If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
13 Assassins
1 people found this review helpful
19 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 5.5
First off for this review you have to understand I am HUGE Kurosawa fan since well ..forever.  I love Samurai films and this one did not disappoint.  The political maneuvering to ensure the right thing was done for the Japanese people felt like something that really could have happened.
My Re-watch value is low because I rarely re-watch samurai movies unless I am sharing with my friends, but I may buy the dvd to add to my collection to make sure I always have it to share.
This is just an opinion, yours may differ.
Was this review helpful to you?
One Day
1 people found this review helpful
21 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
I was hesitant to watch this at first, I thought it would just be some darker "Just Like Heaven". I sure do not regret my choice to click play. It is beautifully written, both Miso and Kang Soo's stories are so banally touching.
It really makes one thing about life, illnesses, death and the impact it can have on others.
One particular part hit home: "-Will you remember me? -How can I forget you... -I mean, the good times". It is easy when you lose someone to remember the bad and difficult times, which are often the immediate past. We tend to forget all of the beautiful moments because they're further in our memories. One Day was a good reminder as I am guilty of that.
I also loved that there was no romance involved, though we can easily imagine there was.  This fine line between love and care was just perfect, and I like that Kang Soo took the time to appreciate her for what she was, and not only because he was reminded of his wife.
It is a masterpiece in my book (do I have to mention how it can start a debate on euthanasia? and the way to address the visually impaired?) and great if you're looking for some heart-warming human interaction.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
P to JK
0 people found this review helpful
21 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 5.5
Surprisingly, not a bad movie. Though the story is a bit of a let down when it comes to expectations, the overall result is okay, with a satisfying ending and some nice development. Kamanashi Kazuka, whose previous works showed more acting talent than this one, was okay portraying a police officer who is as introverted as it gets and who shuts his young bride out in her every attempt to get closer to him. His female co star is good as well, being all cute and childish, enough to convince that she is way too young for what she is going to attempt. The romance between them is nice, though the movie would have been better if it showed a more realistic plot. But, overall it's enjoyable, so 7 out of 10.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Haunted Campus
0 people found this review helpful
22 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
Serious horror fans don't even consider this to fulfill your requirement!!!It is not something which will scare you to death...

When I saw the trailer what I could predict it as...A horror movie which will be scary us showing ghosts... and a very chilling and disturbing movie!!!

Forget all what I said just now,this one comes off as a surprise...This one is spooky but not scary;light hearted movie which is fun to watch.You can rather call it a shoujo-supernatural-horror-mystery drama.Something like a group of friends solving paranormal cases - fun filled adventure.

The male lead is very cute and was too perfect.The chemistry between male lead and female lead is very kawaii. The supporting cast too performs brightly.

Characters are so amazing.As a beginner movie; it set its foot on a right note.I won't mind if it goes for a sequel.Thanks to its impressive cast and perfect setting!

Enjoyed this one!!!You won't be disappointed...

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Forbidden Love
1 people found this review helpful
22 days ago
Overall 1.0
Story 1.0
Acting/Cast 1.0
Music 2.5
Rewatch Value 1.0
This film was pretty bad in way of poorly executed story. The leads are attractive looking, yes. However male lead was too aggressive in his manners, the way he physically handled female lead in terms off grabbing her and forced kisses throughout the story. There was no usual 'determined wrist grab' type deal here that is a quirky affectionate gesture in other dramas/films. He literally restrains her so forcefully in almost every scene they have together. It's not cute or heart fluttering. Female lead seemed so weak in her own defense and manners. Her 'trying to be cute' was very annoying. Waste of time. Don't recommend

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
ReLIFE
0 people found this review helpful
22 days ago
Overall 6.5
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
Few months ago I read about the manga and I found the plot is very good & interesting , so when I saw the movie ver. I got very exited I thought I have to see it before I start reading it ~
And I heard that there's an Anime ver. too but I didn't watch it yet ..
So about this movie , like what I said the plot is very good cause of its originality it started well and I enjoyed the first part but then become like any school days story and I saw these a lot in the manga that I've read previously .
But the casts were good , the ending was suitable & this's a movie which a lot of us can relate to ~
I can say its an okey movie > don't have a high expectations !

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Haunted Campus
1 people found this review helpful
22 days ago
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
STORY : 7.5

Well first I have to point at the poster , I thought it will be a romance movie but it stated that its a horror?!  :/
So then you have to look closer at the poster > creepy ! .
Anyway , I unexpectedly enjoyed this movie ~ Its cute, funny and not that scary ...
I think this movie would make a fun drama , they should do a series as a continuation .
At the end of the movie after the credits they showed a scene > so it might and I hope there'll be a 2nd part ^^

NOTE : If you're a horror movies fans then maybe you should skip this one ! .

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Man on High Heels
1 people found this review helpful
22 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 5.5
honestly speaking, i went into this movie thinking i wouldn't finish it because it's too transphobic or just bad representation (especially because the title sort of implies trans women are men who play dress up) but i was pleasantly surprised by this. i personally think they portrayed the feelings and internal struggles lgbtq+ people feel and showed multiple sides of trans women and not just one fixed type of woman very well.

not only does this movie have interesting characters (and a complex well written main character), it also has multiple interesting storylines. though some people may find more than one storyline in a movie a bit too complicated and muddled, i personally like them and how they make ji wook into a more complex and detailed character.

the side criminal/cop storyline where the gangsters of the town are fighting it out kinda pushes the “manly” point across about ji wook and how she feels pressured to be a certain type of person that she is not. then there is the main storyline about ji wook’s internalized struggles about what it means to be a woman and her struggles to find comfort in being who she is, as well as her struggles of growing up (as what is perceived to be) gay in a society where being gay isn’t seen as “normal” or “right”.  

though it is inclusive, it does still have some transphobic comments. i personally think this is used to drive the storyline of ji wook not being able to find peace in her sense of self worth and identity. there are stereotypes in this that i think weren’t necessary (lifting of the pinky) and more things plot wise that i don’t think were necessary (ji wook and jang mi kiss scene) but overall, i find the story to be interesting.  especially when i compare it to other movies with trans people in them.

despite the wonderful things about this movie, they ultimately ruined it with the ending. the whole story was about ji wook finding peace within herself and fighting her way into a positive attitude about her sense of self and they destroyed it (for no reason what so ever) and brought her even further back in terms of acceptance than she was in the beginning. i think they were just trying to showcase how hard it is to find peace and acceptance with yourself, especially when it feels like the world is stacked up against you, but i personally think they should have at least given her somewhat of a decent happy ending where she feels confident being herself.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Haruta & Chika
0 people found this review helpful
22 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 4.5
STORY : 7.0

This was a really slow paced movie it focuses mainly on the music and the female lead character's development .

Maybe if they add a little of romance it will be nice , I actually liked the friendship between the leads and it was funny to watch  xD

The music was also nice , but I have to repeat there's NO ROMANCE kkk .

But overall it was a sweet movie & it had a decent likable ending, You will probably enjoy this if you're not asking for more or you'll say its boring :/
Was this review helpful to you?
Awakening Love
0 people found this review helpful
22 days ago
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
The film is about a young man and a group friends connecting at university. The protagonist has fallen in love with one of his friends, a man, but the feelings don't seem to be reciprocated; a love triangle, and even a four-way love ensues. There are truly some genuine moments that express the deepest realities of LGBTQ people in this film, one example a scene on the roof unveiling the truth (I almost cried it was so real). This is a terrible story,  but a pretty good film none-the-less. The ending of this story, alas, is not a happy one. Essentially, our main character succumbs to the inner battle: man vs self, and hides in the depths of the quintessential "closet." We are left with an unsatisfying end, and possibly a sad truth that LBGTQ's in China or in the far East, and around the world face.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Haruta & Chika
0 people found this review helpful
22 days ago
Overall 5.0
Story 4.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 4.5
A music movie with some cases to be solved but not any big mystery. Actually, this one is just so so. At first, it was kind of interesting to see what was going to happen with the music club. The girl was cute and funny and her relationship with her childhood friend was adorable. Things got a bit stuck towards the end, with the way too cliché turn of events and the girl's struggles to master her instrument that eventually led us to the very ending. There was no romance in the movie, though the whole music club members dynamics were good enough to keep you occupied. The scene, finally, at the practice room when everything went from normal to chaos was a bit too long. So, overall, 5 out of 10.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Kagemusha
0 people found this review helpful
22 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 5.0
Since there wasn't a review for this film at the time of writing this, I figured I'd give my thoughts.
Though I appreciate its sprawling shots and attention to detail (having literally hundreds of men dressed in armor,  the careful and deliberate shots of Shingen and those bowing to him, etc.), it was a fairly slow movie, and I don't feel I really got to know any of the characters. The actors did a good job, but one general in particular was prone to overacting (literally shouting his lines in an otherwise silent room, which seemed a bit much); the score was used mainly for battle scenes, and the songs fit thematically. Viewed from a historical fiction perspective, it was a satisfying epic that had several transitional periods in the movie, and its conclusion seemed fitting, but I wouldn't necessarily recommend it or rewatch it any time soon.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
P to JK
1 people found this review helpful
23 days ago
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
I have read manga version.So I was quite excited about this one!!!

The movie starts with a slow pace though it picks up in the second half,I just feel many elements in the film were not satisfied.There were many scenes which were like warm and beautiful but seemed forced.Chemistry was not appealing.

Kazuya Kamenashi as Kouta shines in some scenes as a police officer and a dutiful husband but I feel his character could have been utilized more.Tao Tsuchiya as Kako seems lively throughout the movie.So I liked her more here.The supporting cast like Takasugi Mahiro as Okami was good.

Only a more crisp script could have made it more enjoyable and memorable!!!

Good for one time watch :-)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
P to JK
0 people found this review helpful
by SSKF
23 days ago
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
1st, the content. For most people, a 26 year old policeman marrying a 16 year old girl is cringe worthy material. Obviously one is too immature for the other, and all the problems that come along with dating an older person, not to mention the problems in marriage itself. However, before anyone complains - you know what you are getting into with the story because the synopsis is clear as day. The content should not manipulate your rating because... if you don't like the story, don't watch it. Also, the movie is a Japanese production - this kind of relationship is common place in Japan and not just in Japanese manga. Maybe not marriage, but dating between a 25 year old and a 16-18 year old is normal. Keep the culture of the setting (Japan) in mind when watching.

Now, the story ... The story was definitely disjointed and I only understood and enjoyed it because I read the manga years ago. Large chunks of the story was missing but I was able to connect it together because I remembered what happened between scenes. The actual story (in the manga) is too large and detailed to fit into a movie like this. However, if they had added it into the movie, the movie would have been too boring.

In the manga, most of the story was about
1) Kouta marrying her because he's an officer so he doesn't want to just date a 16 year old girl. He wants to make it all legal.
2) Kako waiting around for Kouta
3) A triangle with Okami
4) Kouta avoiding Kako so as not to sleep with her.
Hence, boring material.

Music etc ... I don't notice those things.

Acting... Well, it was fairly good acting given the story and plot. Not extremely good, but fairly good.

End scene : Happy, but what the hell was that last few seconds?

Watch at your own risk. I won't really recommend it to anyone given the content. You have to decide if you want to get into this. Leave your western perceptions at the door and acknowledge you are looking into a different culture - as we always do when watching another country's production.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
P to JK
0 people found this review helpful
24 days ago
Overall 5.5
Story 3.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 3.5
If you are going to make an age gap movie, especially when one of the lead character is a minor, don't do it like this movie! Yes, I understand that this is common theme in manga/anime! I actually love a lot of stories with this theme so I'm not trying to be prudish about it at all! I know you can create a story where it's plausible and even enjoyable to have an age gap with a minor romance. Unfortunately, the way they did it in this movie is cringe worthy!

The first thing you have to acknowledge is poor story pacing. I understand that a lot of story is hard to fit in two hours, but it can be done. You've probably read by now there literally is no courtship before marriage. There isn't really even enough chemistry or social/physical interaction to sell the whole love at first sight hook! So the only thing you can deduce is that he married her because he was lonely, felt some weird guilt trip so felt the need to protect her. Which if honestly was the case, wouldn't require marriage at all so it still feels really off.  When you add in additional factors and how immature/innocent Kako acts even for a modern 16 year old it plays out even more cringy!

This leads to the second thing that must be acknowledged, their maturity levels. Kako could pass as a 12 year old trapped in a 16 year olds body! Her behavior and expressions are so childish it makes the thought of a grown man seeing her as a woman very uncomfortable. On the flip side you have Kouta who could pass as more mature than 26 year old because of his obsession with propriety as a officer and willingness to sacrifice himself for the job! So in the end the age gap gets way more absurd and creepy! The only conclusion you can make that doesn't sound a lot like pedophilia is that he wasn't physically attracted to her as a woman and just wanted someone he could protect and not be alone, maybe have the best position of control? That doesn't exactly make for a swoon worthy romance, more like a borderline psychological thriller/horror movie plot device.

This leads to the most disturbing of all things that must be acknowledged! It is made crystal clear by Kouta that Okami  is still a child! It implied many times that Kouta is a mature adult officer and Okami is a kid and needs to rely on adults like the police for help. Yet Okami acts way more mature than Kako! So it's hard to sell the double standard that Kako is grown enough to be an equal, consensual marriage partner, when it's established that she is Okami's peer therefore at the same level (if not lower maturity level ) as a dependant child! This plus the odd, uncomfortable small scenes of physical/romantic interaction between Kouta and Kako make it feel like a little girl with a crush on her older brother. She literally never reaches the maturity level you would expect from a married woman all the way to the end! The only reason you don't have the urge to call CPS when Kouta kisses her or proposes is because he appears to regress in maturity to the level of a teenage boy. That in itself is pretty disturbing though when you actually try to rationalize it!

After acknowledging all the faults it's easy to say this movie definitely failed at being able to comfortably portray a marriage let alone a romance between a 16 year old girl and 26 year old man. Since that is the major premise of the movie it's really sad to admit. The highlight to me was actually the friendship between Kako and Okami! I would actually have preferred a movie based on their circumstances to be the lead romance and the policeman story to be more of a friendship crush that never developed romantically. Why? Because it felt genuine and much more interesting. Don't get me wrong I'm not trying to insult Kame, his acting, or trash how well he executed the story! He looked amazing as ever, and I understood his perspective genuinely! It was truthful the storyline and underdevelopment of the characters relationships that made this movie nonsensical. The acting was actually not bad, but with the weird storyline and disjointed characters it felt like they were all performing in unrelated stories!

This is me commenting on the music, it was okay, lively but nothing truly beyond to be notice worthy in my opinion. 

I can't actually recommend a re-watch just because there isn't much to warrant it! I mean even in badly executed rom-coms there is often enough sweet warm and fuzziness for a squee fix even if you fast forward the rest! Unfortunately all of those moments in this movie are so uncomfortable to watch and unsatisfying it's more of a downer. My advice is to screenshot Kame and his very sexy-suitable hairstyle as a screensaver and move on to the next movie! ?

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?