Sort by:
Big
11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 30, 2012
Jul 30, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I hope people will read this review without any prejudice because I for one did this with the intent of expressing one's personal opinion.

STORY 5/10

For those who are not aware BIG is the latest work of the Hong Sisters (other works include My Girl, Sassy Girl Choon Hyang, and My girlfriend is a Gumiho). A lot of web blogger and drama fanatics were highly anticipating this because of the writers read more behind it , specially those very much interested with romcons.
The anticipation went to an all time low because the plot was, if I may use the term "butchered". This was based somewhat from the movie Big (starring Tom Hanks) but the spin off was lacking and had it's flaws. It started slow, the paced up a bit in the middle then the ending was a flop, it lost big time. The whole flow seemed rather unfair to certain characters. If one is very keen in observation, a lot of conflict will arise because of the flow in story(just look beyond). Anyway it was mediocre.

ACTING/CAST 10/10

For the cast I was really happy and was very much pleased with the line up. I was really looking forward to this drama because of the cast. And because it was the small screen comeback project of Gong Yoo after Coffee Prince. The Chemistry of Lee Min Jung and Gong Yoo is superb, you might as well get them married in real life! Suzy was also funny and somewhat great in depicting everyday high school stalker girls (with a little exaggeration, which works for her). Whatever the drop was in the story made up for the cast and the acting. For me it saved this show. If it wasn't them I would have easily dropped the show and moved on with my life.

MUSIC 8/10

I'm giving the musical score an 8 point mark because it simply fitted. It works well in the funny scenes and also towards dramatic ones. They've also used some of the latest international song being in the radio so people will be aware of the timeline this was made. Cliche but it works for it.

REWATCH VALUE 6/10

I'm giving it a rewatch value of 6 because I know some drama goers might still give it a second glimpse. What? Gong Yoo is there showing off how buffed he is. And he cries so beautifully I tell you, he goes deep. :D

OVERALL
7.5
This would be a better grade. It's being fair considering different factors.

I hope I'm helpful again :p
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
I Need Romance
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 30, 2012
Jul 30, 2012
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I loved the cast here. The main plot is not that great, exiting and interesting, and I didn't like the ending for the lead characters, but side stories are actually worth watching. I think side stories are the strongest point in this drama.
It's not a masterpiece, but if you want something entertaining, light and simply good, you can watch this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
I'm Sorry, I Love You
12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 29, 2012
Jul 29, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Wow. When I decided to watch this drama, I didn't think it would be very good. Boy was I wrong. I never cry for dramas or movies any more, but at the end of this the tears were flowing! I never expected how it ended, though I guess I should have seen it coming. I loved the story line, and the change in the characters as the story progressed was significant. The read more last episode wrapped it all up nicely, though not in the way I prefer since I like "happily-ever-after" stories. Even so, the ending fit perfectly, and even now, thinking about it I feel sad :( . Watch this drama if you want to watch something you'll never forget. It will stay with you for a long time to come. It's sad, but you probably knew that already. Totally worth it. Amazing.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Big
8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 29, 2012
Jul 29, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This drama had a great premise and was nearly perfect throughout. It was funny, romantic, and full of all those crazy emotions that come with having a heart. I was worried about how Gong Yoo was going to pull off acting like a 18 year old without it being over the top but I have to say he was fantastic and to me the highlight of the show. Then you get to read more the ending....and you go "Huh? What? Where are the answers to all the questions that have build up since the beginning?" Hong sister's you have butchered a potentially epic story. Maybe if there was 20 episodes instead of 16 the ending would have been better...we'll never know.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hana Kimi
3 people found this review helpful
by Aks
Other reviews by this user
Jul 29, 2012
Jul 29, 2012
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Before you watch this just prepare yourself for one of the worst endings in dramas. I heard that before I started watching it and I thought, how bad can it be? It was bad.

On to the good points though, Quan (main lead) was a more approachable as a character in here then in the Japanese one if you're comparing, it was easier to see what he was thinking and I enjoyed read more his acting.

Ella overacted throughout the whole thing and I personally never took to her. The other characters were okay not very strong, very 2 dimensional.

I know you shouldn't compare but its inevitable, the Japanese one is definitely better...better actors, better characters, and better plot lines.

Watch it just for ...well the interesting middle episodes between like 2 and 7 before you realize the whole thing isn't really going anywhere.One good thing though is that Ella really looks like a boy, so her being in a boys school is pretty believable here.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Anmitsu Hime
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 29, 2012
Jul 29, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This movie is not only cute but also addictive. I downloaded a lot of movies to watch while I was on vacations but I forgot all the descriptions, so It was hard to decide.~I randomly picked this one and didn't regret it, even thought I didn't know what was it referring to.

It's a fantasy movie about a princess who decides to visit the town for the first time. All characters are read more cute/nice.

I believe it's a movie to watch when you're stressed and need something to cheer you up... or even if you're bored.

It is a nice movie! I'd recommend it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
You're Beautiful
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 29, 2012
Jul 29, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Who don´t have seen it ? =D
This Drama is a MUST SEE for every Drama
Freak xD
this was one of my first Drama´s i´ve saw !
Because iam really sincere for Music, (and
i love Music and Music Drama´s) it was sure for
me to watch this too.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Bad Guy
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 29, 2012
Jul 29, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
My Favourite Zitat:
Jae-in wonders, “Gun-wook, where are you?
Is the world you’re looking at happy now?”

OMG *_________*
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
I Do, I Do
8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 29, 2012
Jul 29, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This is one of those "feel good" drama's. It is just what u would expect from the beginning to the end. The fact that every1 is happy at the end is like totally expected.

I enjoyed this drama even though it is not like a personal fave b/c there r several other drama's that I have watched that rank so much higher.

But, I can tell you I will watch more of read more Kim Sun Ah. I enjoyed her acting. She gave off the exact vibe a person would have if they were alone & the difficult transition to being part of a family that she didn't plan. She made her character seem real to me. The fact that she only showed emotion to the 1 person that made her feel out of her comfort zone is exactly how I would see this going in reality. I knew that she had feelings for both male leads b/c of this. Both made her feel uncomfortable & they were elements in her life that she could not control.

Lee Jang Woo's character was just too cute. Even when he was serial it was still cute. I will be looking in to more of his work also. He rly surprised me. He not only had a comedic side, but a serial side to him as well. He did a good job in balancing these parts of Park Tae Kang's personality.

I think that most ppl will like this drama b/c it leaves u w/ a good feeling of "all is right in the world." But, I am sure there r some that will not like this drama b/c it doesn't pull ppl in like other drama's this season. Even so, It is a good solid drama; that I will recommend to other drama addicts to give a try.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Moon that Embraces the Sun
12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 29, 2012
Jul 29, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I started watching this because Kim Soo Hyun was what made me like Dream High so much. 10 minutes into the first episode, I almost stopped watching this because I had never watched a historical drama before, nor had I had any interest in doing so before, but I continued watching to see if something caught my interest. 15 consecutive hours later I didn't want to sleep because of how AMAZING this read more drama is. I laid in bed at 5am and couldn't fall asleep because I kept wondering what was going to happen next. This drama was all I could think of.

I've read some other reviews saying how good the child actors were, and they definitely do not disappoint. Everyone plays their part stellarly and I can't think of a better cast for any drama than this one. The last episode was definitely a tear-jerker for me at some parts. Once this drama was over, I was so sad. >
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Big
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 28, 2012
Jul 28, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Okay, I really really liked this drama from the very beginning, but DAYUM! What a horrible ending. I am so freaking disappointed!!! I expected a much better ending. Heck that wasn't even an ending at all. What the heck happened? It felt like it was rushed. They drama was going so well but the ending just totally ruined the whole thing. *sigh*
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Big
24 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 28, 2012
Jul 28, 2012
  • Overall 2.0
  • Story 3.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
An explanation on my points given and why I am so dreadfully disappointed with this drama.

Story: This story was awful. There were so many plot holes and inconsistencies that any good points in the narrative and any episodes I enjoyed were completely killed by an ending that was incomplete and worse...an ending where the writers treated their audience as stupid. There is no greater crime a writer can commit. If you read more see the last two episodes you will understand with glaring clarity what I mean. Too many major things were left unsaid and left undone. Horrible story and a terrible thing to do to loyal watchers who will have wasted 16 hours of their life investing in nothing.

Now, I know I sound harsh but the writers deserve it...and I am actually a fan of the Hong Sisters...But I give no quarter as I cannot judge this crap work based on other dramas I have thoroughly enjoyed. Skip this and watch The Greatest Love, Hong Gil Dong or My Girlfriend is a Gumiho.

Acting: As harsh as I am on the sad and enraging outcome of the story, I cannot be harsh with the acting. I place no blame on the actors of this drama. Gong Yoo was wonderful playing Kyung Joon; a boy trapped in the body of a 30 year old. And I would go so far as to say that his younger counterpart, Shin Won Ho did a good job playing Kyung Joon as well. He was cute and charming and I even felt chemistry between him and Gil Da Ran at the beginning. I would have loved to have seen more of him...especially toward the end. I like Lee Min Jung. I have seen her in several dramas and some movies too. I think she is a talented actress and while her part was written to be a bit weepy, like Gong Yoo, I find fault with the writing, not her acting. Suzy was much improved and Bae Sung Hyun who played Choong Sik was totally winning and adorable.

It is really a shame when a talented cast is wasted on crap writing.

The music was forgettable. I don't remember one song and never did I find myself humming a tune or looking up the OST on YouTube. Which is a bad sign because I do that a lot when a drama has a good OST. (see Me Too Flower and Coffee Prince)

Overall, I walked away from this drama feeling cheated; out of a resolution for the characters, out of what could have been a fun story if it were written better, out of a Gong Yoo comeback drama that actually did not WASTE his talents and finally out of 16 hours of time that I want back.

I won't watch this again and I caution anyone who hasn't watched to even begin.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Big
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 28, 2012
Jul 28, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Started out fantastic. Awesome story with great progression. But unfortunately, horrible ending. They shoved as much as they could into the last episode and it showed. The story was well written and the characters were well developed. The romance was alright aswell. Music was well constructed as well and matched the mood. I however, would no rewatch. The drama hyped me up for the end and it plummeted there.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
49 Days
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 28, 2012
Jul 28, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
For me: This was the Best Drama of 2011 ! I´ve watched it when it started directly
& Sure, i was charmed by this =) i cried in the first episode sooo much ! omg & this
was going on by every episode *_* but also i laughed that much xD because they
played really funny characters (: episode 19 & 20 are the episodes, where i cried
the most =´( omg read more ! & today iam listening to the Soundtrack again & cried ! i love
the OST
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
IRIS
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Jul 28, 2012
Jul 28, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
IRIS, is really absolutly my Number One Top Favourite Best Drama
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions