Sort by:
Birdie Buddy
10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 26, 2011
Oct 26, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
I dont even know why I started watching this show because I dont like sports. I mean the only person I knew from the cast is UEE but I didnt even like her character in Your Beautiful. But for some reason I wanted to see if her acting was any different...

Story- UNPREDICTABLE. The story starts off slow (not to the point of being bored) and is too focused on the character read more of Hae Ryung (not UEE's character)but by episode 10 things start to pick up and become super interesting because it focuses on UEE's character. The last episode made me want to rip my hair out. The ending kept in line with the unpredictable theme. Its probably the worst ending Ive ever seen in my life! Seriously if it werent for the first 23 eps having solid writing i would have rated the story lower just because of the sorry ending.

Acting- UEE can act her butt off! She changed my opinion of her (hated her in YB). The rest of the cast all made thier characters believable. I really despised the character of Hae Ryung though (very pathetic and no character development until the last ep.)

Music- Nice enough music that was memorable but nothing that i would be obsessed with.

Rewatch- If it werent for the ending Id probably would have rewatched it in 2 yrs or so but i have no wish to rewatch this drama, although it is at least rewatchable.

Overall this drama had huge potential but the lack of a believable romance and the nonsensical ending really ruined the good feelings i had about this show throughout its run. I'd still recommend this drama though because the writing is good and the acting is very good.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
1 Litre of Tears
11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 26, 2011
Oct 26, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
A lot has been said about this drama, there's not much that I can add.



The Story deserves a 10 because is a true story about a real girl who went through this, and the purpose of this drama was for people to know it, and really learn to appreciate life, and I think that it really does cause that. This one of the few dramas that are read more life-changing, that instead of making you laugh makes you think how lucky you are just for the fact that you can study, or walk, or even speak.



The acting was 10 also. I hate Sawajiri Erika, I think that she is one of the worst famous people aver, because she's careless and has a really bad reputation, but you can't deny that she made the performance of her life in this drama. She makes us completely understand the pain that Aya is going through and how she gradually loses control of her body. I also loved Ryo's performance and character, the parts where I cried the most were the parts where he cried. I also loved the family, I think they all acted completely according to their part, even though it was really challenging.



The music definitely 10. It completely moved you.



I've watched three times, and I don't really get bored, it's a completely moving story, I love it because it makes me feel lucky and thankful to God.



Overall a solid 10, one of the few dramas which REALLY deserve it, not because of its cast or music, but because it's a tribute to Aya
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nagareboshi
30 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 26, 2011
Oct 26, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Touching. Romantic. Lovely. Addicting in a slow, pensive way. This drama is a little wonder, one I fell in love with without a clear reason: it's not sparkling, the action is reduced to the bare minimum, and so are words. But there's an intensity in the long silences which makes the unspoken a lot louder than whatever is being said.

Most of it is due to the excellent cast. I knew Ueto read more Aya from Attention Please and loved her there: she was the reason why I watched that drama and the only reason why I completed it. There she was feisty and entertaining, here she plays the role of a disillusioned young woman, wary of men - who can blame her? - and in desperate need of warmth and a sense of belonging. Her acting is outstanding, one can't help falling in love with her fragility, her courage and beauty.
Takenouchi Yutaka is just as awesome. His character is that of an honest man who leads a simple life but is ready to go to any length in order to save his sister. He's so sedate throughout the whole drama, I expected him to burst out at some point. But he didn't, and I realize now this is what makes him into such an endearing character. He expresses a world of meaning via glances and silences: I loved it.
The encounter between Risa and Kengo is poignant and their interaction from that point on is always defined by a sedate fire. Nobody shouts, or desperately cries or have fits of anger, and yet the chemistry is powerful.
I don't think it's accidental that Matsuda Shota speaks in a very sedate and calm way too through the whole show. This is the imprint of Nagareboshi. Just like the beautiful jellyfishes that float around in the aquarium. I never thought I could come to consider jellyfishes such beautiful creatures.
The side cast is just as brilliant, mostly the women.

The photography deserves a mention too. There are some truly outstanding sceneries of Japan shown in this drama. I was captivated by the colours and the general atmosphere. I love it that Japanese can produce wonderful dramas without the pomp and the shine we have been accustomed to with the usual super stars sporting gorgeous outfits or your average hero under the shower. This is a simple yet complicated love story between two very average people. It could be us.

The music is beautiful, although not my genre. I usually prefer instrumental pieces in dramas, so I don't really care much for songs. But it suits the pace and the feel of the drama perfectly.

If you like well acted, slow developing stories without love triangles or squares, played on style more than actual happenings, this drama is for you. I suppose it's for mature viewers - and I'm not referring to age.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Lie to Me
11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 23, 2011
Oct 23, 2011
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
As most people, I started this watching this drama because it was with YEH, and even though her last drama had been a complete disaster, she still is one of my favourite actresses.



Story-It isn't original at all. I've been watching dramas for almost 4 years and have seen specially many kdramas, which are all the same. This one isn't and exception. -If you don't want to know read more anything about the story, DON'T READ THE REST OF THE PARAGRAPH-. In the first 8 episodes there's the leads hating each other but being dragged into common situations which make them start having feelings for each other. There's always the "oppa" girl, and the guy (who is generally hyung of the lead) who befriends the female lead and starts having feelings for her even though he eventually realizes she's the girl his hyung loves. Generally in the 8th or 9th episode the leads confess their feelings for each other and the rest of the drama is them trying to get his family to accept their relationship, because of course, he's always a rich guy and she's always the poor girl. So, that's the basic story-line for every kdrama. I think that most people, like me, accept that and watch it to see how the writers develop the story, the things that will make this drama different. But in this story, it's like the writers used "writing kdramas for dummies". I mean it didn't have anything different. The only scene in the whole drama that I'd rescue is the "cola" scene.



Cast-As I mentioned before, I'm a huge YEH fan. Her characters are always someone you can relate to (being MFL a HUGE exception) and they are very lovable. Kong Ah Jung wasn't the exception. As for KJH, I LMBOed with him in My Girlfriend is an Agent and here too. I also loved Soon Joon as character, but as an actor he only could do funny scenes, in the "sad" scenes I just kept laughing because his acting sucked. Jo Yoon Hee had the typical character that you just hate because she's stalking the male lead, so she didn't really stand out.



Music-nothing special, just the theme son.



Rewatch value-I'd never rewatch it, I almost didn't finished it.



Overall- Really generic and commercial, if this is your first drama, you'll probably love it, if you have watched several dramas before this one, you'll be like "oh, again?" or "that's so predictable" or "I watched this scene in..."
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Lie to Me
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 23, 2011
Oct 23, 2011
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
Not the kind of drama that will entice you to watch until the end. It was such a drag. The beginning was so nice, though the plot was predictable not original, just like I am imagining a diff. version of TOO BEAUTIFUL TO LIE. I believe that Sang Hee is the saving grace of the show but the ending doesn't give me a satisfaction about what happened to him.


read more The 2 leads are overly cheesy at the end that it's annoying.



Sometimes I think it is a waste of time watching it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Dream High
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 22, 2011
Oct 22, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I was very hesitant to take up Dream High and have been avoiding it since it first aired (largely due to the disappointment of music themed dramas I watched previously - You're Beautiful and Heartstrings). However, it seemed that everywhere I went I was plagued with images from this show, be it a blog or a collaboration mv on Youtube (the deciding factor), and so I decided to give it a chance. read more I began watching it with very low expectations and that may be why I enjoyed it far more than expected.



The beginning of the story was a little unbelievable, with Go Hye Mi's father's business failing and him fleeing the country to escape a debt collector and leaving his teenaged daughter and her younger sister to fend for themselves. The sisters later find refuge in the house of their mother's "seducer," a man they hate for breaking their family apart, and who happens to be a teacher at Kirin Art High School. Go Hye Mi is an opera singer who got accepted at Julliard but is forced to give her dream to enter Kirin, in order to become a wealthy pop singer and repay her father's debt and, thankfully, this is where the story becomes more or less normal.



The story was very interesting and takes you into the world of the music industry that is very different from that of previous dramas such as You're Beautiful. The romance was also very light which was a nice break as the story was focused on the talent.



The acting was surprisingly good, especially when taking the fact that many of these actors are very young and made their acting debut in this drama into consideration.



The music was also very good and these actors/singers are very talented. The dancing was a nice plus and the choreography was very impressive.



Overall, the drama was very enjoyable and I'm glad I gave it a go; it was nice to watch a light and entertaining drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Greatest Love
12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 22, 2011
Oct 22, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I saw the first episode of this drama when it came out, but I simply didn't like it, I don't know why.

But, a few days ago I finished a drama and I said to myself well if everyone is talking about it and it's getting so much recognition then it must have something good. And, as soon as I started watching it, I fell in love.



Story-It's read more really interesting because, as in Dream High, it gives you a chance to see a little of the inside world of Hallyu. Besides it doesn't get tiring at any time and it moves really fast, without losing any time. I specially loved that unlike most dramas, he was the one who fell in love first, and isn't afraid to admit it.



Acting-I was really impressed, specially with the main lead. I have to admit that at first I had my reservations because he was so OLD. But then I started noticing his acting and he's REALLY good. He is so much better than the female lead and is always setting the mood for the scene. The supporting actors were also very good and funny.



Music-It is great, there is always a great song accompanying each scene, completely according to the mood. I specially liked the suspense music because it made the scenes funnier. And of course I loved "Bum bum"! It is so catchy that I find myself humming it at times!



Rewatch value-I'd completely rewatch this drama, and probably will in vacations.



overall-so 10
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Giant
27 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 22, 2011
Oct 22, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I must have been out of my mind when I started this one because I had never attempted or even cared to attempt a drama more than 45 episodes (Smile You) but the fact that I was a fan of Joo Sang Wook (Thorn Birds) & Hwang Jung Eum (Can You Hear My Heart)led me to try out a couple of episodes...

Story: It starts off with the child stories and here read more is where you see everything (father's death, siblings seperated, meeting of the romantic OTP #1) go down. When the characters grow up, there are multiple time jumps and twist and turns throughout to keep you engaged till the very end. Be prepared to cry a lot and be shocked at how the romantic pairings go (they are twisted). I loved the ending although it was bittersweet. I will say that this definitely could have been done with a shorter ep count because there were many filler scenes.

Acting: Excellent ensemble cast. Everyone from the 2 main couples to the supporting cast was amazing. I got attached to all the characters and it was crazy how everyone who is considered protagonists also showed a bad side to them. The writers did a phenomenal job in writing these characters. Just wanted to mention I wasnt too keen on Lee Bum Soo in the beginning but by the end I had become a fan! The chemistry btwn him and Park Jin Hee was perfect.

Music: The score was so fitting. Powerful when it needed to be and emotional in all the right places.

Rewatch: Although its a large ep count, I loved the acting so much that i would like to try and watch this every year if i have the time cause its so epic.

Overall Giant is a must watch for any die hard drama fan and the perfect introduction to Lee Bum Soo. Dont be turned off by the huge ep count or you will be missing out!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Unubore Deka
10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 21, 2011
Oct 21, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I found this drama very entertaining. It is meant to be a comedy and although it touches on very moving subjects, it never fails to be hilarious! All the characters are very well played and very funny. They are all silly in their own way and although the plot is rather redundant, the entertainment the characters give makes up for the rather boring plot. Near the end episodes of the drama, I read more found it particularly funny when Unubore sang his own theme song. If you are looking for a drama that is a good solid dectective plot then this is probably something you would not enjoy. But if you like comedy (not in a sophisticated way I suppose) then you would thoroughly enjoy this drama. :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Heartstrings
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 20, 2011
Oct 20, 2011
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Well, todays is 21st of october and i finally managed to end watching this show. You can ask why so long? that because the only value (for me of course) was some soundtracks. When i heard for the first time about this drama i was way too excitied, but with every new episods i lose my interest more more. I dropped it many times and forced myself to see it again just read more out of curiosity like will this show survived, will there be some changes or at least what end will it has? Still i don't know is it lead actors just weak or supporting roles too strong. Story line didn't hide anything special or surprising, playing wasn't great, every time i had the feeling that i'm watching some homework for teenagers only. The chemistry between lead actors is apsent like someone forgot about it, sometimes there was also this feeling that actors were very shy but still forced to play it. Well, to sum it up, just nice drama and if you're bored to death than watch it or at least listen to soundtracks, just don't expect too much.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 20, 2011
Oct 20, 2011
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 3.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
my main complaint is that more than half of the special is just flashbacks of the show, and once you've watch all ten episodes you are REALLY itching for more and you just dont find it here.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Creating Destiny
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 20, 2011
Oct 20, 2011
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
at least half of this show could have been edited out with no ill effect.



there was just too much of everything and the main stroy line seemed to drown in all the rest.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Vampire Host
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 20, 2011
Oct 20, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
this show embraces the cheesieness and because it does it ends up with a ridiculous vampire that some how seems more real for all his hissing and cape flapping.



the two leads had an oddly pleasant back and forth.



this is nothing that's going ot blow your mind but it will definately leave you with a satisfied smile if you dont take it too seriously.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Zettai Reido
9 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 20, 2011
Oct 20, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
As a person who likes mystery/crime dramas as soon as I started to watch this I knew this one would fly straight to my list of good dramas.



Plot is good and I think it's similar to American series "Cold Case". I liked that series but I think this one is better because this doesn't have many and many more seasons like non-Asian dramas usually has...


read more Acting was great. Ueto Aya is my favorite actress (well one of them) so I might be biased a bit. Her character was different from her characters before. I also liked every other character too. I think the "lab nerds" were amazing, especially Kimura Ryo.



I liked the insert songs/music in this drama. Opening and ending suited for the drama but they weren't my taste though..but I still liked them...maybe it's a bit weird..



I re-watch only rare few dramas and I think I might just re-watch this one day. Though there's still SP and 2nd Season for me to watch.



Overall I gave this 8 even though most of the ratings are 6...



This is a good drama for Ueto Aya fans and people who likes mystery dramas like I do :D
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Scarlet Heart
41 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Oct 20, 2011
Oct 20, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
My first Chinese drama ever! I just finished watching it and I still feel sad. How to begin? I was never really bored with this drama, even in parts where it started to drag a little I never skipped any parts because there was always something to pull me in and make me wanna find out more. And then the last 5 episodes happened - and made me think this drama is read more something brilliant.



At first, I wasn't sure if I was going to watch it. Let's face it - half balded guys aren't exactly eye candy. But I was wrong! And I'm glad I found people who were raving about it because it made me want to watch it! I got over that issue by the 5th episode - and some of the Prince's are still cute! And whatever else lacks, the story is the most important part - and it was excellent! I had mixed feelings about the princes' throughout the drama.



The acting was amazing! I've heard that Chinese dramas tend to not be acted out that well - but this one is certainly an exception! Wonderfully done - whatever the characters were feeling were clearly portrayed. They cried - I cried.



The music is beautiful! I love the soundtrack! Listening to it now, it just makes me sad - but I can't stop listening! Beautiful!



I don't think I'll rewatch this drama soon - only because there's already so many I have lined up to watch.



Overall - this drama was really worth the time. 35 episodes may seem like a lot - but the story is really done well and it made every episode worth it!



On a side note - keep in mind to expect some not so good greenscreen use and such. Actually some of it was bad enough that it made some scenes [when they're riding on a horse] look like something straight out of a video game. On the plus side - I found it comical and it added humor to a scene haha. Another thing to note that slightly bothered me - she's stuck in the past for many years: but none of them seem to age. It's not until it's almost over that they look slightly different. Because of those things I can't give this drama a full !O. I almost gave it an 8 but it's such a great story, the ending.... get some tissues ready!



Another thing - you don't have to know anything about the Qing Dynasty to follow along with this story. In a way I think it might be better if you don't. I didn't and it left surprises for me when I found out what would happen to the characters.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions