JIN 2
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I wish I could un-watch this so I could watch it again, but after crossing out some of my to-be-watched doramas in my list. I don't think I have ever or will ever seen a more wonderful dorama as this one. Everything was perfect (the cast -my, that cast!-, the story, the setting, the soundtrack).

**POSSBILE SPOILERS BELOW**

I don't feel like this was a 2nd season. It was pretty much like read more an extension of the 1st season, so it is kind of hard to rate them separately. Maybe the only and biggest difference is that in 2nd season, Jin-sensei is not struggling so much with medicine and it repercussions in history. Since the photography has vanished, and his actions don't affect Miki's life anymore, he doesn't have any worry about the "what will happen if...". He is happy living in Edo period, he is happy with the Jindo-you (?), he is happy being friends with Ryoma-san. If he can save Ryoma-san from his assassination, he will do it, without a doubt, no matter the consequences.

Only in that aspect I prefer the 1st season to the 2nd. JIN has more medical cases, there were more surgeries and wow, awesome scenes that looked, if not entirely realistic, very good to the point of make me feel boneless. I love how Jin-sensei was so much aware of every one of his actions and what would happen if he did XX thing. 2nd season is more about political issues than medical ones. While 1st season is about penicillin, 2nd season is about battles and revolutions.

There is also a stronger bromance between Jin-sensei and Ryoma-san. Talk about bromance! Because Ryoma-san's assassination is around the corner, Jin-sensei is thinking about his welfare almost all the time. The love triangle between Jin-sensei, Nokaze and Saki-san is almost non-existent. Nokaze finds out the truth about Jin-sensei and Miki, she meets a foreign guy and is married in an episode (out of nowhere). Nokaze encourages the love between Jin-sensei and Saki-san, despite loving him as well.

I've read some reviews where people complained about Saki-san rejecting him. To me it made sense. She did not know when or if he would disappear to go back to the future. She decided to be a good doctor first, which was her dream. On the other hand, I've never felt that Jin-sensei truly loved Saki-san. Cared for her, yes. Loved her as a friend, yes. Loved her as a lover, no. I wouldn't want Saki-san to have Jin-sensei' heart half-arsed. And in a way, it is good, because Jin loved Miki, but he also loved Saki.

Which leads to... isn't their love story almost the same as Inuyasha and Kagome? The love triangle Jin/Miki/Saki = Inuyasha/Kagome/Kikyo. Jin/Inuyasha cannot forget their first love (Miki/Kikyo) which I admire because that is what loyalty is about, but at the same time, I pity Saki/Kagome for loving this fool guy so much and for never been able to have their hearts at 100%.

I don't know yet how to feel about the final chapter. The romantic in me is screaming internally in despair. I have to admit I got a bit tearful (who wouldn't?). It was a touching scene, that part where Jin is reading the letter from the past. And also when he was reading these books and found the photographs of the doctors in Jindo-you. I also wanted to say "minna..." with tears in my eyes...

On the other hand, the practical me says that it couldn't have ended in any other way. It was good, it was convenient (the thing about Miki). It was a bittersweet ending (more bitter than sweet).

About the acting. Ayase Haruka is truly a wonderful actress. She has "the vein" that only exceptional actresses have (like Angie). When she is struggling with her feelings, or when she is suffering, "the vein" (on her forehead) appears. She can cry so nicely, and she can smile so angelically as well. It is impossible not to feel empathy with her.

While in season 1 the acting of Miki (Nokaze) impressed me, her role in 2nd season is less prominent and she pales somewhat with her previous acting. Although I admit that she was superb when her baby was born. I don't think in real life anyone would have endured such a painful experience but her tears and determination to have her baby made me remember the Nokaze I fell in love with in Season 1.

Other actress that impressed me was Saki's mother. This actress, Asou Yumi, has such the face of a mother who had to go through so many painful things in her life. She looked a bit tough, especially on her children but also always on the verge of tears. The episode where she was sick was excellent, and she deserved an award for her performance.

My favorite actor has to be, maybe again, Kiritani Kenta. He is so funny without being a comedy character. His accent -the way he lisps-, his bulging eyes when he is shocked. I also love his character, how much he was into medicine, as well as all the other fellows in the little clinic.

No doubt it is the best dorama I've seen so far. True, I have others I liked as much as this one (probably I love Nodame Cantabile a bit more) but in terms of quality, clothing, setting, story, acting, this is the best there is. The kind of show all people should watch. I don't think there will be one single person who wouldn't love this dorama. It has medicine, politic, good battles, a bit of romance, friendship, family matters, Japan history (not sure of the accuracy but overall I learned a lot).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Tokyo Tarareba Musume
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 1.5
  • Story 1.0
  • Acting/Cast 3.0
  • Music 3.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I wanted to drop this dorama several times. But I persisted. Besides the cast, the other reason was because I like "Kuragehime" which is a manga written by the same author from this drama. Alas, this one is sooo frustrating.

I realize that many rom-com dramas have kinda the same plot, which is: marriage. Dramas that I loved, like Nigeru wa Haji da ga Yaku ni Tatsu (Married as a Job) or read more Kazoku no Katachi, or the classic Kekkon Dekinai Otoko. But this one was so exhausting! The girls think and talk about men only, and they have the worst taste in them. Not only one of them, Kaori (Eikura Nana) is the Other Woman of her ex-boyfriend (who proclaims he loves both of them) but also Koyuki (Oshima Yuko) is the mistress of a married man. I thought Koyuki would have been the most sensible one in the trio, but this tells you that you can judge by the cover.

The most bearable one of the trio was Rinko, played by Yoshitaka Yuriko. At least she has different boyfriends to find out what she really wants. But the final episode made me hate her, grrrr. What a stupid girl, but I guess this kind of decision is expected in a tv show. Good, goofy guys never win in cinema/tv :((

I liked Sakaguchi Kento (KEY-san or Kinpatsu), but unfortunately, in this drama, his character was insufferable. Why did he have to be so meddlesome? Why did he have to be patronizing the girls, who just wanted to have fun? Why was he always judging the girls? He was also a "what-if" guy, and I didn't care about his past and his wife, he was the worst and I hated him. And his stupid hair.

I can't believe that with such a colorful cast, the drama was so mediocre. The girls were likable as friends (as women, they were the worst, and the most childish. Make up your mind, girls! And stop acting so immaturely!). There was a good chemistry between them. I liked Oshima Yuko, first time I see her acting. Eikura Nana was ok, I guess, always dull, poor girl. She is so pretty though, and after reading she was pregnant in real life, I couldn't help noticing her bump (and in the final episodes, she has the habit to touch her belly). Yoshitaka... i never liked her, to be honest. As an actress, she is ok, but in real life she is insufferable, thinking she is sooo open-minded and fun. BLEH.

The guys, though... Why in the world Suzuki Ryohei and Sakaguchi Kento were in this messy drama! Although it was cute to see them reunited, after "Ore Monogatari" (My Love Story!)... but that's another story... How in the world Tanaka Kei agreed to played the role of a married man who has an affair!

The final episode... omg, so bad. Awful. Kaori didn't learn her lesson, and Rinko makes the stupidest decision ever. I think the first part was a bit good, since any 30-year-old single woman can relate to the girls (being invited to weddings and still being single, etc). Oh, and another con: at first it was cute, but then it got on my nerves: the stupids talking-vegetable. So lame!

What redeems this crappy show? The setting: beautiful, gorgeous Tokyo. The clothes: very Japanese-like. The fashion: I paid extra attention to the nails (and currently, I am painting my own nails more or less like Kaori and Rinko did). The ending song: a catchy song by Perfume. The opening song: cute and fun.

All the other: terrible. I don't have any doubt to remove this file from my computer, for good!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
5-ji Kara 9-ji Made
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
I pretty much agree with everything Luly wrote in her review but just to add my two cents here:

This drama looked SO promising but in the end it didn't fulfill my expectations at all and I have to admit that I was bored most of the time - and that's saying something considering that the series has only 10 episodes.

Story
What story? From 5 to 9 is many things, but read more plot-driven is not one of them. First couple of episodes is spent on Hoshikawa being a total creep and when you think you're finally getting to something interesting, all you get is one pathetic grandmother who is being a bully and a younger brother with an "evil" smile and childhood complexes that are never explored in a satisfactory way (btw it's also never explained how he could think he could do what he wanted with the temple since he had no money and no rights over it...).
Both the temple and the school could provide an unlimited number of great side stories, but the writers never even try to do anything interesting with the settings.

Cast and characters
Both Ishihara Satomi and Yamashita Tomohisa probably do their best but their options are limited due to the bad, unimaginative writing. Hoshikawa-san is creepy and cold for most of his screentime and Junko lacks agency - she doesn't really move the plot forward and I felt really sorry for her most of the time (I was like "Show some backbone and tell them to go f*ck themselves!" most of the time). Furukawa Yuki's character, Mishima, is kind of ambiguous, especially at the beginning, it was like the writers didn't really know what to do with him. My favorite characters were probably Arthur, Momoe and Masako (she was cute). I was very sorry that potentionally interesting characters like Kaori and Amane ended up being very two dimensional.
Kaga Mariko probably enjoyed playing the evil grandmother character but again, unlike a similar character she famously portrayed in Hana Yori Dango, her character here lacked depth.

Music
Catchy main tune and main song! Otherwise from that, it was only okay.

Rewatch value
For me personally, extremely low, since this drama bored me to tears and I couldn't connect with the main characters.

Redeeming qualities
There were some funny moments! Not many of them but they were there! I liked the scenes with Hoshikawa that took place in the classroom and his rivalry with Mishima during the English lessons were truly hilarious. Aside from that, I liked ArthurXMomoe scenes.

All in all, in spite of the high rating here, this drama has many issues concerning romanticised stalking and abuse, several sexual assaults (I am speaking about Junko and Kaori both here), misrepresented LGBT character etc. - all of these together with the lack of plot and character depth make From 5 to 9 barely watchable.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
News no Onna
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
As for me fine but have few moments which didn't like me. In general i recommend.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Uncle
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
"My uncle", graceful comedy between the relationship uncle and niece.
Lightweight and relaxed comedy of success built on the relation nephew uncle directed by Nobuhiro Yamashita is a light film, as vital as intimate and popular, simple on the premise but sensitive and deeply human.
"My Uncle" a film capable of consistently maintaining its grace and sweetness intact until the end, a poetic rain where it makes you laugh as much as read more tears, and make you listen to the sound of your inner doubt ...
Among the "philosophical" maxims is the true heart of the uncle, between his continuous and amusing way of being, his comic timing, his lightness and his deep human tenderness, everything is on the path of growth and the progressive part of the fall of the masks, In the mutual affection that crackles between uncle and nephew, moments at the beach at sunset, together, between dreams, hopes and conscience (even painfully) learned.
The film sometimes tends to get a little too much in the context of economic problems, perhaps for a few minutes longer than necessary over the dialogues. Generally speaking "My Uncle" conveys a way to feel good even with so many problems. Recommended.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Annoying Brother
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
So the main story is about a guy coming out of jail to "help" his brother, who used to be a judo athlete and went blind in a game. Obviously, he does not care about his blind brother, but eventually they grow more together.
From the perspective of the exact story of the main promising idea with the performance and characterization by the two main tracks was beyond my expectations, a very read more nice film and some moments boring. The familiar blend of comedy elements and Korean entertainment drama has really been perfected in this film. My main criticism; The plot was rushed around the middle of the story and the two other characters that should have been essential to the story were mere adjuncts.
I know it should be a comedy, but part of a few funny moments, it was not so funny. The family drama was fine, but it was not strong enough to tear at the end but I recommend it anyway.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Silver Season
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
It looks like it was taken from a book, moreover, you can predict the ending, but you still have no idea whether or not the characters will succeed in their goals.
Located in the Alps of Japan, with very impressive landscapes, "Silver Season" tells the story of three skiers in the "Monoyama Ski Resort". The three skiers wreak havoc across the city, with their death challenging ski skis and just being generally read more annoying. In their lives, but especially Gin Shiroyama who is played by Eita, comes Nanami, played by the beautiful Rena Tanaka. She is here to get married in a few days and wants to learn to ski before that, so she comes alone. Gin, who used to be a champion skier before a bad accident in a competition, agrees to help, apparently since he is doing little more. You feel that something is wrong with this marriage and there is, when the future husband of Nanami, as well as the wedding guests, are not coming (you will have to see the movie to understand why). As a matter of fact, there are some unusual twists in this story, which does not make it another movie about skiing.
A romantic comedy movies, basic story is well set up the camera work is brilliant, the Japanese alps are beautifully captured along with the actors, and all the actors do a very good job. The idea of ??the "snow cape" is brilliant and so romantic ... This is really a sweet movie with some very beautiful characters and beautiful visual audio effects. It's a bit repetitive, but the main theme is really a well-made romantic comedy.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
FOR ANYONE CONFUSED THIS MOVIE IS A CONTINUATION OF THE TV SHOW, NOT A REMAKE.
For anyone that wants to know my thoughts on the tv show I also have a review for it but moving on!

STORY: This story was much longer since it is a movie, but it is a continuation of the show. The show had a vague but somewhat satisfying ending - if you're not allergic to cliffhangers. read more This movie offers a more solid conclusion and just enough rivalry between cast members to get you excited. if you love the show you will love the movie. It has many of the same components of the tv show, love, friendship, family but it also offers more of a backstory for the characters that you did not get to see in the show.

CAST: Once again, the cast was simply perfect.The main cast was a part of this film, no one was replaced or anything which is a big pet peeve of mine. I did not have to worry with this. I was not a huge fan of Michelle but she was not a bad actress by any means, just the character was a little too flat until almost the end.

MUSIC: The music and sound effects were great and once again production did a very cool job with blending anime-like quality and tones with live-action and digital capabilities.

REWATCH: This is not quite as rewatchable as the show with shorter episodes that have self-contained stories but this would be good to watch again every once in a while. I highly enjoyed it. If you watch to see the club get into more situations, be their cute selves, and have a more definite ending concerning the romance you should definitely watch this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Missing 9
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 4.5
  • Rewatch Value 3.5
Ugh, missing nine! This was a really good drama, until the ending ruined it. That and some other little parts. The story is pretty good, as it wasn't the typical romantic comedy. It was rather thrilling to watch how the story developed till the final episode. However, in the end, many things were left unanswered. Like, the romance never got to be "finalized" and left you thinking if they were actually attracted read more to each other or not. Or the murderer case, as everyone seemed fine with it. I mean, they were kind of all calm about the whole situation even from the island, where none panicked over the fact that a serial killer was among them. And there is the whole Yeol case. I'm not a fan of the idol, but I did wait to see if they found him or not. At least, it would have been nice if there was some closure to that one. But those were the actual negatives of this drama. On the other hand, it was very intense watching it. The performances were great and you could sympathise with the victims or feel rage with the villains. So, solemnly because the ending left many questions unanswered, I'm rating this drama 7 out of 10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ouran High School Host Club
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
STORY: The story was not the best, nothing super original, it was a live-action version of the anime and manga. There were many of the same shenanigans, but it was a very interesting live version. The creators of this show even managed to create similar effects. I will not lie, at first it was cringe-worthy and many fans of the anime say they do not like this show, but it grows on read more you. The actors are such a large part of this that it is hard to stop watching. I honestly loved this show and how they blended what has been seen before in other versions with new things they create to fuel the story. I expected it to be nothing but romance and be horrible but the humor, family, friends, and love were all so well balanced that I found myself binge-watching.

CAST: The cast fit their roles so well, it was incredible. Yamamoto Yusuke did an amazing job as Tamaki, I was so surprised by just how extra he could be. Daito Shunsuke caught me off guard as Kyoya as well, pulling off the cool and collected character perfectly, but leaving just enough to make you swoon. And the twins were perfect, devilish but adorable. I was happy with how their characters seemed more complex, not happy go lucky blank slates. I found the main cast gave a lot to their roles, to show growth and keep the interest of the viewer. Everyone worked very well together. Kawaguchi Haruna was wonderful of course.

MUSIC: The music and sound effects for this show were very good, however, "friday ma magic" did get slightly old as the theme song. While I absolutely love the song, I wish there had been maybe one more but there is a charm to a limited soundtrack at the same time.

REWATCH VALUE: This show has a very high rewatch value for me simply because it is hilarious, also every episode has a different story, and the cast is so good. Even is you do not think it will be as good as the anime I highly suggest trying at least one or two episodes. Especially since it does not have 20 or more episodes. There are only 11 (plus a movie but it's not NECESSARY to watch that.)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
WARNING! This drama can cause addiction, insomnia, cause great curiosity, heart palpitations. Because the drama is Extraordinary. The script seems to fit history and not misguided (sorry if I'm wrong). The addition of the fictional character is very good, the casts put out their best acting, the ending given really made the audience want to season 2, but I think this drama is made not for 2 season. So, enjoy every scene read more given by the director!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Moon Lovers: Scarlet Heart Ryeo
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
An unexpected drama that lives up to it's expectations. No wonder why it is still on the "hot to watch" lists even though it ended months ago! All in all, I really loved the girl's story, though I did find some disadvantages. First of all, the coming "back" from the future didn't really work, though it was forgotten after the second episode and it was only revisited in the last episode. Also, read more the comic acts were not that good, and they made the drama a little silly. Plus, the romance was strong, but I felt that the chemistry was lucking, though I did like the fact that she didn't develop feelings for the prince from the start, as it would have made the drama dull (twenty episodes long already it would have been tiring to watch if the romance had started from episode four!). Another thing that is only my personal opinion is that the male lead didn't work for me. As I'm not his biggest fan, I didn't quite identify with the romance, as he looked rather cruel at times and like a child in others, not to mention the "You are only mine" possessiveness didn't work for me at all! However, I did enjoy this drama. The performances were okay (the first episodes were a little awkward though), the costumes and the settings were breathtaking and the action and royal twists were enough to keep the interest high till the very end. Another plus was that the lead lady's character was well developed, as you could she her growing up from a bold girl to a respected head court lady. So, 8 out of 10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Honestly, the title is a bit odd and rather than creating interest, it might stop you from watching this drama. Which would be a mistake. Sure, the story is very simple and maybe I'm giving it 8 out of 10 because:
1 I love Nam Joon Hyun, he is a really good actor and played in many hit dramas of 2016, like Scarlet heart and Cheese in the trap
2 My favourite read more theme is school life But, part from those two, this drama has one thing that many others lack; a strong couple. The chemistry between them was amazingly powerful, even though their romance didn't start till probably the tenth episode. But even so, the dynamics were great! Cute and romantic, they were the it couple!! The story is nice too. The performances were nice and the soundtrack was great. One thing that maybe wasn't that good, was that the leading lady supposed to be overweight, or at least not skinny to be able to do weightlifting, but the drama only had her wearing buggy clothes and she not even looked strong enough. But other than that it was a quite enjoyable drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Who Are You: School 2015
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
It's the catchy story that will make you watch this drama. However, there is more to this drama than the twin sister story. Sure, it's interesting to see if she will get caught and how she manages to survive in a world that's far from the one she grew up into. But the main interest is the bulling. In this drama, it is handled carefully. showing all the forms that is can read more take and all its results. And for me, that was the best part of the drama. The love story, actually the love triangle that it develops between the girl, her sister's best friend, and the outcast of her high school, is really good, but it fails to be completed, as the final episode leaves you a little confused. Also, the production didn't handle well the presense of the two girl simultaneously in the same place. But, other than that, it's a good drama, with quick pace and interesting theme.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
STORY: This is also known as The Legendary Lackey. A lackey in this context is a bullied kid that acts as a servant/slave for the bully. I hate bullying. But what makes this story good is that it's how the lackey rises to the top. There's a lot of funny scenes and a few cringe-worthy ones too.

ACTING/CAST: The actors did a great job, particularly Lee Ji Hoon. He is quite a read more capable actor and can wear many expressions on his face.

MUSIC: Nothing special.

REWATCH VALUE: I'll watch it again for sure.

OVERALL: Again, hate bullying. That aside, it was a funny show.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No