Honey and Clover
21 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 25, 2011
Jun 25, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This drama is full of humor, love and friendship. The relationship that all of the five friends have is amazing. They stand by each other and care for each other so much. They each have the people that they love and that is a big part but there is also their art that they are so passionate about. They each touch each others lives to much. This is one of the most read more touching dramas I have watched. The relationship that each of the friends have with each other and the ones that they love are so special and touching. I have never been much for friendship dramas but this really moved me. Each character was so special. This is a very good watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ohitorisama
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 25, 2011
Jun 25, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I found out about this drama when I found out Big Bang sang the opening. It sounded cute so I thought I would give it a try. This is one of my favorite dramas now. The story is so lite and romantic. The relationship between Akiyama Satomi and Kamisaka Shinichi is absolutely adorable. Every episode has it's own story line while still playing out the main story. The humor is adorable and read more so is the romance. So, if you want a lite, cute and romantic drama to watch, watch this. :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ohitorisama
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 25, 2011
Jun 25, 2011
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 4.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
To tell you the truth I only really watched this drama because I heard that Big Bang's song, Koe Wo Kikasete, was going to be the opening theme. If it wasn't for that, I wouldn't have probably bothered to watch it at all. I only wtached four episodes because it got really boring. The whole story if pretty good because I really wanted to know how things would end up between the read more characters because of their age difference but I just couldn't watch it. It is so boring to me.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Fugoh Keiji
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 25, 2011
Jun 25, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This isn't a serious drama this is a about a really rich police officer, who legitimately wants to make it on her own in the most comical way possible.I really liked this series, it made you laugh, her naivety seemed genuine and you were slightly in suspense because it always seemed like something was going to happen. If i was to compare it, its like Legally blonde as a cop.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Seven Samurai
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 25, 2011
Jun 25, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
As a lover of classic movies, I consider "Samurai Seven" one of the most highly acclaimed films of its time. Even now, the black and white production is appreciated by modern-day viewers and revered by contemporary movie directors alike.



The movie takes place near the end of the Sengoku era; possibly the Azuchi-Momoyama period. Due to political unrest and military wars, there are plenty of ronin samurai roaming about, read more but there are also bandits. The latter terrorize local villages; simple farmers are robbed of their meager possessions, their harvest and their women. Undoubtedly, the farmers are forced to make a decision; they can either allow things to continue as is or... make a stand to fight and defend what is theirs. The villagers choose to fight back, but they are farmers, not warriors. They have no training in weaponry and they lack the necessary skills for battle. Therefore, they come up with a plan to hire ronin samurai to aid them in their fight to be free of oppression.



But, what does an impoverished village have to offer? Practically nothing, except the rice they have nurtured and grown all winter. Thus... their quest begins. A quest to find hungry samurai who will work for three square meals a day, instead of money.



Ultimately, the villagers are left feeling despondent, as their primary efforts appear futile. However, eventually they are able to procure five highly skilled samurai and two promising hopefuls.



I enjoyed each samurai character. Separate entities, different personalties and each had their own personal reasons for aiding the farmers. I, however, felt those reasons were vague and not clearly expressed in the movie, yet it enabled the viewing audience to reflect and draw their own conclusions. The animated series of Samurai Seven, I feel evoked more feeling into its samurai characters than the screen version.



Throughout the film, I found myself drawn to each samurai, as well as sympathizing the plight of the villagers. How could one not respect the efforts of Kambei Shimada (portrayed by actor - Takashi Shimura). He was the first to accept the villagers offer and began overseeing the recruitment of more samurai to the cause.



The skilled swordsman, Kyuzo (actor - Seiji Miyaguchi); even though his dialogue was minimal, I found him equally impressive. His stoic, no-nonsense character was one to get the job done with no questions asked.



Of all the seven, none compared to Kikuchiyo (actor - Toshiro Mifune). To me, his performance stole the show. Kikuchiyo's passioned speeches chastised both the samurai and the farmers, but it opened the door for acknowledgement of their differences and brought about an understanding of the two separate classes. Mifune's comedic antics kept the dire situation from becoming too solemn, thus uplifting the villagers spirits, as well as, entertaining an audience.



This classic is enriched with meaning; it also portrays both the social and economic history of feudal Japan in grave detail. Ultimately, Samurai Seven is a film that will stand the test of time. If you haven't seen it, then I highly recommend that you do.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Personal Taste
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 25, 2011
Jun 25, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
An enjoyable well made drama with some very well crafted emotional scenes, got me blubbing! Lee Min Ho has come into his own since BBF and gave a much more mature performance.

A good story covering the difficulties in getting entangled in lies. Also, some great romantic scenes in this, I still blush just thinking of the 'Game Over' scene!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
It Started with a Kiss
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 25, 2011
Jun 25, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
One of the first TDramas I ever watched and still my absolute favorite having bought the DVD for myself so i can rewatch it again and again. I don't know why I like it so much, I should dislike Zhi Zhu for his complete lack of personality and Xiang Xing for her cluelessness, but I love them both. Perhaps it is because the only time you see a glimmer of emotion in read more Zhi Zhu is when he looks at her and because Xiang Xing is sweetly delighted by every little morsel of affection she can get out of him.

I loved the family in this drama the supporting cast being superb the mother provided some excellent comedy moments, all helped, I think by not having the ususal authoritative grandfather/father character to hinder their relationship; they do that themselves anyway.

All in all a sweet, cheerful, romantic comedy that in my humble opinion is one of the best TDramas out there.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Devil Beside You
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 25, 2011
Jun 25, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
A really enjoyable drama this one, Raine's best performance I've seen, she shines opposite Mike He and Mike himself is at his eye-candy best, all bad boy glares and pretty eyes (super dodgy hair though!). The story is fun and free from many of the usual Drama cliche's with Raine's character trying to be a good girl for her parents sake while trying to resist Mikes constant advances. Good luck with that girl!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hana Kimi
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 25, 2011
Jun 25, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This TDrama is a lot more fun than the Japanese version and I really enjoyed it. Lots of laughs and bishies and the main cast suited their roles beautifully. Wang Dong Cheng stole every scene he was in, he's hilarious in this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
They Kiss Again
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 25, 2011
Jun 25, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I saw this drama straight off the back of watching ISWAK and didn't think it could possibly live up to the first drama, but they really outdid themselves with this. As the characters are older the content is more mature, but the sweet heartwarming feel is still there. Loved the ending too, the director stayed true to how the mangaka originally left it and it left me with the feeling that their read more true love was going to be forever whilst not forcing itself to tie up all the loose ends too neatly. Brave, and it worked.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
ToGetHer
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 25, 2011
Jun 25, 2011
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 4.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
I really didn't enjoy this one at all, no chemistry with the leads and some of the scenes are totally cringeworthy. Raine's character was so spineless I gave up even caring towards the end and found myself skipping through the big emotional climax scenes - very bad sign.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Down With Love
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 25, 2011
Jun 25, 2011
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
This is a reasonable drama with a decent amount of romance. Had some good cute scenes and one of the longest snogs in Taiwanese Drama history! Still, can't help but be a little disturbed by Jerry's big shiny teeth.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love or Bread
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 25, 2011
Jun 25, 2011
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
Love or Bread is obviously trying to re-create the magic of It Started with a Kiss and Kiss again, but it fails to match up to either.



Its all together a bit too silly and lacks imagination in the cute scenes.



Rather than wasting valuable drama-watching time with this I'd recommend watching ISWAK.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love Contract
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 25, 2011
Jun 25, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
One of my favorite Taiwanese dramas, with a dreamteam cast of Mike and Ariel.

I think i like this drama so much because it takes itself a little more seriously than the average romance genere drama.

Got some lovely romance scenes too. (Baby cow scene one of the sweetest ever!)

Got to say the ending had me surprised, last two minutes of the drama had me sitting staring read more at the credits open mouthed.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Miss No Good
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jun 25, 2011
Jun 25, 2011
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 3.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Got to agree this is Raine at her pantomime acting, high pitched voice worst. I've seen her put on much better performances, if only she would tame it down a little.

Also, why do Taiwanese directors insist on filming their dramas in these huge modern echoey houses, makes the whole screechy voice thing that much worse.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes No