review/article on the movie)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sep 17, 2012
Sep 17, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
I rather enjoyed watching this movie, it had some nice twists and the male lead played a really interesting and likeable character!^^
The actors did a good job and I especially liked Kaneshiro's performance. He did a great job switching between this funny, absent-minded, music loving guy to a Shinigami who is unfazed by death and yearns to see a clear blue sky just once. The scenery with all that rain created read more a very fitting atmosphere! And the jokes were woven in beautifully - they didn't disturb the overall serious tone of the movie but served as a welcomed cheering up. There were some scenes which made me laugh so hard! XD What I espcially liked about this movie was the ending which I found rather emotional and deep - with hardly any words, the events and scenery pretty much speak for themselves! The main reason I gave it such a low rewatch value is because I hardly ever rewatch a movie. But I also think that the element of surprise plays an important part in this movie which is another reason why I most likely wouldn't rewatch it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sep 17, 2012
Sep 17, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This is a great story about life/death and what is important. The imagery is amazing. I love the sunflowers and the rain. The acting is also well done. I don't know much about Japanese actors, but I really enjoyed Kaneshiro Takeshi. I didn't realize that he was in House of Flying Daggers which I watched years ago. I think I will rewatch that movie. Anyway, he has a way of drawing you read more in that I love. This was recommended to me through Sky-N-Rain's new featured movie article and I'm so glad that I watched it. It has a very peaceful feeling to me. It is definitely a must watch movie!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Paradise Kiss
22 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 17, 2012
Sep 17, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Paradise Kiss had been in my to-watch list for quite some time and it was a good movie. I have not seen the anime or anything so just as a movie, it was a good watch. I have a thing for chick flicks and this movie is just that.

With quite a simple story and even simpler characters, it was delightful to watch. This is another no-brainer, but a nice one nonetheless. read more I am not fond of anime humour getting injected in every Japanese film or drama, so this one was good for a change in that aspect. The actors were good and I really liked the chemistry between the two leads. Also, this movie lives upto its name 'Paradise Kiss'. It has a couple of kissing scenes which were the best I have seen in anything Japanese so far.

The film primarily focuses on fashion, so the clothes were great in this one. While it drags out longer than required, it is a relaxing movie. Just grab a bowl of popcorn and watch it when you're bored. It will surely provide you with good humour and some cute romantic moments.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Dear Friends
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 17, 2012
Sep 17, 2012
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
I watched this movie expecting a very good bonding session between two friends. However, it is the most depressing movie I have watched till date. From the starting to end, it is filled with the ultimate kind of tragedy. But the story and acting were both very good.

This movie touches upon very deep issues and the fact that it is based on real life events, it is even more touching. Both read more the girls in the story are suffering from illnesses and even then, they form true friendship and learn to care about each other. Most of all, it delivers the message about how important it is to have friends no matter in what state you are in life.

I only watched this movie out of curiosity and it didn't disappoint me apart from the fact that it leaves you so exhausted emotionally and mentally. I am well aware of the painful things cancer patients have to go through, but a particular scene after Rina's surgery was quite disturbing. In fact, this movie has a lot of painful and disturbing scenes. So, I would suggest that only if you can endure watching the harsh reality of sick people, then watch this film or skip it altogether.

The screenplay was beautiful and once again, here is a Japanese movie with doses of originality. Though terminal illness is a rather repetitive plot in movies, almost all other aspects of this film were original. The synopsis summarizes the best parts of the movie very well in one paragraph.

Anyway, because of so many reasons this movie cannot be rewatched by me and hence the overall low score.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No