Good Doctor
0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 hour ago
1 hour ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 5.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
On the whole, this was an enjoyable, heartwarming show.

My issue with the show is how the story basically plodded along. I could see from the outset what kind of story was aiming to tell and the tone it wanted to set. But because it was written to be heartwarming and lesson-teaching, there was little drama, and the story didn't have strong peaks and valleys. It became predictable and boring at times. read more Some relationships were not properly developed, so the way the relationships played out or were resolved by the end of the show were not very convincing to me.

Joo Won is naturally the star of the show, since he plays an unconventional character in the Korean drama world. At times I was moved by his character, at others, I was frustrated. I particularly enjoyed Joo Sang Wook's character, Professor Kim. It's my first time watching Joo Sang Wook in a major role, and I think he put in a good performance. I can understand why he has previously been always cast in the CEO role.

At times, the music was quite jarring.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Gloria
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
by Rule
Other reviews by this user
8 hours ago
8 hours ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.5
while browsing what to see, I discovered this drama.
When I started watching I was so happy to find an interesting and captivating drama.
It started out very well, and keeps you interested and wanting more.
Then half way through......kept going downhill to the point I started skipping episodes and putting one finger on the ff button.
The story which started out so interesting, developed into a predictable and boring mess.
Finally read more I completed it although nothing was novel and surprising...just knew how it would end.
The cast is quite good, although there seemed no chemistry between the couples...maybe the second couple was better than the main...so sad.
Anyway..if you watch this enjoy the first half, then skip skip skip to the end..you wont miss much.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Gap Dong
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 hours ago
10 hours ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
So.. I was wavering whether I should write a review or not as I'm really bad at expressing my opinion.. also it seems that most of the reviewers had positive opinions about this drama... but.. I'll try..

To begin with, this drama had a lot of potential when it started airing. At first I didn't think that the cast for this drama was chosen wisely, but I was soooo wrong. All the read more actors were just amazing, and they suited their characters very well. The story was so captivating that it'd could have been used for a block buster movie! Cameramen did a great job too and the music added the thrill to each scene

BUT

it all changed. From a possibly block buster it went down to the amateur level after ~10/12 episodes (I'm talking about the writer's choices and the plot only). It became boring, lame and ridiculous. I hope this is not a spoiler but... come on!... A psycho serial killer going out from and back in to the jail like it was a hotel or something... A detective with a mentality of a 5th grader, getting himself into troubles wherever he goes... and many more....

I have to admit that after 15th episode I watched this drama just to finish it, just to see the ending. I'm not even counting how many dialogues or crying scenes I've skipped... And the ending... it was a huge disappointment...
They could have made and awesome drama with 16th episodes, but they were greedy and stretched it out to 20th. That was a mistake in my opinion. A mistake which ruined everything..

Anyway, if you want to see how bad can writers fail when they're greedy for the spotlight.. you can watch this drama.. otherwise... it's a waste of time :/
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Triangle
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 hours ago
13 hours ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I just finished Triangle after stopping it previously. It defeated my expectations. It wasn't a typical drama but you did know what was going to happen. The story line was pretty interesting as I had not seen one like it before in a kdrama. The whole Casino Scene was a pleasant to watch because it's different than taking over a clothing or jewelry business. We kinda lost all that at the end read more but it still kept the same feeling. The cast was really excellent and I cried so much for Baek Jin Hee just to be happy. They picked some good villains too. You will cry when you see this drama. Cry for the actors. The music was spot on and that also made me cry too. I would not rewatch again because It didn't give me enough feels to watch it again. I was just so angry with just every episode something bad happening and even in the last episode. It just irks me to no extent seeing people get away with murder in a kdrama So I would not rewatch for that reason. Overall you should watch it because its like most poor boy gets rich dramas with interesting elements. I really like to learn about new professions in dramas so it's nice to learn a little bit about gambling and that business aspect.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
I Hear Your Voice
1 of 4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
15 hours ago
15 hours ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Muito bom, história muito boa e com atores que entraram no papel mesmo! Pra mim foi o melhor dorama que eu já vi até hoje.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Taiyo to Umi no Kyoshitsu
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
17 hours ago
17 hours ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I chose this drama because the plot seemed entertaining. I was expecting the usual Japanese school drama. You know the fluffy, silly comedy. What I got was so much better. This is a story about a teacher who comes to a high school by the seashore and shakes up the daily routine of the students and faculty there. Yeah, I know. That plot has been done before, numerous times. What makes this read more drama different and special though, is the way the story is told. We get to know and care about each individual student. We watch each one face obstacles and also learn about thier hopes and dreams. We see them gradually start opening thier hearts and minds to Sakurai Sensei, and to the world around them. Ultimately, we watch them grow up, experience joy and grief.

What is really interesting, also, is that this drama shows how the education system is warped in Japan. How many schools focus only on teaching what is on the exams for the sole purpose of getting the most students into prestigious universities while neglecting to teach other educational material, such as history and physical education for example. This no doubt creates enormous pressure on students to devote themselves to studying, ignoring everything else.

Out of all the high school themed dramas I have watched so far, Taiyo to Umi no Kyoshitsu is by far one of the most realistically portrayed dramas. I highly, highly reccommend this to anyone looking for heartwarming, coming of age drama without all the over the top silliness.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Heirs From Another Star
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
24 hours ago
24 hours ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Ok I'll just start off by saying even through its a parody remake... it wasn't actually that bad...
The only storyline that was similar was the fact that he's a rich son of a big company and that they go to a rich school. Other than that nothing was similar to the heirs or YCCFTS. The main guy just time travelled.
This drama actually had SO MUCH POTENTIAL if they made it read more into a proper drama... it could have turned out to be a really good drama if it wasn't for its super duper short eps. I actually liked how the story played out, its just its way too short so everything is rushed...
Also due to low production, some scenes were pretty fake.. but i generally don't mind that

acting
So i've personally never seen any of the actors/actresses before so it was a nice experience

music
The music surprised me alot, I really like the opening song and I plan to download it.
The other tracks were great as well.

Rewatch
Yea it was a nice experience but it was so short, finished it before i even realise whats going on.
I still might rewatch it.

All in all, i'm so just agitated about the fact that this drama had so much potential expect due to low production or whatever the reason its just a short short drama with eps thats like 15mins long.
People who have the time and is interested in the story can sure check it out. It doesn't take that long. Trust.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Surplus Princess
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
This show was probably not for everyone, but I sure enjoyed it throughout its run. Though the ending did feel a little rushed, I was happy with it overall. If it had been planned for 10 episodes from the start, I think it would have managed better.

My Rating: 8.0

In Short: Bottom line: This show was really funny! I liked its absurd approach to humor and parodies. I also really liked read more that this drama was just as much about friendship and life goals as it was about love. I like ambiguous love triangles that happen naturally, and was satisfied with the developments.

Pros: The hilarious parodies and cute characters made this drama for me. I also quite like a supernatural twist, as well as a modern twist to old stories.

Cons: This drama had an unfortunate episode cutdown. This resulted in a somewhat rushed ending, where the last 5 minutes were basically nonsensical for me.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Miss Granny
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
i watched this bcos of Shim Eun Kyung's award, thought if she won an award, her portrayal of the character must have been good. was not disappointed, SEK was brilliant in her performance and she delivered a charming young lady w remnants of her old self and i cld empathize with the character. some parts comical, some parts cliche, but a v enjoyable movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Pink Lipstick
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This was one of the very first drama I've ever watched and completed. 149 episodes in my mind was a bit too long. I think they could've wrapped up this entire drama with 20 episodes and it would have just been fine.

If you like drama that drags and takes forever to get to the point then you may be able to put up with this drama. The drama was alright, but read more it was just way too long.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Blade Man
0 of 3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I was so excited to hear that Lee Dong Wook is in another drama. With his excellent acting in Hotel King, I couldn't wait to watch this drama. I was a little hesitant since the actress didn't do such a great job in When a Man Loves, but I'm extremely glad that I gave it a chance.

I feel like Lee Dong Wook is going to make his fans super proud of read more him again with another great drama. I love his acting in this one. Probably much more than Hotel King.

The blade power threw me off a bit since I thought it would be something more than just some knife blades coming out of his body. I like the super strength he has. Wish the blades would have been different to match his super power strenght.

The actress I think did so much better with this drama than When a Man Loves. She is much more alive and likable in my mind. Seems like she is too young to pair up with Lee Dong Wook, but as you keep watching it, they do make a cute couple.

I think this is a fun drama too watch. I like it and can't wait for the next episodes to come!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Time Spiral
8 of 8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 5.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
This drama had a lot of potential, given the plot and the cast. However, it never delivered. For one thing, it never made sense, and just when you thought it might, that everything will fit and come together, it cheaps out and just makes even less sense. There are gaping plot holes and I'm left wondering if it's actually the drama or if that's truly how the book upon which it is read more adapted from was written. One glaring flaw, for example, is that the whole explanation of how the time travel happens is never explained nor addressed. I have never seen a drama or movie, nor read a book, in which time travel was the theme, that there was never some sort of explanation, no matter how lame. Given that this was the basis of the whole drama, shouldn't some sort of explanation been given?

Acting wise...I was extremely disappointed with Gackt's performance. This man is one of my favorite actors and I think he is highly talented, but in this drama, he seemed like he was merely there and trying hard to stay awake. It was kind of shocking how lifeless and dull his acting was here. Also, and this is minor but annoyed the crap out of me. Never once did his character change clothes. I mean, what? Did he never take a few moments out from time hopping to change his outfit? It never had any wrinkles or stains. Would it have killed the production budget to give the man a couple of outfits to change into like everyone else? The other actors wers ok. Nothing too special here. At least they had adequate changes of clothing, though.

Overall, this drama is watchable, but barely. It could have been so much better had more thought been put into delivering it and more sense made in the plot. Would I reccommend it? Not really. Especially for Gackt fans, don't watch it. It will be a huge disappointment for you.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Trot Lovers
2 of 4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
After seeing some of the low-ish scores other users gave this drama I wasn't sure how well this drama would turn out. I surprisingly zoomed through the 16 episodes and honestly didn't think it was as bad as others had said. Yes there were so many clichés we see in almost every korean drama but I didn't find any faults with them to be honest. I mean, its to be expected.

Plot read more was okay to me, don't know much about trot music. I feel like it had a good start but somehow after it was all finished, I felt as if a few pieces from the story were still missing. As a whole, it was good. But if you stop and think about certain aspects of this drama, you'll realize a lot was left out.

Cast wise, loved them. Eunji is perfect. Has that innocent look but can be strong at the same time. She wasn't an overpowering strong female lead but she didn't need to be and I'm glad she wasn't. This is the first drama I've watched with Hyun Woo and he isn't hard on the eyes that's for sure. His acting was perfect to me. Emotional scenes, comical scenes and all that in between were great. And them together made for a perfect couple with great chemistry! As for Sung Rok, I loved his carefree attitude in the beginning, was a great second male lead. Everyone else was great too, the coach, loan sharks, evil mothers, Byul, managers etc they were all perfect ~

Music, like i said, I don't know much about trot but boy did I fall in love with it with this drama. Sad that their OSTs don't have actual trot but listening to Eunji sing all those songs she did was so soothing.

I'd say the only down point was how the last episode was handled. I felt they spent too much time with (insert kdrama cliche) that by the time the last episode came, they were spending too much time with other drama instead of focusing on the "happy ending" and I'm not going to lie, I wanted more for the ending. It was cute and could make on smile, but I was hoping for more.

Overall, it's a good drama. Glad I watched it and I'll probably come back just to listen to Eunji sing the trot songs ~
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Night Watchman's Journal
2 of 4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
I was utterly disappointed by The Night Watchman. This drama received a decent amount of hype before it started airing, and I was drawn to watch it upon seeing still shots. As a person who kept up with weekly releases, I must say that a huge portion of the drama dragged. What makes me dislike this drama is that they threw a bunch of conflicting motives to try and increase plot tension, read more but I felt that it only deepened the hole they dug themselves due to pacing. In my opinion, if the drama were shortened to 16 or maybe 18 episodes, I would be a little more at ease with the story and its pacing, but that isn't the case. The concept of the story has been done before, but it isn't a bad concept. What makes it a downer is the sub-par execution. With that being said, in the spots where momentum kicks up a notch, this drama does a great job of holding attention (especially in the finale week), but these momentum spikes/increases didn't happen enough.

In terms of acting and cast, I knew no one coming into the drama, but I managed to connect myself with the cast. Casting, in my opinion, was good, but acting consistency severely hurt this crew. Each cast member had long strides of weak performances, from not believable expressions to lack of enthusiasm, but then they had nice spurts of above average acting. This acting/cast portion of rating is sort of a mixed bag of emotions for me, but it definitely isn't as bad as I've seen a lot of people saying it is (nor is it as great as others have said, either).

Music throughout the drama was standard. I heard tracks replayed often and that goes for the BGM as well. While the OST was standard and not much stood out to me, the BGM was very fitting, just overly used, so it lost its sparkle as the drama progressed.

As for re-watch value, I know for a fact that I won't be The Night Watchman. After a while, I felt like I was forcing myself to watch it because I already invested a lot of time into its weekly releases, so I figured I would finish all 24 episodes.

Overall, my stance toward this drama is neutral. I don't regret finishing it since the finale week was that great, but at the same time, the journey to reach this awesome ending was somewhat hellish. I completely understand why watchers dropped this drama by the mass, but I feel if you as a viewer have a stronger tolerance for slow-paced dramas, you might be pleasantly surprised by what The Night Watchman can give you.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Last Cinderella
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I could have ended up really enjoying this drama, but ultimately, it's just average. I only gave Last Cinderella the rating I did because there were some elements in this drama I really enjoyed and appreciated. But overall, this drama just made me roll my eyes half the time, and I really hate that there was no character growth or development for the main character. Sakura is a 40yr old woman who read more is single, never married, and is just an all around slob. She talks like an old man, and doesn't really have any prospects of ever getting married. Not that there's anything wrong with that, more power to her. But she does want to eventually settle down and have a family. Nothings wrong with that either. This 22yr old guy named Hiroto starts to pursue a romantic relationship with her, under false pretenses that he's actually interested in her, when in fact his sister (or step-sister, w/e) put him up to it just so Sakura and Tachibana (the guy Hiroto's sister has a crush on) don't get closer. Ugh, this story already started to make me roll my eyes at this point. I don't want to end up summarizing this drama, but basically it's about a woman who's in the middle stages of adulthood finding love. And that's why this drama is just average, because who really cares.

But I did enjoy the side stories. That was way more interesting to me. It's about Sakura's two friends. One is in a troubled marriage, and the other is a sex addict. I'm not gonna summarize, but trust me, their stories are much more interesting than Sakura's. Sakura herself is a likable character, I just don't agree with her decisions. The ending of this drama was highly disappointing (to me at least). And don't get me wrong, I love Miura Haruma to bits and pieces, but I didn't really enjoy his character here. Hiroto is not a bad guy, in fact, I do like him, but he has absolutely zero chemistry with Sakura (played by Shinohara Ryoko). There kissing/sex scenes were hot, because Miura Haruma is hot, but thts it. Not intriguing at all. And Hiroto's sister is hella annoying. Thts all I gotta say about this drama. Just meh. If ur a fan of Miura Haruma, and thts ur motive for watching this drama, then go ahead, but other than that I see no real reason to watch this. I guess if ur super bored, but there are plenty of better dramas out there. This was just meh.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No