2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Daebak. This drama was, in one word, amazing. Everything was perfect, from the storyline to the music to the cast to the romance. I don't think I've ever watched a drama that was so cute and fluffy and just filled with pure love like this one. The fact that there weren't any characters you wanted to just rip into pieces, no ridiculous plot elements, and no meddling parents is what really made read more this drama different. Everything was just so perfect.

To start off, Joon Hyung was the most kind, caring, and sweet boyfriend that I have seen in a drama. He cared about Bok Joo so much and wasn't a jerk like other kdrama male leads. And Bok Joo was adorable, even though she played a weightlifter and wore some pretty nerdy clothes at times, but you can still see how pretty and true to life she really is. Their chemistry together is one of the best that I've seen; no moment that they were together was dull. There were so supportive of each other and they depicted a love that was very realistic and pure without any cliches like other dramas.

There were so many supportive characters and I loved every single one of them. Bok Joo's friends were always so supportive of her, and it really made me realize how important it is to have such amazing friends like them, and at times made me envious of Bok Joo for having such great friends. Not to mention, Joon Hyung's friend was hilarious and I loved watching his interactions with Bok Joo's friends.

I have to admit, at first, when I heard that this drama revolved around a sports theme with weightlifting, I had my doubts about watching this drama because personally, I don't like that style because most dramas I watched with sports themes don't turn out very well (but I decided to give it a shot bc Nam Joo Hyuk). But gosh did this drama prove me wrong. The sports theme added elements of hope and ambition that wouldn't be there otherwise.

This drama just proves that not every drama has to have a complicated storyline or evil characters that get in the way, because this drama had none of that and was still so amazing, and the high rating this drama has is really justified by it. I definitely hope that more dramas have pure romances and happy stories like this one!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 1.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
This was downright a horrible drama to watch. Initially I started to watch this because I love historical and fantasy dramas but then I dropped it half way through, only to pick it up again because I saw it was voted best historical on MDL.

I wanted to love this I really did, but the story was just terrible. The first half I found very childish and shallow and then the second read more half is full of angst and confusion. Now don't get me wrong I'm fine with angst in melodramas....as long as they make logical sense or have something important to convey to the audience. However at the end of this drama I was just left with so many questions and things did not add up at all in the last couple of episodes.

You should really avoid this drama, I wish I had.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Just You
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
Aaron Yang. Say no more!
Great plot / storey great cast. Great everything. Cannot say much more than give it a go, watch it, stick with it, enjoy it. You WILL love it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Someone Like You
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
Watch Watch Watch!!!! You will not be disappointed. Brilliant cast, brilliant storey, brilliant everything!!!
It goes back and forth in time a lot, but that enhances the whole.
Excellent production makes this a gem of a series. It would fit into any TV schedule around the world.
The ups and downs, the twists and turns, and the nasty characters you want to kick and the ones you want to tell them to read more think of themselves for once. All add up to marvellous TV.
Did I mention that you must watch this??
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Bromance
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
When I first saw this on Netflix I thought it would be a laugh to see how cheesy it was!!
But I got hooked. Everything about it is good. (Well 98% of it is)
Pure get away drama at its best.
You keep saying to your self, Can't he see he's a she!!!!!! Especially when they kiss for the first time.
Watch it you will not regret it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Panda and Hedgehog
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 4.5
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 4.5
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
Oh dear Oh dear! A great program to start with. The love storey and all that, but at some time in episodes 12/13/14 the writers seem to have lost interest in it and literally lost the plot !!! Either they smoked a bad batch, or decided they just couldn't be bothered to put any more effort into it.
Sad really because it was a lovely tale of young people falling in love. read more What a waste of good talented actors.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Refresh Man
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I started watching Asian dramas just by chance when flicking through Netflix. Now they are all i watch!!
I soon found out that Aaron Yang was a brilliant actor and anything he's in is worth watching so started this and it had such a feel good factor I found I couldn't turn it off,
Aaron plays his normal CEO roll but every time convinces you of the character, and he does it read more here very well with a good storey and an excellent supporting cast.
Some reviews say that some of the acting is a bit cheesy but I found that any cheesiness was in the right places and meant to be there and added to the whole charm of the program. In the second half of the series the plot could have gone in either of two directions and you are kept in suspense till nearly the end.
It was also nice that at the end you are given a little bit on each character, and where they are and their likely direction. 10/10. one to watch.
P.S The intro music was so catchy I watched every minute of it rather than skip it. 10/10 for that alone.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Click Your Heart
0 people found this review helpful
by Aria
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
Story: Click Your Heart is a pretty typical story in each of the arcs, the difference being that this drama is interactive so that no one gets left out for their own preferences. Second lead syndrome getting the best of you? Look no further, this drama will be sure to give you what you want. It's short and cute and is worth the watch if you're bored and have an hour to read more spare.

Acting/Cast: There was nothing exceptional about the cast, but it didn't fall short of my own standards when it comes to acting.
I liked Da Won and Ju Ho the most, they felt the most realistic when it comes to relationships while Ro Woon and Cha Ni didn't have much chemistry at all. Mina's relationship with Da Won and Ju Ho are something you'd find out of a typical 16 episode long series, just shortened. I thought I'd like Ro Woon, but his character took a turn from wise to immature. Cha Ni just wasn't my type of guy, but I did think the twist at the end was cute. Either way, that's just my own preference, and it all comes down to yours because that's what this whole drama is based on, so don't take what I say as fact.

Music: I didn't pay much attention to the songs, but the theme was pretty cute and uplifting.

Re-watch value: I tend not to re-watch shows unless they're a personal favorite of mine, but since it's short, I wouldn't mind. Not planning to though.

Overall: Not something to take too seriously, it's light and fluffy and you get to choose your own path. I wish more dramas had this feature.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
W
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This was one of the most beautiful dramas I've ever watched. Everything was incredible. Totally worth it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I adore Sakurai Sho, so seeing for the first time in nearly two years return to acting a bit was a warm welcome for me personally in 2017. I wasn't disappointed, but I wasn't 100% pleased either.

The story itself, since it's based off a true story was really heartwarming. If you're familiar with the manga "Real" you'll get the same vibes. Additionally, the story portrayed the plight of those disabled in read more a wheelchair in Japan realistically. It even made the point of distinguishing there different levels of disability in Japan! This isn't the kind of story where everything is okay, despite the protagonist is now disabled. It's a noticeable part of life, with it's own ups and downs, and it was approached and produced with that in mind, in my opinion.

The acting, I was more impressed by the rest of the cast then I was with Sho to be honest. Masami was excellent in her role, 100% believable through and through. She balanced out and even at times made up for Sho throughout the special. Her motivations while a little strange, were honest and realistic. It was so much more then I hoped for. Hayato was stunning. 100% did not recognize him from his previous roles, and that was a good thing. He portrayed the pain of his character incredibly well to the point I did tear up a bit. Hayato was more my focus while watching, since he seemed to have the most immediate changes in character development.The rest of the side cast, while not developed as well as perhaps the main three, are all seasoned actors who brought a lot to the table and really balanced everything out.

Now to why I wasn't satisfied with the drama; Sho was type-casted/they suited the role to fit his personality. (Probably both) As much as Sho is my favorite member of Arashi; he always plays the asshole/tsundere/however you want to label it, character since he tends to have those qualities in real life. While Sho knows how to play the character vs. being himself, and played the character in this drama; it was boring to watch. I've seen too many Sho moments in previous works to know how his 'character' would respond. His character development was pretty thin in the plot (there were a ton of hints at how he should develop overtime, but no~) until literally the last 30-40 minutes of the special when everything rushed to end in time. The saving grace was that the relationships he portrayed were realistic, even if some details were rushed.

The music was alright. I honestly didn't notice it beyond it was there, and mood appropriate. My re-watch values are always low since I tend not to re-watch, but since this only two hours and just a special it might creep in there once in awhile.

Overall, this was a solid New Year's Special that I was glad to watch. Ironically, I watched it for Sho and ending up staying for everyone else.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Slow Video
2 people found this review helpful
by Yume
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This is a very special and unique movie, very heartwarming. Having an abnormal illness of seeing everything in slow motion is not always fun, but this guy turned it into something good and turned it into a talent which I thought was great.

Things that I liked about this movie is the perspective of an average's persons life, which is not that luxurious. The main male and female lead were simple people, read more having troubles with life just as anyone else and I liked the fact that they included that because it makes it feel realistic. But a thing that he had was a girl he liked who made his days happier, random people he met whom became his closest friends, a supporting family and his doctor that's been with him throughout his whole life. This movie kind of shows you that even if you're different, even if you had those times where you isolated yourself from life, it's still not too late to explore the world, making new friends and doing things you like. Till the end, he didn't give up, amazing.

Other than that, there's not so much to dislike about this movie, might be slow-paced but I think that the moral of the story is more important.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
As a college student myself, Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo hit so close to home. The struggles of balancing school, friends, family, and relationships are so aptly depicted and heartwarmingly portrayed in this under the radar gem of a drama. To me, WFKBJ at its core, is about learning how to grow up and find out who you are, and being able to stay true to yourself through the high and lows read more of life in college.

WFKBJ doesn't have a spectacular, thrilling plot. Instead, I felt like I was on the sidelines, watching Bok Joo's real life story, following along the her journey. Watching the characters mature and go through relatable hardships really hit me because it's just too identifiable to my own life! If the sporty theme turns you off (and it did to me initially), it's not the focus of the drama in the sense that the sports are a part of their life in college but it could've been anything else: film, arts, leaderships, etc, and the drama would've still been good because ultimately the drama is about the growth of these young people in college (and sports just happened to be their specific focus/love/hobby in college)

I laughed and cried along with the Bok Joo, with Joon Hyeong, with everyone honestly. I've always liked Sung Kyung after watching her in Doctors and It's Okay, That's Love. I think she's a very versatile actress and seeing her portrayal of Bok Joo just blew me away, from her mannerisms to the warmth she brought to Bok Joo. The romance is low key and well developed because it's built up from friendship and support to finally a relationship, and when the romance finally happened, it was just the cutest thing ever and really made me yearn to have a romance like Bok Joo's and Joon Hyeong's.

I loved how Bok Joo never sacrificed her friends for her boyfriend because besties over boyfriends always. The three musketeers are the cutest and they always have each others' backs.

With all that said, I do think the drama started out a tad slow and I didn't really become invested until around a quarter in. However, WFKBJ is one of the rarer dramas that end extremely well versus starting well but slowly going down the drain near the end. I love the ending of this drama; it just makes me feel complete and left me with a smile at what's to come in Bok Joo's future, and also made me look forward to my future in college as well! I definitely recommend if you're in the mood for a fulfilling and relatable youth drama. After all, as Bok Joo would say, WFKBJ is SWAG!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo
0 people found this review helpful
by Rule
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
this drama has been reviewed so much, there is hardly anything else to add.
My opinion: Cute and fuzzy. Feel good. Great chemistry. Girly friendship, and best of all such a lovely couple.
Overall a great romantic comedy, no villains, no heartburning situations or killjoys. Basically a drama which gives you positive vibes, inspirational and lots of cute romance.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
On the Prairie
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
The drama focuses on the relationship between Tae Woong and Yeon Ho, their meetings, their interactions, their developing feelings for one another and their family dynamics and relationships with parents, siblings and friends. It flowed nicely - although I could have done with much less of the older cast scenes (the parents) I found Yeon Ho's mother to be extremely obnoxious and irritating. I much preferred the story of Tae Man and read more Soon Ho.

Cast: Tae Woong (Choi Soo Jong) is a cars salesman who is honest and upright. If he sees someone in need, despite how pressured he is for time, he will stop to help them - this in turn lands him many opportunities and gains him much favor. He unknowingly helps out people who then help him out in more ways than one. He is bright, kind and very likeable.
Yeon Ho (Chae Rim) is a pediatrician. She's nice and sweet but also very prissy if that's the right word to describe her lol - she was raised rich and doesn't think when it comes to saying things sometimes. She falls for Tae Woong (despite being engaged to another man) who is idk at least 10yrs older than her (she calls him Ahjussi) (there were no subs for this drama and I don't understand Korean fluently so I can't tell you their exact age difference).
Tae Man (Yoon Tae Young) is a guy who is trying to change his life with money - he thinks money means you can do anything - so he chases it as if his life depends on it. Constantly trying to run away from his true happiness by being in pursuit of what he thinks will be happiness. He is on the wrong path and only the girl who loves him tries to set him straight.
Soon Ho (Chae Jung Ahn) is a simple girl who just loves a man so ardently that she refuses to give up on him despite being rejected many times - she can see through his exterior to what lies beneath and hurts when she sees him hurt himself by running from himself. She is constantly trying to pull him back and make him realize what he really wants - she never gives up on him and that was extremely admirable to me. (this man was blessed to have her in his life). Her and Tae Man ended up being my main focus halfway through the drama - I ended up skipping a little more just so I could get to see them sooner lol (they were my favorite couple). I was shipping them from day 1 and my ship only grew stronger as time went on.
Seung Min (Choi Chul Ho) was the fiance to Yeon Ho - He's a really nice guy and I liked his character. I started to enjoy him more however when he and Yeon Ho broke off and he started to like another (secret or it's a possible spoiler).
Ae Ran (Kim Jung Nan) is Yeon Ho's aunt (who is only a few years older than her) - I really liked her character ^^ She was also a Hoobae to Tae Woong and has been crushing on him for a long time. Everything changes however when she finds out he likes her niece.
I really liked Ok Hee and Jum Hee's friendship ^_^ They were sweet friends ;)

OST: I really liked the OST - it's classic and beautiful ^^ especially the songs: ? ?? - ????? (Please by Shirin Ballad? (google translate)) (Tae Woong and Yeon Ho's theme song); and ?? ?? ??? ? (I'm Hidden Behind You) by Zeil (Tae Man and Soon Ho's theme song).

Rewatch?... I might re-watch Tae Man and Soon Ho's scenes again at some point but not anything else lol

Overall it's a good decent family romance melo type drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
DISCLAIMER: I am a straight guy who is a fan of k-dramas. I don't know if there are guy fans out there like me whoooo. Well, I don't know if this will make any difference, but here it is.

A GUY'S PERSPECTIVE 101:

THIS DRAMA IS DAEBAK! IT CONTAINS S-W-A-G THAT I HAVEN'T FELT SINCE WATCHING ROM-COMS. THIS REALLY IS WORTH WATCHING!!

Story: Simple, but warm. The first parts were good, although read more I haven't had high hopes that the story will be better as the week progressed. BUT BOY WAS I WRONG! I have seen how the story becomes better and better while keeping track of what really is going on. The plot was good and simple. The characters were relatable, and they matured and grew a lot as the story unfolds. The friendships made were incredible. The supporting characters were not forgotten. As the writers wrote the main characters' story, they also made interesting side stories. I only gave it a 9.0 because of Sung Si Ho. I felt that the writers have struggles as to how they will prolong her character in the story. After that bad deed (spoiler lol) that she has done, she became a problem-carrier all throughout the drama. Nevertheless, I liked how her character achieved closure from everything. :)

Acting: LEE SUNG KYUNG WAS GREAT. As a guy fan, I really felt and loved her great personality in the drama. She portrayed the character very well. I will not remember her anymore as those portrayed by her in CITT and Doctors, but she will be forever KIM BOK JOO!! Saranghaeyooo
Nam Joo Hyuk was also great. He really improved here a lot. Th supporting characters were great, esp the best friends. I have felt that I am also with them as I watch the show.
Kim Dae Ho was awesome!!! He always makes me laugh in the dramas that he's in. All in all, the characters deserve four thumbs up (though I only have 2 haha)

Music: It has an element of warmth and lightness that complements the drama.

Rewatch Value: I will watch it again, but first, I must graduate hahaha. But, if I have time to spare, I would put it as my number 1 in my rewatch list.

Overall: This drama bothered me for nights! I always thought of my own Kim Bok Joo coming into my life haha. This also gave me lots of realizations about youth and about how it progresses so fast. That's how good this drama is! I have laughed a lot, smiled a lot, loved a lot, shouted a lot (YES, I SHOUT). If you have doubts, let go of it. Just WATCH THIS MASTERPIECE AND BE S-W-A-G!

A GUY'S CONCLUSION 101: I RECOMMEND IT A LOT TO EVERYONE.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No