Sort by:
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
This is less of a review and more of a warning: if you are here to watch a nice fluffy/angsty BL, this is not one of them !!!!

I could give tonnes of warnings for this which may contain spoilers, but tldr; if you're looking for a healthy portrayal of a relationship, this is not one of them.

The movie features: violence, attempted rape (though not on the male leads' parts), non-consent read more to some extent, just general disrespect of someone as a human being. If you're bothered by these, I highly suggest you do not watch it. There WERE some moments which were okay, but not enough to warrant any a higher rating.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Operation Chromite
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I went into this movie with not too high expectations because even though it was such a big project, Korean dramas taught me to still be careful with what I wish for. Well, I can't say that this movie was in any way a letdown. It was definitely not.

I'm always up for a good movie that is based on historical facts. Operation Chromite is not only based on true events but read more dedicated to the families and descendants of those heroes who are portrayed here. I am not a historian, so I can't assess to its historical closeness. But I do want to believe that the producers were very accurate with the details. And honestly, I don't think there could have gone much wrong either.

The story takes up pace very fast, you don't get bored over long conversations. Instead you have to concentrate alot because scenes change very fast. You blink once and half of the movie has already passed. You blink twice and the movie is already over. Every now and then it has some nice, calm and either heartwarming or heartbreaking moments as well, which is an important asset to make this movie work out the way it wants to be and to deliver the right feels.

Because this film's strength is not the action - although there's alot of that - but the people and their desperate fight for their country. Their determination and desire were infectious and moved me every single time, even though those moments were rare. The cast was delivering such a good job. There are so many really good actors and actresses in this movie that of course not everyone could get a main role. But that doesn't mean that their performances were less important than others. Even though their screentime was limited, they got the best out of themselves and brought forth some nice, raw emotions.

Despite its brutal reality, cinematography was at its best. Beautiful shots and colors that supported the storytelling and its emotions in a caring way. I'm also sounding a note of caution here for all those who are sensible to gore. Although the film is keeping it at a short leash, there are still some scenes that might upset one or two stomachs.

One thing I was bothered by (next to some other things) was first of all Liam Neeson. I know that he's a really good actor and I don't blame him here. But his scenes always seemed kinda choppy and cut off. There was no smoothness in his dialogues either. Only in close-ups his acting could truly shine which made me appreciate his appearances a little more.

Another thing that irritated me was the background score. I'm a sucker for good background music and Operation Chromite does have a great score actually. But it was so badly placed and overused in Liam Neeson's scenes that it almost lost all its impact and disrupted the in other places always well balanced story-flow. All the scenes with the Korean soldiers for example were stunningly coordinated and fluent which makes it such a shame that it didn't work out with his parts.

Overall still a nice and lasting watch that I would definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mekong Hotel
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
Although the points of contact with this film are very strong, "Mekong Hotel" is structurally quite distinct, resolving more sparsely and certainly less spectacular.
The ambience of the movie, "Mekong Hotel" is basically constructed from a set of dialogue scenes between people staying in a hotel on the waterfront, in conversations where historical resonances marry a cultural and folkloric imaginary from the deepest Of times, and where the present appears as a threat.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Tutors
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 3.5
There is not much to comment on, a film where the protagonist feels attracted to her student ends up letting herself get carried away by emotion and then regrets her actions, now a drama sets in where she tries to find a plausible solution.
Although no concrete narrative is not a bad movie at all, there are worse, cinematography is good, cast the height, a soundtrack adequate are element that save part read more of being a total failure, at least there is a plausible story.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Healing Camp: One World
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
The film is not at all original, yet it has an efficient narrative dynamics and a very good cinematography. An interesting novel to watch, has cool elements that could be better presented. The cast is present, active and plays a key role in this particular story.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Bar Tango
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
A thriller from the good ones.
"Bar Tango" has an interesting history, its narrative consists of showing an unusual perspective of a sudden relationship where the emotion prevails more than the reason.
Cinematography is good and awakens the interest of the premise of the film, while the film becomes obscure to the point of impact. The acting cast provides the truthfulness that the narrative needs, the soundtrack is not that whole thing read more but it agrees. In the end "Bar Tango" is a movie of twists and a very good suspense shown through a sick passion.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
I watched this on flight weeks ago and it's really good. hahahaha i love it. i love suzu hirose's character here so cheerful and looks natural. not boring and overall it's fun to watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Cook Up A Storm
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This is my completely biased review, but I love this movie. I watched it on a plane to China, and everything, from the story to the characters to the visuals and music, arrested my attention- personally, I like watching food shows, so that was most of the reason I clicked on this drama, but the characters quickly became my favorite part of the movie. My only complaint is that it's too short! read more It's not that original an idea, and it's not that shocking of an execution, but between the visuals and the characters' interactions, I think you'd be hard-pressed to say this movie moves slowly or isn't interesting. It's definitely worth a watch, even if you're just looking to kill an hour and a half! (And hit me up if you do, this is my new favorite movie and it would be great to chat with someone about it if you liked it too. ;)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ruk Jub Jai
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
I have such a soft spot for musicals, what more a romance musical, so they had me at hello!
This little Thai musical was a surprising little gem of a find, and what an enjoyable watch it was!

STORY
The synopsis says it all, really. A superstar with a reputation for being a player meets a blind girl and falls in love with her. Cue laughable but also heart-tugging hijinks as he read more navigates his way into the girl's heart and life.
In line with most musicals, the style and pace of the show is light-hearted and upbeat, with some poignant moments that draw on your heartstrings, all helpfully flavoured by some wonderful renditions of live songs and some active, catchy and well-choregraphed dancing. Never a dull moment with this show as it moves seamlessly from one scene to another.
Please note that this is a film-capture of a live musical performance on stage so you're watching it as though you're part of the audience in the theatre. This experience is enhanced nicely by the addition of close-ups of the casts in key moments so that you're able to really see the facial expressions (and tears!), and so feel much more drawn into the emotions of the characters than you normally would under a regular theatre watch (because of the distance of the theatre seats from the stage).
I thought it was cleverly filmed, considering that it was a live stage-performance and there are generally lots happening all across the platform. Very well done indeed!

ACTING/CAST
Being a musical and it being performed live in front of an audience of hundreds, if not thousands, the cast members had plenty of practice to perfect their roles and their cues so there is no surprise that they all played their parts wonderfully.
The dancing was energetic, lively and eye-catching - just what dancing in a musical should be. The singing was also inspired, and particularly impressive when it came to one of the younger cast members. Supporting roles played up to comic relief, in addition to their roles as catalysts in carrying the flow of the story along. No weak links at all, and overall, solid casting and performance across the stage!

Spotlight on the main lead:-
Bie, playing the main character, Sun, was scintillating in his role as the playboy superstar. He truly carried the entire show with his charisma and energy - and sustained it all the way through the 2 hours of performance. He is an impressive all-rounder with his energetic dancing, his pitch-perfect singing and his emotional acting, I stand amazed at his performance from start to finish. In fact, Bie's performance was so captivating that if you're not a new fan of his by the end of the show, I would be very surprised indeed.

MUSIC
This is a musical, so naturally there a lots of song numbers by various cast members, and of course by the leads themselves. The subs for the movie musical helped a lot in bringing understanding and context to the content of the songs so the enjoyment of the musical numbers are as good as you can get. Lots of catchy song and dance numbers which will leave you smiling and even grooving to the beat, especially towards the end of the show.

RE-WATCH VALUE
Easily re-watchable as it is just over 2 hours.

Overall, this was such an enjoyable film shot of a live musical stage-performance, I really wished I could be part of the audience so that I could whistle and hoot my lungs out asking for an encore as I give a standing ovation!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Okja
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Bong Joon Ho is without a doubt one of the top five or ten working directors today. When it comes to juggling genre and tone almost no one is his equal. With an all-star international cast and its production by Netflix, this may be his most accessible movie yet; however, it may also be his most bizarre. It's the kind of movie that will leave you laughing one minute, crying the next, read more and then raising your eyebrows the next. It's so refreshing to see a film not conform to easy plot points and pandering like this film could have done so many times. Rather it takes tonal and story risks that consistently pay off. It helps that it maintains a solid satirical tone throughout allowing even the dysfunctional and reprehensible characters to remain interesting and some even likable.
Acting: The actors are all terrific, particularly Ahn Seo Hung in her film debut. She keeps the emotional component grounded throughout the film and provides the most resonating moments. The only performer who may not resonate with everyone is Jake Gyllenhaal. Gyllenhaal goes all out insane for his role and while I enjoyed the lunacy, many will not be fans. It was nice to see Choi Woo Shik though.
If you want to see an interesting movie with a kind of strange plot that will make you feel many emotions then this film is for you.
Big tip: Watch past the end credits
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Blue
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
incredibly calming , very slow and relaxing ..lots of metaphors for growing up, a great coming of age movie displaying how two different people deal with becoming and adult
Calm and sweet soundtrack , not distracting and blends perfectly
Nice cinematography breathtaking yet very simple , captures the beauty of the place it was filmed in , the camera sticks to the scene for a long time but i don;t mind at read more all ..many beautiful shots of the sea and countryside
Actors did a great job ,the roles didn't require many complicated emotions but you could feel what they wanted to deliver through the screen
I recommend to watch if you aren't expecting action scenes and just want something sweet at the end of the day with a hot drink and cozy blanket
I would re-watch again but not too soon ..maybe in a year or two when i need something calming
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Pink and Gray
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
After I watched this movie I got so curious about the novel where it was based so I found a summary somewhere and read it. Compared to the movie the novel is a bit lighter but I think what was changed in the movie had to happen.

This movie is one of those movies that makes you think. Its deep, a bit disturbing and yet intriguing. The main actors Suda, Nakajima, and read more Kaho did a great job for this movie.

I recommend this one to those people who love deep stories, the types who love Murakami's novels.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Drowning Love
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I have read the manga before watching the movie and first things first the manga is still ongoing so I was wondering how the movie would end.

So here are the things I really loved about the movie:
- The characters were portrayed well, as an adaptation the characters physical appearance as well as traits were not changed much. The lead actors (Suda and Nana) totally draws you in, the way they read more looked at each other and interact, the chemistry between the two is strong so to speak.
- The ocean/under water scenes are breathtakingly beautiful. The film itself was taken in a way that captivates the audience and makes you go "ah I want to go to that place".
- The story is not too simple and not too deep. Its a perfect balance for those who are sick of the usual mushy love stories.

And the part/s that could have been improved:
- Details, if you haven't read the manga you might be confused at some part or think that the pace is quite fast. It could have been better if it was more detailed.

All in all its a movie worth watching!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The 100th Love With You
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Já fazia algum tempo que não via um bom filme japonês e decidi apostar em Kimi to 100 Kaime No Koi simplesmente porque me senti atraida pela premissa de viagem no tempo.

Aoi junto com seus amigos Riku, Naoya, Rina e Tetsuta são parte de uma banda independente que tocam por prazer no meio tempo em que estudam na mesma faculdade. Eles estão se preparando para o festival de verão onde se read more apresentarão.

Só por aí já gostei muito, pois a capa não dá muitas informações se o enredo se passa numa escola ou não. Mas adorei ser um filme um pouco mais abrangente, dos protagonistas serem um pouco mais velhos e trazer temos como o que fazer da vida, intercâmbio e vida na universidade.

Logo nos primeiros minutos notamos romance não correspondido entre alguns desses amigos e uma pequena confusão se forma, levando ao ápice do incidente em que Aoi se envolve. No entanto, a jovem consegue acordar uma semana antes de tudo acontecer, a deixando bem transtornada.

E é a partir daí vemos que Riku esconde mais coisas do que imaginamos, e é uma grata surpresa. Estava muito apreensiva se essa parte da trama em voltar no tempo seria chata e maçante; mas não, muito pelo contrário. Satomi Oshima, que é o roteirista do filme, fez um ótimo trabalho . Mas também vale lembrar que Kimi to... é um live action baseado no mangá com mesmo nome escrito por Kumichi Yoshizuki com 3 volumes, então os créditos podem ser do autor do mangá.

Desse momento em que Aoi volta no tempo com ajuda do Riku há uma revelação de sentimentos muito embazadas no passado no casal e fica fácil de sentir que o romance esteve ali desde sempre. Então, Aoi e Riku decidem reviver o tempo como casal, e um amor muito bonito por sinal.

"Eu quero viver este momento com você. Vamos juntos por toda a vida."

Além disso, a produção cinematográfica merece muito elogios. Os locais escolhidos, a ótima fotografia, os closers. Acho tudo de muito bom gosto e passa um visual muito bonito para quem assiste. Além da trilha sonoro que é bem fofa, juvenil e romântica.

"O futuro sem você não tem significado para mim"

As duas últimas canções são muito bonitas, e transmite todos os sentimentos que a história inteira quis passar. Quero saber como os personagens não choraram porque eu simplesmente desabei. Lençol foi preciso! Além de mostrar as tradições da cultura asiática, como a comemoração de 100° dia para algumas coisas, seja relacionamento amoroso ou amizade, dando todo sentido ao título do filme. Posso amar mais por isso?
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Amphetamine
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This movie is not for everyone. It's an art--a masterpiece--from start to end. However, this movie just might not be for everyone.

Dealing with trauma is hard. Using drugs as an escape only makes it worse. We aren't all fortunate to have good support during the hard times. But, we all are trying to live while we can. However, for some, it might no longer be about living but surviving.

Don't watch read more it expecting a love story. The movie is about pain, suffering, and trying to survive those sh*t. It's a hard-to-watch movie--dealing with things we don't understand always is. If you aren't up for a good challenge, then skip.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions