Sort by:
Ode to Joy 2
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Story: 4 girls & 1 woman still growing up and out of life and relationships. This season was all about character development of the 22nd floor residents. Some regressed yet development by the end.

Acting/Casting: The entire cast is fitting and comfortable with roles, storyline and each other, something rarely viewed.

Music: Never paid any attention
RW: The beginning of S2 with Bao aggressive courting. Watching & listening to his voice was read more mesmerizing - what took Andi so long?

Overall: For many, book 2 are primarily developmental portion of story - character of the trilogy, this followed suit. Many parts were simply nerve racking and silly. However knowing this is the bridge to S3, I will give space and reserve judgement. S3 has a heavy load to carry on putting closure to the many open ends.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Something About 1 Percent
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This drama was cute from episode 01 till 16, and I loved it. I actually marathon it in a weekend, and could't stop once I start watching it. Didn't knew it was a remake, but for me it was perfect, and that's to say a lot since I watched it out of boredom, and because I didn't have anything else to watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Flower Boy Ramen Shop
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
Great light, funny, easy to watch show.

I'm not a person who laughs a lot, but this did have many moments that made me smirk (internally, but hey).

It's nice to know I can always pay a visit to the Flower Boy Ramyun Shop and just relax.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Who Are You: School 2015
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
This started out very strong, made me cry multiple times during the first episodes - but late into the series it felt a bit draggy. There's many things that weren't relevant overall, had they cut it a bit and made it maybe 2 episodes shorter, it would have been perfect. The story felt very confusing at first, but once you settled it it was quite enjoyable.

As for the acting, I was read more very disappointed in Kim So Hyun (Eun Bi/Eun Byul) - she was stiff and in my opinion didn't carry over emotions at all. Everyone else did a good job.

The music ... I don't ever want to hear the 'Reset' song again, wasn't my cup of tea and I hit mute everytime it came up.

I'd recommend this to people who like High School dramas, the mystery plot was too weak to be really important.

Also, while this was a great first watch, I don't think it's something I'll touch again until many years later.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Heirs
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 2.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
To make this short:
Yes, the story is cliche - but it's done so well that I can't give anything but a ten.
The acting is superb throughout - it's funny at times, gripping at others.
The only thing I really disliked was the music ...
This is a hit or miss, if you're not into it after two episodes, skip it - personally, I still recommend it and never heard a read more complaint from friends.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
1 Litre of Tears
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
One of my all time favorite shows - even after watching it six times over the years, each time with different people, it stays just as charming and sad as the first time and no eyes stayed dry.

The acting was marvelous, and the music fit perfectly.

No matter what genre you like - give this a watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Only Love Song
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
i really really loved this drama it gave me drama fever for 4 days straight the plot and story fit together perfectly but i think the drama needed more than 20 episodes to express the true means of it. i also have to be completely honest i really don't think that gong seung yeon really portrayed the character song soo jung that well she didn't seem to have that bad rich girl read more feel i expected but lee jong hyun did ondal perfectly he espressed how money was just a hobby to get over his mother that was sold to people

i really didn't pay attendion to the music but hey the drama is called my only love song so yeah there should be good music am i right?.

princess pyung gang and moo myung were a couple you could tell from a start that they were going to fall in love as moo myung had great care and loyalty for her and he would always do what she said but from the start moo myung fell for her first but he couldn't understand his feelings for her which left the romance complicated but over alll

this drama was GOOD THANKS FOR READING MY REVIEW
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
God's Gift - 14 Days
0 people found this review helpful
by Zoe
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
“Do you know Ahjumma? In the end you and I, we changed fate.”

The start of this drama is quite dark but by episode three it starts getting into the swing of things.
The story gripped me and I really wanted to see what would happen with the scenario.
You wouldn’t think that a show like this could be fun, but at times it was.
It’s a bit repetitive with Soo Hyun read more losing her shit over and over again and just going into a panic and not thinking except in mother mode. Her character isn’t bad though. When she’s not flailing around, or even when she is, she does know how to use her brains and can act fast. She gets into a few fights and has to go tooth and nail to survive but she can wiggle her way out of a mess.
Not surprising, there are three men in Soo Hyun’s life who are protecting her in some capacity. And who are ready to fight for her in their own spheres.
The other annoying thing is that whenever a revelation is about to be revealed they get interrupted. That is such a lame plot device.
I liked seeing Soo Hyun’s attitude towards Young Gyu change.
The show gets intense towards the end.

Dong Chan

There is no romance but you can see the way Dong Chan feels about his Ahjumma. He never says her name, I don’t think.

“You’re wild just like your mother.”

Dong Chan is as nice guy. I like how tough as nails he’s supposed to be. And then he disguises his kindness in his rough way by saying sarcastic things but he makes it so much more cheery.
I love how natural singing is in Korean dramas. Dong Chan’s singing was definitely a highlight.
I liked seeing a bit of conflict between older and steady characters. There’s a really intense scene when Dong Chan intervenes between Soo Hyun and her husband and you can see the complexity of the situation.

A bit sad to see the beautiful Kim Yu Bi acting like a brat. But she also has an overgenerous spirit that can be charming when it’s not grating.
She fights with her mother a lot, but mainly because she’s afraid and in awe of her.

“I also want to become a person like you.”

It was really interesting to see Ji Hoon’s parenting contrasted and compared to Soo Hyun’s throughout the drama. Initially, he is obviously not in a panic and he doesn’t suffer over worry of his daughter because he has no idea. He is also the “good cop” when it comes to parenting. But things change.

It’s also fascinating to see how Soo Hyun comes to distrust her husband and trust Dong Chang. Even as Dong Chan is calling her ahjummah, he’s the one that can so naturally hold her and be her support.

The ending? Mind blowing.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Unubore Deka
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Funny drama imo. Great if you are a fan of Tomoya Nagase. Supporting cast is amazing as well, even the guests stars are funny.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Boss, My Hero
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Rough around the edges but if you are a fan of either Gakki or Tomoya Nagase, this is a fun show.

Very funny at times and Tomoya Nagase has great knack for comedy.

Also, one of the few dramas with Gakki in a high school uniform. Rest of the cast is okay.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Defendant
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Defendant for me was this year's most anticipated drama. I remember that while it was airing and everybody was talking about it, I used to look at it with greedy eyes everyday. I wanted to watch it so bad but at the same time, I knew that in order to enjoy it fully I needed to wait for completion. I'm glad I waited 'cause I truly can't comprehend how I would have read more withstood the torture that this show's cliffhangers inflicted upon the poor watchers.

If you're like me and you've watched your fair share of crime dramas you won't find the premise of this show exactly unique. You'll be able to guess most of the plot twists (if not all) and see a lot of things coming beforehand. Defendant comes with it's flaws. There are a lot of convenient coincidences that aid both our good guys and the baddies. Sharp tools just happen to be lying around jail cells just waiting to be used by the inmates, a circuit somehow just happens to break resulting in a power black out whenever it is needed, a very useful recording device disguised as a pen just happens to travel around wringing confessions from the evil doers left and right and our antagonist somehow conveniently transforms from an up to no good loser to an identity stealing mastermind overnight.
How very interesting.

However, with its slightly rocky plot comes a masterful execution. Even though you know what's going to happen, when it actually happens it feels like a completely new and exciting experience. Our good guys seem to be trapped in their own version of real life flappy bird. It's one step forward from the abyss of doom and twenty steps backwards. So when convenient coincidences happen to rule things in their favor, I'd be damned if I have a problem with it.

This is the kind of show that banks on the watcher's heart rather than the mind. It will make you blinded with emotion and leave all logic behind. But the real reason this show is a hit is the excellent acting put out by all the actors.

Ji Sung as always is phenomenal. From Secret to Kill Me Heal Me and finally to Defendant, you can see his acting evolve and grow more powerful. He's an extremely skilled performer and many a times I suffered through a serious case of gooseflesh while watching him. By the middle of this show I was completely invested, horribly torn apart and crossing my fingers for him to turn the tables on all the assholes that had done him wrong.

Usually in melodramas, when you see the main character go through tragedy after tragedy, it turns from heartbreaking to frustrating real quick. Soon you go from wanting to wipe the hero's tears to slapping his mouth shut and putting an end to the sob fest. However, Ji Sung got me every time. His pain, helplessness and tears always made me wail like a baby. I didn't realize I was rocking so much H2O in my body until it came out gushing from my peepers. I think I felt quite a lot dehydrated after finishing this show.

Uhm Ki-Joon with his Cha Min Ho put out the acting of his life. He's heartless, ruthless, evil without a cause and at last, pitiful. He's probably one of the best antagonists of Dramaland and undoubtedly one of the most hated characters. His impulsive acts of violence leave you shaking with fury and you'll find yourself thirsty for his demise.
A lot of people thought that his situation was a little unrealistic but as a daughter of a detective, I can say that I've seen many real life cases where the criminals start with seemingly minor and thoughtless crimes and commit far worse atrocities to cover it up. In Cha Min Ho's case, he sticks to it to the very end. His bag of tricks is endless and you never find a peaceful moment with him.

Even though this show truly focuses on the two main men, some other characters will weasel their way in your heart and take permanent residence. These were the characters that I wanted to hide in my back pocket and protect from all the cruelty of the world. And even though my wishful thinking did not save all of them, I treasured every moment they were on-screen.
My precious and loyal Seong Kyu, my shady but hilarious Optimus Shin Cheol Sik, Prosecuter Choi Tae Hong who never once lost faith, Jeong Woo's merry band of prison inmates and the resilient Seo Eun Hye all brought their own flavor to the show.

This drama has a deep underlying message about how family makes or breaks you. How people are willing to go to every length to save their loved ones and how it's never too late for justice. With an extremely satisfying ending; giving closure to all the characters and answer to your every question, Defendant takes a spot among dramas that are consistently amazing from start to finish.

A dark and gritty suspense drama that comes with its share of heartbreak.

An absolute must-watch
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ode to Joy 2
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Story:
The second season of Ode to Joy sees the characters more developed and set in their life. Some characters return with an existing relationship, while others were ended or didn't have one. Family plays a more prominent role as the relationships with the girls and their partners become more serious.

Andie comes into Season 2 from a fresh breakup. She gets over her previous boyfriend and begins dating Bao Yi Fan read more who had a minor appearance in Season 1. Season 2 mainly revolves around her relationship with him. My biggest gripe was the the plot between or involving family. It took the characters to a point where I no longer felt immersed in their world. The best takeaway from Andie's storyline comes from her development as a character. By the end of season 2, you get the sense that she's developed into this wonderful well rounded woman.

Ying Ying starts off with the continuation of her budding romance with Ying Qin. Things seem to go really well until it hit their down point. There was nothing particularly wrong with the plot however the issue was in character development. Ying Ying does a complete 180 and regresses to her season 1 incarnation. The final result of her journey that puts that 180 into perspective is fine, but as a viewer, it wasn't pleasant to see the same mistakes from last season repeated.

Unlike the rest of the girls, Guan Guan did not have a boyfriend but she was secretly pining for one of the character's existing boyfriends. One of the unique and high points about Guan Guan's storyline is her development as a character. She begins as a naive young career woman who doesn't know anything about relationships to realizing the complexities of life. Her eventual romance with Xie Tong was the high point out of all the girl's relationships.

Qu Xiao Xiao, the character that you love to hate ends up as the character you can't help but love. Her relationship with Zhao Qi Ping goes through it's ups and downs but further solidifies them. The story with her family takes a darker tone however it was solidly executed. It felt realistic but fictional. Overall, I think that Qu Xiao Xiao's storyline was one of the highest in quality.

Finally we get to Fan Sheng Mei. Sheng Mei continues her relationship from the previous season with Wang Bai Chuan. Apart from all the other girls, Sheng Mei takes the most traditional and practical approach. Sheng Mei is put under considerable pressure & as a result, she places her pressure onto others. The resolution of events brings a realization of her character flaws but also brings forth her inner strength.

Acting:
The breakout star this season was Jiang Xin as Fan Sheng Mei. She played a multi-faceted role where she had to present a strong confident front for the ladies of the 22nd floor while on the inside, she was a very vulnerable person. Jiang Xin did a wonderful job showing so many sides to Sheng Mei and making me immersed in her world. I also loved that her character broke the 4th wall a few times which added to the realism.

Wang Zi Wen as Qu Xiao Xiao brings a notable performance. She takes her character from quirky, fun, to being condescending, and ultimately bring her to a point where Xiao Xiao is level with the other characters.

I did not particularly like Yang Zi's performance as Qiu Ying Ying but I don't blame that on her, the actress, rather, the material she had to work with wasn't good. Qiao Xin did an wonderful job as Guan Guan. She is just so lovable from start to finish. In my opinion, Liu Tao was kind of held back by the material but it doesn't detract from her as an actress. I liked that we saw the spontaneous & lighthearted side towards the end.

One more performance I want to take note of is Yang Shuo as Bao Yi Fan. In season 1, he was this suave, charismatic guy and his acting reflects that. In season 2, as we got to see more situations unravel, the less range that we didn't get in his acting.

Music:
As I watch more and more drama, I notice that lots of tracks are reused. Ode to Joy Season 2 is no exception. I liked the music, but I just didn't like the replays. Most notably with the vocal tracks. The incidental music was fine and I think it suited the scenarios it played in.

Conclusion:
Ode to Joy season 2 is a rollercoaster ride filled with ups and downs. The ladies are as lovable as ever. Their journeys take me as a viewer into the world of 5 ladies living in Shanghai. I think that there was a perceptible drop in quality compared to Season 1 but it's nothing that cannot be fixed if there is a season 3. If they left it as it is, I'd be happy with it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Cruel Romance
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.5
  • Music 5.5
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
Regret. That's what I felt after wasting more than 3 precious days of my life binge watching this hot mess.

But if you asked me how I felt, say, 28 episodes or so in, I would've gushed loudly and happily, rambling on about the great chemistry, suspenseful story and amazing atmosphere. Sure, I would've admitted to plot holes and glaringly obvious breaks of logic, but my love for the passionate romance would read more have made me gladly overlook the negatives.

What went wrong, then? What made me go from giving this show a solid 7.5 (or even an 8) to giving a measly 5 (which I have given very reluctantly, considering how I actually want to give it a 4)?

To start off, I'll say this: The female lead is utter bullcrap. I have never, in ANY of the dramas I've watched, seen such a fickle, pushy, entitled and naive female lead- she's about as frail and intelligent as a dandelion. There is a limit to how dumb you can be, but this heroine surprises me every time. I can't say anything without spoiling the show for you (if, you know, you're still adamant to watch the show), but she acts VERY immature and heartless sometimes.

She's beauty,
She's grace,
She's a COMPLETE waste of space.

The male lead is dense. There's no other way of saying it. He constantly pushes around the female lead, directly or indirectly dictating her life and clings like a vine. I get it, you like her (for reasons beyond my understanding), but, sheesh, get yourself under control, man. But I'd take him over her moody ass any day; he was at least likeable.

But despite the problems I had with the characters, the story was engaging. It made me stay up till 3:30 in the morning on weekdays, desperately trying to find out what happened next...

...which is probably what made the shit that went down after (maybe) the 30th episode feel almost like betrayal.

*SPOILERS AHEAD*

The heroine chooses, CHOOSES, to believe some random seedy looking dude she just met over the male lead (who she, by this time, already hooked up with and has his bun in her oven) that he killed her parents. She doesn't bother to confirm what she heard or to even ASK the male lead on if it's true or not. No, she just packs up and LEAVES.

And then, through some miracle of god, somehow ends up joining a group of rebels whose aim is to drive away the Japanese from Shanghai (and possibly, China). Yes, this chick, who has never held a gun in her life, got magically chosen to train with an elite group of rebels, who just happen to have the support of high-ranking officials in Shanghai, such as our male lead. Not only her, even the pissy and spoilt second male lead who just smells of bad decisions manages to snag a top spot with the group.

But maybe she's actually good? Maybe she actually learned some moves? WRONG! In the first fight we see her participate in, she comes in an expensive coat, loose hair and heels. HEELS! Not even practical block heels, but freaking 3-4 inch pencil heels!

Alas, somehow, I'm not even surprised at this point.



Final thoughts: Skip. Escape. This should go to the dustbin of Chinese drama history, where it should never rear it's pitiful head again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Suspicious Partner
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I started watching this drama thinking that it would be another romantic comedy drama.Cast: Ji Chang Wook and Nam Ji Hyun.Although I've seen Ji Chang Wook before (and he is an amazing actor),this was my first time watching Nam Ji Hyun (Eun Bong Hee),Choi Tae Joon(Ji Eun Hyuk).The supporting leads too have acted well.

I started with the first episode and it was good.I thought of continuing further (ofcourse because of Ji read more Chang Wook).And then....last few minutes of episode 2 and it turns out that this is a thriller-suspense drama! (haha I hadn't seen the teaser or the trailer before selecting this drama )Also,tbh, I love mystery-suspense-thriller dramas and the fact that I wasn't expecting this one to be a thriller-suspense drama was even more awesome! That's when I decided that I just had to continue with this drama!

Since Episode 3 till now,this drama is just awesome! The story is great! The actors have played their roles well .I like Ji Wook & Eun-Hyuk bromance (lol) and ofcourse the chemistry between the main leads (Ji Wook and Eun Bong Hee.) :D So I'd like others to watch this drama while it's airing(although it's a suspense drama,the more you wait,the more exciting it is to watch the new episode.Btw there are 2 episodes every week so YAY! although they are 30 mins each;so that would be an hour altogether).
Finally,I am hoping for more suspense as there are almost 14 episodes more to go.
And I hope for a happy ending. Overall:9.5/10
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Suspicious Partner
0 people found this review helpful
by Tata
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I love this drama!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Recent Discussions