Sort by:
The Sword With No Name
14 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 27, 2012
Feb 27, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I rarely write reviews , but this time I just couldn't help it . This movie portrays the real meaning of a man loving a woman . If you watch this you will love the main actors , at first you will think that the lead is such a cutie but then as the story develops you see his manly , sexy and hot side which will make your heart go crazy read more ! "If only a guy like that exists in real life " that's what I ended up saying after watching this ! The story line is really sweet , emotional and sad . You will most certainly love the fighting scenes . I totally recommend this movie , just believe me and give it a try . You will never regret it .
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Penny Pinchers
18 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 27, 2012
Feb 27, 2012
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Okay, so I finally finished watching this movie and honestly I don't know if I like it or not. I was really looking forward to watching this movie because I really like the main actor and actress but this movie was disappointing. For me it wasn't as romantic as they said it would be. It was sometimes funny though. Joong Ki is really adorable and he had really cute and funny moments read more in the movie and I think that was the only things I enjoyed while watching the movie. It wasn't as funny as what they described it to be. I don't even remember a lot of things that was going on in the movie because I was busy looking forward to the romance, but there wasn't even any. The acting was good but I don't think the story did justice towards the acting. It was an okay movie, for me at least.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Time to Love
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 27, 2012
Feb 27, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
(this is my 1st review so please be kind plus my first language isn't English but french so forgive the grammar and spelling errors please and thank you:D)

I just finished it and i got to say at first i didn't think that they knew each others feelings since they never really spoke about it to me they just looked like really close childhood friends ... but apparently in this movie "feelings read more don't need to be spoken" seems to be there quote :)
I didn't really get why the two families were fighting over and why they were so against the two leads ... kind of like the really story of romeo and Juliette. And just like in the book there love (even tho they don't express it very much) felt real, pure, sincere and deep. Which is basically due to the Great acting of the actors they had chemistry it felt real.
The ending on the other and left me ... unsatisfied? it was weird it was not a bad or sad ending but it didn't have that "happily ever after" you wish for during the movie :S

To conclude this movie was great except for the disappointing ending that's why u gave it an 8/10
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Nodame Cantabile The Final Score II is really a continuation of the first movie. I wrote a review for The Final Score I and my thoughts there are very much the same here.

The continuation and deepening of both Chiaki's and Nodame's talents and relationship are the focus. And they both have to decide what they want and what is important. The story is told in the same funny, silly and charming read more way the whole series has been told. This movie is the best of them and usually with sequels, you can't say that.

More of my thoughts are expressed in the other review and I'd only be repeating myself too much.

The music is a 10. I can't give it any lower. I think I am more of a classical fan now.

I give the re-watch a 10 because I just got done watching a 2nd time.

I recommend the whole series highly.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Feb 26, 2012
Feb 26, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
The thing about Nodame Cantabile is the very different and creative way the story is told. It is a refreshing mix of comic book slap stick and lovely maturity with really solid and well written relationships underneath. I’ve never seen anything like it. Add to that the constant and beautiful music that is the focus of Nodame and Chiaki’s world.

This show and particularly the movie, are so much more than just read more your average drama. I have already reviewed the Jdrama Nodame Cantabile and I would only add one really important thing you should know. Nodame and Chiaki live in Paris and their journey is set in a much more adult world past college into apprenticeship and learning to become Pro. They have a new group of friends, harder challenges and also a deeper, more mature place in their relationship.

But trust me, it hasn’t lost all of its comic book slapstick and silliness. I think the way the writers made both Chiaki and Nodame grow up is very smart of them and cool for us viewers. This movie is a fun. Because Nodame is still sloppy and she still has all of her core craziness intact. Chiaki is still a stuffy, cranky commitment phobic but he is also still tender and kind of a sucker for Nodame. They have become in my mind eccentric because they are genius and geeky, not because they are comic manga characters with no depth. Again, the writers of this show/manga are smart.

Of course the cinematography is great. They are in Paris! Everything looks great, all the time. (Accept Nodame’s apartment.)

The music is a 10. It’s Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, Revel and on and on.

If you haven’t watched the Nodame Series, you should give it a try but
I suggest definitely watching before you watch this movie. And when you do, you’ll think this movie is the best part of the series.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sad Movie
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 26, 2012
Feb 26, 2012
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This is indeed a sad movie. It has an unique story of multiple characters that face love life crisis. What I enjoy about the film is that it successfully introduces the characters and actually makes you sort of care about them in the short amount of time. I also like the fact that its unlike most dramas and movies where they have a happily ever after ending. It shows that life isn't read more always merry. The best thing about movies is its length. Because its so short (compared to dramas), you can always rewatch it without taking out so much time from your personal life. Overall you should give this movie a chance if you have 108 minutes to spare.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Battle Royale
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 26, 2012
Feb 26, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Battle Royale is a must watch...Well may be should watch.Not because it is hillarious but because of its existence. The story is pretty harsh and bloody.It is almost insane, but I think it is knowingly done so, to be more impressive.If you are a little into J-drama you will probably recognize some of the actors and you will realise how much they have improved, and the movie will show you that they read more had the talent to begin with.The music unfortunately, is not remarkable at all.As about the cinematography I am a little confused. The murder and killing scenes were not convincing, but as I have mentinoed before I had the feeling it was knowingly done so.Well another reason may be because the movie is an early work (Today, 2000 can be called early I guess)On the other hand the scene where they explain the rules of the game did convince me that the director knew exactly what he was doing. So much for the analysis...What most impressed me in this movie is the idea...It really made me think about the japanese society...I think they are really concerned about their youth, to an extent of fear. Having such a movie in their media feels like that they have real fears for their future,that they are not happy about the growing youth and they are looking for some answers what to do with them. Well,what a little more scary and alarming is, the value of life.It looks like they are about to lose it.Or may be they are afraid to lose it? I don't know...I jumped to these conclusions /questions after I watched "The confessions" and "Ikigami,The Ultimate Limit" along with Battle Royale.
To sum up Battle Royale is a good movie for its period not because of its acting or any other cinematographic value, but because of the idea behind it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Prince of Tennis
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 26, 2012
Feb 26, 2012
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
This was good. It would have been good if the matches shown were a little bit longer.
Compared to the anime, this seems rushed. That maybe because its a movie. I liked the anime better. I liked how this was based on the anime.

I liked how the character has a lot of different moves. It reafreshed my memory from the anime.

I liked the ending music, the movie showed. Made me read more fel like the need to dance.
Some of the characters was complete reflections of the anime characters.

I expected too much from the movie because i really enjoyed the anime, but still i would stil recomend it to people. I still enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
You're My Pet
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 25, 2012
Feb 25, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
this is a great movie! even if it has things that you say...OKKK but is a beautiful story and the actors have good chemistry. totally recommend it! is a MUST WATCH MOVIE because is good and because the main actor is
Jang Geun Suk!!!!! OMG he's adorable acting like a dog! jeejjeej I couldn't stop laughing!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love You 10000 Years
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 25, 2012
Feb 25, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Omg I really loved this movie! Not only was it super funny but the story was really good and it never got boring. Vic Zhou was amazing in this! I’ve never seen him act this good in anything I’ve seen him in. It was nice to see him smile a lot for a change. I really like how his character developed from pretty much a douchebag to this guy who completely falls read more hard for his opposite. Although I didn’t really care for the female actress I was surprised by how much chemistry she had with Vic. They made a very believable couple. Loved the ending so cute. I’ll be watching this over and over again=)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Clash of the Families
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 25, 2012
Feb 25, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Meet the In-laws is a cute movie. It is super funny but the story kind of lacks. Nothing interesting happens out of the whole meeting the in laws. I kind of got bored by the middle and began to do other things while having the movie play. By the time the end came along I hadn’t missed much. The only reason to watch this is if you are a fan of Lee read more Shi Young. She really is a great actress and her character is just too cute. The main lead actor isn’t all that attractive so it was hard to appreciate his character. I didn’t like the supporting characters playing the families all that much. Overall this is a watchable movie if you have time but nothing to go out of your way to watch unless you are a fan of LSY which I am=)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
You're My Pet
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 25, 2012
Feb 25, 2012
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
How shit was this movie. It was utterly disappointing and close to being a complete failure.

The acting was alright and the music I enjoyed to some extent.

The story is completely unoriginal but they could have totally owned it if it weren't for the person who edited/directed this movie. I mean it had so much potential to be a good movie but it failed to deliver at the end.

The biggest read more problem for me is that this movie did not FLOW. It was all over the place and I HATED IT. WHO THE HELL EDITED THIS MOVIE, they need a severe scolding.

And yes I did watch the Japanese drama of this movie and I recommend you. NO PLEAD YOU to watch this Jdrama of this instead of this movie.
What a waste of my 1:50:11 hours of my life.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Penny Pinchers
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 25, 2012
Feb 25, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I was looking forward to watching this movie because I'm a fan of both leads...

The movie started off just being funny as the leads meet by "coincidence" and then start this weird partnership of doing all these odd jobs to make quick money. For a comedy I thought they wrote the story more realistic than I'm use to seeing with K romantic comedies. The story does get a bit dramatic towards read more the end due to some unforseen events, although I quite guessed what happened would happened. The romance in this was really light and we don't really see any payoffs till the end. I didn't really have a problem with this because although the leads had a good chemistry I didnt sense a romantic connection. It could be the fact that HYS looks 10 yrs older than SJK. Anyways the actors did a great job with thier characters and portrayed thier flaws perfectly. I'd watch this again but not right away because I wasn't in love with the story.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Blind
13 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 25, 2012
Feb 25, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
The opening of the movie shows a shocking scene, which for me set the mood for the rest of the movie and helped grab my attention.

Story: Let's be honest, it's not original. I've watched, at least, one other movie where the witness of a crime is blind. It, also, falls into thriller movie cliches, which makes it ordinary, but that doesn't not mean it's not good. It's actually quite absorbing and read more you can't help but to give all your attention to it. Also, I love the camera work and the way they blended the world of the blind with the world of the seeing in some scenes.

Acting/Cast: I liked the acting. I thought the ways the characters interacted with each other were very good. I'll admit I had my reserves about it after watching Kim Ha Neul in "You Are my Pet". She had failed to impress me in it. But I'm glad I watched this. She plays a totally different character than she did in YAMP, and does a really good job of it. Yoo Seung Ho is quite impressive in it too.

Music: To be honest, it wasn't bad, but it's quite forgettable. But it did what it was supposed to do in the moment, accompany the actions and pace of the movie.

I'll re-watch this movie eventually since I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Going by the Book
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Feb 25, 2012
Feb 25, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
The main lead (Jung Jae Young) is an awesome actor and portrays his character so well, supporting actors are good too.

The film starts with the simple and not so captivating story of the cop who is just doing his job very-very fairly. But then he is appointed by his chief as a fake robber during a play-war in the real bank, that's when it becomes more and more interesting. Contains very read more unusual and surprising plot developing. Some suspense and funny scenes)
You definitely won't find out how it finishes till you watch it to the very end. That's why I loved it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No