If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
Pride
4 people found this review helpful
Dec 3, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Yay for Pride! It’s a first-rate steamy romance; no wait, it’s a first-rate inspirational sports drama. No wait, it’s a bit of both and somewhere in the combination is a half-hearted attempt to tell a new and unique story… no wait, there’s nothing new or unique. But if you A) Like a decently spun romance, or B) like Japanese hockey, then this is the drama for you.

Pride sets off with some pretty decent story-telling, and a couple of nicely charismatic actors. Initially I was watching this thing for Kimura Takuya, who plays hockey-player extraordinaire Satonaka Halu. He’s your standard rom-com lead, romantic yet insecure, and to cover up his insecurities, he hides behind the ‘Pride of the Iceman.’ I think that has something to do with being awesome on skates, padded up like an Eskimo, and generally being able (and allowed) to bowl over any man who gets in your way.

Equally impressive as an acting force, however, is Takeuchi Yuko playing Murase Aki as the girl left behind… by another guy/jerk introduced halfway through drama. Here’s the rub: Halu was warned never to sincerely love a woman, lest it interfere with his career; Aki is technically still waiting for her boyfriend to return (after a two year hiatus – and these people obviously don’t believe in phones). So in the meantime, to stave off loneliness and generally have fun, they’ve agreed to date until Aki’s boyfriend returns, and then they’ll part amicably as friends. Maybe…

As a sports drama it’s honestly not too bad. Keep in mind, I’m not a huge sports junkie and I’m not generally fond of the genre, but I’m also not completely averse to seeing hot guys working out. Did I have any genuine anxiety that maybe the team wouldn’t play well in the finals, or that every player would become injured and remain crippled? Not really. Were the slow-motion sequences of pucks magically sliding towards the goal net cheesy? Yes, sort of. Did I really care one way or the other? Nope.

As a romance story, it’s above average with a touch of good chemistry, some fairly hot kiss scenes, and then some… And really up through the halfway mark, I had nothing too bad to say about the development of the couple. Unfortunately then we’re hit with your typical dose of angst, stupidity, and a serious lack of communication.

I give a pass on this, ignoring the random bits of ridiculousness. (For a more indepth analysis, you can visit my blog). I watched this mostly for the romance and for Kimura and I was not terribly disappointed with either. I’d also like to see more of this guy in the future, so I think Pride was far from being a waste of time.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Faith
3 people found this review helpful
Dec 3, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 6.0
Although in 2012 time traveling concept is overdone, yet I believe everyone has it own story & beauty. I watched this drama with that mindset. I wasn't wrong. This drama had it's own beauty & story line. I like it more when it was about medic stuff. I think it would be more interesting if it was more about medic. But again it still has a good story. I wished it had less politics though. It was a little relevant.

The cast was amazing. I loved the lead female. she has a unique laughter. The male lead, Lee Minho, is the reason I watched this drama. I loved the supporting cast who were helping the leads.

Lastly, I loved the ending. I was going to kill someone if it was the way they hinted it to be.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ma Boy
2 people found this review helpful
Dec 3, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This was so cute and funny :P If you're looking for a drama with a complicated plot, and several unexpected twists, then Ma Boy isn't the thing you're looking for LOL. But, on the other hand, it's entertaining, innocent, and light-hearted. I really liked it! :D The only problem I had was the lead actress. Not with her, exactly (she's a great actress), more with her age.
As the show progressed, I realized there was a huge age gap between the main leads: like, 8 years. I usually don't care, especially since it had nothing to do with the story. They were both portraying seventeen-year-olds, after all. But in real life, she's younger than me, which is usually quite weird because I'm just 15. She is 13, and the lead actors were already between the ages of 19-21. So each time there was a romantic scene, I was sort of torn between going "awwww" or getting weirded out LOL.
At the end of the day, I decided to ignore that fact and simply enjoy the drama!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Oh Ja Ryong is Coming
12 people found this review helpful
Dec 3, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I recommend this series for anyone who enjoyed series like "Unexpected You", "Ojakgyo Brothers" or "Assorted Gems". It is a family oriented comedy series with a combination of touching storyline and well executed comedic turns it keeps me wanting to come back to watch what happens next.

It have some great writers and a great cast of actors. Especially the primary couple Oh Yeon Seo and Lee Yang Woo, who have some fantastic chemistry and obviously fit perfectly together. They are a pleasure to watch, and I applaud their hard work
Was this review helpful to you?
Atashinchi no Danshi
5 people found this review helpful
Dec 3, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
I'd like to preface this by saying that SayItAin'tSoJoe's stalker article was what made me watch this today! I am a total sucker for a reverse harem, so even though I am not a Jdrama fan by nature, I decided to give it a go. And let me say, it is a new experience to be able to start and finish a drama on the same day!

Now, can I just say, I am in LOVE with Mukai Osama! He is ridiuclously cute, and a pretty decent actor! He even has me considering checking out some more Jdramas just to watch him!

The storyline was a little bizarre, and the comedy a little too slapstick. One of the pitfalls of having such short episodes in time as well as the number of episodes, means that you lose a lot of character development, and this drama was a bit lacking in that area. Chisato was a cute character, and the actress who played her did a very good job portraying her. The rest of the reverse harem also was done fairly well, though I will say that Takeru was a little grating at times.

All in all, this was a pretty good drama, a great way to waste away my Sunday. If you are looking for something fun and silly, something to waste time on, this is your drama! The characters will have you rooting for them to succeed at every turn, and maybe wish you had a reverse harem of your own :p

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Rich Man, Poor Woman
2 people found this review helpful
Dec 3, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
I studied computer science, so this drama was like the way that I could tell my self that I made a right choice when I studied this thing, & it did !
I loved the genius part here, it was very good to see him work like crazy making great great stuff out of nothing, very ordinary story that somehow sound to me like the making of Steve Jobs story,except the love story part for sure !
Ougri Shin rocked the show, I loved his expression, how freak he was & how he made it look so easy to be a good good programer , which is defiantly not !
The story wasn't much but I liked the way drama went right from start until the end, there were no ending lose, things that doesn't make sense, it was very well structured.

Its a good drama with a smoking hot actor ..

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Akai Ito
2 people found this review helpful
Dec 3, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 6.0
I finished this drama in one day, I was so interested when I read the story of this drama, really interested & even though I didn't like it that much something kept me going.
The story had a very good structure, but they moved way too fast sometimes or way too slow in other times, I expected a little depth in the characters, but they were too shallow, plus the worst part was that there was actually no time for them to love each other !!
I didn't even get the feeling they loved each other !
anyway , it kind og gets until the end, you kind have this feeling that you want to see where it goes eventually.
the best part about this drama is the OST !
its really very very very beautiful

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Innocent Man
29 people found this review helpful
Dec 3, 2012
Overall 5.0
Story 4.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
Pant. Puff. Re-pant. Re-puff. I have finished this DRAMA!
I so wish I had dropped it even before starting it, as it was my intention: my mum always tells me to trust my instinct, but I'm stupid enough not to listen to her. And after this review here I'm going to be stoned - by the fans of this drama, by Joong Ki's groupies, by the lovers of the genre, by those who don't like it but think I'm exaggerating as usual, and even by the random passerby who's simply entertained by public executions.
Never mind: I'll try to die with elegance.

Seldom have I seen such a huge mountain of misfortunes, illnesses, morbidity and gloom piled in the same spot. To this drama I own the sad realization that too much suffering works like an infallible anaesthetic to whatever emotion I was supposed to feel. If the writer's intention was to make me cry, I'm afraid she got the opposite effect: when the same person falls from a cliff, is struck by lightning, is submerged by a tsunami, attacked by giant ants, kidnapped by aliens, laughed at by a leprechaun and burnt alive in a furnace in case he hadn't yet died, I can't help but laugh. Which in itself is at the same time a failure of the plot and a further cause of annoyance for me, since it makes me feel as though I were heartless. The viewer is left with the 'pleasant' task of shouting to the screen in search of rhyme, reason, sense or sensibility which is nowhere to be found.

I'm sure a tiny example won't spoil anyone's trepidation: at some point a trip on the beach is planned. Great, it was such a cheerful prospect after all the gloom, I even made popcorn. But it was not meant to be, the nth twisted machination came in between and the writer sent me to bed with no dinner, burnt popcorn and a severe scolding: "clear off, offending creature! How dare you hoping for a cute interlude!"
I've racked my brain in search of a way to tell you about the ending without spoiling it. Because, you see, the ending is so lame I can't walk out of here without at least a mention. The only think I could come up with is this: imagine.
Imagine you are watching a war movie. The whole plot is built upon this momentous battle which has to take place, you are presented with lots of preparatory plotting, spying, codes to be deciphered, treasons, secrets, lies… in the end, you get Sid the Sloth and Manny the Mammoth playing hockey on a pack ice. WHAT? Fine, Sid and Manny are cute, but what in the gods' name happened to the paramount battle? They gave me 20 hours of people brooding around and conveniently skipped Every. Single. Important fact.

The acting didn't help. While in the beginning I was intrigued enough by the events as to overlook the actors' performance, in the long run it became obvious they were displaying the same couple of emotions over and over. All right, I atone: in the beginning I was intrigued by Joong Ki's looks. They are quite blinding, believe me. Until I realized I was so preoccupied with not missing even the tiniest twitch of his beautiful face, I actually didn't see any. And I know for a fact his features do move: in the past I went as far as watching a whole saeguk for the sake of his bewitching smile.

His female counterpart is carved in an even harder stone.
Wait, was that a genuine smile I just saw on Eun Gi's face? No, silly, that was a pixel out of place! And I so wish all the pixels had disappeared, because let me here declare how incredibly and insufferably odious I found the female heroine. I am furious at the production expecting me to love her, when in truth we are confronted with a spoiled and selfish brat who suddenly becomes psychotic and an almost killer for no reason, then a tamed mouse with no memory, then back to her previous bitchy self with lots of all the wrong memories, then… let's leave it at that, for the sake of brevity if nothing else.

The evil lady is so similar to plastic I suppose she's recyclable, and the evil lawyer probably hides glass eyes behind those spectacle of his.
I understand this is melodrama, but the genre does not justify endless starry looks and robotic movements. Mind you, this is in no way the actors fault, as it is the writer's (and possibly the director's). With only three emotions to express, even Sir Anthony Hopkins would be at a loss.
This fiesta of happiness is crowded with an assembly of disagreeable characters I have seldom had the misfortune to see gathered. We have a hero who's devoted to martyrdom, a heroine who's as out as a balcony and several villains whose motives are more often then not unclear. If you're going to remind me in life people are never perfect, let me reply that statistically speaking it is absolutely impossible for such a large bunch of jerks to be all born in the same city, let alone all meet for the same events.

The music was ok. For a while. It soon became haunting, in the nightmarish meaning of the word.

Please do not expect me to give this drama a re-watch value. Right now I'm trying to regain my lost neuronal sensitivity. Before I'm stoned, that is.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Kindaichi Shonen no Jikenbo
6 people found this review helpful
Dec 3, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
It is not easy for me to give 10 out of 10 for a drama but this is definitely 10 out of 10 for everything. I watched this drama when I was 5/6 years old? I still remember the storyline, song, people. When it finished I wanted to watch it again and I was glad it broadcast it on TV again for me.

The actors and actress had chemistry. The is a new case in each episode or in two episodes. Each episode is good to watch and it gets better. I never could guess who the murderer is until the very end. This was my favourite japanese series as a kid and I have got to say that it is still is. Don't get put off because of how old this series is. It is a great series!

Definitely recommend it to people who loves Detective series. Before Galileo, BOSS etc there was the amazing detective Kindaichi!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ohlala Couple
3 people found this review helpful
Dec 2, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
This drama started out so perfect and it became better and better and then everything just fell apart. I had such a high hopes and got disappointed. The acting was fantastic Shin HyunJoon gets all the awards for his feminine acting. There was only 2 characters worth hating and thats Soo Nam's mother and JinGoo the manager. The producers made all the characters so lovable that even if they did something wrong, you sympathize with them. Definitely one of the most realistic dramas ive seen however, them extending the show with 2 eps ruined everything. I stopped watching it at ep 14 just so my feelings wouldnt get destroyed. Its a great drama just don't finish all the episodes and you'll be happy.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Dec 2, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
The first time I tried watching this I was on a Hyun Bin kick after watching Secret Garden. I made it to episode 3 before I dropped it due to finding it boring. That was when I was really new to dramas but recently Ive been in a drama slump and decided to give it another try because I like some of the writer’s other works such as Goodbye Solo (really underrated watch it! ) and Padam Padam…

Story: Many would probably find the lack of a plot boring but I didn’t mind it after giving the drama a second chance. The writer just focuses on showcasing the lives of people in the drama industry. Its not about making dramas but what may go on in the lives of these characters and also how they interact with each other. There’s several romances, breakups and makeups which can be seen as realistic. I loved the ending it was perfect!!

Acting/Cast: This is an ensemble piece so even though you might be in it for the billed actors (Hyun Bin and Song Kye Hyo) you will come to love all the actors involved. The chemistry between everyone was soo good that you will become attached to all the characters and root for them. My only gripe is they could’ve showed more scenes of the Gyu Ho/ Hae Jin pairing. I also thought that Daniel Choi was a scene-stealer and his character was unlike anything ive seen him play.

Music: It wasn’t bad but it wasn’t memorable either.

Rewatch: Fast pacing, a great ensemble cast, and a nice ending make it very rewatchable but I don’t have to watch it again for a while.

Overall I think a more seasoned drama watcher or viewers who like mature/realistic stories will enjoy Worlds Within a lot.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Shut Up: Flower Boy Band
4 people found this review helpful
Dec 2, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I love this drama!!!
This show is so realistic!
The characters are so believable that I felt really connected to them and that i cared about them.
The music is so awesome! I’m listening to the ost all day long!
I finished to watch this drama in 3 days until 5am (!) today, and I’m starting it over right now..
Was this review helpful to you?
City Hunter
3 people found this review helpful
Dec 2, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
A drama with good plots, stunts and romance!
The episodes based in Tailand are fantastic, it made me fall in love with Lee Min ho's acting and style all over again!
The action scenes and ideas were well choreographed and stunning to watch. I had edge-of-my-seat-jaw dropping moments quite a few times during this series.
Apart from a few disappointment (deaths) in the series, the drama is excellent to watch.
Was this review helpful to you?
Dec 2, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
It was a huge hit in Korea but it is one of the most ignored dramas here. Maybe it’s because there isn't any ‘EYE CANDY’ stars in it. It really is a pity that this show didn't get as much attention as other shows. After watching first few minutes I had idea that how great this show is going to be. This drama is honestly among one of the most creative and ‘One of a kind’ dramas I've seen so far. It exceeded my expectations and it’s definitely on my list of 10+ favorites!

This story is based on actual historical figures of China. The story is simple but its crafting is done by some skillful hand. It’s genius and witty story. The way story flows makes this story a masterpiece. You can’t tell its specific genre, It’s full of comedy, suspense, some action, romance and melodrama and it’s all about power. It’s unique in its own way and totally unpredictable. This is a serious tale about power struggle in corporate world. It is all about serious corporate battle but it has killer funny scenes that’ll make you laugh hard and you’ll shed tears by laughing and there is also balanced melodrama. And for romance fans there are sweet romantic scenes too.

Casting is brilliant. There aren't any flat or one-dimensional characters, all characters are dynamic. The relationship between four main characters is really interesting. It’s very unusual kind of relationship. Here you won’t find any female lead quivering in fear; female leads are hot-shot. And supporting characters and side characters are also great. You may find one or two characters bit stupid at first but it’s because of story and they’ll develop in strong characters later. It’s really hard to pick a favorite character, including supporting characters because I also loved all supporting characters including villains.

Other interesting thing is that every episode has something to learn…You’ll also learn many things from Korean sayings.
One of the best things about this drama is....ending of every episode!! Don’t miss them!!

Soundtrack is also very good and well matched with all situations. It’s catchy. And also dance in war background is extremely funny.

I definitely recommend this drama even if you don’t like corporate plot. If you are bit interested in comedy then you’ll like it because it’s "LOLIEST" drama till date. I changed my opinion for BEST OF 2012, now best of 2012 is HISTORY OF THE SALARYMAN!! DO NOT MISS IT!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Dec 2, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
What I really enjoyed about this drama was the look at traditional Chinese lifestyle in modern China. They showed us a beautiful old house and explained old traditions that I found interesting.
The story sucked me in and kept me entertained from the first episode, and I couldn't stop watching.
The chemistry between the couple was good and their bickering amused me. I wish there was more romance in it though.
Unfortunately around episode 19 things became very dramatic and deep and the fun went out of the show ( or maybe I was just tired...I dramathoned it) and the last episode was like a Jeep commercial lol

If you want to watch something good, Chinese and interesting this is for you.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?

Recent Discussions