Sort by:
Ooku
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 4, 2011
May 4, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
The movie is great no doubt but it feels a bit rushed. It leaves the feeling that something is missing. I like how the Ohoku is described and how our main hero seems to distinguish himself from the others and yet..I feel some elements are missing, it's like a story constructed on main ideas that are not fully developed.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Baby & I
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 2, 2011
May 2, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
It was funny but the movie itself seemed incomplete-like they were skipping some bits (the only bad thing about the movie). The actors and actress were great, especially the baby xD I would advise you to watch the movie because it does reflect reality to some extent.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Crows Zero
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 2, 2011
May 2, 2011
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
So this is a movie that has so much hype, so many popular actors like Oguri Shun and Odagiri JOe and at the same time managed to put me to sleep. Why? Well other than the fact that I was tired, I didn't like the fact that the movie was just a bunch of guys fighting for a lame reason. And at the same time I'm a guy, so seeing a bunch read more of beautiful guys fighting isn't my thing either.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Project Makeover
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
May 1, 2011
May 1, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
This was quite an interesting movie. The story was unique and included one of my favorite themes: Time Travel...mixed in with romance! In the end it also gave a wonderful "lesson" which I totally agree with. The story was a 10 in my opinion since it was interesting and quite unique! The Cast and the acting was terrific as well.The music wasn't something I listen to over and over again, but it read more still was very likable. As for rewatch value, i'm not much of a rewatcher so i'll give it a five. Overall, this is a movie i'd definitely recommend to people. It leaves you with a good taste in your mouth.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Secret
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 29, 2011
Apr 29, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
wow. That's all I can say. I am speechless. It's raining outside and I was bored as hell. I read the review of ashu and decided to give this movie a try. The story started kinda slow. very slow actually. (or maybe I wasnt in the mood for it -I even stopped in between to watch R.J Berger)

But because it was still raining, and I was still bored I continued. read more And I am glad I did.

Right after I started watching it again, it started to get good- really good. The slow pace of the movie stepped up and the story suddenly turned a 180 degrees.

simply Moving and beautiful.

I am actually still surprised because the movie went against all my expectation I had for it.

It is def worth the watch (and the wait through the first half of the movie) ^_^







PS:

This movie is the perfect example why I love asian drama/movies so much.

The story is told, and the watcher follows whatever happens. Then suddenly there is a flashback which gives you additional info. And with this the meaning of everything that has happened so far changes, and gives a twist to the story.

(american Tvshows rarely use the flashback method)

*Hope this doesnt count as a spoiler*



PSS:

I gave it a low re-watch value simply because I dont like to rewatch sad movies. (Just to find out that I cant help but to cry. again.) ^_^
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kurosagi: The Movie
21 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 29, 2011
Apr 29, 2011
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
If you loved the Kurosagi series, then you probably will not like this movie. For me, it didn't add any closure, especially with the relationship between the main cast. Maki only had 5 minutes in the entire movie. It was just like another normal episode. I loved the music and Yamapi did a great job with his character, but it was just Yamapi, the cop, and the old guy the entire time. read more



I was very disappointed. So if you have seen the series and watch this, just think of it as a bonus episode and not a movie. If you haven't already watched the series then I suggest you do because it is quite clever and enjoyable.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Secret
34 people found this review helpful
by Ashu
Other reviews by this user
Apr 29, 2011
Apr 29, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Oh. My. God.

T-This was just brilliant. I can't really explain it in any other way. D: The story was super touching, the music was super cute, the cast was adorable, the surprises kept on coming and I-I just loved it!



I can't really underline my favorite parts without spoiling, but the whole movie is just pure genius. It's really well thought through, and entertaining as well read more as it is just beautiful. It really touched me.



Recommended for EVERYONE at ALL AGES.

You have to be a robot not to love this movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
I'm a Cyborg, But That's OK
9 people found this review helpful
by Susu
Other reviews by this user
Apr 28, 2011
Apr 28, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
First of all, this movie brought two persons to my mind: Tim Burton and Johnny Depp. (A movie could raise worse associations, I guess.) In this movie, I sensed an atmosphere similar to many movies one or both of them have been involved with. The concept of "normal" is questioned and twisted around. Imagination can fly free and being "weird" is acceptabale - and even adorable!

I think Rain had a really read more Deppish role in this movie. Il Soon is eccentric, peculiar and sees the world in his own way. He is kind, child-like person carrying deep scars from his past. In addition, he, too, has dark, beautiful eyes and he wears a weird "hat" - count all Depp's roles in which he has worn some extraordinary headgear!

Lim Su Jeong does a superb job in the main role as well. Her Young Goon is indeed a very cyborg-like girl with great expressions. There were some very cute scenes with these two characters and you just have to love them both. If you know the American movie "Benny & Joon", here you have Korean Sam and Joon.

I really liked this movie a lot. I have to admit that I didn't like it as much when I watched it the first time. I thought the beginning was a bit slow and it took me some time before I realized where the movie was heading for. I had also some difficulties to follow the plot from the subs and I think I missed something because I can't understand Korean. When I rewatched this movie I understood a lot more from the start and noticed new little details that were part of the big picture.

However, I couldn't fully love this movie because I couldn't help but to reflect on the reality behind the film - how mentally ill people have been - and are - treated. How "normal" people judge others as mentally ill and close them to institutions, out of sight. This wasn't the main issue in the film, though it was touched upon. I think there would have been the potential for more.

The soundtrack was excellent. The music was in an important role creating the movie's atmosphere. In some scenes the music was in a strong contrast with the action on the screen and thus made the viewer to view the scene in a different ligth.

If you want that everything is logical and reasonable and you don't like fantasy elements, don't watch this movie. If you like movies with a little twist on the weird side, movies that are about people who don't see the world like "the normal people" do, you might really like this movie.

P.S. If you don't get the ending of the movie first, don't worry; I didn't get it either. I missed the crucial point but fortunately I found the explanation in some comment and then everything made much more sense. Just watch the last 10 minutes or so carefully. :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Postman To Heaven
40 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 28, 2011
Apr 28, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I was hesitant about the overall score to give to this movie. I basically loved everything about it, from the plot to the acting to the execution. Possibly it deserves a 10, and I gave it a nine just to retain a right to a higher score in the future.



I wasn't expecting anything less from the same screenwriter of Tatta Hitotsu No Koi, Sunao Ni Narenakute and Orange read more Days, nor from the same director of Winter Sonata, Sorry I love you and Bad Guy. They both did not disappoint.



The script is delicate and moving. It touches deep chords in the hearts of anyone who has experienced the loss of a beloved one at least once. It talks about the fragile, magic relationship between the living and the deceased: how hard it is to let go, to overcome regrets and remorses while still keeping the memory alive.



The photography is beautiful, it highlights that vague atmosphere constantly suspended between reality and fairy-tale. It helps that the two main leads are both beautiful to watch and just as convincing together. Hero Jaejoong might not be yet ready for complex line deliveries, but he's very expressive and, let's face it, a pleasure for the eyes. Han Hyo Joo, on the other hand is brilliant here, bringing up the joyful side this movie would otherwise lack.



I think I've written enough. If you are willing to watch a movie which combines the Japanese delicacy and the Korean intensity of emotions, give this one a try.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
House of Flying Daggers
11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 27, 2011
Apr 27, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I just finished watching this amazing movie right now.
Up until the end I would\'\'ve given this movie a 10 in story, but the ending just ruined it for me. It wasn\'\'t a bad ending, it just wasn\'\'t my type of ending. Some people will probably love this movie and give it all 10\'\'s but for me the ending just wasn\'\'t how I would\'\'ve ended it so i\'\'m giving the story a read more 9, the acting was a 10 since all of them were amazing actors, the music an 8 because while it wasn\'\'t the best music it did fit the story just fine. As for rewatch value, while I personally don\'\'t like to rewatch movies or dramas until 1-2 years afterwards, I would rewatch this one so i\'\'ll give it a 7. Overall, i\'\'m giving this movie a 9 because if you\'\'re a fan of any of the cast(lucky me for being a fan of all three of the main actors!), or a fan of the Wuxia genre, or a fan of Chinese choreography, you\'\'ll absolutely love this gem of a film.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
How to Date an Otaku Girl
13 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 26, 2011
Apr 26, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This movie is very cute and fun! If you like anime or just happen to be an otaku yourself, you can relate a lot to this movie. The actors played their roles very well thought I think the story could have used more depth. It is one of those movies that is very easy to watch and enjoyable. It is a nice little twist on the usual "couple's struggle" type of story. read more I don't actually remember the music, so I just gave it an 8. This movie is definately worth watching. :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Apr 25, 2011
Apr 25, 2011
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Ok,so I want to be honest:I only watched this movie because of Miura Haruma!I had never heard of it before and spontaneously decided to give it a chance-and i must say:it was strange...

the whole movie is very surreal,loaded with fantastical elements and the plot is extremely confusing.I guess it is supposed to be a rather metaphorical story but it didn't really work for me!

still i watched it until read more the end (partly because Miura Haruma only appears very late in the movie!)and i really enjoyed the soundtrack!Fans of "Koizora" will be delighted to hear that Haruma has blond hair again in this movie!Another disappointment however was the fact that Haruma had only very short and few scenes in it so if u only want to watch this film for the same reasons as I did, maybe u should think about it again...

p.s.boys,plz pardon me for referring to Miura Haruma so many times!^^
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Shinobi: Heart Under Blade
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 25, 2011
Apr 25, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I watched this movie over a year ago so my memory of it isn't the best. But from what i remember the I really liked the story line. The cast were convincing in thier acting, and the music didn't really stand out too much. As for rewatch value, i'm not a big rewatcher, but i could understand rewatching this movie after a year or two. Overall though, i'm giving this movie a read more 9 since it did leave an impact on me.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ooku
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 22, 2011
Apr 22, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Ohoku or Ooku- the inner chambers is a very special movie about a part important of the history of Japan and a true lesson of life for all of us. It's a must see movie for all and especially for the ones who love the history and the traditions of Japan.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Do Re Mi Fa So La Ti Do
11 people found this review helpful
by Ashu
Other reviews by this user
Apr 21, 2011
Apr 21, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Before I write my review, I have to say something about the plot. I love the plot to bits, it's the kind of love story that appeals to me. That being said, I would have wished they would have put it in a drama instead of a movie. It seemed a little rushed at times, and some scenes were (obviously) cut out, so at times you had to guess what actually happened. read more Luckily it wasn't too hard to guess.



This movie is just great. The actors are really good and make the story believable. I love Young Won's younger brother. He is silly yet protective and just plain awesome. I was really surprised to see Jang Geun Suk doing such a good job in this. Don't get me wrong, he's a great actor, but his performance in Mary Stayed Out All Night as a rocker had me doubting what this movie would be like. Two roles that seemed too similar, so I was afraid I wouldn't see any variation. (Just so that people don't think I'm stupid - I know this was made before Mary, but I watched Mary first.) My worries were groundless - To think that two rocker roles can be that different is unexpected, yet he pulls it off. That being said, I'd like to get a better explanation to what happened between Young Won and Hee Won in the past. This is the reason I give it an 8 and not a 9 or 10.



All in all, it was a great movie. I truly enjoyed it, and I'd recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions