Kamen Rider Wizard
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 hours ago
5 hours ago
  • Overall 4.5
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
When Kamen Rider Wizard was first announced, it was touted as a story filled with magic and more mature themes. With the writer behind Hibiki stepping in as show writer, it was supposed to be where the Neo Heisei era hit a new high.

...I'm still waiting to see what show they're talking about, cause this isn't it.

Story (4/10): Wizard, by far, has one of the worst handled stories I've seen read more in any toku show. If the series were only, say, 24-26 episodes, it wouldn't stand out as much. But at 51 episodes (the most of any Hesei era show), the plot is railed into the last 10 episodes and is just...bad. There's filler galore, barely any character development, and it just feels like the writers got lazier and lazier as the show went on. Also, the pacing here just tanks after the halfway mark. Like I said, if there were less episodes, these problems wouldn't stand out and the plot could be compressed, but as it is, it's just bad.

Acting/Cast (5/10): While no one on the cast is bad (per say), you get the feeling that they really don't care about their roles all too much. It just seems like they went into work and said 'Alright, lets just get this over with' and went with it. I hate to bash someone for their acting (when really, a good director is essential for good acting as well), but there really isn't anything that stellar here. Probably the only people who really did a good job were the actors for Phoenix, the Doughnut Shop owners, and the Mages.

This show also holds the lovely privilege of having the worst casting choice I've ever seen: the actress for Koyomi is an idol, so she's pretty busy with stuff. Instead of getting an actress who could be in all the episodes she's needed for, Toei went with her anyways and the story suffers for it. We don't see the girl who is our main female lead for at least 3/4 of the show. She herself is a good actress (she's probably one of the better ones in the show, if I may say), but Toei really dropped the ball on this one.

(Also, you ever notice that during the run of a show, you'll hear about how much fun the cast is having? Like when W, OOO, Fourze, and the currently airing (as of this writing) Gaim were on? Yeah, I didn't hear crap all. Kinda says a lot.)

Music (5/10): Music in Wizard is alright as well. The main theme Life is Showtime is good, but it really needed a good hook to make it great. Otherwise everything else is just OK. There really isn't anything else that great, with probably the only exceptions being Beast Hyper's theme and the Wizard Infinity theme by the Kamen Rider Girls. I will say that the show makes the mistake of using a large chorus for the battle theme of the show and while it makes things epic, it's WAAAAY too overused. To the point that I literally cringed when it came on. Wizard really needed a specific musical theme to it and I'm not sure what they went with was the best.

Rewatch Value (1/10): I really can't stress how much I never want to see this show again. I'm always a firm believer that any show is someones first introduction to Kamen Rider or what have you, but this is a terrible example of the franchise. I'm inclined to believe that I'm jaded since I watched for the full year it was on, and that made it just unbearable. Maybe watching it all in 2/3 days is easier and less disappointing, but I'm not subjecting myself to it again. And I know it doesn't show, but it really saddens me that I had such a bad time watching this that I can't go back and watch it like I do with the other toku shows I love.

Overall KR Wizard is just...disappointing. It started out with so much promise but faltered too early and never picked itself back up. The story is just too bare bones, music and acting is average at best, the action isn't that great, and it exemplifies the worst of the Neo Heisei series (the biggest being the 2 episode structure, which this show falls into HARD). If you're a Kamen Rider fan, watch this once so you can say that you've seen it, but there's really nothing to come back to. If you're a non-toku fan wanting to get into the genre, there are far and beyond better series to start with.

Overall: 4.5/10, with a non-recommendation.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Shanghai Dreams
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 hours ago
5 hours ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
This is a movie about China in the 1980's, thus the mood is dark and gloomy. Although the father dreams of going to Shanghai for a "better life for his family", he, himself is an authoritarian father and husband. All of the characters, including the father, are victims of a repressive society. The story deals with young people longing for relationships, unrequited love, forced marriage, rape, and abuse, all of which are read more heavy themes. It is realistically portrayed and really gives you a heavy feeling. It is more a statement of how the people reflect the restrictive culture of their time. It made me thankful I did not live there then. Although I enjoy movies about Chinese culture, I could not rewatch this. It was just too real and scary.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ousama Game
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
by NB4Y
Other reviews by this user
23 hours ago
23 hours ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 1.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Well, let's begin with the fact that I love horror, especially when it's about legends or games, like in this case. So I obviously loved the idea of the movie and in the beginning was really enjoyable with all those orders and choices that the characters had to endure. The first tier of the movie was really good and I really wanted to know how it would be continue and how it read more would answer to all the questions I had in mind. After that it's a free fall. The whole development was getting more and more ridiculous and some things didn't even make sense (a character acting as if he was injured even though he wasn't, the WHOLE school was available at for the characters, at night, so that they could do whatever they wanted, the teacher appeared just a few times, as if she wasn't necessary in a classroom, etc.) and some questions weren't even answered. The ending was kinda good though.

The acting wasn't bad. It was horrible. You couldn't even think that they were actually acting seriously except for a few scenes. And the characters were all empty. The character development was almost inexistent.

The music was pretty good, I would say, except for that happy ending song that didn't even seem to belong to the kind of sad ending the movie had. I was just asking myself "Why?" while hearing it.

Overall, it's a movie that had an awesome idea and started off pretty well, despite the horrible acting, but when the things started to be "creepy" it just fucked up and couldn't go on.

Oh, and IT IS NOT A HORROR MOVIE. It just could feel like one from the summary but isn't one at all.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Shinikare
0 of 5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
23 hours ago
23 hours ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
it's my favorite drama!!!
it so cute how the two of them love each other<33333
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Two Moons
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
by ViBe
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
A point of view of someone who loves mystery movies:

So, today I re-watched this movie and I loved more than the first time. I am surprised that the rating is that low, but well, I know that I will definitely re-watch it, because it’s mine cup of tea. If you love mystery with a bit of scary parts (that still gives you chills), I recommend you to watch it.

STORY: Firstly, read more do not read summaries, because you will think that this is a classic horror movie. It is not. There is more mystery in to it. I think that writers did an awesome job. You will think, "Ah, so that happened..." ...not.

ACTING/CAST: The characters were complicated to act and the actors did quite good. It is hard to choose a favorite one. So let me tell you like that. Kim Ji Suk's, Park Jin Joo's and Ra Mi Ran's characters were those ones that expressed more feelings. Park Han Byul's character was difficult to act, because she needed to be very mysterious, but maybe she could act even more mysterious.

MUSIC (SOUND EFFECTS): Rarely used, but right timing.

RE-WATCHING VALUE: Because it is a so well written and because it is a mystery, makes me wanna re-watch all over and over again.

So this is it. I would like to apologize for my poorly written review, but at least now we have one.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mozu Season 2 - Maboroshi no Tsubasa
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 5.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
After being partially disappointed with the first season, I didn’t hold much hope for the second one. I was absolutely right with my judgment, Mozu Maraboshi no Tsubasa didn’t add much anyway.

Although this was shorter with only 5 episodes, it felt as heavy as the first season. The reason I gave Mozu no Sakebu Yoru a slack despite some displeasures was because the hope in the second season. The story was read more incomplete but alas, there’s a second season to make it up for it, the answers weren’t fully provided by TBS but WOWOW will do the job. That’s what most of viewers were thinking after finishing off the first part. It’s safe to say that they didn’t give answers, or better said not satisfying enough.

Mozu is one heck of a high-produced drama compared to other Japanese shows. It’s closer to films’ production value instead of TV dramas which unconsciously built tremendous expectations in viewers’ mind, thinking that this drama will actually change the concept of J-dramas’ making in the future. It’s neither the channels fault nor the audience fault either; it’s the freaking screenwriter’s mistake. This was adapted from novels’ series that were pretty famous so for the sake of dramatization, he could’ve just changed few details and everything would’ve been more than great. But no, he had his own philosophy that we were made to understand. I tried to cop along but that wasn’t fun at all.

Back to the second season, the plot took a major change but the lead’s chase after the truth was still the main point of the drama. A high-scale conspiracy again, a suspenseful race for the truth again, many questions again, too many suspicions again but the outcome was not satisfying…Again! When you play a mystery/suspense game with your audience then you have to put all your cards on the table by the end, this drama only revealed half of its cards by far. And the problem is, the revealed cards weren’t even a surprise. After watching the first season, it becomes so easy to predict the screenwriter’s pattern, which is quite irritating for the genre’s lovers. But thankfully, due to its short amount of episodes; the drama wasn’t slow like in the previous season. Or at least not unbearably slow.

The star-studded cast wasn’t put to its full use and I hate that! Come on, beside Nishijima and Ikematsu whose skills were used, Kagawa and Maki who were marked as main didn’t serve anything but the lead’s supporters. As if they were his cheerleaders or something. Give me a break! Such amazing actors could’ve been better used than that! Now let’s talk about characters, since the plot was too focused on revealing the truth, characters’ development was almost inexistent. Compared to the first season, Kuraki stayed the same without practically any change, Osugi is no different, Akebochi had the chance to change a little due to the events surrounding her but it wasn’t that obvious. Higashi became crazier and other added characters were absolutely useless most of the time.

The dark cinematography still captured me though, it was immensely used in this part and I completely appreciated it. The music note was no different from the first season.

Watch if:
-You liked the first season but don’t expect much.

Do not watch if:
-You didn’t like the first season. It’s a waste of time in that case.

I think a third season should be in the making for this drama, to provide explanation for unanswered questions that it. This season did answer some from the first part but it still left many things opened. Heck, it even added many others to the mysterious cloud.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Otenki Onee-san
5 of 5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
This was a great drama! The plotline was very unique, i've seen quite a few of dramas involving geniuses that help solve murder cases but this was the first drama I have come across that involved a weather genius. All of the cases were entertaining and never lost my interest. As for the cast, I thought that they were brilliant in portraying their characters, the female lead was excellent at portraying the read more emotionless genius and the male lead was absolutely adorable, I fell in love with his character immediately. The length of this drama was perfect so it avoided dragging on like some dramas do. I also really enjoyed the air of mystery and suspense that shrouded some of the main characters, it really kept you watching the drama. The music was okay, nothing particularly thrilling or catchy. The only fault I can really find was that I wish there had been more romance. I wasn't too fond with the way this drama ended either. Other than that, I thought this drama was fantastic.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love 911
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Story: The story revolves around firefighter Kang IL (Goo Soo), who lost his wife and doesn't care about anything anymore, and Doctor Mi Soo (Hyo Joo) who doesn't like to be proven wrong (even when she is). When she fails to admit that one of her patient is dying, she is forced to quit her job and that is when Fate brings them together when she has to do community service at read more the fire station where Kang IL works.

Acting: The Movie is very funny and romantic. There acting is as if this had happened in real life, their chemistry is just so real that it makes you shed a tear whether if it's because of a sad scene or a funny scene.


What I like about this movie is that firefigther Kang IL doesn't let his past torture him, he gives himself a chance to fall in love again, and Doctor Mi Soo doesn't run away from her problems, she faces it. It's not one of those movies that the main character can't be with each other just because their traumatic past or their never ending problems.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
You Who Came from the Stars
0 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
nice story (although I don't like Sci fi), nice conversations, doesn't get boring but I still had to skip some scenes..but I think the main leads lacked chemistry...oh and I also didn't like Do min joons hair style..
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Jumong
0 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I first saw Song Il Gook play the villain in Bodyguard. What a gorgeous man, or that's what I would think if I were a girl.

Han Hye Jin...well what can I say. I wish I was her oppa.

My heart belongs to Song Ji Hyo however. I first saw the actor in Emergency Couple and am now flirting with her in Gye Baek. (I hope she doesn't slap me and/or Lee read more Seo Jin or Jo Jae Hyeon takes exception.)

Jumong takes some stamina to watch, but if you give it a chance you'll get a second wind that distant runners know all too well. It's a gorgeous, epic paean to Koguryeo; of the friendships, betrayals, and unstinting heroism that lay the foundation.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
What's Up
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
After finishing this drama, I must say: WOW!!!!!

I really really really.......loved this drama!!!! And why? There is more than one reason:

1) The story is amazing.
It is about a group of young adults who are studying at the university in a musical department. It is about their past, present and future, about their dreams, relationships and problems. It has a realistic plot. It is a mature version of Dream High, read more but in my opinion, What's up is much better! The writers here did a great job!


2) The characters.
Each character in this drama is unique, human and real. Each of them has own flaws but also positive aspects. My favourite characters were Oh Doo Ri (Im Ju Eun) and Kim Byung Gun (Jo Jung Suk). Both actors did an amazing job! I loved every scene with them!

I loved Im Ju Eun in Wild Romance but after watching What's Up, I came to like her even more. Her character was just so cool! She was clever, crazy, a bit of a rebel but also nice and talented. I loved how she had one-sided love for her professor.

Jo Jung Suk is one of my favourite actors and he was the reason why I started to watch this drama. I chose well, but did I expect something else from a drama starring Jo Jung Suk? No. His character here was hilarious, pitiful and I was just waiting till he finally showed his voice to the world. Jo Jung Suk is a really good singer and even better actor. You will see that you will love those too.

On the other hand, I really disliked the character of Park Tae Yi. She was so naive and to me, she seemed stupid.


3) The music!!
The music was outstanding! What a shame that I am not able to find the OST anywhere. Everyone sings very well but singing of few of them is just amazing! I was never a really big fan of Big Bang but I have to say that Daesung is a really good singer (however, his acting skills are really low). Jo Jung Suk is also an ace. And I also liked Im Ju Eun's singing. I was also surprised to see here a member of my favourite k-pop group SPICA, Yang Ji Won, whose singing was superb as well.

4) The ending!
I really liked it. Even though I would like to reveal more, I won't. Just watch it yourself, you won't be disappointed. I guarantee it!

5) Jo Jung Suk - he just deserves his own point.

6) Im Ju Eun - so as her.

Right now, I can't come up with more reasons to watch this drama. It is just superb!

And who should watch this drama?

- a music fan
- a fan of Jo Jung Suk
- a k-drama fan
- a person who likes good quality series
- a fan of Rachel from Heirs a.k.a Park Tae Yi
- everyone who wants to watch something realistic
- a person who appreciates good acting
- ...... etc.

I hope that you will enjoy this drama as much as I did!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Legend of Hua Mulan
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
So.... at first I was really glad this drama had 48 episodes, because I just loved everything aout it.
But the turning point came at episode 22 and ongoing. It just lost quality and the story went ridiculous. Just everything happened one time and a second time and to really make sure we got it it happened a third time.
I was annoyed of all the backstabbing and "I love you, but read more you are my enemy, so I trick you and use you!" and the reply "Whoa, now you`ve done it! I love you no more and take revenge; but wait you are no such cruel person I still love you and forgive you ervything!"
There I cursed the 48 episodes and wished for the end to come sooner.

I mean...I am speechless how downhill this drama, I thought would become my new all-time favourite, ended up like this...

So I really like everything up to the point where Mulan (in the later episodes I titled her ("St*pid b*tch")
joined the army. Before that the drama is a really great piece to see, but after that, well she just becomes superwoman and makes the impossible happen.

Another important thing why I got annoyed in the second half was the makeup...really the makeup..
she dressed up as a man and I thought "mhh ok this - when I close one eye - is going to work", but the next appearance of her was with eyemakeup so stong it screamed "I am a girl!!!!"
But even this I could forgive, `cause it`s a drama and they probably wanted to make the actress an eyecandy (even though she already is beautiful)
BUT the next thing I see is her with not only eyemakeup but coloured lips and pretty fingernails.
And then I decided it is just not believable that she is a guy.

The only ray of light was Kuo Dylan as Muo Jiang / Prince Duo Lan. He really acted his role well and also
the main actress Hou Meng Yao as Hua Mulan did a good job. They are not at fault for the script.


So to end my review turned rant: the fist half is awesome - the second don`t bother watching.
As for a rewatch: I will not because of 1. the dissapointment that I still feel and 2. the length
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Bad Boys J The Movie
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
In Hiroshima three gangs are fighting for territory: Beast, Nights and Gokuraku Cho. Beast being the top group with over 3000 followers and an insane strong top Danno Hidenori (Nikaido Takashi), owns most of the territory. Nights, Hiroshimas second largest group is a group with good looking flashy guys, but like Beast have a strong top Hiro (Hasimoto Ryosuke).

After Gokuraku Cho’s leader leaves, the group is left with a new Top read more who is thinking more about himself than the members. This leaves the no. 2, Kawanaka Yoji (Iwamoto Hikaru) conflicted whether or not to do something about it. He one day happens to save Kiriki Tsukasa (Nakajima Kento) from bullies from his own group, and befriends Tsukasa, who is devastated since the bullies took his gift he had been wanting to give a girl. Yoji and his two friends, Iwami Eiji (Fukusawa Tatsuya) and Nakamura Hisao (Watanabe Shota), who are in the same group, advise Tsukasa, who just moved to Hiroshima, to stay away from the girl, since their top has his eyes on her. But when the girl is taken away by Gokuraku Cho’s top, he goes to save her, and happens to beat the top, which automatically makes him the new leader and top of Gokuraku Cho..
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Skip Beat!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
I was trapped by the drama version of Skip Beat since the very first episode. This was a story I was familiar with, and yet it felt like something completely new. The cast was excellent (God, the CEO was just hilarious) and they did an outstanding job. I have to admit I was impressed by Siwon's acting skills, he just rendered me speechless.

I had to give a 9 to "Story" instead read more of a 10 not becauise of the story itself, but because it just felt too short, I'm gonna miss this so much!! I'll most likely be re-watching the drama in the not-so-far future.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Witch's Romance
0 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This is a fun drama. I super love the voice of Park Seo Joon, he sang the OST. One of the dramas that you won't regret watching and the plot was pretty good... I am not just fond of the lead artist, Uhm Jung Hwa.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No