Sort by:
Seirei no Moribito
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
2 days ago
2 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Behold! A wonderfully filmed piece of art! Watch as a talented bodyguard takes on her most challenging job yet... I was sucked into this story from the very first scene and that wonderful opening music...

Story (9.0):
I found that the setting for this story was really intriguing, despite some, in my opinion, overly weirdly portrayed elements, and this is coming from someone who neither saw the anime or read any form read more of the books, so I'm crediting this merely from its own merits.
For a four episode season, it would be hard to get bogged down and there is no way you'll find this season even slightly boring.
All the action scenes with Balsa and her spear were very rewarding, and the last episode especially made her look very awesome! :D
Throughout the show, you were able to see as characters progressed and grew and saw the rewards of their labors and the results of hard work. I felt some of the characters were barely fleshed out at all, but I'm sure we'll see more of them in the second season, since this was just 4 episodes anyway. Keep in mind though, our main characters are by no means 2-dimensional.

Acting/Cast (9.0):
Most of the acting was good.
I'd only ever seen Ayase (Balsa) in a feature film where she had a much different character and I wasn't very impressed with the movie, but she really pulls this off and I found her acting to be mostly very impeccable.

Music (10.0):
An incredible soundtrack! From the moment that opening piece played, I was in love with the music. I would call it orchestral with Asian elements throw in, which is definitely right up my alley. I have this soundtrack on my phone and it is my most listened to Asian drama OST, with many of the tracks being in my all time favorites. I'd rank some of the tracks equal with pieces by John Williams, Ennio Morricone and Hans Zimmer. In fact, track 8 (of the top of my head) transports me right into Zimmer's score for Interstellar. I'd watch this whole thing again just for the music.

Rewatch Value (8.0):
I really am not a rewatcher, as I've stated in some of my other review. I only watch productions more than once if I really, really, enjoyed them or if plenty of time has passed. I really enjoyed this, but it wasn't per se an all time favorite; that being said, I can definitely see myself rewatching this in a few months.

Overall (9.0):
Highly Recommended! Be prepared for some awesome fighting scenes, some weird looking creatures, a vibrant world, real characters, unrealistic Kings, more awesome fighting, an amaaazing soundtrack... Oh and there might be a minor cliffhanger, but it's okay because it's not the main story of this season... However, it will still have you rushing to season 2!
P.S. I found some of the cinematography a bit... questionable, but it doesn't detract and certainly has it's own place I guess...
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Strong Woman Do Bong Soon
0 people found this review helpful
by Jenn
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Oh gosh this drama was such a delight to watch, especially during the point of the school year where I feel absolutely no motivation to do any work, ahaha. This drama gave me SO MANY FREAKING FEELS, MADE ME CRY MORE THAN I SHOULD'VE, MADE ME SQUEAL AND SCREAM and it just had everything a great drama should! Our main OTP had great chemistry and all the characters were so unique and read more made the story so different, whether they were bringing suspense, humour or their handsome looks lol.

I will admit that sometimes it felt like it took way to long for the plot to get somewhere, but I didn't mind to be honest. Unless you're really picky, I don't think you would notice this flaw.

The acting was top-notch and spot on. I don't think Park Bo Young could've done a better job as the protagonist than she already did. I was so satisfied with everyone's performance and their acting capabilities. Sometimes it went so bizarre and crazy but they played it off with their characters really well. I do wish, however, that certain characters would have more development or back story to them, particularly the brother and Gook Du's girlfriend.

The music I CANNOT DESCRIBE HOW CATCHY ALL THE SONGS ARE and the enhanced the scenes so well. I've been listening to the OST on repeat for days and haven't gotten sick of the songs yet, surprisingly.

I'm not one for rematching dramas, but I'll definitely be binge-watching FMVs on YouTube for the next few months or until my withdrawal goes away!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Miracle
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
From the plot I thought this was going to be a good drama... Well... not so sure.
I don't really know where to put this, in like a good, or bad, because there are things that I liked but they fell short and I wish they would've given it more story to it. Okay, so the love story lines, didn't turn out. They left you: "Could you make this happen?" So, don't read more expect romance like you think. There is also the story of loving yourself like you are, but for me they should've talked about this more in-depth.

Why I gave it a 6? Because I wished for the relationship between Kwon Shi Yeon and Han Gyeo Seok to turn into more than enemies. For me, they had chemistry and would have been better if they happened. But is okay, in my mind they did (heheheh). To put it simple, you can really just skip this drama. But, if you really want to see it, then watch it when you are really, really, really bored. The story was there, they just need it to develop it more, or better. If you are looking for a drama that has the same topic as this one, then watch: Queen of Ruby.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Shokojo Seira
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Well, if you didn't know, this is a Japanese drama take on A Little Princess...
So, if you've read the book and watched a movie adaptation, as I have, you could originally be very excited.
I'm not saying this was a let down in any way, because I watched the whole thing and I have never finished a show I didn't like in most ways. Then again...
Well, let's just break it read more down.

Story (8.0):
If you've heard the A Little Princess story, you probably have a good idea of where the storyline is going. However, you will need to first off reconcile the age difference from the original story.
And then once you've done that, you might think, ah this will lead to some amazing Cinderella like romance, what with the older protagonist.
In a way you might be right; there's a wee bit of romance sprinkled in here. But, you might also be a little disappointed with her Prince Charming.
However! One of the reasons I'm rating this section as high as it is, is kind of because he's no perfect prince, and because of some the realism and other issues this show touches on that I really didn't expect.
For instance, the two you might think will have a budding romance, are at first not very close, but then become friends that will suddenly shout at each other with repressed agony of heart. And I liked it.
Another part I did not expect was when our protagonist made a faulty judgement against someone who's been bullying her and she gets called out on it by her friends.
Overall, I wasn't sure exactly how to rate this because it followed the original story enough that I mostly knew what was coming, but it was fit pretty well into 10 episodes and I don't remember any dragging or the like.

Acting/Cast (7.0):
Nothing amazing, but I didn't really find any of the acting very repulsive beyond maybe that one teacher... However, that was also an aspect of her specific part.

Music (10.0):
Le Gasp! 10? For real?
Maybe you don't think so, but the reason I liked this show from the very get-go was because of the main theme that started hardly a minute into the drama. I'm a person who really enjoys the more traditional, orchestral soundtracks and to really enjoy a piece I need to have a very distinctive and memorable melody. And the main theme really hit the spot! I loved it and I still listen to it now and again. To be honest, it's been long enough I couldn't tell you about the rest of the music, but this theme is still one of my top 5 in all the dramas I've seen.

Rewatch Value (5.0):
I haven't rewatched it, nor do I plan on rewatching it, but I'm also not known for rewatching anything unless I really, really loved it. So perhaps other might find this more rewatchable?

Overall (7.5):
I enjoyed the story, loved the music, and didn't find the actors or acting repulsive, so it's pretty good! :D Another plus, it's pretty short and was a quick and very enjoyable watch. Recommended!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
So first of all, I think this drama is really overrated. I really liked it but the drama got some flaws that are hard to just overlook.

Story:
I liked the story. It was actually pretty interesting and different in a way. Some would say that the age gap between the 2 main character is hard to overlook but it was okay for me. What I mean is I wasn't really paying read more attention to that part as the drama is based around something fictional, the age gap is just a part of that. I like the relation between the two main characters but also with the second couple. The bromance was also a very good part of that drama. I just wish Deok Hwa played a bigger part of the drama. Usually, there are some characters that I don't like in a drama, like a big villain but I just liked every characters here. And also, I enjoyed everything regarding the Grim Reapers organization and especially the Grim Reaper (Lee Dong Wook).

Acting/Cast:
They all did a great job and I think they all suited their role. Gong Yu as always is a very good actor. I was also very surprised by Lee Dong Wook, if was just perfect as the Grim Reaper. Also, Kim Go Eun is a good actress (that I saw in Cheese in the Trap before) but rather than feeling sad with her when she cried (near the end) I was just impressed. I usually don't like the cryings in dramas also so seeing Lee Dong Wook always with teary eyes/crying was kind of hard for me but he did a good job! I also often find the main female lead annoying but she was okay.

Music:
I think Goblin wouldn't have been that great without this OST. Seriously, the music in the drama was just perfect. All the songs were just beautiful. If the music wasn't that good, I think I would have rated the drama 7.5 instead of 8.5.

Rewatch value:
I would probably not rewatch it, or I would skip some parts. The episodes are unnecessarily long.

So why do I think Goblin is overrated?
- There are tons of flashbacks and they are ALWAYS the SAME!!! That was SOOOO annoying! I hate when they do that in dramas. Like they would put the same flashback twice in the same episode and in almost episode... And for what? We didn't forget that happened so why? This is why the episodes are long but it is just long of flashback I think... It could have been maybe 10 minutes shorter if it wasn't for that...
- Then, that wouldn't really affect the rating but it kind of annoyed me to some point.. The product placement here it just too strong. So we can see it everywhere and in every drama but usually it's more subtle than that. They were literally saying: eat SUBWAY and your life will be better. (or something like that). I understand that they needed money to have that good quality in the scenes but come on...
- Then I feel like the story/plot could have been better used... It is kind of a waste of the characters I think. And I wanted to know more about the deities.

So yeah, I'm happy I watched it but I wished the realization of the drama and the use of the characters would have been better handled. When I finished the drama I had a bitter feeling. I enjoyed it and really liked it but I felt like the potential was a bit wasted. So I think there are many more stuff to talk about regarding that drama but I'll just stop here :)

Anyways, Goblin is a drama that need to be seen ! :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
STORY: The details cover it well but there's no real GL to speak of in this, it's BL. Basically, the main straight couple's relationship is threatened because the guy likes another guy. Ah, another straight guy turned gay while dating a straight girl. This show tries to pass this off with the line: "There is no right or wrong in love." Cheating is bad; don't care the reason.

ACTING/CAST: They performed well, read more and could summon big tears when needed.

MUSIC: Standard.

REWATCH VALUE: I saw an English-dubbed but the video quality was horrendous and I didn't care for this story, so no. Moving on.

OVERALL: Straight guy turned gay and cheating on his GF; if this appeals to you...
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Blessed for being cute and strong at the same time ~ Do Bong Soon

Both first and second male lead give me feels like I have Princess Syndrome (lol!)

**Not everyone chose their first love til the end, as love have timing**

_DOUBLETROUBLECOUPLE_ _SUPERPOWERGIRL_ _HEARTBEAT_ _BECAUSEOFYOU_ _AMIINLOVE_ _PITAPAT_ _WONDER_ _YOU'REMYGARDEN_
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Till Death Tear Us Apart
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 4.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I finished watching and I must say.. WOW.
It´s a really good series, you have to watch it. It has action and everything, and i love dramas that are in ancient times. The are good actors, and the plot is just awesome. They have a good friendship but they are both in different groups so it can´t be. But they are together for as long as possible.
I really loved the series read more so you should watch it, it´s a really storyand my fav episode is episode 6, I mean just. wow! I loved that episode so much. the last episode was a little confusing for me (how it ended) but I really hope there will be a sequel so I know what will happen because It´s a really good series.
I recommend that you at least begin watching it and see if it´s to your liking :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Algernon ni Hanataba o
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 3.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I think "Flowers for Algernon" is REALLY worth watching. I love the acting, especially the main character Yamashita Tomohisa. He is a really good actor and I love how he managed to do the role so GOOD. I think the plot is very good, It´s about how he wants to become smarter but he can´t because of his condition. I love the way the main character is so peaceful and wants to read more make friends with everyone and is so innocent.
There are of course complications and REALLY good stuff happening in every episode that made me wanna finish the series in one day. I really wish there would be a second season or an extra episode to see what happens next, it ended pretty good but I want to know what happens next. I love when the main character gets hurt (which happens in most films) because I love to see others reaction to it. Well, there is of course betrayal in the movie and friendship and of course love.
The thing I didn´t like was the part where he fell in love, but that´s just my opinion. I don´t like when the main character falls in love, It kind of makes the series less interesting for me. But it´s still SOOO worth watching!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
I personally like this drama because it's heartwarming and light yet it shows the struggles of the youth in their 20s. It was able to depict the uncertainties and troubles that young people go through. It lightly touched heavy issues and addressed them properly. Maybe because it's a college drama that it shows the brighter side of things even through difficulties. I also like how the characters resolve the issues immediately instead read more of the usual kdrama complications which just drag the drama. Sung Kyung and Joo Hyuk have always had a strong chemistry since they were models and their closeness can be seen. The supporting characters were played out by the cast well. I like how all the characters rely on one another. I didn't expect Joo Hyuk to do good in terms of acting but he surprised me especially in the scene wherein he cried. Even his gestures and eyes were acting. I'll definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a lighthearted drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Eternal Love
1 people found this review helpful
by Subi
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I would just like to first state that give this drama a try, you will not regret it one bit!!

I rarely watch Chinese dramas, but when I do they blow me away! I watched Niravana on Fire and had little expectation that this would be in par with it. Eternal love surpassed all my expectations. Ye Hua, Ye Hua.. Ye Hua he is the character of my dreams! Mark Chao made read more the magical drama, more magical with his portrayal! No matter how many adaptations this story will have, only Mark Chao will resonate in my mind as Ye Hua.

The love story between Ye Hua and Bai Qian is soul soothing. Watching them fall in love, again and again will bring shivers down your spine and make to chant Ye Hua name as you sleep. There were other love stories in this, but I could never really focus on their love. I just craved for more Ye Hua and Bai Qian.

The only problem I had was, it started of quite slow and picked up pace at around ep 6-7 I think. Thus you have to be patient and reep the rewards later.

I guarantee that whoever you may be, will fall in love with Ye Hua and this tale forever, like I did.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Signal
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I've always loved murder mysteries and crime dramas but to date, I haven't been able to find an asian crime drama series exciting, which is ironic since I love many animated* detective series specifically those from Japan such as Detective Conan, Files of Kindaichi, etc. For live action, I tried watching The Snow White Murder Case movie (Japan), the Galileo series (Japan) and Talvar (India). Unfortunately, while they had some interesting parts read more here and there, they turned out to be boring overall, with disappointing characterizations, misplaced drama and dragging plotlines. Thankfully, Signal broke the trend and I now see an exciting new world of asian crime drama to explore :D

Signal may not be the best murder mystery series but it is certainly one of my favorites. What's more, it manages to add a supernatural element where characters from the past and present communicate to solve crimes, which gives things a unique twist. I undersand this sort of thing has been done before (see Hollywood movie "Frequency") but Signal ups the ante, makes the theme all its own and gives it a Korean flavor that I can't help but applaud the writer for putting it all together.

The experience is like watching a crime drama, with mystery after mystery being solved by veteran detective Cho So Yun (refreshingly strong but vulnerable- can't help but compare her with the inefficient female counterpart from Galileo) and profiler Park Hae Young, with the help of a character from the past - detective Lee Jae Han (who is now one of my favorite kdrama characters); the result is fun, exciting and a bit tragic.

The series does a good job of letting you know when the scenes are from modern time vs. past time and the scenes from the late 80's and early 90's looked genuine and authentic. I wouldn't say that Signal is a scary show, but it certainly had its fair share of atmospheric, eerie moments. All the characters had good chemistry and I liked every member working in the 'unresolved cases' crime unit. The main villain was despicable but I find that kdramas do a good job in making you hate the villains/antagonists. This one was no different in that I wanted to reach out and slap him in the face, repeatedly.

My only complaint was that there were times when both Park Hae Young and (to a lesser extent) Cho So Yun would take too long to react to a shocking piece of news when they'd hear it. It would usually happen at a suspensful moment when it was critical for them to react quickly, so it got on my nerves a bit since I was worried for their characters at those times! This wasn't a deal breaker for me, and I thing Signals advantages far outweigh whatever flaws it has. I think the difference between asian crime drama (using Signal here as the reference point) and the American/English ones I've seen is that the former tends to be overemotional. It works in context though, and I like the fact that I know I'm watching a korean melodrama* as well as a murder mystery.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Tomorrow With You
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
STORY
OK, the story is interesting. It's sweet and also full of mystery. It teaches you that life is fragile, time is limited and you need to appreciate your loved ones. There are some plot holes but so far not really bother me.

ACTING
Wow, what a wonderful performance from Lee Je Hoon and Shin Min Ah,
solid acting! This is what i call talented actors.

MUSIC
Music is beautiful, modern and read more suit the mood

Overall
It is worth watching

HOWEVER, there is this little annoying thing that really bugs me. Yoon So Joon wants to save Ma Rin right? But it's for a silly reason in the last episode. That's really upsetting. It just spoils the whole greatness of this drama.





If you have not watched the drama, do not read the review below.
=============== SPOILERS======================================================





just wonder why marin is so stupid and careless -_-; i mean at the last scene, when the accident supposed to happen, why does she have that habit to cross the road blindly, that's the whole point of the drama, it's because of her carelessness that her dad sacrificed his own life, why can't so joon warn her stupidity to not crossing the road while there's car around. I get it, she was pushed by someone accidentally but instead of going back to the pedestrian lane, she chased her marriage certificate in the middle of highway. Why is she like that? Gahhh.. Is she a little child to chase something on a highway without even looking around whether there's car, like that?

I mean, the whole story and concept is GREAT, but the reason for Marin's death is only for her stupidity. That spoils the whole drama. It's not like a grand death where she cannot avoid it like what happened to happiness director's fate, it's not like inevitable accident, but she just does it repeatedly and it's annoyingggggg!!!! The whole reason for So Joon and Marin's dad misery is because of Marin's hobby to cross the road carelessly. She seems like fishing for death. Ok, that's all, other than that, everything is fine.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
You're the Best Lee Soon Shin
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 3.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Story wise not that great. Acting, I didn't bother to notice because I was new to kdramas when I watched this. But Jo Jung Suk is a fantastic actor. I think they suited each other well. Least Recommended if you like long-running family dramas.

I can't believe I have actually watched a 50 episodes drama now I can't watch anything more than 16 episodes. Back then I was new to kdrama world read more so I watched anything I got, while being fascinated by kdramas and wanting for more. I completed this drama in just three days. This is available on youtube.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hwarang
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
It was fun to watch but I was not really happy with the story and the progression of the characters, the story seemed to be rushed at points and sometimes they would drag on. I honestly just watched it for the cast. The story had potential but it seemed as if the director was lost and had no clear vision for the drama. Good things that came out of this drama is read more the Hwarang cast friendship and the OST.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No