Sort by:
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
A love triangle between a guy and his supposed "girlfriend" and another guy who is his "boyfriend."

Total run-time: about 38 minutes.

STORY: This is the super common trope of the girlfriend being the third wheel. Other than that, the story is rather short and there's a lot of scenes with no dialog even though enough is said by the activity and body language. At least there is no tragic ending; everyone read more survives this film.

ACTING/CAST: I really liked the girlfriend's part. I think she played it well. The other two actors were decent though this film was really too short for any real character development.

MUSIC: The main song of this was quite good. I really liked it. It poetically summed up the whole movie in one song. I'm going to listen to it again.

REWATCH VALUE: Not enough here to really want to see it again.

TL;DR: Short story with a tired out trope of a guy who strings along his "girlfriend" as he really wants to date another guy.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Gifted Hands
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 26, 2017
Mar 26, 2017
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
This movie is no doubt a great thriller. It gets your heart pumping and your palms sweating. This movie keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time. So why didn't I give it a higher rating? The plot and cast did a great job of delivering a supernatural, crime story, but there where multiple parts where I found myself confused because of the behavior of the characters or unanswered read more questions.

Plot~
Overall I loved the plot! If I had to rate the beginning I would give it a 10. My rating only started to drop once they introduced certain people, and certain events happened. By the end my score was a 7-7.5. The ending felt unsatisfying. There were certain characters introduced earlier on that just disappeared. We have no idea what happened to them. The only person we see at the ending is 1 of the main characters. Basically other than him we have no idea what happened to every one else. They left a lot of things up in the air. This is the part that bothered me.


Characters~
Kim Kang Woo did a great job portraying his character, but sometimes I wanted to smack the crap out of him. For a cop he lacked common sense. Some of the things he did were questionable, and at certain times I was sure he idiot. He lets his emotions drive him a LOT, and for a man who has been a cop for years, that made me wonder. How has he survived this long? Kim Bum looked very dark, and very cute in his role! The only complaint I had is that for a guy who's always bleeding and coughing up blood he never goes to the hospital. The other characters such as the other detectives, and Kang Woo's superiors got on my nerves. They didn't act according to their job title, and they were always looking for ways to push the blame, and not accept responsibility. As first I thought they were relatable, but after a while I became confused. How can I relate to men that obviously don't know how to do their job? And who would go to these guys for help? All they care is about themselves!


Overall~
Would I re-watch this? No. It was good, but it was definitely a one-time watch. This is one of those movies where the suspense plays a big part. After you've watched it, it just doesn't have the same feeling.
Would I recommend this? Yes! It's a great movie, and I think anybody that enjoys thrillers or detective movies would agree that this is one of the best. I wish they had ended it better and given more detail but overall it was an enjoyable watch.

Read this review and more at: http://lovekoreana.blogspot.com/
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mar 26, 2017
Mar 26, 2017
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
This drama was just a bit strange for my tastes - however, that seriously might have been because it had bad subtitles. I'm not sure - I mean most of the drama I understood perfectly. But towards the end, I started losing track of things. I genuinely couldn't tell if my subtitles were weird (the sentences made sense) or the drama itself just got too plot-holey.

I'd say the first 1/2 of read more the film is really excellent. Lots of underground adventure - tombs, monsters, evil traps, etc. Then, the last 1/2 was vaguely understandable and cool. I mean, I understand what happened in the end - I'm just not quite sure about all the pieces and why things worked that way. Maybe it's just me?

Plenty of suspense and action. NOT however really much about tomb raiders at all. To me, the description was really misleading

My plot would be something like:

The 1900s were a time of discovery and new insight into the ancient past as more and more secrets are dug up from the ancient tombs. But sometimes one can dig too deep. When Hu Ba Yi steps up to explore a mysterious occurrence deep underneath the Kunlun Mountains, he could never have predicted the adventure that awaits him. In a desperate battle to save humanity from an ancient evil long buried, Hu Ba Yi and his friends will have to unravel the mystery behind what happened in the past and how to prevent it from repeating itself in the future.

To be honest, this was more of a mixture between some sort of 30% "lost world" / "Jurrasic Park" and 50% "Riddick" and 20% an Indiana Jones movie. It's got tombs and supernatural stuff and all that. Which was awesome - It really wasn't about tomb raiders or tomb raiding. Definitely no buried treasures and Certainly not comparable or similar to The Lost Tomb, Mystic Nine or the other dramas supposedly based on this book series.

Still a lot of historical background, mythology, action, and cool "underground" scenes. I'm not saying don't watch it, it's got merit on its own for what it is - just know the description doesn't really fit. The Candle in the Tomb, this is not. It wasn't meant to be - so I'm not sure why it is described like that.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
First Love
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 26, 2017
Mar 26, 2017
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
I watched Hatsukoi because of its interesting setup. Well, I was actually interested because Keisuke Koide is a fave of mine and he's actually a lead in this movie(a love interest too). But the 300 million robbery really seemed like it would be thrilling. A good heist movie is always fun.

(SOME SPOILERS MAYBE PROBABLY)


I actually liked the movie a lot(beyond seeing Koide get quite a lot of screentime lol). But read more I can't really call it a good movie.

See, Hatsukoi felt like someone having an identity crisis. The plot made it seem like it would be a thrilling heist movie. But then the title screams romance. It also seemed like it would sorta be about confused youth. The movie is as indecisive as I am lols.

I think I liked it for the cast but the story fell flat. The robbery was based on real events so I can't really complain about it(but i still will haha). It felt too easy and the stakes weren't so high. And the romance.. err, didn't feel very romanc-y. I kinda liked it for that but I kind of feel like it might have not been more than platonic. I did want them to be together but their 'love' felt forced especially the letter at the end. The relationships of the club members weren't really developed. I hoped for more especially with the siblings but there wasn't much.

Overall, I felt like the movie wanted and tried to be many different things(but sorta failed). I failed to connect with it and I didn't really care for the characters. It was enjoyable and I don't regret watching but not something I would watch again or recommend highly.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The King
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 26, 2017
Mar 26, 2017
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
If you like the exploration into corruption of power within people you're going to love this film.

This was a very interesting film, it explores what happens to corrupted people and consequences made to those people, however, the main protagonist Tae-soo (Played by Jo In sung) contrasts from other corrupted characters you see in other movies and dramas.

This movie is definitely original and well created, it'll give you all different kinds read more of emotions (if you get emotional throughout good films/dramas like me)

Also, Doo il (Played by Ryu Jun yeol) d a m n b oi, he looks fine af as a gangster, if you're a fan of Ryu Jun yeol you'll be sitting there waiting for him to come on scene because daMN.

I highly recommend this film, it's hard to talk about it without giving away spoilers but you won't be disappointed, this is a great film.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Be Crazy About Me
0 people found this review helpful
by Luly
Other reviews by this user
Mar 25, 2017
Mar 25, 2017
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
It took me a while to watch this movie, but I'm glad I watched it now, with a clearer perspective of what's going on in jpop culture and sub-culture, and how gender identity influences this. So, I believe a fair review of this movie needs to not only consider the movie itself but also the context in which it's inserted in. This is not just another sub culture niche movie, and we read more need to understand why.

The movie is basically drenched in KERA magazine, so you'll see a lot of familiar faces and brands if you're a reader: AKIRA, Karam (from The Boss) and Misako Aoki, for example, and everyone's dressed as if we were entering an alternate reality where KERA fashion was the norm (I wouldn't be mad about that, honestly, but yeah, you're gonna have to suspend your disbelief with that one). Product placement in this movie is very heavy, even more so than in Runway Beat, so half of the movie is a giant KERA fashion spread. I'll make a little note before moving on, I'll refer to the actress AKIRA with all caps to differentiate her from the character Akira from the movie.

The story is based on a Mayu Shinjo manga of the same name, and I'm not a big fan of hers to be honest, I feel her stories are all very similar, her characters look the same, her plots are simple and rely on a consistent wish-fulfillment trope and sex rather than world building, character development and/or original content. So yeah, not a fan. This particular one was always one I stayed away from because I feel it uses gender as a tool for fanservice more than to explore it as a subject in itself: there's a guy who is very feminine looking and a girl who is very masculine looking, they fall in love and Mayu Shinjo level of flirting and spices ensue. Add to that two rival schools (an all-girls one and an all-boys one) and an all-girls rock band (in the movie Akira isn't in the band) and you have your plot. At the end of the day, they're a cis het guy and a cis het girl and their gender presentation never seemed to me to be necessarily a subject of bigger debate. If a mangaka like Ai Yazawa was doing this, for example, we would have another kind of narrative. But, I digress.

The movie is tamer than a Mayu Shinjo manga, but the issues of gender and sexual orientation are as plain as they can be. There’s girls attracted to girls and boys attracted to boys but, at the end of the day, it’s all seen as a game rather than an aspect of sexual attraction or gender identity. Akira, Karam’s character, insists on having Mizuki, Ito Ono’s character, girly clothing because he thinks she wants to look girly deep down because "all girls do" and "she's beautiful". Akira makes a point to shame his classmates for liking him because men liking men "is a no-go". It’s the same old story where these narratives are used for fanservice rather than actual representation. But it had the potential to go much further.

The thing is, the cast has some members whose careers and lives are marked by these things. AKIRA made a career of her boyish look and style and is one of KERA’s most successful models right now, and has been for a few years, so gender fluidity is a brand for her. Still, she admits in interviews to being concerned about her presentation and what’s expected of her in society. Most importantly than anyone else in this cast is Shuto Yoshihara, a trans man member of the all FtM trans boy band SECRET GUYZ, who was cast as a girl. These two people right here could have been the leads with ease. Their performances steal the show and it would have been a much more valuable narrative if AKIRA, a masculine female model whose career is based on gender fluidity (she plays male roles in theater for heaven’s sakes) played masculine-looking Mizuki and Shuto Yoshihara, whose career speaks about making his experience known as a trans male, played an actual male role, Akira. But no, we get Karam, who is trying but doesn’t quite make it, and Ito, who isn’t even trying at all. I'm not aware when exactly Shuto transitioned, but since his debut with SECRET GUYZ was in 2013, this could have been a major platform to start up with as a starring role.

All in all, the movie isn’t bad but it isn’t great. It shows that it’s a niche film made for the sub culture market in which it’s inscribed in but has a story that could have gone further if only it had allowed itself to get out there all the way. It has good moments and its intention is good, it definitely puts out there subjects of gender presentation vs identity and bonds between people despite preconceptions of gender, but it had the potential to go much further, and the performers to do so as well. I thank it, however, for including and casting people outside the norm and giving a platform in which this can expand.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Handmaiden
0 people found this review helpful
by Elsa
Other reviews by this user
Mar 25, 2017
Mar 25, 2017
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This film blew me away. It was by chance that I even watched it (saw a few gifs on Tumblr and decided to watch it, bearing in mind it was 3AM at that point lol). No regrets.

Story:
The story is different from anything I'd ever watched. Usually, I'm not a fan of films or dramas set in a historical-like time period, because I tend to find them boring (and yet despite read more this I have like 3+ dramas of this kind on my 'To Watch' list lol), but the twist in this film made it so much more interesting. A girl agreeing to go work for an heiress under the pretence of helping her, but only to accomplish a plan set by a swindler to take the heiress' money. I mean, that alone got me hooked, but the layers in the story that will be revealed are fantastic.

Cast:
Honestly, a huge kudos to all the actors in this film because they were brilliant at all of their roles. Ha Jeong Woo was a convincing swindler, and honestly the comedic element at times for me. Kim Tae Ri played out her mental battle of acting the part of an honest handmaid and plotting to betray the heiress really well. Jo Jin Woong creeped the fuck out of me. Kim Min Hee made me question my sexuality. I mean, they were all fabulous.

Music:
If you've read my other reviews you might sense a pattern here.... I do not remember the music well lol. Actually, I watched this recently so I do remember bits, but nothing particular. I remember not hating it, so a 7 it is lol.

Overall:
Doesn't start off slow. You will genuinely want to skip parts because of the creep factor (I mean you won't, but the fact that you MIGHT means it's just that great). Kim Min Hee. A def must watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Train to Busan
1 people found this review helpful
by Elsa
Other reviews by this user
Mar 25, 2017
Mar 25, 2017
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
First Korean film!! Looooooooved it!!!! I'm such a fan of this genre of film, so when I heard about the film I decided I had to watch it immediately. Wasn't disappointed.

Story:
The story, in comparison to other zombie-themed films and series, isn't too unique. An outbreak occurs, pandemonium arises, shit gets real. That being said, that didn't make it boring or predictable, at least in my opinion. They added a few read more interesting elements to the characteristics of the zombies, which I liked. Also, they didn't try to sugarcoat what was happening, if that makes sense. A zombie apocalypse happens, that means almost nothing should go the characters' way, and the movie really sticks to that.

Cast:
8 points just for Gong Yoo, lol. Idk I love that man. The other cast members were also cool. I liked how the main characters, and even some side-characters, had their own story. It meant that you weren't just rooting for one person, but a group of people, to survive. Major props to the little girl, she is quite the actress considering some of the scenes she had.

Music:
I have such a bad memory when it comes to music lol. That's the only reason why I give it low scores. I don't remember any particular track, although I do remember ominous music, which is quite obvious. Anyway, it wasn't bad, but not good enough for me to recall anything much.

Overall:
Go watch asap. If you liked World War Z, you'll like this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Handmaiden
0 people found this review helpful
by Arty
Other reviews by this user
Mar 25, 2017
Mar 25, 2017
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I came across this film randomly browsing MDL and I was NOT prepared for this masterpiece. I cannot recommend this film enough, truly. It's got to be one of my favourite films, from anywhere, about anything, in any genre, and I've already watched it three times in less than 24 hours. I'll start from the ground up.

The presentation of this story was brilliant. The props and wardrobe were outstanding; the cinematography read more was simply everything it could have been and needed to be; the set/locations were wonderful. Although sometimes the Korean accents were a bit strong, the script was thoughtfully divided between Japanese and Korean, truly recreating the sense of Japan-occupied Korea. Everything was 100% believable, and due to this the film had an integrity that allowed me to fall straight into this shadowy world of lies and desire.

MUSIC
The music absolutely blew me away too, the icing on the cake, it was a vital and definitive part to creating a solid atmosphere throughout, and I searched for the OST pretty much as soon as the credits started. Especially towards the second half there were several scenes where the music captured perfectly the characters - in terms of style I'm strongly reminded of the OST from The Imitation Game, or perhaps Black Beauty.

ACTING
Down to the youngest child and the briefest role nothing was lost here. The Handmaiden is blessed with astounding performances from both Kim Min Hee and Kim Tae Ri - with the way it was filmed there was no room for error to go unnoticed, as the vitality of each character seems to scratch the screen, itching for their very breaths to be felt. I was shocked to discover this to be Kim Tae Ri's first ever full length film, and was nominated for and won 8 awards for her perfomance - I will definitely be watching her future works after the sincerity with which Sook Hee was given.

PLOT & CHARACTERS
Although I can't say too much without revealing it's contents, the plot was enigmatic, cunningly told, and built up in unexpected ways. The main characters are well structured and dynamic, and although I'd say this film is a kind of romance there's nothing sappy about it. In a word I think one could describe this story as being ironic, but I'll leave you to find out for yourself. And you really should go and find out.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mar 25, 2017
Mar 25, 2017
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
With a super long wait for the english subtitles, I still couldn't find this movie with translations, so I gave it my best shot to watch it in the original, Japanese language. I've watched a ton of anime so understanding Japanese is quite simple actually. Speaking of anime, Itazura na Kiss was one of the first romance anime that I head over heels fell in love with. It is that good of read more a story that I've re-watched it about 5 times, read the manga and watched the Thai and Japanese drama adaptations. Seeing the trailer for this movie and hearing about its' release seriously made my year so much better!

First of all, let's just appreciate the fact that they're making 2 more movies with the same director and actors. The story was actually never finished due to the author of the manga passing away while writing it. That's why there is an opportunity of the directors and writers to add their own little twist to the story. I loved that this movie was actually very close to the anime, all of the principal parts were kept in and squeezed into a one great film.

Second, what I adored the most were the actors and how wisely they were chosen. I mean, the actors of Irie and Kotoko looked like they were taken straight out of the manga, their resemblance is uncanny. The acting was spot on as well. The mom's character got me just like in every other adaptation, she'll forever be my true spirit animal of shipping couples :D

Overall, this movie is definitely worth a watch for the biggest and true fans of Mischievous Kiss and for those, who are looking for a sweet and typical Japanese rom-com movie. Can't wait for the upcoming sequels! Let's hope they'll be subbed faster!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Bride of Rip Van Winkle
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 25, 2017
Mar 25, 2017
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This review is based on the 3h director's cut.
Shunji Iwai has a way of making me think about his works for long after I watched them. The lack of objective perspective that would reveal the true version of events, and abrupt cut of scenes always leaves room for interpretation. A melancholy portrayal of themes such as loneliness, companionship, conformity, outward appearances, all in the age of social media.

The performances were read more excellent. A wallflower who conforms to what others want, Nanami is the type of character I usually like to hate on but thanks to the depth given by Iwai and Kuroki Haru's portrayal she was endearing. Cocco's Mashiro is the opposite of Nanami. She is vivacious, a bit of an airheaded and flighty person on the surface but is actually introspective and carries a lot of pain. Ayano Go, a chameleon actor plays a chameleon character who changes his appearance to fit a situation. We know the least about him but he is the one who moves the story forward.

The story might get confusing at times but the puzzles eventually start falling into place. It is mostly character focused. Most of the questions left unanswered revolve around Amuro and his motives behind literally every action he takes. Is he a stone cold bastard, savvy businessman, charitable prince, human-chess enthusiast? all of the above?

The music wasn't epic but it complimented the film nicely with the classical pieces. I tend to re watch films that I like although I have seconds thoughts about films that are long. But I didn't check the time at all during the 3h and this one is compelling me to give it another go sometime in the future.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Moebius
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 25, 2017
Mar 25, 2017
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
The artistic side of my mind screams out how beautiful and aesthetic this film is, but at the same time this film was fucked lmao.

Since watching this film i still debate whether i hated or loved this film.
It is to this day on of the most what-da-fuck movies i have ever seen, but at the same time, this silent film paints a portrait that intrigues my artistic soul so fiercely, read more i don't even know.

You're either going to hate this film or you're going to love it. There is no in between here, my friend.

The story itself, is so weird, after you watch it, you sit back and recount what just happened and you won't even understand, it's that weird. I could go into detail of how weird this film is, but spoilers are not allowed.

If you plan to watch this film, have an open mind. that's all i can say.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Beauty Inside
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 25, 2017
Mar 25, 2017
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I really loved the concept of this film!
There is also quite a lot of famous actors in this film -
Lee Dong wook, Park Shin hye, Seo Kang joon, Park Seo joon, Kim joo hyuk, Kim Hee won, Lee Hyun woo, Kim Sang ho... etc! I was quite surprised to see that many famous actors for such a short period of time in this film, i was quite impressed.
They all read more played the same character really well.

I love the message of this film, that love comes from the inside of others than the outside.
Power of love!

If you're looking for a feels-good cute movie i recommend this film to you!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Will You Be There?
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 25, 2017
Mar 25, 2017
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This film, t h i s f i l m

This film was very beautiful, i definitely think it's underrated.
Even though there are flaws in this film (in a logical sense some of the things didn't make sense) but it was overlooked by how intriguing the story line is.
I sat at the end of my seat waiting to see what the outcome would be.

If you're looking for a super read more romantic man, Soo hyun (Past) is your man, he is just so freaking adorable and he is aesthetically pleasing to the eye you'll be waiting for his scenes to come up. Soo hyun (future) is a romantic man too, but in a different way, you'll understand when you watch it! ~

This film is very suspenseful (well it was to me), i definitely think you will not get bored!
(and if you do, well, sorry ;;)

If you enjoy time travel, romance and (in a way) mystery I recommend this film to you!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Shadows in the Palace
1 people found this review helpful
by mali
Other reviews by this user
Mar 25, 2017
Mar 25, 2017
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I mistakenly watched this movie, thinking it was more historical relating to the lives of palace maids. I did not fully read the story summary, and I normally wouldn't choose to watch a thriller/horror type movie.
But I am glad I did. If this is your genre, this maybe one to add to your list. It packed punch. Although halfway through I started cringing at some scenes and realized omg this was read more a horror movie. I didn't drop it. This movie was well made and had such an eerie, creepy feel to it that I couldn't stop watching it. The acting was on point and some familiar faces that I normally don't see doing a thriller like this so that was a plus for me. So if you want a 2 hr Korean historical thriller. I highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions