My Name is Kim Sam Soon
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 13, 2011
Apr 13, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I can't tell you how much I love this drama! I spent a whole summer watching this over and over and over again. The storyline was wonderful. Sam Soon is such a relatable character, she ponders what you ponder and draws you into the drama so much more. I think the cast did a wonderful job in their roles. Something I really loved about this drama was that, no one was really read more the antagonist. There was no secret plot to steal that person's lover or to ruin someone's wedding day. It was just living life, trying to prioritize your life when life isn't going the way you had planned it to go. Making mistakes and learning from those mistakes as you go along. A must see drama that you will defintely rewatch over and over again!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nanase Futatabi
11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 13, 2011
Apr 13, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
This is a remake of an older Nanase Futatabi, and it has a very interesting storyline. I was so excited about it, and really told all my friends to watch it...until I watched the final episode. The final episode has a sudden twist which you'll either love or hate. In my case, hate. The cast did a great job acting and the music did well too. As for rewatch value, it's more read more of a drama where it excels through twists, and that being the case, rewatching it won't be enjoyed. Overall, other than the ending it was a great drama, and i would give it a 7.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Godhand Teru
12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 13, 2011
Apr 13, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This is a very odd drama...but odd in a good way! It kind of felt like a mixture between Power Rangers...and Iryu :P

I absolutely loved it though. The story was kind of cheesy, but overall i did love it. The cast and the acting was flawless. The music was alright and served its purpose just fine. As for rewatch value, i'm not much of a rewatcher, but i'd give it read more a 6. Overall, I think this drama is one people who love comedy mixed with drama in the setting of a hospital.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Secret Garden
14 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 13, 2011
Apr 13, 2011
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 3.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I was really disappointed with the story. There was absolutely no chemistry between the characters; it wasn't the actor's problem but the plot! How the lead characters end up liking each other is unsubstantiated and has no base to it what so ever.



Since there was no base to their chemistry, and the whole drama was revolving around their 'love' for each other, it really hard to get through read more each episode without exclaiming: What! Why are they acting like that around each other!



On a brighter note, the music was really good (: There is a Disney feel to the songs and I loved it.



My advice: Watch other dramas.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sungkyunkwan Scandal
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 13, 2011
Apr 13, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0

First off, I must say that the actors are exceptional. From their acting skills to the characters they portray to their looks! O man, I could stare at their faces all day. <3 Goo Yong Ha and Moon Jae Shin!





Music is good, I love the ending song.





It's pretty ordinary and predictable, story wise. It's a historical drama with an all too common modern read more twist: Girl in a guys school. Therefore unlike other historical dramas such as Dong Yi and Yi San, it is less political and adapts a more light hearted pace. If you like Hana Kimi, Coffee Prince or Your're Beautiful and are not bored of dramas like those, then this is for you (:












Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Full House
32 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 12, 2011
Apr 12, 2011
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Oh, the Boredom!



This was a very popular drama at the time of its airing. The cast is top-notch, the plot has all the premises for a funny, romantic and passionate love story.

Unfortunately though, the viewer is forced to an extremely long wait for something that never happens, or happens on a very low scale in the last 5 minutes of the show.



The read more rest of it is a sequel of silly quarrels, food preparing and cleaning. I'd say the cleaning is the main character of the show, to the point you start looking around your house thinking that dusting once a week cannot possibly be enough. Yes, because these two, in turn, dust the huge house once a day, and the director saw it fit to show it to the viewer every single time, just in case one might forget how it is done.



The chemistry between the 2 leads is there, and it's powerful. Ironically though, this alchemy becomes the biggest flaw of the show, because it's like a big amount of electricity never conveyed into anything. One waits... and waits... and waits.



Since watching Full House I'm invariably sceptical about any drama portraying two lovers forced in the confines of a house.

Yawn.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Chungking Express
10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 12, 2011
Apr 12, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I'm a huge fan of Wong Kar-Wai. He's not a simple story teller, but a director capable of using the cinematographic media to its fullest. His movies are estetically beautiful, their silences as poignant and thought-provoking as the often minimal lines.



Hong Kong Express is no exception. The acting is, not surprisingly, brilliant. Tony Leung in particular delivers his nonchalant, ironical and obsessed cop to perfection. To Kaneshiro the read more honour of the best line in the movie.

The director often uses a tecnique called step-framing, in which a character is frozen in time while the world around him or her moves at incredible speed. The viewer is therefore often deceived as to the real chronology of events.



So, this is a movie about love, but it's most of all a story of solitude, like those frozen characters, who are as lonely in a metropole as little ants in a moltitude of insects.



I gave it a 8 because I need to spare the 10 for "In the Mood for Love", possibly Kar-Wai's masterpiece so far.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Princess
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 12, 2011
Apr 12, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I was really excited about this drama. So much so that I resisted the urge to watch it until it was completed. I wanted to be swept away, to get the full effect. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to my expectations, which admittedly were quite high.It isn't bad per say, just not as amaizing as it could have been.I am usually a sucker for such concepts.Conceptually it was brilliant, it that light read more and entertaining category but in terms of execution it failed to met its potential. That is the major problem with this drama, it promised so much that when it failed to deliver on all of it , you are left with this empty,unfinished feeling. Major plot points were missed in the middle and gaps tried to be filled in the end when it was just to late.The result is that,as a viewer it became slightly disjointed and you lost your emotional connection. Having said all that, I would still recommend this drama. The acting is good and the cast beautiful enough that you are willing to forgive. It is light, funny and entertaining.It could have been amazing, but ended up being good...which when you think about it isn't bad! Recommended for easy laughs and a comforting, sweet distraction.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Princess
20 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 12, 2011
Apr 12, 2011
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 2.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
I can be as passionate in love with a drama as I am in hate with another.

My Princess falls in the second category.

It has all the premises for a light romantic, easy and funny watch but it fulfills none to the fullest.



The plot is a silly one, but I can forgive it since it never advertised as anything else than the usual "normal" girl read more becoming royal overnight and facing the changes.

When a plot has nothing big to offer, I expect at least great acting and, most of all, something original or beautiful in terms of direction/screenplay/music/visuals.

The direction of this drama is, at best, average, at worst atrocious.

The acting is nothing great either. The female lead does her best, but the rest of the cast is better displayed in a wax museum.



The music is the biggest put off. It does nothing to enhance the feelings portayed; on the contrary, it kills them. It seems like whoever had to chose the soundtrack did a hasty job, putting this or that song at random on random scenes.



Although I usually force myself to watch a drama to the end, I dropped this one, since I found that fast-forwarding 80% of an episode is a waste of time and finger-mobility.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Playful Kiss
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 12, 2011
Apr 12, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I fell in love with Jung so Min's acting.. she was really cute and did an awesome job .. overall the story is a very cliche one.. if you are into a typical romance drama then this is it.. its funny and has many romantic scenes to die for ;) though it is not perfect in some ways but i still like it :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Perhaps Love
11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 11, 2011
Apr 11, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I usually am not a fan of musicals. There are a few instances, though, in which the story told is so beautiful and the acting so engrossing, I forget the genre and let myself be absorbed in the story told via music.



Perhaps love is one of those instances. The movie by Peter Chan has been compared to Baz Luhrmann's "Moulin Rouge" and indeed it shares with this last read more the same theatrical flavour, between reality and dream. One can't help be reminded of classical operas such as La Traviata or Tosca, with elements of melodrama and tragic mingled with grand musical pieces and modern settings.



With the help of the music, this movie could be watched without subtitles and still be understood by those who don't know Mandarin. This goes to the director and the actors credit.



The plot is simple and very classical, but the style is new and the music original. Not an everyday movie by all means, but one which will linger in your memory.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mulan
9 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 11, 2011
Apr 11, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This is a great movie! I really didn't think I would like it, but I did. It's got everything, action, romance, betrayal...and you will go on an emotional roller coaster, but in the end it was well worth the ride! (haha I just made that last part up...sounds kinda cool....right??lol)

JUST WATCH IT!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Shining Inheritance
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 11, 2011
Apr 11, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This is a wonderful drama! After you get through the first few episodes things get crazy. The acting is great, it really pulls you in and makes you feel for the characters. Whether you love or loathe them lol. Seriously be prepared to really hate some characters cause I found myself cursing at the screen lol. It's a must see!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Dragon Zakura
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 11, 2011
Apr 11, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
This dorama is about stupid students who want to get to prestige Tokyo University.

But it's the best thing before any test or something for what you have to study but you are too lazy. It will FORCE and help you to study, that's why is Dragon Zakura the best dorama of studying! :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Apr 11, 2011
Apr 11, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
The story is very, very unique and interesting. It ties together at the end so perfectly that it can't be put in words(Ok, well it can, but I don't want to!) Takeshi Kaneshiro and the rest of the cast performed brilliantly. The music was alright, nothing spectacular, but it did serve its purpose well. As for rewatch value, i'm not one to rewatch movies and dramas, and I wouldn't really rewatch this read more one either, unless it's been several years since I first watched it. Overall though, this is one of my favorite movies and I really believe that more people should watch it. So if you haven't seen it yet, go watch it now &_&
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No