Master Devil Do Not Kiss Me
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 3.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
A very easily enjoyable, light-hearted show with classic romance-comedy tropes that ended up unconsciously becoming addictive to watch and hard to stop (especially at the end of Season 1...) (*trying my best to be objective in this review*)

While Master Devil uses many familiar romcom tropes reminiscent of Itazura na Kiss and Hana Yori Dango (amongst others), the show stands out well in being a GOOD well-written romcom WITHOUT all the unnecessary read more angst, frustration over stupid/extreme characters or developments, and exaggerated/pointless drama.

The plot is well-balanced and well-written in being reasonable in its developments, while staying true to the classic tropes of romcoms. There is not only a good balance of romantic development between the leads, but also ample time given for the female lead Chu Xia to independently develop her own story arcs and interactions with other characters without the male lead.

The plot is written in a more realistic way for instance, such that it is NOT a girl-against-the-whole-world trope like the desperation felt in Hana Yori Dango. Similarly, the characters are also written quite distinctively and developed in a reasonable way. Contrary to the title, male lead Qi Lu really isn't an ass at all, even if he may be unfriendly. Many of the supporting characters are really nice, and even the antagonists themselves aren't completely irrational or hateful in their behaviour.

Admittedly still, there is still about ~10% of plot development that doesn't quite make a lot of sense and requires suspension of disbelief, e.g. the first episode lol. (But all will be well once you get over that bridge.) However, I feel like the amazingly funny/cute character interactions would completely make up for this~ (especially interactions with the male lead ;))

It was really a breeze completing this show, helped by its short 20-minute episode length and addictive previews. Forgiving the laughable CG (from the first ep) and not-that-great OST due to its lower web-cdrama budget, the young actors and plot still held the show up well and hit all the right notes for me in delivering almost everything I'd have wanted to see in a classic romcom, without the frustration.

That being said, it's EXTREMELY important to leave a disclaimer that these 23 episodes is NOT a completed story and will be directly continued in the upcoming Season 2 (which I'm still dying in anticipation for). Hence, with the HUGE POTENTIAL for romantic development being left in the air for Season 2 to pick up from, I have been left in a state of withdrawal, which also makes for the high rewatch value of the show, simply from being classic, light and cute.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
I Belonged to You
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
After listening to the OST very often even before the show released, I had been looking forward to this show JUST for the OST without much expectations for the plot or story.

Following the love stories of three men, I Belonged to You is a poetically written slice-of-life, but stands out even more for its absolutely beautiful cinematography and sound.

Given its slice-of-life nature, the plot wasn't particularly exciting or notable, but read more still good enough to find at least something to like, like the cute interactions of Mao Shi Ba (Yang Yang) and Li Zhi (Bai Bai He). In terms of acting and characterisation, characterisation was still commendable and reasonable given the short duration, and acting was solid, given the strong cast. But seriously, that is not even the main point of this review. Because it is in the absolute beauty that is the cinematography and sound that alone justifies making this into a movie format as completely worthwhile.

As someone who usually doesn't pay attention to cinematography, it must be said that nearly every scene in this movie was extremely beautifully shot - from cityscapes to character dialogue shots and nature landscapes. The aesthetics of this movie alone are to die for and 100% wallpaper worthy nearly everywhere.

However, this show was not only a feast for the eyes, but also the ears! The OST that I listened to before watching also did not disappoint, with amazingly appropos timing with the story, to leave a good strong impression without being overused. Even the background music, the soothing voices of the DJs, and effects of setting on speech were immaculate.

Overall, this would probably be a good light movie to watch to chill and relax to escape the problems of reality, with amazing aesthetics and sounds to recharge your senses, which would also make it enough to consider rewatching again at some point. :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Little Princess
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
My Little Princess is super cute (rom-com). Rayli Zhang Yuxi (female lead) is pretty *no one can deny it* she fits the character (rich, fabulous, beautiful). Zhang YuXi's fits the *Princess Disease*.

At first, he tries to get Kenji (rival of the male lead) because it;s her fiance. But Kenji fells inlove with a shy-typo girl. Then he always runs to Mike D' Angelo (male lead). They act cutely superb cute! But read more as the days forwards Kenji slowly falls inlove with Zhang YuXi, but Zhang already fall in love with Mike.

Please watch it! I even got sad when it's about to end. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Benefits?? SUPERB CUTE THAN EVER!

Oh! Before I forgot, view tha OST. It's so good! Title : Because of You by2girl and PONPONPON. :)
Aye, 10/10!!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
7 First Kisses
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I don't know how to review this drama, because it was very intuitive. Each episode with a different story line. It was fun to watch.

I think the cast was great. Many big names under one. I liked everyone of them but my personal favorite was Park Hea Jin, Ji Chang Wook and Lee Min Ho.

Same goes for the story wise. I liked the idea of a different story in each read more episode. The idea probably in paper sounded even more grand. It was a little clichéd. But who cares about that.
The melodrama in Ok Taecyeon was really funny. And the slight action Ji Chang Wook was really nice. I love episode 3 with Park Hea Ji and episode 6 with Lee Min Ho the most.
But the ending, I didn't liked it. Because they don't tell you who she ends up with. It's kind of frustrating.

The music was great. 10 for that.

So in the end, if your bored and want to watch something a little different. Then this is probably something to see.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Fated to Love You
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
it's cute & funny
but in some points it doesn't make sense to me
1st he suddenly loved another woman leaving his love for years without logical reason
2nd i did not like the role of the main actor i hated his smile it makes me nervous the whole drama although they said why he laughed like that but still make me nerve
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
It's Okay, That's Love
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
Actually while watching I was pretty upset with myself for not liking this drama like I should. Then I had an epiphany during the final two episodes. It's Okay, I Love you deals with important issues. The biggest one being mental health. The reality was for me the story and pacing worked against itself.

Let us be honest. The beginning is one hot mess. Some ideas definitely were well thought out and read more carried, but I feel like the majority of it was just a jumble mess for the writer. The reveals of key plot points about the characters should have been revealed earlier on. While many aspects, such as who Kang Woo was to Jae Yeol, were emotionally moving and packed a punch how they played out I felt the timing was drug out. For me what would have made a more convincing plot was if Hae Soo secret was revealed and she healed with help from Jae Yeol. Then she discovered his illness halfway through the drama. Their love then helping him to become better. The focus being how he stayed healthy and their love grew. The more I think about it the more I realize that It's Okay, That's Love missed a lot of its potential.

Not to mention its side characters. There is so much going on here and I not only thought the main story was missed, but that the side characters deserved more. Such as Soo Kwang and So Nyeo! They're love story is one of my favorite things about this drama. Both actors are awesome together and had so much chemistry. I have to be honest I'd love to see more of actress Lee Sung Kyung, she played So Nyeo, in warmer roles like this. Somehow I've now seen everything she's been in and unconsciously stalked her dramas. I think she's a lead worth of breaking out of her role as a mean girl. (As in her later roles she's been typecast as the mean girl.)

This drama is beautiful, and the director clearly loved facial close ups. Many scenes let the actor's expressions speak for them. Though I won't lie that some of these meaningful close ups are glamor shots. I think the main idea was that the eyes are the window to the mind.
The music is fun and fits the drama. Catchy enough, and the main one is a remake of an American song that I really like. (Though thanks to auto insurance commercials I'm not quite as fond of.) However, once this drama leaves my head the music shall go as well.

Overall It's Okay, That's Love is very warm. It tackles the issues half heartedly and never fully commits. While I thank it for addressing mental health it makes it seem flippant at times. Hae Soo and Jae Yeol have a great romance and that's where the true power and appeal of this drama come from. It's nice seeing them touch and love each other. Though I felt distant from the drama as much of Hae Soo's motivations are kept a secret until later. The timing and unsteady feet of the plot is a hindrance to it. This is a drama where I understand why it got so much love and high ratings, but I'm not able to get lost in the buzz. I ended up watching this because I loved Dear My Friends, and I have to say I prefer that drama to this one. I'm actually kind of nervous about viewing some of this writers author works.

While viewing I really enjoyed the drama, but really only the middle the most. Some of the episodes I have a high rating to out of guild and that they almost brought me fully on bored. I'm still feeling guilty that I didn't like it more. There are many great things present. The bond of family and forgiveness. That even if you're ill you deserve happiness. To think of yourself and not to be afraid to realize you're not well. The strength and bonds of family. Oh, and forgiveness and acceptance. I could over analyze what makes it great, and what eventually pulled it apart for me.

I think if you find the first episodes a hot mess, you'll probably fall on my side of the fence. If those first episodes seem brilliant you're gonna love this and not over think it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Fatal Intuition
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This is my first korean movie...I typically only watch kdramas but decided to make an exception because this looked really good.

Plot: The plot was pretty good. It was about jangwoo trying to catch his sister's killer. It was suspenseful at times...but honestly I've seen way more suspenseful movies and kdramas. But it did make me catch my breath and the ending really made me hold my breath in suspense.

Characters: I read more liked jangwoo, he was definitely the protective older brother...there just wasn't much more to his character than that. I guess I'm used to kdramas where they flesh out the character more. Being how this was a movie, and action movie at that, they didn't really have time to go deeper into his character. But they went deep enough and I really like how he was always protecting his younger sister and trying to give her the best life that he can. You can really see how much it weighs on him, the responsibility of being older brother but parent also. I liked shi eun...but there were times where I wanted to yell "tell him!!" or "tell her!!" But I also understand that most people laugh at her talent and shun her, and it would be difficult to get anyone to listen. The killer did good job of creepy and crazy. You could definitely tell he was not right in the head.

Acting: All the actors did superb. Joo won's crying scenes broke my heart, I nearly cried too (I never cry so this is a good thing). Shi eun definitely did a good job with the mysterious and sorta creepy at times tbh, lady. And the killer did a good job of being really creepy and having this crazy look about him.

Music: Was there any music..? Like there were a couple songs...but for the most part there were none. Which I found glaringly obvious. Anyway, nothing memorable for sure.

Clean: there was one sex scene...it was about 2 seconds and the lady took her skirt off. Same lady opens her skirt real wide so the guy can see her vagina, we don't see it though. There is a prostitue, but nothing is shown. Killer's stepmom is a slut but again nothing show. one guy has implied nudity. The F word is used at least 5 times, but usually is only used when the character is really angry. There's other language too, mostly the a word and s word. And there's lots of blood and violence.

Overall a good movie, but probably something I wouldn't rewatch. The ending sorta left me with a "what did I just watch?" feeling, which isn't my favorite feeling btw. There's some really good joowon scenes, and the relationship between him and his sister is touching. Would I recommend it? Meh, if you want to watch it great, if you don't I understand. Overall, I'd see it for yourself.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Fashion King
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Great show I loved it, I loved the acting and the cast. I have so much mixed emotions as I've just finished it sigh !!!!! It's like one of those WTF moments but the feelings still hits you in the face.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ho Goo's Love
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Tbh I'm a very picky watcher, and if I'm not interested in the drama from the first episode, I usually drop it. The thing is, I even end up dropping those dramas midway once cuz--let's be honest-- they start to fizzle out by that time. After watching the first episode, I was not interested in it, but I still watched two more episodes since the ratings were pretty high for it and read more let me tell you-- you need to watch this drama. It is a hidden gem. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND WATCHING THE FIRST THREE EPISODES BEFORE DECIDING WHETHER OR NOT YOU WANT TO DROP IT!!!

STORY: 10
I don't want to get into the story to much, but I guarantee you that this is probably the most unique story in the world of kdramas that also sheds light on a very interesting and very important social message that no other kdrama has ever delved into. Basically, for an extremely adorable drama, it has some very strong criticism about contemporary social beliefs about...stuff. YOU"LL FIGURE IT OUT AFTER A COUPLE EPISODES.

CHARACTERS: 9
You will fall love with the MC. Period. You will also fall in love with his love interest. She's sort of like the typical "tough on the outside, soft in the inside" female character, but what makes her different is that there are so many things that you'll learn about her that will make you have great respect for her. There will never be a time when you hate. You're going to end up rooting for this girl til the very end. Actually, that applies for every character in this show...but most importantly--you'll really enjoy the chemistry between all the characters. Like. That is a fact.

MUSIC: 7
It's very fitting for the drama.

tl;dr watch the first 3 episodes, and if you're still not hooked by then, just drop it, but know that you're missing out on a very refreshing, extremely memorable story. Heck, I made an account just to write this rec.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
General and I
2 people found this review helpful
by QAS
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.5
The best thing about this drama is that the 62 episodes were translated in seven weeks on the DF site. I watched all the episodes, but started skipping the Bai Lan State scenes, due to lack of interest in their melodrama.

The main reason that I devoted time to this drama, was Wallace Chung as the handsome General Prince Chu Bei Jie. His character is a candidate for 2017 Drama Man of read more the Year award. Throughout the story, he was steadfast in his ethics and integrity. The only flaw is that he abandoned Great Jin, which spiraled downwards due to the lack of a military giant leading the army.

Bai Ping Ting was adequate as the military strategist but she was also an expert waffler. Her father gave her the military manual and warned her not to trust anyone, yet she shared the information with Prince He Xia, who would use the information to his advantage later in life. Ping Ting and Princess Weiyoung of that drama shared something in common. Everyone wanted to kill them.

He Xia lost my vote after five episodes into the drama. He started out as the underdog prince, but his royal ambition and the callous manipulation of the needy Princess Yao Tian, made me grimace.

The second character who gets my vote of confidence, is Fan Lu, the warrior garrison commander, who would be worthy of a promotion to God of War after King Chu Bei Jie settled on his Jin throne. Actor Wang Tianchen is 6'1, 24 years' old, and General and I is his first drama.

The third character who gets my vote of confidence, is General Ze Yin of Liang. He was dependable and fearless throughout the drama. Qi Hang is 183cm, 32 years' old.

Chu Bei Jie, Fan Lu and Ze Yin are the best characters in the drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Canola
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 2.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
This was an amazing movie. I cried just about 5 times in the course of watching it. It was so painful to watch that I had to skip through the sad moments so that I wouldn't start bawling out my eyes. The cinematography is great and the way this story is carried out is outstanding, mainly due to the awesome acting and music to go with it. However, the story line was read more kind of lame and the lines were very cheesy. Now that I think about it, it wasn't very exciting. If it wasn't for the actors and actresses, this movie would have been terrible. It seems like a stereotypical Korean movie, but I would still recommend watching it because it was just so saddening and well made.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Descendants of the Sun
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Honestly I was scared to watch it at first because a lot of people said it was way too overrated. But I don't think so, I thin Descendants of the Sun was one of the best drama's of 2016 (and all time tbh) As you can see from the rating I gave I'm absolutely in love.
Acting/Cast
I don't think I have to say anything about this. Song Joong Ki is not read more only a good looking guy but also very talented (everyone who watched his previous work should now that).
This was the first time I saw Song Hye Kyo in a drama and I really liked her as well, she's a very good actress imo

Music
I absolutely loved the OST's for this drama and even downloaded some of them.

Story
The story is the only part were it lacked a bit, mainly because the whole drama wasn't as connected as it could've been. A few episodes were always tied together but then it felt like the whole things before never happened and a new chapter began. Nevertheless it was a good mixture of a hospital, military/action and romance drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Man With Style
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
"We don't usually talk much. Actually, we can't." - Toshiya


A glimpse into the life of Miyata, a middle-aged father who can't, or doesn't know how, to talk about feelings. Stuck in a rut with the prejudices of his generation ("men don't cry"), he clumsily navigates his very few personal relationships... Insults followed by rough apologies, encouragement disguised as badmouthing, lies told to "protect" his children (but in reality those lies are read more to protect his own self-image). It's a simple story of a man learning to reconnect with his own emotions.

A working-class man living in a society built around the education industry/market, Miyata can't help but blame "the times" for his own situation. Working but never earning quite enough, he feels left behind in this world of "machines" and private universities, both symbols of the generational and emotional gaps between Miyata and his children.

Another major theme is "loss". The scenes involving Miyata's wife (his dream sequences, the tape player, his one-sided conversations with her...) show another side to his personality: affectionate, lonely, and deeply affected by the loss of his love. Sanada, Miyata's only friend, also experiences loss, but deals with it in a very different way. He serves as both a catalyst and a comfort while Miyata attempts to repair his rusty family bonds.

A quiet and contemplative film, showing an experience of life that doesn't so often get fair treatment in media. 10/10 for Mitsuishi Ken's performance. I felt everything, and now I have a different understanding of my own family relations.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Signal
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
Ah, Signal, how shall I describe thee? This is definitely my favourite Korean drama, though in all fairness, it's not much of a "drama" per se. The first thing I noticed was that the production value was through the roof; most of the episodes feel like watching an hour long movie, somewhat like the early episodes of Sherlock. The plot is very well structured, and the pacing is excellent, with not a read more dull moment or any overly long arcs in sight.

As far as the main cast is concerned, all the performances are above and beyond the level that one would usually expect from a Korean drama, especially the protagonist and deuteragonist (Lee Je Hoon and Kim Hye Soo). Cho Jin Woong also delivers a strong and memorable performance as old time detective Jae Han (you'll get it when you watch it). Many of songs that make up the OST are haunting and unique, with relatively deep lyrics. Honestly, it may seem like I am just biased at this point, but I am the type of person who reads the summary for most boring K-Drama episodes and fast forwards through them the moment a hint of something typical appears, and I watched, and relished, every moment of Signal.

The ending was somewhat ambiguous, even leaving open the possibility of a sequel, though I doubt any of us are going to be that fortunate in the near future...but here's hoping.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Oh My Venus
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
this is one of the best romantic comedy drama for me
u r going to fall for the 3 guys in this one
it's amazing delightful drama makes u laugh till the end
i don't know why it took just 8 for me excluding the music it's 10 ^_^
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No