Sort by:
Senior
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 8, 2017
Jan 8, 2017
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 4.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I really love supernatural romance especially the ones between alive and dead ppl like vampires, zombies or ghosts. And putting a crime/thriller aspect to it makes a perfect story for me. But sadly it was badly executed in here. The Heroin tried to look intelligent and brave but she appeared rather tense and the crime story felt like the ones in very old black and white movies where you find some clues read more with the main character and get to interpret it for yourself but the heroine/hero isn't the one who resolves it, it's the criminals driven into the corner who stand there with a gun thinking they've won so they can explain what they did in every detail but then right after they confessed everything of course they fail somehow....
Also the romance wasn't really good, there were no good reasons given for the he both to fall in love so quickly + the hint to a happy end is very unfitting. How can they meet again? Why not explain it?
Well but the horror special effects were really creepy/digusting
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Face Reader
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 8, 2017
Jan 8, 2017
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
If not for the ending, i would give it a 10 ahahahaha, although it's understandable since it needs to stay true to the history. The plot is good since the beginning, different people have different character and the plot twist is also good. Acting is superb!!! as expected from Kang ho song and jo jung suk and all the casts here. Just take care of your heart to watch til the end.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Evergreen Love
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 7, 2017
Jan 7, 2017
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I was so upset when this was released in Japan, and I didn't have the chance to go see it. I'm a huge idol fan and Iwata Takenori is one of my favorites. After seeing him in "HiGH&LOW"; I wanted to see him take on a different role.

This movie story was alright. I'm not going to sugar-coat it and just 'cause Iwata Takenori is in it does not mean it's do read more all end all. The plot is pretty 'meh', rather typical of most shoujo stories with the side plot of plants and identifying them thrown in to mark it different. My friends remarked on how absolutely ridiculous the basic premise is. If you're looking for realistic, this story is not it. If you're looking for easy watching/not complicated this is for you.

However, it is light hearted and funny at times. Iwata Takenori (Itsuki) is 100% quality eye candy and his character is a perfect match. Takahata Mitsuki (Sayaka) is relatable, and honest, with plenty of faults and positives to make her well balanced. It's unfortunate you don't get to see either character really develop just based on the pacing of story, and the type of acting. The side characters don't see much screen time or development, but they're a solid background foundation rather then a hinderance.

The music overall is okay. Nothing spectacular about it, and at times the timing seems a little off/inappropriate for the mood. Not to the point of being unwatchable, but noticeable.

Again, I love Iwata Takanori. I love Takhata Mitsuki, so for me this movie was a no-brainer to watch. It's not complicated, but it's not boring. If you're looking for something light-hearted to watch without getting teary-eyed this is it. I'd rewatch just to see the eye-smile prince smile again, but it won't be frequently.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Age of Shadows
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 7, 2017
Jan 7, 2017
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Very amazing plot, unpredictable, engaging from the first minute to last minute. Cinematography is awesome! Acting is amazing. Many lessons learned! Highly recommended, don't know what to say anymore.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Love Story!!
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 6, 2017
Jan 6, 2017
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
(WARNING!!: I'm a huge fan of the anime and manga, so this review might be a bit biased.)

It's been nearly two years since the shoujo manga "Ore Monogatari!!" got an anime adaptation, and not long after that anime adaptation ended - on Halloween that very year, to be exact - a live-action movie adaptation made its theatrical debut. As a fan of the anime who had watched it every single week read more without question, I was a bit curious about the live-action version, but at the same time, I was a bit pessimistic. After all, there were some factors that could keep the live-action version from being good, such as Takeo's appearance (I mean, with how freaking tall he is). However, I wasn't going to let my concerns hold me back; after all, a live-action Ore Monogatari might actually be good, right?

....Well, that'll depend on who you're asking.

Takeo Gouda, played by Ryohei Suzuki, is a big, intimidating, not-so-attractive high school guy, but underneath it all is a kind heart. Unfortunately, the girls he likes can't see that; they'd rather go for his hot childhood friend, Makoto Sunakawa (Kentaro Sawaguchi). However, this all seems to change when he saves Rinko Yamato (Mei Nagano) from a molester. Takeo thinks that Yamato, like all of the other girls, likes Sunakawa, but is this truly the case?

The first thing I'd like to mention is the acting. I'm not really one to judge acting, but in my opinion, the acting for this movie is a bit of a mixed bag, although it is fortunately more on the positive side. This is mainly because of Ryohei Suzuki's portrayal of Takeo; his facial expressions are quite amusing, and a handful of funny moments that were because of Takeo were performed well. It was also clear to see that he was having fun with his role. As for the rest of the cast, some of them were good, and others were bad; that's honestly all I can say about that.

As for the story, that's also a mixed bag, but this time, it is, unfortunately, more on the negative side. If this is your first time experiencing this series, you may not find a lot to be wrong with this story, but as for me, I couldn't help but find things wrong with it. The main problem is that although it only took a short time for the main couple to get together in both the manga and the anime (it's probably obvious who the main couple is, but in order to avoid complaints for spoilers, I won't say who it is), it takes FOREVER for them to get together in the movie! There were also other moments in this movie that were not only mixed around from the manga and the anime, but some were even changed completely! However, I can't say I hate the story too much; they had to cram all of this content into 1 hour and 45 minutes of screentime, so naturally, they were going to mix it around. Besides, there was one moment in the movie that I didn't recall seeing in the manga or the anime but still found slightly amusing, so I guess I can forgive this movie for that.

A real saving grace for this movie is its background music. There was a plethora of great background music in this movie that fit whatever was happening, and I enjoyed listening to it. I mean, not all of the songs were great, but a good number of them were! The ending song was also a nice song to listen to; it wasn't anything groundbreaking, but it was good for what it was.

Overall, despite how great the anime and manga versions were, I found Ore Monogatari to just be an okay movie. Huge fans of the series might be slightly disappointed, but if this is your first time experiencing this series, you may end up liking it a lot. After all, no matter what medium, it's quite a sweet love story!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Coin Locker Girl
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 5, 2017
Jan 5, 2017
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I felt melancholic most of the movie. Perhaps it is the penchant for happy endings or fairy tales.

I don't know if I like the theme or not. The theme was pretty dark and the delivery was quite... unnerving. My humanity made me hope for better things but, just like life, the film chooses not to. What made me despondent the most was the apparent definiteness in their lives. There were some read more parts I had to skip because I couldn't take the scene. It shows the characters' brutal reality and maybe some real people's lives, as well. It's sickening for us but it is reality for some people. The plot is solid all through out, it didn't drag on some parts and transitions between scenes were seamless. However, I would've wanted to see some background on the other "children" of Mother because there were some implied connections between the characters but it was never really explored. The movie held up on its own even without those but it would've at least made it easier understand why these characters opted to act that way.

The real star of this movie is the cast. Not just the leads but the entirety of the cast. Each member of the family depicted their parts well. Though at the beginning of the movie, I thought Kim Go Eun looked awkward but then I realized it was because I kept on associating her with her character on Goblin, which was a complete opposite of Il Young. Also, Miss Kim Hye Soo never disappoints. I've seen her in different movies and I'm amazed by her versatility as an actress, along with Kim Go Eun, of course. Jo Hyun Chul, though I have only seen him in this movie, was great as Hong Joo, he was believable as the mentally impaired child.

The music were mostly scores and I thought it complemented the scene very well, in fact, I did not even notice it. It was as important as the visual was. Though the visuals and the story was great. It's not something I would want to watch again. It was brilliant but it was too heartbreaking.

On the side note, credit should also be given to the make-up crew for the wonderful job on Miss Kim Hye Soo. The close-ups showed the face of a weathered "CEO" of a loaning "company".
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Perfect Imperfection
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 3, 2017
Jan 3, 2017
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
This a funny ..time pass flick
There isn't anything too deep abt the story ..just everything looks pretty ...and comedy works fine too
I would definitely recommend this ...esp for ahn Jae hyun ..is so good :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Train to Busan
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 1, 2017
Jan 1, 2017
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
I have been a fan of zombie movies ever since I watched Romero's original Night Of the Living Dead in middle school. Any chance I get, I watch them. Some are good, but most are really cheesy. I still love them. Train To Busan is in a class all by itself, however. It reminds me of a mix of Romero's Day Of the Dead and the British zombie virus movie 28 Days read more Later, both of which are masterpieces. Except it surpasses both.

From the get go it keeps you on the edge of your seat and freaks you out with the gory and truly horrifying cinematography. It is is so lifelike that the hordes of zombies will give you chills down your spine!

In terms of acting, it really didn't feel like anyone needed to strain themselves too much. Mostly it was all about showing the overwhelming terror and I feel like everyone did their job there. I was especially impressed by the child actress who played Gong Yoo's daughter. She played the sad and serious little girl to perfection. Her character was written differently than most children are written. Instead of being the cute and helpless little kid, she was an earnest and quiet one, brave and wise for her years.

I highly recommend this movie to anyone who is a fan of zombies and horror. It stands out from other Asian horror movies and can rival even the most acclaimed Western horror movie. I will most assuredly rewatch it, probably many times over. 10/10
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Phantom Detective
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 1, 2017
Jan 1, 2017
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
As a fan of crime and detective stories, I expected this movie to be either dark or sullen. Since I have not seen the trailer beforehand nor read its synopsis, I was visibly perplexed. But within 6 minutes, a splash of graphic novel and a grinning Gil Dong eventually revealed its offbeat vibe.
The film may evoke a dark and miserable noir-like mood of Sin City but the genre is contrary to read more its visual aesthetic. It's quite light, warmhearted and "cute" beyond belief. I would have categorized this in the family genre, but the excessive use of guns at the end crosses it out of that list.
Lee Jee Hoon's acting intensity was not as strong as Kim Sung Kyun but if the intention was to keep the protagonist still lovable despite his sad and dark past, I'd say his performance was jjang! And how can I forget the smarty pants Kim Ha Na(Mal Soon), who shook the protagonist solitary milieu? Her little ways to antagonize Hong Gil Dong was finger cringing and amusing.
Overall, this movie is surprisingly worth watching, especially this holiday season. A time when I want to feel all warm, happy and fluffy. *dreamy
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Codename: Jackal
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 31, 2016
Dec 31, 2016
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
I didn't really know what to expect going into this, but the bad ratings kind made me put it off for a while and I'm so sad that I let them! While it's not a romantic, tear-jerker, it is a fast-paced, hilarity-ensues movie that has a bit of romance, action and craziness thrown in. I have no prior experience with any actors except for Song Ji Hyo. There are some R rated read more scenes or at least mature scenes, so do beware and it does kind of end open ended (I'm pretty sure I'm not spoiling anything) so if you like movies that give you a clear ending, keep that in mind.

Story-
I enjoyed it. I laughed and I was left shocked and while it did get repetitive, it wasn't awful because of the way the lead male played it, made it funny instead of eye-roll inducing. I really want to watch it again and I just finished it.

Acting/Cast-
Ji Hyo and Jae Joong are a match made in heaven. They were hilarious throughout the whole film and really sold both of their parts. Their antics kept me laughing just because it was out there. It also doesn't hurt that they are both eye candy. The supporting cast didn't lack in laughs either with the cop-bromance and the sex jokes that weren't awful to hear.

Music-
I actually don't really remember any music... the story didn't need it to keep the viewer watching so if it did play (I'm sure it did) I never notice because I was to into the story.

Rewatch Value-
Yes. I will rewatch this. When you see some of the scenes, they are just so awesome that you have to watch it again!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Train to Busan
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 31, 2016
Dec 31, 2016
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
Yes, it's another zombie movie. Yes, people die. Yes the character you may be supporting may or may not die.

What sets this one apart is the superb acting of the leads. Gong Yoo is at his best! Ma Dong Seok is quite at a peak of his talent! The other actors are really amazing in lending an air of believeability in the cliche world that is Zombie Films. Yet, with all read more the zombies aside, this movie does portray the heroic (cliche) and horrible (cliche) parts of humanity at its best. You will be supporting the hero and wishing bad karma on the lead baddies. It will have you on the edge of your seats.

The story is well paced. The important characters all get a slice of development. The cause of the apocalypse was also explained. Not something usually gained from the normal zombie movie.

The effects! O my! Like wow! The zombies looked exactly like what you would expect them to be! It was also different to see this type of movie in the day, and not the scene setting of the night and darkness. The trains were utterly magnificent! The train yard effects and other vehicles were as real as real could get on screen. CGI or props they really hit the mark on that!

If you are a fan of zombie flicks this is a must see, it won't let you down. It has everything to like with the genre in an action packed capsule!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Magnificent Chivalry
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 31, 2016
Dec 31, 2016
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 5.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This movie was a bit hard to rate due to any factors but it all comes down to how much I was entertained. The biggest problem I have with many Jimmy Wang Yu is how obvious it is that he is in fact not a good martial artist, he can sell it reasonably well most of the time but the filming and editing style really differs on his movies versus single wide read more shot that were popular at the time. Jimmy's acting here is pretty good as was most of the cast. The story was quite a bit better than most of the "police goes undercover" films. The fighting is pretty clumsy and slow at times but the length and brutality shown more than make up for any short comings. The end fight is the biggest highlight of the film and it's what really raised the rating for me, it showed me somethings I've never really seen in this type of film, this is the first time I'm seen a sword fight in the mud and I really enjoyed it. Also both fighters became exhausted which as most fan would know doesn't happen in most martial arts movie as fighter will fight hundreds of opponents for an hours without even breathing hard, so to me at least this was refreshing. Overall this movie really entertained me with it's complex but easy to follow story, decent acting and great finale.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Always
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 31, 2016
Dec 31, 2016
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
In many ways, this movie follows the traditional plot of a fighting movie (like never back down). But in other ways, it's a tale of two people, and how fate can prevail. I fell in love with this movie as I watched it. I cried, laughed, and enjoyed the whole film. Unlike films where some parts feel inessential, every bit of this movie was worth watching.
Although the storyline of the fighting read more guy, and the girl he must protect is a bit cliche, the director altered it enough so that it was appealing. The backstory that the characters had, and how those stories connected was brilliant. The ending jumped a few years, and unlike other movies that jump time unsuccessfully, this was done very well, using the previous backstory to connect the characters once again. Even down to the ending, there is nothing more I could have wanted out of this movie.
The cast of the movie was excellent in that their acting on par to not only fulfill their roles, but render them believable and connectable to the audience. Plus, this was no easy feat, because only the two main characters have more than five minutes of screen time. To be able to have that much screen time placed on two characters, and not have story wane, or become lacking was a job well done for the director.
The music wasn't significant in this film, but they did a great job so that it wasn't distracting or taking away from the film.
I gave this a rewatch value of ten, because I feel like this is going to become a staple film for me to watch every couple of years. I enjoyed it enough that not only would I rewatch it in the future, but I would do so regurarly.
9.5/10
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
One Smile is Very Alluring
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 30, 2016
Dec 30, 2016
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
*I have to say that I DID watch the drama before I watched the movie version SO my review might be a bit biased, but I will try to write this review to mainly be based on this movie only.*

To start off, this movie was jammed pack with information and for the time that was available, they overall did a good job at fitting as much as they can from the read more book to this movie. But since it was a movie, they lost a lot of smoother transitions that would have made this a better production.

Plot/Setting: -8- For "A Smile is beautiful," I love this movie's storyline! The way the characters interacted online and offline was so cute and I have never seen any movie with that concept before! The downside was that since it was a movie, I got confused at some parts and the jumps between scenes were just too fast for me. Even so, they did a good job at capturing the main parts of the story and they made the scenes work together within 1.5 hours.

Acting/Cast: -8- Angela Baby did a decent job playing Bei Wei Wei in this movie. From what I was expecting though, Bei Wei Wei's character could have been a bit more "introverted" but of course, a bit different doesn't always mean it's a bad thing :) Now Jing Boran, I have to say, does not have the looks like Yang Yang (Actor playing Xiao Nai in the drama version) but I love how his character was a tad bit more open in this version.

Music: -9- The music fitted in nicely with the scenes of the movie so no complaints from me!

Rewatch value: -5- Even though the movie had its pros, this is mainly a one time movie for me.

Overall: -7.5- Due to the jumpy transitions between the scenes, I will have to rate this movie an overall 7.5/10. But of course, for the limited time provided for them, they had great uses of ideas and it all fit together very well.

I would recommend this for anyone who wants to watch a gaming type movie with cute interactions between the two main leads.

Thanks for Reading!
|Ciao For Now! ~Lily L|
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Spirits' Homecoming
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Dec 30, 2016
Dec 30, 2016
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Sad but powerful story. Would definitely watch again. Hope this atrocity is never repeated.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No