Sort by:
The Celebrated Gisaeng
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 26, 2016
Nov 26, 2016
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 4.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
This is a very lighthearted quick watch of my favorite genre of Korean movies: erotic saeguk. There is a numerous amount of explicit scenes, but they're are pretty well done themselves in terms of the chemistry between the two main characters. But let me get on with the review.

The story is as the blurb above says, and it isn't anything groundbreaking or particularly interesting. I wasn't expecting there to be a read more comedic tone, so that threw me off a bit (especially since I just watched The Concubine right before so I was hoping for something with a similar tone), but nonetheless this wasn't a complete waste of time. While parts of the storyline was predictable, the ending wasn't what I forsaw and the foreshadowing was definitely misleading (purposefully probably). The somewhat plot twist ending is why I bumped the score from a 4.5 to a 5 for the overall rating.

To wrap this up, if you're looking for a lighthearted erotic saeguk, this is definitely for you. If you're looking for a movie with a strong storyline, I wouldn't choose this one today.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Dorm
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 25, 2016
Nov 25, 2016
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
Wow! Simply wow!

While not really totally fit to be horror, maybe more suspense, drama, afterlife, it does have its jump scary moments.

Well written and acted, the story progresses rather amazingly from start to finish. The writing was well done: showing the emotions of the lead character as his life changes. This is well done by Nak (Charlie Trairat) who portrayed Ton.

Michael (Sirachuch Chienthaworn) and Prani (Chintara Sukapatana) both add read more wonderful support to the storyline with their superb performances.

The dark toned style of filmography and the exotic location of the school further adds to the overall authentic feel of a ghost movie which may be the correct description. No gore, blood, chopping of heads, no "horror" themes.

There is just the right amount of tension and suspense to keep you interested. There are no boring or low parts to this movie. Somewhat cliche ending, but at least it was good. Not drawn-out, over done or in no way rushed.

Well worth the watch!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nov 24, 2016
Nov 24, 2016
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I LOVED it! The story is about these four individuals with unique powers: Osawa is a human lie detector, Suzuki clocks off time in her head like a computer, Matsuda can pickpocket anyone, and Sato is the charismatic talker who charms the audience/captives while the heist is commencing. The four individuals happen to be at a bank when they are witness to a half-assed robbery, and after stopping the would -be thief, read more they decide THEY could do better, and become a slick crime unit making daring and theatrical robberies!

I’ve always loved movies where a team of eccentric people who are aces at “what they do” join together and execute perfectly planned heists, like that team at the beginning of that first Tom Cruise MISSION:IMPOSSIBLE movie, the HUDSON HAWK museum thieves, heck, even OCEAN’S ELEVEN had that spirit I’m talking about…well, CHEERFUL GANG just exudes the same stuff! Dressed in loud, flamboyant clothes, the look of the gang resembled a Sentai Group that even Ishinomori Shotaro would be proud of!

Okay, I’m off to go search for Kyoka Suzuki pics.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Clover
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 24, 2016
Nov 24, 2016
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 3.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
Finally got around to watching the Okura Tadayoshi /Takei Emi TBS television movie Clover and while the romantic storyline wasn't anything new ( the cliches were as old as the hills), Emi Takei was so freaking adorable as main character Saya that I STILL ended up really liking it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Assassination Classroom
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 24, 2016
Nov 24, 2016
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Well, just got through watching the incredibly zany Yamada Ryosuke movie “Assassination Classroom ”(Ansatsu Kyoshitsu), a movie about a class of misfit students that are recruited by the government to kill their teacher, an alien creature posing as an instructor who tells them that if they cannot successfully kill him before the end of the semester, he will destroy the earth...

Yeah, the film was just about as silly as it sounds, read more but there was one BIG perk of watching it- throughout the show, they kept introducing new government assassins posing as transfer teachers and students, and among them was an extremely hot and sexy bombshell named “ Irina Jelavic”, played by pretty Jiyoung, she late of K-pop group KARA!

Damn, gotta say, when I first began watching Assassination Classroom, I didn’t even recognize her- the blonde wig was an obvious throw-off, but additionally Jiyoung was probably the last actress I expected to see here…
I guess I shouldn’t have been TOO surprised, though, since she played another little hottie in the equally crazy monster-in-the-classroom drama JIGOKU SENSEI NUBE! Mmmm, She’s been lookin’ HELLA fine!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Still Walking
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 24, 2016
Nov 24, 2016
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This was one of those laid-back “absorb the atmosphere” kind of flicks, ones that take the time to show random things like an old man walking down a hill or a train clicking across the scenery…and it reminded me not just a little of the terrific Hiroshi Abe/Tomoko Yamaguchi drama “Going My Home”: Same story of a city resident going back to visit his relations in a small old-fashioned town, and once read more there, sitting back and taking in the slowed down pace on the town. Heck, they even got YOU to play his younger sister in both of them!

Yui and Abe’s acting skills are impeccable and the way they play off each other is captivating! Actually, everyone was really great, such natural and organic scenes which were composed mostly of dialog, GREAT dialog which grew and simmered like real conversations… so realistic, at times if seemed like I was watching a hidden camera video recording of some family’s life!

Watching this has really reinforced my Yui Natsukawa love, man…she was so doggone pretty and delicate in this one, not at all like the tough realist Natsumi Hayakawa (her character in Kekkon Dekinai Otoko), but both really great characters. And of course, no matter who she plays, her characters always have those signature dimples, and in fact, there's a scene where Mother (played excellently by the awesome Kiki Kirin) even comments, "Oh, you have cute dimples!" LOLOL

PS. Was really cool to realize the line “Aruitemo, Aruitemo” used as the title of this movie came from none other than the immensely gorgeous Japan chanteuse Ayumi Ishida’s song “Blue Light Yokohama”, how cool is THAT!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Vampire in Love
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 24, 2016
Nov 24, 2016
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 3.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
Checked out the 2010 Mirei Kiritani movie “Koisuru Vampire” because a tale of a teenage girl vampire brought up without human interaction who meets and falls in love with a mortal boy and makes it her mission to find him again in the real world sounded like it would yield some interesting story-lines...

Somehow though, once Kiira (Mirei) hooks up with the boy as a teenager, the show turned into a drama read more about a girl who uses all her love to convince the boy that his singing and guitar playing is awesome and he can win a talent show, if only he'd believe in himself. Yeah, they managed to stick a generic, clichéd storyline into this movie, just like they did with The Girl Who Leapt Thru Time. I mean, they DID eventually get around to the whole “vampire” thing at the end, but by then I almost didn’t care, LOL.

Plus Points for Mirei’s super-cuteness, but I gotta tell you, for a vampire movie, a good 80% of this could have been just a regular teen romance flick! I guess that was the demographic they were going for? OK.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Letters from Kanai Nirai
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 24, 2016
Nov 24, 2016
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This was such a sweet movie (naturally, any movie that has Okinawa as the backdrop is going to be breezy and laid back) and I how even back in 2005 Aoi Yu was just completely enveloping herself in her roles- she is SO believable as Fuuki you really feel like you know her and are along with her on her journey.
I have to say that I pretty much guessed the plot read more of Letters from Kanai Nirai right away- a few years ago, there was a essay on NPR’s “This American Life” that told the true story of a correspondence between Mother and Daughter that was almost exactly what transpired in the movie...though that ended on a more bitter note than the Aoi Yu film which was filled with warmth and love.

Aoi Yu, she’s still amazing me as always!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Grasshopper
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 24, 2016
Nov 24, 2016
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
There’s a war going on between the Contract Killers of Japan between an underground Mob Boss named Terahata , his son Junior, and all the various Crimelord Rivals.

Lots of great action scenes in this one and so many intriguing characters, and it becomes a madhouse of murder as each killer becomes either hunted or hunter, switching back and forth in an intricate game of cat-and-mouse til you aren't sure WHO to read more root for!

All this, Nanao, adorably cutesy Aimi Satsukawa as a ditsy former-student of Suzuki’s who gets accidentally involved with the whole brouhaha herself, and even a cameo with Kumiko Aso as the wife of one of the assassins!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nov 24, 2016
Nov 24, 2016
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
This was a fairly “By The Numbers” tearjerker, but I love Keiko, and as usual, her acting lends to very likeable and believable characters…I was taken with Tsubasa from the moment I saw her. This film was heartbreaking for me not so much for its grand, tragic end, but more for the parts where you see Tsubasa going through her everyday life coping bravely with her handicap (doing her errands in her read more wheelchair, doing housework with the use of only her right arm), and the footage of her shortly after her accident when she was first going through the arduous and painful task of rehabilitation was harrowing and yet so admirable to watch.

Besides Keiko and Ryo Nishikido, Dakishimetai featured an all-star ensemble cast, including Eriko Sato and Aya Hirayama, albeit in minor roles.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Judge!
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 24, 2016
Nov 24, 2016
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Have to say that after watching the morose and meandering Kitagawa Keiko/Fukada Kyoko psychological thriller “Roommate,” the other week, I’ve been dying to see Keiko in a more fun role, and here we have her in the wacky comedy “Judge!” along with Satoshi Tsumabuki as two CM agency employees playing husband and wife while attending the prestigious Santa Monica CM Grand Prix in America.

“Judge!” is clearly Satoshi Tsumabuki’s movie and Keiko read more has an admittedly lesser role in it, but every scene she’s in, she just lights up with that sassy energy of hers! Whenever a scene would play, I’d find myself delightfully rewinding her parts over and over- Man, I do love this girl so much! A good, fun movie to watch over the weekend!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Murder of Snow White
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 24, 2016
Nov 24, 2016
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Watched 02 Oct, 2014
Just finished watching the movie The Snow White Murder Case (Shirayuki hime Satsujin Jiken), and what an awesome film it was! A true Murder Mystery proper, this movie tells the tale of two women, one shy and homely and the other beautiful and dazzling. They’ve worked together for the company that manufactures a popular “Snow White” Beauty Soap, and when the beautiful girl, Miki Noriko (played by pretty read more Nanao) is discovered dead, having been stabbed multiple times, killed and set ablaze, the case is dubbed the “Snow White” Murder by the press.

I was thoroughly entertained throughout this whole movie, and my GOSH was it stylishly directed! Every shot was done with a very artistic point of view, and the opening overhead scene of the beautiful Miki Noriko laying dying on the forest floor as her slowing pulse sends spurts of blood out of her gaping wounds is an artistic masterpiece worthy of Hitchcock himself!

And I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention how chock-full of beautiful girls there are in this movie! Besides the aforementioned Inoue Mao, Renbutsu Misako, and Nanao, we’ve also got appearances by other fetching actresses, including Tanimura Mitsuki, Ono Erena, and the always scene-stealing Shihori Kanjiya! Ah yes, a flick DEFINITELY worth watching!!!

BTW, it always amazes me how much personality Mao Inoue exudes in her roles. No matter what she does, you always tend to find yourself liking her character, even it that character is the main subject of a brutal murder! What an actress!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Why Don't You Play In Hell?
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 24, 2016
Nov 24, 2016
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
The highly explosive and bloody Why Don’t You Play In Hell (Jigoku de Naze Warui), the supercharged tale of a former child-star mob daughter named Michiko caught between two rival mob families and a troop of amateur filmmakers, all of whom have one thing uniting them: to make the cinematic masterpiece that will stand the test of time! The movie starts out quirky and eccentric,(think Miki Satoshi) but slowly but surely as read more the film moves along, the movie gets weirder and weirder, til it cumulates in the most absolutely over-the-top looney tunes shoot out for the ages! A truly WTF movie if there ever was one!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Lightning Tree
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 24, 2016
Nov 24, 2016
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Watched 29 Jan, 2014
Man, I have just finished watching the most awesomest movie! Years ago I saw a super fun episode of Kuwazu Girai featuring Okada Masaki and one of my very, very favorite actresses, Aoi Yu, who were at the time promoting a movie called Raiou (The Lightning Tree) and the couple was so much fun and seemed to get along so well that when I found the movie up read more for grabs, I downloaded it right away!

First thing I gotta say is MAN, this movie is NOTHING like what the synopses I’d been reading had indicated- far from a typical romance separation by class, Raiou took that basic premise and took a MAJOR left turn with it, turning the movie into one featuring not only romance but Action, Adventure, and Human Drama- Beyond the tale of a high class young nobleman falling in love with a peasant girl, we’ve got the male lead Narimichi (Okada Masaki) as a prince plagued by illnesses that not only make his sickly but prone to bouts of delirium as well, meeting Rai (Aoi Yu), a gruff wild-child raised in the mountains by the assassins who stole her away from her family when she was just a baby. Put these two together and you’ve got a whole new tale on an old tale!

And the second and probably most important thing about Raiou is the awesome acting, ESPECIALLY on the part of Aoi Yu, my GOSH can this chick ACT!!!! MAN, her scenes were always so gripping, emotional and intense- I have to say that by the end of the movie, I was just DRAINED! Man, NOBODY sells a character better than her, NOBODY! What will this girl do NEXT?!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
For Love's Sake
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Nov 24, 2016
Nov 24, 2016
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Watched 27 Apr, 2013
I’ve just seen a J-movie that is such a mish-mash of genres that it's end result must be one of the most unusual amalgams ever! This movie has it all: Romance, Roughnecking, Triumph and Tragedy, and it’s all set to campily enthusiastic SONG AND DANCE!

For reals, when I sat down to watch AI TO MAKOTO (For Love's Sake), I was only in it for the sweet babe-ness read more of its main star Emi Takei, but as soon as I saw the opening scene where delinquent bad boy Makoto (played by Satoshi Tsumabuki) beats up a rival gang all the while singing and DANCING, I knew I was in for SOME movie! Seriously, this was the Jets fighting the Sharks all over again!

I have to say that this a pretty innovative flick, and though the songs seem to break out at the most inopportune times, some of them are in fact pretty catchy, it was a thrill to hear Emi Takei singing her sweet proclamation of love to Makoto, and I have special fondness for the dark, drawling, song “Dreams Bloom at Night” which rival-love-interest Yuki (Ono Ito) hypnotically purrs to Makoto to take him away from innocent Ai’s arms…

Ai To Makoto is really like a Manga brought to life, and with waltzing Gang Members, Angry Singing Parents and enemy students brawling at the drop of a hat, it’s sometimes hard to take things seriously! But just like Romeo and Juliet (which West Side Story was based on , of course), this story has the shadow of TRAGEDY looming all over it, and you just KNOW that our heroes and heroines will not come out of it unscathed…

Ah, but let us not bring the zany vibes down! The Verdict for Ai To Makoto: Highly Original movie with an insane amount of nuttiness. Camp Factor: High, Emi Takei Cuteness factor: Maximum! Cautiously Recommended Viewing!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No