If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
A Boy and His Samurai
5 people found this review helpful
Oct 28, 2011
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This movie was so good!!!! It was funny, inspiring, and absolutely adorable! I have been looking for this for so long and once I finished it was definitely worth the wait! I recommend it for anyone who wants to watch a feel good movie! :D
Was this review helpful to you?
Paradise Kiss
9 people found this review helpful
Oct 28, 2011
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
I wanted to watch this movie because I've heard a lot of people loved the anime/manga. I haven't read the manga or seen the anime [yet] so my review is solely on the movie itself.



I liked the story - a girl who doesn't even know who she is finds love in something she never thought about before. I loved the dresses and the the world of fashion that they introduced in this movie.



The cast was good - I can't compare it with the manga/anime but I thought that they played their parts well and the acting was done just fine.



I liked the music - from "Hello" by Yui to the songs by Sweetbox. I've been a fan of Sweetbox for the past few years and I loved actually hearing her in this movie!



I will definitely rewatch this movie again. I enjoyed it, plus since I downloaded it I've just decided to keep it on my computer so it'll be right there whenever I wanna watch it again (:



Overall - it's not the best movie out there, but I found it to be an enjoyable film with a nice story and a sweet love. I also loved how they didn't use any of those cheesy special effects I've seen in other Japanese movies based off a manga [High School Debut, Lovely Complex]. Sure there were cheesy parts in the story, but in a more believable way and not totally out there.



My personal opinion is I think it's worth watching (: It's a cute story!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Kamui Gaiden
6 people found this review helpful
by MKay
Oct 27, 2011
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
For starters, let me just say that I love ninja movies, and for all you Death Note fans, our beloved L, Matsuyama Kenichi, is the star player. With that said, I was anticipating a really good movie. I wasn't disappointed with the movie, but I wasn't exactly moved by it either.



The first couple of minutes are just narrative, but afterwards I was immediately plunged into the middle of a confrontation. I didn't mind, I like when a movie starts off with some action. So, if you decide to watch, for the first few scenes be expecting some dart throwing, sword slicing, and a lot of flying, yes I said flying. For myself, some of it was a little far fetched, but nothing so ridiculous that it deterred me from watching. Despite all that, the initial confrontations are important because they introduce some key characters.



The story kind of slowed down from there and became predictable, but picked back up towards the end. Again it's nothing that made me want to drop the movie. There was a lot of suspicion between characters, some more hopping and flying around, and of course a love interest. Also, don't expect too much from the music score, not in this ninja movie. Also, I think that there should have been more depth to Kamui. I really couldn't feel the angst that he was going through...but that's just me.



Maybe I've said too much, maybe not. All in all it was a good movie, not spectacular, but a good movie to watch if you have some spare time.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
200 Pounds Beauty
0 people found this review helpful
Oct 26, 2011
Overall 2.0
Story 3.0
Acting/Cast 3.0
Music 2.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
this movie had about one or two moments when it was entertaining, other than that, it was flat. it seemed that it was always just underpar.



i found myself not really caring much about the leads, i'm not sure if this is do to poor writing, poor acting or poor execution,probably a combination of the three.



and the music, ugh! the music was horrible. i'd rather listen to brittany spears warble whilst shavingher head.
Was this review helpful to you?
Mural
7 people found this review helpful
Oct 26, 2011
Overall 6.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
Overall: I find myself highly disappointed once again. The only things that left a nice impression on me were the sets that composed the Fairy world. These were majestic and the scenery from the world was breathtaking. The other, the lovely, billowy costumes the fairies wore.

I was completely disenchanted with the few special effects the movie did have. They looked fake and did not make the movie any less dull.

Story: The description of the movie "sounded" great, but they could have done so much with this.

Music: The music was nothing special and sometimes I felt like it didn't fit the scene.

Acting/Cast: It wasn't brilliant, I had a hard time believing their distress over certain issues most of the time, but it wasn't horrible either.

Re-watch Value: It's not likely I'll watch this movie again.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
200 Pounds Beauty
10 people found this review helpful
Oct 26, 2011
Overall 9.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 10
This is one of my favourite movies, I've watched it many times with a lot of different people. I think that this is a really good movie, although you can't deny that it lacks depth.



Story-It's great because it's about a real problem in Korea, where in order to get married or become an actress a woman has to go under "the knife". Most korean Hallyu stars have some kind of plastic surgery, altohugh not as extreme as Hanna's. The thing that I liked but at the same time didn't like about this movie was the love story. It really isn't developed, and the male lead is shown as a very shallow person.



Acting-I thought it was really good, specially Kim Ah Joong's because she protrays prefectly what a person goes through after an important change.



Music-Although it's supposed to be a movie about music, it didn't really stand out.



Rewatch Value-I've watched at least 10 times; it just gets better ;)



Overall-Solid nine. It isn't the best movie but it's really funny and gets you to think for a while, it isn't your typical romcom.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Painted Skin
8 people found this review helpful
Oct 26, 2011
Overall 5.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
I watched Painted Skin because I found the description of the story interesting and I love Chinese fantasy films. But this film doesn't have the usual brilliant colors I have come to love in other films of the same genre. The colors were darker which led me to believe, it would probably be a great action/horror film. So, I didn't let it stop me from watching.

The very beginning was interesting, so I was already thinking I was in for a treat, but ten, possibly 15, minutes into the film, I couldn't keep my eyes open. Yes, it was THAT slow! The best part of the film are the last 30-35 minutes of it.

Story: The story was interesting, I just wish they had done more with it. Or at least, made it more interesting.

Acting/Cast: It was sort of ok, but I didn't feel connected to them or like I cared about what was happening to them.

Music: It wasn't that great. There is one song which sounds beautiful, but the rest is not memorable.

Re-watch Value: I will not be re-watching this film in the near or distant future.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Sophie's Revenge
4 people found this review helpful
Oct 25, 2011
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
I came into this movie expecting a lot since a lot of people had recommended it to me. As a result, I was somewhat disappointed.



Story: 7/10 The story was slow in the beginning since it started based on her just wanting her ex boyfriend back, which was rather pathetic. Gradually throughout the movie that changes.



Acting/Casting: 7/10 The acting was great but the characters themselves didn't really make me want to emotionally connect with them.



Music: 7/10 It did it's job but not much else.



Rewatch Value: 4/10 I don't like rewatching movies, and this one wasn't even that great (imo) so it's something i wouldn't rewatch.





Overall: 7/10 This movie is ok for a boring sunday. It's not something very memorable in my opinion.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Cyrano Agency
5 people found this review helpful
Oct 25, 2011
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This was an interesting movie to watch. It didn't turn out the way I expected. I like it because it shows that sometimes love isn't enough, or that even if we love somebody a lot there are still a lot of problems and obstacles.



Story-I liked it, even though I didn't really liked how it developed. It was a fun idea, it reminded mi a lot of Alejandro Casona's play "Los árboles mueren de pie" which translated would be something like "Old trees die standing (?)".



Cast-Park Shin Hye and Uhm Tae Woong, I think that they were the ones that made the movie interesting. Choi Daniel and Lee Min Jung I didn't really like, but it wasn't their fault, I just didn't like their characters, I think that they were flat.



Music-It didn't stand out at all, I didn't even think about until now that I have to grade it. It wasn't bad, it just simply wasn't noticeable.



Rewatch value-This is the kind of movie that I'd watch again with a friend, it's very funny and interesting, even though it's not the best

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Promise
14 people found this review helpful
Oct 24, 2011
Overall 7.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Overall: This is my favorite type of Chinese film, fantasy with a little romance and action thrown in. Most Chinese films have gorgeous views and this one was no exception. I'll admit that among those there were some that looked a little fake, but to be honest it didn't take away from the beautiful images it was invoking. It was like watching a painting move. Although, there was one scene which made me laugh a little when I'm sure they, also, meant it to be beautiful. ALL the costumes were gorgeous and these added to that moving painting feel.

Story: I love fantasy stories and this one as far as a story goes was great. This is not focused on battles and action, it is more like a Fairy Tale.

Acting/Cast: The acting wasn't great, but it wasn't horrible either. It was just enough to keep you interested in what was happening on screen.

Music: The music was amazing and went great with the story.

Re-watch Value: Since this is a movie, it's very likely I'll re-watch it sometime in the future.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Haunters
7 people found this review helpful
Oct 24, 2011
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I rly liked this movie. I love nething that is paranormal/supernatural. This to me is kinda like the movie w/ Bruce Willis & Samuel L Jackson "Unbreakable." The end was a little off, but I can deal w/ it b/c that is how the movie ended. I was rly surprised that they actually had non-Korean actors that could speak the language fluently & act at the same time. Most non-native speakers r thinking too much about the words that something is lost in the acting. One of my only probs w/ Kdrama/Jdrama/etc. is that not a single person knows how to give CPR or do basic wound care/. But I guess that is my own hang up b/c I work in the health field & have had to use the skills at some point in time in the past 12 yrs. For me if these skills were included then it would lend a sense of reality to more shows/movies. Even if the ppl died at least the hero/heroin tried more than just shaking the person & yelling their name, "open your eyes," or "wake up."



Neways, back to the movie! I don't think that ne1 could say this is not a good movie (but there r some dumb-asses our there). This movie is full of excitement but not in a physical fighting kind of way. It is more suspenseful in that u don't know what the "bad guy" (Kang Dong Won as Cho-In)is going to do next. It kept me on edge the whole time.



If ur reading this review I recommend that u watch this movie & see what it is about. ENJOY!~)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Jump
3 people found this review helpful
Oct 23, 2011
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 4.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This a funny light movie. The story is about pursuing your dreams, no matter how impossible they seem. The thing that I didn't really like is that it is really unrealistic, specially on the romantic part. The main lead didn't do anything in the entire movie, just smiled to show that he was falling in love with the female lead. Overall this a good movie to watch if you have just finished watching a very long drama, because it is very fast faced and light, I enjoyed watching it, and I'd watch it again.
Was this review helpful to you?
14 Blades
3 people found this review helpful
Oct 22, 2011
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I admit that at first I watched this just because Wu Chun was in it, but despite the fact that he was supporting character, the movie was rather good. It is the typical chinese kung fu movie, but because it has a historical background the layout of the film is slightly different to fit that time. Since it was in the Ming Dynasty, the invention of metal contraptions were present, so it is not the traditional Chinese kung fu movies like crouching tiger and house of flying daggers kind of thing. The plot line goes rather fast, so paying attention in the beginning is very crucial because it lays a foundation for the rest of the movie. Overall, it was a good action movie with very interesting sound effects. If you like chinese action movies then you might also enjoy this film as well. Also the complex plot is very intriguing.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
My Girlfriend is an Agent
2 people found this review helpful
Oct 21, 2011
Overall 7.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
the "9" for acting/ cast is for Kang Ji Hwan. he practically carries the whole movie. the other actors have thier moments, and the story is ok, but KJH is laugh out loud funny which is what makes the movie watchable, esp when KJH is screaming like a little girl that just saw a big hairy spider.
Was this review helpful to you?
Adrenaline Drive
4 people found this review helpful
Oct 20, 2011
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 10
Haha so I think this is my first time writing a review. So sorry if it's a little short, I don't spend much time on this kind of thing. (too lazy :p)



I first watched this movie in High School. My friend had found it in one of those used VHS bins at the Flea Market, and let me tell you it was money well spent. This movie reminds me of those awesome 80's movies where two unlikely people meet up and end up on an insane, funny adventure. It's a quirky comedy, so if you like those types of movies you'll probably enjoy it.
Was this review helpful to you?