Sort by:
The Suspect
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 10, 2016
Dec 10, 2016
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
"The suspect" is your Classic spy film. There are a lot of scenes that you can predict.
But, it still is a great movie! Some would probably find it a bit too long, but I thought it was perfect. It keeps you on the edge of your seat even if you more or less know what's gonna happen. The acting is superb- even for secondary characters. I didn't really pay attention to read more music, but I guess the music helped the feeling of thriller, even though there isn't a clear and memorable OST. I'd recommend this movie even to those that are fans of Korean thriller, because while being classical and maybe cliché, there are still a lot of amazing scenes and suspense. If you're not used to this kind of movie, then watch it, it'll give you a nice taste of Korean action movies!
As for the rematch value... Well, if you like action scenes, it's ok. If not, maybe wait a few month and then watch it again.
Also, the images were quite good. The stunt were amazing. And I loved how the main actor could have a change of expression only in his eyes.
So, even though the plot is quite classical, it's still a good movie. Maybe not the best, but that might be because I have already seen dozen of Korean spy/action movie, so most of the actions were a bit predicable. Still enjoyed it though. - it's a great movie!
-sorry for my bad English ^-^ -
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Muse
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 10, 2016
Dec 10, 2016
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Amazingly beautiful movie!

Kim Go-Eun is fantastic everywhere I watched her, but here... she was a ray of light through the dusty windows of the writer's old house...

I cannot imagine how one can watch this movie and come up with comment about porn, lust and "man in 70s thinking about a 17year old girl"... This movie is not about that. It was poetry, and and as with all poetry, you don't read more look at the words and sentences separately, you try to understand what the writer meant and what your heart understands, and this movie means so much more... like the writer understood how much Eungyo's mirror meant to her, and his student did not, seeing as one of thousand mirrors produced in a factory...

It's amazing how people cannot see through the age barrier the movie presents. Why do you think a young actor was chosen to play the role of a 70-year-old poet. Did Korea not have any talented actors in that age or an age closer than Par Hae-Il's 30s? Of course they did! He was chosen to show, that a 70-year-old does not mean old, boring, and a pervert, if he fell for a 17-year-old. I really loved the words he said during the award congratulatory speech "As your youth is not a prize for your efforts, my agedness is not a punishment for my shortcomings." This sentence wraps up the conflict of age of this movie so beautifully, I do not have anything to add.

EunGyo made him young, as young, as I am sure he still was in his heart, and she brought it even closer to the surface. As awkward and strange I felt in the beginning of the movie, imagining myself in such a situation, after a certain point of the movie that barrier was non-existant to me, and it is one of the main strengths of this movie, it describes the situation and feelings so well, all you have to do as a viewer is just follow its lead...

One more sentence... I will forever recognize Park Hae-Il's eyes... everywhere and every time... it was my first time seeing him in anything, and he just barged into my heart with no intention of leaving it anytime soon!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Boys Love
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 8, 2016
Dec 8, 2016
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Within the first five minutes of this movie it already took a deep twist and plummeted at full speed. I was shocked at what happened in literally the first scene of the movie. I wouldn't really watch this again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
An Actor is an Actor
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 7, 2016
Dec 7, 2016
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This movie is pretty twisted and intense and definitely has a psychological theme to it. If you plan to watch this, make sure you watch it alone like I did.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Laundry
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 7, 2016
Dec 7, 2016
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
To be honest I was expecting more out of this drama. For example an actual visual on how the male lead ended up the way he did where as the plot just explains it. The actual first half of the movie was pretty interesting but the second half of the movie was really slow. I'm not saying that I didn't like the movie I'm saying that I didn't fall in love with it like I hoped.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Dec 7, 2016
Dec 7, 2016
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I've been anticipating this film since it was first announced because the storyline was so intriguing to me, especially as someone who loves the fantasy genre. Through the premise alone, I already had so many questions, the main one being, 'How did Sungmin become an adult over the course of the last few days?'

First, this film is worth watching for the plot alone. The writer is extremely creative and he weaves read more in the 'fantasy elements' in an eloquent way. As a viewer, it felt realistic, as if it was something that could actually happen, despite the idea of it being so far-fetched. Another thing that is worth mentioning is that he examines the situation from different perspectives - how the average person would view their story (mentions of stockholm syndrome and other psychological analysis) versus how Soorin viewed Sungmin's story. It was extremely thought-provoking. There were comedic scenes, but also heart-wrenching scenes that made me tear up. It was well-paced and kept my attention throughout. I docked half a point for the story because I felt like a scene near the ending wasn't explained very well (it's either a loophole or something I need clarification on). But other than that, I had no qualms with the story.

Moving on to the acting/cast, I will emphasize this over and over again, they could not have chosen better actors for their roles. Kang Dongwon is absolutely impeccable as Sungmin. It's almost as if you are watching the thirteen year old boy Sungmin stuck in a man's body; as evidenced by the way he delivers his lines, the look of naïveté in his eyes, the tears of hurt, and feelings of guilt - in my opinion, no one could have played Sungmin better than him. Shin Eunsoo was the real surprise (as I'm a fan of KDW, so I already knew he would deliver). It's hard to believe this is her first role and she has little to any previous acting experience. She's so talented and her ability to emote is stellar. She has this wonderful ability to express a variety of emotions, and her friendship with Sungmin (the dynamic she had with both young/adult Sungmin) is what made this film so 'real' and beautiful to me (*mini spoiler: their code language was so special). Also, her chemistry with Kang Dongwon is so natural and inherently believable. The rest of the cast fit their roles well, especially Lee Hyoje as young Sungmin and his friends, they were adorable and hilarious at times, but you could also feel how conflicted they were to be in that situation.

The soundtrack fit the atmosphere of the film very well, but there wasn't a particular score that really captured my attention. However, the music did help with the buildup of intensity in certain scenes.

I will definitely rewatch this film, especially since I haven't seen anything else like it. But I also found it quite sad, so I think I'll pick it up again after some time.

Overall, objectively I'd rate it a 9.5/10. In terms of my subjective enjoyment of the film, I'd rate it a 10/10. Just a few additional comments I'd like to include, the cinematography is gorgeous and it really contributes to the mystical and melancholic vibe of the film. There are so many scenes that were filmed beautifully, such as close up shots of their eyes, Soorin's hair, the ocean - it was very artistic and aesthetically pleasing. I also thought the CGI was done well, especially the floating items, the scenes filmed in water, water droplets in the cave. It really felt as if time had stopped. Anyhow, this film is definitely worth the watch. It's hard for me to come up with the right words to describe it, but I guarantee that it's a gem. It left me wondering, if time has stopped for everyone else except for me, what would I do? And how would it affect the way I developed as a person?

Vanishing Time: A Boy Who Returned is a well-delivered, thought-provoking film with its own unique eccentric touch. Director and writer Uhm Taehwa astutely adds a touch of realism to this fantasy film.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Bromance
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 7, 2016
Dec 7, 2016
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
If you have a friend who's never seen a BL film, I'd start them off with this one because this is story is what this genre's all about. I went from gushing at the romance of the main characters to crying for the entire second half of the film. I really identified with the unrequited love aspect and having to leave your high school sweetheart behind because your parents made you move. read more It's unforgivingly sad toward the end, but not in an entirely unrealistic way. I want to watch it again, but I don't want to *feel* as much again and I don't think that I'd be able to control myself to be honest.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Last Woman Standing
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 6, 2016
Dec 6, 2016
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
The story was weird and not very entertaining. The main character seemed illogical at times to make her do very melodramatic things. The ending was nice, but the overall movies was not that good. The actors were all very good looking and played their parts well. I was just looking for more. This movie was not memorable and did not live up to its full potential.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Fathers
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 6, 2016
Dec 6, 2016
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
This movie is a masterpiece.

It will make you wan't more.

The scene photography, the visuals and the directing is splendid.

The warm of family and love is the key that this movie was a pure perfection.
The cast ease their own role that they played and im telling you

you won't be dissapointed.
.

The heart breaks and the bright smiles is breathtaking.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
No Regret
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 6, 2016
Dec 6, 2016
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
No regret said it all on its own.

This movie has been a a rollercoster ride the ups and downs of the cast will make you say "this is a mess but i love it "! ..

The leading man did justice for hes role a big applause.

The movie its all worth watching it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Vampire in Love
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 5, 2016
Dec 5, 2016
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 5.5
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
This is a great movie to fill in a lazy day :).

The story is easy to follow and really lighthearted. Nothing complicated or action filled here, just grab a cup of tea and enjoy this cheesy melodrama, just don't have any expectations. This is a movie you can watch without your full attention. They added the vampire part in to make it seem interesting, but it would have a good job read more without it.
The cast and acting was fine, nothing to write big about it was just enough for this movie. The main-leads are adorable to watch.
The music was okay and I might rewatch this movie when I feel bored.

Watch this if you are looking for a lighthearted, easy to follow, cheesy melodrama.
Skip this if you want an action packed, emotional, vampire-hunting movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Taboo
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 4, 2016
Dec 4, 2016
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Kano is courted by numerous other men but according to some viewers of the movie he only really loves Soji. I'm not sure exactly where that idea comes from except from possible pointers towards the end of the movie. But if true, this would be highly ironic, given that a point is made of Soji being fiercely antipathetic to same sex love. Earlier in the movie it is specifically stated Kano and read more Tashiro are an item. So why does he accept the command to kill him? This in turn is because the powers-that-be suspect Tashiro of committing murders from jealousy. But as the movie concludes it seems rather more likely that Soji may have been responsible due to his hatred of same sex love, in which case, if Kano loved Soji, it may make sense that he killed Tashiro to cover up for Soji who was actually the one he loved. Was Soji running back claiming he'd forgotten something really to get away to murder someone else - even perhaps Kano? It all gets really impenetrable. I suppose you can reach your own conclusions depending on which pieces of the jigsaw you select. The above is only predicated on the emphasis some comments have put on Soji and Kano's supposed love for him. But I'm not sure I accept that anyway. Still, it's a beautifully produced, atmospheric movie with an androgynous and beautiful lead. Alas youth is fated to be cut down for even the most beautiful like the cherry tree at the end of the film. I think that's a common metaphor in Japanese culture.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Man on High Heels
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 4, 2016
Dec 4, 2016
  • Overall 2.5
  • Story 2.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
i'm a bit shocked to see the high ratings on here. i will say i was very interested in this when i realized the main character was actually transgender. thing is, you can't really portray something so serious such as gender identity when the whole story basis itself in a "cop vs. gangster" setting along with a past love interest dealing with a boy and the current love interest being the deceased read more boy's sister.

i'm actually very disappointed in this film. there were so many sub-plots, i think my brain swirled itself around for the duration of the movie. it's not like cha seung-won is a bad actor. he takes on the role of a cold-blooded detective like it's something he was born to do. the problem is, i didn't know what to pay attention to. is it the actual enemy that's plotting to destroy him inside out or is it ji wook's inner battle with his demons?

and the ending! ugh, there was no silver lining in this movie! i'd like to see growth and development. instead, i got a character who ran around in circles and came back to the starting point: miserable in his own skin. just not worth my time with that bad portrayal of a trans-character. i think the only reason why i even gave it a rating itself was because it redeemed itself with the action scenes. romance/plot? pure waste.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ladda Land
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 3, 2016
Dec 3, 2016
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
As far as suspense horror goes it is amazing.

The story reaches a human side from the beginning. The characters are very believable and acted superbly. Although categorised as "horror" it features quite a bit of drama and family dynamics / conflict over the base of horror. Viewed from the site of each character there is quite a bit of development of each personality throughout the movie.

There is a build-up from read more happy, new to the darker, murky side of this horror. The development is very palatable. The situations leading to the climax is quite believable and frightening. By believable I mean the stories you always see on TV and read in the newspaper about situations that can be happening right next door to your house. This is where the story shines: this development of the main story, descending from family drama and suspense to outright horror.

One of the better stories in this genre I've seen in a while. Not really the concentrated bump-in-the-night, outright horror, but extremely worth the watch!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Werewolf Boy
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 3, 2016
Dec 3, 2016
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
This is my first review, i really had to write about this movie.
I never thought a movie would make me feel like that..i'm thinking about the movie so much since i've watched it...it's so heart touching, actually no words can describe it.
It's a movie that will create all kind of feelings. It's such a beautiful but yet tragic story about pure and unfulfilled love.
The acting of Song Joong Ki read more was really remarkable in a such a difficult role. Even though he spoke only a little( and that little made you cry ) he made you feel touched by his expressions and moves. I loved his character and what he did, he makes you fall in love with this character. Also Park Bo Young was very good at her role. I loved their chemistry.
The song of this movie is one of the songs you will never forget, so beautiful and sad.
I thought about some parts of the movie a lot of times in order to justify some things about what happened. This is the first time a movie did that to me. Eveytime i'm thinking about some parts of the movie, i feel so moved.
I would definitely rewatch it even though i will cry again and feel very moved.
One of the saddest movies.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No