Sort by:
The Suspect
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 19, 2016
Dec 19, 2016
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
This film has easily made it into my top ten favorite films of all time. After watching I immediately thought, "I have to buy it. I must support these people." (watched on Netflix.) It's so good! I feel like if I go on on something I'd be giving spoilers because it's one of those movies that you've got to watch everything unfold yourself--YOU WANT TO. I will say, which I don't think read more is a spoiler, this film has one of the best car chase scenes I've ever seen. I would recommend watching it just for that alone! But there's tons more to the film that makes it amazing. Just watch it. You won't regret it. ^^
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Daytime Shooting Star
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 19, 2016
Dec 19, 2016
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Suzume Yosano's parents have decided to move to Bangladesh when her father's job gets transferred there. However, they're not taking her with them. So, Suzume moves to Tokyo to live with her uncle, Yukichi. On her way to moving into her uncle's house, she runs into a strange man who helps her since she is initially lost. When she starts school, it turns out that he is none other than her homeroom read more teacher, Satsuki Shishio. Between him and making new friends, Suzume's first year of high school in Tokyo will be full of fun and adventure.

The series has 1.93 million copies in print and 500,000 in paid digital copies.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love in the Buff
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 18, 2016
Dec 18, 2016
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
When I first heard that there is a sequel to "Love in the Puff", I wasn't sure if it would be good enough. What else is there to say, when the first part was awesome already? But this movie is simply a perfect continuation - I was in love with the first, but I have to admit, the second is even better. It does not, however, continue the documentary style presented earlier. read more The continuity of plot is almost amazing, not only presenting lives of Jimmy and Cherie, but also their friends and families. Puns and jokes are still in place, though the basic knowledge of Mainland and Cantonese popculture would definitely help.
Though it no longer revolves around the problem of smoking bans, the main story remains brilliantly written. Don't even get me started on the fantastic soundtrack. And the ending with the mysterious video revealed is a masterpiece. It leaves me wanting more. Both movies are on my instant rewatch list, and so they should.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
125 Years Memory
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 16, 2016
Dec 16, 2016
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
So, if you are someone who loves historic stories as myself, and especially if it has to do with Japan, then definitely this movie is something for you to watch.
The story-line is not long, it is short but intense, the whole film is so detailed and carefully focusing on the little things that make the big scene.
It's thrilling, exciting, and very entertaining - well, in a very emotional way.. Gotta read more say.

The casts are brilliant, well-known actors & actresses with their phenomenal performances are shining as usual there, Uchino Masaaki is slaying his role as he always does, his English accent is pretty good compared to the most of the Japanese actors & actresses who aren't used to speak the language, anyway.. I'm obsessed with him since ever, his charming personality comes through every role he performs!
All the Japanese cast were so much into the environment that was displayed through the story, their humbleness, kindness, modesty and their warmth, all and more are shown perfectly there in every single movement.
& to be honest, I know none of these Turkish actors but I fell in love with them all immediately! & a big shout out to (Mustafa), the Turkish actor -whom I have no idea about his name- is indeed a prince charming, not only because of his pretty face and fancy uniform, but also because of his gusty character, his nobleness, his broken heart, his softness, everything was combined in his character which this Turkish actor never failed to convey through out his smart performance.

The Music is not super wow, but it was meaningful and descriptive enough to get you drown into the depth of the scenes - yes, it's all about a trip in the deep of the sea, you don't float, you sink beneath its waves!

Finally and briefly, the moral of the story is all about (Karma), You do 'good', and 'good' gets back to you - even after years! & it is so powerful to see it with your own eyes and to hear it with your own ears, it is history and history never lies. So Yes, go and watch it and have some goosebumps.

Last but not least -I just said finally but I came back, doesn't matter!-.
It is a huge piece of art, a distinguished human project, a unique collaboration between two nations, massive efforts that have been accumulated to come as this movie, so.. Hats Off to everyone had a small or a big part on this movie, you are done with your life agendas, don't worry about doing something great in your life, you've already done it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Dec 15, 2016
Dec 15, 2016
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
“If you will die tomorrow, what would you erase from this world just to live a day longer?”
The devil asks a pretty good question to the main character here.
I was reluctant to watch this movie. Plots about illness aren’t my piece of cake but this time I gave it a try.
Unexpectedly  , this movie doesn’t even talk about illness so seriously.
The plot is simple but its has lots read more of good life lessons tangled up in its story.

THE PLOT:

A young boy finds out that he has just a day to live due to a terminal illness. He meets the devil who gives him the opportunity to extend his life for just one day each time he decides to erase something from this world.
It might sounds like the typical sad movie in which the main character struggles to survive and die miserable because of the pain of his incurable illness. Maybe with a love story who makes you cry during the movie.
Thanks God, it isn’t.
The Devil isn’t just tempting the main character. He’s teaching him a lesson. Would you erase everything from this world, basically your own valuable memories and things, just to run away from your death? During the movie the main character is tested by the devil. Erasing things, like cellphones or movies, means to erase all the good memories connected to them. He wasn’t just erasing things, he was erasing his own life from this world.

CHARACTERS:

Different types of characters faced each other in this movie.
The best friend with his touching sentences about friendship and his huge obsession for movies.
The ex girlfriend met thanks to a wrong call.
The parents and their pretty common family.
The Devil, with his long fingers and his sarcastic giggle.
The Devil was supposed to play the bad guy here. But in the end he was actually helping out the main lead.
Amazing acting skills, Takeru’s crying scenes are so stunning that almost makes you cry along with him.

I’ll give this movie a 9.5 out of 10. The cinematography is stunning, even though some scenes were badly filmed.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Pandora
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 14, 2016
Dec 14, 2016
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I’ll start by saying this..., Pandora is a movie that definitely surprised me! To be honest I was “in” purely for the cast because the synopsis did not sell itself to me, I've seen similar themed movies so it didn't feel original and I still say it's not "original" per-se. However it's the emotional ride that counts here!

Story:
As I've already have mentioned it probably won't be new to some of read more you as similar themes have been done before maybe not a Korean movie but it's still not “brand new”. However the way it was delivered, the emotional journey you go through while watching it makes it one of the most quality story lines for such types of movies I've seen thus far. I did not expect to get all emotional while watching this, I can assure of that, but things just don't always turn out they way you expect them to do.

Pandora story is told in a way that would get you attached to the characters very fast!! This is just beyond wonderful because normally it takes a whole drama with 16 ep+ for me to get attached to the characters (that is if I get attached at all). Somehow in Pandora, you can relate to the characters and feel them, which is what makes it a very emotional ride without being a tearjerker or tire you down with emotional scenes on purpose. In fact, this is what I loved about the plot, it not trying to be over the top or play the emotion game. The writer has managed to keep things in tact without draining you with all the tragic events. Pandora story pretty much mastered the love, friendship, loyalty, sacrifice, neighbors, heroic acts, dirty politicians... all in one plot which is over 2 hours without tiring me.

Acting:
Kim Nam Gil: He is the main reason why I decided to go all the way to the cinema in the cold harsh winter and watch this movie, which didn't appeal to me at first. If you are reading this review and have never seen anything for this man I earnestly ask you to pls hunt his profile down and WATCH HIM! Simply because there are no words that could be said, enough to compliment this amazing actor. He has yet again embraced me with his impressive beyond words performance but this time with a Jeolla Satturi accent! This is my first time watching him preform this accent and he's one of the best K-actors who perfectly mastered it to the point that I had to remind myself that it is truly KNG! His performance didn't just move me, it moved the whole audience in the theater, and the whole hall was crying in tears and crying in heart. Amazing heartfelt sincerity that broke my heart into pieces.

Jeong Jin Yeong: This man owned the first half of the movie! I've had the pleasure of seeing this actor before but I was even more delighted to see him here because what he showed me here is on a whole different level. He is my favorite character from start to end, loved Pyeong Seob with all my heart! Such a courageous, righteous, wonderful character played by this wonderful mister.

Han Joo Hyun: What a wonderful surprise! I've seen this girl twice but never like in Pandora. This movie has to be her breakthrough! When I was watching her I couldn't resist falling for her, her character is my 2nd favorite but how Joo Hyun played it is just too precious. The whole time I was so impressed I couldn't avoid my girl-crush. She stood her ground as a new talent among these giant actors! Bravo!

As for the rest of the cast I honestly loved them all, Kim Myung Min, Lee Kyeong Yeong, Kim Young-Ae what a stellar cast!

Re-watch
I don't really re-watch things (except for few exceptions), and in my opinion even for those who do re-watch I don't think it's the type of movie that you'd want re-watch.

Overall
**Although I would love to say this is a movie for everyone, but it would be wiser to say that it's a movie for those who don't mind bloody scenes. The story isn't aggressive but "nuclear power plant" is involved so scenes of injuries are bound to happen, just a warning ahead for those who hate the sight of blood.

Compelling emotional story, high quality direction and production, and finally stellar cast. I’d love to state all the points I loved about it but I tried not to give anything away so I will conclude my review in one sentence, “try not to miss Panodra” :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Cyborg She
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 13, 2016
Dec 13, 2016
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
This film will make you laugh and cry!
This film could go from humorous to serious drama and it astonished me because I was expecting it to be another cliche romance drama film but instead it lured my interest.
Some parts of the film did feel a little cliche however the ending will make it worth the watch!

Decent story!

The acting was excellent it was convincing!

Music fits well whether if read more it's dramatic or happy scenes

From my opinion I would rewatch this film and also suggest it to my Dad
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Drucker in the Dug-Out
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 13, 2016
Dec 13, 2016
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
The Story is about a friend taking over the role of a manager for a club from her friend who has fallen ill with the club in question being a high school baseball team. While not too keen on managing the club in the beginning the friend who is called Minami Kawashima played by former AKB48 idol and now actress and singer Atsuko Maeda slowly learns the actions and care needed to read more manage the team.

This is the first role of Atsuko Maeda that i seen since Q10 and i have to say that she has improved a lot. Plus she has got much prettier.

I have been a fan of Haruna Kawaguichi since i saw her performance in detective vs detectives and though this film was before then Haruna's performance here is still impressive.

Music was pretty good but got much better near the end when the music club and cheer club joins in.

Overall i loved this movie because in addition to great acting and story it also reinforces the lesson that with teamwork and support you will be able to achieve your dreams someday.

Minami Minegishi i know from AKB48 but she is also a surprisingly good actress. Here she delivered her lines perfectly though her facial expressions could use some work.

The overall story i found to be really good and heartwarming and especially near the end where nearly the whole school ends up helping the team. That was a great scene and seeing each of the different clubs working together to help them is hearwarming.

The final match was well played and it was nice to see the team that was ranked so low to actually be able to win the title.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Your Lie in April
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 13, 2016
Dec 13, 2016
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
So I finally got the time to watch this movie, which they show in cinemas in our country for good of one week, and I watched it on its last day so I barely made it LOL. I haven't seen the anime so I can't compare, I don't know how faithful adaptation it is but I really like what I've seen. I don't feel that the pacing is rushed so it didn't read more end up confusing and each scenes are so vital to the story like If you remove one the story will be affected so in that sense the movie didn't became draggy. But sadly I felt that the story was told in a simplistic way like there are not enough tensions and characters are a bit one dimensional that made me hard to care for them sometimes.

Before watching I already knew the this would be a sad story but at the same time I am confident that I would not cry, I am kind of immune to that since I've seen a lot of sad movies, and I am right, I didn't cry, but that doesn't mean the story is NOT sad cause it is, but I felt that that they made the ending bitter sweet because based on how people describe the anime it would have been a cry fest.

Now for the thing that I really like, the theme in the movie, I love how the movie conveys their connection thru music, I felt that it is so romantic like it is their love letter for each other, and just like the phrase they say to each other "will it reach you?". With that theme conveyed so well only made their performances so much better, technically they are already brilliant but with so much emotions attached to the performance made that scene EPIC.

Cinematography is beautiful, it is one of those colorful Japanese movies, seems to be the trend nowadays. Music is given to be excellent but what I am surprised is how well they play the instruments, one movie come to mind that could rival this in terms of the skills of playing the instruments in a movie and that is Jay Chou's "Secret". I like the ending song as well, I don't understand japanese but its melody captures the ambiance of the movie.


Great acting from both Kento and Suzu, you can tell that they come a long way especially Suzu but now I can say they are capable of portraying complicated characters. It is reported that they went intense training playing violin and piano for their respective roles and it paid off well as their performance is believable, which is important to be called a good adaptation and they nailed it in this department. Side characters are the issue here like I didn't feel them, probably lack of screen time I guess, such a shame though because I really want to see more of Anna Ishii, I felt that her talent was wasted in her role.



I feel that many guys will love this film like imagine one day you saw a beautiful girl under a cherry tree then from that moment your life change, happens to me (not under the cherry tree though).

Kaori: Did I find a place in your heart?

Arima: You step all over it.

-literally me
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Crucible
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 13, 2016
Dec 13, 2016
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 5.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Might I suggest that if you choose to watch this you bring a pillow and Kleenex, the tissues are for the amount f tears you will shed and the pillow is to beat it to death when you watch the violent scenes.

Due to the maturity of the nature of this movie I would say you need to be over 21 years old. It is graphic and extremely violent though I know read more that this movie was tamed down because it was a horrendous event that took place.

It is worth watching not only for the acting but for the story itself.

Painful and excruciating to sit through the entire movie and not feel a thing but numbness to the kind of cruel world this really is.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Bromance
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 12, 2016
Dec 12, 2016
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
My favorite movie.. i always cry :')
Spirinta
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Café. Waiting. Love.
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 11, 2016
Dec 11, 2016
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
This one derailed pretty quickly. It just happened I was in the right mood for what this film was. And I can only blame myself for not reading and understanding the description clearly. Or was it luck? I might not have watched it otherwise and I'm happy I did.

At first my reaction was WTF *ugh* will I really be able to watch this? However I came to realize that what usually read more annoys me about Taiwanese humor was very delicately directed. I started to enjoy myself and have to admit that I was taken by the story and surprised at the end.

Lovely colors, dramaturgy and cinematography. Good production value, nice music and audio design. The actors are pretty good because the directing is wonderful!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Feel Good To Say Goodbye
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 10, 2016
Dec 10, 2016
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 5.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
The story is interesting what i liked about the film is the flow of the each scenes that has a lot of unconditional love, the thing is some camera scenes are shaky, almost half of the movie has a dull/silent scenes which i think it would be good if they invest it on how to make the story good but all in all the movie is worth to watch.

Thailand movies/series are read more good in making story about boys love. Definitely this is something you need to watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Coin Locker Girl
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 10, 2016
Dec 10, 2016
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Holy cow! IMO, Hwayi: a monster boy is one of the greatest movies of all time. While Coin Locker Girl is not quite on that level, it is a very good movie. This movie is a cross between Hwayi and Killer Girl K., which if you haven't seen, RUN, DON'T WALK to Dramafever and watch it. Killer Girl K. is the very definition of a must-see.

The mistreatment and hard lives of read more children is always tough for me to watch and I found this movie even more heartbreaking than Hwayi. As an American, it's also interesting to see depictions of Korea's seedy, criminal underbelly. Sadly, there are cruel, heartless, violent people no matter where you go. That written, Mother is one of the most intriguing characters I've ever seen on film.

I definitely recommend this movie, but unlike Hwayi, it's not a movie I would ever watch again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Suspect
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 10, 2016
Dec 10, 2016
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
"The suspect" is your Classic spy film. There are a lot of scenes that you can predict.
But, it still is a great movie! Some would probably find it a bit too long, but I thought it was perfect. It keeps you on the edge of your seat even if you more or less know what's gonna happen. The acting is superb- even for secondary characters. I didn't really pay attention to read more music, but I guess the music helped the feeling of thriller, even though there isn't a clear and memorable OST. I'd recommend this movie even to those that are fans of Korean thriller, because while being classical and maybe cliché, there are still a lot of amazing scenes and suspense. If you're not used to this kind of movie, then watch it, it'll give you a nice taste of Korean action movies!
As for the rematch value... Well, if you like action scenes, it's ok. If not, maybe wait a few month and then watch it again.
Also, the images were quite good. The stunt were amazing. And I loved how the main actor could have a change of expression only in his eyes.
So, even though the plot is quite classical, it's still a good movie. Maybe not the best, but that might be because I have already seen dozen of Korean spy/action movie, so most of the actions were a bit predicable. Still enjoyed it though. - it's a great movie!
-sorry for my bad English ^-^ -
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions