Sort by:
Romancing in Thin Air
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 13, 2012
Apr 13, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This was a very good movie, dealing with all of the emotions. Happy, sad, a little bit angry at times. Overall though, this was a wonderful movie that was greatly made. I really liked the entire thing and I'm sure that if you are either a Louis Koo or Sammi Cheng fan that you will enjoy this movie as I have. I hope that this review helps!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Late Autumn
38 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 12, 2012
Apr 12, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Why, of why did I read Violet's review? I had somehow fallen into a sort of quiet limbo regarding my favourite actor and almost forgotten about this movie accordingly, when I read her review, ran to watch the movie myself - talk about patience - and was instantly thrown into my most familiar obsession: Hyun Bin.

My bad. To top it all, I agree with her: this movie is beautiful. I know read more this is a remake of an older Korean movie with the same title which I haven't seen, but from the start it reminded me a lot of the american/french film "Before Sunrise", with the two leads carving out for themselves a tiny bubble in space and time, far from their present lives and the world outside.
The difference - a notable one for me - is that while in Before Sunrise the two protagonists talk a lot, too much for my taste, here silences are a lot more poignant and meaningful. I am actually glad I watched it raw, to the point I think everybody should do so. To elaborate: most dialogues take place in English, but there are moments when Anna speaks in Chinese and Hoon in Korean. English is their communication tool, but the reason why they understand each other is not a language. Apart from the dance scene mentioned by Violet, I fell in love with another, in which she tells him her story in Chinese and he only comments "bad" or "good", depending on what he feels is her mood. Watching it raw, made me live the entire surreal dialogue as if I were him, not grasping one word, but trying to understand what she conveyed with her posture and eyes.

I also agree about the direction, and I have come up with a sort of theory of my own as to why the colours are so subdued. What we are offered is the world outside the prison as Anna sees it. Since colours only depend on our perception, there isn't much reason for her to paint her life. No wonder she wears make up and happier clothes only for a brief moment: they look fake, in contrast with her mood. The only colourful moments are those in which she imagines.
I guess the choice of Seattle wasn't accidental either: as I recall, it is known as the rainiest city in the States.

The acting is spectacular. Hyun Bin is a gorgeous man, but that's definitely not the point of this movie, where he doesn't have to be good-looking: he has to look vain. And I'm glad it is so, for dwelling on his looks would be an offence to his acting skills.
Wei Tang's performance is outstanding. As I said, she expresses a world via silences.

Beautiful music. I wouldn't have minded a little more of it.

I recommend this movie, but only if you are prepared for its pensive pace and all the untold. Not a fluffy watch by all means, and not for anyone looking for comedy.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hana Yori Dango : Final
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 12, 2012
Apr 12, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I didn't like this part as much as the rest of the series. I felt like the plot was really random and a bit pointless, but the amazing actors were still able to pull it off. The best thing about it is the ending and the nice way it wraps everything up. Not as good as the rest, but still definitely worth watching.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
You're My Pet
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 12, 2012
Apr 12, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
It was better than I expected. As Jang Geun Seuk is my favourite, then I love the acting. Story was rather cute but I didn't like the ending that much, I hoped it would be something more. Still it didn't ruin that movie for me. I recommend to watch it for anyone, who likes funny and romantic comedies.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Late Autumn
22 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 12, 2012
Apr 12, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
An outstanding movie, actually. Why I didn't give it a 10? Only and only because of the colors... I'll explain. The movie is full of symbolism, most of the time very clear and eye catching... and absolutely fitting. My only complain is, that the director tried too hard with grey colors to make the characters seem more lonely and lost. The only 3 sparks of color were when Anna wore that gorgeous read more red lipstick and the green dress, the dance of the unknown couple (by the way, this scene is mind blowing and breath taking, silent, and at the same time telling so many-many things)and, of course, the kiss... it was a firework of colors, like the sky suddenly became so bright with sun, you couldn't even look straight...
To talk about acting... to say anything... really won't mean anything... as everything was just perfect, perfect, perfect!
And the music... sometimes it made me dizzy, if I wasn't sitting while watching, I'd fall down for sure...
This movie really made my day!
Totally recommended!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Paradise Kiss
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 12, 2012
Apr 12, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I haven't seen the anime and read the manga but this movie was great! :D The story is complete and looks average but the happenings makes it different.
About the actors/actresses Japan knows who to chose for the characters. We get to know the feelings of each character and understand them better. Also love the fashion/clothes in this movie. So if you haven't encountered "Paradise Kiss" before you'll still like this movie. Hope so :D
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Untold Scandal
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 11, 2012
Apr 11, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This movie is basically the Korean version of the American movie "Cruel Intentions" except it is set in a historical period of Korean instead of Modern times.
The story was pretty good. It was definitely VERY risque for a Korean movie. I'm quite surprised they actually have movies like this there was quite a bit of random nudity. The acting was also very good. Overall this movie is definitely worth watching. Myself, read more i loved the American version and ive watched it several times; seeing it played out in a historical Korean setting was very interesting i really enjoyed it ^^
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Apr 11, 2012
Apr 11, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
First of all - cute movie!
the movie is based around the family bonds and relations: the older brother that protects her sister the best way he can through any hardships, the man who protects them as if they were his own, etc.
not only does the movie concentrate around the family but also around friendship, new encounters and as well searching for the meaning in life (in my opinion)

Very nice read more movie with great acting!! the little girl who plays the sister's role is just amazing..even though she is small and does not have experience in acting...she was able to bring the character to live with the help of the other casts :)

The scenery is just beautiful throughout the movie. The bicycle ride just brings to many different places that enriches the standard of the movie :)

Just to mention the movie is set in the country side meaning that the situation of the families and the life does differ from the city life. It is set in a much poorer area and one might not like the fact that all characters in the movie speak with an accent
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
...Ing
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 9, 2012
Apr 9, 2012
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
This movie was okay. Just okay. I liked the acting and the cast, but I've already seen the story line. Although it is better than some of the "sick people" story lines I've seen, it isn't very original. I've seen better. There are other movies that I enjoyed more. And by enjoyed, I mean cry my heart out.

So, overall, it's an okay movie. Worth watching if you have free time.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
26 Years Diary
22 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 9, 2012
Apr 9, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
What I liked about this movie is its unique and interesting storyline : it’s practically a biography which talks about Lee Tae Sung who after serving the army decided to go to Japan since he has always loved,then he fell in love with the musician Yuri who encounters a tough family life. Even though there was the language differences and difficulties, they actually get along, he helps her to continue her road read more in music and arrange her family life.
I specially loved the lead actor and found many stro,g points in his acting unlike the lead actress whose acting was a little disordered especially at first but things get along well as the movie goes on.
I loved this film despite its sad atmosphere, it was a great because its true story that was made to honor the Korean student for his noble act, I won't say what's the story of the noble act you have to watch the film and find out yourself .
If you're looking for something different then this is recommended; you will understand my cryptic last lines when you watch it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
High School Debut
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 8, 2012
Apr 8, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
As a movie you would watch again and again it has very little value. However the classic story combined with cheesy sets, cast and scenes make it a good film to add to your watch list when you are feeling depressed, simply because you will either giggle either at the outrageousness of the characters or laugh out loud at the strangeness of the film as a whole.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Moment to Remember
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 8, 2012
Apr 8, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This movie is so bitter sweet, like Romeo & Juliet. It' such a tragic story, but at the same time their love is so powerful and beautiful it makes the movie worth watching. Although im only giving it an 8, i really did love this movie. The acting was amazing and the story was very creative. It wasn't really an 'edge of your seat' kind of movie and i ended up watching read more it over the span of two days. The romantic aspect of the movie is so beautiful.. almost surreal in the sense that its pretty much love at first sight. It kind of reminded me of a Korean take of Jordin Sparks; The Notebook in many ways other then the obvious fact that both female leads have alzheimer's.
This movie is definitely a great one. i would recommend it to anyone who likes romance. Its a tear jerker though so bring some kleenex and keep it beside you. ^^
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nana
11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 8, 2012
Apr 8, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Being a lover of NANA, I did enjoy this movie. although a lot of the storyline was cut out due to time considerations, the movie does follow the manga somewhat. I was impressed by the actress who played the main characters. I felt they displayed the different personalities very well.
I also love the OST. The music sang by Nakashima Mika were very inspiring and emotional I really enjoyed her performance.

I read more would recommend this movie to anyone, especially NANA fans.
Happy Watching :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nana 2
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 8, 2012
Apr 8, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Being a lover of Nana and of Nakashima Mika I figured I owed it to myself to watch the sequal to Nana. I can't say I disliked it or liked it. Although it followed the manga enough that I understood what was going on. I felt a little disappointed by how rushed everything was. However since it's a movie I can understand how the writers couldn't fit everything in. Another thing I read more didn't really like how they changed the actress for Nana Komatsu, it's not that Ichikawa Yui did a bad job it's just I personally didn't enjoy her playing Nana as much as I did with Miyazaki Aoi.
If you liked the manga NANA then you owe it to yourself to atleast give this movie a shot.
I recommend it.

Happy Watching
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
BeatRock☆Love
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 8, 2012
Apr 8, 2012
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I watched this movie when I heard Takeru (SuG) was in it. I couldn't find it with subs, only raw. It's been out since 2009 so would be great if anyone would subtitle it now.

It was like a typical band movie. They're friends, go through ups and downs, have a member who thinks different or considering some place better, but in the end it all works out and they remain friends. read more The music was good and ScReW made a guest appearance as an opening act for Love Diving (their band in the movie). As a plus there is also a music video Shout it Loud- Love Diving
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No