Sort by:
Alice: Boy from Wonderland
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Story: This story was very interesting. The creepy tone was set from the very beginning, but other tones of mystery, romance, and sadness were all interwoven very well. The morbid twist on Alic in Wonderland with ghosts and nightmares was refreshing for me. The use of history and urban legends was a nice touch as well. The fact this is loosely based on some true events and an urban legend that resulted read more from said events can be taken with a grain of salt but I truly believe it's possible. Granted it can be a little confusing in places, due to some unclear scripting.

***The cinematography is absolutely beautiful for the film. There is no doubt that the location is meant to be a hidden wonderland in the real world.***

Acting: This is not the best acting on the parts of the main cast, but it was well suited for the script. I think the actors did their parts as well as they could with what was scripted. The chemistry that develops between Hong Jong Hyun and Jung So Min is a little fast, and it could have benefitted from a few more details but the ending ties up the loose ends well enough before leaving you slightly frustrated.

Musc/Sound Effects: Pretty great! The overall soundtrack, vocal and instrumental, is very nice. It is a soundtrack I would love to download if I could find it. The songs are well placed and even aid in the plot and relationships between characters. The sound effects are very well done. Everything amplifies the experience, creating moments of intense thrill and softer moments of melancholy. This is one of the best features of the film I think.

Rewatch: Honestly, I would rewatch this film multiple times because of everything you can experience and what you can take away each time. This is a film that contains enough hidden details and vague moments that you can understand more each time it is watched. If anything, you should at least watch it once.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Tag-Along
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
What I Liked:

The music was good. The acting was descent. Being a lover of supernatural horror there was no gore or blood. The general premise was interesting: first Aunt Shui goes missing. Returns. Grandma goes missing. Returns. Boyfriend goes missing. Next is the search in the mountains to see what is going on/the source.

What I didn't like:
I thought that the reason behind the disappearances was very weak. It isn't read more the legend but more like how they incorporated it into the storyline. There is no real reason for why this family would be targeted. It seemed completely random. If there was an explanation worked in, then I would consider it a better plot. But because they did not address that, it felt weak to me.

Would I recommend?
Yes, for people who are looking for a light horror (light because the ending is happy; no one dies).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Another
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
OVERALL: This movie isn't BAD but it's definitely not as great as it could have been. But what's new with live action adaptations?

STORY: This story has a lot of awesome potentials and the buildup through the background is great. There's a nice blend of urban legends, death, ghosts, the reality of trust between friends and safety in school. As someone who has read the book and watched the anime, I was read more able to fly by the movie and not question too much. That being said it can definitely be confusing for some. There are not enough clear explanations, nor is there a lot as far as investigation or stress and pressure from solving the mystery within a certain time frame. It is kind of presented in a blase tone of "oh another student died, maybe we should try to figure it out I guess". The anime was longer and capable of adding more detail and buildup in the story, something a 90 minute or so movie just isn't capable of. There was also quite a bit of filler that didn't need to be there. It's not a bad story though, it was just done in a lackluster way.
**the graphics are not the best, the filming techniques and cinematography are a little more than okay but not great.****

CHARACTERS: These characters could have definitely benefited from some more depth and better acting. Some of the younger actors seemed uncomfortable at first, and I do not think they were given enough time to develop their characters on screen (I blame scripting and movie length). There was a lot of vagueness overall. The older actors were very good but obviously, they are not on screen much because they are not main characters, and that cannot make up for the poor acting in other parts.

MUSIC: The music and sound effects were pretty on point for this movie. Nothing was distracting but amplified the scenes and created buildup. Like many of the Japanese horror movies I have seen, the end theme was a strange pop song with somewhat morbid/dark lyrics. I never understand why people use those rather than just more instrumental but that's just me.

REWATCH: If you're a fan of the novel, manga, or anime you would probably watch this (some fans may end up frustrated). If you feel the need for a horror marathon it's not bad. But honestly, I wouldn't really watch it again. I would rather watch the bloodier and more understandable anime. Some people might like it enough to rewatch though, to each their own.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Bakuman.
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I waited so much to see this movie. I think I have never waited so much for a movie before. When the cast was announced I was excited. I thought, and still did while watching it, that Takeru should have been Shuujin, and Ryunosuke should have been Saiko, but nevertheless, it was a good movie. The pace was well done, the special effects were very good as well. There isn't a single read more slow moment in the movie. All actors were spotted on. And the setting! The department looked exactly the same, the clothes were exactly the same. To see the real Shounen Jump building and offices (at least, I think they were the real locations) was as exciting as it was impressive. All those papers.. thousands and thousands of it. All those mangas!

Speaking about mangas, I was so satisfied to see that the manga used in the movie were done by the same mangaka that did BAKUMAN. His style is unique; any fan of his can recognize his work. And to see works like Otter in real life! Otter is a manga written by Hiramaru in Bakuman, and I always wanted to read it, even if it doesn't exist really.

So, the cast. There was a good chemistry between the lead actors, which didn't surprise me since I know they have worked together before. I liked that they could shake hands -or whatever you called that- only when they get serialized. It was a good point. I like that the "love story" with Miho wasn't as pathetic as in the manga/anime. In fact, they talk several times, over the phone and face to face, and it wasn't awkward, just 2 teenagers getting to know each other. She even sends him a photo of her! Something that lame Miho in anime/manga wouldn't have done. I think the scriptwriter or the director disagreed with the portrayal of the main female character in the manga/anime (it was sexist, let's be honest), so they made her less pathetic and less "I wanna be a seijuu to marry you".

Kiritani Kenta as Fukada-san was SPOT ON! He was excellent, he does this kind of character so well! The one who is rebellious and kind of a gangster but with a big heart. By far my favorite. I love his outfits, his expressions, and I am glad his role wasn't tiny. But well, all members of Fukada-team were good: Hinamaru had his moments of depression that did not fail to make me laugh, Nakai-san was there with his big belly helping his friends... True, no Aiko in the story, but it was understandable. Not all characters could be in a 2-hour-movie.

Yamada Takayuki was, I guess, a mix between the 2 editors the boys have, because he certainly wasn't confident Hattori-san. He even wears glasses and has long hair (again, not Hattori-san), and he is smaller than the boys, unlike Hattori-san. If I didn't have to compare, I'll say he was good, but nothing outstanding.

So, what was my main concern: Niizuma Eiji, who is one of my favorite characters, besides having an unique personality. Was Sometani Shouta exactly like Eiji is supposed to be? No. He wasn't as loud, as crazy, and with such weird and funny expressions and movements as Eiji. Was I disappointed? Well, not exactly. To be honest, Eiji is not a character that can be portrayed faithfully in real life, so what Sometani did was good. He did his role well, he did his research: he walked funnily, slouching, just like Eiji. He has a goofy smile, like Eiji. When he has a -metaphorically- battle against Ashirogi-sensei (penname that was never used in the movie, btw... they go by their names), he has the wings and when he is jumping, he does an Eiji-pose. Just with that I am grateful.

In the manga/anime, the guys form some kind of alliance when they encounter problems with their editorial. It begins when Saiko is in the hospital and the director forbids him to keep drawing while he is sick. All the other mangaka (Nakai-san, Aiko, Fukada-san, Eiji) support Ashirogi-sensei. Unfortunately, due lack of time in a 2-hour movie, that alliance could not be done as in the manga/anime. Instead, the guys help Saiko to finish his work. I liked that, that we could see how the guys, although rivals, are all friends. And although Eiji did not help him in drawing (it would have been very OoC) he helps in another way. Very well done, scriptwriter!

I liked the end, that things remain not-finished: Saiko and his relationship with Miho; their career as mangaka... I liked that they have this brainstorming of ideas with a blackboard, because for us fans, it was meaningful. We know what other mangas there will be, so this was like a "to be continued..."

For fans of the manga/anime, and for people interested in how the mangaka's world works, this movie is highly recommended. I am very happy to say that I wasn't disappointed and that I highly liked it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Miracle in Cell No. 7
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
If you have the desire to watch the movie at home, but as in the cinema?
I have a great suggestion for you,
HD quality movie, open this link ==> GODMOVIES123.BLOGSPOT.COM
feel the sensation of your home theater
with a clear picture and amazing sound
you certainly won't regret
Open the link now and good luck
non buffer
best recommended
easy download
high quality film
play IN TV, PC, phone, IPHONE IPOD, read more MAC, ANDROID, MACINTOSH, BB, playstation and etc.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Man and A Woman
0 people found this review helpful
by Andy
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
That moment when Gong Yoo's daughter hugged him. A father who lived for his daughter, a lonely husband who has been taking good care of his wife. It was just a simple gesture from a daughter but was deeply appreciated by a man who has given so much, enough for him to give up his desire for a woman. (This is what I have seen from Gon Yoo's eyes while acting).
I read more think this is what you get living in regrets, a man and a woman with regrets in their lives, if they were not married, it is called, second chance and might lead to a happy ending; but in their status, it was an escape, a fantasy which leads to a reality that they can never be together.
I guess it is always easy to fall in love with a new person compare to be in love again with the same person.
But this is just one story, there can still be another story, when you free yourself from regrets, move on, and challenge yourself to discover something new about marriage and love. If it is love, then regardless of how many times you failed and got hurt, there can always be a happy ending without the need to spend for another wedding :))
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Orange
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
As a huge fan of the manga , this movie did not disappoint ! This is a story that relays such a important message that you will remember it for a long time up and end up rewatching it when you 're feeling down , at least I do ! Every single character in this story is nice and kind , that you just fall in love with them and wish that read more everyone in this world could be this thoughtful as them . The actors who brought this characters to live did not disappoint and I could not think of a better Naho and Kakeru . If you are looking for a great story about real truggles , friendship and romance , this is the one for you ! It will show you the power that words and small acts can have .
Please watch this movie ! :D
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Annoying Brother
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
This is truly one of the best movie. The acting, the story line, the recording timing, the camera angles/techniques, and the background music are on the highest level of quality. I especially enjoyed the character development between the two brothers. It was very smoothly done.
As for Do Kyungsoo (D.O), I knew him as an idol but while watching this movie, I forgot he was an idol ans my UB!! This is read more his best acting work yet!
I 10/10 would like to recommend this, you won't regret it I promise. But don't be fooled by the trailer and
be prepared to cry a river because this movie is not just a comedy ; ).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Creepy
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
What I Liked:

There was no excessive blood or gore. The acting was very good. There is a difference in the second half in terms of the direction it takes. I am very good at guessing the end, and while I had an idea of two ways that it might end, because of some of the events that occur in the final 10 minutes I thought I had it figured it out...but read more I didn't. And that I liked. I liked the end too. It was very satisfying.

I also liked the portrayal of the villain in addition to his interactions with the neighbors. I enjoyed the way the story slowly opened up, and I thought it was interesting how the film in many ways was about the male lead coming into his own again.

What I disliked:
I thought there were a few strange inconsistencies in the story. One of the points the drama makes is the fact that the detective is very smart and is very educated in police matters, including the FBI in the states and their profiling techniques. That said, I thought it was strange that the police department never made a note of him as a consultant, which you can do. He was working with another detective on the side, but because of safety, typically you want to document everything, including where you visit if you are on the job, or following a lead, for safety issues. Some people don't do this in the show, and that made no sense to me.

What was odd:
I found it difficult to understand the detectives wife. I truly could not understand how her opinion of the neighbor seemed to change given how clearly bizarre and weird his behavior was. He did a lot of little things that makes you want to stay away from him, like invading your personal space and making weird requests.

Overall:
I would re-watch it and thought it was interesting, especially because of the acting ands script and the fact that there was hardly any blood or violence (although be warned, people die)(and there is no showing of torture or anything like that, which I like). it was a very psychological film.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kisaragi
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
It started out a bit slow for me. But eventually, once one of the "fans" tells his doubts about Miki having committed suicide, the things began to change for good. Every little twist was unexpected. I love when each guy tells his alibi or what happened that night and how it was showed for us the audience. It had a very old-school mystery vibe. And whenever I was thinking "so this is read more the criminal", something else happened that made me change my mind.

It may be dull to watch a movie where the entire story happens inside a small, dark room, but Kisaragi proves the opposite. The script was very good, well paced, and I love the mystery. Not predictable at all. I was finding out the truth along the guys. The plot is the kind I love to read in books.

The actors were all good in their parts. Heck, another movie with Oguri Shun :S but his role was very different from the kind I saw so far: not cocky, not cool, just a fanboy happy to celebrate his favorite idol gravure's anniversary death.

It is funny because currently I am reading a book about idols, and almost everything they say in the movie about the girl's life is in the book...

Very recommended. Only 5 guys inside a room, trying to solve a mystery. But how the mystery is portrayed was spectacular XD
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hana Yori Dango : Final
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 3.0
  • Story 3.0
  • Acting/Cast 2.0
  • Music 1.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Although, in my opinion, this plot, in general, is a huge mistake, the film is the best of the three (between the first and second seasons and the film, because I did not watch the specials). Still, it would not indicate this drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hana Yori Dango
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 1.0
  • Story 2.0
  • Acting/Cast 2.0
  • Music 2.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
After watching the first and second season, and the movie, I can only say: No. Do not watch. Not worth it. The story is all wrong. The relationship is absurd. The amount of romanticized violence within this drama is absurd.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Thriller
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
I love supernatural films. However, I did not love this one.

What I Liked
The film was an anthology and the quality was fairly good. I liked the idea of the writer who struggles with writing, and the other man who appears to 'help him' write. I don't want to spoil anything so I won't go into it but it was a fun idea. I also liked the homage paid to older read more horror films (Like The Shining) (or Frankenstein) and the weirdness of some of the stories--they were very surreal/a little strange at times. This I all appreciated.

What I disliked
As interesting of an idea as the story was, I did not like the execution. The first story I thought the acting wasn't so great and some things were a little odd (like the guy who watches the shining in the pitch black basement of a hospital?) and the second story was a little slow.

Overall,
It is an okay horror film but don't expect anything like Noroi The Curse or Ju-On. This isn't really a 'ghost' story China doesn't really allow the portrayal of ghosts in their films, I think, because of superstition and censorship laws. This is essentially a psychological horror featuring stories where circumstance or events kind of drives people to go crazy, a theme of the film. In terms of tone, the only type of film that I can think that relates to it is something like Creepshow (Stephen King) or Thirst (Korea) in terms of oddness but without the dark humor as it is a more serious film intended for an older audience. Just don't expect the same level of story telling.

I don't think I would re-watch it, which is huge for me, as I re-watch horror films constantly. There is blood but really no gore and of course this is nothing like the very dark violent films you might sometimes see coming out of Korea (I saw the Devil).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
7.8??? No idea who rated it like that - then again, opinion. But for me because this movie was the bomb! I give it an overall 8.5. Here's why:

Visuals: This movie was visually pleasing in every way possible. From the close ups to the long shots to everything. There wasn't a single weak spot I could find when watching this. If there was one, then i was too captivated by the read more film to notice.

Special Effects: No words. The way they did the shinigami were so stunning and realistic that when they first introduced one I had to momentarily process what i was seeing. If you compare the cgi in this film to the other live action Death Note films, this one will be the victor.

Story: It's unique and thankfully doesn't stray from the source material.

Acting: Everyone did a wonderful job. I fell in love with every character.

Music: Ho ho ho, the music fit in with the movie so well. I want to personally thank the director.

Rewatch: I already have.

Overall: 8.5. I went in making sure to not compare this cast to the original Death Note cast because come on. Light and L already had their time, this isn't about them. This is about the NEW world.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Always
0 people found this review helpful
by Andy
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 3.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Koreans are not as great in making Movies as they are in making Dramas, or maybe I have higher standards in liking a movie. But this one is near to being a great movie, but I can't still count it as a great movie. But Ic an always recommend it.
The first part of the movie was fun and cute. The middle part is okay. The ending if predictable but still okay. read more I am still hoping to see a Korean movie which I can say my favorite Korean Movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No