The Sound of Your Heart
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
This is a simple yet a nothing close to realistic drama that easily makes you forget about reality. It is an adaptation that you'd originally expect to be bad and uncomparable to the webtoon however, it's nothing like that. It gives the same vibe as the webtoon and it is equally (or sometimes more) funny to it.
This drama will have you laughing (literally) non-stop.

The main cast is very good and read more the cameos are just as great (and countless), wit some of them beeing: Song Joong Ki, Jung Joon Young, Kim Jong Kook, Laboum and others..

Also, the music is unexpectedly good, I personally had no idea MFBTY participated, so I was pleasantly surprised. And aside from all the comedy, there's also romance and lots of character development!

This is a very sort webdrama even though it's 20 episodes long, so you can easily finish it in a day. If you watch this You definitely won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Full House
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I loved this drama very much and I want more parts of this drama with all the same casts.
I request the whole cast to make more parts and episodes .
It was very enjoyment to see this drama
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Person Who Gives Happiness
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
Absolutely love this drama. Even though it is only half way through it has me wait for the next episode. The relationships a very sweet and I can't wait for more. ??
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Vampire Flower
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 3.0
  • Story 1.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
So I came across this drama since it seemed dark and romantic at first glance, perfect for what kind of dramas I love! Gonna review it just 'cause.

STORY-
Very very average. Nothing special. Seen it before over a thousand times, in fact it kind of annoyed me in that because I've seen it so many times where this dark/vampire/demon guy wants to be a lord of his kind or try to read more stop someone else from being a lord. What mainly stuck me was that each episode was so short, so I was kinda like, "okay, this is a short story kind of thing, i'm curious to what happens." Overall the story was kind of bland, and at the end it didn't leave me with any pleasure whatsoever. It was predictable and not worth watching for the story at all. The ending was bad and unresolved.

CHARACTERS-
Again, very very average. Especially for the main male lead, Luis, this vampire/dark/bad boy kind of theme he has. I've seen this same kind of guy in a ton of Japanese manga's, so he's nothing really special, but he's still interesting and not painful to watch. He was very kind which is unusual for a story with vampires or mystic beings in general, they're always presented as rude assholes. I still felt the writers trying very hard with him though... he was definitely the focus of the drama and the writers knew he was eyecandy, so they took it to their advantage. The main female lead was so... SO boring. I don't even remember her name! She was painful to watch sometimes. I mean, she wasn't AWFUL, but it felt like the creators were trying WAY too hard to make her this "strong female character" and they failed... really bad. It just felt so forced and she pretty much felt like the nagging, independent second lead to the first female lead in a romantic comedy. Nothing was special about her, even though they tried to make her special. All the other characters are so incredibly stale and boring, I hated them and they are forgettable, I don't even remember their names or their personalities really, they were so boring.

MUSIC/EFFECTS-
The music was good. Beautiful at times. I'd listen to the music again or add it to a playlist. And the CGI was pretty good for a supernatural-type of K-drama. I've seen so much worse CGI for K-dramas. It wasn't the best but it was believable.

ACTING-
Bad. Not believable whatsoever. Not even Luis. I think the closest thing to "good acting" is the female lead's actress.

WORTH A REWATCH?-
No. Never.

OVERALL-
I mean, give it a watch if you like vampires and romance. It's only 10 minutes each episode (that's only an hour of time to watch the entire drama.) There's a CRAP ton of better romance dramas out there, but you do you if you think the atmosphere is interesting. The only saving grace and thing enjoyable about this drama is the romance and Luis, and even then it wasn't good. It gets to the point, sure, but I see that the writers took about 20 minutes to write the entire script and story and just added extra stuff here and there. It was worthless, I didn't cry from it or feel any emotions. Ever so often I'd be like "ha, cute" at the main couple but that's IT. I was never shocked, I was never delighted, literally sat in my bed watching this drama with a blank face on. This could actually be a good series if it had WAY better writers, acting, characters, and expanded on the story. MORE development. The story rushed and made it sound like the audience had been watching the drama for a long time. No. We didn't watch hardly anything of it. Sorry.

So, you can do something better worth your time (hell, doing homework is more productive and enjoyable then watching this K-drama, in my opinion) or you can be like me, you don't care the episodes are short so you're watching it out of boredom and curiosity.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Bromance
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Hot and sexy kiss scenes! These lovebirds are not afraid to touch. It's so natural and boy do they have chemistry. Some of the best drama kisses I've seen. That alone is huge points for this. Not to mention it is a guilty pleasure gender bender. One of the better ones out there.

Another thing I have to warn about is the audio. I bet the sound team was never allowed to read more do another project again. The background noise. If you listen with head phones you're gonna be shocked by what you pick up. From trains, cars, to full blown arguments by bystanders. The audio drops in volume, then booms up.

Other than that Bromance is pretty well made. A fantastic soundtrack! Trust me the songs will hit you when you're having a great mood. Wonderful cinematography. Though someone was getting a little showy with the lighting shots. Sometimes I felt like I was watching the new Star Treck movies.

Story wise Bromance tried something different, yet managed to still check up drama tropes one by one. It ended up being both refreshing and annoying. The strongest aspect of Bromance is that Zi Feng doesn't know Ya Nuo is a girl. As usual the story of why she has to pretend to be a girl is on the hilarious side, but it works. This drama is campy fun, it knows its audience and totally panders to it. I like the struggle Zi Feng feels for falling for a boy, but totally embraces love. It's beautiful and something I wish more gender benders did. It's always the story of a side character in love with the female lead, but the male lead always figures it out quickly. Zi Feng also doesn't need her to be feminine, he likes her being strong and if it's manly it's how she is. He doesn't need her to be some fragile woman.

Bromance has a fantastic cast and I loved the side stories and characters. The other main couple Na Na and Qing Yang have such a sweet romance and I loved it just as much as Zi Feng and Ya Nuo's. Though be prepared to get cuteness and not the hot passion of Zi Feng and Ya Nuo.

This also features some of the best male characters ever. Zi Feng is such an amazing male lead, so is Quing Yang. Zi Feng is fiery, but he thinks and cares. He respects people and I love how he acts. I'm so tired of rude/jerk/asshole leads. Qing Yang may be the quiet male figure, but his facial features tell so much. You quickly get enough depth to understand him. I like that he was more than the quiet dreamy male lead.

That said the endless drama tropes and clichés they have to pack in gets tiring. Not to mention that towards the ending the pacing lags and the writers get lazy. Side characters are stories are totally abandoned for a while. Yes they're picked up and given closure at the end. However, I think there were a lot of better ways to take things. Some totally awesome characters were completely abandoned! Why! Why! (Ya Nuo's cousin was one!)

That said I appreciate the message. This is light fluff considering that Zi Feng is the head of a gang. A gang that is really PG, heck most of the time G. I'm a bit confused about how they all make there money now, such as drugs trafficking is now bad. Many of the men spent time in jail. Maybe they're recovering bad guys? That aspect was a bit cloudy. Yet, it worked well. The show highlights the importance of family, forgiveness, love, unconditional love and friendship, and hope. Not to mention redemption.

A very solid gender bender. If you have a weakness for them—like me—this one is a do not miss. I won't claim it's brilliant or anything, but I enjoyed most of the show smiling and laughing. There's so much great writing, jokes, and humor. Some scenes demeaning towards women, but you got the humor backing it. ^_- The characters were all wonderful and I loved how lively Bromance stayed. While the latter episodes to get draggy, they still deliver in character story and give fans what we want! The actors are all great and I loved the chemistry the entire cast had. Not to mention Zi Feng and Ya Nuo's chemistry! I love how comfortable they are with each other. I do appreciate the sexy kissing, but sometimes real intimacy holds an even more potent punch. I'm positive you'll now right away whether this drama is for you, especially after 4. You'll either think it's cheesy and run, or be totally compelled. There are brilliant aspects to the story, but sadly brought down by cliches. I will be rewatching many short scenes—yes, the kiss scenes—for sure, but won't be in a rush to do a true rewatch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
cast was good, story was different. the middle towards end of the drama had me fastforwarding and i think the ending could have been a little better.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Speed of Life
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
I finished watching this drama quite a while ago but never thought of writing a review. HK dramas don't get much attention here anyway so I doubt many will see this. Also why this is an extremely short review by my standards.

Pros:
+ Shi Ma and Yao Yao [1]. Shi Ma's character is hilarious, especially how his best friend is just a ball (to quote Yao Yao). The drama can cut read more out the other main storyline and it'll make it even better, because 99.9% of people watching are really just watching for these two characters.
+ Shi Ma and Yao Yao's romance. Okay, I'll readily admit that this is just an extension of the previous point. Very standard relationship progression, from a bickering duo to lovers. Their interactions are super funny. It helps that they are a very good-looking couple. I mean, TVB actors aren't exactly known for their looks really.

Cons:
- Sisley Choi. Her acting is horrible, her voice is annoying. I'm usually not skeptical of acting really, but she's bad. Her voice is totally unbearable though. I wondered if it's because she's not a native speaker, but I concluded that her voice is just naturally not-so-pleasant.

Summary:
A very standard HK procedural. Not very brainy. It doesn't need to be since it's focusing on the traffic police, which is honestly not very interesting material. One of the better dramas of the year, by virtue of Natalie Tong and Benjamin Yuen's characters. A surprisingly easy pair to root for given that it's their first cooperation. I do wish that they'll continue to pair up gorgeous looking fadans and siusangs. I'm quite superficial in this regard, which is why the only other drama I watched in 2016 is the Mafia drama which had Elisa Sam and Matt Yeung. I was looking forward to Roger's drama (not so superficial after all), but it was a letdown...

-- Footnotes --
[1] I don't know how to romanise Cantonese since I can understand but I can't speak the dialect. So all names will be romanised as it is spoken in Mandarin.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Legend of the Blue Sea
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
I finished watching Legend of the Blue Sea last night. This was a solid little drama, really. It stars Lee Min Ho (from Boys Over Flowers and Heirs, among many other shows) as Heo Joon Jae, a modern day conman with a troubled family past, and the amazingly lovely Jun Ji Hyun (best known for My Love From Another Star - which was very good, you should check it out) as Shim read more Chung, a mermaid who has come to dry land to find her love and live her life as a human. It comes complete with evil stepmothers and weird serial killers and quirky friendships. The supporting cast is just as amazing as the lead couple. I could listen to Lee Min Ho read the phone book, really. Jun Ji Hyun is not afraid of physical comedy and it was a delight to watch her as Shim Chung. The drama moves back and forth between modern day and historical with some reincarnation storylines. Got7's Park Jinyoung does a lovely job as the soulful young Kim Dam Ryung in the Joseon era bits. There were things about the plot that kept me guessing until the end, which was nice, and it kept up pretty well with the pacing. It's a lovely story.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This drama was pretty cute. There are some good lessons, subtle but still there. The characters are believable and relatable (especially joon hyeong, he reminds me of some of my guy friends). I really liked the growth of joon hyeong's and shi oh's character. I thought they could've given a bit more depth to bok joo's character. She kept on making the same mistakes over and over again, but if we're being read more real we all do that tbh. I like how the romance was slow. It was a friends first and then lovers, which is my favorite type personally. This drama is definitely not cliche. For four main reasons. 1. they don't drag out problems, they deal with them in a realistic way. 2. joon hyeong is sorta like a second-male lead that gets the girl. 3. they actually take time to develop shi oh's character (second female lead) 4. this drama is actually about bok joo, lol dramas usually focus on the guy's story but this is truly bok joo's story. I will admit that this drama is a bit cheesy, but it's part of it's charm :) The only reason this is an 8.5 and not a 10 is because bok joo seemed a bit self-centered and childish at times. But not so much so that I wouldn't reccomend it! I would definitely reccomend this drama! And last thing I want to say is props to the guy who played joon hyeong. He did an amazing job in this drama and played his character in such a believable and realistic way. I'll definitely watch more stuff from him in the future. This drama was definitely swaaag I'd totally recommend it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Suddenly Seventeen
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
ime traveling is not a new concept in dramaland. In fact many of today's favorite dramas and movies involve time travelling....... to the point that some of us (me!) gets so sick of it.

Only one sentence got me watching this movie... it's "she revisits her past and learns what it takes to love herself again".

Really .... for those people who are depressed, on a slump, on the point of their read more life where they do not know what they are doing or on the point where none of your plans and visions work... take time to watch this movie.

As I said, time travelling is not a new concept, but what makes this movie unique is that only the mind of the main character travels back on time, forcing her seventeen years old self to live the life of her current 28 years old. Looks satisfying isn't it? to live your life when you're done studying, have your own job, and you do not have to worry about all the drama in your teens. But what if the current you isn't living the life you wanted? What if none of your "future" plans made it to your present? What would you do? This movie ventures on how a person can learn to love herself back despite of all the disappointments she made out of herself.

On the romance part...I do not really like what happens to her love life so no... I won't venture that part.

The acting was good especially the lead character. She was on point and it will really show the difference within the two "personas" just with her eyes. The rest of the cast were also good but nothing special of some sort.

I didn't pay that much attention to music with the the fuss going on...so no it does not make that much impact on me.

Overall, it's a must see movie.... especially to those who fits the criteria I mention above. If you don't meet the criteria.... ah who cares? I already said it's a must watch movie. So go... watch it!

I don't know if this count as a review and if it will ever help anyone decide... but oh well..!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Yoko The Cherry Blossom
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
overall, Takashi-san acting was the main poin to give 8.0 to this movie, he's just so amazing, i mean it
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Descendants of the Sun
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Rhyming review of DOTS!
Hi guys wanted to do something different and special for this extra special show!

Here goes...

I clicked on a new show called Descendants of the Sun,
What I got was lots of action, lots of romance and lots of fun.

It took the world by storm, with ratings that were so high,
If you haven’t watched it stop reading this and go and give it a try. read more Because no matter how high your expectations are it will still blow you away,
And once you start you won’t be able too stop and finish it in a day.

It shows us an epic love story that’ll really touch your heart,
You’ll feel the joy, you’ll feel the fear, you’ll feel the pain when they’re apart.

Our sexy sexy soldier will definitely be your new crush,
Whether he’s shirtless or in his uniform he’ll surely make you blush.

Our leading lady Kang Mo Yeon is really sassy and smart,
But she’s also dorky on the inside and really good at heart.

You’ll be very jealous when you see their chemistry,
Many times you’ll be left wondering where’s a Yoo Si Jin for me?

Their journey isn’t easy, at first they try to deny their love,
But its tough to escape from something written in the stars above.

The road isn’t at all easy, many obstacles come in their way,
No matter how tough the situation is, in the end its always okay.

The writing is well paced, keeps you on the edge of your seat,
But in between the action there are many moments that are sweet.

The side love story of Myung Joo and Dae young if filled with longing and desire,
We witness a pure love which also sizzles like burning fire.

The bromance is real and makes you go awww.
They have their backs when it comes relationships, missions and war.

We learn many lessons and our respect for soldiers grows,
The sacrifice they make for our countries this drama really shows.

The doctors aren’t much less and are inspiring in their own way,
They also live a difficult life saving people everyday.

All in all i’d give a 10/10 rating there really was nothing missing,
Just sit back enjoy the action, the drama the love and all the kissing.


Hope you enjoyed it
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Playful Kiss
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
Based on reviews of bad chemistry, I avoided this show for a long long time. I watched the thai version over the others just to get an idea of the craze of this particular story and I am glad I did. The thai version is very diff,this version is for those who want the modern original story.

The looks are great,chemistry is good and if u can get past the first few read more episodes where u feel this is a spoof due to the ott imaginary sequences its worth a watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Something About 1 Percent
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I'm giving this drama a high rating because in my opinion it deserves.
Why ?
Considering the plot and the genre of the drama, the director, writer and everyone else worked really hard to make this drama not even for a second boring.
It was so easy to watch this drama as it didn't have dark,stressing or dull moments.
Perfectly made for those people who likes to watch simple romantic dramas. It read more isn't my favorite genre, but i was in the mood for a simple romance drama that is mainly a pass of time.
The story is a very simple one, not complicated. Contract relationship & contract marriage, which we are used to seeing in kdrama world. but the unique thing about this drama is that the couples progressed greatly and perfectly, and there were many good loving moments in their relationship than arguing and bullying (which is really something rare in kdramas).
The couples were extremely cute together and their chemistry is no joke to the extent that it would actually convince me that they are real couples and not just on screen.
Overall it was really fun watching this drama, worth my time.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Well what can I say that hasn't already been said by many people before me. I was blown away by this drama. I didn't want this show to end and wish it could've carried on and on because I loved the story.

Every episode in some way or another brought me to tears (maybe I am just an overly emotional person though). The music, acting/cast, cinematography and writing was so on point read more and beautifully portrayed. This has now become one of my all time favourite dramas. I look forward to rewatching this with my mum as I know she will love it.

I liked everything about this drama. The cast really fit and blended well together and the emotional scenes were so believable . I've not seen any of their previous work and I am now excited to watch their other dramas.

I would recommend this to anyone who (like me) enjoys a mix of romance, fantasy & supernatural elements. I apologise if this review is all over the place. It's my first time writing one on here and I didn't quite know what to say other than this drama was simply beautiful!

Enjoy!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions