Sort by:
My Annoying Brother
0 people found this review helpful
by Yura
Other reviews by this user
3 hours ago
3 hours ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
These movies always get me, Secretly Greatly, Postman to Heaven, and Penny pinchers. I go in thinking it would be a light hearted movie and end up in tears. This really was an amazing movie and tugged on my heartstrings.

The cast was outstanding, Jo Jung Suk and Do Kyung Soo really had amazing chemistry in the film. They physically, and emotional portrayed their characters ( As well as all the others read more ex. Park Shin Hye ). The story had very quick build up ( understandable because movies only have about 2hours to really get everything in ) and the character development was the same, though not disappointing. The twists and turns in the story will truly pull you in and wont fail to get your eyes watering~

Overall I REALLY liked this film and would recommend it to any k-drama fan.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Santa Barbara
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
16 hours ago
16 hours ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
Who doesn't love a Lee Sang Yoon movie or drama. He has show versatility in the roles he's chosen. Period pieces, lost loves, liar or on the way to the airport, he is good at it all!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Evergreen Love
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 5.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
This was a very fluffy story, typical japanese style.
You learn about the small edible plants that grow on river banks, and how to make them into delicious food.
Overall this film was really cute, something to keep for a lazy rainy day. It will exceed your expectations but it wasn't something super punchy.
It has that soft Japanese vibe, if you could compare this to Kdrama, I would call this herbal read more tea and Kdrama triple shot coffee.
No matter your jam- this film pauses time with a simpler approach to life.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Cats Don't Come When You Call
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This film was worth watching. It was a dark and rainy day when I thought i would give this a shot.
This was the sweetest story I had seen about cats. Also.. tissues.

Story:
Really amazing the way story unfolds and has a way of completing itself. I found myself wondering a few things but just the ending was really well done. Some things annoyed me in the sense that they are read more sad and I don't want it to be sad, but every great story needs a tragic catalyst to set things in motion. See what I did there haha.

Characters: All the characters are very memorable, dealing with their own things and occasionally bumping into each other. The true main characters are the cats and how they affect the lives of their owner.


Overall: This story reels your heart in, stabs it and then sews it back together with spun sugar. A sweet film about cats, and comic artists in Japan.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
If Cats Disappeared From The World is a movie about meaning of life and death, through the Sato Takeru´s character, who meets the devil and has the oportunity to change his sad destiny.

So based on that premise the movie is suposed to have a powerful story, and there is when the movie fails, the story have wonderful moments, but are only a few moments, so overall it feels too long and read more too slow and not really memorable.

The visual effects, the photography and the cast are really good, the characters are enjoyable i liked Sato Takeru, i think he is a great actor.

So if you really wanna cry with some story based on the same theme, life and death, i would recomend you to watch Boku No Ita Jikan (is a drama not a movie), but if actually you cry for everything, then maybe this movie is for you.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Moon Child
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
So I decided to re- watch this movie 9 years later, first time I only watched this due to my obsession with Gackt- Sam and didn't really get the plot or cared much. Now as I am a bit older (much older) I realized the plot was had deeper meaning than two good looking guys being BFF ..Lol

If you watch pass the gang and violence, the plot has deeper meaning to read more it. Its about friendship, loyalty, love and the desired to survive in a cruel and cold world.

Sho and Kei friendship from start was doomed to end up in either one of them dying or something horrible happened to them. But as the story line develops their friendship becomes more of older brother trying to look out for his fearless and sometime baka little brother who sometimes can be so careless but yet very loving and carrying towards his family and friends around him.


The story doesn't really go into dept why the female lead wasn't talking much , so you need to read the plot on wiki after watching it to understand her character. The fact that Gackt-Sama wrote some of the plot made it even more interesting.Watch behind the scene (on YT but so subs) and you will love this film more.

I will definitely re-watch this movie again in few years time.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Some, 2014
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 4.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
This movie, was really short, so It is quite easy to re watch as many times as needed.

But the problem with it, is that it is shrouded in mystery. nothing is properly explained, and i was left guessing when it was over.

The actors were good looking though, well one of them more than the other, but there was charisma. And of course, the fan service was not bad either. So read more I would recommend it. It IS only 8 minutes long.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Witness
0 people found this review helpful
by Anna
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I know I'm so late to just notice this movie and watching it in February 2017. But I got to say: I LOVE IT!!! It was totally AWESOME! By that I also mean i love the other movie"Blind". The tension, the suspense, the mystery of "The Witness" kept me hooked up and I didn't let my eyes go off the screen. Once again, I LOVE EVERY SCENE and EVERY SUBPLOT of the read more movie!!! Also LOVE THE MUSIC in it! I'll recommend this movie to anyone who loved mystery or detective story, but if you're looking for romance, there won't be in it---just saying=). After all, I love those two main leads-- Yang Mi and Luhan. Anyway, I been watching movies/dramas made with them and been listening to every music made by Luhan. Now I can't wait for that drama with Luhan on the novel "Fighter of the Destiny" and I am currently watching "Three Lives Three Worlds Ten Miles of Peach Blossoms" with Yang Mi in it and i think you should try it too.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Pandora
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
A disaster-themed movie has quite often produced in Korean Industry these days. But what makes this movie really interesting was, it's purpose to criticize the Korean Government (President Park Scandal, Sewol Tragedy) as well as the concern of many regarding a nuclear power plant in southern areas which is peril of earthquake.

The movies showed a lil bit of government's incapacity to react on national crisis due to politics and nation's image read more issues. And this fatal mistakes led to a bigger crisis and loss from their citizen. The pace was fast. We got straight to the main crisis on the first few minutes, but the writer still capable to maintain the depth of each character. There wasn't any flashback scene (almost), unlike the usual Korean Movie's with fast pace plot, but we still able to understand each character's idealism and initial heart.

Pandora showed a good, undisturbing, graphics. There wasn't any action and all the focus was to solve one big crisis in any way feasible. Surprisingly, with this thick and intense plot, Pandora wasn't boring at all. In fact, we were brought to a roller coaster of emotion, right from the very start. A mass production, with the purpose to remind that a big advantage has the same amount of risk within it. Entertaining, as well as educating (who knows that South Korea has 24 nuclear power plant in 9 southern cities?)

That's it the Pandora.
"Don't close your eyes because of fear. Don't cover your ears because of fears. We have opened the Pandora's Box. Although disaster were inside. Wasn't there also hope?"
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Man on High Heels
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Watch this for Cha Seung Won's acting. He is 100% absolutely amazing in this role. I was completely invested in his character from the beginning all the way up to the very end. I think that is why the ending disappointed me so much. Cha Seung Won's acting makes you really connect with Jiwook. To not have a clearer resolution to his struggle within himself just...left me wanting more. Left me wanting read more a happy endng because he deserved it. This movie deserved it. I would have given it 10/10. That being said, I still highly recommend watching it. The disappointing end is still worth it to see Cha Seung Won's portrayal of Jiwook.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Seven Days: Monday - Thursday
0 people found this review helpful
by Lipi
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
these kind of movies R normally a lil' slow, well sweet but slow. so just tuRned it on afteR a long tiRed day foR a good nap & guess wht. it happened to be a slow one..(thought i'll be black out haRdly in 15 mints.) ''DEMO'' i ended up finishing not only this one but also it's sequel, back to back in a Row & my haRdly 15 mints. eventually tuRned out read more to be 3 AM in the moRning ...
i think i'm kinda keen on to this genRe & it's one of my favoRites .. loved the leads .. diRections n specially those lil' mind talks
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Entangled
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Unfortunately, the summary above is somewhat of a spoiler. Since I had not read it, the events were quite a shock to me. This movie would best be described as a horror show. It is the unraveling of a family. The family dynamics are revealed one at a time until the final climax. It was quite unsettling and a unique watch. The acting is quite good and hauntingly realistic. Do not, however, read more expect a "feel good" movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Suddenly Seventeen
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
ime traveling is not a new concept in dramaland. In fact many of today's favorite dramas and movies involve time travelling....... to the point that some of us (me!) gets so sick of it.

Only one sentence got me watching this movie... it's "she revisits her past and learns what it takes to love herself again".

Really .... for those people who are depressed, on a slump, on the point of their read more life where they do not know what they are doing or on the point where none of your plans and visions work... take time to watch this movie.

As I said, time travelling is not a new concept, but what makes this movie unique is that only the mind of the main character travels back on time, forcing her seventeen years old self to live the life of her current 28 years old. Looks satisfying isn't it? to live your life when you're done studying, have your own job, and you do not have to worry about all the drama in your teens. But what if the current you isn't living the life you wanted? What if none of your "future" plans made it to your present? What would you do? This movie ventures on how a person can learn to love herself back despite of all the disappointments she made out of herself.

On the romance part...I do not really like what happens to her love life so no... I won't venture that part.

The acting was good especially the lead character. She was on point and it will really show the difference within the two "personas" just with her eyes. The rest of the cast were also good but nothing special of some sort.

I didn't pay that much attention to music with the the fuss going on...so no it does not make that much impact on me.

Overall, it's a must see movie.... especially to those who fits the criteria I mention above. If you don't meet the criteria.... ah who cares? I already said it's a must watch movie. So go... watch it!

I don't know if this count as a review and if it will ever help anyone decide... but oh well..!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Yoko The Cherry Blossom
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
overall, Takashi-san acting was the main poin to give 8.0 to this movie, he's just so amazing, i mean it
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Handmaiden
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I was itching to see Park Chan-wook's return to South Korean films after Thirst (2009) and his English-debut, Stoker (2013). Because of that, my expectations for The Handmaiden were definitely high.

Were they met?

Yes and no.

I don't know what I exactly expected to see. Maybe I was looking for something ala-Oldboy (2003), his best work to date and something better than Stoker (I didn't quite like it). But instead, I read more got something different. I just don't know if it's better or worst (than Oldboy but better than Stoker).

I find myself very enthralled with the production the most.

Park proves his mastery when it comes to making feels look beautiful and meaningful, and to me, his handling of build-up and then exploding them all at once is done so gracefully, so smoothly, so satisfying.

The Handmaiden is visually beautiful on all levels. Based (or inspired) by Sarah Waters' The Fingersmith, Park shifts the setting to 1930s colonial Korea. Just like Stoker, The Handmaiden is eerie, full of suspense and has a sexual, erotic tone—which clearly represents his film.

Broken into three parts, Park knows what cards to keep and when to reveal them—leaving room for a grand voila. The Handmaiden, itself, it not complicated nor does the plot try to be mysterious but its Park's touches that makes it sexually mysterious and ultimately full of taunting and teasing.

Colors emit a gothic vibe, the cinematography is superb, the score embraces the atmosphere and the characters are showered with undeniable tension from start to finish.

Ultimately, Park triumphs at showing female sexual satisfaction without the need of men. It's liberating as much as it's satisfying—an exploration, or explosion rather, of the female characters' undiscovered desires.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions