Chicago Typewriter
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
22 hours ago
22 hours ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 5.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
My only regret concerning this drama is that I didn't pay the necessary attention to it sometimes and missed out (so, this is going for a re watch soon). The story of this drama is as compelling as interesting. The one twist follows the other, as the story unfolds slowly its layers. The first part deals with the mystery of the ghost. Then, it starts focusing on the past affairs, as well read more as the currant ones. It's amazing how the film makers managed to present the medley of past present so beautiful, without confusing the audience or tiring them. In addition, there as so many things one has to anticipate to happen, except from the past story, that is by itself entertaining and well executed, with the costumes on point, the whole atmosphere of the past and the secret revolution- resistance presented as such as it didn't look fake, rather, it could have been easily compared to a movie's class. Lastly, the performances were great, and you can't help but eventually get emotional (even though, with most ghost dramas you kind of expect that to happen) towards the end, which, unlike other dramas that usually the story ends in episode 14 or 15 and the last one is just there to complete some side stories, this one was as entertaining as the rest. Probably, the only thing that didn't appeal to me as much as the rest of the stories, was the today's romance. The couple seemed to lack some of the chemistry they had compered to the past story. Plus, I would have liked for the film makers to have completed some of the side stories as well and not just the main one. But, overall, it was a great drama so I'm rating it with 8.5 out of 10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Boku, Unmei no Hito desu
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I simply started this drama because it seemed like a rom-com with a perfect twist of fantasy. And fantasy dramas have a way of pulling me towards them like no other genre.
When it comes to J-dramas, I would fall into the 'beginner' category. So while I won't be able to tell you how good or bad it was as compared to other typical J-dramas, I'll try my best to tell you read more what I enjoyed in this drama.


THE STORY:
The plot-line of the drama is certainly a unique one. It's not everyday you see a drama where God Himself appears to help two people fall in love.
The drama follows Makoto who seemingly has the worst luck when it comes to women. It's not until a person claiming to be God appears before him that he finds out why. According to God, Makoto's bad luck in women is because he hasn't met his 'soul-mate' yet. Imagine his surprise when he finds out that his destined person works in the same office building as him, and they have met several times before, even without both of them knowing. Now, when it comes to making her fall in love with him, well, that's no easy feat, giving the fact that she cringes at the word 'destiny' alone.


THE CHARACTERS:
There are 3 main characters for this- Makoto (male lead), Haruko (female lead) and God.
-Makoto's character was a dedicated one. He was ready to do just about anything to make Haruko fall in love. And not just with her, his efforts to win over Haruko's dad as well as her best friend, were really commendable.

-Haruko's character may seem a bit annoying, at first, given that she pushes away our main lead repeatedly, when we know that he's such a good person. But try to imagine the situations from her perspective. A stranger comes along, and says stuff about them being 'destiny', her reaction was completely logical. Ofcourse, the circumstances in which her previous relationship ended, sure didn't help the situation, either. Despite of it all, she came to know him as a person and finally

-God's character was....awesome. He was my favorite character in the drama. And that's all I can say without spoiling anything.

-The supporting characters like Sadaoka, Sekihara, Mitsue etc, were also really interesting to watch. Specially their comedy parts.


THE PACING:
-The drama consisted of only 10 episodes. And the pacing was good.
-The twist they pulled out in the last few ep...Did not see it coming. It was perfect.
-

THE CON(s):
- Even though I understood the decisions the female lead male, her character was still somewhat frustrating. It just felt like her indecisive phase stretched for a bit too long.
-Unfortunately, for me, the bromance eclipsed the romance part of the drama. Although, that's not to say that the romance part was not interesting. But more like, I loved the bromance way more than the romance.
-This one is not really a con, but I wish they'd shown more of Ichirou in the last ep.


All in all, this was an enjoyable watch. I hope you give this a try.
Happy Watching!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Inborn Pair
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
***WARNING***
I'm not a fan whatsoever of Chris Wang's acting. Just puttin' that out there. It doesn't matter what T-dramedy he's in. I know I can expect to retch, roll my eyes, and cringe, in varying amounts depending on if he's cast as the romantic lead, supporting role, or just making a guest appearance.
Unfortunately, he was cast as the romantic male lead, Ke Wei Xiang in Inborn Pair, where his facial read more expressions seem to range from a happy-go-lucky-dumbass to a completely-clueless-dumbass, mouth open, with a look of mild to severe constipation in between.
I don't know. Maybe it's just me.
I mean, as the viewing audience we're already expected to overlook a lot of the technical shortcomings (scenes with no continuity where the actor will be shown smiling from one angle but crying from another), suspend our disbelief when it comes to the show's premise we know is not likely to occur in the real world in order to enjoy these TTV romcoms. But when you have an actor like Chris Wang giving such a robotic performance, never closing the emotional distance needed for me to sympathize with his character at any time, the show became a chore to watch.
Personally, I don't believe 84 episodes were needed to tell us that the romantic leads would eventually end up together.
But it's the journey that counts, not the destination. Right?
Yeah, whatever.
I think the producers of this show were actually trying to convince themselves that Ke Wei Xiang and Song Yi Jie (Annie Chen) were meant to be together, despite being manipulated into marriage.
Needless to say, I didn't buy it.
A lot of their "chemistry" was paper thin, failing to make the transition from script to screen. What I found problematic about Ke Wei Xiang was that he was near perfect and whatever character flaws he possessed were not deal breakers. And really there was no logical reason for Wei Xiang not to be with Luo Yun (Or more likely why she would want to be with a clingy, insecure momma's boy. But then Pops Luo brought her back to reality. I'm not saying I approve of his method but I like the results. I just wished somebody would've done the same for Yi Jie).
I got far more entertainment mileage from the rest of the supporting cast with all their flaws, shortcomings and far more interesting stories instead of Wei Xiang and Yi Jie's who-gives-a-shit romance. Still. Eighty-four episodes? WTF?
I LOVE YOU Puff Kuo, Jenna Wang, Jennifer Hong, Annie Chen, and Fu Yin in that order.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Panse
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 5.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
The stroy is pretty simple a trio of three friends have long since admired a Western style house. When the house is put on the market for 3 million yen, they team up and decide to buy it. It comes with one condition that they take care of Rikimaru, who thye believe is the Chow-chow from their childhood that would bark at them. When the former housekeeper comes in though, they realize read more that it's not quite that simple.

Overall, for such a short special, two 25 minutes episodes, it's okay. It's not long enough to really develop a solid plot with conflict and character development. It is short and sweet and worth spending an hour of your time watching. While the roles were not difficult characters, the ladies of Perfume prove the do have some capabilities in acting. (I say this as a fan of Perfume, but also someone who knows difficult roles verses easy ones.)

The music wasn't there aside from the ending theme, and even that was so-so. Overall, a solid 6 from me. Not something I'll be skipping other dramas to re-watch, but I wouldn't mind doing so with a friend who hasn't seen it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Happy Loner
2 people found this review helpful
by Fab
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
The Happy Loner has a very special place in my heart because the story focuses not only on how two very different people fall in love, but also how both the main characters become better individuals through their love for each other. The idea of mental illness is not taken lightly and the drama does not idealize Ji Young's depression and inability to form close bonds. Instead, it shows that despite her read more emotional struggles, Ji Young is able to trust herself with another human being through help and by actively developing as a character.

I appreciate that Baek Soo is also shown to grow. He is the kind of person who craves human connection and needs to be with another person all the time. Baek Soo seeks constant love and support. However, by the end of the drama, we see him evolve as a person as he lives without a constant need for attention.

I have a very personal connection to Ji Young and it was refreshing to see a character who is very distant and cold to the world around her. Watching her grow as she finally begins to trust another human and being able to love and fight for that desire to love was extremely satisfying. This is a very short and sweet drama that does not take mental illnesses on a light note yet manages to have a simple and sweet atmosphere as the two main characters learn to love from each other.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ode to Joy 2
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Story: 4 girls & 1 woman still growing up and out of life and relationships. This season was all about character development of the 22nd floor residents. Some regressed yet development by the end.

Acting/Casting: The entire cast is fitting and comfortable with roles, storyline and each other, something rarely viewed.

Music: Never paid any attention
RW: The beginning of S2 with Bao aggressive courting. Watching & listening to his voice was read more mesmerizing - what took Andi so long?

Overall: For many, book 2 are primarily developmental portion of story - character of the trilogy, this followed suit. Many parts were simply nerve racking and silly. However knowing this is the bridge to S3, I will give space and reserve judgement. S3 has a heavy load to carry on putting closure to the many open ends.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Something About 1 Percent
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This drama was cute from episode 01 till 16, and I loved it. I actually marathon it in a weekend, and could't stop once I start watching it. Didn't knew it was a remake, but for me it was perfect, and that's to say a lot since I watched it out of boredom, and because I didn't have anything else to watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Rise of a Tomboy
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I loved this movie, and I loved the main actors, since I'm watching this right after "Boss and me", I'm pretty sure you know how in love am I with this two actors. But in this movie they are completely different. The movie is really, like rreeeeaaaallllyyyy fast paced, there were time where I didn't even knew what was going on. But at the end, you kind of get the feeling of read more it.

The only thing I really sad about is that all the text's in the movie weren't translated. So feel that I was felt out of some important things in the movie.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Flower Boy Ramen Shop
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
Great light, funny, easy to watch show.

I'm not a person who laughs a lot, but this did have many moments that made me smirk (internally, but hey).

It's nice to know I can always pay a visit to the Flower Boy Ramyun Shop and just relax.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Who Are You: School 2015
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
This started out very strong, made me cry multiple times during the first episodes - but late into the series it felt a bit draggy. There's many things that weren't relevant overall, had they cut it a bit and made it maybe 2 episodes shorter, it would have been perfect. The story felt very confusing at first, but once you settled it it was quite enjoyable.

As for the acting, I was read more very disappointed in Kim So Hyun (Eun Bi/Eun Byul) - she was stiff and in my opinion didn't carry over emotions at all. Everyone else did a good job.

The music ... I don't ever want to hear the 'Reset' song again, wasn't my cup of tea and I hit mute everytime it came up.

I'd recommend this to people who like High School dramas, the mystery plot was too weak to be really important.

Also, while this was a great first watch, I don't think it's something I'll touch again until many years later.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Heirs
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 2.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
To make this short:
Yes, the story is cliche - but it's done so well that I can't give anything but a ten.
The acting is superb throughout - it's funny at times, gripping at others.
The only thing I really disliked was the music ...
This is a hit or miss, if you're not into it after two episodes, skip it - personally, I still recommend it and never heard a read more complaint from friends.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
1 Litre of Tears
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
One of my all time favorite shows - even after watching it six times over the years, each time with different people, it stays just as charming and sad as the first time and no eyes stayed dry.

The acting was marvelous, and the music fit perfectly.

No matter what genre you like - give this a watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Only Love Song
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
i really really loved this drama it gave me drama fever for 4 days straight the plot and story fit together perfectly but i think the drama needed more than 20 episodes to express the true means of it. i also have to be completely honest i really don't think that gong seung yeon really portrayed the character song soo jung that well she didn't seem to have that bad rich girl read more feel i expected but lee jong hyun did ondal perfectly he espressed how money was just a hobby to get over his mother that was sold to people

i really didn't pay attendion to the music but hey the drama is called my only love song so yeah there should be good music am i right?.

princess pyung gang and moo myung were a couple you could tell from a start that they were going to fall in love as moo myung had great care and loyalty for her and he would always do what she said but from the start moo myung fell for her first but he couldn't understand his feelings for her which left the romance complicated but over alll

this drama was GOOD THANKS FOR READING MY REVIEW
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rise of the Legend
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
The film is about the early days of Wong Fei Hung, a real person in China from the late 19th century early 20th century. He is the same character portrayed by Jet Li in the series Once Upon a Time.
However, the movie itself has almost nothing to do with the real person. The main character uses the name of WFH and his father evokes family memories of a kung fu master read more who works with umbrella popularized by the movie Iron Monkey. In addition, in real-life accounts of the heroic acts of the WFH, it is said that he assumed a dock gang in his early days, which this film portrays loosely.
Moreover, this film could have been simply an autonomous film. But the name of the WFH is famous all over China and no doubt was used to sell more tickets.
Although the use of CGI and wire is very visible at times, the overall look and the choreography of the film are very good. Unfortunately, as is common with Chinese films, much attention is paid to the aspect, but it is not enough for the substance.
Ultimately, the film does not break any level of overcoming. As is common in Chinese action movies, characters again do unexplained and stupid things because of creating "drama" or "emotion" and creating convenient scenarios to push the plot without any serious attempt to explain why.
Overall, it's not a bad movie, but it's also little more than other typical Chinese movies that looks good but does nothing else.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My New Sassy Girl
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
"My New Sassy Girl" opened up the opportunity for him (the protagonist) to meet and connect with another "cheeky" girl. He really is a type of masochism, is not he? Anyway, the Chinese girl's acting was good, the Indian ceremony is also lovely conflict when Gyeon-woo gets a job at a technology company with an abusive boss and his wife does not take this abuse, are some of the elements that give read more Featured.
Sad to say, watching "The New Sassy Girl" shortly after watching "My Sassy Girl" just emphasized how bad this sequel is. The comedy was terribly bad, with nothing memorable to fit. Even the romantic conflict is very crude, practically simple, without any emotional impact.
The age of Cha Tae-hyun already 40 years now shows, and his attempt to regain his 2001 charm was largely ineffective. While she is beautiful, Victoria Song as the new Sassy failed to really measure the high level set by Jun Ji-hyun in the first film, both in charm and performance. His role was very poorly developed.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No