If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
A Gentleman's Dignity
5 people found this review helpful
Aug 13, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This drama has fast turned into one of my favorites. It has a great balance of romance, comedy, and angst. This drama is right up my alley because I love dramas where the guy falls in love with the girl at the beginning and never waivers.

The story is very mature with its content, but the predicaments they get into are kept at a minimum . The problems that these characters face are pretty common and I’m sure anyone can relate to any one of the characters. I love the friendships especially with the main male actors. Even the side characters in this drama add to the main storyline. So many times the side characters distract or are meaningless to the story. The characters are consistent in their actions and the story flows smoothly. At the beginning of every episode there is a usually comedic interaction between the main male characters. The only drawback is that when they play flashbacks to their former selves ; they aren’t younger. If you look past that and just enjoy how funny it is, then it is all good. The ending is stellar and everything is wrapped up in a pleasant package.

The acting is really good too. I know the male leads are not typical. Their ages range from 38 to 42. It may just be because I’m older, but I found them more attractive than some of the younger actors these days. It isn’t necessarily because of their looks although I do find them physically attractive also, but because of their developed acting ability. The women were also very appealing for both reasons. There are many characters in this drama, but the ones that stood out for me are Jang Dong Gun as Do Jin and Kim Jung Nan as Min Sook. They weren’t a couple in this drama, but I think they have the complete package as actors. Don’t get me wrong; the other actors are good too. There are great cameo appearances by Sooyoung from Girls Generation, Singer/actor Jung Yong Hwa from CN Blue and Kim Kwang Gyu who has been in a lot of dramas. For the younger people, Lee Jong Hyun from CN Blue acts as Colin and Kim Woo Bin is also in this drama. They play minor but important roles to the main story. Especially Colin.

The music is awesome. If you get the chance, then you should totally check it out and add it to your playlists even if you don’t watch the drama. Seriously!!!

Overall I would say this is a must see drama for all those that enjoy romantic comedies. I loved and will eventually rewatch it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
I Need Romance 2
9 people found this review helpful
Aug 12, 2012
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
The best part of this drama is that it has more mature content and the fact that women can probably identify with one or all of the female characters. I know I didn’t give it a high rating, but it isn’t that I didn’t like this drama. I thought that the acting was really good. I can’t really explain it, but somewhere around episode 7 or 8, I began to really get frustrated.

Honestly, I don’t understand the relationship between Seok Hyun and Yeol Mae. I have never been in a relationship where I fought like that. I’m not of the disposition to ever endure something like that. If I was miserable in a relationship, then I just wouldn’t be in that relationship. Also, I have a problem with relationships where people hide things and aren’t truthful. I absolutely believe that you can love someone and not be with them. I appreciated all the middle episodes where Yeol Mae was with Ji Hoon in a healthy relationship a lot more. Ji Hoon treated her with kindness and respect and was honest with her. It is possible to love two people at the same time. I just don’t relate to women like her at all. I like the friends and their stories though. At least they learned something from their strange albeit unhealthy relationships and moved on. I probably identify more with Jae Kyeong out of the women. I won’t give away the ending, but to me it was unsatisfactory. The last episode was pretty much filled with flash back filler and a time jump. It just made me roll my eyes.

On the other hand, the acting was really good. I have always liked Kim Ji Suk and I think he did an excellent job playing Ji Hoon. He has a great smile and an ease of acting that totally drew me in. He is very believable. I have never seen Lee Jin Wook in anything before. I didn’t like his character, but I guess that is a tribute to his acting. He is easy on the eyes though. Jung Yu Mi also did wonderful portraying a confused, frustrated, but in love woman on one hand and a then a totally happy, satisfied in love woman on the other. All of the other actors were good also.

The music is off the hook. “I Could Give You Love” by Lasse Lindh is a great song and I definitely think that it should be added to everyone’s song list.

I recommend watching this drama to see for yourself. You may enjoy it. There are a lot of enjoyable moments. I personally just couldn’t get over the fact that Yeol Mae was in a long term, on again/off again relationship with a jerk. Oh and I have never seen the first I Need Romance...so I can't compare.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
I Need Romance 2
28 people found this review helpful
Aug 12, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
So I never saw the first season (billed actors didn’t attract me enough and I don’t like dramas that are associated with “Sex and the City). However the fact that Lee Jin Wook (I keep tabs on him) was back in first lead role status definitely put the second season on my radar even if I didn’t like the main female lead actress( hated her in Que Sera Sera)…

Story: I loved the idea that the 2 main leads had a history for a really long time before they broke up. I didn’t think it could be romantic watching their journey back to each other but man did I eat all that angst up. I also enjoyed the romances of the main female character’s 2 friends.The plot is really simple though but if you love romance than this is a drama for you! The ending though is a bit unrealistic but i dont care cause im a sucker for happy/cheesy endings=)

Acting/Cast: Like I said I didn’t like Jung Yu Mi in Q.S.S but have seen a movie she was in and I’ll admit she is a pretty good actress. She definitely changed my opinion of her as she made her character in this drama really likable. I wouldn’t mind seeing other things she does in the future. When it comes to our first male lead Lee Jin Wook, I thought he was perfectly casted as he made his sometimes jerky character human and just very likable. I was soo obsessed with them being together because their chemistry felt so intense but I liked that it didn’t seem forced. As for the second male lead Kim Ji Suk, I'm just going to say it now; I didn’t like him! I don’t know if its his acting style or his character(came off really obsessive/too eager) but yeah lets just say I wasn’t rooting for him at all to get the girl. When it comes to the supporting cast, I didn’t know the actresses who played the female lead’s friends but I loved their characters and also the actors that played their loved interests. Everyone had chemistry as far as friendships and romances goes.

Music: I wasn’t expecting to get an OST that I could put on my ipod out of this but I just really enjoyed the songs (gave off an indie vibe).

Rewatch: The drama feels short and since I had a lot of fun watching the first time I wouldn’t mind watching this every year.

Overall I Need Romance 2 is a very easy breezy watch with realistic characters.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Boys Over Flowers
4 people found this review helpful
Aug 12, 2012
Overall 10
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
at first i decided not to watch it but then i got really bored so i thought lets give it a try n i do not regret that
really nice drama the cast was really good
amazing actors
the f4 was the cutest in this version
i really liked the side story of the main lead's best friend which is actually the main reason i watched it to the end
the music was really good i really enjoyed the songs.....
what Jan Di did at the end to make jun pyos memories come back was the best scene in the whole drama but the best couple for me is ga eul n yi jung

this was the first version i watched n this was the best version of all
the story did started to drop at the middle but raised again near the end.....

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Clone Baby
9 people found this review helpful
Aug 12, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 6.0
The story was great, and the people cast for their roles did an amazing job. The thing that made this drama an awesome watch was because of the suspense. But for me, that ending...
However good it was, it was open. And it just made questions pop up.
It's as if I was reading a book. After every episode you just had to watch more, because you just have so many questions, and you're trying to understand what's going on. It was surprising. But it was as if someone tore the last few pages of a book, making the ending very cliffhangerish.
The reason I gave it a rewatch value of a 6 is because the suspense, the not knowing, was what made me watch it to the end. But, now that I know how the story went, and how it ended. I don't think I'll be watching it any time soon.
This story is however recommended for everyone, it'll definitely leave a good impression.
It'll be great if it had a sequel though, because with that ending they could definitely make more.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Peach Girl
5 people found this review helpful
Aug 12, 2012
Overall 5.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
Alright, it's an old drama, the fashion is terrible, the filming is so so, and it's based on a teen manga- but it's dramatic and romantic. It's not a long winded series where you have to wade through half a dozen episodes before anything happens. Every episode is eventful, the plot lines are pretty direct, the villain is obvious and you'll love to hate her, and all of those classic shameless drama issues occur. If you like Taiwanese dramas and can stomach the dated fashion, it's worth it. It's not going to be your favorite, it's not even worth a good rating, but it's a clean cut and satisfying drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Yi San
10 people found this review helpful
Aug 12, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Finally i have completed YI SAN!!!! People this is the LONGEST DRAMA EVER I`V WATCHED. Don`t get me wrong i loved it, the length was not really called for thu. I think they could have cap it around 50 episodes the most. The Music was very good but i gave it an average score due to the limited variety, it was the same song over and over. The rewatch score cut due to the length and not the quality.
Its a beautiful story of a hard working king, whom loved his people with his very life. He is truly one of Korea`s greatest ruler. Yi san tells the story of King Jeongjo, or Yi San, the 22nd ruler of the Joseon Dynasty, revered in Korean history for his championing of democratic rights for the Korean people, and for his bureaucratic reform, Be advice the ending is very sad:'(

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ikebukuro West Gate Park SP
1 people found this review helpful
Aug 12, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
As a big fan of IWGP and after searching for this Special for months my expectations were really high, even though I only heard bad things about it. My overall facit after watching it: It's not as bad as they say, but it's not good either.
Still I enjoyed seeing the IWGP characters again so much that I rated it a lot better than it deserved.
The acting was okay, similar to the drama. The music was actually the same as in the drama which made it a little nostalgic. I think it was perfect. Apart from the background music this special had at least two scenes were they should've shortened the songs a lot. Those were concerts.
The story itself was move like a drama episode than a movie. Nothing special to be honest, but it had funny moments and less awkward and embarrassing scenes than the drama - Well, it was only a tenth of the length, though. ;)
I was really disappointed how less screentime the supporting characters had. Especially those I loved so much during the drama. Especially Takashi.
I loved some of the new characters, though. They were cute. It was also interesting to see how other characters developed during the 3 years.
Overall I think this is worth a watch if you're a fan of the drama. If you didn't enjoy the drama you shouldn't watch this, it's the same. :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
You're Beautiful
2 people found this review helpful
Aug 12, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
I started to watch this drama because it was in a very high position in every drama ranking I've seen. And it was fun to watch it. But I'm quite sure I won't watch it again (maybe just because I rather don't re-watch dramas and films). The story wasn't bad although there were some moments I didn't like, but still- there were some which makes me laugh and one or two- even cry! I liked the actors a lot- they created their characters really good. Maybe Go Mi Nam saying 'I'm sorry' all the time was sometimes a little bit annoying but on the other hand: there's no possibility that you don't know how to say 'I'm sorry' in Korean after watching this drama hahah when it refers to music I remember only one song which was a hit of A.N.JELL and they sang it quite often. Overall 8- the drama was funny and positive so I like it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Personal Taste
25 people found this review helpful
Aug 12, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I started to watch this drama because of Lee Min Ho who's my favourite actor but I needed to watch only one episode to come to like Park Gae In a lot. Maybe the story wasn't a masterpiece but I think it wasn't bad- I had a lot of fun while I was watching this drama. The actors were good- especially Lee Min Ho. I must admit I do not pay attention to music in films and dramas- I can't recall even a fragment of any song from this drama so it makes me feel sure the music wasn't outstanding but on the other hand I remember it wasn't annoying. I like this drama quite a lot so maybe I'll watch it again although I'm not a person who re-watches films or dramas really often. In general 9- ?? ?? :D

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
My Princess
6 people found this review helpful
Aug 12, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I love this drama! Absolutely in my Re-watch list.
The story plot might be simple : a girl who happened to be a princess and bla bla bla but when I watched this drama I do really enjoy how the story went all the way to an ending.
Making a really good (not boring) drama with a common story plot is difficult, but I think the team of My Princess nailed it!

As for the cast,
I love the chemistry between Song Seung Hoen and Kim Tae Hee. I can actually see them as couple when I watched this drama.

However, I kinda disappointed with the music. The soundtrack of this drama doesn't really catchy as other Kdrama soundtrack. But, overall I still love it!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Cinderella's Sister
9 people found this review helpful
Aug 12, 2012
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
I am not sure whether I like this drama or not.
I like the story plot. Heart-breaking, aching, yet remarkable.
Well, the casts did good job while starring in this drama. They succeed to make me (as the watcher) felt all of their random emotions. The scene and music are great too.

However, as it goes on, I kinda feel that the story line has been slowed down. Boring and tiring. I can only enjoy the half of the shows and finally found out that I have been skipping some of the episodes.

To sum up, this is not a very enjoyable drama as all of the actors here did cry. So if you are not into something slow and sour, skip it. But if you like heart-aching and slow melodrama, give it a try.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Boys Over Flowers
12 people found this review helpful
Aug 12, 2012
Overall 4.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 2.0
I watched this drama because of Lee Min Ho who's my favourite actor. And he's the best advantage of this drama. I wouldn't have finished to watch this drama if not for his acting. The story is not really good but the worst thing in that drama was Geum Jan Di who was annoying as nobody else and it's rather difficult not to look at her since she's the main character. She was very exaggerate and unnatural. Sometimes I was thinking I just stop watching the drama because of her. The rest of the cast wasn't so bad but wasn't outstanding as well. I remember only two songs from this drama- Because I'm stupid (I like it) and the second one-'almost paradise' (I even don't know the name lol) which was really horrible. I'm not a type who re-watches dramas or films but I'm sure I won't watch this drama any more. Overall-4. Just because I think it could be worse.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
City Hunter
9 people found this review helpful
Aug 12, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
It's was the first drama I've ever seen. I even don't remember why I started to watch it but I fell in love with it after only 15 minutes! It's just the best ever!

First thing- story: When I was watching the drama, I was so excited! It really keeps in suspense. I must admit I rather don't like anything what is connected to politics but this time it didn't annoy me. It even makes me want to watch more. What was very important for me was that there was no character in this drama who was only good or only bad. The advantage and faults was mixed in every single character so it made them more human.

Acting/cast: I can't imagine anyone else than Lee Min Ho as the City Hunter. Since I watched the drama, he's my favourite actor. He was totally amazing! Park Min Young was also good- she could make Kim Na Na very positive and strong character. I liked also the rest of the cast- they're really good actors.


Next thing is music: I must admit I rather don't pay attention to music in films and dramas but music in City Hunter was 'jinjja' cool, especially when City Hunter stared to fight haha

Re-watch value: I'm not a type who re-watches films or dramas but City Hunter is not a common drama for me and I'm sure I'll watch it at least once again.

Overall: 10!!! This drama is really worth to watch! I can highly recommend it. Everything in this drama was perfect for me :D

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
My Girlfriend is a Gumiho
6 people found this review helpful
Aug 12, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Every time I stumbled over the synopsis of My Girlfriend is a Gumiho, I'd always pass on the drama for no logical reason. Recently, though, I've been in a funk and needed some humor, so I decided to watch this drama. Now I'm wondering whether my head was screwed on straight when I skipped it all those times before now. For if there is one thing I can say about this drama, it would be that it never holds back.

The story is filled with many twists and turns, and though that may be confusing, I think it was fairly well done. It kept me invested in what was going to happen to both Dae Woong and Gumiho.

I can't say enough about the acting. I had never seen Lee Seung Gi or Shin Min Ah in any other drama before this, but I now wish that I had. They were great together and had so much chemistry! I rooted for them from beginning to end, and every time they cried, I cried. The supporting cast was good as well, especially Ban Director and Min Sook, who were epically cheesy but so sweet together.

The Hong Sisters are always known for their musical prowess in dramas. This drama doesn't disappoint that generalization. I think this might be my favorite OST of any of their dramas.

I will rewatch this drama because I've fallen so in love. If you find yourself debating on watching this, I say give it a try. You'll be pleasantly surprised.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?