Sort by:
The Housemaid
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 29, 2011
May 29, 2011
  • Overall 3.0
  • Story 2.0
  • Acting/Cast 4.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
This movie is so disappointing that I have no words to describe it. The whole story lacks support. The acting is awful but I don't blame the actors..I'm sure it's the script. For the one that wrote this : even children can come with something better! I've completely wasted my time watching this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Man From Nowhere
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 29, 2011
May 29, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This movie was a total surprise for me. Why? Because I thought I would dislike it. But something drew me in, and I was right to follow my instinct; the acting is fantastic by both of the leads, and the story is interesting.

It's quite a dark movie with just a few happy moments, but somehow it left me with a warm feeling.

Also, some of the supporting read more characters left me with a deep impression as well, one of the bad guys and the shopkeeper, even though neither of them had a lot of screen-time.

I give this movie a full 10, I was entertained, moved, and didn't take my eyes off the screen until the end.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Millionaire's First Love
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 28, 2011
May 28, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
This is not the first time that I have come across a story in which a guy and a girl fall in love and the girl has some kind of disease. 'A Millionaire's First Love' has traits of a typical tragedy- the leads- one is rich and spoilt and takes things for granted, the other is poor and lives, coping with the severe hardships of life. At one glance this movie is read more a cliché. Once you read the synopsis somewhere, the movie will start playing before you and you can easily predict the ending. The same applies to me. However, since I am a fan of tragedies and like to torture my eyes by bawling them out, I watched it. This was one reason. Another reason was the movie's popularity. I have heard a lot in its praise.



I liked the cast. The two leads did brilliant acting, especially Hyun Bin as Kang Jae Jyung. Lee Yeon Hee as Choi Eun Whan was perfect. This was my first time seeing her on screen and I was impressed. 'The Snow Queen' is a Korean drama with a similar story starring Hyun Bin but his character in it is completely the opposite of what it is in this movie. The music is pretty good and it fit into the scenes well. The only thing that bugged me was that the male lead realized his feelings for the female lead too quick. There was hardly any interaction between the two and the next moment, they were in love! It felt as if the director just wanted to make the two fall in love but didn't give a thought to show HOW. So yeah, it was kind of a turn-off from the point of a romantic stuff watcher. But the positive side is that the two leads were successful in touching my heart. I could relate myself to them and feel sympathy. At the end, I couldn't help but cry. As I said earlier, the ending is pretty predictable once you read the synopsis or watch the first half of the movie but still I couldn't help but feel the pain as if it was not how expected it to end.



As for the rewatch value, I don't think I'll watch it again for now but perhaps after a long time when I would feel like watching something sad.



To sum everything up, I would say that this movie is for you if you like tragic love stories (and if you are another Hyun Bin fan!)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Tale of Two Sisters
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 28, 2011
May 28, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Bestest movie ever! I work in psychology so this is something I am interested in. I loved the actress and the story. I don't really pay attention to the music unless it is bad. So, the music had to be good for me not to notice anything. I looked this up and there are so many remakes of this in different countries. I am from the US but I just don't think read more that the American version could be as well done as this one. Watch this movie, it will make you think. And, if you don't have a psychology background you may have to watch it a couple times to understand some of the concepts that are underlying in the story. This movie is right up there w/ "12 Monkeys" & "Memento" for me. Go check them out.



http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0114746/



http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0209144/
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Millionaire's First Love
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 28, 2011
May 28, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Loved this movie. No1 can watch this movie and not be touched. Some movies have all the right elements in place that make them unforgettable and this is one. Watch this you will love it too.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
4th Period Mystery
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 28, 2011
May 28, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I really liked this movie. I am not so sure that kids at that age would be as calm as the lead actor & actress were, but I would like to think that it is true. It was a good story and I really liked how it ended b/c I never saw it coming until I saw that one piece of evidence. I questioned the whole time if the police would be read more as capable in solving crimes? I will so totally be watching this again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Darling is a Foreigner
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 27, 2011
May 27, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 0.0
A great story! I would recommend it to everyone, who was up for a romantic comedy...

The movie caught my attention from the first seconds...

It showed different couples, every time the guy was a foreigner (not a Japanese) and they were telling about the fun part of their lives...What wrong things do the foreigners do, which Japanese people find funny...

Inoe Maou, was brilliant as always...I love her read more English, and she tried to talk it quite a lot here :P

The guy, Toni, was chosen, very...how would I say...he was very eye catching, not the handsome guy you'd expect...but at the same time, sometimes so cute and lovable all the time.

The main idea of the movie (and I think of the manga too), that everyone is different, it doesn't matter are you Japanese or French, or American...Everybody's unique...and maybe our cultures are different, we're all people and get along, love, even marry :)



Overall...I loved the movie.

It's worth watching!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
This is Law
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 27, 2011
May 27, 2011
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
For some reason this movie annoyed me. A lot! Maybe because it\'\'s old and the acting not so good? Maybe..and maybe not. Actually I didn\'\'t like the characters. The story is interesting but that\'\'s all.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
CJ7
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 26, 2011
May 26, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I watched this movie with friends who were making wise cracks every minute or so, so I wasn't able to fully enjoy and comprehend the movie, so that's why I may not have loved this movie as much as I could have. The story was somewhat generic(by no means was it bad though), the Cast/acting, like in every Stephen Chow movie, was spectacular. The music was alright. As fore rewatch value, I'm read more not much of a rewatcher, but this would be a decent flick to rewatch. Overall, this movie is 8.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Baby & I
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 24, 2011
May 24, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I totally loved this movie. It was so dang funny! It was very heartwarming also as the story progressed. I will be watching this one again when I have a chance b/c it made me laugh and cry. It made me want another baby. I will recommend this movie to any1 who asks me. I watched this and enjoyed the cultural differences that I thought made the movie much more interesting. Being read more a young mother also made this movie interesting to me b/c we don't expect children to grow up and be responsible to such an extent as is necessary in this movie. Every1 enjoy watching this 1.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
May 24, 2011
May 24, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Comparing the live-action to the anime is pointless. The anime is of course better and more detailed. Sure, they kept the main characters and ideas and yet the supporting ones added more suspense. Still it's not awful either..So I have to add that I personally enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Daisy
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 23, 2011
May 23, 2011
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
It was promising. The story of two men falling in love with the same woman. One is a criminal, the other a cop and yet they have one thing in common. I liked the fact that every main character tells the story from the beginning to their end. And daisies..follow the characters every step and as the canvas is finished so is our story.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
House of Flying Daggers
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 23, 2011
May 23, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I watched this movie for the first time one day while my laptop was broken to pass the time, and I instantly fell in love with it. After that, I showed it to my sister and that became the first movie we ever saw together, and it was instantly deemed a classic among our lists of movies we've watched both separately and together. The storyline was absolutely captivating and had us hooked read more from the beautiful beginning to the unexpected ending with its multiple plot twists and breathtaking moments. This movie turned us into fans of the Wuxia genre's unique fighting styles and amazing choreography. The casting was great and they played each of their parts well. We both enjoyed the music, specifically the main theme and its arrangements.



This movie is perfect for those who love the Wuxia and romance genres. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Frozen Flower
31 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 21, 2011
May 21, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
High powered tension, an intense love triangle, and imminent rebellion all come together to make a elaborate story I was certainly drawn into. I will admit, however, that the middle of the story seemed to drone on a tad bit and left me rather distracted, but it quickly picked up around the end as the plot unraveled and left me with my eyes glued to the screen.



The acting read more was absolutely superb in every sense of the word. I was completely and undeniably convinced they were who they said they were, and it's safe to say that it's rare for me to feel that way.



My only complaint is that I could've lived without the more inappropriate scenes...I felt they carried on for far too long when other more important things could've been happening.



Overall, this is definitely a movie worth seeing.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Antique Bakery
13 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 21, 2011
May 21, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
This was a really good movie. The story was very different and the characters were amazing. I will watch it again when I feel the need to be happy even though it has a dark undertone. I really enjoyed this movie and will recommend it to others.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions