Room Alone: The Series
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 hours ago
3 hours ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
So... Room Alone ist about people (students) who are somehow lonely. It tackles exactly 10 stories of 10 habitants of a condo.

I kind of liked it? It wasn't extremely special in some kind but it is a really good lakorn in it's genre. These days the theme internet gets more and more attention in movies, series and books. And this lakorn was about it. Facebook, Instagram, Line and Tinder (!) were read more the means to get to know each other to communicate with each other. You could see yourself in the characters.

They were ordinary stories every could relate to one of them or more and the actors did a good job, as everything seemed really natural, they were just some students who felt lonely in this society.

The music was good for those pats that I listened to them, it didn't disturb the flow or was annoying (like in some tw & k-dramas).

You should watch it if you want more GMM, youth dramas, light fluffy dramas :D
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Eccentric Daughter-in-Law
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 hours ago
6 hours ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Could have been a really good rom-com.

I finished this drama maybe about a month ago and I've been meaning to write this review, so when I finally looked to see what I had rated it, I was surprised. Until I started remembering the audacity of some of the characters. The unbelief and frustration I felt was too overwhelming for me to rate this drama any higher than a 7.5.

The Eccentric read more Daughter-in-Law is about this female idol named Oh In Yeong who's popularity is seriously declining. So the CEO of her agency decides to put her in a reality show about fake mother-in-laws and daughter-in-laws. They fake marry her off to this math professor (who's gotta be in his mid-thirties), named Cha Myeong Seok. In Yeong and Myeong Seok don't like each other at first, but obviously end up falling in love, and obviously the mother is opposed. Now, all of this is fine and dandy, it makes for a good rom-com setup. BUT, this drama is filled with hypocrisies tht I just cannot accept.

Before I even address the hypocrisies, let me focus in on the two other stories being told throughout this. The CEO of In Yeong's agency is married to Myeong Seok's sister, and his own mother is the reason my rating is not significantly higher. His mother has got to be the worst mother-in-law I've ever seen, and his wife is so passive that it gets to be too ridiculous to handle. Not to mention tht he's a terrible husband to boot. The other story is of Myeong Seok's brother and his wife, and how the wife didn't want to be a housewife anymore (and I LOVED tht story, until they made it about how the wife was a terrible wife and mother).

Anyways, when I mentioned hypocrisies, I meant those of the mother-in-laws. Ok, so this drama focuses in on two mother-in-laws, the first being In Yeong's fake mother-in-law, and the second being her agency's CEO's mother. They are both HORRIBLE to their daughter-in-laws, especially the latter. Another unlikable trait of this drama are the male characters. Like, why are they so lame?! The male lead is in his mid-thirties, yet he still lives at home with his mother, and he still needs her permission of who he's allowed to marry. It's unbelievable. And his brother, who is basically living off his wife, is made to look pitiful, while really he's just a loser. The CEO guy has got to be the most unlikable of all the male leads, because he only listens to his mommy, who he knows is terrible to his wife. All these things really frustrate me and bring down the rating to an otherwise pretty good rom-com.

Oh, I forgot to mention how the characters have NO CHEMISTRY. None whatsoever. I mean, some of the scenes are cute, but the chemistry is seriously lacking. Not one character has any romantic chemistry with one another. I thought Dasom was great as In Yeong tho, she did a really good job. The girl who played the real daughter-in-law was good too, and the mother-in-law was alright, but other than tht i didn't like the casting very much. On a positive note, this drama is really funny. And I do think it's marathon-worthy (it's only 12 episodes).

All in all, the Eccentric Daughter-in-Law is not a terrible drama, it's just really frustrating. Definitely not a must-watch, but if you like Dasom from Sistar or just rom-coms in general, then I'd say give it a shot.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Reply 1988
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 hours ago
10 hours ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Definitely one of the best dramas that I've seen in a long time, it went all the way up to my top list of favourites of all times.
Since the beginning till the end, I laughed, cried, got sad, angry, felt all the feelings that the characters felt.Their hurts, sadness, achievements... You truly get involved with the story of every character.

This one I'll certainly re-watch. It made me go back in read more time, specially for someone that is from the 80's.
Usually family dramas can get a little dull after a while, but not with this one.

I'll recommend to everyone that wants to laugh with the foolishness, the comic moments. Anyone that wants to relive the first love, get angry with the troubles of life and shed tears of happiness.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Somewhere Only We Know
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 hours ago
11 hours ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
I admit, I started watching for Kris, but I actually found myself getting more emotionally invested in the grandmother's story than the modern storyline. There is a really great message at the end of the movie that honestly made me tear up. The cinematography is wonderful as well, especially since the backdrop is Prague.
The story itself was pretty slow for the first half of the movie. I would've given this movie read more a 6, but the last twenty-ish minutes gave it a huge boost. It picked up speed and tied all the loose ends together.
Everyone in the cast was great, save for the female lead. She's not a bad actress, but I just didn't feel connected to her throughout the movie.
This was a beautiful movie with a touching message at the end. There are two storylines that are interlaced throughout the movie in a way that makes sense. As I said before the ending is amazing, and there were no loose ends. I'd definitely recommend giving this a try!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Baby & I
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
24 hours ago
24 hours ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.5
This is my first review in MDL. Earlier i have written few reviews in IMDB. But its first time here.


PLUS POINTS in movie

Main characters action
Jang geun suk is good as always. Earlier i have seen in You are Beautiful. He always does his best in cute characters. so same here. Character development done by him is really good and believable. i dont want to add more details coz i read more wll be spoiling the story.
song ha yoon played nerdy character. she was sweet and cute. jang geun suk parents were lovely

Comedy
Babys voice was hilarious and there are good comedic elements. But movie is not as funny as trailer seems. so be aware of it

MINUS POINTS
Story did not seem original to me and it was cliche and boring at some parts. Pace of the story is not great .I have seen many stories about single mom and also teen mom. Its first time to see a teen dad story. but i bet story is not original, probably inspired from some where

Music was fine i guess, i didnot notice it much

i normally to tend to rewatch stories which are new to me and i feel extraordinary. so i probably wont rewatch this.

But OVERALL movie was good for one time watch. U can watch it in between watching some serious emotional drama to balance mood swings
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love Me if You Dare
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
by Zoe
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
From start to finish, this drama is solid. No waffling!
The drama is really one of the best when it comes to depicting the serious content. It never felt like it was trying too hard to make me feel. It was simple but effective.
I liked that other characters had strong deductive reasoning as well. It's not all about the god-like Professor Bo.
The plot has a twist! How I love twists. read more The lead up to the ending is really thrilling. Oh so good.

Jin Yan
“Are you using Li Xun Ran's life to gamble with me?”
“Analysing the mind of a perverted madman is my job, not a gamble.”

I think this is the first time I was convinced that the hero wasn't necessarily trying to be mean, he was just speaking his mind. Jin Yan is very direct. He is not good with people. I like that he's not picky about cleanliness or order. Most of the time, characters with his type of personality will be meticulous and OCD, but that's not really his thing.
Jin Yan's straight face is actually quite comical. The actor makes use of body language to give his character a lot of personality. His forwardness means he can ask questions that progress the relationship along quicker but as the viewer you're not really sure what it means that he's asked.
He also has a bit of a naughty side that he delivers so deadpan I can't help but laugh.

“You kissed the President?”
“Yes. During the climax of catching the criminal, I went out of my way to kiss my own sister. Are you thinking that I left my IQ and morality behind?”

Jin Yan is such a great character. It's hard to describe him. He is stiff, but never boring. He cares but is never kind. He's blunt and a little mean but not rude. He is open to learning more about “normal people” but on his terms. His progression into a human is really subtle and fabulous. I loved the unraveling of his personality. He smiles a lot to himself which makes him more accessible. He's not a diva.
I think the interesting thing about him, is that most Korean heroes have the two sides to them, but for Jin Yan, even when he is acting cute, he is still intimidating and even when he's humbly following instructions.
I like that he doesn't think he's a monster. That he knows full well who that title goes to. And the drama also emphasises how he doesn't identify with the murderers. That even though he understands them it's because of talent not because of some sinister connection or that there's something wrong with him.

Romance
This is probably my first time that I swooned over the heroine's romantic lines rather than the hero's. But Yao Yao's beautiful delivery was really touching.
Jin Yan is pretty much always respectful towards Yao Yao which is something you can't say of many heroes. And I like that he appreciates her intelligence and seeks out her input on the cases.
The pair have a very functional relationship right from the beginning. Their dynamic is really enjoyable.
I liked the flirty undertones and how Jin Yan really conveys his admiration for Jian Yao. I love that in a hero. He trusts her.
As the drama goes on, he becomes more relaxed and funny.
However, when he really starts to pursue her, I found the romantic activities a little jarring. It was almost like he had no heart in it, but rather was using formula as a means to an end.
However, once they get together, the drama moves away from focusing on their relationship. I was glad for that because romantic Jin Yan is kind of creepy.

Zi Yu
Zi Yu at first seems like the stereotypical sidekick. He's a good sidekick. He knows Jin Yan's quirks well. I love the little conversation he had with Yao about his best friend.
“His emotional intelligence is basically zero.”

He has some really awesome moments when he's got Jin Yan's back.

Jian Yao
This heroine is amazing. She's very firm right from the start. Unafraid to be a little rude but isn't bratty at all. She doesn't fall for any of Jin Yan's games (not that he plays a lot) and she can give him a fine and sophisticated setdown.
As one of the characters says, Jian Yao is both book smart and street smart which is refreshing in a heroine.
Despite considerable desensitisation to serial killer plots, I was terrified right along with Jian Yao.
I felt Jian Yao's horror towards Jin Yan but similar to her, also felt the curiosity of the mystery and the intrigue of the hunt.
She's efficient and capable.
Towards the second half of the drama, her character sort of withers away. She doesn't become annoying, she just becomes very unimportant to the plot.

It's been a while see a drama really gripped me. I was looking for a drama that would cheer me up and was trying for all the comedies, but nothing worked like the satisfaction of a good drama regardless of genre.

P.S. The book that this drama is based on is really good. You can read how Fu Zi Yu and Jin Yan become friends. It's awesome.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Full House
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
If you're looking for a cute, fluffy, and lighthearted drama, then this one is for you! This drama/lakorn is so well made and pretty much gave me a high on feels. It was THAT good.
The cinematography was amazing, and can definitely compete with that of kdramas. The color palette was refreshing and gave a nice laid back feel to the drama.
The story itself was told in a relatively good pace. read more It gave a lot of time for the development of their relationship and you can really see how they fall in love. The downside to it, however, is that it felt a tiny bit dragged out during the middle, but it definitely did not affect the show too much. It held my interest and just seeing them interact is enough to keep watching.
As if you needed another reason to watch, the main actors were amazingly casted. Mike is so so so hot and Aom is super pretty. Plus, they have the best onscreen chemistry. For the drama, they sang a song for the ost, so you know the music is good.
To conclude, I would definitely recommend watching this!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Pasta
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
My description for Pasta: Simple, Sweet, Realistic yet Very Entertaining!

If you're tired watching some complicated mellow-dramas and wanting to watch something fresh, then you should watch Pasta for sure!

I praise the writer for writing a great plot :) each episode sure give us something new to learn, and for me, every scene is scripted so well. I love the conflicts in the kitchen that makes the kitchen 'alive'.

My thumbs read more up goes to the actors too, our lovely couple on screen: Chef Choi Hyun Wook and Seo Yoo Kyung. They're portray each character strongly and naturally, and i love all the lovey-dovey scenes when they are together. Not-so-overboard, but always sweet!

One thing that i regret "Why do i watch this great drama in 2016? I'm super late." if i knew it's this great, i would watch this one sooner.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ho Goo's Love
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I was so pleasantly surprised by Ho Goo's Love. At first I wasn't impressed at all, and It definitely took a while for me to warm up to the characters. A naive character falling in love with a cold hearted character is a standard K Drama formula, so I couldn't imagine how this could cause so many reviewers to describe it as "original". Wild imaginings... frustrating misunderstandings... high school flashbacks... secret crushes... read more All of this has been done in so many other dramas, so why is this one special? Well, for me, there was a moment that took me so by surprise that I just had to watch the next episode immediately. From that point on I was hooked.

In a lot of ways this is a conventional rom-com, but the love stories themselves are definitely unconventional. Sure there is a love triangle, that turns into a rectangle, but it's a refreshing approach that got me more invested with each episode. There's also one main character, who doesn't say a word, who was the true star of this love story, at least to me.

The cast is really awesome, though I will admit that my least favorite was Uee. She did a good job, but I just didn't like her as much as the other main characters. I admit that her "revised" look was distracting. I can't really say anything bad about her performance, but I was only interested in seeing her on screen with Choi Woo Shik, who she did have great chemistry with.

Choi Woo Shik, on the other hand, totally won me over. I thought he would be too silly to take seriously, at first, but he was the perfect balance of sweetness, and seriousness, to make me fall for Hoo Goo's charm. Im Seul Ong won me over too, when I swore I would hate him. Kang Cheol flips conventional arrogance on it's head, which makes him an awesome character. My favorite cast member turned out to be Lee Soo Kyung, who I was surprised to see was so much younger than the rest of the cast. She was so good as Ho Gyeong, also the only character that I liked from the very beginning, and I am looking forward to seeing much more from her.

I should also give an honorable mention to Ho Goo's parents, who I thought were really great too! The cast, as a whole, really had great chemistry too!

Even though I loved the cast, and the love stories, I could not give the story a super high score. To me, even with all it's originality, there were a few too many clichés, and preachy moments. Though I would consider this a light drama, it does touch on some very serious topics, though only lightly. I'm sure certain topics are more serious when considering Korean culture. I wonder if any controversial moments went over my head because of cultural differences. I am sure being American is what made some of the moments feel so preachy to me.

The music? Well, it didn't really stand out to me, which makes it neither good, nor bad.

Would I watch it again? Sure! Some of the charm will be lost, now that I know what's happening, but there are so many moments that I could watch again. Immediately after the last episode, I had the urge to flash back to my favorite scenes (I'm still laughing about one kiss reaction in particular).

Overall, I would recommend this drama, especially to those looking for a good love story. It's also a much funnier, and lighter drama than the subject matter suggests. They don't take certain topics as far as they could have gone, but I applaud them for going there at all. I also liked the ending, and what it had to say about relationships in general.

I say, give it a chance, and wait until at least episode 5, if you're not convinced that you will like it. It took me about that long to really get into it, and now that it's over, I really miss it. Add me among those who consider this an underrated drama. I'm so glad I found out about it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Modern Farmer
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
If you're looking for a drama that makes you laugh out loud and clutch your stomach, Modern Farmer is PERFECT. This drama had me on the verge of tears - not because of sadness, but because my stomach hurt from laughing. Modern farmer was quirky and unrealistic, a light hearted show with little to no serious scenes. It was a nice break from reality. I would highly recommend it to anyone who read more want to forget their problems and laugh their socks off.

The plot definitely odd, but not complex. The basis of the show is strange, but other than that it's pretty straight forward - not really the anxiety inducing, constantly-at-the-edge-of-your-seat kind of ordeal. What really makes this drama so lovable are the whimsical characters in a whimsical country town and their relationships with each other. This show is more family/friends/comedy focused than romance or melodrama, and the relationships between the characters are adorable and interesting. It doesn't score very high on the romance scale (There was no kiss scene - UGH), but I didn't really mind. It was interesting regardless. My only complaint was the ending. It wasn't terrible, and in fact, it was strangely realistic, but realism isn't why I watched the rest of this drama, so I didn't understand the writer's intentions; there were so many loose ends and it was rather irritating. It kind of devalued the "don't give up on your dreams" theme. You'll know what I mean when you watch it. However, this didn't change the fact that I loved this drama and I would've watched it regardless of the ending.

The acting and cast was perfect, and a lot of the characters were purposely overdramatic, but it wasn't a bad thing. It fit the show and only enhanced the comedy. Lee Min Ki definitely fit this role, and I want him to be in roles similar to this in the future - he just doesn't suit serious characters for me (Bride of the Century, anybody?) Anyway, every actor seemed like they were born to play the character that they played in this drama and I loved it!

Okay, this drama has Lee Min Ki, so music had to be good. And it was. It suit the show to a tee and I even downloaded When Love Comes by Infinite. The music was bright and happy. I do plan on rewatching this show, or at least the funny parts, because it always makes me laugh. It's perfect for a slow day.

Overall, I loved this show, and while it doesn't reach the apex of quality dramas, it's definitely one of the best light hearted dramas I've watched. I highly recommend it! All your worries will melt away~ <3
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Double Kitchen
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
The drama had a lot of potential. Unfortunately, the story became quite repetitive. This was a comical look at what it might be like living with a mettlesome mother-in-law. Miyako, the daughter-in-law, is just too tolerant of the constant criticims, in my opinion. There is one episode that is worth watching: The Funeral (Episode 3, I believe(. It is hilarious, almost a Chevy Chase Christmas Vacation level of comedy. Just picture a read more new daughter-in-law assisting with the new grandmom's funeral when she knows no one, but has to make all the funeral arrangements. That episode is a 10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Morrasoom Sawat
0 of 2 people found this review helpful
by mena
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I am glad my cousin got me to watch this because i got hooked! MUST WATCH!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Shuriken Sentai Ninninger
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
So, this is probably one of the weakest sentai seasons out there... it had great potential at first, but it ended up as shallow as it started.
I mean, the first episode was great! Really fun and with nice effects, despite de uninteresting characters and amateurish acting (wich is okay and totally expected for a sentai at the start), but then episode 2 came, and was still nice, but nothing so new read more there, and it went on without any story and character progression up until Star Ninger is introduced.
After they all became allies, it continued the same lame pacing and no story progression as it was before, and went on until the ending, without any real game changer. Just boring to watch, as nothing happens, and characters remain the same as they were in the very first episode.

My advice: watch it if you really like ninjas and don't care about story, because some fights are cool. If not, there's better stuff around.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Let's Eat
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
WARNING: Watching this drama when you are hungry and/or on a diet may be an extremely bad idea. If you do choose to do, accompany each episode with food LOL

As you can tell from the warning, this is a food-based drama so it showcases a lot of foods. Adding to the blend of genres this drama has, it's also a combination of romance, mystery, and comedy. I went into this drama read more expecting very little but ended up being a devout fan. The mystery angle of this drama was very refreshing and the overall pace of the drama was excellent. In my opinion, the romance is very practical with the setup of the characters' circumstances compared to most other K-dramas. It wasn't the main focus of the show but nevertheless the couple was cute on-screen.

I won't lie that I had some negative misconceptions about Doojoon's acting before watching the drama. I didn't expect a lot but his acting is fantastic here and he gave the role some great justice. As for Lee Soo Kyung, I was already a fan of her acting since "Call of the Country." Her acting skills never fail to impress me. The other characters were lovable as well and I'd say that everyone's action was smooth like butter, almost very natural. It shows the maturity of the actors in the show with the direction of the production.

The OST for this drama is something I'll say. A hilariously catchy song by K.Jun is the main insert. I can't believe I ended up liking this song so much. It shows how much of a dork I can be but I thoroughly enjoyed the music in this.

Overall, tasty drama with some elements of surprise. It is the kind of drama that you can slowly sink into. Definitely a recommended watch for all kinds of drama watchers.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sungkyunkwan Scandal
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.5
Honestly, I don't know what should I write here... I liked the plot, the show was funny and entertaining, the characters interesting and the actors play was top-noch, really amazing. :D
But in the last episodes I just had that feel that I don't even need to watch this to know what will happen, it was immediately obvious, predictable: scenes, dialogs... So sometimes I was just fast-forwarding video.
On a final note, read more it is a good show, some people may get bored sometimes, but this that won't I can sincerly say that it won't be a lost time. So regardless of some factors that I disliked I still recommend this drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions