Sort by:
Oishii Proposal
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 25, 2012
Mar 25, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
When I first watched this, I was back in college, and I have watched it twice more since that time.

Nice little rom-com about a female Chef and a business man who meet under strange circumstances and keep bumping into each other and bumping heads. This was the description I got when I watched it the first time, man was that understated.

This little gem was just what I needed on a read more boring afternoon after studying. The female Chef, Suzuko (Hasegawa Kyoko) was just so damn cute, and the business man, Haruki (Koide Keisuke) was funny as mister suave business man with a not so suave lover lurking inside him.

Supporting characters were great too, especially Haruki's father (when you watch the show, you'll understand) and the staff from the restaurant.

Not the greatest, but if you are looking for some lightweight rom-com that's not necessarily fitting the mold to fill in between shows, try this one out.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Strawberry Night
19 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 25, 2012
Mar 25, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Well now that Strawberry Night has finished it's run, I can give my full review of the series, and boy let me tell you it was a good run!

As I stated in my comment below, outstanding job by Takeuchi Yuko playing "Himekawa Reiko", but the team as a whole I liked as well. I loved the slight character development we see with the supporting roles, especially "Kukita","Nori" and the last episode's read more bad guy, showing that writing and directing put in a great deal of thought when fleshing out their cops, as well as the criminals to the ongoing cases.

Directing was very well done, unlike past Japan cop dramas which could get really wonky some times. Think Boss (more wacky than needed but still an entertaining show) and Jiu (the lack of common sense in that drama, coupled with bad music choices).

We actually had a very good balance of comedy and drama and didn't lose sight that this is a 'cop drama'. More often than not, some of them tend to loose sight of the occupational part of the drama and start focusing on character relationships, and not in a good way.

With Strawberry Night we get a good look at the psychological and moral sides of the cops in which the main character and the supporting characters alike are included. More than 'who dun it' dramas we are given 'why' and the varied procedures that lead to that why which makes this an interesting pick to watch.

So to conclude, it may not be 'on the edge of your seat' action, but it most definitely won't keep you bored.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Personal Taste
18 people found this review helpful
by Rian
Other reviews by this user
Mar 25, 2012
Mar 25, 2012
  • Overall 3.0
  • Story 3.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
I started watching this drama due to great ratings and great reviews, but I soon came to regret my decision. I couldn't come to terms with wasting my time with the first 5 episodes, so I decided it might become better along the way, but boy was I wrong!
It was painful to watch the main actress, she made a mess of her role, and I must say Jin Ho was really read more shallow with his portraying of this particular character, and I must say I have enjoyed his talent and adaptability with his other roles as well. Moreover, I found the script messy, quite lacking and very artificial.
The funny moments were seldom, but the were indeed nice to watch, but honestly, feeling a pain in my stomach because I had just watched a 40 something minute long drama for only 10 enjoyable minutes was not my cup of tea.
I guess personal taste does play a major role in watching this drama. 3/10 from me, and that's putting it mild.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
If you're looking for an action-filled drama of hide-and-seek with a murderer, then this is not the drama for you.

But if you're looking for a thought provoking drama where you can spend half the time guessing whom the murderer is, and the rest of the time studying the abilities of the human mind; then this is the one for you.

This drama is based on the question "Are monsters born or read more made?" and focuses on the psychologic part the story. Now before you back away (I know I usually back farfar away from movies that have a psychologic theme) this one is really worth the watch!

There were frustrating parts and questions that weren't fully answered. I also wish that there had been more shown about each characters background. I rated the rewatch value low only because of the fact that once you have watched it, you will already know how it will end and who the murderer is.

Over all, a very interesting and thought provoking story that pulls you in and allows you to ponder about one of life's greatest questions; "Are monsters born or made?"
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Crime Squad
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 25, 2012
Mar 25, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I came to this crime drama because it paired my favorite couple from JUMONG: Song Il-Gook & Song Ji-Hyo. I stayed because I enjoyed how the drama developed & how the detectives solved their cases. The supporting cast (especially Min-Joo's over the top office mates) all handled their roles well.

One of the pluses for me was seeing a softer side (& a smile) to my favorite perennial bad guy: Kim Gyu-Chul. read more The other plus was Insooni's contribution to the OST: loved her Farewell/Goodbye!

Overall, this was a very enjoyable drama & by the end, when the story's main issues were resolved, I was glad I watched it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Koizora
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 25, 2012
Mar 25, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Well, first off....I can really relate to this drama. I definitely felt the same as Mika towards beginning a relationship.

There was just one small thing that bugged me-----their sound effects like i.e a punch being thrown, is just horrible. It sounds like something out of a video game. [Actually, I thought it was cool...but it'd be nicer if it was more realistic.]

This drama can start off as being pretty plain, read more but once you sit back and watch...the magic will unravel---you'll be completely captivated by this tear-jerking drama.

The story is developed in a way that can be easily understood. It was very simple. Drama happens one after another. Many can sympathize with the lead because we've all fell in love at least once and realized how beautiful the world is.
And then that "I don't ever want to be in love, again" stage.

The cast were great! I absolutely loved Mika and Tatsuya. They kind of went a bit far with Hiro's "bamf" look. But it gradually grew on me.
I really loved that Hiro did not pay much mind to gender. If he had to hit a woman, he'd do it. Koji's (Hiro) eyes had fluttered at the perfect time.

I haven't got much to say about this drama...but I definitely recommend watching it to those who can spare some time, and to those who are patient.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
King of Baking, Kim Tak Goo
11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 25, 2012
Mar 25, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
If you only watch one Korean Drama in your lifetime, then make it BAKER KING, KIM TAK GOO!!! I just finished it and it was amazing. OK, first the story is great and there is never a dull moment. Yes, the first couple of episodes are back story, but the story can't do without it. It completes your understanding of the characters. Yoon Shi Yoon/Kim Tak Goo and Joo Won/Goo Ma Jun read more are great actors!!! They brought the story to life in a way that I have never experienced before. All of the characters are vital to the story and the actors play their parts very well. I found myself at first feeling sorry for Ma Jun and then getting mad at him and then falling totally in love with him. Of course, Tak Goo is a lovable character, but for Joo Won to make me love Ma Jun by the end of the KD is just great acting. I loved the strong women in this KD. Jun In Hwa plays Seo In Sook to perfection. She is crazy mean and to some degree you can understand why. The best part of this KD is the ending...it is perfection. So many times I find the end of KD rushed or incomplete, but this ending ties up all of the stories in a happy package. Tak Goo and Ma Jun are wonderful at the end and too cute!!! Even though this is a long KD...I would watch it again in a heartbeat. I hope you watch it and enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Boys Over Flowers
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 24, 2012
Mar 24, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
Ok, I'm afraid many of you might not agree with my review, but I'm just being honest here.

Story. Well... er... how should I put this? At first, I thought it was pretty good, since this was the first drama that I have ever watched. But then after you've watched many other amazing dramas with the same type of storyline, you'll find that it is quite cliché. So basically, what I'm saying read more is, this drama is just another one of those stories where two guys are fighting over a girl. Believe me, there are many better dramas with this specific plotline. To name one specifically, one of Lee Min Ho's other dramas, City Hunter. I'm sorry, but I thought City Hunter was much better~ ^^" And I'm quite positive that most other people who have watched both these dramas would agree with me.

Acting/Cast. I don't know what happened, but the acting was either exaggerated, or- No wait, it was mostly exaggerated. Especially the female lead for Geum Jan Di... I don't know why, but her acting just never clicked for me. And Ji Hoo... it wasn't his fault, but I just didn't like his personality. So why did I give it an 8? Because I feel as though it was not the actors, but the storyline's fault. This definitely DID NOT do justice to any of the actors. I've seen at least one other drama/movie of every single lead, and supporting actor, and they all have amazing talent. In fact, Kim Hyun Joong and Kim Bum are one of the most well known actors. And not to mention Lee Min Ho... wow.

Music? It was really good. I have many of the OST's in my iTunes and listen to them in my free time because they actually sound quite good. I was impressed.

Rewatch value. Here goes my rant. I hardly ever rewatch any dramas or movies, no matter how good they are. I have made a few exceptions to some exceptional dramas, but not this one. It took all of my self control just to be able to finish it. They definitely lengthened it way too much. In fact, I was extremely disappointed. The female lead wavered so much, and each episode, it was either one of them or the other cheating on someone. It frustrated me. I mean, if they loved each other so much, they could've at least trusted each other a bit more. Ok, end of rant.

Overall, I still give it a 7, because of some Lee Min Ho moments in there~ X3 Also, I was quite impressed with Kim Bum, as this was the first drama I've seen him in, and he does have a cute baby face~ ^^
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Iljimae
11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 24, 2012
Mar 24, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Yay~ My first review ^^

Ok, here goes. Hm... I never did remember why I started watching this particular drama... I think it was because of recommendations or something, but I have NEVER, NOT EVEN FOR ONE MOMENT, regretted it. In fact, this was the drama that got me obsessed with Lee Jun Ki~ XD

The story. The plot line was absolutely fantastic, even though I'm afraid to say I was a read more little hesitant at first. When I read "Historical Drama", I'm just not that interested, to be honest. And for those of you who are like me, let me just tell you this. Historical will be the last thing on your mind as this drama is filled with intense action, blooming romances, heartbreaking tragedies, and absolutely amazing acting. Especially Lee Jun Ki's acting. I cried when he cried, and laughed when he did~ TTuTT Once you watch this drama, and his other dramas, you'd be amazed at the kind of actor he is.

The music was pretty good, to say the least. The producers did a great job in matching the music with the mood. There was one OST that actually brought tears to my eyes because together with the amazing acting, I just couldn't hold them back...

Rewatch value. Because I gave this a 7, many people may not agree with me. However, let me first explain my reasons. A 7 is actually quite amazing for someone who hardly ever rewatches any dramas/movies, no matter how good they were. Why? The first time you're watching a drama, you are kept on your toes, and when something unexpected happens, you'll react the way you're supposed to. If you watch it again, you'll be expecting the unexpected, and it just won't feel the same. Once I finish a drama, I have a feeling that stays with me. The last few episodes of each drama are extremely memorable, especially if its a drama as good as Iljimae. And after I wrote all of this, I feel as though I am a hypocrite, because I have indeed rewatched this drama a couple of times over~ ^^ I couldn't resist. In fact, when I was rewatching it, I still couldn't hold tears back. That's how good of a drama this is.

Overall? Definitely a ten. If you ask me ten years later, after I rewatched it hundreds of times over, I would still give it a ten.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
What's Up
92 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 24, 2012
Mar 24, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
If you like romantic drama, this is not the best one.
If you like comedy drama, this is quite funny, but there are more dramas out there that can make you laugh louder.
If you like happily-ever-after-ending drama, this will let you down, don't expect too much.
If you like sad drama, this is not enough to make your tears come out
If you like action drama, you're not supposed to end read more up here reading the review :p

But,

If you look for different taste of Kdrama,
If you look for great performances,
If you look for beautiful soundtracks,
This is the one that worth to watch!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Shut Up: Flower Boy Band
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 24, 2012
Mar 24, 2012
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This is the best drama that I have seen. Period. The friendships, the arguments, the reactions. Each and every character and storyline is perfect. I was so glad that I didn't stop at the second episode, because I would have missed so much. The music is perfectly timed and so catchy. Plus the guys arn't half bad to look at.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Buzzer Beat
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 24, 2012
Mar 24, 2012
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
IT ENDED TOO SOON. I usually think that the allotted time for most dramas is appropriate, but in this case, it ended too soon. I thought the story was too good to be told only in 11 episodes. Buzzer Beat is a drama that deserved to have more too it. It needed more time, so the audience could see the characters develop better, and see the romance between the two leads progress read more slower. The acting was great. I really loved the acting. Yamapi is already one of my favorite actors, so of course, immediately, because of him, the acting was going to be great. I have only seen the lead actress in Paradise Kiss, and didn't care for her character all that much in the movie, but after seeing Buzzer Beat, I am truly impressed with her acting ability. I loved her character, and especially the character that's Riko's best friend. The theme song had a great melody, beat,rhythm, and was really catchy, except, I didn't care for the singing at all. I didn't think that the singer's voice fit in well with the concept of the drama. I would rewatch this drama, because it was just too good! Overall, I give it an 8. It scores an 8 because I didn't think there was enough time to develop the character's and relationship between the two leads to the point it should have been.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sungkyunkwan Scandal
9 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 23, 2012
Mar 23, 2012
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I can't believe I've fallen in love with yet another drama about a girl disguised as a boy. I saw all the good reviews, but still expected it to be another wannabe coffee prince, or the korean version of Yentl. I also expected to be bored by a historical drama with a predictable/cliché storyline, but instead I was hooked from the very first episode.

What makes this drama so great, from the read more very beginning, is the four lead characters. As much as i loved the romance in Sungkyunkwan Scandal (including what's now one of my favorite k-drama kiss scenes), I still loved the bromance between all four main characters more. Yoo Ah In as the impetuous rebel Moon Jae Shin, Micky Yoochun as the logic driven bookworm Lee Sun Joon, Park Min Young as the inspiringly ambitious "Kim Yoon Shik", and (my favorite) Song Jung Ki as the playfully manipulative Goo Yong Ha, are each outstanding in their role, and have amazing chemistry with each other. There were even times when the chemistry between Moon Jae Shin & Goo Yong Ha rivaled the main couple.

I also have to give a special mention to Kim Min Seo as Cho Sun, who was my favorite supporting character, and played her part expertly. It was really refreshing to see two strong female characters, especially since the story revolves around an all boys school. This is now among my favorite all time dramas, mainly because of the cast. I loved them so much, I was tempted to rewatch the entire drama right after I finished it.

One small criticism I have is that the political part of the plot was sometimes hard for me to follow, since korean history is completely (and literally) foreign to me. This is not really a fault of the drama, but it did stop me from personally seeing this as a perfect 10. It became much easier for me to follow the noron/soron conflicts after a while, but I could still enjoy the drama without being 100% clear. There's a good amount of action, and mystery, which keeps the political plot entertaining.

Another criticism is, as much as I liked the endings for the 4 main characters, there were still unanswered questions, and some supporting characters that deserved better endings.

Overall, there was much more to praise than criticize. I can definitely see myself rewatching this multiple times, even if it's just to see Goo Yong Ha spin. I know there are many dramas with similar plots, but a drama that's entertaining from the 1st to the last episode is rare. I recommend Sungkyunkwan Scandal as one of those rare dramas.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Cain and Abel
17 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 23, 2012
Mar 23, 2012
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I decided to watch Cain and Abel because the premise sounded interesting and I'm a new fan of Han Ji Min. I also wanted to see what all the fuss about So Ji Sub was…

Story- Very intense throughout. I liked not exactly knowing what was going to happen next. I liked that it took place in different settings. It helped to keep the story fresh and watchable till the end. The read more episodes have a good pace. The wea point of the story would be the romance. It was kind of not believable at certain times just because Cho In was so obsessed with the first gf for a long time. Solid ending.

Acting/cast- Solid acting by the 4 leads. So Ji Sub was very good at playing both the Dr. and Young Ji’s fake cousin. He pulled off the two different characters well. Now even though the acting was top notch, I just could not get invested in the characters. First, I was turned off by So Ji Sub’s character in the beginning. His decision to date his older brother's love just because he had been gone a while, just didn’t sit right with me. Now as odd as it sounds, I actually was rooting for the villain Sun Woo. Yes he did unforgivable things but I kind of understood where he was coming from. I was rooting for him to see the light and be reunited with Seo Yeon. Ha Ji Min’s character was sooo annoying. Not only was her North Korean accent she had throughout annoying but also her actions just made her character not likeable. She also asks too many questions! Let’s just say it was really hard to root for her. I liked the supporting cast. The villains were villainy and the side Dr. couple was funny/cute.

Music- it fit the scenes but I didn’t really like it.

Rewatch- I don’t think I’ll be watching this again but it is rewatchable.

Overall, on the surface Cain and Abel is a high quality drama but I just didn’t get that feeling you get by the end when you really enjoyed a drama and are sad to see it end.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Dream High 2
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Mar 23, 2012
Mar 23, 2012
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
As a fan of the first season, I had high hopes for this drama.

To start out, I really enjoyed the first few episodes. I would start to lose interest, and the writers would lure me back in with love triangle(s) and the like. However, I have some real bones to pick...

I feel like this drama was about 4 episodes too long. The plot line started to get really diluted, and read more I couldn't even keep track of what was happening. Early in the drama, it was obvious that there were 4 main characters. I wish that they wouldn't have wasted the viewers time with the others (I realize this won't be a popular opinion). Frankly, I didn't care for the secondary cast (especially the teachers--minus the guidance counselor). In saying this, I just wanted the 4 mains to be fleshed out more. I wanted to know more about Lian and JB.

I didn't know who to root for concerning the JB-HyeSung-YooJin triangle. I could see Lian's frustration. Yeah, Lian was a nasty jerk-- But at least she wasn't annoying. I thought JB and HyeSung were cute, but then I felt bad for YooJin. I don't know, I just feel as though I'm ranting.

I just felt that certain story lines were really muted. The ending felt really rushed, and didn't make a lot of sense. I stuck with this drama because every time I felt like dropping it, they would give me a little ray of hope. I'm very confused by the ending. And disappointed.

:P
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions