Sort by:
Pieta in the Toilet
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
"Pieta in the Toilet" could be an excellent melodrama, yet the complicated narrative tones a film not too easy to watch.
At first the protagonist is diagnosed with cancer, 28 years and tals, something that shocks, blah, blah, blah.
Sonoda's reaction is one of the apathy to His news. He tries to continue working as if nothing had happened, initially rejecting concerns and treatment at the hospital. A failed artist, he chooses read more to sully himself to a premature death. Until by chance, he intervenes to help young Mai ... Their relationship is a "stranger": he a young man about to die; Her a minor school girl.
It may seem absurd an insanity or strangeness, but nowadays, this is almost as routine, we live in an upside down era, a reversal of moral ethics, yet in the incredible movie everything seems to make sense, nothing is absurd, if Paying attention deliberately in the narrative gives to realize what the director wants to pass as moral ...
The story is inspired by Osamu Tezuka's diaries for the end of his life and sees Sonoda wanting to leave something behind after he dies, as well as pay homage to Takuto's mother and never at the same time, recreating the image of Pieta naturally in a bathroom.
Switching emotions and scripting is difficult, have to be open-minded and act in a natural way to facilitate the flow of the story and understand that this is a good movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Man Called Pirate
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
"The Man Called Pirate" is based on a recent bestseller of Japanese historical novel (read it's great).
Basically the film tells the story of a visionary entrepreneur Sazo Idemitsu, founder of the Japanese oil company Idemitsu Kosan. Idemitsu was one of the first to see the future of oil at the end of the Meiji Era. The entrepreneur built a business starting with the sale of cheaper fuel for small fishing boats read more in the sea before the Second War. Idemitsu Kosan is currently the second largest oil refinery in Japan with a global reach. Based on real facts!
The story focuses on a protagonist constantly challenged by seemingly hopeless circumstances, but always prevailing with unconventional and highly creative countermeasures.
The film is dramatic, a multitude of dramatic situations using flashbacks and flash-forwards (before and after the war) to build suspense and a melodrama that prepares the viewer for a bittersweet finale.
From negative the excess CGIs and under-made assumptions of moments, ranging from the spectacular to the ridiculous. The cast is a show apart, gave life to the film, as far as the soundtrack, is anemic very low level for such a good novel seen in the book.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sweet Poolside
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Based on Oshimi Shuzo's manga, "Sweet Poolside" which focuses on the teen world and its concerns. The story tells of the meeting of two young men, Ayako and Toshihiko, whose narrative is based on the principle of opposites: it in what can be called hypertrichosis, the opposite, very little, almost like a baby. Both overwhelmed by such conditions, the two find refuge in each other, their different their different, giving rise to read more a relationship in which the sexual act is replaced by the shaving sessions, in which Toshihiko shaves with a razor blade in the Ayako body . First the arms, then the legs and then in an almost erotic growing care under the armpits. The next step would at this point be quite predictable, but the relationship between the two young people is forced to stay in the extreme of the complicated, or because their discovery by a companion, who threatens to reveal the whole class, or because Ayako, to the disappointment of Toshihiko , He falls in love with the swimming teacher, who was also overwhelmed by a very loud voice.
The subject is taken intelligently by Matsui, also a screenwriter, so as to become a watchful eye on the uncertainties and anxieties of the adolescent world.
Without being devoid of a certain hentai and eroticism that I would call functional. "Sweet Poolside" is a fast-moving comedy film but a decidedly dramatic case prevails.
The film is an example of the subjective imaginary common to young people, where sexuality is present but sloppy and free from any dominant temptation. As in climax, in the long scene that combines the request to shave her pubic hair and the revelation of being in love with her to the swimming teacher, a scene that reveals a remarkable expressive force.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
One on One
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
"One on One" is a reasonable adult comedy, the story is nice narrative consistent, and the comedy element makes the movie fun. The cast is also good, I enjoyed the performances. Negative just the soundtrack that could be more enjoyable or engaging.
"One on One" is good but not perfect, perhaps for being a drama more to the everyday side, although it is very pleasant.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
She Devil
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
"She Devil" mixes terror, humor and horror that only Thais know how to produce, transforming it into a new subgenre that is not suitable for all audiences.
Thai horror movies either you love or you end up hating.
Woen last years chasing Ploy's love, after many efforts by the young couple end up marrying. On the wedding night Woen discovers a terrible secret, it seems that Ploy is marked by a curse. read more Woen will do everything in his power to save his beloved, from ...
Visually it works well in a few moments but eventually become repetitive and quite predictable when you have four or five scenes. As for humor, an important thing that happened, it's a junk of forced humor.
As for the cast, the two protagonists who carry the full weight of the plot, Harin Suthamjatas, who really is a singer, is not an attentive note. On the other hand, p. Panyanut Jirarottanakasem, who is also a bad leg with no film, performing a lot to be desired.
"She Devil," on her part horror works more is not good enough, a typical story of girl possessed by the evil spirit. In addition, a mood slant, is a normal somewhat histrionic thing without Thai cinema, but there is humor of histrionic quality and many moments. Generally speaking "if you are in hell then embrace the capeta", that is, without something to watch, watch this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I'd been looking for a movie to watch that had a decent story line that I wouldn't get bored of, that's when I came across this, I didn't really understand the synopsis so I held it back for a couple of weeks, I was also hesitant because it was around 2 hours long, but after a while I was glad that I had watched it, personally I had been full emersed into read more the movie, it starts off quite slow but after 30 minutes it became very interesting.
I definately became attatched to the main characters, It's really hard to describe how I feel about it without giving away the story away.
The music was okay... I mean I don't really concentrate on the music, I'm just trying my hardest that I don't miss anything they say in the subtitles.
I've already rewatched this again and again, so... it's a 10/10 from me!
Overall I really enjoyed this movie, and I would definately reccomend it if anyone has 2 hours to spare!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Fong Sai Yuk II
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
In terms of its storyline/ plot and its balance of comedy and action, it is generally well-known that this second part of the Fong Sai Yuk film series is not quite as well-executed or as well-balanced as the first film, but it is still a very enjoyable ride for those who like a light-hearted action-comedy kung fu movie.

STORY
As per the synopsis of this show, this is a continuation from where read more the first film 'Fong Sai Yuk' left off. There is more intrigue and more undercover/ plotting scenes which make way for less comedic sections, so I think the film tries to compensate by making some scenes rather funnily cliche, instead of from pure comedic timing and content.

But the mother-son duo is back and as scintillating as ever, so this show is still a great watch. The fight scenes are still brilliantly executed, with new stunts and action sequences that are amazing and breath-taking to watch.


ACTING/ CHARACTERS
JET LI - is as great as ever as the titular Fong Sai Yuk. He grows up a bit more in this film - in the first, he was still a rather immature and rash young man in the full flush of youth and still having youthful ideals. Here, having gone through some of the trials and having his eyes opened from events in the first film, he has a more serious and weighty personality. As a member of a resistance group and god-son of a well-known people's hero, he has more responsibilities thrust upon him, in addition to his newly married state.
It makes for different sort of conflicts and tensions compared to the first film. Jet Li carries it all well, and of course, the action sequences are as stellar as ever.
JOSEPHINE SIAO - as Fong Sai Yuk's mother, remains a hilariously wonderful character. Unfortunately, her screen time is not as lengthy as the first film as she has to make way for the build-up of the plot, as well as for other supporting characters introduced in this second instalment. Which is a bit of a shame because her scenes and her interactions with Fong Sai Yuk are what makes the films so sparklingly good.

As this film has more going on in terms of story/ plotline, there is therefore more supporting characters being introduced. It's a bit of a hit-or-miss with them but they carry the story along. Seriously, the brightest gems in the film are really Jet Li and Josephine Siao - all others pale in comparison to them.


MUSIC
As per the first film, it is suitably aligned to the time period and to the style and tone of the film.


RE-WATCH VALUE
Definitely re-watchable and a good sequel to the first film. The quality of the action scenes have certainly not dropped so this film is watchable, even for that alone.

A good follow-up to its brilliant first film.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Fong Sai Yuk
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This film is now over 20 years old (!!) but it is such a classic, and such a Jet Li classic too. For Jet Li fans who would like to experience his older works, this is a highly recommended watch because it not only showcases Jet Li's great martial arts in action, but it has the added benefit of being comedic and so brings along not only the action but also the read more laughs!

Please note that it being such an old show, the production values and the video quality of this show will naturally come across as dated and a little poor. But don't let this put you off because aside from the video quality and the lack of realism of some of the props, the movie is just brilliant.

This film showcases the good old-style directing of kung fu movies at its best. Choreography of the fight scenes is just stellar and of the quality which you will hardly be able to find in kung fu shows these days. None of that slow-motion exaggerated rubbish, none of that CGI stunt nonsense. Nope, this is raw kung fu fight scenes at its best, which means, fast-paced and high tempo. Blink-and-you-will-miss-it kind of goodness. This film won the Hong Kong Film Award and Golden Horse Award for best action choreography during its time!

The comedy in this film does not lie in the choreography or execution of the fights (they are not the Jackie Chan-style funny antics), but rather in the story itself. Fong Sai Yuk and his mother make a brilliant pair of comedic marital arts heros and more than half of the laughs are from the antics of this mother-son duo.

The overarching stories and scenes are reminiscent of the Chinese period in which it is set - Qing dynasty setting in case you've missed it with the pigtails and male queues.
There are a few things going on in this film:-
- traditional chinese match-making of its time period is showcased, where daughters of reputable families are found matches through competitive rounds among her would-be-suitors;
- traditional chinese relationship dynamics of husband-wife;
- covert rebellious activities by rebel societies, and uprisings against what is perceived as oppression by a local tyrant - the definition of what makes a man a hero is often based on his actions and attitudes towards the people, particularly to those who are in need or oppressed; and
- traditional concept of filial piety and responsibility towards parents in that generation.
Lots of traditions and concepts of that time period are very much evident and imbued in this series, making it more than just your average comedic kung fu show. There is a wealth of information about the cultural mores and attitudes of the people in those days, which make for a much more insightful and unique watch experience.


ACTING/ CHARACTERS
JET LI is simply wonderful as the titular character Fong Sai Yuk. He portrays this cheeky, playful but incredibly talented kung fu lad to the tee. Young and brash but incredibly filial and family-oriented, he is the embodiment of your typical young kung fu hero of his day. His fight scenes are simply stellar and awe-inspiring.
JOSEPHINE SIAO as Fong Sai Yuk's mother is a scene-stealer! Her comedic and weighty moments in the show are on-point, while her own kung fu scenes are as awesome and as brilliant as Jet Li's. And that's saying a huge lot, I'm telling you, because Jet Li is practically the undisputed kung fu specialist of his time.
Both mother-son duo are the lynchpin and the cornerstone of this film - without them, the film would not be as scintillating and brilliant as it is still today.


MUSIC
Memorable traditional chinese instrumentals and songs which heighten and add depth to the show, nothing is out of place.


RE-WATCH VALUE
I have this film on DVD and while it is very well used in terms of it being lent to others for the spreading of the enjoyment of this great show, I will never ever give my DVD away. This show is just too good and too nostalgic - a keeper for sure and wonderfully re-watchable for the laughs and for the kung fu fight scenes.

An awesome kung fu film of the ages - it is not called a Jet Li classic for no reason!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hero Mania: Life
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
14 days ago
14 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
Long talks about a young man, Nakatsu (Masahiro Higashide), who is having a mid-life crisis ("I'm over 30!"), Because he feels that his life is not going anywhere and his job as an employee Of convenience It is very unsatisfactory. But suddenly one day he meets Toshida (Masataka Kubota), a boy with a bit of autism who is a master of the martial arts, which he uses to fight against random thugs read more on the street.
It's not an elaborate movie, it's unexpected and full of action! The main thugs are a bit remnant of those from Arnold Schwarzenegger's "Last Action Hero," with an evil and sophisticated mastermind who controls a psychological killer in a yellow raincoat that our young "Kick-Ass" watchers must dress to make The streets safe again.
The film is a smart take on the watchful genre, and has lots of silly comedy as well as some scarier moments, that's all, the narrative is tedious and the elements that make up "Hero Mania: Life" leave a lot to be desired.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kidan Piece of Darkness
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
14 days ago
14 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
In command of six great directors no doubt that would be a feature length film. Both his story and the narrative are good, albeit a mere detail, I find the stories very common, not enough to cause astonishment or something. The cinematography is in perfect sum, has scenes that really shiver, already the soundtrack stays in the classic, without innovation or daring.
"Kidan Piece of Darkness" behaves, a good horror film but read more nothing new, the cast is great, wonderful acting, if you are looking for a classic movie but with a contemporary horror accent, this is a great movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
One-Man Tag
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
14 days ago
14 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Money and fame should be had in the online world. And in the world of afreecaTV, a channel of fiction specialized in horror called "Glow World" is arousing some interest. The host of the channel, VJ Glow (Ryu Deok-hwan) is a celebrated weirdo. His partner in crime is the sprawling Park Producer (Jo Bok-rae), often targeted by VJ Glow for false pursuits and taunts. In their attempt to increase the audience and read more the balloons (the online currency of the channel), the duo seeks horrible stories to investigate, while living their explorations in scary forests and abandoned buildings.
"Hide And Never Seek" plays a Blair witch, with the concept of footage found supported by marketing materials and references to this film being "based on actual broadcast ... in 2015". The film improves between footage shot from locations, a VJ Glow-mounted camera, and several other points. A simple story that takes advantage of a new platform and tries to terrify, with a scary viral game and a supernatural mystery.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Gui Ding Can
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
14 days ago
14 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
It is not a frightening movie, it is tense, the story is weak, the narrative is well built, the cast is very present and active, the soundtrack plays its part, and cinematography leaves something to be desired. The individual elements are good, but when put together the magic does not happen, it's a boring half-mouth and low-cost movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Fighting Kids 2
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
14 days ago
14 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
A very good film of action, comedy and thriller, highlighting well balanced narrative, the director knew how to play moments between tension, horniness and laughter, not abusing sensuality nor action, a perfect balance for history.
The cinematography of the young and dangerous city iconic to create the image of the new and the dangerous, from plot to characters to form, are an unmistakable presentation to break the conventional routine of funny and read more serious films, a witty movie and without losing the Depth of action.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Once Upon a Time
10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
14 days ago
14 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
i was able to catch the movie in our local cinema. while i will not go to the extent of calling this a bad movie, ultimately it is quite mediocre.

First..for the good parts, the special effects are well done and much better than the obviously fake CGI animation in the tv drama. i also prefer the lead actress liu yifei in the movie. For me she looks more endearing than yang read more mi in the drama. It took a bit of time for me to warm up to TV yang mi. The pacing is fast (sometimes too fast) so you will not get bored watching.

now for the bad parts. whether or not you've seen the TV drama version, this movie has fairly significant shortfalls.

if you've not seen the drama, the plot will be baffling. Special effects cannot make up for lack of cohesive story. The idea to constantly go back and forth from the present to the past was initially ok, but later robbed the impact and I suspect will make it confusing to moviegoers with no background. And while i understand and support the need to cut many characters and side story, there was lack of explanation on important parts. On the positive side, you will likely find the acting passable, though not brilliant.

if you've seen the drama, the story will be understandable (thanks to your pre-knowledge), however the movie itself will be disappointing. Chinese netizens are diligently posting ludicrous parts e.g. the audience actually laughed the first time some of the supporting characters costume came on to the screen - not the reaction you wanted! Thankfully, the lead actors qian qian and ye hwa are (mostly) costumed nicely, however even qian qian elicited another laughter on one supposed to be dramatic scene, again due to over the top costume. But to me costume can be overlooked. What made it unsatisfying ultimately is lack of emotional connection. The actor yang yang is not so bad, but if you've seen the drama, you can't help but compare to mark chao. Whether it is the fault of the story pacing or the deficiency of acting skills, many dramatic scenes felt flat. One of the highlights of the tv drama was when lead actor and actress met again after a period of separation. In the movie, it was more like "boy meets girl for first time" romcom type of vibe.

For fans of the novel/series, don't be discouraged by this review. Do go ahead and watch. Arm yourself with low expectation and you will enjoy the movie more with its beautifully shot scenes and relive the story. Certainly the ~2hrs flew by quickly. For non-fans, I recommend stay away, it will leave you baffled on what the fuss is all about.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Battle of Memories
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
14 days ago
14 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
TWs/Some disturbing things in the movie: abuse (specifically on women), drowning

(I watched this movie a few nights ago and this is my first review so it might be a bit rusty! I apologise if it isn't very helpful.......)

GOOD:
- Story: The sci fi/futuristic elements of this movie are great. Once the crime/mystery is revealed, it twists and can get quite confusing (that's why I liked it!). The ending wraps it read more quite well and although there are some things left open, I don't think they were necessary to answer.
- Characters: The 'good' guys are relatively likeable, but this movie goes in all sorts of directions so you will feel a lot of things. And as for character development, it was decent for the leads.
- Acting: Some of the best I've seen. Emotion is expressed really well particularly at the extremes.
- Music: Goes well with each scene, although not very memorable but it worked with the emotion.
- Visuals: I'm all for wonderful CG and special effects, and this movie did it very well.

NOT SO GOOD:
- Story: Uncomfortable and disturbing during some scenes (as mentioned in the TWs!). The pacing felt a bit off and rushed towards the end. Storyline might be a bit predictable... especially if you're a fan of the genre like me!
- Characters: As mentioned, watching the definite bad guys doing the things they do..... ....was uncomfortable.... but necessary for the story...

REWATCH: I don't tend to rewatch anything I've seen once unless I loved it, and because of the disturbing scenes it is very unlikely that I'll be watching this again.

OVERALL: 8/10. Enjoyable for most of it. But please don't watch this if you feel like you might get triggered!

EDIT: I forgot to mention that I haven't seen the prequel to this movie! Yet it seemed to act fine on it's own, so I don't think you need to see it if you haven't
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions