Sort by:
Playful Kiss
31 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 23, 2011
Apr 23, 2011
  • Overall 3.0
  • Story 3.0
  • Acting/Cast 3.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I love dramas, and I know a good one when I see it. This...is a TERRIBLE drama. The acting and story were disappointing. I have seen the Tawainese version and feel in love with it. If you compare the two, it is clear that the Korean version falls short. The characters were not potrayed well at all! The rival guy wasn't even a rival! He was ignored most of the drama! Really read more the only thing I did like was the music and the woman who played the mother. She was hilarious! I watched the entire thing and it was a waste of my time. I also watched the short episodes at the end, and those were okay. Don't fall for the good looking actors, this is a joke of a drama and falls short at being a good manga adaption.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Devil Beside You
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 23, 2011
Apr 23, 2011
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
So I don't remember exactly why I ended up watching this drama, but I was kind of torn. The idea of the plot was slightly disturbing, I mean, incest! Well...not really, but still. And I think that's what ruined it for me. I just couldn't get over that as I was watching it so, it kind of killed the whole thing. But aside from that part, if you're less sensitive to things read more like that, its a decent drama. It has a couple of side stories that it follows well and to the end, and the acting is decent. Its pretty average. Some parts are a bit melodramatic, but its a pretty funny drama. Plus Mike He is delicious.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Apr 23, 2011
Apr 23, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This drama follows the Japanese "older woman-younger guy" trend. It seems as though every Japanese idol has to pass this test at least once in his acting career.



Despite the premises though, there is something about this drama which made it into one of my favourites in its genre.

Perhaps because on further analysis it doesn't deal with falling in love with someone, but with learning to read more love oneself and appreciate the little, daily things one gives for granted.



Esumi Makiko is so beautiful here, one soon forgets the age gap. The story revolves around her, her internal struggle, her doubts, her self-esteem. Yamashita Tomohisa plays his part very well too, portraying a young man in that fragile phase between adolescence and adulthood in a very believable way.



Overall, a delightful, suave drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hana Kimi
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 23, 2011
Apr 23, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This was the first Asian drama I had ever watched. I LOVED it! The story was easy to follow and funny. I think this drama was actually great with the mediocre acting. Jiro definately played the best character, but the others were also good at playing their roles. Now I know there is a lot of debate about the female role and how she is not pretty. Well when you look at read more it from the view that SHE IS SUPPOSED TO LOOK LIKE A GUY, then it's better. This drama also goes well with the original manga, but the ending for me was a disappointment. It wasn't bad, but it made me feel a bit "out of the loop." Oh but not to forget the nurse, HE WAS HILARIOUS! So much much much better than in the Japanese version. But I won't go on comparing the two versions because frankly, they are almost two separate stories and are BOTH worth watching. Overall, I would recommend you watch this drama for an easy laugh.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hot Shot
14 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 23, 2011
Apr 23, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This is one of my favourite Taiwanese dramas. Perhaps it would be fair to add that I usually love dramas and movies dealing with sports, and this one in particular is about basketball, my favourite.



But it isn't so much the plot which makes this into a great watch: it's the direction style. Everything about it is over the top: from the athlets who fly around the court read more as wuxia warrior on a battlefield, to the characters who have the flavour of manga drawings, from the camera angle which plays with frozen scenes and facial expressions, to the plot itself, with its never completely serious twists. References to the battlefield, the Romans, the Greek and Sun Tzu's the art of war are scattered all over the show for the most attentive viewer to catch.



The scenes displaying street basket are awesome and the beautiful music is chosen with sense and aim.



I'm ready to recommend this to every basketball lover. Should you happen to hate this sport, then it may be a harder watch, unless you are appeased by the good-looking actors, in heaps here, and the beautiful, strong and far from whining leading ladies.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Full House
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 23, 2011
Apr 23, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This drama was widely popular after it aired and continued in that vain for a long time, and deservedly so. This was only my second ever drama. Since then I have seen many, but this one maintains a very special place in my hearts and to this day remains one of my eternal favourites. I am not Korean, so prior to this drama I was not particularly a fan of Rain or read more anything, so not swayed at the time by that bias. Having seen the drama, now mosty definitely a fan. This drama is a fanatstic template for what all easy going, romantic fluffy dramas should follow. It has a simple plot yet interesting premise, a capable and adorable cast and very good music. It is full of sweet moments, mixed it with the funny and the neccessay angst. My only complaint would be that the pacing seemed to drop near the end , as it geared up for its climax and the ending not as amazing as it could have been. This compliants are not unique to this drama but is a common place in most asian dramas and is now to be expected. The dramas major strenght is its characters..you genuinely like them and become interested in thier development, and they are very well portrayed. Rain and Song Hye Kyo have very good chemistry, which adds greatly to the drama and is a strong support to the plot. The supporting characters are exactly what they need to be. The second male lead is strong and charismatic and seems a very capable alternative, which is essential to futhering the love triangle. The others add either tension or comedy, both of which add to the viewers enjoyment.All in all, I would strongly recommend this drama, for an easy heartfelt watch, to make you laugh, to cry and the want to scream at the main lead a couple of times out of fustration..all in good fun.Oh an an excellent soundtrack.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Can You Hear My Heart
43 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 23, 2011
Apr 23, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
i wish it kept going .. After watching this whole drama, i had to say this is my fav on air dramas out of all the ones i was watching... Maa Roo was very scary at times .. but splendid acting from all the characters.. i was a little annoyed by Dong Choo\''s mom at times but she had her reasons :P .. To me, it is such a heart warming drama. read more Story is different and written beautifully as it introduced disabilities in a very unique manner i.e deafness and mental disability. i really like how they introduced disability and how others react to it. They showed how people struggle from special needs parents or how accepting and understanding children were to special needs parents. it was really touching... i dont want to go into details and ruin all the fun... but its a great drama of betrayal,greed, love, friendship, relations, revenge and disability. The story started off when all the main actors were little and gradually they told the backgrounds of every character. Characters growth are really good and acting is superb. I really liked how every person had a reason to be who they were and what they did..Dong choo\''s smile is very killing... Her and bong Woori\''s chemistry , their love and romance was really light yet so0o adorable throught the drama .. i had to add few things in my review... I fell in love with the music...(first time:P) esp male ost who sung the main song.. though it didnt have a lot of background songs, i was satisfied with just one song that played again and again ..02.
-

am glad they ended it so beautifully .. but am so sad that it all came to an end :( ... i want more of CYHMH ...
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Invincible Lee Pyung Kang
14 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 22, 2011
Apr 22, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
This drama was pretty cute. It was a decent rom-com, where most of the comedy came in the form of tension between the two leads, their fights and what not. It was a very lighthearted story, with lots of good moments, and overall it was cute. It wasn't anything THAT spectacular, but if you just watched a super amazing drama with which you were obsessed with and you can't stop thinking about read more it, this will serve as an excellent distraction.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Full House
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 22, 2011
Apr 22, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
This is a drama which I watched immediately after My Girl(which was a drama i REALLY loved). That being said, I didn't like this drama all that much. I mean sure it's a great drama if you are a big fan of Rain, or if you need a drama to pass a boring weekend. It'll provide some laughs and a few tears, but it's just not that special in my opinion. It read more was rather ordinary. I did like the music though, but overall I just felt like it was a drama that was "ok", rather than absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Girlfriend is a Gumiho
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 22, 2011
Apr 22, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
My girlfriend is a gumiho.

Awesome drama. I love it.

The plot was interesting and it was something new for me, so I decided to give it a try. The first episode was a bit boring in my opinion, but next episodes were awesome. It was so impressing and had a big impact for me.

At the beginning, Mi Ho annoyed me. I thought she was annoying, slutty and read more bossy. I'm happy I was wrong. I love her very much. The character is cute and innocent. She was always dressed in white dresses ^^. Sin Min A did a really great job. I think she really looks like a fox ^^.

Dae Wang was just too cute. I like his behavior changing. He was a spoiled brat, but he became a very responsible guy. Hehe ^^. Lee Seung Gi did an awesome job. Now I love him ^^.

Hye In annoyed me to death. She was so nasty and fake. She was too insistent, but she was somehow realistic in my opinion.

Dong Ju was cute, even if sometimes he annoyed me. Yea, I' too irascible, I know xD.

The OST was brilliant! Fox Rain is amazing! The lyrics are exceptional. It really makes me cry when I hear it. But it's.. awesome.

I enjoyed it very much. Now it's my favorite drama. The ending was exceptional. That's how a drama should end. It made me cry and laugh so easily. I love it.

I highly recommend it if you want something nice, with an interesting plot and good characters d(n_n)b.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goong
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 22, 2011
Apr 22, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
I really loved Goong. The plot was very Cinderella like, but it wasn't too typical of a romance. The plot was different, and the acting was great. The characters were all three-dimensional, meaning they had a mix of traits and weren't your typical, frail, weak female lead and strong, yet somewhat pms-ey male lead.

There were some parts where the plot got a bit strange, but overall, it was really good, read more and you ended up sympathizing with the "bad guys" rather than hating them.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Indigo no Yoru
13 people found this review helpful
by Kei
Other reviews by this user
Apr 21, 2011
Apr 21, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Indigo no Yoru is my all time favorite drama <3

Most people are unfamiliar with the type of drama. It's a midday drama, so it's targeted towards housewives and stay-at-home-moms. It's a drama that touches on a variety of themes such as marriage, family-life, homosexuality, etc. Not only is it a moving drama, but it is also funny and entertaining. The best part is the cast though. Moriguchi Yoko is a read more powerful actress who leads the rest of the cast. Along with Kato Kazuki, who as usual is his sexy self. Then there are a variety of fun actors like Takagi Shinpei and Takagi Manpei, Mayame Akihiro, Amano Kosei, Wada Masato, and Kaji Masaki. This is a drama that I would recommend to anyone who is looking for something different and fun, but with lots of plot twists and a detective-style feel. Oh, and bonus, it takes place at a host club. How much better can it get?
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Delightful Girl, Choon Hyang
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 21, 2011
Apr 21, 2011
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
I started watching this drama just because I had heard so much about its fantastic soundtrack. I did end up liking the music, but the drama itself was sub-par for me. The characters weren't that amusing. I found that the female lead character irked me, mostly because she was very passive throughout. The acting was alright, I just wasn't feeling it. Good music though.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love Buffet
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 21, 2011
Apr 21, 2011
  • Overall 3.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 4.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I thought that I would really like this drama, because it had this super girly, rom-com type feel to it at first, slightly reminiscent of Boys Over Flowers, with the two new hot guys instantly gaining popularity at school, however, I found that the plot was unsatisfying, and the dialouge and acting were a bit overdone, and over dramatic. It was quite obnoxious. The female lead can't make up her mind between read more two guys, and then she goes after one, then changes her mind over and over. Her fickleness was probably what started the flame in the burning runaway bus that I call this drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The X-Family
4 people found this review helpful
by Kei
Other reviews by this user
Apr 19, 2011
Apr 19, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
this is actually my number one favorite taiwanese drama <3

it is just completely awesome and just perfect.

the cast is rele good with jiro wang as the lead again after ko one.

this is a drama filled with magic-wuxia action scenes.

it also has awesome music with the cast singing the theme songs and with music playing its own part in the show itself.

its a read more great drama that isnt just about fighting using special powers but also about family and love.

its the type of drama that while moving and also action-packed, has ALOT of comedic crack moments, such as a variety of comic-relief characters.

this IS my favorite tdrama, and i recommend it to anyone looking for a laugh or alot of attractive actors~
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions