Goblin
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Upon re-watching a show, or watching it critically the first time, much can be said about where the director failed, where the author confused, where the actors faltered. There are works of art, however, that do not lend themselves to such criticism. Goblin is one such show.

It's not perfect. The faults I mentioned (and those that have been and will be mentioned by others) are present in Goblin. Yet Goblin isn't read more the sort of artwork to reveal these faults to the engaged viewer.

Again, much will be said in the way of critique and analysis, as it should be. But if you come across this show and ever find yourself immersed — hopefully in the first episode — Goblin will refuse to release you until its final moment. It does what every artist hopes their work will do: it submerges you in the world it constructs and, when it ends, leaves a part of its world with you.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
As of the moment I am writing this review, I haven't watched the Chinese version, so I can't compare both series and story lines with each other like previous writers do, so I will solely base my review on this series.

I have had my thoughts to actually start watching this series as the plot seemed to be very common amongst fantasy dramas, however I gave it a go and from my read more view it was totally deserved to be watched. A very nice romance series in which a lead plays an important role amongst the princes their fate. The acting was strong, but to be honest when I am watching IU playing, I am basically sold already haha!.

Though I gave it a pretty low re-watch value as I am not a person who likes to re-watch such dramas as it will spoil the series when you know the story pretty much beforehand.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This has honestly become my favorite drama (out of almost 200)...ever. You're probably thinking that I'm exaggerating, but I can assure you there's no doubt that this is an amazing drama that's given me tears, lots of them, both happy and sad.
The story is ambitious, let me tell you. The fantasy genre is not for the weak. Many try, but there are few survivors. They tend to fall short, leave the read more audience wondering, and the plot becomes shaky. Goblin, though marched right up to the top (easily) and stuck it's flag in, claiming its rightful place as the best fantasy drama made so far. It tells a story that spans 900 years, relying heavily on drawing parallels between past and present, but coherently weaves all the little details into place. Everything makes sense, and leaves the audience in suspense through the entire show with it's twists and turns. The fantasy aspect is absolutely amazing as it's used both comically and as important elements for the plot. It's never used just to show off the effects they can do. The show forms such an amazing atmosphere as if you were in another world, and as an artist, I can assure you that this is the most aesthetically appealing show I have ever seen.

The acting was of course, top notch, with this star studded cast. By star studded, I don't mean idols; These are talented and renowned actors that have proven their excellent acting abilities with their previous work. Fun fact, Lee Dong Wook, who normally has lead roles, begged and begged the writer to cast him as the SECOND lead. That's how good this script was, and you bet he worked his butt off for this drama. Gong Yoo, I'm sure you've seen in plenty of other movies, namely Train to Busan, never overacts, but conveys so much emotion and is just perfect for his role. There have been people talking badly about the lead actress, saying she isn't pretty enough, but I think she's absolutely gorgeous and has such a pure smile. She fits her role so well and you can't help but love her.

Since the drama does everything else so well, I guess you can't expect its OST to be perfect as well right? But it is. Many of the tracks have gotten millions of views on Youtube and I have the entire OST replaying on my phone. All of the music is just so atmospheric and fitting for the show. I mean it when I say I love every single song, and that's pretty rare. I mean when's the last time you loved every song on an album?

Alright well, I guess I'm done singing praises for this drama. I can't find a single thing to criticize, not because I'm biased, but because it's just THAT good. By now you may have guessed, but I wholeheartedly urge you to try this. You'll find yourself rolling around with laughter, pain, and feels so if you don't try it I may have to personally go over there, sit you down, and force you to watch it. Now I'm off to cure this post Goblin hangover and maybe cry in a corner. Shoot me a PM if you need me (especially for fangirling or crying purposes I'm here for you)!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Totto TV
0 people found this review helpful
by Josh
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
The interesting story reels you in, then you have a good laugh and by then end you will need some tissue.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
seriously i just love this drama so much..the endings are so filled out
and you don't even yearn for a new season because it ended so
beautifully...i just really like how they sorta made a great conclusion
to the love that was happening here and really show us how everything
will/would end. They didn't leave the ending in the open which honestly
way too many dramas do.

Goblin was seriously the best read more drama i
have ever seen and the animation and direction of the drama was
gorgeous. The Actors were simply perfect and let's be honest

THE BROMANCE WAS ON POINT!

Never seen this great bromance before!!

Of course there are probably many demanding a new season because they'd
like to see more of the ending but i feel like this would ruin the whole ending, it was just too beautiful. This drama should not have anymore episodes because it's just dat well
finished.
(Specials and Cuts scenes are always welcomed tho)

Goblin 10/10
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Goblin was an ambitious drama-a high production value drama with gorgeous cinematography-and TvN pulled it off well. Granted, the ~90 minute episodes were a bit hard to adjust to and the drama did linger on some moments. Nevertheless, I never thought the drama was overhyped.

The combination of the breathtaking way scenes were filmed, and the wealth of heart Goblin possessed was enough to pull me in. I don't usually talk about read more editing but I have to say that Goblin's editing and stylistic filming are one of my favorites out of all dramas. I love the historic backstory, sometimes even more than the present. The historic story was the anchor of the emotional resonance of the present timeline.

Goblin's world of fantasy was fun, woven well, and interesting. The rules aren't always the most clear but I can accept that. The core of the story lied in the actions and consequences of the Goblin, and the lives he touched. Of course, the bromance between the Goblin and the Grim Reaper is my favorite relationship by far. The dry insults they pass back and forth amongst themselves are the best because under the insults lies affection, as much as they hate to admit it.

The romance in Goblin wasn't the most important to me until the second half of the drama, when the stakes were raised higher and the emotions felt heavier. Admittedly, I didn't love the romance between the Kim Shin and Eun Tak in the beginning because their relationship seemed to be more of a lost soul to lost soul connection, and not a romantic one. It wasn't until later did I finally feel their subtle chemistry, then I fell head in for them in the second half. Disclaimer: I cried so much, so freaking much. Be prepared to cry in the latter half of the drama. (This is a good thing, I think!)

The romance between the Grim Reaper and Sunny is poignant and heart wrenching. Their history lent their romance more weight but their present romance is filled with charged, tense chemistry all on their own. I loved them together honestly! SO much chemistry.Everyone's performance was fantastic. I have no complaints.

The soundtrack is AMAZING. OST's of a drama are so important to me in creating a more emotional bond with the scene and Goblin's is just on point in every take. Every song is utilized so well in the dramas and just add so much depth to the scenes.

Now, the not so good:
As I mentioned in the beginning, the drama did tend to linger and prolong many moments, which made them feel long. There were also times, especially in the beginning, where I feel like the plot became a little repetitive. However, the drama definitely became better and faster as the episodes went by, maybe because I got used to the length of it, but the plot also got tighter and more emotionally thrilling.

The ending, to me, felt very bittersweet. I cried loads and I feel somewhat unsatisfied. It is very memorable though, so there's that.

I definitely recommend Goblin to everyone, if anything, at least to try to see if it fits their taste. Disregarding the complaints about this drama, especially about the age gap controversy, I still think Goblin is a drama for everyone to at least try because Goblin is so much more than just the romantic relationships.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
25 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Goblin is a great drama. I went into it with low expectations, but I was pleasantly suprised, or more accurately, I blown away. You can recognize a good drama by the way it makes you feel exactly what the characters in the drama are feeling. That's the way Goblin was for me, with each character, I laughed and I cried.

I'll keep the review sweet and short, so here are the reasons read more I enjoyed Goblin:
-The premise is unique. It's one of a kind. I haven't seen any other Kdramas with a similar plotline to Goblin, so that was a plus point.
-The actors do a superb job. I could feel their emotions from across the screen. then again, nothing less to be expected from such a spectacular cast.
-The drama has everything, ranging from bromance, romance to mytery and suspense.
-The bromance is spectacular. One of the most epic bromance I've ever seen in a Kdrama. It made me laugh a lot, but it also had its heartwarming and heartwrenching moments. Goblin and Grim Reaper's relationship is one of the best reasons to pick this up.
-The two couples- Goblin & Eun Tak and Grim Reaper & Sunny. Both couples had their own story. The sweet and cute moments of the Goblin couple & the sizzling chemistry between Grim Reaper and Sunny was enough to keep the 'romance' meter of the drama pretty high. You won't be able to get enough of the cuteness of Goblin & Eun Tak.
-The mystery of the characters. From 'the lady in red' to the king and queen, each episode just gave enough glimpse into their lives to keep us engrossed. It'll drive you crazy in a good way.
-Each minute of every episode was enjoyable. I didn't skip a single moment of any episode.
-The unexpectedness of the drama was really great. Just when you'd think you had something figured out, some twist would come along and surprise you. The writer sure did a tremendous job.
BONUS: Beautiful and addictive OST

I personally didn't find anything even remotely bad about it, but that's not to say other people won't, so here's a few things you should keep in mind before venturing into it.
-The age difference between Goblin [ (~939) he was 39 when he died and then immortal for 900 years] and Eun Tak (19).
-Comparatively less screen time for Sunny and Grim Reaper couple. But I suppose that's to be expected specially since the title alone indicates that Kim Shin (Goblin) is the main lead, so it's no wonder they get the most screen time.
-Worst product placement you'll ever see in a Kdrama. You might think I'm kidding but sometimes even the smallest thing can annoy you. I personally found those scenes amusing though.

So, to sum up- I LOVED this drama! Do give this one a chance, you won't be disappointed. Once you start it, chances are, you'll end up loving it. Happy Watching!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Someone Like You
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
This drama is worth to watch. The female lead look kinda cute and beautiful. Somehow I find her look a bit like Uee?(Just my own opinion :) ) The male lead still look cool and handsome even though he's blind at the first half episodes. Those dramas seeker looking for romance and good looking actor/actress. This is the drama to watch. Enjoy watching :).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
War Of High School The Series
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 3.5
  • Music 3.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I Just the BL sense of the two boys, I didn't really focus on the story and sorry if anyone is angry at this
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love O2O
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I have to confess! This is such an amazing excellent beautiful and lovely drama kyaa~
OMG! I never imagine that I would be like this after watched it!
Before, I thinked that 30 episodes are so long for a drama
But actually at least this drama should be 50 episodes, no no, 70 episodes!
I want more! I want more!
Eventhough it's not possible there will be season 2 but I will read more always waiting for it!

Recommended Drama! You'll regret if you do not watch it! Trust me

And I regret coz I always doubt this drama at the first time
Hahaa sorry, i can not bear my feeling ^^
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Terror Live
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
WOW! After watching a number of disappointing movies on my search for thrillers, I was happy to have found The Terror Live. This is what I call a THRILLER.

Let me start by saying, this one wasn't too high up on my to watch list because the description made me go? One room, a guy reporting = thriller?? No thanks. But boy was I wrong.

If you liked the 2002 film Phone read more Booth, then you will definitely will love this movie. It has everything a thriller needs - the suspense, the twists, the build ups, and a story line that keeps you on the edge the from the very beginning to the end.

The movie also makes you question a lot and there's a really blurred line between good/bad, right/wrong, which will keep you conflicted about "justice" the whole time. The style of the movie is great because I couldn't really predict the sequence of events or what action the main lead and the criminal would take.

I think I need to take a step back and applaud Ha Jeong Woo because I don't think another actor could have pulled it off the same way as him. His acting really added to the intensity of the movie, and I was pretty much pulling my hair out alongside him. (going to be on the lookout for this actor now...)

If I rewatched this after a while, I feel like I would have the same intense feelings, and that's how you know it's a good thriller. Watch if you're looking for an interesting, fast-paced, and non-traditional thriller!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Naked Fireman
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Our hero Chul Soo isnt your conventional hero. His personality is alittle odd alittle goofball and he's enthusiastic about his calling as a firefighter. He is also in need of fastcash and ended up modelling nude for our heroine, Jin Ah. Except Jin Ah the artist is using it as a means to find the guy in her memory who has a scar at the back who was involved in her parents read more tragedy.
I wouldnt ask for a longer drama because the major plus of this special drama was its snappy pace and the plot rolling along very well from start to end. The plot itself was very engaging, with mystery and thriller nicely packaged and i read everyone enjoyed guessing who the culprit/killer/arsonist is. Made my day when i found out i guessed correctly.
Lee Joon Hyuk is so fitting for the role. He brought this macho and yet boyish vibe to the role. He made Chul Soo a hero but still a human and average guy. Jung In Sung as Jin Ah was good too. They made a striking duo on screen. I wish i can see both of them in a full length drama and if possible paired up again.
Fantastic supporting roles from veteran Lee Won Jong and also Jo Hee Bong and Park Hoon.
Minor qualms that there was some inserted melo drama bits within an action scene that isnt quite believable ina real life and death situation. But overall thoroughly entertained.
PS: is this the first firefighter korean drama? I didnt watch any feat firefighters (korean ones), none came to mind to be a recommendation. I wish we will have a full length drama of one soon. The action and bromance of firefighters (and their hotness lol) would make an awesome watch
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Oh My Geum Bi
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
STORY: I love how Korean dramas have expanded farther than the typical romance and melo-drama. To be honest, I was getting sick and tired of all the stereotypical romance dramas because they are just so damn predictable and don't pull on the heartstrings as much as they used to when those kinds of stories were a trending thing. I'm so happy to see screenwriters submitting in new and FRESH drama ideas such read more as Oh My Geum Bi, which is a human drama. Yes, it does have a romantic element to it, but it's not the main focus of the drama. The main focus of the drama is the struggle of a little girl's diagnosis of a terrifying and incurable illness. It shows the slow progression of how the illness affects her and those around her. How her illness has affected people's lives and how she continuously struggles to cope with herself as it starts to take over her life. I loved the metaphorical representation they gave this illness as seen through Geum Bi's perspective in her mind. Kind of scary, but not terrifying. Not welcoming, but somehow comforting in it's own way. Although, I kind of wished that they didn't rush into the bad times of the illness. For 14 episodes, Geum Bi was a optimistic, level-headed and understanding child but the last two episodes seemed like they just wanted to skip to the struggling times of the illness to make things more dramatic and show a completely different Geum Bi who was more prickly, acted more her age by rebelling and yelling. It's definitely understandable that her illness would causes such behavior, I just wish it was shown more naturally through the progression of the drama instead of fast-forwarding to those hard times to make things more dramatic. Unfortunately, life doesn't have a fast-forward button and neither should representations of illnesses such as Geum Bi's. I think it would've been better to show a more natural progression of Geum Bi becoming more rebellious and behaviorally more difficult because of her illness.

ACTING/CAST: Cast was awesome! Especially Heo Jung Eun who portrayed our wonderful Geum Bi!! Her talent to perform a complex character at her age is more than impressive. Her acting was also very smooth and fluid and gave no hints of being out-of-character in her role. I gotta give props to Oh jI Ho too. He has experience with father-heavy roles in such dramas as "Single Dad in Love" and "My Little Baby" and he's always given a warm and fatherly vibe from his performances. That goes the same for "Oh My Geum Bi". I applaud his ability to mold and show different kinds of father auras though. Being a parent is always a simple yet difficult thing to represent in acting roles. Parents all have the same kind of heart, but they don't all express their affection and emotions the same way. Oh Ji Ho shows a multitude of expressions of fatherly love in 'Oh My Geum Bi' and his past dramas as well.

MUSIC: Loved the chorus song. It fit the atmosphere of an angelic yet tragic feeling of what is Geum Bi's illness. Nothing to complain about here.

OVERALL: Great low-key human drama. It had just enough drama but nothing overly-dramatic either. I like dramas like that because it tends to give off a more realistic view of how illnesses and hardships really are like in life. In real life, when you're going through a tough time, it's not really all that dramatic as you would see on TV. It's slow, quiet and unrelenting. I think drama highlighted that well. The only real "dramatic" thing in this drama was the Cha Chi Soo, our former-protagonist who was involved in some bad things and dragged Geum Bi into his world for a little bit. But other than that, really enjoyed it otherwise! I'm seeing a happy trend of these kinds of slice-of-life dramas becoming more popular in the Korean entertainment industry and really look forward to more.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Romantic Doctor, Teacher Kim
1 people found this review helpful
by Rule
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Liked the drama a lot.
All the characters are likeable and had good chemistry with each other.
even the medical cases were interesting.
Teacher KIms character is very interesting, and his relationship with his students although different with each student is so nice.
The basic story revolves around him. There is little romance but its sweet.
Overall a good drama,
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Drinking Solo
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
Acabei de terminar de assistir, e apesar de ter achado engraçado, principalmente por causa do prof min, eu ainda não gostei muito do final. Esperava um pouco mais da história pra ter um final mais legal.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions