Oh My Venus
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
So it's confirmed that I have a So Ji Sub bias, and I loved him in this rom com. I also liked the chemistry he had with Shin Min Ah. The story itself was a bit heavy handed in its themes. I can appreciate the struggle to lose weight, and I liked that they kept the focus on being healthy, rather than being attractive, for the most part, but some of the read more anvils still fell sort of flat. Now, what I would really love to see is a rom com where the actress is truly overweight, healthy, happy in her own skin, and our leading man still finds her attractive... anyone have a rec for me?
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kleun Cheewit
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
This was my second lakom, My first one was the Parent story, I decided to watch that one before watching this. I love the actors, how they pass the emotions to the us audience.

The Chemistry between the two leads, Mark Prin & Yaya wooww amazing. It was not like they were acting but they were living it. As I said above the actors were really great at passing the emotions to read more us. I loved how they fall in love and how their love developed.

To be honest I was always biased at Thai dramas, I thought they'd be like Indian dramas but not at all, I generally watch Korean, Chinese, and Taiwanese dramas so this was new for me although it was my 2nd.

First thing you notice on Thai dramas is the makeup, while it is really natural on K-C-TW dramas, the make on Thai dramas is like watching American - Brazilian daily soap operas.

Now I'm a great fan of Yaya and Mark Prin!!

We shouldn't forget about Jee's gay manager P'Suki, he's one of the most colourful characters in the drama. :D

The plot is very very similar to The Secret Korean Drama Ji Sung was leading. He ( Satit) was trying to take revenge on the woman ( Jee) who caused his fiance's death and eventually fell in love with her.

As I understood lakoms are famous for the rape. There's no rape in this drama I mean he did not force her to sleep with him, he only use the words and she go over him and with all the mixed emotions they have been having for each other it caused a blast and they spend the night together.

She falls pregnant but hides it from him, he learns it much later, he asks her to marry, she refuses, and she goes hides somewhere, he asks to her friends, they don't share it with him, her mother gives him a box she made pottery which was posted to her mother, in a way her mother told him indirectly, he finds her and does his best until she forgives him, those scenes were really cute.

It's not also the main couple which makes this drama lovely, it's the 2nd and 3rd leads story makes it also great.


Here are the additional couples


Piak: a insecure desperate housewife now producer of her father's company where her husband works as a director, she constantly suspects that her husband is sleeping with his female Jee.

Her cousin she calls him brother is Satit.( the main guy)

Chaiyan is the best friend of Jee, he's married to Piak

Dao: Jee's best friend with Jee and is in love with Jate

Jate: confused and playing both he thinks he loves Jee but actually he's in love with Dao

P'iak : Jee's gay manager

It has definately a rewatch value and I hope K-C-TW will make one too :D

There's Le Jun Kai a Chinese drama full of misunderstandings and cruelty but the finale is not as sweet as this one.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Oh My Venus
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
This is one I binge watched throughout. Its so good, the OTP's chemistry was amazing and they were pretty adult about it. I loved So Ji Sub in this (even though he looked like a hobo half the time which is not surprising for a trainer) and Kang Joo Eun was pretty even in her fat suit. The comedic moments in this was spot on I definitely laughed out loud several times read more whilst watching this. I loved all the characters in this specially puppy like 'kids'.
The story itself was quite straightforward and I loved the overall message of living a healthy life. It inspired me to take up jogging. Nothing really stood out in terms of OST but the cinematography and editing made the show flow quite well.
Definitely worth a rewatch. Don't hesitate.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Eternal Love
8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I remember as a young girl watching Chinese historical dramas and thinking how ridiculous it all was, the over acting, the improbable flying martial arts, the bad wigs and costumes, I don't know specifically which they were but that was a general impression I got when my aunt would put it on the TV on weekends. So with that bias I tended to avoid Historical drama as a rule and Chinese Melodrama read more as I also remember thinking they never ever get a happy ending. Someone always dies. The only Asian output I consistently watched was Anime/Manga. And as an Asian living in the West I never got the appeal of pretty Asian boys/men (My taste ran more towards the cerebral Benedict Cumberbatch and the divine Tom Hardy), hence I surprised myself with this new obsession.

But that all changed when I came across this drama. I know this with certainty...this has the potential to be a successful crossover, Netflix get on that please! If there was ever a content you have to hammer out of China, this is it, right here.

This drama...Kdrama fans don't be intimidated by the 58 episode length, honestly by the time you watch the last episode you will think that its too short and will wonder how you're going to fill your time now?

Story: The synopsis on this does not do it justice and despite all the controversies regarding the original Author and the allegations and law suits with regards to plagiarism this does not detract from how creatively the script writer and director did an amazing job on translating this ethereal story into something amazing on screen. The world building alone was masterfully done.
This fantasy revolves around the story of Bai Qian, an Immortal Fox Goddess/Queen and her trials and tribulations in the framework of the Mortal and Immortal realm. The drama can be split in 3 arcs. First we see her as a young fox princess maturing and getting tangled up in a Holy war and her feelings for 2 different men on 2 different sides. Then her Mortal trial and getting tangled up and falling for Ye Hua and her suffering because of it. Lastly balancing it all out is her journey as a fully grown High God and falling in love with Ye Hua as an equal. So this is a story of her growth and those around her.
But this is also a story of enduring, sometimes obsessive, and faithful love from the whole cast of characters. It will fill you with hope and heartache and you definitely will not want it to end (and the fact that everyone is pretty much immortal does give one hope that there is more to this story).

Production values of this drama is quite high, although there are sometimes bad CGI you end up overlooking it as they are only set dressing for this amazing story. Costumes were amazing and well thought out and the way the it shot and edited was top notch, even the comedic bits felt organic and well timed.

Acting/Cast: Perfectly cast and acted. Massive kudos to everyone involved in this as every single character shone and shone brilliantly, even the most reviled characters. Acting was never ever an issue and whoever made the final call on casting must be praised. Yang Mi and Yu Alan (Fourth Bro) even look like Fox deities (its the long facial structure I think) Yang Mi was a marvel playing 3 different and distinct versions of the same person. She made Bai Qian a character that you can fall for. Unlike in some dramas I care not to name you can see why 3 different and distinctly marvelous men can fall for her. Her chemistry with Mark Zhao (Ye Hua) is sizzling. Off the charts. Enough that I wish they were dating IRL (but alas, both married to other people). There's enough kissing in this drama for one to be annoyed with other drama for their lack.
Speaking of Ye Hua, I'm sure i'm not the only one who fell for him too. I cannot praise Mark Zhao enough. The way he conveyed his emotions, the control he had with his body language and his passionate performance really sold Ye Hua as the ideal man. Ye Hua's growth was full of subtleties and you can't help but love him at the end. The cold Ye Hua, body language cold and controlled and imposing, the quietly suffering Ye Hua with his stoic facial expressions and expressive twitches, the caring Ye Hua with his subtle fond looks and mildly exasperated smiles and playful but strict attitude, the passionately in love Ye Hua who's eyes can melt steel and convey more with his face and eyes than a 1000 page poem could. Kudos to Mark as well for playing Mo Yuan so differently and so well I didn't recognise that he was the one playing both until I read the other reviews. I'm definitely looking forward to more of his work. I also have to mention the child actor playing A Li, definitely a stand out. He brought such flavour and playfulness to an otherwise fraught reunion and subsequently stole the show with every scene he was in.
The whole cast of characters was great, Dong Hua was definitely a favorite (with his perpetually condescending/amused/inquisitive facial expression and that amazing hair!) and even though Feng Jiu got annoying sometimes it was not due to Dilraba's acting but due to the circumstances and script. I definitely teared up at the end of their Mortal Love trial and am consoling myself by reading the Pillow Book. I also fell for the lovely pair Zhe Yan and his Zhen Zhen with their old married coupleness.

Music: Amazing OST, from the most wistful fantasy instrumentals to the Epic drums and the main romantic theme songs. I fell in love with it all and ended up humming the opening tune at work (if I knew mandarin I'd be singing it too).

Rewatch Value: YES, A THOUSAND TIME YES! I cannot recommend this enough and even though I just finished it a week ago I'm planning on rewatching this with my sister who is also a Drama fan though she's pretty exclusive on the KDrama. This raised the bar for all other dramas for me and even though I already am a fan of CDramas (I loved Boss & Me and Love O2O) this really cemented my love for them. I'm really looking forward to more from Mainland after this.

Overall: Perfect. Perfect story, perfect cast of characters and perfectly put together. Dare I say, it's flawless. What I liked was that not only was the Main Male lead swoon worthy, but that the Female lead was someone so awe inspiring as well. She was definitely not just a helpless Damsel in Distress constantly tumbling along needing to be rescued, she was strong and opinionated and for a Fox Queen pretty well rounded as a character. She was strong and smart and though naive sometimes, her empathy really shone through. Such a breath of fresh air from all the other female leads I've seen so far. Also I have to say there's something so appealing about a crying Ye Hua. As much as I like him smiling his fond sly smiles he was so heartbreakingly good when he cried. And he definitely made the fight scenes which usually look silly to me, look awe inspiring instead. Ye Hua is H.O.T. specially when he's staying put and asking Qian Qian to come to him and not doing the patented wrist grab that all Asian Drama think is the height of romance (although there is one pretty memorable scene but he was at the height of insecurity and not in his right mind).
Overall this is the highlight of my year so far (well...until the next season of Game of Thrones comes out anyway) and will always have a place in my heart. I have a feeling this is one I will watch over and over.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Whisper
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
A drama which generates mixed feelings. But the feeling of "so near, yet so far" dominates them all. It had a bit of various genres, but not enough of any. A story with the backdrop of a law firm, but the law is overshadowed by politics. There isn't enough intuitive crime detection to call it a crime/investigation drama. Just some sprinkle of romance here and there, so can't be called a romantic read more one either.

Yet another saga of how power corrupts people who in turn corrupt others as well. An honest judge is forced to convict an innocent man. The convicted man's daughter who is a cop, decides to set things right. Things start off badly between the protagonists, but they gradually come to understand each other and work together. It starts off with a lot of promise, but it gradually turns out to be a tug-of-war. Expected things happen, but the audience are kept waiting in the tussle between (good and evil?)

The actors have done a decent job, but the major expressions in the drama are poker face and smirk, and not all of them seem natural. A bit more of joy would've been nice.

Rewatch value is kinda low for me. The last two episodes kinda killed it all.

It's definitely worth a one time watch, start with no expectations and you might be in for a surprise!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Tunnel
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I am not sure what made me decide to watch Tunnel, when so far all the dramas I have seen were of the heavily romantic verity. But something about it attracted my attention, so much so that it has also become the first show I watched on-going instead of marathoning as I have done so far.

Whatever it was, I thank my lucky stars that I choose this show to introduce me read more to the thriller side of dramaland, because it's one I now plan to explore.

At its core, this show is about people. Wonderful people; Angry people; Broken people; Hotheaded people; Closed people; Straightforward people. People who come together and find in each other a place to heal and to mend. A place to find closure.

And this, THIS, is what makes Tunnel a fantastic show. Not the mystery. Not the time travel element. Not the case-of-the-week format of the first half of the show. No, it's the people. It's these characters and the fantastic relationships that form between them. It's the way they navigate and evolve in the situation they have been thrust into. It's the way they start the show one way, and you love them, but then they end the show in a different way and you love them more than you could have imagined. It's the little things; the little looks, the little touches, the little hesitations, the little steps forward. It's the way they find this incredible balance between them.

I have to give such a huge, huge applause to the actors for portraying these characters so brilliantly, for making me feel every single thing alongside them, and for the writers for writing such nuanced characters. And for the casting director for choosing the right people; I can't imagine enough else as these characters.

There are a lot of good things about this drama, like the side characters who are equally amazing as the main trio and help make this show one to remember. I could talk about the mystery, and how it's never supposed to be a mystery to us the audience, and yet it still keeps us in suspense. I could talk about the killer, and how I think the writers wrote him perfectly because of what he turns out to be at the end. I could talk about how much I love the way the old and the new interact. I could talk about how it left me tense every episode, and how I bit my nails as I was watching. I could talk about a lot of things.

But really, I think I have said enough.

If you love character driven shows with a lot of heart and just a smidge of romance to make you all fuzzy inside, do yourselves a favor and pick this one up!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Boy Next Door
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Now I did have some doubts about watching it, however I must say that this short webdrama was quite funny and awkward at some moments. Yes, sometimes those awkward moments became a bit repetitive, though to a certain level it was not annoying. An season of 15 episodes was just about right with some good acting. I especially loved Jang Hee Ryung in her role between both boys.

So I would highly read more recommend you all to watch it, however to re-watch is probably not a good thing as most of the jokes are known well in advance.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Empress Ki
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I'm kinda in shock over how good this drama turned out to be considering how long I've been avoiding watching it. I knew the ratings were high, but because there were 51 episodes (which is enough to scare me away) it lived forever on my planning to watch cue. My advice is to not let episode-count-a-phobia stop you from watching this AMAZING drama. The impressive cast and the intriguing story make every read more episode worth watching, and before I knew it I was finished. By the end I even found myself oddly craving more, because I'd grown so attached to the world of "Empress Ki".

First, this is definitely one of the best cast ensembles I have ever seen in drama. I admit that I didn't check the cast list at all before watching, so there were so many pleasant surprises as far as actors I've loved in other dramas. Ha Ji Won is one of my favorites ("Secret Garden" being my actual favorite drama of all time). She's the ultimate sweet but [email protected] leading lady, and this character is perfect for even her. The story follows her journey from gender-bending youth to Empress (not a spoiler, so don't worry). She goes through such a range in this story that I was impressed with her from beginning to end. She is matched with Joo Jin Mo, who charmed me in the mediocre drama "Woman with a Suitcase", and super impressive Ji Chang Wook from "Healer" (another favorite of mine). I think each of their performances, and the chemistry between these three characters, were flawless. Jin Mo is perfectly cast as charming and heroic. Chang Wook's character is so emotionally complicated that his performance was one of my favorites of all, and so different than his acting in "Healer". This is the kind of dramatic love story that takes you on an emotional rollercoaster... Flirtation, Mistrust, Passion, Betrayal, Obsession, Loyalty... and they made me believe every moment of it. What I love about all of the characters is that they were so developed, with flaws and vulnerabilities, that it all felt real, even when the plot got outrageous.

I get overwhelmed when I think of everyone in the cast who deserves to be mentioned for giving such excellent performances, but I will only mention a few. Jung Woong is so good at playing complicated villains, like the one I loved so much in "I Hear Your Voice". Sometimes he gave me chills he's so good in this. Jun Gook Hwan is also an impressive villain, the kind you sometimes secretly root for just so you can keep watching them be evil. His sons were hotties, but Kim Jung Hyun deserves a special shout out for being the Duracell Bunny of evil... (he kept going and going and going). Baek Jin Hee was so slapable she was perfect. The Empress Dowager frustrated me the most because she was so good at being duplicitous. Kim Ji Han, with his sexy Alan Richman-esque voice, was also a standout for me. But honestly, I could just run down the entire cast list and praise everyone, from the servants, to the soldiers, to the royals. I love the bromances between the heroes, the catty smirks between the ladies, the nail biting fight scenes between almost everyone, even the kids... This is a cast with not only no weak links, but so many memorable performances.

As far as the story, it is really hard to keep a drama with so many long episodes interesting, but this drama absolutely does. This is a shakespearean level saeguk, with so many twists it's impossible to see them all coming. I also loved that the the drama starts near the end point, so you see where everything will lead first and then are glued to the screen watching how everything will finally get to that point. It also covers a lot of genres. There's romance, and action, and of course revenge, with even a few supernatural moments. There are also comedic moments, but know that this drama is definitely more tragedy than comedy, and often times frustrating and depressing (in an entertaining way) the further along the story gets. I also like that after being less enthusiastic about some of the middle episodes, the pace starts to pick up again near the end so much that I literally could not stop watching.

My critiques of this drama are very few. One is that the circumstances are so unbelievable at times that I almost wanted to laugh inappropriately, but the actors always made the story work no matter how crazy the plot got. Another issue for me was that I was bored by certain parts of the story, towards the middle, although they added to the character development, and made sense to the story as a whole, I was just personally less interested in some of the political rivalries and wars (especially in Wang Yoo's storyline). There are also tropes you find in a lot of dramas, but the storytelling is so engaging that it never feels cliché.

As for the ending, I thought it was simple and perfect. The last 2 episodes pack so much in that it was a little overwhelming, but I felt like there were no loose ends at all, and the very last moment kinda ends with a haunting question... at least that's how I interpreted it, which made the whole story complete.

Would I watch this again? DEFINITELY! It's now tied for my favorite Saeguk with "The Princess' Man". I'd probably take my time with a rewatch, and enjoy the performances, instead of rushing to finish in order to know what happens.

Overall, The characters will haunt me for a while. Every villain was sympathetic, and every hero/heroine pissed me off, which made the power struggles so much more compelling. I love stories like these that make me actually curious about the real people that inspired them. I know very little about the actual history, so I can't reference what is real vs what was made up. I can only assume that there's only a small amount of this story that's based actual events. However, like every good makjang drama, the more unrealistic the better.

I definitely recommend this one as a must watch! I was addicted by episode one. It's certainly not a lighthearted drama, so arm yourself with enough tissues, and be ready to curse at the screen, and clutch at your broken heart. Trust the ratings and reviews on this one, it really is THAT good. If you're a big fan of anyone in the cast, you don't want to miss them in this. 51+ hours later I don't think you will regret it.

Wow, This drama may have finally cured my episode-count-a-phobia!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Dream High
1 people found this review helpful
by Andy
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
OMG, what have I been watching all these years that I just got to watch this now!??
Not fond of musical movies or dramas; so I did not expect to like this drama that much, but to my surprise I enjoyed every bits of it, It is now one of my favorite dramas.
Song Sam Dong, was lovable all throughout! Kim Soo Hyun is now one of my favorite actors.; I even read more think I like him best. I shed worthy tears many times, and have learned so much from this drama.
I am turning 30 this year, and this movie made me ask myself if I ever had a dream? I want to see how beautiful it is,too. I so love the scene when Sam dong made a solo performance, i think that's the very heart of the drama; kim Soo Hyun really pulled it off. I also love his duet with IU, watched it several times.
I wish there were more sweet Sam Dong -Hye Mi moments; and more of them at the ending.
But still this drama is 10/10! Kim Soo Hyun was just perfect for his role, no other actors would have done it better than him.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Sassy Girl
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 3.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
There was a lot of hype about this movie, and I love cha tae hyun, so i decided to watch this movie.

unfortunately, i just found tae hyun's femal character super rude, and annoying, like, i laughed maybe once, in the whole 2 or so hours.

Anyway, this movie is at the top of one list of funny movies, i honestly don't get what people are thinking. I loved the actors, that's read more what saved it. the characters though, there was no saving them.

one was a complete bitch, the other was your typical playboy, turned loyal 'hachi', waiting for an indefinite amount of time. may or may not be a couple years.

not much can be said for character development. the girl was still a rude little bitch in the end. IMHO.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Doctor Stranger
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
A drama divided into two parts.
The highlight is the progression, the plot has all genres, suspense, romance, action and you could easily characterize it as a "medical drama."
Lee Jong Suk plays the leading role, and he plays a prodigy doctor who was brought to North Korea when a politically strong individual deceived his father to go to North Korea to heal a politician during the war.
During the time he read more and his father where they held captives and where used for their medical knowledge and expertise, the character of Lee Jong Suk gained excellent medical skills that he later uses. Destiny then begins to unfold to the point of becoming one Another drama from the tenth episode.
At first I thought it would end up being a below average drama although I really had to use my imagination to think of it as a medical drama, especially in the early episodes. Another point I was a bit confused about was who was the main female lead in the drama, Kang So-Ra, or Jin Se-Yeon. For me it was Kang So-Ra, and the playful scenes between her and Lee Jong-Suk were some of the best of the whole drama. Park Hae-Jin's performance presented itself as a note, but perhaps that was the character he played. Choi Jung-Woo could have done with the attenuation of his performance sometimes. The acting of the rest of the cast ranged from suitably good to better as well as the whole context of the drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
49 Days
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
49 Days of a soul of a comatose person taking 49 days to find 3 tears of pure love of friends to allow the return of the afterlife intrigued me from the beginning. Perhaps creativity was the difference in this story.
The script of this drama was excellent, each episode had surprises. The production of the drama was also high-level. Performance was the weakest aspect of the drama. The great story overcame read more some flat performances
"49 Days" an excellent drama.
Except in the final episode which seemed unnecessary, but that did not change my opinion on this drama. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Two Weeks
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
Sometimes, the default premise can set a limit where creativity is limited. "Two Weeks" is premised on the ex-offender who finds himself fathering an 8-year-old girl, and at the top framed by murder reinvents and rediscovers himself in 2 weeks.
The complexity of the plot involves improbable variables and intriguing selfish villains, a political woman and a mafia boss vying for one last big deal. Along with this a promoter who has read more been gathering evidence on these 2; The former wife of the former criminal, the current boyfriend who is a police officer, and to make worse the daughter of 8 who needs bone marrow transplantation.
The interlacing of the plot as well as the set-up and setting of relationship as a whole is enough to accumulate tension to the viewer, making it a super drama.
From the acting part, the villain is despicable, the melodrama is very tacky, but in compensation the girl is a sweet, supplying the melodramatic lack in the level of dramas of the genre. Super recommended!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love O2O
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
This show proved to me that I can, in fact, handle long dramas. I was wary when I saw that it was 30 episodes long. 30 episodes to me immediately brings to mind never ending drama and angst, and that's not my cup of tea. But then I read the reviews, and they all agreed this is NOT what this show is about. They were right.

Love O2O may be 30 episodes read more long, but I felt like I was watching a drama half that length. It was so good that it made me confused every time an episode ended, because how could it end already? Did I really just watch 40 minutes of a show? Are you sure?

It has this ability to make you so lost in what you are watching that you fail to notice the passage of time, and I can't even explain to you what makes it so. It was just so... lovely! It's the type of shows that make you happy and full of love.

A lot of this is because of our main characters, Wei Wei and Xiao Nai. These two are the most level headed couple I have ever had the pleasure of following in a drama. They don’t let others confuse them or shake their trust in one another. They don’t waver or hesitate. They are straight forward and open with one another and absolutely sweet with each other. The way they look at each other, especially when they tease!

It was wonderful watching these two become more comfortable around each other, especially Xiao Nai who is a really great guy but he is rigid and cold at the beginning. Through his relationship with Wei Wei he becomes more openly teasing and relaxed and his smiles become far more frequent (and when he smiles he is drop dead gorgeous lol)

These two have two core groups of friends around them, and their interactions with their friends are so satisfying. It felt like watching real friends. In a sense, this was the most natural and authentic representation in this show, and I loved every single one of them.

Another unpredictably captivating element in this show was their online life in the game. It was fun to watch and interesting to note how the online world mimicked the real one in a lot of ways.

Now, the bad guys. I admit, I sometimes wanted to slug them in the face (I mean, there is a limit to how much you can impose your twisted views of pretty girls and Wei Wei in particular on her and slander her character, and based on some strange logic that game and real life are the same) but they weren’t evil by any stretch of the imagination. Just human. I loved that this show did not try to make them evil incarnate, just bratty, or misguided, or selfish. But yes, I did think some of those plotlines stretched too long. We would see a scene of them, and then two episode without them and repeat, and I always had this feeling of “wait, we’re still there? Really? It hadn’t been resolved yet?”

Now, for the girls like me who love kisses and look forward to them in every drama:

Kissing: 5/10
Xiao Nai knows how to kiss. Wei Wei is either being told to stand there like a frozen fish or is uncomfortable with kisses. It got better as the show moved along (she at least moved to smiling as they kissed and holding on to him), but it was a bit cringey most of the time and unfortunate because with him there was the potential of some EPIC kisses to be had.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Looking Forward to Romance
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I love short and easy to watch dramas, I loved Page Turner, Addicted, Click Your Heart, To Be Continued and I love this. Okay, I'm aware of it's flaws but honestly, if you want something easy to watch that doesn't require all your brain power, this is it.

The Good:

The way the instant messages and animations are done is amazing. It is really refreshing to be able to see the texts read more on screen in a way that doesn't mean showing the phone screen over someones shoulder. The two mains manage to have good chemistry without even meeting, which is impressive. Kim Jiwon's character is amazing too, she does the rich family's daughter act really well.

The Bad:

The ending is the one of the two things that put a dampener on it for me. It didn't feel complete. We saw the four years later shot but it still didn't feel well rounded. If they could add a third episode with the conclusion of the story then it'd be a 10/10 drama. I'm not really sure where I stand with the morals of this story either. I mean both people are cheating on their significant others and we're just supposed to be fine with it?

Conclusion:

Watch it if you've got a spare two hours! It's definitely worth it. Just be careful if you don't like incomplete endings.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No