Sort by:
Coffee House
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 13, 2011
Apr 13, 2011
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I was just getting off my high of Wish upon a Star when I stumbled onto this drama. I had only breifly seen the main lead in a few clips from Hong Gil Dong or one of the period dramas because my friend was watching it, I knew Eun Jung was from T-Ara and Park Shiyeon, well she was the b!tchy girl from My Girl. I was set not to like it read more because 1. I hated Park Shiyeon in My girl and 2. She dated Eric Mun from Shinhwa. LOL I know, horrible reason to dislike her.

So as I'm watching the drama I can't help but LOVE her. She has really learned a lot from her My Girl days. The whole cast was phenomenal. The story line got a little odd and the plotholes got a little loose but I think the quirky moments and great chemistry between the main leads made up for it. I think this was the most underrated drama for 2010. A lot of people complained about the ending, but don't listen to them! LOL. The ending was great! I can't post any spoilers but boy do I want to spaz crazily about it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Lovely Sam Soon
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 13, 2011
Apr 13, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I can't tell you how much I love this drama! I spent a whole summer watching this over and over and over again. The storyline was wonderful. Sam Soon is such a relatable character, she ponders what you ponder and draws you into the drama so much more. I think the cast did a wonderful job in their roles. Something I really loved about this drama was that, no one was really read more the antagonist. There was no secret plot to steal that person's lover or to ruin someone's wedding day. It was just living life, trying to prioritize your life when life isn't going the way you had planned it to go. Making mistakes and learning from those mistakes as you go along. A must see drama that you will defintely rewatch over and over again!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nanase Futatabi
11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 13, 2011
Apr 13, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
This is a remake of an older Nanase Futatabi, and it has a very interesting storyline. I was so excited about it, and really told all my friends to watch it...until I watched the final episode. The final episode has a sudden twist which you'll either love or hate. In my case, hate. The cast did a great job acting and the music did well too. As for rewatch value, it's more read more of a drama where it excels through twists, and that being the case, rewatching it won't be enjoyed. Overall, other than the ending it was a great drama, and i would give it a 7.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Godhand Teru
12 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 13, 2011
Apr 13, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This is a very odd drama...but odd in a good way! It kind of felt like a mixture between Power Rangers...and Iryu :P

I absolutely loved it though. The story was kind of cheesy, but overall i did love it. The cast and the acting was flawless. The music was alright and served its purpose just fine. As for rewatch value, i'm not much of a rewatcher, but i'd give it read more a 6. Overall, I think this drama is one people who love comedy mixed with drama in the setting of a hospital.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Secret Garden
14 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 13, 2011
Apr 13, 2011
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 3.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I was really disappointed with the story. There was absolutely no chemistry between the characters; it wasn't the actor's problem but the plot! How the lead characters end up liking each other is unsubstantiated and has no base to it what so ever.



Since there was no base to their chemistry, and the whole drama was revolving around their 'love' for each other, it really hard to get through read more each episode without exclaiming: What! Why are they acting like that around each other!



On a brighter note, the music was really good (: There is a Disney feel to the songs and I loved it.



My advice: Watch other dramas.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sungkyunkwan Scandal
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 13, 2011
Apr 13, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0

First off, I must say that the actors are exceptional. From their acting skills to the characters they portray to their looks! O man, I could stare at their faces all day. <3 Goo Yong Ha and Moon Jae Shin!





Music is good, I love the ending song.





It's pretty ordinary and predictable, story wise. It's a historical drama with an all too common modern read more twist: Girl in a guys school. Therefore unlike other historical dramas such as Dong Yi and Yi San, it is less political and adapts a more light hearted pace. If you like Hana Kimi, Coffee Prince or Your're Beautiful and are not bored of dramas like those, then this is for you (:












Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Full House
32 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 12, 2011
Apr 12, 2011
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Oh, the Boredom!



This was a very popular drama at the time of its airing. The cast is top-notch, the plot has all the premises for a funny, romantic and passionate love story.

Unfortunately though, the viewer is forced to an extremely long wait for something that never happens, or happens on a very low scale in the last 5 minutes of the show.



The read more rest of it is a sequel of silly quarrels, food preparing and cleaning. I'd say the cleaning is the main character of the show, to the point you start looking around your house thinking that dusting once a week cannot possibly be enough. Yes, because these two, in turn, dust the huge house once a day, and the director saw it fit to show it to the viewer every single time, just in case one might forget how it is done.



The chemistry between the 2 leads is there, and it's powerful. Ironically though, this alchemy becomes the biggest flaw of the show, because it's like a big amount of electricity never conveyed into anything. One waits... and waits... and waits.



Since watching Full House I'm invariably sceptical about any drama portraying two lovers forced in the confines of a house.

Yawn.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Princess
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 12, 2011
Apr 12, 2011
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I was really excited about this drama. So much so that I resisted the urge to watch it until it was completed. I wanted to be swept away, to get the full effect. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to my expectations, which admittedly were quite high.It isn't bad per say, just not as amaizing as it could have been.I am usually a sucker for such concepts.Conceptually it was brilliant, it that light read more and entertaining category but in terms of execution it failed to met its potential. That is the major problem with this drama, it promised so much that when it failed to deliver on all of it , you are left with this empty,unfinished feeling. Major plot points were missed in the middle and gaps tried to be filled in the end when it was just to late.The result is that,as a viewer it became slightly disjointed and you lost your emotional connection. Having said all that, I would still recommend this drama. The acting is good and the cast beautiful enough that you are willing to forgive. It is light, funny and entertaining.It could have been amazing, but ended up being good...which when you think about it isn't bad! Recommended for easy laughs and a comforting, sweet distraction.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Princess
20 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 12, 2011
Apr 12, 2011
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 2.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
I can be as passionate in love with a drama as I am in hate with another.

My Princess falls in the second category.

It has all the premises for a light romantic, easy and funny watch but it fulfills none to the fullest.



The plot is a silly one, but I can forgive it since it never advertised as anything else than the usual "normal" girl read more becoming royal overnight and facing the changes.

When a plot has nothing big to offer, I expect at least great acting and, most of all, something original or beautiful in terms of direction/screenplay/music/visuals.

The direction of this drama is, at best, average, at worst atrocious.

The acting is nothing great either. The female lead does her best, but the rest of the cast is better displayed in a wax museum.



The music is the biggest put off. It does nothing to enhance the feelings portayed; on the contrary, it kills them. It seems like whoever had to chose the soundtrack did a hasty job, putting this or that song at random on random scenes.



Although I usually force myself to watch a drama to the end, I dropped this one, since I found that fast-forwarding 80% of an episode is a waste of time and finger-mobility.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Playful Kiss
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 12, 2011
Apr 12, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I fell in love with Jung so Min's acting.. she was really cute and did an awesome job .. overall the story is a very cliche one.. if you are into a typical romance drama then this is it.. its funny and has many romantic scenes to die for ;) though it is not perfect in some ways but i still like it :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Shining Inheritance
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 11, 2011
Apr 11, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This is a wonderful drama! After you get through the first few episodes things get crazy. The acting is great, it really pulls you in and makes you feel for the characters. Whether you love or loathe them lol. Seriously be prepared to really hate some characters cause I found myself cursing at the screen lol. It's a must see!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Dragon Zakura
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 11, 2011
Apr 11, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
This dorama is about stupid students who want to get to prestige Tokyo University.

But it's the best thing before any test or something for what you have to study but you are too lazy. It will FORCE and help you to study, that's why is Dragon Zakura the best dorama of studying! :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Akai Ito
9 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 10, 2011
Apr 10, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Akai Ito is one of the best romantic dramas about losing and finding, fortunes and misfortunes. Don't be afraid spend time on watching this. You will have a brilliant experience of bound destiny love.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Shining Inheritance
37 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 10, 2011
Apr 10, 2011
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This is one of my favourite dramas ever and believe me when I say I have seen quite a few..it was also my first, so slightly biased. In all fairness it is a slow start, but once you get into the thick of things it is one of those compeling, addictive dramas.I lost alot of sleep over this one..just couldn't stop watching. It is funny , dramatic(duh), has a bit of suspense read more and romatic. Not just romantic for romance sake, but that sweet organic, naturally occuring, out of nowhere, this is amazing kind of romance, with some heartwarming swoon worthy moments.

The characters, at first may seem a bit tiresome, but they have this uncanny knack of growing on you, until you genuinely care for them and wish to see them happy, successful or in some cases burn in hell. It will make you laugh and cry, which is what all good dramas should invoke. Throw into the mix a nice, non annoying soundtrack and some pretty good cinematography and you get a seriously a good watch. Strong recommended, not just for viewing but repeated viewings as well.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Secret Garden
89 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
Apr 9, 2011
Apr 9, 2011
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I don't think I have ever written as much about a show as I have about Secret Garden.

I even managed to regain my composure after the initial excitement, let some time pass and cool down, in order to look at it with a less passionate, more objective stance. The result is, SG remains my all time favourite, a drama I have watched and rewatched and will watch again until the read more characters and the script will be integral part of my life - perhaps they already are.



The plot speaks fot itself. There is fun, romance, magic, tragic, twists and literary references. It flows without interruptions, making you laugh like crazy and cry like a baby, at times flooding you like high tide, but it never leaves one dry or unsatisfied: questions are answered, references fulfilled, all spiced up with a little magic.



The script is unique and brilliant. The funny lines are hilarious, the serious ones thought-provoking. Nothing about this script is either predictable or shallow, making the characters come to life and become realistic in a fantasy world.



Which inevitably leads me to the acting, which is outstanding. The main leads have to play the part of themeselves, then that of the other, then that of the other playing the part of themselves. Lesser actors would have screwed up, but Ha Ji Won and Hyun Bin both do a fantastic job, providing laughters in heaps and tears in the same amount. And their love story is just as beautiful as their chemistry on screen is sizzling.

The secondary characters are not mere supporters. They are all interesting, complex personalities who adds to the plot and the dynamic wonderfully.



The music is addicting, even for a K-pop ignorant as myself. Songs and lyrics are never chosen randomly but highlight and define the scenes they soundtrack.



I can't ask more of a drama. In fact, I doubt I'll find something to fully compensate for the end of this wonderful show.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions