Ikiru
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
A bit long, but very attention grabbing. This reflective movie is full of excellent dialog and symbolism you can't miss. The movie has two themes being explored hand-in-hand, the meaning of life, and criticism of bureaucracy and bureaucrats.

It's starts with the description of the protagonist's life - He's killing time, he's never actually lived - and a joke - Someone never taking a day off from work so no one realizes read more how unimportant his job really it - where themes get beautifully tied at the end of the movie. Then we have the journey of those women through all those bureaucrats trying to find a solution to their complaint, only to be sent to go in circles. I thought it was great but came to appreciate it even more by the end of the movie.

The first half of the movie follows the journey of a typical bureaucrat discovers he doesn't have long to live, only to realize he hasn't been alive much these past 20 years. He hasn't formed any warm relationship to go back to and get support, he hasn't done anything enjoyable and fun, and finally he hasn't done anything that'll make him appreciated and remembered. He was in daze trying to figure out the meaning of life and how to live properly.

The second half is a study of bureaucrats, and of humanity. It's about how human become desensitized to life when they can't see the bigger picture. Work in the government is like a war zone, and each wants to protect their turf, without caring about the functions and duties of the government as a whole. This causes a lot of senseless paperwork and no work actually being done. What was interesting here is how all bureaucrats reacted to our protagonist as he becomes this anomaly in the organization.

The story moves smoothly, the themes intact, and no scene was there to kill time. Also this type of movie one should pay attention to everything going on, on the screen. Like the reaction of the protagonist of losing his old had, or the people in the background preparing for a birthday, only to sing happy birthday once our hero found a meaning to his life. Definitely one can be reborn at any time, and it deserves a celebration.

The cast and director are of the most popular so there's no need to just repeat how awesome they are, but I just want to say I include myself now with those amazed with them.

2h23 minutes well spent. I will leave with my favourite quotes:

"You were a slave of your own life. Now you will become its master"

"It's our duty to enjoy life. Wasting it is desecrating God's gift"

"We have to be greedy for life"

"Greed is a virtue, especially the greed for enjoying life"

"People strangle themselves in their daily life"
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
D-Day
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
amaizing medical ever i see i really really i loved
every thing was amazing the cast and the story great
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Luck-Key
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
why you should watch this
1.because it is hilarious
2. because it is not your ordinary love teams.

well if you want to know more why you should watch it...... then go and try then you'll know certain reasons other than the two mentioned why you should watch the movie
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Alice: Boy from Wonderland
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 4.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
it was just weird you really need to pay attention to the movie .
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
Where do I even start? This drama captured my heart from the first episode. Everything about is so amazing. The story, although decently simple, managed to take you through the ups and downs that so many young adults face. With one sided crushes to and young love, this drama did it all. I love the fact that Kim Bok Joo was not the average pretty girl. Her character development went much further. read more How she dealt with weight issues and feeling insecure really gave off a relatable vibe and I loved it. Joonhyung was also a very interesting character. I loved seeing how we learned more and more about his insecurities as the show went on at a slow pace. The struggle from him was very hidden and bottled up and seeing it exposed was an interesting insight to how he truly felt inside. The sports concept also played a role in this drama and it caused a lot of stress for many characters. I loved seeing how weightlifting affected Bok Joo and the struggles she had to juggle in order to get where she was.

As for the acting, it was absolutely phenomenal. Some of the best I've seen. I think I read somewhere that it was the first time for both of the main roles involved to be the main characters of a show, which makes me sad given its low ratings, but with that said, they did great jobs at capturing the raw emotions needed fore the roles. Not only were they amazing, but I also positively adored the the side characters as well. And as excepted, they also acted very nicely.

As for the music, I never really noticed anything worth remembering, but it certainly wasn't unenjoyable by any means. It just didn't stand out which is why I scored it a bit lower on my rating.

The rewatch value of this drama is out of the rooftops. Right after I finished it I debated for a good ten minutes on whether I should rematch it or not. Of course I decided against back then, given the time, but with that said, I'd love to watch it sometime in the near future. Even though there aren't as many jumps and curves, it still manages to keep me interested.

Overall, I give this drama a 10/10. I did this mainly because of the reasons above. Anyway, please give this drama a chance and don't give up on it. I promise it won't go to waste
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Delicious Love
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 3.0
  • Story 2.5
  • Acting/Cast 2.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Honestly this was pretty bad. It started out okay but then it got so confusing and all the characters are just so weak. I usually don't write reviews but this was so bad that I would watch only if you really have nothing else better to do. It was also just really slow and no satisfaction comes from it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
W
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
W can’t be accused of setting the bar low. It attempts to create a compelling, tightly crafted plot while simultaneously deconstructing the narrative tropes that undergird such stories. At first, it pulls it off, pairing sly meta-commentary with unpredictable twists as characters defiantly refuse to follow their creator’s whims. However, as the story within the story goes off the rails, it becomes increasingly difficult for the “real” story to stay on track read more as well. By depriving itself of the traditional payoffs provided by standard dramatic structure, the show ironically defaults to the same hackneyed conventions it’s mocking (Deaths that aren’t actually deaths! Amnesia! It’s all a dream!).

What starts as an engaging meditation on how artistic works can take on a life of their own devolves into a jumble of incomprehensible rules and mangled timelines. The bigger thematic ideas get lost as you sense the actual writer struggling every bit as much as her cartoonist antihero to give her work an ending. And unfortunately, just like him, she can’t seal the deal. In a world where everyone can magically draw or write themselves out of difficulty, the act of creation gets reduced to expediency, not art. The fans within the show know something’s gone awry, but, alas, the fans in the “real”, real world are left hanging too. As a metaphor for how stories slip away from their authors, this one turns out to be a bit too apt.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Playful Kiss
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
This is the first Kdrama I watched and it got me into kdramas althought it is clearly lacking alot. The acting was ok and the story doesn't really have a lot of substance. Theres alot of randomness in this show that doens't really fit. The main problem I had was with the main characters. Oh Ha Ni was just too desperate and thirsty. She seriously was a stalker and had no self-respect. read more She did everything based on Baek Seung Jo. Then Baek Seung Jo was just really mean. I didn't really buy their love story. He showed hardly any interest in her almost all the way to the end. Still, it is enjoyable in it's own way. If you just want to sit and watch something without thinking too much this is for you. Plus some of the side characters are pretty funny and there are some funny moments in the drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Princess Wei Young
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
I loved the drama, if you are looking for a good drama with a lot of twists and family feuds,this Is for you
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Bad Romance The Series
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
This drama starts out decent, but goes downhill by the time you get the to the end. What I did like was the main couple. The main girl (Yihwa) is strong and fierce and does not fall into the trap of the main guy (Cho). Cho has the aura of a playboy and it was fun watching Yihwa do all these silly things to investigate if he is gay or not. While read more the gay couple in this drama was super cute in the beginning, their relationship starts to get annoying and its hard to watch their scenes. The antagonists were also pretty lame with their dumb tricks and attempts to bring harm to the main couple and their reputation. I was not impressed, but it was fun to watch for the very limited cute scenes.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Most reviewers here describe this dorama as a “Low Budget Action Adventure Story”; which it’s not accurate.
Actually, it’s a parody of the video game series Dragon Quest (Dragon Warrior here in the west), which is a HUGE thing in Japan (even the enemies, such as the adorable slimes are here!
If you've never played a JRPG (or any RPG), you'll miss about 20% of the references/jokes; but I'm sure you'll be read more able to enjoy it.
The story is quite simple and straightforward; a young man is elected as the "village hero" by mistake and sets on a quest for (nothing less) than defeat the "evil lord" and restore peace in the country. On his journey, he'll find the usual RPG characters to be his companions: the wizard, the rogue and the warrior.
All the performances are great (although Takayuki Yamada -whom I adore since the crows saga- as the hero; Tsuyoshi Muro as the wizard; and Jiro Sato as the budda who guides them are outsanding).
As a parody is perfect (at least for me being an ex-Dragon Quest player), and although some of the jokes are used more than one time, is never boring.
If you're looking to a low budget action comedy, this one's almost perfect; and if you're an RPG player, is a must.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Cheese in the Trap
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
Thinking back, I don't even know why I chose to start watching Cheese in the Trap: Everything about it seemed so simple and kind of naive, but in the end this series managed to touch me on a very deep emotional level. And oh boy was I wrong about the story being simple.

At first it was details and mysteries around Yoo Jung that caught my interest, but eventually I found myself read more getting more and more hooked on supporting main roles whose personalities had so much to offer. I was basically having very busy time falling in love with every single main role: They all had their own cute features and flaws and yet surprisingly addictive mysteries and secrets.

In all, the acting was superb (I'm having a serious arising Seo Kang Joon problem) soundtrack was beautiful, clothing was on point (Kim Go Eun could wear a garbage bag and look fashionable), humor was on point and was on a good balance with drama and the story line had way more to give than I expected!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hyde, Jekyll, Me
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
I'm sure there will be some people that like this drama but for me it was just ok. Another example of a drama that had potential but then falls into the quagmire of "too much is not a good thing". For one this probably should have been a 16 episode drama, not 20. It really did not need 4 extra episodes worth of, well, for lack of a better word, "drama", or read more "perceived drama". Which is really a shame because Hyun Bin and Han Ji Min are good actors with great roles under their belt. And they did good at portraying the characters in this show. My personal feeling is there was too much romance drama, so much so that after a while it became repetitive and unnecessary. I can't say I would recommend this drama to anyone unless they really like the leads enough to watch it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
She Was Pretty
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
She Was Pretty is very funny nice comedy romance drama, I laugh a lot because it had a lot of funny scenes and funny situations, It's been awhile since I've seen a very good funny drama, this drama was good because of Park Seo Joon and Hwang Jung Eum.

STORY: The story was pretty good, had some cute, nice, funny, and serious moments. Everyone just fit in the drama, even the side read more stories are good and not draggy or boring.

ACTING/CAST: I have to admit, Hwang Jung Eum did a good job, she was like the perfect one for this drama, some people might hate on her, maybe because of her overreacting or laugh but she is funny, also in Kill Me, Heal Me. I saw Park Seo Joon first in Kill Me, Heal Me, once i saw him acted in this drama, he seemed different which was a good thing because his acting has really improved, He plays a very funny serious guy, which really fits him well. Choi Shi Won and Go Joon Hee are pretty good side characters, somehow, i didn't hate them, because side characters in a lot of romance drama can be annoying and bad. The only major flaw in this show was Hwang Seok Jeong, her character Kim Ra Ra, and her acting, and everything about her character was just bad, horrible, and annoying, also, weird.

MUSIC: The music in this drama was nice, but also fun because it a lot of random famous songs from movies and other, there was a lot of songs that I've recognize which was really funny, the music was good but not amazing great.

RE WATCH VALUE: I'm definitely going to rewatch this drama like in 3-5 months, that would be average for a value score 9, if it was like a 7, maybe 8-10 months, 5, maybe 1 year - 1 year and a half, and If it was was a value score 10, every 1-3 months :D

OVERALL: A nice really good funny drama, it's score on MDL should be hire, this show is good, you won't regret it, i should've finish this drama months ago, it was there but just never looked into it, but i'm glad i saw this drama, i like it a little more than Kill Me, Heal Me but if i rewatch Kill Me, Heal Me, it might change... !
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Limit
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Expected something similar to Battle Royale and almost decided not to watch this, but i'm glad i did. If you are looking for a thriller which makes you wonder if the characters will survive and if you care about the characters more than the plot, this is for you!

The plot is pretty simple, a school bus drives off a cliff during a school trip and leaves the survivors struggling to survive, read more yet they managed to make this drama entertaining. By focusing on each characters story left a lot of space for the character development and while not all of the remaining characters did not get all the development they deserved and needed, i feel like it was still one of the best things about this drama. That being said, i still wish there was more of the survival part itself. I wonder how they survived with only water and candy and could still run around the forest like it was nothing. I also think that the progress on finding the bus and the missing people was a bit lazily done, and they could've done better.

Acting was ok, but could have been better. Sakuraba Nanami did an alright job on her character but i personally found the main girl Konno acting like a goody two shoes all the time kind of off-putting. Yamashita Rio did the best out of all on portraying her character. The other characters and their actors were not too memorable. I'll probably look something else to watch from these actors though.

Music was mediocre, but i feel like it didn't suit the drama.

Overall i rate this drama 8/10, since the drama kept me entertained through the series and never left me bored. As for now, i don't see myself rewatching this drama, but i'll keep my eyes open.

(Sorry for any bad english, i'm not a native speaker and this is my first review ever :--D)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions