If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
The World That They Live In
56 people found this review helpful
Oct 27, 2011
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 10
Ok first, I've been dying to write this review since episode three but I promised to myself that I would wait until I finished it, so, here I am. The most important thing about this drama is that it's seriously underrated. This one of the best dramas that I've ever seen and still there are no reviews. This a drama about second chances opposed to you typical innocent love.
Story-The story is about how the drama world functions, it tries to highlight the differences and similarities between dramas and real life. In the romantic part it's completely different from any kdrama that I've ever seen. So to give you an idea, the leads are exes, so it isn't about how they fall in love, but rather how real couples relate. I loved it because it was a completely realistic story and the kind of romance that shows is completely mature, as opposed to you typical romcom. Also I love that the story isn't only about their relationship. It really shows how the drama business function, and I loved the stories of the supporting characters, specially Uhm Ki Joon and Seo Hyo Rim's. I love that throughout the drama you can see all kinds of love, and that the main idea it that sometimes reality is way better.

Cast-Hyun Bin and Song Hye Kyo are like the bomb together, they have so much chemistry that at some scenes I thought the whole thing was gonna explode. I wasn't surprised at all when I found out they announced they were a couple in real life two months after the drama, I mean, you could totally see it through the screen. I loved Son Hye Kyo's evolution from Full House to Worlds Within, it shows she really grew as an actress and left behind her innocent self. The supporting actors where all really great, and each really had a chance to shine at least in an episode.

Music-The olnly thing that wasn't perfect in here. It wasn't bad but it wasn't anything special. Actually, it resembles a lot to My Girl's OST.

Rewatch Value-Definitely will rewatch it soon, I loved it, specially the cute scenes that make your heart melt.

Overall-This is a great drama, I recommend it for anyone, it has everything from romance (a lot), to comedy, family, friendship, drama and simply life.

I really loved this drama and I hope that through this review I can encourage at least a person to watch it. If you ever read this and because of this start watchingt this drama, please send me a message or leave a comment on my profile, it would mean a lot to me.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
Overall this drama was decent. It was very dramatic, but in a way that wasn't very predictable. In the end, I found that the character's decisions were very unexpected despite how realistic their decisions were. Usually in dramas like this, there is some unexpected twist that is completely unrealistic, but the realism in this drama was very well done. The characters in this drama all have a major flaw, or more than one, but this is developed to show how they improve on their flaw later on in life. If you like slice of life dramas with no real substance then I would recommend this as a mere entertainment rather than something to obsess over.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Gokusen 2
12 people found this review helpful
Oct 27, 2011
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
After watching the first season I wasn't sure how I'd like this one. But I was surprised and found myself actually enjoying this one just as much if not more. One this is for sure - you don't have to watch this series in order. While the story is quite similar to the first season - it's a whole new group of students and therefore new stories, new problems.



While the original Gokusen had popular names such as Matsumoto Jun and Oguri Shun, Gokusen 2 has Kamenashi Kazuya, Akanishi Jin, Hayami Mokomichi, and Koike Teppei. For those who've seen the first Gokusen you'll find familiar faces also among the cast - and a return of Kuma! One of my favorites from the first season, I was happy to see him return in Gokusen 2!



The acting was great, I loved the entire cast!



The music wasn't anything special - the theme song changed from "Feel Your Breeze" to "No More Cry" at the end which wasn't a bad song. I loved Kamenashi Kazuya's "Kizuna" that was played during the drama, though (:



I can see myself rewatching this drama sometime, but probably not for a long time.



Overall - I enjoyed it just as much as the first season. For those of you who have seen the first season - you won't be disappointed with this one. For those who haven't seen any of the seasons yet but are curious because you like the cast - watch it! (:

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Kamui Gaiden
6 people found this review helpful
by MKay
Oct 27, 2011
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
For starters, let me just say that I love ninja movies, and for all you Death Note fans, our beloved L, Matsuyama Kenichi, is the star player. With that said, I was anticipating a really good movie. I wasn't disappointed with the movie, but I wasn't exactly moved by it either.



The first couple of minutes are just narrative, but afterwards I was immediately plunged into the middle of a confrontation. I didn't mind, I like when a movie starts off with some action. So, if you decide to watch, for the first few scenes be expecting some dart throwing, sword slicing, and a lot of flying, yes I said flying. For myself, some of it was a little far fetched, but nothing so ridiculous that it deterred me from watching. Despite all that, the initial confrontations are important because they introduce some key characters.



The story kind of slowed down from there and became predictable, but picked back up towards the end. Again it's nothing that made me want to drop the movie. There was a lot of suspicion between characters, some more hopping and flying around, and of course a love interest. Also, don't expect too much from the music score, not in this ninja movie. Also, I think that there should have been more depth to Kamui. I really couldn't feel the angst that he was going through...but that's just me.



Maybe I've said too much, maybe not. All in all it was a good movie, not spectacular, but a good movie to watch if you have some spare time.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Birdie Buddy
10 people found this review helpful
Oct 26, 2011
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
I dont even know why I started watching this show because I dont like sports. I mean the only person I knew from the cast is UEE but I didnt even like her character in Your Beautiful. But for some reason I wanted to see if her acting was any different...

Story- UNPREDICTABLE. The story starts off slow (not to the point of being bored) and is too focused on the character of Hae Ryung (not UEE's character)but by episode 10 things start to pick up and become super interesting because it focuses on UEE's character. The last episode made me want to rip my hair out. The ending kept in line with the unpredictable theme. Its probably the worst ending Ive ever seen in my life! Seriously if it werent for the first 23 eps having solid writing i would have rated the story lower just because of the sorry ending.

Acting- UEE can act her butt off! She changed my opinion of her (hated her in YB). The rest of the cast all made thier characters believable. I really despised the character of Hae Ryung though (very pathetic and no character development until the last ep.)

Music- Nice enough music that was memorable but nothing that i would be obsessed with.

Rewatch- If it werent for the ending Id probably would have rewatched it in 2 yrs or so but i have no wish to rewatch this drama, although it is at least rewatchable.

Overall this drama had huge potential but the lack of a believable romance and the nonsensical ending really ruined the good feelings i had about this show throughout its run. I'd still recommend this drama though because the writing is good and the acting is very good.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
200 Pounds Beauty
0 people found this review helpful
Oct 26, 2011
Overall 2.0
Story 3.0
Acting/Cast 3.0
Music 2.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
this movie had about one or two moments when it was entertaining, other than that, it was flat. it seemed that it was always just underpar.



i found myself not really caring much about the leads, i'm not sure if this is do to poor writing, poor acting or poor execution,probably a combination of the three.



and the music, ugh! the music was horrible. i'd rather listen to brittany spears warble whilst shavingher head.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 Litre no Namida
12 people found this review helpful
Oct 26, 2011
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
A lot has been said about this drama, there's not much that I can add.



The Story deserves a 10 because is a true story about a real girl who went through this, and the purpose of this drama was for people to know it, and really learn to appreciate life, and I think that it really does cause that. This one of the few dramas that are life-changing, that instead of making you laugh makes you think how lucky you are just for the fact that you can study, or walk, or even speak.



The acting was 10 also. I hate Sawajiri Erika, I think that she is one of the worst famous people aver, because she's careless and has a really bad reputation, but you can't deny that she made the performance of her life in this drama. She makes us completely understand the pain that Aya is going through and how she gradually loses control of her body. I also loved Ryo's performance and character, the parts where I cried the most were the parts where he cried. I also loved the family, I think they all acted completely according to their part, even though it was really challenging.



The music definitely 10. It completely moved you.



I've watched three times, and I don't really get bored, it's a completely moving story, I love it because it makes me feel lucky and thankful to God.



Overall a solid 10, one of the few dramas which REALLY deserve it, not because of its cast or music, but because it's a tribute to Aya

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Mural
7 people found this review helpful
Oct 26, 2011
Overall 6.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
Overall: I find myself highly disappointed once again. The only things that left a nice impression on me were the sets that composed the Fairy world. These were majestic and the scenery from the world was breathtaking. The other, the lovely, billowy costumes the fairies wore.

I was completely disenchanted with the few special effects the movie did have. They looked fake and did not make the movie any less dull.

Story: The description of the movie "sounded" great, but they could have done so much with this.

Music: The music was nothing special and sometimes I felt like it didn't fit the scene.

Acting/Cast: It wasn't brilliant, I had a hard time believing their distress over certain issues most of the time, but it wasn't horrible either.

Re-watch Value: It's not likely I'll watch this movie again.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
200 Pounds Beauty
10 people found this review helpful
Oct 26, 2011
Overall 9.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 10
This is one of my favourite movies, I've watched it many times with a lot of different people. I think that this is a really good movie, although you can't deny that it lacks depth.



Story-It's great because it's about a real problem in Korea, where in order to get married or become an actress a woman has to go under "the knife". Most korean Hallyu stars have some kind of plastic surgery, altohugh not as extreme as Hanna's. The thing that I liked but at the same time didn't like about this movie was the love story. It really isn't developed, and the male lead is shown as a very shallow person.



Acting-I thought it was really good, specially Kim Ah Joong's because she protrays prefectly what a person goes through after an important change.



Music-Although it's supposed to be a movie about music, it didn't really stand out.



Rewatch Value-I've watched at least 10 times; it just gets better ;)



Overall-Solid nine. It isn't the best movie but it's really funny and gets you to think for a while, it isn't your typical romcom.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Painted Skin
8 people found this review helpful
Oct 26, 2011
Overall 5.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
I watched Painted Skin because I found the description of the story interesting and I love Chinese fantasy films. But this film doesn't have the usual brilliant colors I have come to love in other films of the same genre. The colors were darker which led me to believe, it would probably be a great action/horror film. So, I didn't let it stop me from watching.

The very beginning was interesting, so I was already thinking I was in for a treat, but ten, possibly 15, minutes into the film, I couldn't keep my eyes open. Yes, it was THAT slow! The best part of the film are the last 30-35 minutes of it.

Story: The story was interesting, I just wish they had done more with it. Or at least, made it more interesting.

Acting/Cast: It was sort of ok, but I didn't feel connected to them or like I cared about what was happening to them.

Music: It wasn't that great. There is one song which sounds beautiful, but the rest is not memorable.

Re-watch Value: I will not be re-watching this film in the near or distant future.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Nagareboshi
33 people found this review helpful
Oct 26, 2011
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Touching. Romantic. Lovely. Addicting in a slow, pensive way. This drama is a little wonder, one I fell in love with without a clear reason: it's not sparkling, the action is reduced to the bare minimum, and so are words. But there's an intensity in the long silences which makes the unspoken a lot louder than whatever is being said.

Most of it is due to the excellent cast. I knew Ueto Aya from Attention Please and loved her there: she was the reason why I watched that drama and the only reason why I completed it. There she was feisty and entertaining, here she plays the role of a disillusioned young woman, wary of men - who can blame her? - and in desperate need of warmth and a sense of belonging. Her acting is outstanding, one can't help falling in love with her fragility, her courage and beauty.
Takenouchi Yutaka is just as awesome. His character is that of an honest man who leads a simple life but is ready to go to any length in order to save his sister. He's so sedate throughout the whole drama, I expected him to burst out at some point. But he didn't, and I realize now this is what makes him into such an endearing character. He expresses a world of meaning via glances and silences: I loved it.
The encounter between Risa and Kengo is poignant and their interaction from that point on is always defined by a sedate fire. Nobody shouts, or desperately cries or have fits of anger, and yet the chemistry is powerful.
I don't think it's accidental that Matsuda Shota speaks in a very sedate and calm way too through the whole show. This is the imprint of Nagareboshi. Just like the beautiful jellyfishes that float around in the aquarium. I never thought I could come to consider jellyfishes such beautiful creatures.
The side cast is just as brilliant, mostly the women.

The photography deserves a mention too. There are some truly outstanding sceneries of Japan shown in this drama. I was captivated by the colours and the general atmosphere. I love it that Japanese can produce wonderful dramas without the pomp and the shine we have been accustomed to with the usual super stars sporting gorgeous outfits or your average hero under the shower. This is a simple yet complicated love story between two very average people. It could be us.

The music is beautiful, although not my genre. I usually prefer instrumental pieces in dramas, so I don't really care much for songs. But it suits the pace and the feel of the drama perfectly.

If you like well acted, slow developing stories without love triangles or squares, played on style more than actual happenings, this drama is for you. I suppose it's for mature viewers - and I'm not referring to age.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Sophie's Revenge
4 people found this review helpful
Oct 25, 2011
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
I came into this movie expecting a lot since a lot of people had recommended it to me. As a result, I was somewhat disappointed.



Story: 7/10 The story was slow in the beginning since it started based on her just wanting her ex boyfriend back, which was rather pathetic. Gradually throughout the movie that changes.



Acting/Casting: 7/10 The acting was great but the characters themselves didn't really make me want to emotionally connect with them.



Music: 7/10 It did it's job but not much else.



Rewatch Value: 4/10 I don't like rewatching movies, and this one wasn't even that great (imo) so it's something i wouldn't rewatch.





Overall: 7/10 This movie is ok for a boring sunday. It's not something very memorable in my opinion.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Cyrano Agency
5 people found this review helpful
Oct 25, 2011
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This was an interesting movie to watch. It didn't turn out the way I expected. I like it because it shows that sometimes love isn't enough, or that even if we love somebody a lot there are still a lot of problems and obstacles.



Story-I liked it, even though I didn't really liked how it developed. It was a fun idea, it reminded mi a lot of Alejandro Casona's play "Los árboles mueren de pie" which translated would be something like "Old trees die standing (?)".



Cast-Park Shin Hye and Uhm Tae Woong, I think that they were the ones that made the movie interesting. Choi Daniel and Lee Min Jung I didn't really like, but it wasn't their fault, I just didn't like their characters, I think that they were flat.



Music-It didn't stand out at all, I didn't even think about until now that I have to grade it. It wasn't bad, it just simply wasn't noticeable.



Rewatch value-This is the kind of movie that I'd watch again with a friend, it's very funny and interesting, even though it's not the best

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Promise
14 people found this review helpful
Oct 24, 2011
Overall 7.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Overall: This is my favorite type of Chinese film, fantasy with a little romance and action thrown in. Most Chinese films have gorgeous views and this one was no exception. I'll admit that among those there were some that looked a little fake, but to be honest it didn't take away from the beautiful images it was invoking. It was like watching a painting move. Although, there was one scene which made me laugh a little when I'm sure they, also, meant it to be beautiful. ALL the costumes were gorgeous and these added to that moving painting feel.

Story: I love fantasy stories and this one as far as a story goes was great. This is not focused on battles and action, it is more like a Fairy Tale.

Acting/Cast: The acting wasn't great, but it wasn't horrible either. It was just enough to keep you interested in what was happening on screen.

Music: The music was amazing and went great with the story.

Re-watch Value: Since this is a movie, it's very likely I'll re-watch it sometime in the future.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Haunters
7 people found this review helpful
Oct 24, 2011
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I rly liked this movie. I love nething that is paranormal/supernatural. This to me is kinda like the movie w/ Bruce Willis & Samuel L Jackson "Unbreakable." The end was a little off, but I can deal w/ it b/c that is how the movie ended. I was rly surprised that they actually had non-Korean actors that could speak the language fluently & act at the same time. Most non-native speakers r thinking too much about the words that something is lost in the acting. One of my only probs w/ Kdrama/Jdrama/etc. is that not a single person knows how to give CPR or do basic wound care/. But I guess that is my own hang up b/c I work in the health field & have had to use the skills at some point in time in the past 12 yrs. For me if these skills were included then it would lend a sense of reality to more shows/movies. Even if the ppl died at least the hero/heroin tried more than just shaking the person & yelling their name, "open your eyes," or "wake up."



Neways, back to the movie! I don't think that ne1 could say this is not a good movie (but there r some dumb-asses our there). This movie is full of excitement but not in a physical fighting kind of way. It is more suspenseful in that u don't know what the "bad guy" (Kang Dong Won as Cho-In)is going to do next. It kept me on edge the whole time.



If ur reading this review I recommend that u watch this movie & see what it is about. ENJOY!~)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?

Recent Discussions