Sort by:
Hana Yori Dango
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 11, 2012
Jan 11, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Hmm, this is one the first Jdrama's that I watched and one of the reasons why I began to love Jdramas over Kdramas.

Story - At its most basic form, its a run of the mill, rich boy falls in love with poor girl, which is typical. Although it is a common story, I like that the air time used was short and to the point. It was also done well enough read more to convey emotions and storyline within the allowed time (not counting the second season and movie of course).
Acting/Cast - What can I say? Inoue Mao is a great female lead, with the male leads being large names themselves. A star-studded cast, who portray great synergy amongst them and can really be seen within the lighter parts of the drama.
Music - I don't really remember much of the OST's for this drama, so I'll leave this one blank.
Rewatch - Definitely. As stated before, the length of the drama is short enough that it doesn't take chunks of your day watching a few episodes.
Overall - Great drama. Definitely recommended for those who are iffy about Jdramas.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
City Hunter
12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 11, 2012
Jan 11, 2012
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Sigh, after watching Iris, this drama was a complete disappointment. I started watching under a recommendation from a friend, and did not like the drama overall.
Story - Well thought out, I like the whole revenge plot, and taking down their enemies one by one, but I feel as if the story goes off into a tangent most of the time. The main problem I have with this is that it's under read more the category of "action", and while I know the beginning episodes are mainly for set up, there has to be a point where things get back into rotation. In one of the episodes, there was a 4 minute scene involving some sort of "action", while the rest of the episode revolved around other things. Now, I do admit that the subtle hints within the episodes help lead up to the overall storyline, it's too much to spend one full hour for a 30 second hint and the rest with what I feel like is filler. I also admit that this drama does have its moments, funny, dramatic and action, but theres too many parts of an episode that I'm painfully aware of the time and I wish for the episode to be over.
Love plot - ...Too much. Much of the episode just shows the two leads together. I find it pretty annoying honestly.
Acting/Cast - Good acting, I have to say. Much of the hype from this drama comes from the main lead being "hot", while his acting is nothing great.
Music - Decent, it gets you into the mood of things when it calls for it.
Rewatch - I can't even finish.
Overall - Meh. Which is a score of 5. It's just so slow at too many parts for me to try and salvage finishing the last episodes. I know its supposed to pick up towards the end, but I wont be able to stand watching this much further.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Do not think this is a typical war movie. It is more like a historical documentation combinated with acted parts to enlive the story. Sato Takeru acts very realistic so it is easy for you to feel with the Tekketsu Kinnoutai.
Great film locations on Okinawa and the fantstic theme sounds of the famous movie "Letters from Iwo Jima" (I?jima Kara no Tegami)are adding up to a sentimental documentation which is a read more good chance for you to learn something about second WW history.

If you are interested in history and want to learn something about the suffering of people in a war, you have to watch this!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Naka nai to Kimeta Hi
8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 11, 2012
Jan 11, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Who would have thought that I`d watch a drama for the main female lead?
But I did it. Saw the girl in Good Life-Arigatou and I liked her.
This drama was on my to watch list for a while, but as I realized that its that woman in it I just started watching it. All the actors are really good, as usual for a jdrama.
The story is well built and is read more very interesting.

Why watch a drama thats about working in a company? Now, this drama depicts very nicely that working in such an environment is not easy, but can also be very good.
It shows that not all guys who are doing wrong are bad.
Everybody has its own struggels and gives his stress out on somebodyelse. If they hurt you its not always because they want to hurt you, but that they hurt themselves.
I stop right here and hope you will give this drama a go, cause I myself will rewatch it in near future.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Scent of a Woman
39 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 11, 2012
Jan 11, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Let me ask you a question.

Are you sure you want to watch this drama? Chongmalyo?

Kure.

Then you need a few things: a mind that understands, a heart that feels and loads upon loads of tissue paper.

As any Korean drama, Scent of a Woman starts of with the cliches: an indifferent chaebol (Kang Ji Wook) falls for a poor spinster (Lee Yeon Jae--who looks like she's in desperate need of read more a make-over) who turns out to have a terminal illness. The supporting male lead (Dr. Cha Eun Suk) has eyes for the heroine but could not confess his feelings, and there's the secondary female lead (Im Sae Kyung) who is a b*tchy daughter of a rich businessman and is arranged to marry the chaebol.
However what makes this drama special is how it successfully weaved its exceptional story to the growth of the characters episode by episode.

Yeon Jae develops a determined outlook in life to fulfill the things she had only dreamed of as a lowly desk employee of a touring agency and starts a bucket list of 20 things she wants to accomplish before she dies of gall bladder cancer. From her meek and docile character she learns how to appreciate herself and live life in search of her happiness. She develops a romantic relationship with Ji Wook and tries to stay away to prevent him from heartache in the future, but soon realizes that his love runs deep.

Kang Ji Wook, for his part, was painted as a mature and understanding person. From the meaningless and routinary life that he led, Ji Wook learns to appreciate life and to live life diligently. For all his worth, Ji Wook became Yeon Jae's pillar of strength and the most stable source of love she is able to draw from.

Secondary contradictions and side-stories also developed well in the drama--this makes for an air-tight storyline, with each side-story supporting the main one. Best parts are Hee Joo and her mom (this convinces Yeon Jae to confess to her mom), Ji Wook and his dad (he fights for his love and the right to be with Yeon Jae), Dr. Cha Eun Suk's character development (from a cold, detached doctor to a person who feels), Yeon Jae's mom and seongsangnim Kim Dong Min (she says sorry and lets her mom re-marry).

Prepare to cry your eyes out by the latter episodes from heartaches. However these heartaches are necessary to drive at resolutions at the end. I found the heaviest part when Yeon Jae finally confesses to her mom of her condition. Her mother's wail, tears and 'Eottoke' lines delivered like she was going crazy drove ME crazy. Interestingly, I felt this was the climax, not scenes with Ji Wook as their reconciliation was resolved earlier.

I could not have asked for a better ending. Like many others I was cringing at the end because I knew from the start that it was a tragedy and death was inevitable. And yet, Scent of a Woman chose not to end with a tragic note. It provided closure to unresolved relations, uplifts us and leaves us with a strong desire to do the same with life. Fighting and living it to the fullest.

Great writing, great cast, awesome soundtrack although I can't say I'd like to watch and go through this pain all over again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Dream High
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 11, 2012
Jan 11, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
NOTE: I made this review a few months ago (2011) and tried to put it on DC's review page for Dream High but for some weird and unknown reason, it doesn't show up.

I am making this review after watching Dream High for the 4th time...oh no wait, was it the 5th time? I lost count already!

Anyways, this is for you people who haven't watched this series yet and are looking read more all over DC for a highly recommendable drama. Ok, first off: I am not a fan whatsoever of 2pm, Miss A nor have I ever heard IU sing before I watched this and Eun Jung is the only person in this cast whom I have previously seen in Coffee House (and that old DBSK mini-drama of which the title escapes my mind at the moment) but then again, I'm not into T-ara.

I've heard about Dream High before but have never really gained interest in watching it because, like some of the dramacrazy people here, I thought this was another high school drama with a superficial plot that would throw in every little cliche writers could think of and end in a very predictable way. But I am glad to say, I stand corrected.

As it turned out, there ARE cliches in the story but they become surprisingly pleasant twists that will keep you anticipating what'll happen next. For one, I learned not so long ago not to back up any male or female leads in a love triangle too much--that way you won't get too disappointed when the story doesn't end your way. This twist really made me love this series all the more and it's what making me watch it over and over again!

What to expect here--since this is an arts school, expect singing, dancing, tidbits of music lessons, tidbits of idol life and the music industry. Well, of course there's a love triangle! It wouldn't be as exciting if it was all work and career.

About the characters--mainly a lively young cast. I sincerely thought they acted rather impressively for their parts.
Suzy is a find. At her age, she's a clay you can mold. Thanks to Taec-yeon and Soo Hyun's coaching.
Taec-yeon shows maturity in acting through his character Jin Gook and in taking care of both Suzy and Soo Hyun (oh yes, I watched BTS footages). Very admirable. I also like the fact that he acts naturally/comfortably.
Soo Hyun is young and multi-talented. Not an idol but he's got the chops and acts amazingly! Left-handed people really ARE into arts! Really is a vision of many things to come. I have a feeling he's going to become EPIC.
IU blew me away. Idol stars are almost all in here but the one that really sucked me into watching was IU singing Someday at the auditions in Episode 1. As far as all the female vocals are concerned in this series, IU owned it and stole Suzy's thunder (and no, not that Thunder).
Eun Jung probably had the most difficult part out of the bunch as the character Baek Hee. Love her, hate her, pity her, then love her agan.
Wooyoung had it cool, so no prob there.

Ki Joon, Yoon Ji and JYP play awesome teachers in support of their students.

Sorry for those who could not appreciate. But for a music lover like me this series earns a 10 out of 10. Can't wait for Season 2! ^_^
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Greatest Love
8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 11, 2012
Jan 11, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I never expected this to be so good!

Honestly, I found myself disliking Dokgo Jin from the start. He's a self-centered, arrogant, not-a-speck on my impeccable suit top star who thinks everybody should think it's an honor for them to receive his attention--and even says so! To top it off, he makes this annoying peek-a-boo action and drawls out 'Dingdong' with unbelievable obnoxiousness. And what kind of man can have perfectly-shaven arched read more eyebrows?! Well, only Cha Seung Won!

But then, who would have thought this demi-god of a superstar would come down from his pedestal and be the knight who valiantly offers to sell himself out just to save the has-been that is Gu Ae Jong? How this perfectly conceited man turn every flaw into an endearment is...amazing.

For her part, Gu Ae Jong has seen it all, a fame that was struck down in an instant and been trampled on for the past decade. A woman who reluctantly accepts Dokgo Jin's affection and then bit by bit, learns to embrace every 'dingdong', 'recharge' and 'dugun dugun'.

Memorable moments: embrace scene at Ep 9, the way he said 'Bo?' and the way he looked when she asked him to go on a picnic with her, and darn, when he shaved that cow mustache!

Awesome acting, tight storyline, definitely for a rewatch, only wish there were other songs to listen to. I'm going on a Cha Seung Won backtrack!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Atashinchi no Danshi
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 11, 2012
Jan 11, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
It was... Good. Not great but still... Good. Intriguing and incredibly cheesy, but in a nice way. And I'm not really all that great with cheesy things, but this pulled it off sooo... Props to the writers for that.

Story: As previously mentioned, I'm not really for all the cheesiness, but as far as the story goes, it was unique, new and well thought of(well at least i haven't seen anything quite read more like it before, but if it is in fact not an original idea i apologize to whichever drama came first)So in that department I've gotta give it some points. But again... I think it could've been done without the higher moral "Ohh everything is good and if you just work hard you can achieve your goals, And yadayadayada" thing in the end but still.

Acting: The acting was actually good. The characters were completely unbelievable, but the actors were good at bringing life into the role, and expressing feelings through them (and without becoming melodramatic as it is my impression that a lot of drama actors tend to become). But again, sometimes it was really hard to believe in the characters because they all-in-all were VERY unrealistic (in my opinion, but maybe that's just because i live in Scandinavia, and people certainly aren't like that were i come from.

Music: I don't really remember, which usually is a sign that it didn't leave a huge impression (or that i am beginning to loose my memory... either one would work)

Overall: So overall; I liked it. I didn't love it but i liked it. It was a good laugh, and it didn't try to take itself too seriously, and i like that in a comedy drama. So all-in-all, If you are looking for a lighthearted comedy drama with a few sprinkles of romance in it, i would say give it a watch. You might even catch your self smiling like a goofy idiot at the end (I know I did).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Cinderella Man
10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 11, 2012
Jan 11, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This was one of the earlier dramas I watched, and it wasn't half bad. Although at first it moved rather slowly, once the storyline really gets going it's quite captivating and good to watch. I mainly watched this one simply because I like Im Yoona's acting, and she really was pretty good here.
This drama is filled with love triangles and laughter at every turn. It's pretty good, but perhaps not suited read more to everyone's tastes.
I rather enjoyed the soundtrack to this drama too, I think it matched it fairly well!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hana Kimi
27 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 10, 2012
Jan 10, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Ok... Don't freak out... and don't kill me... but i think... i think i like this version more than the 2007 Japanese one (I don't count the 2011 version... ever... so let's just pretend that it didn't happen, ok?). DON'T KILL ME! It's going to be ok! Everything is gonna be fine... Don't get me wrong, i LOVE the Japanese version... but to me Horikita Maki just couldn't pass as a dude... read more Ever... and that is not because i have a strange female crush on her (Ok it might be just a little bit, but you've gotta admit...she is ridiculously adorable). Ella on the other hand... if I didn't already know... i would've never guessed that she was a chick. I mean sure she has got some female features, but overall she is very boyish in this drama (and it works for her, because she is still pretty).

The story is actually very good, and very different to the Japanese version, which makes it easier to watch. You don't feel like you are watching the same drama at all, and that is nice because then it is easier not to compare the two. even though it is not a spoiler really i'm stil gonna write this SPOILER!!! SPOILER!!! The ending is shit. which bums it a bit in my book... I know that there was supposed to be like a seaon two or something but still...

The acting: Again, as i said, Ella was a really good choice for the role. A lot of people bash it for being too over exaggerated, and i can kinda see where they come from, but personally i don't mind it at all... i think it kinda adds to the charm of the whole show. and as for the guys acting... let me just get this out of the way... HotHotHotHotHotHotHot!!! oh and their acting is good too, but it's kinda hard to concentrate on... Did i mention that they are really hot??

Music:I LOVED the intro tune... but aside from that... can't remember any other songs... But the intro... So good!

Overall i really liked the show it was cute and funny and all that jazz, but it is very much a chick drama. And if you're like me and you love that sort of thing i would recommend you go check it out... In the very least it is a laugh.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
You're Beautiful
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 10, 2012
Jan 10, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
So... This was the first drama i watched so my opinion might be a tiiiiny tiny bit biased but none the less... here i am... giving it a ten.

Story; Soooo the story. Clichéd? Yes. Totally worth it anyway? YES! And i only wrote that in caps because i can't do double lines under words. This was soo cute (though i can't give it a ten... because, even though the story was read more great, it has been used 7 bajillion times already, but hey i'm not complaining) and the actors were very good at expressing themselves AS the characters, and making them likable even though some of them were total pricks (Yes i am talking to you Jang Geun Seok... Props to you)

Acting: Was the acting good? Yes. Was the acting Superawesometacular? Hmmm... Maybe not completely, but it was really good. Is the actors acting abilities completely overshadowed by the fact that they are amazingly supermegafoxyawesomehot? ... Do i even have to answer that?

Music: Did i weep openly half of the time that dramatic song played (If you've seen the drama you know what i am talking about)? No, but that is only because i am almost incapable of crying, because if I could've cried, i would've cried (
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Clone Baby
14 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 10, 2012
Jan 10, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Since there's not a review here yet, I decided I'd help out and write one!
Well, this is one of my favourite Japanese dramas - it has that little bit of everything that makes a drama fantastic - a good storyline, brilliant acting, those handsome boys to gawk at, and that tiny bit of romance doesn't go unnoticed.
I was hooked from the very start, as this drama has a clever little read more way of hiding important things, so you need to keep on watching to discover the true meaning behind things. There are little twists and turns throughout the plot, some surprising, some devastating.
The plot is so new and interesting, something not usually found in dramas - clones. But not just clones - clones that have to kill one another in order to survive. But it's not some sort of crazy killing spree, there's so much more behind things than just that, trust me.
You will definitely not regret watching this drama, I hope you enjoy it!
Oh, and another little thing I liked is the fact that the episodes are only around 20 minutes long, which was great for me, because they don't drag and are straight to the point, and I love being able to sit down and know I have time to watch 3 episodes instead of just the one.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hana Kimi
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 10, 2012
Jan 10, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This was the first drama I ever watched, after having read the manga I was excited to watch this - and it definitely had me hooked from the very first episode!
There is so much humour in this drama that you can't help but smile all the way through - and there are sweet moments that are sure to make you squeal in delight.
Ella acts really well to her part, but read more Jiro Wang's character was definitely my favourite here, I couldn't resist the heart-wrenching confusion he has to experience through various romance issues in this drama.
Overall, I would recommend that you watch this drama, but perhaps if you haven't watched the Japanese version yet, try this first, as they're really different, and you would probably be a little more critical if you watched this version afterwards.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Jan 10, 2012
Jan 10, 2012
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
The plot is good, I saw many new actors for me. This drama could be enjoyable but some times a little bit boring maybe becouse I think the story could be told in less chapters. Was different for me watch this drama, but I really like it, untill now I don´t think was a waste of time watch it. I like the variety on the couples in the story and the details read more at the begining of every chapter.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hi My Sweetheart
20 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jan 9, 2012
Jan 9, 2012
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I usually tend to see the dramas until the end and then form an opinion. I don't like to say i don't like a drama without trying to watch until the end. I also did this time but it was a pain to watch it.
The story was interesting. The description is a lot interesting and make us wanting to watch. Also the cast is good.But I have learnt that sometimes they read more have the best cast but the drama turns to be a deception. This was not an exception.
It was a really slow drama and kinda childish for me. The effects, the stops of characters to know what they're thinking, the evil shadows coming from her...
I think overall it was a cute drama, good specially for people between 10-16 years old (at least i think so). I think it has a message as well but it got lost somewhere in the middle with the slow rhythm.
If you watched and were like me, we wanted to see Da Lung's transformation quickly, right? But i got disappointed to see the new guy, he was basically like the old Da Lung, just the old looks changed. I thought he'd be more mature and cool but not.
Even, as a Da Lung of 4 years old later, he should have grown up right? Bt he didnt. I mean, if he was educated in a very strict society and didnt know about the world, when he does, 4 years later, he is the same innocent one from before?
I already said it, i didn't like this drama. This turned to be totally appart from my expectations. People told me good stuff about this drama so it disappointed me even more.
I really like taiwanese dramas but this one was too typical. I looked at it and it almost seemed animes to me xD
Anyway, the actors are good and the acting is good. You will like it if u dont like realistic dramas.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No