Goblin
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This may come as a surprise but when Globin started airing, I had no interest in watching it. Let’s say I love Asian Culture and entertainment, that is why I watch dramas but one thing is true, Asians are not good in doing description and to me Goblin sounded lame, over de top fantasy/comedy. I can say for sure that none of those words above can be used to describe it in read more the end.
There has been a long time since a drama moved me in such a way like this one. It is a touching and sincere love story and have the one thing I love the most about romance, it being drama, movie or book. Goblin has “great love”. For the ones who doesn’t know, “great love” is that genuine love that the person is capable of sacrificing everything for the other one, without selfishness or jealousy or greed. It is just pure love and it is great. Many love stories try this line but few achieve it, Goblin does.
If you are reading this, you probable already read de description on the top of the page, it is terrible so let me tell you. This drama is the story of a goblin, a darned creature, who was crushed to walk on earth forever and see all his loved ones die. The only person capable of ending this curse, so he can go to ashes, is his bride. So he goes on waiting for the bride to appear. That’s all you need to know.
It is beautifully made, the tempo of all drama is well done, none of it gets boring, in the end of each episode you will die wanting more. For the drama veterans, it don’t have almost any clichés of Korean dramas, no second league guy, no annoying girl, no mother in low or and to me it fells new and refreshing. It has one thing that is cliché but this one is to you to find out.
And the acting, I can say that Goblin revived a lot of carriers and impulse new ones, for sure. Gong Yoo as Kim Shin was a gift to me, it had been such a long time I watched and loved a drama with him. I love Coffee Prince, and I love him on Coffee Prince. So to me watch him doing so good as the Goblin makes me really pound. Kim Go Eum was a nice surprise, I watched some episodes of Cheese in a Trap, but I didn’t finished it so I couldn’t tell mush of her background, in Goblin she is refreshing and funny and a strong female lead, you can relate to her and both of them together is explosive .
In the beginning I thought the age difference between the characters would make it a little weird, not because the Goblin has more than 900 years, but Gong Yoo is in this late 30’s and Ji Eum Tak is in high school. She even calls him “ajushi”, but you buy it and you buy their love, by the way, she is over eighteen.
For the second roles, Lee Dong Wook as the Grim Reaper was other acting as was really happy to see revived, he was not long gone like Gong Yoo but the last few years I was happier watching him in Roommate than in a drama, and it is sad. But he did so well in Goblin that I hope the next drama he does are the same incredible. Yoo In Na, Sunny, did also an amazing job, I don’t know if I’m being mean but seems like In Na has a face of a mean lead but do so much well as second one, not saying she is not talented but she did so well in this character that I want to see her do it again.
One very important point I have to talk about is the Grim Reaper and Sunny story line. Technically is the second story line but it is so well treated here that it feels like main one. The two story lines need each other to be excellent and neither of them feels less because of it. It is something really hard to do in story telling. So applause to the Globin team for archiving it.
About the sound track, “Never far Away” is my favorite music high now. I listen to it 5 or 6 times a day. So it is enough to say I love it and if someone say it is not good, they are crazy. The rest of the songs too, are amazing.
And about the end, it is something very important to me in a drama. It can break or make the drama for me. There was so many drama that went down on ranking to me because of bad ending, I was afraid this one would too. It didn’t. The end is not fairytale, it is not necessary happy… it is beater sweet I would say, but it is as much of beautifully made as the rest of the drama. And now if I think about it, for the entire drama there was clues of the end, you just don’t realize it.
So, you may be wondering why my score was 9,5 and not a 10 if I liked it so much. Well, even if it was an amazing drama, there were some questions and inexplicable aspects that this drama didn’t answer. Things that I found out in the internet but it was the drama that had to give me it, but how it was nothing major I just took 0,5 a point.
Overall Goblin is a jewel, worth of watching at least one time or three or four. I’m for sure coming back and watching it again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sweet 20
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This web drama is like cotton candy. There is conflict and misunderstandings and a real uncertainty about who she's going to end up with at the end, but it's all so easy and pleasant to watch. The makeup tutorials are also a really nice touch. Obviously, they are the whole purpose of the drama, but they don't feel weird or out of place or even all that much like product placement. They're read more nice and simple and suitable for a wide variety of people. You don't even really need to use Innisfree makeup to do them, even though that's the only brand used. You can very easily recreate these looks with any other makeup brand out there.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Elegant Lies
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
In my opinion this is a good movie, I was bullied and this topic is kind of hard for me because I know how she feels. I can see myself in this movie. I think is a great movie because if more people could watch this, maybe they'll think carefully before opening their mouth and telling mean things to other. Give it a chance, you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
3 people found this review helpful
by juvy
Other reviews by this user
1 day ago
1 day ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
Goblin. The lonely and beautiful man who had to undergo sadness, happiness, sadness and happiness again. And he brought along with him the viewers to this roller coaster of emotions.

It definitely deserved its hype. It's one of those few dramas that actually deserved the hype. It has SUBSTANCE (very important for me) and you can not not finish it or else your questions about the drama will just remain as questions. read more Most episodes left me at awe and a lot of scenes gave me goosebumps. The second half of the drama was exceptional and I'm glad because a lot of dramas lose its beauty as they reach the second half. Goblin didn't.

Most of all, I love the relationships in the drama specifically of the four main leads: the goblin and his bride, kim woo bin and sunny, goblin and the grim reaper, part timer and her boss, the missing soul and the grim reaper, the queen and his brother, the king and the sister of the traitor, the king and his warrior. And you should never just shrug off the side characters — they play significant roles to the dramas's story.

And do I even need to explain why I rated the music a 10? The whole universe would agree that Goblin's OSTs were beyond amazing. And it wasn't just their music that was pleasing, the cinematography itself was aesthetically satisfying.

I gave the rewatch value a 8.5 only because if I rewatch again, I'd only focus on the second half of the drama and the humor of the first half (except episode 1 and 2 those were amazing episodes).

Overall, Goblin was an amazing drama. Not only because I cried a bucket of tears, but because it showcased how rich human (and nonhuman lol) relationships can be. How a single person can change your once believed "life full of punishments," how forgiveness can heal not only the person forgiven but also you yourself and that actually, the existence of death makes life even more meaningful.

I can't even express myself properly through words *sighs* thank you Goblin. You are a gem.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
This drama is absolutely worth watching. I can say it because initially I wasn't ready to watch it though there was too much craze about it, I felt its just another historical + present time story but I was totally wrong and I'm so glad I watched it.

Story: The story is just amazing, it is totally something new and dramatic in a good way. The suspense and excitement is maintained even read more till the last. You totally fall in love with romance, comic scenes, action and all of those elements. Its a throughout entertainment and the story doesn't drops low anywhere, each episode and scene is worth watching.

Acting/Cast: Such big actors wih their flawless acting will make you love each and every character they play. Gong Yoo being a serious goblin and happy soul both are interesting, Kim Go Eun is so cute and adorable in this drama, Lee Dong Wook alert! you might have a SLS problem here, Yoo Na In is damn good also adding glam to the drama and Yook Sung Jae adds up to the comic portion, even the minor characters act great.

Music: OST is great and totally suits the on going situation in the drama.

Re-watch value: Yes you can actually watch it again and I definitely will.

So I can totally conclude that this drama should be watched, it will make you laugh, cry, feel relaxed and totally thrilled. It can make you feel all of that so go for it without thinking once.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Princess Wei Young
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Esse dorama está no meu TOP 10. Muito bom, não conseguia parar de ver, terminei em 3 dias. Ri e chorei muito, pena que acabou, mas me prendeu do início ao fim. Já vi duas vezes mais. RecomendadÍssimo.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
I can't lie I started watching this drama for the cast and didn't really know what the story was going to about but I am so happy I watched it. The chemistry betythe actors was amazing and the story had me hooked from the first episode all the way to the end. This is a story about love but not just romantic love but love of friendship and family. This drama has read more moments that will have you laughing and moments when it will have you in tears. This is over all one of the best dramas I've watched in a while.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Absolutely amazing, never a dull moment. This drama is one of my top ten favorites out of all 117 dramas i had watched so far.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
31 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
If you are hesitating to watch this at all, please....just throw out your reservations and watch this. Goblin has just stolen the #1 spot for my favorite drama ever. (And my husband agrees!) It almost makes me wish that this were my first perfect 10 I'd ever given. The cinematography was gorgeous, the music was amazing, the actors were perfect (Hello, Gong Yoo!), the story was heartbreakingly beautiful.

This is the first read more time I've watched any of the main actors except Yoo In Na. I have now officially developed a Gong Yoo crush and understand why drama fans are enamored of him. (This show caused me to watch at least 3 other works he has been in already with plans for a few more!) Gong Yoo as Kim Shin/ Goblin was mesmerizing. I could listen to his voice for days. Every scene he was in was a treat. Every emotion that his character had was palpable, and his smiles could light up the sky.
And Kim Go Eun as Ji Eun Tak was super cute. She had a lot of detractors and the writer got a lot of flak for making her so young. But the character and her age were perfect for this story and how it unfolded.
Lee Dong Wook as the Grim Reaper had the perfect deadpan (heh) delivery. And he may be the best male "crier" I've seen yet.

The story will make you laugh and make you cry. Not only is the love story epic, but so is the bromance between Goblin and Reaper. I've found that I'm quite fond of this fantasy genre and this has been done so well. I have no criticisms of this show at all. It's sweet, funny, romantic, sad, tragic, beautiful...

The music was perfect and perfectly lovely. I don't always pay much attention to the music, but this show utilized it so well and chose the perfect songs. So many people loved even the intro song that they made a special recording of it to make it a full length song (Round and Round, but may also be found under Never Far Away). Beautiful by Crush was the best song in my opinion, and I believe that it was the theme song for our main couple. And Stay With Me by Chanyeol and Punch was another favorite.

Rewatch value - HIGH. In fact, I've already rewatched the first half of it with my son while waiting for new episodes. (He got sucked in when he accidentally caught some of episode 11, so I had to start at the beginning with him. LOL!) And I have no doubt that now that it is complete I will binge watch it all the way through again. I already miss these characters....
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
1 people found this review helpful
by Sash
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Another one to my special list!

What happens when a goblin, and grim reaper become roommates? If nothing else, you can be sure that there will be lots of roommate drama, bromance, and funny moments! Special mention to the scene where they go out to get groceries like the supernatural beings they are, it cracked me up. Why is this special, you ask : Go watch the drama :P

On a serious read more note, Goblin was like a ray of sunshine that flickers through on a cloudy day for me. Although it had its flaws (with respect to pacing and few unresolved questions), it was beautifully written and portrayed. The story was built with a rich mythology, filled with elements of hilarity, romance and above all melancholy. Each of the characters, even minor ones, had an intriguing charm to them and fulfilled a unique purpose in the storyline. Cinematography, especially scenes in Quebec, were visually stunning (I cant wait to visit Chateau Frontenac and other places in QC during fall now). I also really liked listening to the drama's OST, especially Beautiful by Crush, and have of course added it to my Kdrama playlist.

Maybe this might not be a popular opinion but I loved the bittersweet touch to its ending. I clearly have a thing for sad love stories. But what I took away from the drama the most, was that at the end of the day, we do need to deal with life on our own even with or without the presence of your loved ones. But, why should that mean, living life unhappily. In fact, live each moment with great joy, sharing precious moments with your dear ones, if not for anything else but to respect the love that you have received so far. With all the limitations we have as mortal beings, you might as well make the most of each moment. I was left with some questions at the end but I am ok ignoring these minor flaws as it kept me hooked till the last minute while also being thought provoking. Now, if only I could summon "The One", by blowing on a candle ;)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Uncontrollably Fond
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Absolutely amazing! Kim Woo Bin is the best actor I have ever seen!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Goblin has a lot to offer. It handles one of the deepest concepts; death, life, destiny, choices and regrets. And it does a great job with it.
It is a very realistic drama, while having fantasy elements(with great special effects) which makes it x100 times better. It has great life stories. And what I mean by life is that it has friendship, family, and great love. It talks about being a human, read more it talks about learning to love yourself and others. It is funny, it is sad, it is beautiful and every moment of it shines. It is just one the best stories I have ever seen and I wish everyone would get to see this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
How to describe my love for this series in words? How? Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo was a breath of fresh air. It was refreshing, comfortable, adorable, heartwarming, hilarious, and I just felt myself get so attached to the characters and story.

It has so many lovely messages and takes you on a rollercoaster of emotions staying consistently good each episode. The acting was beautiful and the characters are extremely relatable. The read more story focused on a variety of things without being overdramatic or all over the place. It also really delved into the characters background stories without focusing too much on one lead over the other.

You will not only adore main leads Kim Bok Joo and Joonhyung but also sob over their amazing chemistry. You will love the weightlifting team, family, and friends. You will find yourself laughing so hard, smiling over fluff, and getting upset all in the right scenes.

I would find myself watching this drama over again for sure it just made me smile through every single episode ;_;

Watch if:
You LOVE fluff/cuteness
You like slice of life pacing
You like awesome female leads
You like non-jerky/aggressive and adorable male leads
COMEDY "WHAT?" (you'll understand the reference if you watch)
You love feeling emotional
You love heartwarming + family scenes

Don't watch if:
You don't like coming of age/everyday/youth dramas
(I can't think of any other reason not to watch)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
It's just a drama every Korean drama should watch... great cast, great story line, different from the usual kdrama ish. It was just a fresh drama I will highly recommend.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
After more than 200 dramas and over 100 asian films, the plot of this drama has become my all time favorite. While I've been on this website for a long time and I've been watching asian dramas and films for over 8 years, I've never felt compelled to write a review. But for this drama, I will. I will watch this drama probably every year, and listen to most of the osts read more in replay for the next three months. This cast couldn't have been more ideal, the acting was superb, and seriously those damn ost are so goooood! I never skipped one second of this drama (and trust me now a days I skip a lot). Also lets talk about the scenery cause damn every second was beautiful! everyone worked really hard and it shows. So sad its over but I'm glad it happened.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions