Sort by:
Jumong
15 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 17, 2011
Apr 17, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
JUMONG is one of the best korean drama i have seen until now because it has everything: action, romance, history, music, drama, a very well made plot and intrigue and everything is combined in a beatiful story that has to be seen by everyone who is in love with asian dramas.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Coffee House
8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 17, 2011
Apr 17, 2011
  • Overall 3.0
  • Story 3.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
I have to say that this drama was one of the biggest disappointments ever. The first episodes are hilarious in all ways. The actors are great and I really felt that "Yes! This might be one of my new favorite dramas" - then something happened. Almost all of the characters randomly starts to change personality out of no particular reason.

Happenings that in the beginning of the drama was really important read more is later on forgotten without an explanation.

Maybe it was such a big disappointment because of the wonderful beginning.

I won't write: "Don't give it a try". But don't have too high expectations.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
A Love To Kill
8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 17, 2011
Apr 17, 2011
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
I am torn when it comes to this drama, especially because its definitely not the usual romantic comedy. Its a pretty tragic plot, with lots of emotions portrayed by each of the characters. The acting was amazing, each of the actors brought so much emotion to the whole thing. The leads are good, but the supporting actors bring a lot of energy and the story is very compelling.


read more It starts to drag on a bi at the end, but a good watch if you want a good cry.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Say Yes Enterprise
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 17, 2011
Apr 17, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This is not a very popular drama, nor is it well known. I think its having 40 episodes can be a little "scary" at first, the viewer may be led to think it's dragging.

Which is not, thanks to its atypical structure, devided into 7 different stories.

The advantage is, one can skip the story or stories one finds less appealing or interesting and jump to the next without having read more lost much in terms of development. Even a long break between them is possible, which I personally found refreshing.



I found them all enjoyable, each with a completely different flavour and connected only by the common thread of the Say Yes Enterprise, a pretty improbable cupid agency. The acting is not stellar, but it's solid and realistic and the music varied and very appropriate.



All in all, an enjoyable drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Apr 16, 2011
Apr 16, 2011
  • Overall 3.0
  • Story 3.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
This show was hyped up as one that would speak to a new group of drama watchers---the indie mid-20s sect who would rather hang out at dive bars drinking cheap beer than sit at home in their PJs watching dramas. Yeah, I think those kids are still at the dive bars. This show was a major disappointment. The plot seemed promising enough: oooh, family debt; arranged marriage to forgive debt; fake marriage read more to get out of arranged one; two husbands--what!?! And then the plot just started to meander into Never Never Land. Things picked up a bit when the writer changed half-way through the show, but when the most interesting plot twists happen in the last episode, that's a drama fail. The music, for the most part, is pretty decent since they try to stick to the overall indie vibe, which means we get some good tracks with Jang Geun Suk rocking out ("Please, My Bus"). Basically, this show has a lot of cute moments, especially between the main couple, but it's not enough fluff to last 16 episodes.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Apr 16, 2011
Apr 16, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
There's just something about this drama that's so right! Even Daniel Henney's terrible acting couldn't mask how amazing this show is. A woman and a younger man engage in a dating contract, and just so happen to fall in love. Of course, there is the ever present obstacle of the ex-girlfriend who shares a sad past with our hero, but it's not a drama without that little bump in the road. The read more main theme by Clazziquai ("She Is") perfectly captures the mood of this story, which is pretty frank about its depiction and discussion of sex. Plus, "She Is" has great replay value. Overall, this is a rom-com in its own league---quite possibly the most mature and adult drama I've seen so far.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Legend
8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 16, 2011
Apr 16, 2011
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 2.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
I watched this drama because of the good recommodations and because I really love the fantasy/historical genre. After I watched the first two episodes I was so exicited to watch the rest of it. The story started really good and I longed to know how the reborn characters will react when they meet each other again. But then it went all down. The story developed into a total bad direction. I endured read more it, believing that the story will turn around the next episode. It didn't. The ending was the worst of it all and left me totally unsatisfied (Normally I am not that satisfied with endings, but this one was the worst of all I've ever watched).



It also has it good points, though, if you leave out the story and the acting between the maincharacters in terms of their love relationships. They spend much money for creating the drama. I've never seen such good special effects. The war scenes were impressive and the music really suited the drama. The landscapes were really beautiful and this made the drama in some ways worth watching.



That's the reason why it's hard to rate this drama. The production itself is magnificent, but thinking how they abused the story makes me cry. This could be the best drama I've ever watched but they destroyed everything with the story. They could have made so much out of it, even an ordinary plot would have been better than this. Thus I am still shaking my head thinking about the wasted effort
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Secret Garden
8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 15, 2011
Apr 15, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
i can say that secret garden is one of my all time favorite korean drama because of its beautiful and heart warming story everyone can relate to.the actors too are all amazing i like their chemistry especially hyun bin and ha ji won so nakakakilig..all in all i soo love this drama just watch it and you will know what i mean...kamsamida:)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Keizoku 2: SPEC
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 14, 2011
Apr 14, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This drama and I have a love hate relationship. I love the drama and the material. I hated waiting for the subtitles. Unfortunately, Keizoku 2: SPEC and its prequel, Keizoku, are not destined to be listed among the most popular of dramas. Why? It's a matter of taste. It isn't just a cop drama or a supernatural drama. It's both.



I found the story incredibly interesting and compelling. read more It was easy for me to believe the various SPEC powers and there were quite a few surprise moments in the story. It is very satisfying when the 'ah ha' moment happens for the viewer. I loved every episode except the last one (not to be a spoiler, just a warning). I don't think that everyone will have the problems with the ending I did, it just wasn't my cup of tea. There is a really good blend of random humor and extreme seriousness that I never thought was too jarring.



As for the cast, just look at the list. The two mains are great and have a good working chemistry. I can't think of one faulty acting part (except when its meant to be intentionally bad). My only complaint is that I think the drama had a couple too many underutilized characters (that appear in most episodes). But the actors are all up to snuff.



Music does its job. The really dramatic theme is dramatic, etc. The only song I really remember is the song that plays when they are thinking or in the office or just bantering. Its the only one that got stuck in my head.



I'll definitely watch this drama again (it was worth it the first time). The only complaint I have is that the surprises won't be quite so surprising, but the acting is top notch (in my opinion). It will definitely hit all of its humor cords at least.



Overall, loved the drama. Its in my top 10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Bad Love
10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 14, 2011
Apr 14, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
GREAT, GREAT, GREAT, drama. Finished it with all my spare free time. Definitely worth watching. Something to always keep you guessing. And definitely a drama that will make you madly insane till the end. Makes you want to slap some sense into some people. Usually I'm not one to watch these kinds of dramas, but definitely worth watching.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
At Home Dad
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 14, 2011
Apr 14, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Ah one of my favorite dramas, that was also one of my first watched dramas. As you've read the summary you know this is about a dad who loses his job and so he stays home and takes care of the children while his wife works. It has a unique storyline, comedy, drama, and it's rather enjoyable to watch so I give the story a 10. I'm a big fan of Hiroshi read more Abe, so i might be a bit biased when it comes to the Cast/Acting but i really think they did a brilliant job, so for the Cast/Acting, i'm going to also give it a 10. The music was ok. As for rewatch value, i'm generally not a rewatcher, so this gets a 7 for rewatchability. Overall though it's a solid drama that everyone should watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
1% of Anything
13 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 14, 2011
Apr 14, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I really enjoyed this drama. It was one of the first dramas I saw. Since then I have seen quite a few. It is not the best drama out there by any stretch of the imagination, but it is sweet and endearing. When I watch a drama, I am always looking for that emotional connection. If I can't connect with the drama, or care for the characters, no matter how amazing the read more plot is , it would not be enjoyable for me. With that in mind, this drama still remains one of my favourites. The plot is simple and easy to follow,but plagued with the usual problems that face most Korean dramas, that is, it is uneven and could have had better pacing,slowing down significantly in the later episodes. However this dramas major strenght is its cast. Kang Dong Won is great here as the ill tempered lead, Jae In, who ends up being comical and endearing. It was great seeing him change and evolve as a person as the drama progressed. The main romantic pairing is cute and believable, but most importantly they make you care. You want them to be happy , to succeed. It is a great journey, filled with laughs (you can thank a petulant Jae In for most of those), sighs and a few awwws.Recommended for an easy, heartfilled watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kimi wa Petto
23 people found this review helpful
by Susu
Other reviews by this user
Apr 14, 2011
Apr 14, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This is a very endearing and cute drama. It's funny and not too dramatic - there are no massive and overwhelming problems/obstacles, but enough plot twists to keep you interested. The main characters are portrayed very convincingly by Kato Koyuki (Sumire) and Matsumoto Jun (Momo). Supporting characters are good as well. The plot flows nicely and I found the ending was satisfying enough, although not perfect. The instrumental soundtrack suits the drama read more very well, and the theme song, V6's "Darling", is sure to stick in your head for a long time.



Despite the weirdish pet/owner relationship between the main characters, this drama is somehow very realistic. In the end, it is about people searching for someone with whom they can be themselves and that is a something everyone can relate to. Even if you don't like Matsumoto Jun - who, by the way, does a superb job in this drama, very adorable - you should give this drama a try. It might well be that at the end of this drama you too hope to have an adorable Momo as your pet! ;)



If you have read the manga, I think that this drama adaptation isn't a bad one at all. It's different, of course, and it doesn't follow the manga faithfully: there are quite a few changes and some characters omitted, some added/having bigger roles. However, I do think that the drama has the same spirit as the manga, and the main characters are quite the same. Anyways, I read the manga after watching this, so my opinion might be a bit biased since I was charmed by Matsumoto Jun's Momo first. :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Last Friends
13 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 14, 2011
Apr 14, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This isn't your common, run-of-the-mill, drama. It's main focus is abuse, and what it does to a person, and that person, through friends, becoming stronger. While, each of the friends have their own issues, they find a way to work together to help each other overcome(or accept) those issues.



The acting in this drama is SUPERB, each actor portrayed their character perfectly. I have to give Nishikido Ryo read more huge props for his role. It was NOT easy for me to watch the scenes with him in them, which means he did great, but without those scenes this drama would not have been 1/10th as good.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
LIAR GAME
41 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 14, 2011
Apr 14, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Liar Game is an amazing drama.

It's clever, thought-provoking, surprising and entertaining. It engrosses the viewer from the very beginning, accompanying one through a journey which is at the same time thrilling and disquieting.



The direction seems to have the quality of a dream in mind, what with the dark colours mixed with splashed of blood red, shiny yellow and electric blue. The acting follows the same pattern, read more constantly over the lines, like a classic theatrical piece, with exaggerated costumes and close-up shoots of frozen expressions.



Characterization is strong too. The main characters and the recurring secondary ones are vivid, clear cut, each one growing and yet remaining the same in substance.

Liar Game is a perfectly staged metaphor of life, with honesty vs. gain at the centre of it.



The music is perfectly chosen, building up when required by the scene, retiring to the background when more attention from the viewer is needed.



Rewatching is almost necessary, to pick up on elements overlooked on first viewing and to concentrate on the overall atmosphere and acting of the show.

Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No