Brown Sugar Macchiato
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 18, 2012
Jun 18, 2012
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 3.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
It's been a long time since I watched this drama, but I remember it to have been OK. It's a fun and light-hearted drama, but the acting isn't really top-notch. From what I've understood, the actors and actresses are part of two groups in Taiwan.
It becomes a bit silly sometimes, and the biggest problem I have with this drama, is that they, in the very end, just hurriedly squeezed in all read more events; it all happened way too fast. Then they tied everything together, and left a few questions unanswered; for example, what happened with Apple's problem? I feel like they should've planned out the script better.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Queen's Classroom
39 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 18, 2012
Jun 18, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Jyoou no Kyoushitsu is a drama which is intense,significant,educative and addictive.
The main attraction of this drama is that it is an exception to the typical school dramas. All Japanese classroom dramas so far have been about the teacher saving the students from their own folly.On the other hand, Akutsu Maya-sensei is the teacher no one ever wants to have.She's Brilliant, manipulative, obsessive, and dead set on making sure that the students read more fall in line with her rules.

Another good point is unpredictability. The Queen's Classroom breaks from traditional drama with an apparently evil teacher who is out to prove that the world is a harsh place, and so is her classroom.She's a cunning and calculative teacher and systematically removes the parental and academic protection the children had enjoyed, and forces them to deal with their problems themselves.

The Queen's Classroom" is an astonishingly well elaborated and smart drama series, which points at the bad condition at Japanese schools or certain deficiencies in Japanese society in general, and does so in a very entertaining way. The show isn't just thought-provoking;it is also very touching, appealing and persuasive concerning its message.

Last but not least is the outstanding cast. Amami Yuki, the actress who plays Akutsu Maya, did exceptionally well in portraying such a devilish teacher. I think it's because She did so well that for the end credits of each episode, they decided to show her after a take and smiling, a facial expression only used when she does something particularly "evil "!!
Shida Mirai did an excellent job as the innocent-minded child. she's incredibly adorable and became my favorite teenage Japanese actress after this drama.
The two specials were indeed very special and did an awesome job in explaining the reasons why the characters acted the way they did.They reveal all they mysteries,answer all the questions and justify all the actions.

I can write so many things in praise of this drama!! But it’s very hard to continue without giving spoilers.

This is a drama which everybody should watch.If you believe that this is a show solely for teenagers or even children, only because almost all of the main actors aren't older than twelve and drop it half way then you are mistaken. It’s only if u watch it till the end then you would realize how ‘not-childish’ this drama is! This series suffers from minor defects in the story line but nothing is perfect and please don't give unnecessary importance to these occasional faults and belittle this great drama.
Although the atmosphere throughout the series is quite dark, Queen's Classroom is actually one hell of an entertaining show!Hope you'll enjoy this wonderful 'monogatari' as much as I did.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love Rain
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 18, 2012
Jun 18, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I have mixed feelings about this drama. Although I did like watching the dual bittersweet love stories, I was also frustrated by it's overall pace. I generally don't mind slow paced storytelling if it enhances the storytelling. My biggest problem with Love Rain is that it felt like it overstayed it's welcome. This drama could have easily been wrapped up in 16 episodes, and If they had simply made this drama shorter, read more my overall score would have been much higher.

Love Rain is basically two typical romance dramas rolled into one. The first 4 episodes are dedicated to the first romance, which begins in the 70's. This couple frustratingly hides their feelings, and has to deal with rivals, which is nothing new in kdrama-land. The pace was slow, and the romance takes an innocent approach, but I was not bored. I was never tempted to skip ahead, and I think the 70's episodes set up the characters, and their conflicts, nicely. The general tone of these episodes was moody, so don't expect a lot of cute flirty scenes in the beginning. Episode 5 is the start of the 2nd romance (my favorite episode), and there is a dramatic change in tone. This romance is your typical bickering-opposites attract story, which includes the quintessential mean meddling mother. It supplies plenty of cute/flirty scenes to give viewers butterflies (epic kiss scene included). The way these two love stories were weaved together is what made this drama feel original. I was interested in watching how both romances would unfold.

the cast is great in the 70's, and in the present day. Im Yoon Ah, Jang Geun Seok, Kim Shi Hoo, and Seo In Guk really pulled off creating two distinct generations of characters. I was impressed with adorable Im Yoon Ah, and doubly impressed by Jang Geun Seok. I expected him to be good, but he really shined in every scene he was in. They also had really great chemistry together. I had no problem believing that Ha Na & Jun were completely different from their identical parents, and I didn't find the fact that they looked so much like them farfetched either, since I have often been called my mother's twin/clone. I thought that the older actors (Lee Mi Sook & Jeong Jin Yeong) were well matched as the older versions of Yoon Hee & In Ha, though their chemistry was much more subdued. I thought the entire cast was good, or at least entertaining (loved the assistant & the flaming gay dude), though I would give Jang Geun Seok his own "10" score if I could.

The direction was great, the cinematography was gorgeous, the music was catchy, and the story was mostly good. Around episode 16 things start to fall apart. It was obvious that the story was being stretched to fill another 4 episodes, so scenes moved incredibly slowly (including the dialogue), and the plot started to become repetitive. Many of these episodes are filled with people barely getting a sentence out, or saying "I'm sorry" over & over again. I kept watching because I still liked the characters, but I would understand if someone dropped this drama at that point. Combined, the last episodes have a few good moments that could have probably fit into one episode (maybe two, maybe...). The final episode tries to bring back some of the spark from earlier on, but by then it was too late for me. I thought the ending was a little too corny. Everything gets resolved, but I wasn't quite satisfied. I also think the older characters deserved an on screen resolution, especially after an epic 30+ year love story. The last moments felt ironically rushed, compared to the other episodes.

The homage Love Rain pays to the movie "Love Story" gives you some idea of what to expect. It's not exactly light hearted, but it's not just a tearjerker either. I never cried while watching, but there were moments that I thought were really touching. I did laugh, so there is enough comedy to balance out all the heartbreak. I don't see myself watching this again in it's entirety, but I already want to rewatch certain scenes. I think I could only recommend this drama to Jang Geun Seok fans, or die hard romance fans. I consider myself sorta both so I was not exactly disappointed. My only real disappointment is that a potentially great drama ended up being just ok.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love So Divine
10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 17, 2012
Jun 17, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This is was a great movie, I'm surprised that it hasn't been reviewed yet! At first the synopsis threw me off a little because of the whole religion issue but I finally came around to watching it and I'm glad I did. By the end of the movie you are laughing and so into the movie that you are rooting for the characters! All around it was a great movie. Hope this helps :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Architecture 101
11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 17, 2012
Jun 17, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I wasn't really expecting anything going into Architecture 101 just because i didnt think a movie about building a house would seem that interesting. However, there was more to it...

First, the plot was a calm one with the building of a house and reconnection of the main characters being the focal point of the present story line. The past storyline gives us important info on how the main characters met(as friends) read more and what were the events that led to their separation (still friends at that point). I really did like the story until the ending. The ending just didn't work for me but i guess you could say it was a realistic one.

Second, I thought this was well casted. UTW & HGI played thier older versions well and they had really good chemistry. As for the younger versions of thier characters Suzy & Lee Je Hoon were adorable and matched well. I know Jo Jung Sook had a very small role but once again he manages to make his character stand out.

Overall the actors are what makes the movie memorable but the ending kind of ruins my overall enjoyment for it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Jun 17, 2012
Jun 17, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I don't know where to begin... so I'll start with a little heads up for you all.

-WARNING-
This is a war movie and it involves violent scenes as well as emotional scenes, labile people (like myself) should not watch this!

The story of these two brothers is incredibly touching as well as it feels realistic to watch. I have only watched one movie with Won Bin (Jin Seok in this movie) read more before watching this and I was stunned by his performance on the screen and I can say that my admiration for him has grown to the skies. Along with Jang Dong Gun (plays his brother Jin Tae) he makes this movie insanely good.
The story, environments and the acting is all outstanding and every emotion is conveyed with precision and feeling behind it. As if all of this wasn't enough the music fits the movie perfectly and it's well timed with the scenes and creates the right mood.

I won't lie, I cried rivers. Especially at the end, but let me tell you, this entire movie is one single tragedy. But what can you expect from a war? This is the reason I had to deduct one point from the "Rewatch value", it takes to much off your heart and soul to watch this, my head aches from all the crying. I would watch it again, but I'll have to wait a while until I'm ready for it again.

Watch and enjoy!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Beethoven Virus
11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 17, 2012
Jun 17, 2012
  • Overall 3.0
  • Story 3.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I know, I'm completely going against every other review and scoring that seems to have been made on this drama, but this is me being honest.

I am a music freak throughout every atom in my body, no lie. Everything I do includes it, and I can find a way to involve music in whatever I'm doing, I will. That's why I was so excited to see this drama, also after reading read more some reviews and ratings of it and seeing that Jang Geun Seok (or however you want to spell his name) was one of the main characters. How could this go wrong?

Apparently in very many ways.
I felt like the screenwriters hadn't really put down much energy in this drama. A lot of events seemed to be repeated over and over again and there wasn't much of a plot in any of the episodes. There were many characters and many side-stories to keep track of. My sister and I were annoyed at the main characters through the entire serie because they were just so stupid and made the wrong decisions all the freaking time. They all seemed too immature for their age.

To not be too pessimistic I have to say that I liked the acting very much, the actors did a great job TRYING to give life to a story that didn't exist. Also, thankfully, the music was very beautiful and sometimes created the mood that the viewer was supposed to feel.
I must also express my love to the cabaret-trumpet-playing-dude (Bae Yong Gi, played by Park Chul Min) who was the funniest person and the mood-maker of this drama.

If you want to watch this drama, you can skip everything and jump to the last episode, I assure you that you will understand everything anyway.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Virgin Snow
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 17, 2012
Jun 17, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I just couldn't stop re watching this film.The Innocent looks of the girl.The way boy looks after her leaving him when she separates from him for the first time in the temple just got me hocked right there.The way they misunderstand each other.the things they do for each other.and the last phrase in the movie when she said" i was waiting as much as you've been waiting ".
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
MARS
17 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 17, 2012
Jun 17, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
1) The reason I watched this:

I had this drama on my PTW list for a long time, I've delaying it for ages then one day, I decided to go fo it.

2) Storyline/Plot:

As a person who haven't read the manga and have no idea about this drama's story, I believe that the storyline was somehow strong.

Positive points:

*The plot was set up in a good way plus the story's read more development was meaningful since it gathered rigid events.
*This is the type of drama that won't let you lose interest in its events simply because mysterious twists were always present.
*This drama's storyline was a great mixture between romance, mystery, psychology and even some little horror moments; that's why I would say that the storyline is rich and enjoyable.
*There were some brilliant suspens moments that would fill you with anticipation and expectations.

Negative points:

*There were some unnecessary events or let's say they were "badly expressed".
*Some moments were really annoying to watch.

Story: 8.5/10

3) Acting/Cast:

*Zhou Vic : he has always been my weakness point but seriously he managed to portray the character in a perfect way.
He completely owned the role whether in sadness, happiness, his gloomy or his cheerful character; he knew how to deliever feelings.

*Hsu Barbie : As an actress she had a good show but I can't say the same about her character which took the wrong turn sometimes.

*The chemistry was one of the greatest chemistries that I've seen so far. I enjoyed every scene they had together.
*The rest of the cast was cool too plus their acting skills were good too.

Cast: 8/10
Acting: 8.5/10

4) The ending:

It one of those endings which anyone would love to see on screen. Overall it was good enough.

The ending: 8/10

5) My impression (How did it afect me):

*It's true that I had to skip some parts in order to make the drama's episodes equilibrated but I never lost interest in its events.
*Zhou Vic was simply amazing here not only as *insert shallow feelings* but also as a good actor who knew how to portray his role.
*Although I liked this drama, I can't say that I was obsessed about it.

My impression: 7.5/10

6) Overall:

*If you want a good change from typical romantic comedies then you like this.
*If you like romance mixed with psychology then this is for you
*If you like Zhou Vic then you need to watch this because this was his best role ever.

Overall: 8.5/10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Jun 17, 2012
Jun 17, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This detective drama is from a second investigation's viewpoint, so therefore instead of trying to solve a case from a fresh start it's interestingly revealing facts on a report that could have been misinterpreted or overlooked. I found this viewpoint refreshing after so many crime/detective dramas recently.

The stories unwrapped in each episode are well written and thought of, it will make you try and guess the culprit and even if you read more do it's still entertaining to see how they manage to find evidence and conclusion.

Some of the stories I thought were exceptionally good, only a couple I thought of as average. A lot of time is spent on looking into the suspect's backgrounds which brings a lot of surprises forward.

Obviously it feels unrealistic sometimes but that is a given for any "feel-good" dramas. Still there are many moments of excitement and unexpected outcomes as well as warm feelings in it.

So for these reasons I enjoyed this show very much and would recommend it to anyone who likes the main actress and/or crime/detective genre.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Samurai High School
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 17, 2012
Jun 17, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Samurai High School definitely has a lesson to be learned from. I liked this drama because of its story line. I had a glimpse of the drama from a mv on YouTube. I found myself one day bored and wanting a new drama to start because I wasn't in the mood for my other ones that day. i thought back to the mv and thought that this drama looked promising. so I read more found out the name of it and gave it a shot. I'm happy I did. I do not regret it. Totally worth watching! :D
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
W no Higeki
18 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 17, 2012
Jun 17, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
This is actually my first time writing a review, but I really want this drama to be noticed more!

I understand that this might not be to everyone's taste, so if you're looking for a Rom-Com or something light I suggest you watch something else.
On the other hand, even if it is titled as tragedy it's not THAT tragic in my opinion. Okay, maybe a little tragic, too, but not everyone-dies-in-the-end-tragic. read more This show surprised me from the start, taking a direction I didn't expect, really making me wonder where we were going.
After watching the last episode I can say that the whole story was very well thought-out and in the end everything made sense.
It did a very good job at surprising once more in the end, when I already thought I had it all figured out.

I also realy liked the dark mood and the tension, especially in conversations between Mako/Satsuki and the detective.
Both Takei Emi and Kiritani Kenta did an awesome job. I have seen Takei Emi several times before, but each time it feels like a completely different character. This time she managed to play two characters at the same time in such a way that the audience is always able to tell the twins apart even when the line starts to blur.

Lastly, I set the rewatch value very low, because it's the kind of drama that won't be as interesting anymore if you know what will happen. It's the surprises that are catchy, but you won't be surprised the second time round.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
100 Days with Mr. Arrogant
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 16, 2012
Jun 16, 2012
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
This movie has a typical story line of arrogant rich guy falling for quirky poor girl. It is unoriginal, but it is still cute. Kim Jae Won and Ha Ji Won play their characters well. I liked the ending.

Some parts in this movie are totally gross and could have been left out entirely and I probably would have rated this movie higher.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love Rain
37 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 16, 2012
Jun 16, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
This review is hard for me to write. This drama was a little difficult for me to finish. Which threw me. I expected to love this drama and for the first half I really did love it. I liked the premise of the lovers meeting in the 70's and their children meeting and falling in love in present day. The first few episodes in that world were awesome!

The director of this read more drama really knows his stuff. The cinematography, set design and costumes were stellar. I wish MDL had a ratings section for the technical aspects of dramas because I would have given that a 10 plus. This drama was nothing if not beautiful to look at, both technically and aesthetically.

I really enjoyed Jang Geun Suk in this role. He has improved as an actor and really seemed mature. His acting wasn't as stiff or forced as I have felt from him in other dramas/movies I have watched. I adored Joon during so many moments of this drama. I enjoyed Yoona too. Their characters and their love story was in many ways adorable!

But somehow the writing of this drama fell flat for me...grew redundant and boring. It was likable but I am still confused as to where it went wrong for me. I think somewhere around episode 16 I began to struggle to keep my interest unless the main pairing was on screen together. The plot just didn't grab me and follow through in an exciting way. The final episode was cute but also at the same time, a bit choppy and didn't flow smoothly.

The Older Couple just made me kind of sad and I wish I could have felt the passion carry over in the adult version of the pair that I felt from them during the scenes from the past. It seemed that in every conversation they said the same thing over and over.

I liked the music but nothing really grabbed me, made me groove or move me emotionally.

Ultimately I would have to say that if I could condense this drama down to 16 episodes and keep the main (modern day) pairing on screen I could have given this a higher score. Gah! I wanted to LOVE Love Rain!

And because I was fond of this drama and because of the main leads...I am bumping this up to an 8 when realistically in my head, I think it probably deserves lower.

My re-watch value is set at 5...middle of the scale. I know I probably won't watch again.

But I say this...I have much more respect for Jang Geun Suk as an actor. He was also extremely adorable... And the director really did a great job. If only I could say the same about the writing and plot.

*sigh*
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sophie's Revenge
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 16, 2012
Jun 16, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I admit that I watched this because of So Ji Sub. However, I came to find this movie is delightful. Sophie's antics are funny and adorable. The story isn't anything new, but it has a twist that I didn’t' see coming. Zhang Ziyi did a great job portraying Sophie's quirky character. So Ji Sub actually plays Jeff and he really isn’t in the movie as much as I thought he would be. read more However, I wasn’t disappointed because Ho Peter playing Gorden more than made up for it. Gorden is a sweet, funny character that I completely fell for. I love the artsy feel that this movie has. I will probably watch it again because I truly enjoyed it.

SPOILERISH >>> So Ji Sub doesn’t die in this movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions