Attack on Titan
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 hours ago
6 hours ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 4.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
Saw this on opening day yesterday. Before I go into my review, I will warn you: My expectations for this film were very, very low. Also I cannot stand Miura Haruma. But let us get into the details!

The positives:
The CGI was way beyond amazing for Japanese standard! You can tell the budget was HUGE on this!
Replacement Levi - he isn't the Levi we want but he's close and I read more like his twisted mind xD
The ending song is amazing <3
The blood and violence - holy crap the sound of bones crushing and barrels of blood everywhere!!! <3 a couple of times I had to think if I felt sick or not! So that was awesome <3
The overall changes - while I much much much prefer the original story, I quite liked the changes they made in this and (besides the romances) found no change that would infuriate me.

Negatives:
Slow - this film could've easily cut out the first 20 minutes or so. The film makers know all we wanna see is the giants so why you spending AGES setting everything up. I highly doubt people who've never heard or know anything about the anime are gunna watch this so just cut to the chase!
Too short - it felt like we were only JUST getting development and BAM credits - ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!?!? GIVE ME MORE!!! Could've EASILY gotten 30 minutes or more into that movie!
The added romance couples they added - there's 4 'couples' and romances in this that aren't in the anime and by god I hated everyone of them bar one.
Shake camera during fighting scenes
Miura Haruma - he can't act and was especially cringe worthy to watch when he was doing his screaming scenes -_-

Overall: It was better than I expected and cannot wait for the second installment where it looks like it really is gunna be 180 degrees different to the anime! o_O
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Oh My Ghost
3 of 14 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
14 hours ago
14 hours ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I'm almost midway now and I'm really enjoying it! both leads are amazing and i believe their chemistry and I love the story line. I recommend this to everyone.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Who Are You: School 2015
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
20 hours ago
20 hours ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I really loved the show, like, a lot.
The cast was amazing, The main character was very well acted, even though the actress is young( my god, I wish I was as good as that).
The story was good, but some things weren't exactly right. The mystery was, like, not that important, but at other times, it was. It was good, but it didn't have the climax I hoped for.
There was read more also a lot of romance, mostly at the end( as it should be) and I'm happy a 15/16 year old girl didn't have to kiss or something with an actor who is 4 or 5 years older. That just doesn't feel right at that age( not like I would mind, though, as long as he's handsome).
Some things were a little cliched, and I hate the fact that I can't spoil, because to me, that part was very important, so I'll say here:




SPOILER
It's always the she prefers from the start. The other guy, who helps her trough the entire story and falls in love with her, always loses, and to me that is kinda **********.




I'm very sorry for the spoiler, but for me, that was the biggest minus in the entire series.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mask
6 of 6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
22 hours ago
22 hours ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Although the drama was very confusing at first, Mask turned out to be one of the best dramas I have watched throughout my whole k-drama experience. Not only did it meet my expectations, it exceeded them. I was really hoping that once I watched the last two episodes, it wouldn't do a Who Are You: School 2015 and completely mess up the ending, but it didn't. Everyone ended up how I wanted read more and expected them to (I didn't predict Mi Yeon's incident though) and to top it all off, it actually made me cry during Mi Yeon's funeral, and Ji Sook and Min Woo's adorable family time with their daughter. It was just perfect.

The synopsis isn't the most original, someone has seen something similar to Mask before, but it absolutely blew my mind away. I love how as the series progressed. Byun Ji Sook's character got smarter and more brilliant, she was able to stand up against Min Seok Hoon and fight against him. And it was the same with Seok Hoon. He was an amazing villain. He truly believed what he was doing was what was best for everyone, and as Ji Sook, Choi Min Woo and eventually Choi Mi Yeon started to retaliate, his plans fell apart and he became more desperate, and would go to more extremes to push forward his plan. It was simply amazing to watch and I would watch it all again right now if I could.

As much as I enjoyed the acting in this drama, Mi Yeon's actress - Yoo In Young - was the only one who felt lacking while I watched this. I've watched her acting before as she played a guest role in My Love From the Stars, but she didn't impress me in that either. Her acting felt very repetitive, especially when she was investigating Ji Sook and trying to get Seok Hoon to stay by her side. It was annoying, but as her character was meant to be like that, I can understand it. Despite her, everyone else was amazing. I've heard complaints about Soo Ae's acting, but she was brilliant in playing both Seo Eun Ha and Byun Ji Sook. I could definitely tell the difference between the two and that takes some skill to do. Joo Ji Hoon perceived his character of Min Woo very well. He showed a great example of a psychiatric patient and a business man. I can understand why Ji Sook fell for him, he's delightful. And lastly, Yeon Jung Hoon was fantastic. With help from the writing, he made the best villain I have ever seen and I'm not very easy to impress.

I absolutely loved the soundtrack to Mask. Each track was beautiful and so great to listen to. I especially liked Just One Day by LYn. I absolutely love this artist's songs, she has such a lovely voice. She also voiced my favourite song in the My Love From the Stars OST. I am looking forward to watching another drama that has LYn in. I'm sure it won't be too long into the future because I'm pretty sure every director wants her voice for their soundtrack. I'm positive.

If I could, I would rewatch Mask right here, right now. But I have a busy life and I don't have enough free time to nonchalantly watch through 20 hours of pure epicness. But I'm sure that when my schedule frees up some more, I'll get round to watching through Mask again.

Overall, besides In Young's slightly disappointing performance, I thoroughly enjoyed this drama a lot and I would recommend it to anyone. I came into Mask with open eyes and when I finished it, I'm glad that I decided to watch it. Mask was one of the most amazing experiences that I have ever seen and you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Who Are You: School 2015
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
The thing I like most about this drama was the realism of what exactly occurs inside the classroom, beyond the test papers, assignments, extra-curricular activities, etc. School life may be different from a working environment, but status and socialization is the same everywhere. No matter the country or the culture. This drama brought life to that. We've all watched all types of bullying in dramas - but they seldom pinpoint the reason read more to why these bullies do the things that they do. It's usually the one sided drama in which there is the bad guy and the good guy, then the good guy triumphs over the bad guy, then the bad guy is eventually forgotten.

The story line may be a bit far-fetched, but the cast portrayed their roles pretty well, making the issues at hand seem more realistic. It was also heart-warming and sad all at the same time. The romantic plot was a bit of a downer for me though because I was sort of rooting for the second lead guy. My second-lead-syndrome attacked once again halfway through of this drama. I really didn't have a choice because the guy was too cute and too persistent. *sigh*

Setting that aside, I really liked School 2015 and might probably check out School 2013 because of this. Adding up to this was the music, it was something that really made the whole drama more memorable. Up until this moment, I could still hear the music inside my head, playing in the background.

I may re-watch this again in the future if I feel like relieving my high school days all over again, but for the moment, I am recommending it to those who likes watching dramas in a high school setting with more substance about a student's school life and hardships.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Girl Who Sees Scents
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Lets start of with that i will never ever watch reviews of other people anymore before i starting to watch it myself,The negative feedback made me almost decide not to watch it and im happy that i did!

Story: The story is pretty good and interesting and kept being fun to watch untill the end of the show.The maincharacters where acting good and funny at times.
If there is a negative in read more this show is that the story could have been more sepperated with mini storys inside with Oh Cho Rim solving some other cases with her special eye to see scents so they could save the Climax for more towards the end.It started way to soon from episode 6-7 till the end of the show which some people maybe hate,however it was still really fun to watch and i didnt really bother with it.
To sum it up it was a great ride of story and emotions.

The ending of the show is ammazing in my eyes! Since its very long and makes you feel completed when its over thats why i have to attack the negative feedback on this show and i feel that there are allot of trolls ammong them or just haters that wanna bash everything thats only a bit bad!.

Romance:This part was one of my favorites of the show since i think the couple was really cute together and made me laugh and love them at many times.

Music:The music is nice,especially the opening them of the show i loved.Also in the love monents and in the moments of action it gave a nice feeling.

Conclusion: Dont read the negativee feedback people give and watch this show! Its worth your time and its really fun!.Drama should be watched with a relaxed view and not only to try to find the minus points just becuz it became a bit draggy.The ending of the show made up for that and thats why its a great watch in overal!.If i had to give a comparrison to an other show it would be to You're all surrounded and that was a great show as well.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Orange Marmalade
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
This is one show that breaks almost all my ground rules of kdrama watching. As a self proclaimed old fashioned romance junkie, I tend to stay away from dramas or stories based on vampire, fantasy, time travel or paranormal themes.

Orange Marmalade embodies all of the above and some.

So how did I end up watching Orange Marmalade and stuck with it through to the end? Because there was enough intrigue to read more this madness and it was sufficient to keep me tuned in each week.

I was fascinated by the boldness (or some may say craziness) of the production team to take on a challenge that is such a departure from the normal formula of kdrama success. It is supposedly an adaptation of a popular webtoon but it is nothing like its predecessor. It is but a myriad of cliche tropes, creatively brave screenwriting, mix in some non conventional programming, good looking casts, and there you go - Voila! Orange Marmalade!

At first I was intrigued by the mini teasers which did a fantastic job of marketing the show. I was sold by the mystique of the elusive vampire girl and the puppy eyed, longing stares of Jae Min.

Yeo Jin Gu’s superb acting won me over in those few seconds. I am already a fan of CNBlue’s Lee Jong Hyun therefore having him as the second lead was a bonus.

Two episodes in, I was ecstatic! The Show exceeded my expectations. It started out really well in introducing the storyline depicting the struggles of the vampires trying to live incognito among humans; reminiscing of real life discrimination faced by many in our society today. And throw in a few light-hearted hilarious moments, I was sold! My reaction...Wow! They did that on prime time public television?

Episode 4 was the turning point for me. The pace was suddenly so fast it was like watching a completely different drama. Suddenly the Show introduced all kinds of loopholes, sub-plots and question marks. And then the big reveal - flashbacks to the Joseon era. At this point I was close to dropping the show but curiosity kept me reeled in.

It turned out I actually liked the Joseon episodes the best even though I was cringing when I first heard about it. I really enjoyed Shi Hoo’s story in the Joseon era. His character had more depth and layers than the other two leads. The bromance between Shi Hoo and Jae Min was cute and touching. The love story between Jae Min and Ma Ri was endearing but a tad ordinary and predictable. I actually felt more for Shi Hoo’s restraint love for Ma Ri. It was respectful but heart rending. The secondary characters were interesting and their stories closed the gaps in understanding the relationships of these characters in the present day.

I also enjoyed the story development surrounding the human-vampire conflict and how the pact was reached that carried to the modern era. I was mostly invested in Shi Hoo’s story though how the show dealt with him in the present day was a tad too convenient for my taste.

The chemistry between the second leads was excellent but in typical kdrama fashion it was a bit rushed in the end.

Overall, Orange Marmalade had its moments but lost a lot of fans from the misleading advertising, inconsistent storytelling/pacing and the modern to historical jumps. But I am glad it didn’t suck and it definitely wasn’t a complete waste of my time.

The music was catchy and melodic but to be honest the exact tunes have totally escaped me so it must not be that memorable.

Is it a rewatch? No, it is one of those unique shows that will certainly divide but even for the faithful, a rewatch is probably not likely.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mask
7 of 10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
I have never been a large fan of Melodramas, and when this first came out I was admittedly on a Melodrama hiatus of sorts. I even rolled my eyes proclaiming, "Another Melo? Really?", but about two weeks after it premiered I began to watch it, and even become a little obsessed with it.

Story wise this drama tended to be a bit all over the place, in a good way. There was read more always multiple facuets to the story, while one character was plotting one thing, another was planning on using their plan to achieve another goal. The plot line was interesting, none of the usual amniesa and "Oh my god you're my lost sister, misplaced from birth" pit falls that melo's tend to have. I found myself intent on watching each week, not only for the next plot twist but also for the sweet story of "finding love after being married" that the two leads presented.

During the beginning of the Melo, I was most certainly annoyed with the actress playing Byun Jin Sook, she seemed to have a character that lacked any sort of backbone what's so ever. But as the drama progressed, I really saw the actress grow her character into someone strong and willing to take a stand for what's right. Ji Hoon's character interested me from the very beginning, his constant battle between loosing his mind and maintaining an image of stability really worked well character wise and I'm really happy I got to watch as this character grew into a healthier person. Over all their chemistry really made this show. As we watch them grow as people and family members, we also see them grow into love. Something I personally thought really made this show beautiful.

I would say this drama is pretty rewatchable. While it's not my favorite genre nor my favorite drama, I really enjoyed seeing the characters grow, as well as watch the political and sinister plot line unfold.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mask
8 of 10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Ok, this is one of my favorite dramas of 2015. I read some of the reviews before writing this and I was like... really? This drama gave me a ton of feels and kept me looking forward to the next episode each week. Compared to the other airing drama that I was watching with this which is still stuck on ep 3 (sorry High Society), this one, I was supposed to watch read more with my friend but I could never wait for her so we ended up watching this separately.

STORY
Byun Ji Sook is a hard worker trying to help her family get out of debt. Seo Eun Ha is a rich girl who doesn't really have to work hard for anything. They look alike but their not related. Circumstances happen that end up with Byun Ji Sook taking over Seo Eun Ha's life. How long can you keep a secret? How long till living a lie eats you up inside. A story about greed, revenge, family politics. This story has everything, romance, mystery, drama, intrigue, slice of life. Whenever a drama takes me on an emotional roller coaster, it's a good one for me.

ACTING/CAST
Soo Ae was pretty good at portraying two characters who are polar opposites from each other. I've only seen her in one other show and it was the movie "Sunny" which I can't really say I liked her acting there. I can't remember her acting there. >_<
Joo Ji Hoon, what can I say, I just love him. I love his stares and this acting reminds me of when he was Prince Lee Shin in "Goong".
Yoo In Young was pretty good at playing the annoying older sister. She has the perfect villainess look. :D
Yeon Jung Hoon, now this guy wore his mask real well. I don't know how he could keep lying with a straight face all throughout the drama. He is one of the characters I love to hate. I just wanted to shake him.
Hoya, I saw him in "Reply 1997" and I like him in Infinite. But this drama, I really loved him more. He wasn't like in a lot of scenes but in the ones he were in, he's showing some promise with his acting.
Jo Yoon Woo, I want him as my secretary :D. He really cares for his boss and he's just too darn cute.

MUSIC:
Lyn's song "Just One Day" I can just keep listening to it over and over. Navi's "Tell Me A Lie" is pretty good too. I really like the instrumental during the Ji Sook/Min Woo moments.

RE-WATCH VALUE:
Yes, I would re-watch this. I like watching the main characters' journey of overcoming the multiple obstacles to their happiness. How they did their best to protect the ones they love.

OVERALL:
I would recommend it. If you like a little mystery, intrigue, romance with great actors then this drama is a good one to watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mask
2 of 5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
What an amazing journey! I was addicted to this drama from episode 1 and continued to stay addicted to it until the very last episode! It's a masterpiece to me <3 The story starts off so amazingly crazy and stays crazy good all the way until the end (at least to me it did). A lot of people seemed to have compared this to 'Secret' b/c of the writer - but don't. read more I honestly like the end of this drama much more than the end of secret. (I honestly was disappointed by something that happened at the end of Secret - but this drama left me with no disappointments.

Story: [I wanted to edit this right away but MDL was shut down so it's updated a little late...] Byun Ji Sook is a hard working young woman burdened with debt. Seo Eun Ha is a rich heiress. They are doppelgangers (they look exactly alike) - when circumstances and situations shift, Ji Sook finds herself having to live the life of Seo Eun Ha. As she is pressured into this life that she didn't ask for, she at first does her best to survive & protect her loved ones (old and new), we see her character grow from a weak scared individual to a strong and brave woman who is willing to take a risk in order to set things straight. Enemies along the way try and hold her back and stop her as much as possible. Min Woo is the heir to a huge conglomerate and he wants that title but little does he know that someone has been messing around with his sanity. This drama is full of mystery, crime, romance, deception and uncovering truths. It's a melo in every way - but not your typical melo - It's breathtaking (maybe even more so if you marathon it - I personally watched 13 episodes in the span of 2 days! and watched week by week there-after) - but I knew from episode one that this would be a drama that would be best reserved for a marathon and I never lost that conviction.

Cast: The entire cast did an excellent job! Joo Ji Hoon as Choi Min Woo portrayed a tormented man scarred with loneliness, pain, and lack of affection/love. His character is the most beautiful to watch. While he fights himself - fights to keep his sanity and fights to keep his belief in himself. He does his best to stay strong but in the process he avoids as much contact with people as possible - that is until Ji Sook enters his life. ^^ Soo Ae as Byun Ji Sook/Seo Eun Ha - she does a wonderful job showing fear, anxiety, love, hurt, pain and joy. Even if she wears a 'Mask' she still stays true to herself and is loyal and protective to those around her. Yeon Jung Hoon as Min Suk Hoon, he can pull of a bad guy so well - his face literally looked evil - with one glance of the eye, one lip twitch... he can be so creepy - he almost seemed immoveable. Yoo In Young as Choi Mi Yeon - I really pitied her character, I understood where she was coming from and where she didn't want to go - but she did a few things that no matter how much I understood her - it was still wrong... I would describe her as being stuck between a rock and a hard place - she was trapped in a cage she created for herself, and that was just sad. I didn't hate her - but I did get angry at her a couple of times. Soo Ae and Ho Ya actually look like real siblings! lol

Music: The OST was simply BEAUTIFUL! I love each and every song! 'One Person' by Moon Myung Jin, 'It Hurts' by Zico & Sojin, 'I'll Pretend I'm Dead' by Chancellor & Vasco, 'One Day' by LYn, 'I Hoped It Was a Lie' by Navi, 'No Love' by Byul Ha, 'Where' by Yoon Do Hyun, 'Similar' by Junggigo, 'I Miss You' by Seo Eun Kwang & Mi Yoo - My personal favorites (I love them all though) are: One Person, No Love, Where and I Miss You ^-^

Re-watch Value: 10/10 - I will definitely re-watch this drama! To me it's a masterpiece, it may not have been perfectly perfect but I loved it! I highly recommend this drama and hope you'd enjoy it as much as I did :D
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mask
3 of 8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.5
Had all the earmarks for a great drama, what happened?

Story: Not sure who this story was about. MY, SJ, MW, SH? What the heck. False identities, lying, cheat, murder all dangled though-out yet nothing tied together. All these characters were complex and deserved better back stories to pull this story together and allow us to care about them.

Acting: The actress who played duel roles was great. To the extent you read more really thought they were two different people. This level of acting was felt and executed seamlessly. The other person you got drawn to was the villain-husband-pyscho man. The actor performed this with the most taut mask, you grew to like him because he was so convincing and hated. Both of these roles deserve recognition.

Music: OK - nothing that makes me remember this drama

Overall: this drama was about the lies, complex -troubled people, deception and betrayal, all great characteristics of drama. Now all it needed was better writing to make us care about all those folks wearing masks.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Gu Family Book
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Alright, alright. A pretty good combination of fantasy and historical fiction. I thought it was pretty cool they included the legendary Yi Soon-shin as one of the mains.

Now as for the actors, Suzy did a good job in making her character as supportive as she could be along with her outreach to a different genre that doesn't seem like it's in her comfort zone. Lee Seung-gi played really well as a read more character, though his action might need a little more work.

Definitely a drama I would recommend for newbies but pay very close attention. There might be too much details for 24 episodes.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
You're All Surrounded
0 of 3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This drama, I thought was beyond amazing. The acting, made the characters come to life. The theme was a little overused but they told a completely unique story. Overall, a drama I would recommend for law enforcement addicts and to continuing rewatching.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Bridal Mask
2 of 5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 2.5
  • Story 1.0
  • Acting/Cast 2.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
-->In short <-- I only recommend this to people who only care about fanservice and nothing else.


PS : I posted a -->document of 21 pages<-- taking into account the issues (bad writing, bad acting, bad pacing, bad technic) of roughly 10 episodes ; just saying as I am aware of the drama's popularity. So if you are curious, check it out and disagree if you want, we'll discuss it then. Now, read more yes, it is nitpicking sometimes and everything doesn't have to be taken too seriously, but it doesn't change the real issues within.


Before anything :

The moment I saw the image on MDL, I fell in love with it. I wanted to watch it : Zorro ; that was the only thing running through me and I was excited to start it. (not to mention it is typically the type of things I enjoy) The two first episodes confirmed it and despite the presence of a few issues, I was entertained enough to close my eyes on them. Only two episodes...and then everything started to crumble. From episode 3 to 5, the drama lost itself in the turmoil of delievering fanservice and was unable to stand up again, only falling deeper and deeper. And in case some wonder, no, focusing on fanservice is not an excuse for all what's wrong within the show. As I cannot exactly spoil, I won't recap them precisely here (I have a document anyway). But I will "explore" some aspects on this review.


Story :

So what do we have ? A Zorro-like concept : a man with a mask, the icon of the (future) rebellion ; a lot of fictions of this genre approach that through a manicheist perspective and aren't exactly always accurate in term of historical facts. Bridal Mask is not an exception to that ; so if you want to know more about the annexion of Korea avoid it, it would bring you as much as reading heroic fantasy to try to understand Middle Age better (I feel it is necessary to point it out because I've come across a few people actually thinking they'd know more thanks to this drama). But let's come back to the manicheism. Like everything, it is the way you use something that determines if something is good or bad/well done or not. In BM, if in the first episodes it was correctly pulled, it quickly seems as though the scenarist has run out of ideas or has forgotten as how to us it or show it : it feels forced, random and each time it is done - several time per episode - an inch of credibility is lost. Unsurprisingly, it quickly becomes impossible to take the "villains" seriously, or giving them credits.

This, the unability to use any tools properly, the randomness, the feeling everything is forced and dragged, every aspect of the story suffers from it : turning in circles, repetitivity, incoherences, inconsistences, plot holes, way too many sub-plots open and abandonned (sometimes even 5 minutes afterward, leading to new incoherences), painful conviniences and more. I won't start making a list, the document you can find on the page of the drama is there anyway. If you are curious and aren't too sensitive to nitpicking and innocent mockering, you can always give a look at it before continuing the review.

I'll be frank, past the two first episodes, nothing is to be saved in the story. But instead of only counting them, I'll try to explain why it has come to that : the system of dramas. Most dramas are shooted "live" ; meaning : they shoot an episode a few days before it is broadcasted and only has a few days again to shoot the next one, and so on. One of the main reason of it is simple : the reception. The reception of a drama, episode per episode, is extremly important and will lead to readjustment depending of the complaints/liking of the fans. A lot of dramas have a heavy place for fanservice, it isn't exactly an issue in itself, the issue is when a fiction is led solely by fans. Most fans want to be serviced, the rest is of little mattering ; therefore following fans is the best way to ruin your story : the coherence and the consistence. Most dramas suffer from the importance of audience and fanservice, but are able to avoid falling too much into it ; and then you have cases like Bridal Mask, dramas which don't "suffer" from them, but are simply ruined by them. If you ever came across a fiction where you follow the life of a writer or scenarist, the chance is high there will be an episode dedicated to "following fans desires/advice" and the inevitable result : this type of episode are a message to fans, but also a warning to future writers/scenarists. That warning, that message, BM disregarded it, and fell into the inevitable pit.

But then, it'd be too easy to only blame the 'fanservice and audience at any cost' temptation ; BM has a second issue : its lenght. 28 episodes...one hour each....28 hours...it is a lot and you better have a story able to fill in this amount of time. A lot of dramas suffer from their lenght too, but BM, once more, is a perfect example of the trouble it represents and is part of its ruins. I said it before, but the story is very repetitive. You might point out that the "episodic" structure instead of an "arc" one would explain and justify it, but, like for manicheism, there's a way to do it properly. The episodic structure requires the ability to pull each time a new variante fo the same structure, so that even if it is to some extent repetitive, it is at the same time enough "new" that it remains interesting and entertaining. BM doesn't seem to know how to use it, the "episodic" structure use the exact same situations with the exact same characters with the exact same results for over half of the episodes ; there's no variante, and apart from giving away a feeling of repetitivty and dragging the drama doesn't achieve much. Ten episodes maximum would have been more than enough to tell everything with a calm pace, giving you the opportunity to "lose" some time on less important matters or explore sub-themes. 7, if you want a well paced story (I say that in regard of the content of BM). The rest is nothing more than an inconsistent dog running all over the place to come home by the end of the day and doing the exact same running again the day after.

Another issue from this live system : it has naturally an impact on the writing itself : there are two possibilities : you either have a build story beforehand or you have a very thin red line and adjust with the weeks ; in both cases, you suffer from audience and fanservice ; in the second case, the chance is high you'll suffer even more from it. Writing a script week by week isn't an easy task, if you have nothing to base yourself on (a build story) how do you want to produce something consistent or coherent ? In any case, such a rushed system cannot develop the potential of any fiction to its best, it can only harm it.

Lastly, as strange as it may sound to some of you, the budget had an impact on the story. The numbers of locations can be counted on your fingers. If they could have, they'd have certainly had more and if they had more, those 28 episodes would have felt less repetitive and the scenarist would have had more opportunities to vary the story. Certainly, if the drama had been less long, that issue would have also been reduced (everything is tied together in a way or another). With such a shortage of locations, their overuse on such a long run is inevitable and the writer can only work with what he/she has at his/her disposal ; however, there remains some locations which could have been used less in favor of others ; for example, the torture chamber in the police station, which turns closer to a running gag than any potential seriousness it should have. This clear limitation on budget only increases the fact having less episodes would have improved the fiction greatly.


Esthetic/Soundtrack :

If there's one place where budget was well put, though, is the esthetic and the soundtrack.

Most dramas don't put much money in their soundtrack, BM, however, has a worked on and varied (compared to most dramas) soundtrack ; a real pleasure to the ears and several memorable themes. However, I cannot help but wonder how much impact on the quality of the story there would have been if they had put less money into that aspect to use it to increase the locations (and therefore improve the story).

The same can be said about the esthetic, the choice of costumes, the decoration, all those kind of details are a nice sight, despite the historical inaccuracies, and yet, giving less money for it and more for locations, once more the drama would have generally benefited from it.

Because of that, those two positive points contain that bittersweet taste of "only if". A budget is always limited ; knowing how to use it well is important and it is more important to have a minimum of quality in each era than to boost some and ignore more mattering one which will impact the general quality negatively.

As an adding, if there's no real shot issues, the montage is very often painful to watch with its flashbacks and transitions ; like everything, there are ways to use them. For the flashbacks, they are used as fillers more than to help the watcher (when they don't bring up incoherences) – another proof there’s way too many episodes for what the story has to offer - and for the transitions, it is often purely a misuse that requires going back to cinema school as it seems to forget its basics.


Characters/Actors :

Like most things, in the two first episodes, everything is fine and clear, there was no issue whatsoever but then episodes 3-5 arrive and throw in a huge mess and the characters don’t survive from it to. Between the sudden and unexplained personality switch from some characters, you have others which you can perceive what was trying to be done with them (mainly the two main males of the cast), but fail miserably at it : once again, when a character changes/evolves naturally, due to what has occurred around him/her or to him/her, there are ways to do it (as annoying it may sound) ; in this case they are off-screen, if you want to be nice, or purely none existent, if you are less nice, leading to incoherent and inconsistence characters (once again, proof of that in the document). And even by being nice, the inconsistency remains in almost every conversation, switching from traits to another without as close as a reason other than dragging purposes. It’s also good to notice that charas have “traits”, they are very far to have any type of psychology ; so if you are the type to enjoy your charas to have a minimum of psychology, it’d be better to avoid this, or else be prepared for headache. Which, considering they had 28 episodes, is a shame and inexcusable, they had more than time to develop their main cast properly. For the drama’s credit, the two last episodes try to give Shunji some senses again, to show us there actually was “something”, but far too late to make up the over 20 episodes inconsistency and simply too superficial to even matter in the end.

Thanksfully, in a way, not all characters suffer from inconsistencies, what is saddening, though, is that the only consistent characters are underdeveloped secondary characters.

As for trying to figure out what messed up the characters so much, basically for the same reasons as why the story was messed up ; it is linked, of course, so I won’t repeat what I’ve said already.

For the actors, I do not know if they are good or bad actors, and sorry to say that it doesn’t matter in the slightest ; what matters is their performance in this actual show. It is the same as for the characters : inconsistent characters can only lead to a sloppy performance ; consistent characters is the best way for an actor to actually play well. Luck for some actors being unlucky to play the inconsistent one, there were times they were able to actually act well, Kang To’s crying for example, it isn’t so easy as some think to be convincing ; Shunji is sometimes good at acting crazy….but then….it is, on the opposite, far easier to play as some would think, so I cannot praise him for it. However, I can actually praise the actor for trying harder in the last episodes, but once again, too late to make up for anything. A few consistent characters don’t have the luck to be played by decent actors though ; Katsuyama for example – which explains why he pretty much is part of the decoration (and his erasing from the plot wouldn’t have any impact, ironically as I did enjoy…his look, but I do not let my hormones control myself) – is played by someone I suspect to not even be an actor ; I could have forgiven it as his fighting performance seem real, but as he’s basically never really used in the plot anyway, his presence is quite useless. Well, apart from being a nice sight, but I tend to expect more from a character than to remain a pleasant decoration.

But then again, the current drama system hardly makes it able for its actors to perform at their best : overheavy schedule, lack of time, rushed shooting ; how are they supposed to play properly in those conditions ? And furthermore, how can they when the characters they are supposed to play lack consistency ? This all might annoy you, but too many people are unaware of the growing black point the drama system represent for its fictions, BM just is a perfect embodiment of most of its issue.


Overall :

It is simple, I enjoyed the two first episodes ; I enjoyed writing up everything wrong with the show and I was actually hesitating between 1.5 and 3.5 for the final rating of the show ; but the last 6-8 episodes were a chore and nothing pleasant to them ; not even the nice esthetic and soundtrack were enough. It is neither something I’ll ever rewatch nor something I’d actually recommend. Nothing in the show is able to save it as an average show either. Overall, it is one of those bad fictions that get popular for bad (/no) reasons.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Fallen Angel
0 of 3 people found this review helpful
by reki
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
The psychological theme of the show was something I found really interesting and one of the main reason I continued to watch the show even though I was a bit confused with the first two episodes. The acting was pretty good and I kind of liked the music used
I would defiantly re-watch this show and I would love a second season to be honest.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions