Sort by:
Descendants of the Sun
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
After reading the reviews and seeing this drama literally everywhere, I decided to give it a go. To be honest, I had pretty low expectations from the first few episodes, but the series got better and better.
The main lead chemistry was unbelievable, but I still think that the 2nd lead love story was more interesting and I was rooting for them every episode. Also, the bromance! My god, they are adorable! read more Can't get enough of every character on this show, especially the doctors and how unique every one of them are. Would love to see this series on television everywhere in the world because it definitely deserves all of the praise that it gets!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ode to Joy
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
Despite the awesome production/directing team and cast (Jiang Xin has killed in everything I've ever seen her in - girl needs a main lead role stat - and Liu Tao is always awesome), I approached this warily because modern Chinese dramas have been pretty terrible, especially ones that try to tackle the coming of age/slice of life genres. I get it - it's a hard genre to do because you have to read more be able to capture characters and situations that are real but still appealing, hopeful but not too idealistic, and that's a hard balance to achieve. Especially when you're trying to tell that story with a setting in China, where there's a lot of cultural complexities and social norms that don't always translate to screen well.

But clearly I need to have more faith in the people who brought us the gem that is Nirvana In Fire, because Ode to Joy totally blew my mind. Although I grew up here in the States, I have cousins and a lot of acquaintances in China who are in their mid 20s to early 30s, and I know just how hard it is as a young adult in modern China, especially in a big city like Shanghai. The salary that most people get - even in smaller cities - is nowhere proportional to the cost of living (especially for housing), so if you don't have family who can give you that extra allowance every month, it's basically next to impossible to make it in the big city. Forget about the hu kou issue for a second - having a car and a house is now considered the minimum standard in a partner these days, and since young adults usually don't have the money to buy those themselves, it's on the parents to provide. And if you happen to be from the country, or if you have a family who is dependent on you as the bread winner...

Ode to Joy did such an awesome job in taking a group of five unique characters and plopping them in the middle of Shanghai. They captured the struggles and obstacles of the women perfectly (the subtle social commentary was absolutely amazing and so well done in a country where dramas usually tend to act as propaganda for the government). Also - can we get a shout of joy for a great, women-centric drama? If I had one major criticism of this production team, it would be that they've done a pretty lousy job of developing good female characters (the NiF girls were strong and powerful, but way underutilized), but they've corrected that in such a major way with Ode to Joy.

The five women aren't perfect at all - and honestly, there is no miracle where at the end of the drama they've done a complete 180 - they are actually still very much the same women they were at the beginning, but they've learned a lot of hard lessons along the way, and have been influenced greatly by each other. It's a beautiful thing to watch - very rarely do you get such good character development in any drama, and across the board at that! The characters always stay true to themselves - there is nothing contrived - it all feels so organic, both in how their own characters develop, and how their friendship evolves.

Liu Tao's character was probably the hardest to relate to - a brilliant and successful but aloof businesswoman with an unknown backstory - but kudos to Liu Tao's natural warmth and exuberance that shone through to give her character some needed depth. I saw a lot of people complain about Wang Zi Wen's rich girl character but it was her that made this story so refreshing for me - a fu er dai with street smarts is such a joy to watch, especially since she still worked so hard to achieve what she wanted. She used people, sure, but she was usually transparent with her machinations, and she also had a heart of gold. And I thought Wang Zi Wen was great in her portrayal.

Yang Zi was adorable as the happy-go-lucky and simple Ying Ying, and while Qiao Xin was borderline unwatchable in her brief scenes in NiF, I did like her here as the studious Guan Guan (and resident worrywart). In a weird way, she also annoyed me the most, if only because I identified the most with her character and it was jarring seeing her flaws (which I share in spades) dissected and probed.

But Jiang Xin to me was the standout of the group performance-wise (no surprise - she made an absolutely evil character in the Legend of Zhen Huan sympathetic), and it was also her character that spoke the most to me. The situation that she faced with her family is very much a real one in China today (and real life is often worse), and it isn't one that has a real solution, because despite everything, family is family. She came across as such a wise and confident character at first, and little by little, her armor is chipped away, and the vulnerability lying within just breaks your heart.

Also - the Where's Waldo game with cameos from cast members of other Shanying productions was hilarious and so much fun (I will say I had to cheat at times where I could recognize the face but couldn't remember the role that the actor previously played).

I loved how the characters played off of each other and the writing was so smart and well thought out. The story did lag at times, but it's slice-of-life - it's bound to at times, and that's perfectly acceptable. There were times where I was annoyed with each of the characters in turn, but it just showed that they were being very human with their thoughts and decisions, and it often led to a very real life lesson.

The guys definitely took a backseat here, and none of the love lines are permanent (yet), and I loved the way they were used - none of them were princes, but they all helped with the maturation of one of the women in some way. Xiao Xiao (Wang Zi Wen) and her doctor boyfriend (Wang Kai) was a great portrayal of the modern young couple, and I can't wait to see how their relationship develops (or fails) in Season 2 because they still have a mountain of differences to wade through. (They are also so freaking cute - I kind of want to watch When A Snail Loves now just for them). Also - can we please get a show with LIu Tao and Jin Dong in a real love line?

It really isn't easy to tell the story of everyday people to an audience who is jaded and often unsatisfied with the way life is portrayed in dramas, but somehow, Ode to Joy does the impossible and delivers a show that will make you cry, make you laugh, and make you wish that you had that kind of sisterhood in your life. I wouldn't say that the show revolves around friendship, because there is still a lot of friction and misunderstanding even three quarters of the way through between some of the women, and a lot of the lessons that they learn is actually on an individual level, but it's still an integral part of the show.

Props again to the production team who have now proved they can tackle any genre and take it to the next level - I can't wait to see what Season 2 has in store for us!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Prince of Wolf
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I first started to watch this drama in Summer time, than I got hooked with some other dramas and completely forgotten about, I have rewatched this drama this week.

I do like Derek Chang & Amber Ann that's one of the reasons I wanted to watch this drama, the other reason is it reminded me the two kids were mentioned in Noam Chomsky's Linguistics textbook i have studied in University. In that read more book there were 2 kids raised by animals / raised in wild.

So here goes what I think about the drama,

I know many people moan about that they have not used real wolves in the drama, but come on it is almost impossible to find actor wolves, they have used Siberian Husky dogs instead which are wolf mix.

Husky's are very friendly and intelligent. The two huskies done a great job. I am sure they been awarded with loads of food.

There were some stuff that caught my eye, the decoration in the cave, there were artificial flowers, Ze Ming was pretty civilised, his haircut was modern, his clothing is also the same although he was raised in wild, he is speech language was pretty good, I believe it is because of the radio.

One day MiMi goes to Wolves Mountain to take photos of wolves, that's how MiMi & Ze Ming met, I think for both of them it was love at first sight.

Wolves are monogamous, So Ze Ming considers MiMi as his soulmate gives up his life in wild, takes his wolf dad and goes to civilised life, he starts to live with MiMi's family.

The first half of the drama I found the sister annoying, I just disliked the character, but on the second half we learn why she was behaving like that.

We don't have a bitch fe/male 2nd lead here. All the problems caused by the uncle and everything is resolved by the end of the drama.

As in most of the TW dramas Bii was behind a couple of songs

Ze Ming also matured, he still have that childish lovely side but it was more hidden when he matured.

We have loads of romance, loads of kissing scenes, We see how everyone ends of with their fated ones.

It has a rewatch value, I totally enjoyed the drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hwarang
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
Honestly, this drama was a slight disappointment for me. My expectations were that it would only be a light-hearted, fun drama that focused on the development of friendship and the growth of Hwarang. But, the plot was poorly written. The story did not focus on Hwarang at all. But it was not solely a bad experience since it has some of its good moments.
I finished this drama til the end just read more because I was curious how the plot would turn out. I continued watching it because of Park Seo Joon and he was also the reason why I started watching it. Through the drama, the audience seemed to fall in love with Ji Dwi more than Sun Woo. But, it was not the case for me. I loved Sun Woo's character - a carefree, yet considerate, heroic character. Regardless of the plot or the character, Park Seo Joon did not disappoint me. Like most would agree, Park Hyung Sik also shined in this drama.
And I enjoyed some bromance between Ji Dwi and Sun Woo, Sun Woo and Han sung and among the six Hwarang. I wished it had more of that.
I hate to say this but this drama is only worth watching if you love either Park Seo Joon or Park Hyung Sik. Only then, you will be able to tolerate all the flaws and cliches in the drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Pinocchio
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This drama is kind of cute in his own way. Childhood love. Light comedy because of female lead pinocchio and heavy sadness because of male lead's past. It's fun to watch and heavy sense of justice.

I like this drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hwarang
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Hwarang was my door to the world of K-drama. For that it gets the additional point on my rating.
It's good drama. It's fun to watch. If you don't compare it with Goblin-which was also airing that time- you will find it's a really good watch.

Why you should try this? Here are my reasons.

The cast got most of the attention, when it came to Hwarang. It was star studded drama. read more And for that reason people were expecting, I don't know something really great from this.
I think they were good. If we talk about the their roles, they were good.

Park Hyung Shik nailed his character. Even thought I felt his character was a little weak written than Sun-Woo's but this man made it better. He acted like he was the lead and that was the reason why he shined, even though he was the second lead character. His acting made his weak character stronger. And It takes great skill to do that. To make bad look good.
Go Ah Ra I absolutely loved her character Ah Ro. She was charming, clever sometime a little scary. I loved her.
Park Seo Joon character was well written. Because of being the lead, it got more attention from the writer.
Choi Min Ho playing Soo Ho Rang. I felt so bad for him.
Do Ji Han cast as Ban Ryu Rang. Oh my god the last scene! That was brilliant!!!!!!
Jo Yoon Woo as dashing Yeo Wool Rang. And Kim Tae Hyung as Han Sung Rang all were pretty good. And pretty and cute. ^_^

The story line was slightly cliched. But the ending few episodes the story really took off. So that was good.
I was more interested in the 2nd couple, Ban Ryn and Soo Yeon than the lead couple. From the beginning their story was more fun and happening then the others. I love the last scene between them. A gold star just for that!

The bromance between Park-Park was really something to watch. Specially in the ending scene. Not going to spoil but that was/ is going to be the reason why they are going to be ship together even more now.

But I love the bromance between Soo-Ho and Ban-Ryu. They were so so funny and amazing. The perfect love and hate relationship that we all love.

I like the songs. They were catchy. 'Our Tears' by Hyolyn that is a beautiful, beautiful song. Even the male version which was by Park Seo Joon was kind of cool.

I'm probably not going to rewatch it any time soon. But maybe one day?

So in short watch this because you will love the beautiful faces in front of you. And a little bit of craziness that's in there.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Orange Days
3 people found this review helpful
by Elle
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Orange Days is a truly touching story. With Tsumabuki Satoshi and Shibasaki Kou as the leads, their performances will not disappoint. Shibasaki's character is so raw throughout the series. The drama does an absolutely amazing job at making the multiple conversations in sign language compelling and relatable. This drama also ties in the value of friends and how Shibasaki's friendships with the other four main characters help her to heal and go read more after her dreams. Mr. Children's "Sign" is Orange Days Ending Theme. It suits the drama very well. I highly recommend this drama, if you are looking for a sweet, slice of life drama about college life, friendship, finding you career path and chasing your dreams.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sassy Go Go
1 people found this review helpful
by aec
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I did not fly through this drama. I kind of took my time and watched it when I could, it was a good story overall. I think some part of it just frustrated me to no end. It was the whole story line with the best friend and no matter what she did it was like she was never punished or she never took responsibility for how horrible her actions were. I read more think her character just frustrated and angered me and I really wanted to see her suffer LOL. I guess I was just being petty about that character and her storyline. But I kind of feel like all the adults who did bad stuff did not really face any consequences in this drama. So it's okay to watch but please keep in mind some of the situations are very frustrating and they don't get taken care of in a way that is satisfactory, at least to me. The main characters are really cute together, although there is a little bit of second lead syndrome.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
49 Days
1 people found this review helpful
by Nyli
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This was more than decent overall. I have no comment on the background and how it was filmed. The acting was good in parts and not great in others. Some of the acting improved as the episodes went on however there were still moments when it could have been better. The plot was very interesting and intriguing and I liked the moral of the story. This show fell down in the end. read more Right when they were getting you with the emotion it just decided to insert useless information.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Good Morning Call
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I watched this religiously for a few weeks and then put it on hold. Not because it wasn't good - the acting was decent enough, the story line was OK but it didn't bring anything too new. The story follows two people who find themselves living together after a mix up with a landlady. It is basically just the story of them living together and the problems that brings and what happens. read more This mix up is basically the main problem and part to the drama.

I believe it was casted well for the characters they wanted to create. Personally, I dislike the I-have-no-feelings-but-I-am-attractive male characters, which is presumably the route they wanted to have Uehara have. To think about this, Shiraishi did well. It is a similar thing with the female lead, where the character is relatively over-the-top, but it is quite clear this was the aim so it is not a problem. If these are the sort of characters you enjoy to follow, then this drama is very much something you should watch. I know when I first watched this, I really enjoyed these sorts of characters.

The music was quite repetitive, but personally I do not believe overdone. It wasn't like most dramas where they have an overplayed sad song for all sad situations. This makes it quite good and bareable.

I don't believe it has a big rewatch value, but it I will certainly watch the sequel.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Producers
2 people found this review helpful
by Zoe
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I like how the drama linked back to the ideas of life and editing. Warning someone of a love confession? “Love needs a preview too.”
It’s amazing how many unreasonable people are in this show. It took me a while to warm up to this show but it did hook me by episode 4. This is such a strange show with strange characters. Even more strange than usual I would almost say. read more Everyone is so full of themselves and every single character talks about their non-existent coolness. They are all trying so hard to put on a good show for everyone (literally and metaphorically). It’s weird seeing the main characters throwing around their weight so much and their sense of entitlement. They are all concerned about what everyone else thinks. To fend off their insecurities they attack each other.

Ye Jin – female lead
“You’ll know once you start editing. When someone says something and there’s no response from the other person...then that means...you have to edit it.”

It’s always really great to see a woman in a male-dominated work force.
Ye Jin and Joon Mo are good friends. They tell each other everything and then they make fun of each other a lot too.

Seung Chan
Seung Chan is the only normal guy in this drama. He gets picked on but in a way that is so ridiculous, I still laugh anyway. He’s the kind of guy that apologises for everything but he’s pretty much never in the wrong really. He likes to follow the rules.
He has very subtle ways of showing his contempt or rebellious nature.
He has passive aggression to the limit.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Boys Over Flowers
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 3.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
This was the worst thing I've ever watched. Over-exaggerated acting, unbelievable plot, and unlikable main characters. The girl starts off assertive and cool but becomes this passive, weak doormat. Meanwhile the main guy is pretty much a stalker rapist and is really hard to forgive his early actions to root for their love. I can't believe this is held in such high regard. I only watched it because it was on Netflix, read more but I regret every minute I spent on it.

It is way more enjoyable if you view the whole thing as an IRL recreation of a Sims playthrough, down to the hair and gaudy interiors.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kiss Me
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I've seen so many Itazura na Kiss adaptations already but this one wasn't my favorite. I hated the fact that they changed some of the plot details yet I enjoyed that the main male lead showed more romantic interest than in other adaptations of this series. The actor did a nice job while playing their characters. Would recommend to watch for a Thai incorporated vibe~
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Full House
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 4.5
  • Story 2.0
  • Acting/Cast 4.0
  • Music 2.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Today, I'm going to share an undoubted but highly concealed fact with anybody who reads this review: This drama does not deserve all the hype it has gotten. It does not deserve to be such a top rated rom-com and it definitely does not deserve the glorious 8.7 rating that it is currently flaunting.

When I saw the first episode, I was immediately struck by the beauty of the main leads. In read more the start they gave us a few minutes of pure fan service, where Mike flaunts his abs and shows off his dance moves and I was like, dayum maybe I should have picked this drama up sooner- except all of those thoughts were completely incinerated twenty minutes in to the show. The perfect words to describe this drama would be something like: Boring. Dull. Extremely slow. Completely and utterly dead.

80% of the drama consists of filler episodes, where the characters are just staring off into space, lost in their own shit and the viewer is forced to awkwardly watch from the sidelines like an unwanted trespasser. There are so many pauses after which we just get one dead scene after another, that it felt like this was some sort of a documentary instead of an enjoyable tale.

I think they tried to fake depth by showing numerous angles of the character's "deep in thought" faces and playing shitty sentimental music in the background but it just appeared very simplistic and unnecessary. Sure, I'm shallow and I like watching pretty people but I also want to watch them actually "do" something and have a fucking character. If I wanted to ogle them pose, I'd go through a fashion catalog and save myself a lot of time in the process.

There is no character development at all and the characters lack individuality to the T. Who are Mike and Am as individuals? We don't have a fucking clue. There is no proper backstory that tells us about their personalities, they are just one of the many run of the mill knock offs that we see in every unoriginal romance story.

The rest 10% consisted of the characters having flashbacks of the same dull scenes that they showed us before. As if they really needed repetition to help make shit worse. Like, if you don't have new and good content, why waste money and time on making so many trash filled episodes in the first place?

The measly 10% left was the only mercy shown to the viewers, where they finally added some funny and cute moments but it was hardly enough to make up for the torturous 90%. A lot of people were gushing about the character's chemistry but to be honest, I don't really see it. If we cut out the hasty little pecks they pasted on each other's lips, their relationship would be perfectly like that of siblings. There are no proper, mature conversations between them, no sizzling passion, no sexual tension, no actual bond; they don't get to face and solve complications together and evolve as a couple, instead they just fight like little kids and then try to act cute. I mean, sure, they can get away with an "aww how adorable" once or twice but the whole thing becomes rather uninteresting when it's done so excessively.

I'm a sucker for romance but I want my dramas to be diverse and actually have a plot behind it. In Full House all I got was a two dimensional "love" story with no real adversities or impressive events. There's nothing memorable about this drama except that I'll always remember how much I yawned throughout. I couldn't form any sort of emotional attachment with the characters at all.

Mike was admittedly unlike the usual Alphas, he was a kind hearted boy; very caring and childish but not the sharpest tool in the shed. Besides the first shirtless scene, all of his dance moves and actions that were supposed to be "sexy" were just horribly cringey and gay. No problem with being gay at all, except when you're doing a role where you're supposed to play a guy who's straighter than a rod. Also, I wanted to punch him every time he cried because him crying didn't make sense at all. It was supposed to add emotion to the drama but it just looked force and irrelevant, considering he himself was the one doing mindless shit that was creating petty problems in the first place. Crying about it made no sense except to show what a confused and weak personality he had.

Am was a refreshing character though. She was strong, witty and she didn't let anyone boss her around, making her a refreshing change from the Asian heroines of the norm. The actress who plays her is the cutest creature I have ever seen and she did play her part (no matter how superficial) quite well. She was the only one really acting in this show and the sole reason why I even gave it a 4.5.

I literally do not know why I wasted 20 hours on this bullshit, considering it had no story-line, whatsoever. It did not live up to its glowing reputation at all except that I have to say that the widely talked about "ice-cream scene" was a little entertaining.

I recommend this for 12 year old pre-pubescent kids who blush at the thought of matching bracelets with their crush and not for viewers who actually want to see something of substance.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Pinocchio
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
It started good but it get worse. It sad becouse I had high expectations. Maybe I will try to watch it till the end some day again and I will appreciate it more...
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No