Sort by:
The Guardians
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I literally just took off half a point because Young Kwang smiled too many times. Until by the end, the impact of those smiles kind of lost steam. It just seemed a bit over the top for him to celebrate with that gorgeous smile everytime he advanced in his plan. Same with the evil kid. I just think they could have varied those facial expressions.

Otherwise, fantastic drama. Young Kwang did great read more with his adorable self. Perfect for the role. Everyone else did really great as well. I love the story, marathoned this in like 2 days just because I had some work to do in between. Probably could have got it in one.

Music was my favorite. And I am positive I will rewatch this several times over. Just a really great drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Suspicious Partner
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 1.0
  • Story 1.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
What a wasted opportunity for bromance and female friendship and a crazy, amnesiatic murderer.

Everything the writers promised, they ended up letting us down on. The romance was infuriating/incredibly boring. Instead of exploring the idea of friendship and betrayal and forgiveness, we just walked in a circle for 20 episodes. (I REFUSE TO SAY IT WAS 40 BECAUSE THIS NEW NUMBERING SYSTEM IS STUPID!!!!) And the one and only time I've actually read more been Excited to see amnesia in a drama (wait. it's not one of our leads who gets amnesia? it's...the murderer?! what a fascinating idea. yes please!)...it turned out to be basically a non plot-point. Why'd they even try to market the story around it if it was going to be that insignificant???

I hate this drama. I hate it with every fiber of my being. My actual rating is negative 100.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
All About Secrets
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
Really good show!! got me to stay up the entire night to watch it! really nice!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Perfect Match
0 people found this review helpful
by jia
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
This drama was very good in the beginning. I like the romance and cuteness in the drama but after the director dragged this drama a couple more episodes, it kind of started to get a little boring. This drama was suppose to end at 19 episodes but definitely watch this if you like cooking and comedy.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Suspicious Partner
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
I think that this drama had a lot going for it, but despite some really great things about it, it didn't quite do it for me.

I tried to start the show 3 times and each time something annoyed me in the story. Despite that, I kept watching to get to the good parts because of the high rankings the show received. I had a really hard time with the first 3-4 read more episodes. I found No Ji Wook and Eun Bong Hee's encounters to be rather awkward; not pleasant to watch at all. On top of that. I felt that there were way too many unlikable characters (evil killers, mean girls, cheating boyfriends, uncompromising DAs) and I didn't like the twist in which a girl suddenly became a suspect and there is literally nothing anybody saw or heard because of some ridiculous blackout. It was too unbelievable for me. However, it did eventually get to the good part.

The criminal part of this story that pertains to the serial killer is its best part. The plot twists are surprising and interesting and I can't believe how amazing Dong Ha was in his role. Hyun Soo was probably the most interesting villain I've seen so far. He was scary, creepy and intriguing at the same time. His interactions with the people around were always tense and made things more interesting. I mean, Dong Ha really stole the show here. I felt like I feared him but was also curious about him. Just when I felt like I knew everything there was to know about him, it turns out that I was wrong all along. This was one of the best stories like that out there. However, I can't get over how unrealistic the lawyers' jobs were portrayed. I mean, this show was more of a police drama than lawyer drama. This is not what lawyers do! This really annoyed me throughout the show.

I think that the weakest part of the show was the romance. It started off kind of promising, but it quickly became bland and boring. They kept moving around in circles and almost no interaction between the two was interesting. I couldn't really see Ji Wook and Bong Hee as love interests and I don't think that I particularly liked Bong Hee's character. It's not that I disliked her; she was just very lukewarm to me and I don't want to feel this way about the main character. I also didn't feel much chemistry between the actors. I wonder if it was the writing or Nam Ji Hyun's acting. I mean, after watching Healer I can't get satisfied with the level of chemistry that I saw in Suspicious Partner.
I really liked how the relationships between the lawyers and other people developed and how natural the progression was. I regret that I didn't feel like that about the main couple.

All in all, I'm glad that I watched this show but it didn't make it into my all time favorites.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love Me if You Dare
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
So my favourite genre is action/thriller with some gooey romance thrown into the mix. That's why I decided to watch this drama. Overall, I was left satisfied but there was just something missing in the experience for me.

The plot was pretty good. There were many twists and turns that kept you on the edge of your seat for the first half of the drama. However, they recycled the same pattern of read more events several times to the point where by the end it was quite predictable. That's why it is pretty fair to say that the first half of the drama is far superior to the second half of the drama. I don't want to say too much more about the plot, I don't want to reveal anything that would ruin the experience for those thinking about watching this drama, which by the way, you should. The plot is probably the strongest aspect of the drama as other aspects were quite disappointing which shows just how strong the plot was because it could stand by itself most of the time. However, the romance that was woven into this plot was a little lacklustre. Yes, they had super cute moments but what I want most from a thriller/ romance drama is the subtle intimacies. Like, holding hands, hugs, slight touches, glances, you know, all the kyeopta stuff. They did do some of these things but it was when they were alone and a full scene was dedicated to each romantic action. To be honest, these just felt like fillers as a break from the complicated plot. Less than half way into the drama, they were officially a couple which I thought would mean there would be more subtle romance throughout the rest of the drama. Sadly, that wasn't the case and they just continued with the short scenes of romance. Still cute, just a little lacking for me.

Characters were decent. The strongest character (development wise) was definitely Bo Jinyan. First I'll say WHAT AN AMAZING ACTOR!! Damn son you rocked the slightly psychopathic detective. Anyway, in the beginning he was very introverted due to his superior intelligence compared to others. His only close friend was Fu Ziyu (my fav character) who was pretty much his assistant. In the first half of the drama, you're in awe of Bo Jinyan's intelligence and love watching him slowly open up his heart to those around him when he gets close with Jian Yao. Though unfortunately, by the second half of the drama, we see less of Bo Jinyan doing his job and more watching the events unfold and then getting a brief explanation afterwards when everything is solved. The first time this happened, I didn't mind, it was pretty cool. But that gets old pretty quickly. Don't get me wrong, I loved his character. Watching him experience his first love was super adorable and he always looked so awesome when solving crimes.

The biggest disappointment for me was Jian Yao. In the beginning, she was smart, observant, independent and strong. Everything I love in a female lead. Then half way through the drama, she becomes the typical damsel in distress. We see less and less of her which I can understand to a point, but Bo Jinyan emphasised so much in the beginning that he needed her as his assistant. But it's like that point is completely forgotten and she just sits at home waiting for her man to return from war. WHY? She was so headstrong, I loved that, but no, she just sits at home longing for her man being of absolutely no help to anyone when she contributed SO MUCH IN THE BEGINNING. Sorry got a bit angry there but comE ON. Yeah anyway she was a huge disappointment, I expect a lot from the female leads, I hate it when they just go along with anything the male lead says. BE A STRONG INDEPENDENT WOMAN.

Anyway, FU ZIYU! MY FAV! He was so cute I loved him. Seeing his reactions to Bo Jinyan finally coming out of the dark isolated corner he closed himself off into was amazing. He looked so happy and proud of his friend. I love his relationship with Jian Yao as well, you can see how much he cares for her and that's always nice to see. No romance implied, just a genuine girl and guy friendship. GUYS AND GIRLS CAN BE FRIENDS PEOPLE.

Then there's Li Xunran. The childhood friend. BUT THE BEST SECOND LEAD EVER! HE COULD SEE THAT HIS FRIEND THAT HE WAS SECRETLY IN LOVE WITH WAS HAPPY WITH HER NEW MAN AND HE TOOK A STEP BACK AND LET HER CHASE THAT HAPPINESS! WHAT A GREAT GUY! Then suddenly he disappears for several episodes and you just sit and think for a second and you're like "Wait, where is he? What happened to him?". That's the same for Chen Mo, Bo Jinyan's pet tortoise. You'll see what I mean when you watch the drama. So random.
I won't mention the american actors since they were mainly to keep the plot moving forward, there wasn't really any character development for them. Though for an Asian drama which usually have terrible English actors, they weren't half bad.

Now for the villains. Not bad. We follow a chap called Xie Han who is you're typical psychopath. Eccentric, whispers when he talks, occasionally smashes things or yells to make you jump. Again, I don't want to reveal too much of the plot but basically whoever you think the main villain pulling all the strings is, it's not them lol. I will say though, I wish they spent more time with the main villain. When you watch the drama, you'll understand what I mean about this.

Wow ok this is a really long review, kudos to you if you're still reading lol, I'll wrap it up now.

OST. Nothing special. There was some cool rock music that played in the background whenever a new plot point was discovered. But that's all that was memorable for me.

Would I watch this drama again? Probably not. I did enjoy watching it and I would recommend it but unfortunately there was no consistency to the intrigue factor for the entirety of the drama to tempt me to watch it again. There were some great moments, but they were spread pretty thin in 24 episodes. Not enough butter for the toast sadly.

Overall, a good drama and a good watch. If you're like me and love thriller/action dramas then you should definitely watch this.

That's all for now, enjoy the show, bye lol.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Chinese Paladin 5
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Um drama muito bom. A atuação do segundo casal definitivamente salvou este drama. Joe Cheng desempenhou um papel excelente como Long You, sério, enigmático e respeitoso, dava para sentir na tela os seus sentimentos por Xiao Man. Quanto a Xiao Cai Qi ( Xiao Man) também foi brilhante. Carismática, alegre e apaixonada fez uma ótima atuação. Um par perfeito. Espero que aja uma continuação quanto a história deste secundo casal.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hapimari: Happy Marriage!?
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
For this was a OK drama and story, nothing else, its the basics rich and poor love story with a marriage contract in the mix with your usual jealousy, at some point its was already predictable but you stay rooting for the couple, nothing more nothing less just a bit boring.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Descendants of the Sun
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
The story is unique, and I can see why it is so popular internationally, besides the popularity of the two main casts. What surprised me, was the supporting casts Ji Won and Jin Goo. I was more touched by their love story than the main casts, it's just my opinion dont hate on me lol
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Uncontrollably Fond
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
Suzy's acting is okay but Woo Bin's amazing!

It's not the best melodrama, I must say, but it's not that bad either.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
OH MY GOSH! This drama is the best teen/school drama that I have ever watched, for now of course. There wasn't a dull episode because each episode is a bomb. I highly recommend this drama! Watch it, I swear it's worth it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Stay With Me
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
I dropped this drama, for the mean time, after watching it until episode 20. For the first 15 episodes, I was hooked by how the story was going, the love and hate relationship between Yi Du and Wei Wei and the unrequited love of Huo Xiao. But soon after, I only felt like the need to finish it since I started it. I have this habit of finishing the show just because read more I started it, but in this drama, I just can't continue it anymore.

REASONS:
1. The love and hate relationship of the main casts, it's too much.
2. The slow paced storyline
3. Too many happenings that just make my head hurt.
4. SECOND LEAD SYNDROME, I JUST CAN'T ANYMORE WITH THIS BECAUSE HUOXIAO IS JUST TOO KIND AND HE DOESN'T DESERVE TO BE TREATED LIKE THAT.

Anyway. I still like Joe Chen.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Fated to Love You
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 4.5
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I already watched this years ago and as far as I can remember, I liked it. But I think the original version (Taiwan) is still better. Overall, it is still worth the try.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
So here's the thing, the story is typical and the ending is predictable. But there is something in this drama that'll make you watch and crave for more. The 40 mins per episode is kind of short compared to other dramas but it would make you crave for more and that's a good thing, in my opinion.

The actors are great. I like how the story is very light, perfect when you read more just want to chill after a long day from school or work. There's also this tingly sensation caused by the protagonists that would make you want to go into a relationship as soon as possible.

Overall, it's a good drama to watch. Try it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Second to Last Love
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This seems like a kind of hybrid between rom-com and family drama. It's refreshing that the main romance/story line is about a couple in their forties, which is a nice break from all the 20-something and 30-something romance dramas. Kim Hee Ae plays Kang Min Joo, a successful television producer, and Ji Jin Hee plays Ko Sang Shik, a safety minded civil servant. Sparks fly when the two of them clash. The read more extended cast in this drama is delightful and really flesh it out. Unfortunately, the pacing is tedious. I really did like the story, but there were far too many 'if you people would just take five minutes to /talk/ to each other' frustrating moments. It took me almost a full year to watch the show, because the pacing was just so off. Which is really unfortunate, because like I said, the cast was superb.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions