• Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This drama was just okay for me. I love the actors in this drama, but the characters were lacking which I think was more from the script than their acting. Miura's character seemed like he could not make up his mind and was very frustrating, and his relationship with the student was unclear throughout the drama. Some of the supporting characters also lacked a good background story. I didn't really like the read more P!nk soundtrack either and really only fit half of the situations. It is pretty realistic in terms of how the situations would be handled and the morals it taught. And I also thought the ending was good. While this wasn't one of my all time favorites, it is worth a watch if you have some spare time on your hands.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Personal Taste
12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 24, 2011
Apr 24, 2011
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
I watched this drama almost one year ago now and there\''s still a question lingering in my mind: what is it about?
Does it tell the story of a girl who needs to come out of her hidden sense of guilt and find the lost relation to her father? Or is it about this same girl seeking revenge against a cheating boyfriend?
Perhaps it tells the adventures of a young man who read more pretends he\''s gay, as the title seems to suggest. Or, again, it\''s the story of a house and how it influences the lives of those living in it.

In short: I could compare this drama to a pot-pourri. You know, those pretty little boxes or vases filled with all sorts of dry flowers, herbs and spices. You open it thinking it will smell of frangipani and your nostrils are assailed by a nondescript cocktail of perfumes, from cinnamon to roses.

The acting is not bad, although I maintain that Lee Min Ho is too preoccupied with his good looks to be a truly believable actor. I\''m ready to face the consequences of my statement.
And, to be honest till the end, I was slightly distracted throughout the whole show by the length - or lack thereof - of his trousers.

Overall, it starts in the best of ways, with elements of comedy and all the premises for a very sweet, passionate love story. It loses direction somewhere by the middle, and it doesn\''t find it back.

Disappointing.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
High Kick Through the Roof!
13 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 24, 2011
Apr 24, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
All the actors played their roles very well and made their characters seem very human and believable. Each character had their flaws and good points. It was very easy to see the family resemblance between the characters because of their actions and helped give a more real feeling to the drama.

The writing was amazing for the sitcom and there were many times where I was rolling on the ground laughing.
read more />
The pace of the show was very good for a sitcom as each episode had it's own kind of mini-story but with many story arcs still prevalent.

The story was at times predictable, but at other times not what you expect.

The downfall of this drama would be the ending. If not for the ending I would have given this drama a perfect for writing and casting.

There is nothing extraordinary about the soundtrack of the drama, on the other hand the ost for the drama went well with the scenes and emotions of the characters.

The rewatch value score would be rated higher for me had the ending been different.

Personally, I didn't really like some of the coupling in the drama, but that's a personal taste.

The relationships were very well built and evenly distributed between the characters.

I would recommend watching this drama, even if you're told the ending is surprising.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ohitorisama
12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 23, 2011
Apr 23, 2011
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 4.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
And here we go again. I'd go as far as to say that any young actor who was once a student of Yankumi (Gokusen 1, 2 and 78) will sooner or later be involved in a love story with a more mature woman. It must be a karma thing.

Nothing wrong with it, mind you. On the contrary, if a man is attracted to younger women, I don't see why it read more shouldn't be the same for a woman. And in many cases the formula works.



Not here, though, not to me at least. Koike Teppei is the perfect child: he's sweet, invariably clumsy, funny in a goofy way, but he's the most unbelievable lover ever. I can imagine he could have a teen-ager crush on a tall, statuesque, perfectionist of a collegue but why should she reciprocate? To fullfill her mother instinct?

This was the first time ever - and I hope the last - in which I laughed out loud during the first love declaration.



The plot is so inconsistent I forgot most of it after watching the end credits. The situations these 2 are thrown into, which in the drama world should help the 2 fall in love with each other, are little, daily, mostly boring ones. I had no particular wish to know the epilogue of this story, so by the end I simply watched it while I did a dozen other things. How did it end, by the way? I forgot.



I give the music a non-committal 5 because, truth be told, I don't remember how it was. Whatever the case, it certainly did not leave a great impression on me.



Overall, a boring, dejà-vù dorama with a very unfitting cast.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
TROUBLEMAN
8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 23, 2011
Apr 23, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I LOVE this drama. At first, I'll be honest, I watched it for Shige, but this turned out to be a suberb drama. The characters had depth and the story never dragged because each episode was a different character's story. As the story progresses, everything starts to become more clear. It feels real while at the same time being a different crazy kind of universe. In my opinion, this drama is under-rated. read more There is also a hint of romance too. And while it is a mystery and a suspense drama, at the same time, it is freaking HILARIOUS! It felt very refreshing to watch. I also loved the ending song by NEWS. It's actually my favorite song by them now. The only reason I wouldn't watch it is if you are the kind of person who gets scared, creeped out, or disturbed easily since there are some scenes like that. It's defiantely worth a watch or two!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Meteor Garden 2
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 23, 2011
Apr 23, 2011
  • Overall 2.0
  • Story 2.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I only watched the first two episodes and random spots near the end, but I can just tell this is a HORRIBLE second season. I can't write any spoilers, but I can tell you it took the part of the manga that I hated the most and turned it into an ENTIRE drama! I could not withstand one of my favorite mangas being transformed into this terrible plot. It did NOT follow read more the manga at all. The first season did a great job, but there was really no need for a second season. This just left a bad taste in my mouth. Don't watch it. It's a waste of time.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Playful Kiss
31 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 23, 2011
Apr 23, 2011
  • Overall 3.0
  • Story 3.0
  • Acting/Cast 3.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I love dramas, and I know a good one when I see it. This...is a TERRIBLE drama. The acting and story were disappointing. I have seen the Tawainese version and feel in love with it. If you compare the two, it is clear that the Korean version falls short. The characters were not potrayed well at all! The rival guy wasn't even a rival! He was ignored most of the drama! Really read more the only thing I did like was the music and the woman who played the mother. She was hilarious! I watched the entire thing and it was a waste of my time. I also watched the short episodes at the end, and those were okay. Don't fall for the good looking actors, this is a joke of a drama and falls short at being a good manga adaption.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Devil Beside You
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 23, 2011
Apr 23, 2011
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
So I don't remember exactly why I ended up watching this drama, but I was kind of torn. The idea of the plot was slightly disturbing, I mean, incest! Well...not really, but still. And I think that's what ruined it for me. I just couldn't get over that as I was watching it so, it kind of killed the whole thing. But aside from that part, if you're less sensitive to things read more like that, its a decent drama. It has a couple of side stories that it follows well and to the end, and the acting is decent. Its pretty average. Some parts are a bit melodramatic, but its a pretty funny drama. Plus Mike He is delicious.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Apr 23, 2011
Apr 23, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This drama follows the Japanese "older woman-younger guy" trend. It seems as though every Japanese idol has to pass this test at least once in his acting career.



Despite the premises though, there is something about this drama which made it into one of my favourites in its genre.

Perhaps because on further analysis it doesn't deal with falling in love with someone, but with learning to read more love oneself and appreciate the little, daily things one gives for granted.



Esumi Makiko is so beautiful here, one soon forgets the age gap. The story revolves around her, her internal struggle, her doubts, her self-esteem. Yamashita Tomohisa plays his part very well too, portraying a young man in that fragile phase between adolescence and adulthood in a very believable way.



Overall, a delightful, suave drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hana Kimi
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 23, 2011
Apr 23, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This was the first Asian drama I had ever watched. I LOVED it! The story was easy to follow and funny. I think this drama was actually great with the mediocre acting. Jiro definately played the best character, but the others were also good at playing their roles. Now I know there is a lot of debate about the female role and how she is not pretty. Well when you look at read more it from the view that SHE IS SUPPOSED TO LOOK LIKE A GUY, then it's better. This drama also goes well with the original manga, but the ending for me was a disappointment. It wasn't bad, but it made me feel a bit "out of the loop." Oh but not to forget the nurse, HE WAS HILARIOUS! So much much much better than in the Japanese version. But I won't go on comparing the two versions because frankly, they are almost two separate stories and are BOTH worth watching. Overall, I would recommend you watch this drama for an easy laugh.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hot Shot
14 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 23, 2011
Apr 23, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This is one of my favourite Taiwanese dramas. Perhaps it would be fair to add that I usually love dramas and movies dealing with sports, and this one in particular is about basketball, my favourite.



But it isn't so much the plot which makes this into a great watch: it's the direction style. Everything about it is over the top: from the athlets who fly around the court read more as wuxia warrior on a battlefield, to the characters who have the flavour of manga drawings, from the camera angle which plays with frozen scenes and facial expressions, to the plot itself, with its never completely serious twists. References to the battlefield, the Romans, the Greek and Sun Tzu's the art of war are scattered all over the show for the most attentive viewer to catch.



The scenes displaying street basket are awesome and the beautiful music is chosen with sense and aim.



I'm ready to recommend this to every basketball lover. Should you happen to hate this sport, then it may be a harder watch, unless you are appeased by the good-looking actors, in heaps here, and the beautiful, strong and far from whining leading ladies.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Full House
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 23, 2011
Apr 23, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This drama was widely popular after it aired and continued in that vain for a long time, and deservedly so. This was only my second ever drama. Since then I have seen many, but this one maintains a very special place in my hearts and to this day remains one of my eternal favourites. I am not Korean, so prior to this drama I was not particularly a fan of Rain or read more anything, so not swayed at the time by that bias. Having seen the drama, now mosty definitely a fan. This drama is a fanatstic template for what all easy going, romantic fluffy dramas should follow. It has a simple plot yet interesting premise, a capable and adorable cast and very good music. It is full of sweet moments, mixed it with the funny and the neccessay angst. My only complaint would be that the pacing seemed to drop near the end , as it geared up for its climax and the ending not as amazing as it could have been. This compliants are not unique to this drama but is a common place in most asian dramas and is now to be expected. The dramas major strenght is its characters..you genuinely like them and become interested in thier development, and they are very well portrayed. Rain and Song Hye Kyo have very good chemistry, which adds greatly to the drama and is a strong support to the plot. The supporting characters are exactly what they need to be. The second male lead is strong and charismatic and seems a very capable alternative, which is essential to futhering the love triangle. The others add either tension or comedy, both of which add to the viewers enjoyment.All in all, I would strongly recommend this drama, for an easy heartfelt watch, to make you laugh, to cry and the want to scream at the main lead a couple of times out of fustration..all in good fun.Oh an an excellent soundtrack.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Can You Hear My Heart
43 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 23, 2011
Apr 23, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
i wish it kept going .. After watching this whole drama, i had to say this is my fav on air dramas out of all the ones i was watching... Maa Roo was very scary at times .. but splendid acting from all the characters.. i was a little annoyed by Dong Choo\''s mom at times but she had her reasons :P .. To me, it is such a heart warming drama. read more Story is different and written beautifully as it introduced disabilities in a very unique manner i.e deafness and mental disability. i really like how they introduced disability and how others react to it. They showed how people struggle from special needs parents or how accepting and understanding children were to special needs parents. it was really touching... i dont want to go into details and ruin all the fun... but its a great drama of betrayal,greed, love, friendship, relations, revenge and disability. The story started off when all the main actors were little and gradually they told the backgrounds of every character. Characters growth are really good and acting is superb. I really liked how every person had a reason to be who they were and what they did..Dong choo\''s smile is very killing... Her and bong Woori\''s chemistry , their love and romance was really light yet so0o adorable throught the drama .. i had to add few things in my review... I fell in love with the music...(first time:P) esp male ost who sung the main song.. though it didnt have a lot of background songs, i was satisfied with just one song that played again and again ..02.
-

am glad they ended it so beautifully .. but am so sad that it all came to an end :( ... i want more of CYHMH ...
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ooku
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 22, 2011
Apr 22, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Ohoku or Ooku- the inner chambers is a very special movie about a part important of the history of Japan and a true lesson of life for all of us. It's a must see movie for all and especially for the ones who love the history and the traditions of Japan.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Invincible Lee Pyung Kang
14 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 22, 2011
Apr 22, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
This drama was pretty cute. It was a decent rom-com, where most of the comedy came in the form of tension between the two leads, their fights and what not. It was a very lighthearted story, with lots of good moments, and overall it was cute. It wasn't anything THAT spectacular, but if you just watched a super amazing drama with which you were obsessed with and you can't stop thinking about read more it, this will serve as an excellent distraction.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions