The Moon that Embraces the Sun
13 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 22, 2012
Sep 22, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Probably because it was my first periodic drama, but I REALLY LOVED IT. Chona is such a pro at crying. There wasn't even a single moment when he cried and I didn't T-T But Seriously man, the last two episodes blew my mind. Everyone kept dying and I just couldn't stop crying T-T But still, (more or less) a happy ending. It was so funny when Chona tried to learn that musical read more instrument for Yeon Woo's birthday in the end xD Loved the child actors. They were so good. And Sam Dong made an adorable tantrum-throwing king :D Such a cutie! Although I wish Rat-face had had a more torturous death. Even Yang Ming's death was worse than his -.- I actually wanted him to go down on his knees and plead for mercy (Rat-face; not Yang Ming). I don't know, I can't get over how he got Ah-Ri the shaman killed in ep 1. It was so cruel. I wanted him to have a death worse than hers. But beggers can't be choosers I guess.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Meteor Garden 2
9 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 22, 2012
Sep 22, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Draaaaaged. I liked the first episode and the last episode. But in between I skipped a lot. Daoming Si wasn't even Daoming Si. I mean, he was too mature. I missed the bratty, stubborn, spoiled, violent, Pineapple-headed Si. And I hate how the amnesia thing went on up to the 24th episode. And even afterwards he didn't tell anyone he remembered everything because he wasn't sure who he loved -.- Rainie Yang read more didn't even turn up! I liked Ye Sha. She wasn't like those wannabe girls from the other versions who pretended to be the girlfriend. And her letter to Loony was the only part in this drama that made me cry (besides Quinghe's Valentine message to Shancai). At least they didn't kill her off. That would've made me boycott this drama altogether. By the way, my favorite part was Vanness Wu and his matchmaking date. That girl was so pretty! I'm so glad he fell in love (: Overall, the series was frustrating but worth the wait. Sort of. Maybe. And I never shipped Lei and Shancai in season 1 and throughout season 2. But after hearing his true feelings that he confessed to Mei (along with flashbacks) I felt so sorry for him! To be very honest, I never really enjoyed his character. Probably because he never expressed his feelings directly and Daoming Si was much more interesting and pretty much overshadowed him. But now I can't wait to watch MARS! :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Time Slip Dr. Jin
17 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 22, 2012
Sep 22, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Even though it's gross, this drama is extremely informative. Surprisingly my favorite here is Park Min Young. I think this is her best performance so far. I mean, I liked her in City Hunter too but mostly I was all, "LOOK IT'S LEE MIN HO! IT'S LEE MIN HO!! *__*" So yeah. I simply loved her character here. In the beginning I found Jaejoong's role pretty stiff but I loved the direction read more in which his character developed. As for Dr Jin, Of course he's awesome! Loved all side characters - the psychic gisaeng, that guy who's in every freaking drama, and the future king and the future king's dad. Of course the evil guy from Moon Embracing The Sun was there. Hated his character equally here. Overall, an amazing drama which makes me want to pursue medicine. But too late for that. lol.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rich Man, Poor Woman
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 22, 2012
Sep 22, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
This is hands down one of the most original, well-acted and re-watchable romantic comedies I have ever come across. And to think that at first I kept ignoring it! Like a lot of other reviewers have mentioned, the title led me to believe it was just another clichéd love story. Not so. Yes, there is indeed a love story between a rich man and a poor woman - but that's pretty much read more where similarities with other dramas end.

There's just so much going on in every aspect of this series. Each character is entirely believable, and you can tell that time has been taken to ensure that characters have their own depth without needing to be supported by the others. And don't even get me started on the actual storyline - it's original, almost entirely unclichéd (that's right - no mid-season camping trips where the main character eventually comes to terms with their feelings, lol!) and totally believable as a genuine narrative which could happen between two people in real life.

It's this which I personally feel makes the drama's title so clever. Instead of following its namesake and being a predictable, cookie-cutter love story, what the writers have actually done is create an original piece whilst remaining totally self-aware of the sort of tropes and clichés that occur within its genre. In short: the drama's title and overall plot idea is INTENTIONALLY clichéd. By taking the bare skeleton of a stereotypical romantic comedy then creating something new, original and interesting, the writers have shaken up and brought new life to the very genre it has stolen its skeleton from. It's probably done tongue in cheek... but I also think it's very, very clever.

One other thing I particularly loved about this drama is that the lead characters genuinely irritated me sometimes. In most dramas or fictional stories of any kind, the general idea of a main character is that they are somebody we can relate to and root for - but instead, the writers of this drama have opted to give us interesting and complex characters instead of just slotting in the same tired stereotypes. Every personality in Rich Man Poor Woman is fully-fleshed out with positives, negatives, memorie and faults, and you'll see clash after clash of personality and personal intentions throughout the series - just like in real life. It's extremely human and realistic, and I absolutely love that there are producers out there brave enough to try something new with its castings and characters.

So honestly? If you've currently got a spare hour or two, then just stop what you're doing and watch the first episode. You will NOT be disappointed. Trust me. ;)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Fated to Love You
14 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 22, 2012
Sep 22, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I tried to watch it thrice last year but gave up each time due to bad picture quality. Finally found a decent print on YouTube and I swear I was glued! :) Everything about this drama was perfect - A beautiful story of love and fate. And the fact that it was hilarious - icing to the cake. Hehe. Xin Yi kept getting more and more pretty with each episode. I really read more liked her character and the transformations she went through throughout the drama.

Cun Xi was pretty annoying in the beginning. I mean, obviously his heart was at the right place more or less. But when he asked her to leave after giving birth I wanted to slap him! I mean, how can a mother (especially someone as gentle as Xin Yi) give up her baby without dying a little each second? I liked his character more after ep 12. As for Dylan, I really really really liked him in the beginning. But after they left for Shanghai (ep 12?) - Bleh. He just got annoying. EPISODE 12 T-T It was so sad! I dare you to watch it without crying! Seriously! EPISODE 12. The reason I still can't get myself to like Anna. I'm sorry.Generally I do believe in giving second chances to evil characters ( I DO I DO XD). But what she did pissed me too much. So even if the whole world is ready to accept her reasons for what she did (including Cun Xi and Xin Yi)- I CANNOT.

So, basically, Xin Yi and Cun Xi end up sleeping together because she thinks he's her cheating boyfriend and he thinks she's Anna. Now I know it sounds kinda ridiculous but he's so horny (long story) and she's so dizzy and it's dark. So yeah...after they're done he's like "Gu Chi?" and she's like, "Who's Anna?" and then lights on and TA-DA! BAHAHAHAHA XD XD

On top of everything she becomes pregnant with his child while he's still in love with Anna who (in short) is a selfish Beeaach. They decide to keep the baby and not get it aborted while the supercool grandma somehow manages to get them married. And then Cun Xi drops the bomband tells her to leave after giving birth and that Anna could be the mom to the child -.- But they keep getting closer and closer and now Cun Xi becomes conflicted about his feelings. Then comes ep 12. Honestly, I never expected the story to turn out this way. It really surpassed my expectations. Really nice story.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Reply 1997
10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 22, 2012
Sep 22, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
After a long time I watched a drama for teenagers where the characters have been portrayed by a bunch of adult actors. But nowhere did it seem inappropriate or contrived or botched up badly. This drama was honest in its depiction of emotions and tried to recreate the H.O.T fanaticism among teenage girls in the late 90s as accurately as possible. But this story isn't about teenagers or Kpop groups in 1997. read more It is rather the story of a group of individuals with a greater focus on their teenage years and how their teens never actually leave them even when they mature into their 30s.
For a bunch of newcomers hardly known before their roles in this drama, the entire cast has done mind-blowingly well. Especially Seo In Gook and Hoya have been successful in making their characters of Yoon Jae and Joon Hee appear so believable and real. It was hard or near impossible to stop myself from being completely sucked into their world-laugh and cry with them.
The simplicity and the excellent screenplay notwithstanding, I have a few bones to pick with this drama. The whole confusion regarding Shi Won's husband was meaningless and unnecessary. It was plain obvious who her husband was from the very start. The script-writer should've worked harder in making the situation more ambiguous and the answer difficult to guess. The Yoo Jung and Hak Chan narrative gets very little screen time. I would've loved to see a little more development in their relationship since they were so good together. Also the way the story ends for the two couples seems too good to be true. Real life isn't that kind. The drama in spite of being realistic as possible, fails to make the cut when it comes to depicting the harshness of the real world where everything doesn't work out according to our wishes. But anyway I totally dig the ending and that's what matters in case of a highly successful show as this one.
Finally, the one thing that fans of this drama are bound to remember for a long time is Joon Hee. He did not ever properly spell out his feelings and yet he did so in the subtlest and gentlest of manners. Hoya is truly a revelation. Hoping to see more of him in the future. Also Eun Ji did an excellent job as Shi Won, who although annoying at most times is the crazy little girl next door who may not be pretty but is certainly very lovable.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Runway Cop
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 22, 2012
Sep 22, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I thought I will watch this no matter how many the negative reviews are just for the sake of Hong Gil Dong's memory. I thought I'm in a boring ride.. But I was wrong! Totally hilarious and will keep you watching till the end!

I love the acting.. You can never go wrong with Kang Ji Hwan! Plus the supports are great as well. There are a lot of fanservice *Kyaaa! And read more a bonus subtitle BL from the other 2 models for those who love BLs!

The OST and BGM was good. I think it is appropriate but nothing too worthy to add in you list of OSTs.

There was no plot holes in the story. Yes it is simple but it managed to deliver it awesomely and fast paced. I think there is no boring scene.

If you are looking for something light that has action, comedy and a bit of romance into it, I definitely recommend this one!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rich Man, Poor Woman
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 22, 2012
Sep 22, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Story: The story was good. There is always something happening that keeps me interested in watching this drama. The build up of the plot was good. It was slightly predictable though.

Acting/Cast: A very good cast. The main characters were very believable and unique. Each character had his/her own personality that was portrayed very well and made the drama interesting.

Music: Very suiting. However, they could have used more variety.

Overall: I read more would watch this drama again. My rewatch value is low for most shows I watch. Even though I give it a high rating, it doesn't mean that it leaves a "wow" impression - so this one is not too bad.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Runway Cop
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 21, 2012
Sep 21, 2012
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Oh NOs! i'm the first to write a review and it's not going to be pretty :(

i had really high hopes for this movie. KJH and SYR?? best couple EVER!

but the movie... just sort of...was. there are some funny moments, REALLY funny moments, mostly KJH being KJH the comedic genius that he is. but aside from that there really isnt a whole lot going on. SYR is just sort of read more there, it felt like she was only in the movie for may thirty minutes. when she was on screen she wasnt really a character more of a charactiture that turned into someone completely different somewhere along the line for no apparent reason. the plot is a mess, half the time it only makes sense in a "i heard what you are saying but, huh?" kind of way.

there are a couple of nice moments with the two main models but they are short and leave you wondering why these two are even in the movie to begin with other that to be young and pretty next to KJH's not that young and pretty.

to sum up, it just wasnt that great and the sparse awesome bits werent enough to compltely redeem it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Tamra, The Island
5 people found this review helpful
by Rule
Other reviews by this user
Sep 21, 2012
Sep 21, 2012
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
I started Tamra after hearing such raving reviews about it. The first few episodes were quite annoying. I found Boe Jin too irritating and the english guy pathetic. I droped it after 6 episodes. The only character I liked was Park Kyu, his acting was great and so was his character.
then I said let me try one more time, the more I watched the more I liked PK, the more BJ read more annoyed me and Illiam was more and more pathetic.
Anyway I finished it finally after fforwarding all of williams parts, I tolerated BJ because of PK, because his parts were really nice. In the end I gave this drama 6 as the story wasnt bad. The actors did a good job except of Pierre (william) maybe if it was a better actor he might not have been so pathetic. BJ even though annoying acted well.
This is just my opinion, hope I dont offend anyone as there ara a lot of Tamra Lovers out there, its just that I wasnt one of them.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love Shuffle
21 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 21, 2012
Sep 21, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I am so happy I watched this drama! I had been holding it for a while because I wanted to watch it in a relaxed state of mind. It is a fairly refreshing drama. It has a very captivating plot and most of it fairly original. While exchanging of partners in movies not unheard of, this drama presents that concept in a whole new light. It has its shortcomings, but I think read more this show truly deserves a rating of 10.

In some aspects, I can say this show comes close to being genius. Hats off to its writer because he wrote one of the most challenging stories involving romance that I have come across in quite a while. I can say that the first seven episodes were absolutely not predictable. I am generally very good at guessing things, but this show proved me wrong every time. Even after a certain 'twist' at the end of episode 7, I was pretty sure about the outcome of the story and even that left me in surprise. This is the reason why this show has very few dull moments. There is always something that you won't see coming in every episode that takes place that thoroughly makes you laugh. It is a rather bold drama compared to regular Jdramas with few scenes of intimacy. It would appeal to a more mature audience. Also, people tired of cliches should definitely go for it.

This show has a good cast and the acting department was quite good. There were a couple of characters that came off as annoying- especially Usami but there were lots of other things that kept me occupied. Dynamics between all characters have been explored fully. The ending felt sort of forced, but even that ended up being funny. Every time a serious situation sprouts up, it eventually turns into comedy. It is a very lightweight drama. I loved the role of Matsuda Shota the best because his character was that of a playboy photographer. He carries out roles of bad boys pretty well. His female counterpart was ridiculous but I kind of fell for it too by the end.

Also, the psychology involved in the story is pretty interesting. Almost every theory they put forward made sense and could not be argued against. The psychologist's character was a freaking genius. He very splendidly changed his shades from good to bad and back again. Airu was also a solid character among all females. Right from the scene where they all get stuck in the lift, she became my favourite.

This drama has great comedy, good romance and great entertainment value. It makes you laugh without being too ridiculous, gives you romance without being cheesy and entertains you till the end. This is a highly recommended drama!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Reply 1997
21 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 21, 2012
Sep 21, 2012
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
The synopsis for this drama doesn't really tell what it is about. It isn't just about a girl that is a fan of H.O.T. It is about love, family, friendship, and life. It does go back and forth in time and at first I was trying to keep up, but realized that you can ignore all of that and still understand the story.

The story is really sweet and heart warming. I read more don't think that I have watched anything like it. There are no mean ex-girlfriends or hateful moms. It is refreshingly simple and strong. At first I thought that Shi Won was really stupid, but later you realize that she is just innocent and has been somewhat sheltered. All of the characters are unique. The family dynamics and the bonds of friendship is really well portrayed. There is also a little mystery until the end. I think like me that you will all figure it out before it is over, but still it is there.

The actors are really good. Seo In Guk was excellent in his portrayal of Yoon Jae. He played a role in Love Rain and was good in that too. The characters are way different and I think he will be a great actor and hope to see more of him in the future. I also thought Jung Eun Ji did a good job as Shi Won. I think she is new and you can kind of tell, but she is very promising. Ho Ya also did well playing Joon Hee. I loved his character the most. I think with some experience all of these new actors are going to be really good. I won't go through the list of actors, but they were all good.

The music is awesome in this drama. I love to be able to sing along.

I probably won't rewatch this drama. I do recommend it as a good watch. It leaves you with a good feeling.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sunny
5 people found this review helpful
by Aks
Other reviews by this user
Sep 21, 2012
Sep 21, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I loved this film...from beginning to end.

Story- It wasn't a completely original or necessarily a new plot but the execution was almost flawless, each character was individual and unique. The story spent a long time in the past, and it worked because we got to know them in the past before we saw them in the future. The only downside and its not really a downside, is maybe they could have read more made it a little longer so we could understand their lives a little better.

Acting- Just great! I don't really know Kang So Ra so I'm not biased but my favorite character was Sunny's leader Ha Chun Hwa she's feisty and loyal.

Music- I loved all the 80's music... surprisingly even though they were American songs they worked really well. They made the scenes funnier at times, and more touching.

I'd watch it again, and if you're considering whether to watch it definitely do. It's not too heavy, but its touching enough to leave an impact, but not the type that makes you feel depressed but the type that makes you feel like seeing all your friends.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Reply 1997
16 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 21, 2012
Sep 21, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I pretty much agree with a couple of reviews I have just read and when that happens I don't bother writing a review of my own. However, I liked this drama so much I had to add my voice to it.

This drama is about friendship, family and love. Its funny, poignant and simply beautiful. I liked all the different types of relationships that were depicted not just the usual boy meets read more girl scenario but also brotherly love, good friends, husbands and wives and family ties.

The writing was excellent I cannot praise the writers enough the way they kept the viewer guessing until the last episode without making it contrived or cliché. It was a joy & frustration to watch. The actors did a brilliant job too, my particular favourites being Yoon Jae and Joon Hee.

This isn't an overly dramatic makjang or a slapstick romantic comedy, its a wonderful realistic portrayal of ordinary people and the ups and downs in their lives over a period of 16 years, told in a refreshing, funny and heartfelt way. I LOVED IT!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Personal Taste
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Sep 21, 2012
Sep 21, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
The pace of this drama is a little slow at times, but don't give up on it! The ending is perfect and so rewarding! The cast was great, the acting was good, the characters were very real and heartfelt, and the chemistry wasn't bad. The premise was what initially attracted me, but the plot was also good. Less cliche and melodramatic than I was expecting, and then there was the whole mystery read more of Sanggojae to keep me watching!

The soundtrack was a mix of a couple of K-pop songs, some piano pieces, and also famous classical music pieces most often used to comic effect. I really enjoyed that aspect, it really enhanced some of the funny scenes.

I would rewatch this. Even if the pace is a little slow, it is slow in the sense that the script writers took their time to develop the characters through dialogue and situation. I enjoyed all the heart-to-hearts the different characters had with one another. Try this drama if you want a nice blend of funny, serious, and romantic. It definitely gave me a warm and cozy feeling overall.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No