Sort by:
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Decent but has its flaws.
One of the best features involved here is the continuation of the story a rather scary atmosphere at the beginning now a permanent part of the story.
It has a good change of pace. Since it involves the gangsters who get there to their hiding place, this manages to include some pretty nice subjects as well as the elements of continuous comedy which is quite scary to read more see in concept yet the execution is made to laugh a lot like the original did.
The strong point is the plot which seems very varied and unfocused, going around so many different elements that the film does not really have any real focus.
Generally speaking "Buppha Ratree: A Haunting in Japan" is equivalent to "Scary Movie" an American film of the genre comedy of the year 2000 directed by Keenen Ivory Wayans.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Unvanished Vapour
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Persistence or foolishness?
"The Unvanished Vapour" is based on a young man who, although he fails, always does not give up on his dream of being a great cartoonist, even if he pays a high price for it, they go forward where only death can stop him ...
The narrative is the big problem, the movie in its midst becomes annoying, due to the monotony of the main character, without great expectations read more the boy narrates superficially his monotonous life, is not a film that causes great impact, is slow, simple With an expected end within the predictable.
The performance is divided, the protagonist did not show much performance because of the script, since the adjuvants were slightly above expectations, at least I liked it.
Cinematography and camera movements have not matched, there are scenes where the background scenery could be better taken advantage of but the camera movement ends up cutting out beautification parts, it's like taking a picture where only the trunk of the person appears.
I expected more from the soundtrack, reasonable yet not the most appropriate, except exceptions, but in sum it escapes the context, listening to it makes it clear that does not belong to that scene, which does not involve ...
In general, "The Unvanished Vapour" is monotonous, having peaks of ups and downs, comes to a critical point of desistence given to a poorly done script and much monotony of the character, when we watch something we want this something interesting that attracts us , Which holds our attention, was not what "The Unvanished Vapour" did.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Don't Let Love Wait
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Although the premise is interesting, it's not a good movie.
The story is well told, well written, the problem is that it has no feelings, a dead story interpreted by a cast without life.
The performance is far below expected, part by choice, was not good choice by the director Tong Xiao-Hui in what refers to the choice of the actors ideas for that role.
The soundtrack in turn is good, I read more liked it, average but good, since the cinematography is also the height, good scenarios well built according to the standard of the acceptable.
Overall reasonable film, do not expect a sentimental commotion, it's cold and a little unnecessary like that "HUBLLE" movie poster that makes no sense at all. If you look for a neutral movie and without sentimental value is a good movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Female Brothers
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
A very beautiful story.
"Sisters Women" are not just another love story, contrary to each other, this one, has dramatic elements more authentic to reality by way of well written writing, as transitions, past and present are very good, do not cause confusion but emotion.
With a young but professionally efficient and active cast they knew how to act consistently and most importantly convincingly.
A photograph and soundtrack are very well-aligned, from read more a choice with a practice with a sound-reconstruction, where well-constructed artificial settings blended with Shanghai's external scene outlets. From classical music, a contemporary pop gave a touch of modernity to this romantic comedy.
Generally speaking "female sisters" is very good, all elements are homogeneous a complement the other and so a good film in technical terms and a good story not that refers to a feeling for the expectorar, a film to be Appreciated. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Drowning Love
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
Story:

Although the story can be confusing at first since it is very fast paced, it slows down as the story progresses, and makes more sense after understanding the characters. The story is heavier, and has a lot more dept than regular Shoujo live-actions, which I personally enjoyed. There are some touching scenes throughout the movie, especially at the ending.

Acting/Cast:

I was not a huge fan of Komatsu Nana's acting in read more her past works, but she improved so much in this movie! There are a few parts that are still a bit awkward, but her acting is overall pretty good in this movie. Suda Masaki's acting is always great, and once again, he did not disappoint me. He really embodied the character, and truly won me over by the end. I read somewhere that he lost a lot of weight for this role, and weighed around 50kg, which is crazy for his height! Overall, I really liked the chemistry between them since they have a similar aura.

Music:

I LOVED the music, and I thought that it went well with the movie. I downloaded a whole bunch of the songs after.

Overall:

I honestly love this movie so much. It is fast paced in the beginning, but everything fits together by the end. This is definitely different (in a good way) from regular Shoujo manga live-actions, but the scenes were filmed so beautifully. Overall, I loved the main characters and the chemistry between them.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Edge of Innocence
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
1.) Zitao
This was my first Chinese movie and let's be honest, I watched because of Zitao, who I follow because of his music. I've heard a lot of critique about his acting, seen a few scenes from other movies and read his interviews in which he was very determined to improve his acting and prove people wrong in this very movie.
After seeing it, I have to say one thing - read more whoever ever said Huang Zitao is a bad actor is going to have to reconsider. He quite apparently worked hard and his acting was smooth and natural. I felt extremely proud of him.

2.) Music and narration
The soundtrack was good. Nothing outstanding, but nothing that would disturb your experience either. Overall pleasant. What I loved much more though, and will put it in this category, was the narration. It is not often that movies are narrated this well, but this one blended well into the movie and I truly enjoyed it.

3.) Aesthetics of the movie
Oh yes. Aside from Zitao being my aesthetics in general, I loved the dim colours and cold tones as well as the warm, calming and almost retro ones ones the movie was set in. The sets of the scenes were clear and the fashion pure and simple, complying with the theme of innocence.

4.) Plot
As for the movie itself, it was also probably the first time I've watched this drama/mystery genre on my own accord, and I must say it was a rather good experience; the first hour even brought a bit of paranoia along with the suspense. I was really into the plot and had no idea about the prime suspect or the twists in general until the moment the truth was revealed.

5.) Romance
Relationships and their development are my big pet-peeves and I am therefore very demanding in this area. I was a bit afraid of how it's going to work here, but I was pleasantly surprised. Yes, the beginning might have been a bit rushed and not quite believable (or maybe I'm just not into all this stalkerish love thingy), but the rest was rather cute. Then again, even the beginning could probably be accounted to that image of young recklessness, which was definitely a feeling I got from certain scenes and the main character in general. I also can't complain about the conclusion, which brings me to the last point -

6.) I loved the ending. By the ending I mean the very last scene in particular. I loved how the movie turned out. I would recommend it just for that, but the film has many other plus points throughout, so I'm just recommending in general.
Just watch and see. :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hope
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Magnificent and an incomplete recovery!
Written by Ji-hye Kim and directed by Joon-ik Lee have managed to recreate a fact in a blend of feelings perfectly written and performed inside a film called "Hope."
The film is distressing about the rape of an eight-year-old girl and its devastating consequences. The act itself is not shown, which to me was clever a special care taken by the director. To be fair, there is read more not much hope either, but there is at least a little hope, enough to restore a little faith in humanity, though God knows we are a horrible sort. Our failures are great. For someone suffering such abuses it is an incurable trauma that time does not extinguish.
Do not expect the film to be a great artist or enchanting as it represents the most shameful and humble act of human beings and the gaps of the laws of our nations.
The whole movie is made so serene and beautiful that you would find it difficult to say anything. The scenes and emotions would not make him cry or angry but only rip his emotions and feelings that would be like relationships and emotions where words are not even necessary.
The film will definitely touch your innermost feelings and instigate you to think what life really is.
Under a perfect performance featuring the young Lee Re playing the difficult role of a sexually abused girl as well as all the elements that make up the film are perfect.
Generally, "Hope" is exciting and delicate at the same time, oon-ik Lee captured all the sentimental essence and passed on to the viewer, I know someone who lost his parents in childhood and lived in the streets of Japan having to prostitute himself to survive today , Financially successful, but a cold and realistic person of difficult coexistence, consequence of the past that can not be forgotten or erased no matter how much one wants.
For me "Hope" have a strong emotional impact.
It shows the importance of having family and friends support during that time. It also shows the stupidity of the Korean legal system and all crimes in this area should be punished more severely. Those who like the film, try another Korean masterpiece Miracle in cell no.7!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Cruel State
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 5.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Very sensationalism!
It was undoubtedly a remarkable accident or accident, the worst maritime tragedy in the country, "Cruel State" portrays in a sensationalist way the agony of the families who until now still seek answers and their sons and daughters who are still submerged and missing.
The documentary film is filmed in a tense atmosphere, everything is very chaos, rather than the director having left for the emotional and agonizing side of read more families chose to make criticism of the government. Forcing something is not the right way to bring the world's attention to such a tragedy.
I could see a very good balance between fury and sadness, after all there are many dead and young children,
Negligence with the shipwreck was one of the reasons the population was outraged.
The investigations into the disaster, in which 304 people died, concluded that it was largely man-made the result of an illegal redesign, an overburdened cargo compartment, inexperienced crew, and a questionable relationship between ship operators and state regulators .
Even though the ship took about three hours to sink, those on board were never ordered to evacuate while the crew escaped to safety.
Captain Lee Jun-Seok has been sentenced to life imprisonment for "intentional malpractice murder" and 14 other crew members have been mandated ranging from two to 12 years.
In general Cruel State is a protest documentary, but it would undoubtedly give or will give a good melodramatic film, I can not wait to keep up with what actually happened and postpone the eminent despair and death of the crew. After all this story is very badly told, there was enough time, why there was an evacuation of the passengers? Why were the crew only evacuated? Is it really the commander's fault? Or was he just another victim of circumstance? Maybe a conspiracy? I do not know, but in time of capitalism, money is the boss.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Forever Young
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Below the expectations.
The plot of "Forever Young" could turn into a silly sitcom intended for young adults, drastic and strange script and little complete.
Anyone who watches it feels like it's an empty story, something is missing that
Focuses around Xu Nuo (Li Yifeng) and Yan Xi (Zhang Huiwen), boyfriend and girlfriend about to graduate from college and perform the "dream night". Xu Nuo is a talented singer in a band read more with his three roommates, hoping to be noticed by a label, while Yan Xi and his roommates are ballet dancers with the aim of continuing their studies in Paris. Yan Xi does not react well to learning that may be beyond the means of his friends, and not only do not have a chance to excuse himself before a horrible car accident, but he ends up in hospital with a broken leg after pushing himself too hard in answer. Seeing his broken heart, Xu Nuo comes up with a crazy idea ...
There are problems of execution, fade in fade out before cutting to another scene, the editing is also terrible, you can notice the rewind in certain scenes.
The main pair is actually quite strong together; There is not much chance to show Xu Nuo and Yan Xi as a genuinely happy couple, but Li Yifeng can certainly do "stay nearby, ready to provide support" with the best of them, and this is something that may seem ridiculous if it is not done right. He's kind of bland in other ways, but at least he's not a mannequin. It's a bit unfortunate that the film is so inclined towards it, as opposed to Zhang Huiwen; She establishes Yan Xi as energetic in terms of being both extroverted and fiercely committed to dancing, but then has little to do during the second half, but they appear from time to time, playing rather dejected, but not directing the story.
Overall "Forever Young" is a dumb idea, but not really bad. The obvious comedy is great though the audience knows what's coming. The feeling behind this is so simple, but the writer and director He Jiong sets things so that the public can see the ties between Xu Nuo, Yan Xi and his groups of friends although not individually paired, but together.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Creepy
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
A murder the original literary work.
Kiyoshi Kurosawa failed to faithfully follow Yukata Maekawa's award-winning book. Faithful adaptation of literature in cinema is not synonymous with quality.
A very bad, blatant prologue, this beginning delineates the lifeless atmosphere of the horror genre portrayed in the film, where two characters, Koichi Takakura in the role of Hidetoshi Nishijima is the respected detective attacked by a psychopath in the introduction of the film, now read more a faltering university professor Who starts investigating for himself an unresolved old crime; And his wife, Yasuko in the role of Yuko Takeuchi, who feels increasingly abandoned by her husband as he approaches Mr. Nishino in the role of Teruyuki Kagawa, a neighbor who attracts her the more he frightened her ...
The film becomes quite predictable halfway, and confusing, it's almost as if the movie had gone nowhere and stayed for a brief visit because it had nothing more to say.
Long, repetitive, it gets very open, and has characters whose motives are so confusing and confusing ...
If Mio was so worried about her mother's fate, why did not she go to the police?
Why was the former detective's wife unwilling to tell her husband about the psychopath who hooked her with drugs? When she had the opportunity, why did not Mio kill the psychopath?
Cinematography, scenarios and special effects were a show apart, in Kiyoshi Kurosawa's conception, fantasy is essential for making genre films. He even abused the insane, cruel, unobtrusive psychopath who lives in a real slaughterhouse and who seems untouchable. And yet, it smashes the viewer's nerves. By forging the absurd for maximum visual and psychological effect. By using the inexplicable way to turn "Creepy" into a truly scary, chilling experience in a horror lesson with blood techniques and surreal mutilations.
Generally "Creepy" instead of representing a metaphysical evil, they relate for the sake of an earthly reflection of the original book of Maekawa, "our inattention to those around us, whether it be a sad spouse or a dark neighborhood colleague ". That is, a very human issue. The unknown is based on what blinds you, what moves you; But it does establish itself in the formal and narrative resolutions of the filmmaker, who radicalizes the mystery as it dilutes the realism of the original plot.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Cat a Wabb
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
It's the protagonist's fault!
"Cat a Wabb" not a movie but a recording frame of a commercial, there is no "story", who wants to lose almost two hours to see how a commercial is done? Well, there are those who want ...
"Cat a Wabb" although the script is so bland, it was very well written, it follows the whole assembly line of the commercial, did not let anything happen and not read more to be in the monotony they found a way to disappear like the cat to give volume the story.
The cast despite having the beautiful young Luewisetphaibun Pimchanok playing Meo and Amornsupasiri Arak playing Mo are not enough to improve the technical presentation of the film, without someone who deserves prominence in the cast is the cat, our protagonist, in addition to having patience gave a Interpretation show
Cinematography, well, they used the same of the film set of any film then there was no real work in the construction of the scenarios. Special effects do not have, the ones you have are irrelevant. Soundtrack to be desired, because it is a comedy movie, a little common sense in the harmonic choice would be sensible.
Overall "Cat a Wabb" is a commercial advertisement in film form that looks more like a documentary of how are produced commercials with animals, lacked the cat food bag to be a perfect movie in the figurative sense!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Blood: The Last Vampire
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 3.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
The story was just like an episode from the anime, but the acting (especially by the American girl) was not good. Also, most of the talking was worded way too dramatically for my taste. I thought I would love it because I like a lot of things like it, but it was just not right. I could watch the whole thing just fine because the action in the couple of fight scenes read more was good enough, but I wouldn't want to watch it a second time.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Yin And Yang Hand Eye
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Demons of war and beauty.
"Yin and Yang Hand Eye" has one of the most complex horror stories, everything was meticulously planned to catch the viewer.
There is no platform, a very good and plausible coherence, where there is chronological presence of the past, future and present following a line of the inexplicable in a shocking story in search of eternal youth.
Li Da, Zhang Zhenjiang and Jiang Qian performed very well, read more some scenes are difficult and required sophisticated techniques.
The negative part with a photograph and poorly lit scenes, with the positioning of the cameras as well as taking and resuming scenes worsened like things, small vibrations are perceived on the screen where they should not exist. The CGI's are another "stone in the shoe", very amateur, technically used light and shine, horrible.
The soundtrack and sound design chosen by you is not a miracle ...
Generally speaking, "Yin And Yang Hand Eye" has a good and poorly executed story, went by leaps and bounds, does not follow a pattern, has ups and downs while running with an acceptable end.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Min & Max
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
A simple matter of height! A film that tells the story of two people of different heights.
The story is typical of Asian dramas. A man, 192 cm tall, nicknamed Max, obsessed with women who are "short," given the nickname Min to one of them. Then, as a drama that has the title "Min & Max", Max tried to win the hearts of Min. In short, simple story.
What makes it interesting, read more the fact that Min is still attached to her ex-lover who had died two years ago. Min still thinks her boyfriend is still alive, living her life in another dimension. Interesting, is not it?
The film still has small changes after the very dramatic climax of the story.
The performance of Gao Godfrey and Wang Shuilin were very good, the two combine well, making a good pair and a great performance, since the adjutants not very present were half out of the spotlight so there is no way to judge.
The cinematography and soundtrack beautiful and beautiful for a delightful romantic comedy movie to watch, the mix between high, medium and low grades running away from the traditional was wonderful and well thought out.
Generally speaking, "Min & Max" begins as a comic-looking novel, when it turns out to be the twist in the story that sprouted from a very small thing imperceptible to the point of not seeing it coming .. Simple consistent and Still a very nice and nice film!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Tooth and the Nail
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Based on the 1955 original by Bill Ballinger, about a magician who marries a woman and engages in the most unexpected events.
The story begins without a chronological order, with the magical traveler but on the run it becomes an elaborate conspiracy with the rich and international man ...
The film is not a book-like work, it has been adapted, yet it uses a similar framework but it brings involution or even read more all the attention to the book in this adaptation. Actually, the main cause of consternation in the trial is how the only physical evidence of a murder even happening is a hacked thumb.
The cast is reasonable motivation really very simple. Their relationship is the emotional foundation of all history, yet their chemistry is very frustratingly reduced to a moderately long romantic setting. Then there is the abrupt and surprisingly unambiguous conclusion, considering that we do not even know the basics of what is going on between the characters.
Cinematography is a bit flawed, although the scenery is very good, the events we see are flashbacks entirely from Seok-jin's perspective, when Seok-jin may or may not be dead due to the intentionally vague framing device. So the information we're getting is completely different from the information the characters are getting.
In general, "The Tooth and the Nail" is actually quite overwhelmed in its methodological sequence of events. A fairly basic revenge story disguised as a murder mystery.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions