Sort by:
The Greatest Love
13 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 12, 2012
Mar 12, 2012
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
What made me watch this drama in the first place was the amount of positive reviews for it. I had no idea what to expect, and I didn't bother to read the synopsis. After finishing the first episode, I honestly didn't get what the big deal was. The characters seemed ok enough, but the story seemed pretty standard (with some cute special effects thrown in). Once I started to watch the 2nd read more episode, all of the high reviews started to make sense.

Cha Seung Won and Gong Hyo Jin's chemistry was palpable. I loved the hilariously charming arrogance of Dokko Jin, and that Gu Ae Jung was a secure female lead. I felt my heart flutter, and break with them throughout. I guess there is nothing really new about their relationship scenario, but it still felt fresh, and was exciting to watch.

I also have to say that Yoon Kye Sang, was one of my favorite second leads ever. He was so great as Yoon Pil Joo (aka "Mr. Perfect"), that I felt myself starting to root for him [team pil-line!]. My only complaint is that Dr. Perfect started to seem a little too repetitive towards the end. It seemed like the hong sisters just didn't know what to do with him after a while.

Speaking of the Hong Sisters, I think they did a great job making this drama fun. The music played a large role in setting the mood, and the cast was great, but it's the script that played the biggest role in what worked (and what didn't). Even though I knew how things would generally turn out, there were many rewatchable moments, moments that made me swoon, moments that caught me off guard, moments that brought unexpected tears, and moments that made me laugh out loud.

I also have to mention little "Ding Dong" who was so cute. The bromance between him & Dokko Jin were some of my favorite moments.

I'll admit I didn't have much interest in the girl group backstory, though I do think It was funny watching them mask the fact that Gong Hyo Jin is not the greatest singer. The fact that such small things could cause such huge scandals for Hallyu stars felt exaggerated to me, so It was hard for me to get too invested in that part of the drama. I think that has a lot to do with my cultural differences than anything at fault with the drama itself. It still swayed my overall opinion of this drama, and made me lean more towards 8 than 9.

Although it sometimes reminded me of other dramas (and not just because of the shiny tracksuits), I think "The Greatest Love" still holds it's own. I can easily see why it is high on so many people's favorites list, and I certainly never expected to love "The Greatest Love" as much as I did. Add me to the bunch of people who highly recommend this Rom-Com. If the romance in this one doesn't get to you at all, you might want to check to see if you still have a pulse.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
White Lies
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 11, 2012
Mar 11, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
This was a drama that I had originally dropped a few years ago after about 2 or 3 episodes and gave score of only 4. I even skipped to the end and watched the final, but it really bugged me that I didn't really KNOW the story. I am writing this after just watching the last episode and WOW just WOW. YES it was long and hard to get through sometimes the read more main female lead said "I'm Sorry" so many times I wanted to smack her.
They made her character so "blah" that by the time she gains a little backbone you don't care and hardly notice.


I have never watched a drama that kept me saying "What the heck could happen after X, Y and Z!" and yet something always did. I spent many a late night telling myself just one more part then i'll go to bed just one more! There were times when I said, ok they could end this now and I would be happy or yeah they can't do any more to these people lets end it now. One crazy thing is that I feel they could have added a few more episodes to close a few gaps they had to give the story full closure.


I would never re-watch this so I can't give it a 10 but I don't feel it was a waste to watch,
If you really don't think you could handle watching such a long series watch about 10 episodes every two weeks (but if your like me you will be hooked after 10) The main male lead Kim Tae Hyun (I find his name as Jin Tae Huyn as well ) should have gotten a Grand Bell (even though it's for movies) I don't know why he doesn't appear as the lead in more dramas this man has talent you notice the growth and development of this character!


The music wore on my nerves, 159 times hearing the same song not a surprise there were other "tunes" but the main song they played just didn't move or reach me it just had the emotional sound to tie with the drama. Overall I gave it an 8 because some of the characters and subplots were just not to my cup of tea. I would watch another drama by the writer(s) if i haven't already, though at this moment I don't think I could handle another one this long.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Boys Over Flowers
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 11, 2012
Mar 11, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I liked this drama very much. I love the manga Hana Yori Dango so I enjoy watching all the adaptions of it. I loved the story line of this one it was a interesting twist from the normal story. I would have rated it higher if it wasn't for the character Jan Di. In the beginning she drove me NUTS I wanted to strangle her so many times. But as the drama read more continued I fell in love with her. I loved the rest of the cast too! So much eye candy I thought I would die!
I recommend people to watch this drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Black & White
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 11, 2012
Mar 11, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Black & White was not on my “got to watch anytime soon” list just because it’s not a genre I'm really interested in. I even dropped it the first time after watching 3 episodes because I got bored. After picking it back up again and actually completing it I have to say it is the most unpredictable Taiwanese drama I’ve seen!

Story- Funny, suspenseful, dramatic, action packed. That’s a lot for a read more drama to take on but this one managed to pull it off. The plot for me was a little slow for the first 4 episodes but then it started to pick up. About half way is when the plot really started to thicken and I could not stop watching. There were something’s I had a problem with though. One was the twist having to do with both our male leads. It got twisted and it got overused. By the time the truth came out I just rolled my eyes cause I was so over it. Another thing I didn’t like was how they wrote the love lines. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a drama that had 5 people who were connected that had a one sided love. Seriously the love lines get twisted every which way even till the end. Okay, I wouldn’t have had such a problem with this if it weren’t for the fact there was no payoff in the end. Small Spoiler: That’s right no one ends up with anyone! I felt the writers pulled my heartstrings all the way through only to be let down in the end. I know this is not a romance drama but if you’re going to write it in there, it shouldn’t be used to tease the audience, just saying…
Other than that the ending is kind of open with some loose ends and new revelations. Another thing is be ready for a ton of deaths, betrayal, good guys turning bad vise versa throughout the entire drama. Like I said this drama is really unpredictable.

Acting/Cast- From the big players to the supporting characters everyone fit their parts perfectly. Newbie Mark Chao was really impressive, this being his first role and all. He was able to keep up with Vic and in some scenes even out-shined him in my opinion. Speaking of Vic, this role was definitely a change from other stuff Ive seen him in. He has had a lot of growth. I liked Ivy Chen’s character in the beginning but then she began to annoy me with her selfish/wishy-washiness. Janine Chang played my favorite character, who was quite underused. Her character was awesome but I felt bad for her in the end.

Music- Loved the score really fit and heightened scenes. The OST was good but nothing I'm interested in listening to outside the show.

Rewatch- This is rewatchable but I cant say I’m interested just because I wasn’t completely satisfied with how some things developed.

Overall Black and White is entertaining and at times addicting. I just can’t say I thoroughly enjoyed it to the point I’d give it such a high score.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Wild Romance
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 11, 2012
Mar 11, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
WILD ROMANCE ^^

for me this story was really great...
first i wonder who is the real stalker... and everytime i finished each part... i'm so eager to find who is it... the love story of Moo Yul and Eun Jae was funny... a strong girl who fell in love with a childish baseball player... and when the story gets tough... i can't help myself to stand still... (because i love it) read more the story end but i want more... if i can add something in the story... i think more cheezzy part... hehehe... (^_^) that's all thank you :) by the way i love the ("detective conan parts") and the love story of Kim Dong Ah and Kim Tae Han... ^^ LOVE IT
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Maou
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 11, 2012
Mar 11, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
So, I like to write reviews just after finishing a series and I finished Maou today. I'm not really into crime dramas, so I was first a little skeptical about the series. Also, my only experience of Ikuta Toma is from Hana Kimi and I really couldn't picture him in a serious role.

However, Maou was good. I'm not Christian and I despise religions, but I found the aspect of Christianity good read more in this story... If you can even say it had that kind of an aspect. Ikuta Toma was great, although a little stereotypical with his role. I don't remember him doing much else than running in slow motion and yelling dramatic, bold lines. Ohno Satoshi, however, was absolutely brilliant as the Devilish lawyer, and it's mostly because of him that I got hooked up. The music was excellent too, the opening song especially.

It's a good, exciting and fun watch, but sadly nothing mind-blowing. I might be a little picky with dramas, but having seen so many clichés this drama kind of gave me, in the end, the already-been-there-and-done-that feeling. What's really good, though, was the fact that it was unpredictable in most episodes. How it was all done, was not unpredictable and kind of left me hoping for something more. All in all, though, it's a good drama and worth watching!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
You're Beautiful
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 10, 2012
Mar 10, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This was one of the first dramas I tried to watch, and I'd heard a lot of good things about it. But to be honest, I REALLY didn't enjoy it then. That was at the time when I really knew nothing at all about Korean artists. I couldn't even tell the difference between them.
After some time, though, I became more familiar with the Asian drama concept, so I tried to re-watch read more a lot of shows I disliked before. This was one of those. But after knowing a lot more about it, it was suddenly SO funny and cute! The acting was so good, I couldn't believe it! It was actually surprising at some points.
The story was amazing! The only reason I didn't give it a full score, is because of the unnecessary scenes that makes you want to keep watching it as if it never happened.
The cast really did their job, and each actor fit their character so perfectly it was scary! I especially like the way they use facial expressions and gestures. But I can't really give a full score here, either, because I do want to replace some of them, for some reason.
Music is exactly what you'd expect from such a cast. But I love the fact that they're sung by the cast, and how it personalizes everything very deeply. And the music really carry out the emotions needed.
I don't think I would re-watch this in the nearest future. Not because it was bad, but because I wouldn't be able to forget the whole story that quickly. Rather than the low re-watch value score being something negative, think of it as positive.
Overall: This is definitely one of the best dramas I've ever seen. When I'm an adult with kids, I'm going to keep the whole show on a DVD or anything, and when the kids are old enough, I'll make them watch this. Because it really does carry a very important moral that is hard to teach. I loved it very much.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Autumn's Concerto
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 10, 2012
Mar 10, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Material Queen leads me here. I will say, it has been 4th times of repeat watching Autumn's Concerto. I just loved Vaness Wu acting, his mischief look brings out the bad boy character so well, yet a kind and romantic person. Haha... how come I never notice you on Meteor Garden, could it be your mature that make the perfect you. Ally Chang is great too. Both chemistry are nonetheless like a read more real couple not to leave out Small Small Ping. The three character brings out the whole drama perfectly. Vaness Wu, please make more dramas..... will be great to watch you in action and romance drama this time ya....
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Devil Beside You
20 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 10, 2012
Mar 10, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I LOVE this drama. It makes you feel so many emotions all at once. It pulls at your heart strings and makes you cry all at the same time. Although there are some parts that you just wanna break the computer screen and scream out WHY!!! but then this issue resolves itself and your back to being a blubbering fool on the floor. The characters are so amazing. The actors played them read more outstandingly. I recommend this drama to anyone.
I love Rainie Yang and Mike He's chemistry, they are seriously one of my favorite onscreen couples!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mar 10, 2012
Mar 10, 2012
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
At first the story seemed interesting and unique, but as time passed the plot became weaker and weaker. It was definitely over-dramatic for my taste.
I like heavy themes and different situations, but this drama was mediocre in my opinion. The plot was predictable, the acting was average, and the characters were not believable. The last two episodes tried to operate with character-development, but that was too late. The only reason I read more could watch it till the end was Haru, for she was well portrayed. Other than her I was extremely irritated by Miwa-chan and her mother. I can't think of any other characters in dramas that had the same effect on me (that is shouting out loud whenever they did something stupid; and trust me, they frequently did).
I guess the show would've gotten a 6 from me if there were no Miwa-chan.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Wonderful Life
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 9, 2012
Mar 9, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Drama was awsome LOVE IT!! You will fall in-love with Shin Bi.. most adorable child ever!.. It made me cry alot (ACTING FROM ACTORS WERE GREAT).. My heart was beating at some point I thought I would skip a couple of episodes but luckily I didnt hehehe.. Lee Ji Hoon is sooo adorable with those lips! OVERALL ITS A GREAT DRAMA Its not like your every other drama that we watch with read more 'Evil-mothers" but a great one ... IT MADE LAUGH, CRY AND FALL IN-LOVE!.. A MUST-WATCH!..
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Princess
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 9, 2012
Mar 9, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I'm writing this cause i just can't agree with the other reviews ...

STORY:
Ok i agree it's your avrage mushy gushy story about a girl finding out she's a princess. At first i also thought that but the way the writers dilevered the story was just wonderful not one minute was i bored ( and i'm the type of person that skips parts, episodes or sometimes just watch the previews if read more i'm to bored.

ACTING/CAST:
Well the acting was good for a comedy/romance cause most of the times when watching these kind of things i notice that some lead actresses tend to over act the funny and then it just becomes weird, but of course Kim Tae Hee never disappoints us she was so lovable:D and you could feel this kind of "bond" between the two lead characters. and since it was one of my first k-drama that i watched it was the first time i had seen a man cry for a woman because he loves her so much that he is suffocating (you practically never see this kind of scene in Hollywood). And the forbidden love plot was very nice every time they cried or were in pain i felt it too.

Music:
I thought the music was well fit for every scene and of course should good romantic/comedy drama doesn't play some good old Ricky Roller I was seriously laughing so hard when i first heard it in the drama it was awesome :D And we get to hear some B2st/Beast too :D

REWATCH VALUE:
HECK YEAH ! In fact when i'm finished here i'l got watch it again for like the 3th or 4th time ! (I'm not even kidding i'm doing it)

OVERALL:
Over all i think you go it i loved it and i strongly recomand it. Seriously ! Watch it:) but i do agree with some of the comments about the ending who was a bite disappointing. We were all expecting Big wedding bells, and all that goes with it but after some thinking it like this simple and yet touching ending (specially that kiss). In the end all I want to say is...
Wonderful story
Wonderful Actors and cast
Wonderful mus... well ... yeah the music was good;)
and WONDERFUL DRAMA
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
What Happened in Bali
25 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 9, 2012
Mar 9, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I already wrote a recommendation for this drama, but I will quickly say it here...while watching WHIB, I was constantly reminded of Que, Sera Sera (WHIB came out a few years before). They shared the same vibe. It's a darker K-Drama that deals with more mature topics. It's mostly about love and greed of money. I liked the vibe of the whole thing. It's not fluffy in the least. There are a read more few humorous moments, but over all it's angst filled dealing with every day life...love, money, desire, greed, etc.

For me the angst was done well. After seeing so many dramas, these days I tend to fast forward through parts that bore me, usually dealing with secondary characters and such. However, this drama was twenty episodes long and I did not fast forward it once. Not even for a minute. I was completely engaged throughout. It was fast moving, and I wanted to hear what ever single person had to say. For me it was all a meaningful part of the progression of the story.

I'll admit this story is brought about by a series of contrived, coincidental incidences that are used to bring the four forever together. But seriously, if you're going to complain about that, then you shouldn't watch k-dramas, because that's basically how they all are. It's a tried a true plot device. It's easy for me to look over this and chalk it up to "fate" as they do in the drama itself.

There are four main leads in WHIB and they all get a good amount of screen time. You never know who the main male lead really is, because they both get equal screen time. At first, none of them are all that likeable. However, by the end, I really enjoyed them all. That included all their faults and wackiness too. They each make choices in their lives and we get to see the consequence (usually a fall out) of that choice.

I gave the acting for this drama a 10, mostly because of Jo In Sung. I had read somewhere that he was the most anticipated Korean actor to return from the military, and I just didn't understand that as I hadn't seen any of his dramas and had never heard of him. However, he knocked my socks off. This guy can act. He was great! No wonder he won all the best actor awards for this drama! (As a side note, at the time of airing this drama rated in the 20s and even got up to the 30s so it was pretty popular at the time). Seriously, the guy impressed me, and I look forward to watching his other work. Anyway, he plays the rich guy to a T.

Ha Ji Won (of Secret Garden) was one of the appeals to me when I decided to watch this drama. She did a fairly good job as well. She plays the poor girl. The other two mains played their parts perfectly and fit the roles great. The drama was cast perfectly in my opinion all the way down to the secondary characters. I just loved the psycho rich moms!

The main thing that got me to even notice this drama is I was looking through best couples in k-drama videos and such. This drama was on a top five list, with Ha Ji Won and Jo In Sung being like third best Korean drama couple in dramaland (just someone's personal opinion) as their characters in this drama. One of the pictures posted of them just really caught my eye and I could totally see their chemistry just from that. And they were right, they made this drama rock, and their interactions throughout were just awesome. However, this in no way, shape, or form, is saying that they get together. They might, they might not. You have to watch to find out. Watching them in this drama was great, and it would be neat if they could do another project together.

The music was uneventful, but it did it's job with blending into the story and providing the feeling of things like foreboding and such.

The rewatch value is a seven. Mainly because, I will probably eventually rewatch this again although it won't be the same. Normally, there are is so much angst in dramas that in order to prevent myself anymore personal anxiety, I read all about the drama I watch before hand, and if I can find out the ending in advance, that's a good thing. It helps me enjoy the drama with out feeling my skin crawl. Or, you just tend to know from the very beginning how a drama is going to end. Well, like I said, this is not your typical K-drama. From the very start, you may have an idea of how it's going to end. Your going to have your own opinion of who she's going to end up with based on which main guy you like the most, most likely. However, you will not know who she ends up with until the very end. And unless you found a spoiler some where, you will not know how this drama ends. Period. That in itself is kind of appealing and new in dramaland.

This of course brings me to the ending. I could not find out how it ended anywhere I looked on the net. I decided to watch it regardless, because I was so intrigued that nobody wanted to share the spoiler. I also found where most people that commented on the end didn't like it. That doesn't sound good right? Well, I've learned not to base my decisions on how other people interpret an ending. I have found it all has to do with personal taste and opinion. After watching the ending, I felt it was brilliant. It even made me smile. It was completely unexpected until it actually was playing out, however, I thought it was great!

But this is why the rewatch value of the drama is only a seven. Because, part of the appeal of this drama the first time around is not knowing what is going to happen next, what choices our leads are going to make, and how those choices are going to effect them and everyone else around them. Throughout the whole drama, you don't know who she really loves, who she's going to choose. Is she going to choose love, money, a combination of both, or neither?

Overall, I would give this drama a shot. I gave it an eight, because I truly felt it was very good. The overall tone and vibe aren't for everyone. I like it though. So, if you're interested, give it a shot!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Stairway to Heaven
67 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 8, 2012
Mar 8, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Let me first explain how I got to watching this drama. I was going on a trip so I filled up on random dramas in case I got bored on the trip, among those dramas was this drama Stairway to Heaven, which I had heard so much about. So the trip comes and goes and one night I end up without internet, unable to sleep, and so I start watching this. In read more hindsight, I'm both glad and sad to have made that choice. Now onto the review:

Story: 11/10 (because 10/10 is just not enough!): The story is very unique for me (maybe because this was my first drama of this genre). You end up hating the stepmother/stepsister so much that you want to jump into their world, and stab both...repeatedly. What else can I say? Oh right, keep a box of tissues handy otherwise you'll be wiping away your tears using your blanket(true story!) One other thing I enjoyed about this drama is seeing how the main male lead and the secondary male lead work together to accomplish a goal greater than either of them.

Acting/Cast: 10/10 . Everyone in this cast from the child actors from the first few episodes to the adult actors were PERFECT. I had one small dislike in the middle of the drama, and that was how the main female lead cried. Yes. That's all. Later on, I got used to it and it didn't bother me at all, so it was just me.

Music 9/10: I'm actually listening to the OST as im writing this review. It's GREAT, but not a 10. It conveyed the emotion perfectly and all that, so it was good for the drama...but for some reason giving it a 10 would be unfair in my humble opinion.

Rewatch Value: 5/10: I DON'T rewatch dramas or movies 99% of the time which is why I gave it this low of a score.

Overall: 10/10 - This is a masterpiece that every Kdrama fan should watch. But keep in mind, this can cause tears even from the eyes of manly men like myself. However, sometimes while those tears are dropping, your mouth will be smiling uncontrollably.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ohitorisama
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 8, 2012
Mar 8, 2012
  • Overall 3.0
  • Story 3.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I decided to watch this drama because I had really gotten into older women/ younger men pairings and the story seemed promising.

Synopsis:
Kamisaka decides to take a temporary job as a teacher after getting tired of working temp jobs. At the school he meets Akiyama, who is a hard working teacher that prefers to take on task by herself. When Kamisaka arrives all of the young teacher and students fall in read more love with him and fight for his affection.

Because of Kamisaka inexperience, the principle assigns Akiyama to be his mentor. At first it seems that the two are completely incompatible. Akiyama is ten years older and enjoys dining out by herself, while Kamisaka prefers to be frugal and looks for deals to create cheap meals.

At first this story seemed to be interesting. These two characters end up in a situation where they are together and are forced to get alone. After watching their relationship, Akiyama came off as more of an older sister than a girlfriend. Kamisaka was very naive and immature. He did not know how to deal with certain situations, and he relied on Akiyama's guidance.

The story was very weak and unbelievable. I felt like so much was missing and nothing really happened. Overall i give this drama a 3. I feel like watching this was a waste of time. Even though some dramas don't intellectually stimulate me, I still feel good and happy after watching them. I would have much rather skipped this one and devoted my time to another drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No