Sort by:
Eternal Love
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Eternal Love has gained a lot of fans, love and 10 of 10’s, being one of few who liked the drama but not wholeheartedly loved it, I thought a review could be a good idea.

First of all, Eternal Love is a very good drama. It keeps you engaged and you’re almost never bored. You care for the characters and even if you don’t like some of the characters, others will most read more certainly capture your interest and heart.

The CGI is pretty awful, especially when it comes to creatures, but after a while you get used to it and you stop thinking about how fake everything looks. You start to enjoy the story for what it is instead.

The storytelling pace is close to perfect almost all the way throughout the drama, except for the ending that is extremely rushed. Major parts of the ending feels like quick fixes and you don’t get a chance to really grasp what’s happening emotionally. For me the ending was to 90% a disappointment.

I also think that the main characters Ye Hua and Su Su/Bai Qian can be rather dull at times and boring to watch. The actors were great and most of the time their story was entertaining enough, but not enough to make my heart beat for them or care.

I know that Ye Hua is a good person, I liked him to some extent, but some scenes when he tries to be intimate med with Bai Qian I think he’s bordering to rape or at least sexual abuse. She tries to leave, he holds her against her will, kisses her even though she tries to stop him and looks incredibly uncomfortable and so on. Some scenes when they’re in bed are the same, he’s very pushy and persuades her to be more intimate with him.

The evil antagonists in the drama are very square, predictable and lack real personalities. It’s okay though because their sole purpose is to make life hard for the “real characters”, but it would’ve been nice if they were at least a little bit interesting.

With all of that said, for me the drama was good. I watched it mostly because of some of the side characters and the story itself, and that was enough to keep me interested to the end. It’s definitely worth a watch!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Chicago Typewriter
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 5.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
My only regret concerning this drama is that I didn't pay the necessary attention to it sometimes and missed out (so, this is going for a re watch soon). The story of this drama is as compelling as interesting. The one twist follows the other, as the story unfolds slowly its layers. The first part deals with the mystery of the ghost. Then, it starts focusing on the past affairs, as well read more as the currant ones. It's amazing how the film makers managed to present the medley of past present so beautiful, without confusing the audience or tiring them. In addition, there as so many things one has to anticipate to happen, except from the past story, that is by itself entertaining and well executed, with the costumes on point, the whole atmosphere of the past and the secret revolution- resistance presented as such as it didn't look fake, rather, it could have been easily compared to a movie's class. Lastly, the performances were great, and you can't help but eventually get emotional (even though, with most ghost dramas you kind of expect that to happen) towards the end, which, unlike other dramas that usually the story ends in episode 14 or 15 and the last one is just there to complete some side stories, this one was as entertaining as the rest. Probably, the only thing that didn't appeal to me as much as the rest of the stories, was the today's romance. The couple seemed to lack some of the chemistry they had compered to the past story. Plus, I would have liked for the film makers to have completed some of the side stories as well and not just the main one. But, overall, it was a great drama so I'm rating it with 8.5 out of 10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Boku, Unmei no Hito desu
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I simply started this drama because it seemed like a rom-com with a perfect twist of fantasy. And fantasy dramas have a way of pulling me towards them like no other genre.
When it comes to J-dramas, I would fall into the 'beginner' category. So while I won't be able to tell you how good or bad it was as compared to other typical J-dramas, I'll try my best to tell you read more what I enjoyed in this drama.


THE STORY:
The plot-line of the drama is certainly a unique one. It's not everyday you see a drama where God Himself appears to help two people fall in love.
The drama follows Makoto who seemingly has the worst luck when it comes to women. It's not until a person claiming to be God appears before him that he finds out why. According to God, Makoto's bad luck in women is because he hasn't met his 'soul-mate' yet. Imagine his surprise when he finds out that his destined person works in the same office building as him, and they have met several times before, even without both of them knowing. Now, when it comes to making her fall in love with him, well, that's no easy feat, giving the fact that she cringes at the word 'destiny' alone.


THE CHARACTERS:
There are 3 main characters for this- Makoto (male lead), Haruko (female lead) and God.
-Makoto's character was a dedicated one. He was ready to do just about anything to make Haruko fall in love. And not just with her, his efforts to win over Haruko's dad as well as her best friend, were really commendable.

-Haruko's character may seem a bit annoying, at first, given that she pushes away our main lead repeatedly, when we know that he's such a good person. But try to imagine the situations from her perspective. A stranger comes along, and says stuff about them being 'destiny', her reaction was completely logical. Ofcourse, the circumstances in which her previous relationship ended, sure didn't help the situation, either. Despite of it all, she came to know him as a person and finally

-God's character was....awesome. He was my favorite character in the drama. And that's all I can say without spoiling anything.

-The supporting characters like Sadaoka, Sekihara, Mitsue etc, were also really interesting to watch. Specially their comedy parts.


THE PACING:
-The drama consisted of only 10 episodes. And the pacing was good.
-The twist they pulled out in the last few ep...Did not see it coming. It was perfect.
-

THE CON(s):
- Even though I understood the decisions the female lead male, her character was still somewhat frustrating. It just felt like her indecisive phase stretched for a bit too long.
-Unfortunately, for me, the bromance eclipsed the romance part of the drama. Although, that's not to say that the romance part was not interesting. But more like, I loved the bromance way more than the romance.
-This one is not really a con, but I wish they'd shown more of Ichirou in the last ep.


All in all, this was an enjoyable watch. I hope you give this a try.
Happy Watching!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Inborn Pair
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
***WARNING***
I'm not a fan whatsoever of Chris Wang's acting. Just puttin' that out there. It doesn't matter what T-dramedy he's in. I know I can expect to retch, roll my eyes, and cringe, in varying amounts depending on if he's cast as the romantic lead, supporting role, or just making a guest appearance.
Unfortunately, he was cast as the romantic male lead, Ke Wei Xiang in Inborn Pair, where his facial read more expressions seem to range from a happy-go-lucky-dumbass to a completely-clueless-dumbass, mouth open, with a look of mild to severe constipation in between.
I don't know. Maybe it's just me.
I mean, as the viewing audience we're already expected to overlook a lot of the technical shortcomings (scenes with no continuity where the actor will be shown smiling from one angle but crying from another), suspend our disbelief when it comes to the show's premise we know is not likely to occur in the real world in order to enjoy these TTV romcoms. But when you have an actor like Chris Wang giving such a robotic performance, never closing the emotional distance needed for me to sympathize with his character at any time, the show became a chore to watch.
Personally, I don't believe 84 episodes were needed to tell us that the romantic leads would eventually end up together.
But it's the journey that counts, not the destination. Right?
Yeah, whatever.
I think the producers of this show were actually trying to convince themselves that Ke Wei Xiang and Song Yi Jie (Annie Chen) were meant to be together, despite being manipulated into marriage.
Needless to say, I didn't buy it.
A lot of their "chemistry" was paper thin, failing to make the transition from script to screen. What I found problematic about Ke Wei Xiang was that he was near perfect and whatever character flaws he possessed were not deal breakers. And really there was no logical reason for Wei Xiang not to be with Luo Yun (Or more likely why she would want to be with a clingy, insecure momma's boy. But then Pops Luo brought her back to reality. I'm not saying I approve of his method but I like the results. I just wished somebody would've done the same for Yi Jie).
I got far more entertainment mileage from the rest of the supporting cast with all their flaws, shortcomings and far more interesting stories instead of Wei Xiang and Yi Jie's who-gives-a-shit romance. Still. Eighty-four episodes? WTF?
I LOVE YOU Puff Kuo, Jenna Wang, Jennifer Hong, Annie Chen, and Fu Yin in that order.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ode to Joy 2
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Story: 4 girls & 1 woman still growing up and out of life and relationships. This season was all about character development of the 22nd floor residents. Some regressed yet development by the end.

Acting/Casting: The entire cast is fitting and comfortable with roles, storyline and each other, something rarely viewed.

Music: Never paid any attention
RW: The beginning of S2 with Bao aggressive courting. Watching & listening to his voice was read more mesmerizing - what took Andi so long?

Overall: For many, book 2 are primarily developmental portion of story - character of the trilogy, this followed suit. Many parts were simply nerve racking and silly. However knowing this is the bridge to S3, I will give space and reserve judgement. S3 has a heavy load to carry on putting closure to the many open ends.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Something About 1 Percent
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This drama was cute from episode 01 till 16, and I loved it. I actually marathon it in a weekend, and could't stop once I start watching it. Didn't knew it was a remake, but for me it was perfect, and that's to say a lot since I watched it out of boredom, and because I didn't have anything else to watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Flower Boy Ramen Shop
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
Great light, funny, easy to watch show.

I'm not a person who laughs a lot, but this did have many moments that made me smirk (internally, but hey).

It's nice to know I can always pay a visit to the Flower Boy Ramyun Shop and just relax.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Who Are You: School 2015
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
This started out very strong, made me cry multiple times during the first episodes - but late into the series it felt a bit draggy. There's many things that weren't relevant overall, had they cut it a bit and made it maybe 2 episodes shorter, it would have been perfect. The story felt very confusing at first, but once you settled it it was quite enjoyable.

As for the acting, I was read more very disappointed in Kim So Hyun (Eun Bi/Eun Byul) - she was stiff and in my opinion didn't carry over emotions at all. Everyone else did a good job.

The music ... I don't ever want to hear the 'Reset' song again, wasn't my cup of tea and I hit mute everytime it came up.

I'd recommend this to people who like High School dramas, the mystery plot was too weak to be really important.

Also, while this was a great first watch, I don't think it's something I'll touch again until many years later.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Heirs
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 2.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
To make this short:
Yes, the story is cliche - but it's done so well that I can't give anything but a ten.
The acting is superb throughout - it's funny at times, gripping at others.
The only thing I really disliked was the music ...
This is a hit or miss, if you're not into it after two episodes, skip it - personally, I still recommend it and never heard a read more complaint from friends.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
1 Litre of Tears
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
One of my all time favorite shows - even after watching it six times over the years, each time with different people, it stays just as charming and sad as the first time and no eyes stayed dry.

The acting was marvelous, and the music fit perfectly.

No matter what genre you like - give this a watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Only Love Song
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
i really really loved this drama it gave me drama fever for 4 days straight the plot and story fit together perfectly but i think the drama needed more than 20 episodes to express the true means of it. i also have to be completely honest i really don't think that gong seung yeon really portrayed the character song soo jung that well she didn't seem to have that bad rich girl read more feel i expected but lee jong hyun did ondal perfectly he espressed how money was just a hobby to get over his mother that was sold to people

i really didn't pay attendion to the music but hey the drama is called my only love song so yeah there should be good music am i right?.

princess pyung gang and moo myung were a couple you could tell from a start that they were going to fall in love as moo myung had great care and loyalty for her and he would always do what she said but from the start moo myung fell for her first but he couldn't understand his feelings for her which left the romance complicated but over alll

this drama was GOOD THANKS FOR READING MY REVIEW
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
God's Gift - 14 Days
0 people found this review helpful
by Zoe
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
“Do you know Ahjumma? In the end you and I, we changed fate.”

The start of this drama is quite dark but by episode three it starts getting into the swing of things.
The story gripped me and I really wanted to see what would happen with the scenario.
You wouldn’t think that a show like this could be fun, but at times it was.
It’s a bit repetitive with Soo Hyun read more losing her shit over and over again and just going into a panic and not thinking except in mother mode. Her character isn’t bad though. When she’s not flailing around, or even when she is, she does know how to use her brains and can act fast. She gets into a few fights and has to go tooth and nail to survive but she can wiggle her way out of a mess.
Not surprising, there are three men in Soo Hyun’s life who are protecting her in some capacity. And who are ready to fight for her in their own spheres.
The other annoying thing is that whenever a revelation is about to be revealed they get interrupted. That is such a lame plot device.
I liked seeing Soo Hyun’s attitude towards Young Gyu change.
The show gets intense towards the end.

Dong Chan

There is no romance but you can see the way Dong Chan feels about his Ahjumma. He never says her name, I don’t think.

“You’re wild just like your mother.”

Dong Chan is as nice guy. I like how tough as nails he’s supposed to be. And then he disguises his kindness in his rough way by saying sarcastic things but he makes it so much more cheery.
I love how natural singing is in Korean dramas. Dong Chan’s singing was definitely a highlight.
I liked seeing a bit of conflict between older and steady characters. There’s a really intense scene when Dong Chan intervenes between Soo Hyun and her husband and you can see the complexity of the situation.

A bit sad to see the beautiful Kim Yu Bi acting like a brat. But she also has an overgenerous spirit that can be charming when it’s not grating.
She fights with her mother a lot, but mainly because she’s afraid and in awe of her.

“I also want to become a person like you.”

It was really interesting to see Ji Hoon’s parenting contrasted and compared to Soo Hyun’s throughout the drama. Initially, he is obviously not in a panic and he doesn’t suffer over worry of his daughter because he has no idea. He is also the “good cop” when it comes to parenting. But things change.

It’s also fascinating to see how Soo Hyun comes to distrust her husband and trust Dong Chang. Even as Dong Chan is calling her ahjummah, he’s the one that can so naturally hold her and be her support.

The ending? Mind blowing.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Unubore Deka
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Funny drama imo. Great if you are a fan of Tomoya Nagase. Supporting cast is amazing as well, even the guests stars are funny.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Boss, My Hero
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Rough around the edges but if you are a fan of either Gakki or Tomoya Nagase, this is a fun show.

Very funny at times and Tomoya Nagase has great knack for comedy.

Also, one of the few dramas with Gakki in a high school uniform. Rest of the cast is okay.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Defendant
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Defendant for me was this year's most anticipated drama. I remember that while it was airing and everybody was talking about it, I used to look at it with greedy eyes everyday. I wanted to watch it so bad but at the same time, I knew that in order to enjoy it fully I needed to wait for completion. I'm glad I waited 'cause I truly can't comprehend how I would have read more withstood the torture that this show's cliffhangers inflicted upon the poor watchers.

If you're like me and you've watched your fair share of crime dramas you won't find the premise of this show exactly unique. You'll be able to guess most of the plot twists (if not all) and see a lot of things coming beforehand. Defendant comes with it's flaws. There are a lot of convenient coincidences that aid both our good guys and the baddies. Sharp tools just happen to be lying around jail cells just waiting to be used by the inmates, a circuit somehow just happens to break resulting in a power black out whenever it is needed, a very useful recording device disguised as a pen just happens to travel around wringing confessions from the evil doers left and right and our antagonist somehow conveniently transforms from an up to no good loser to an identity stealing mastermind overnight.
How very interesting.

However, with its slightly rocky plot comes a masterful execution. Even though you know what's going to happen, when it actually happens it feels like a completely new and exciting experience. Our good guys seem to be trapped in their own version of real life flappy bird. It's one step forward from the abyss of doom and twenty steps backwards. So when convenient coincidences happen to rule things in their favor, I'd be damned if I have a problem with it.

This is the kind of show that banks on the watcher's heart rather than the mind. It will make you blinded with emotion and leave all logic behind. But the real reason this show is a hit is the excellent acting put out by all the actors.

Ji Sung as always is phenomenal. From Secret to Kill Me Heal Me and finally to Defendant, you can see his acting evolve and grow more powerful. He's an extremely skilled performer and many a times I suffered through a serious case of gooseflesh while watching him. By the middle of this show I was completely invested, horribly torn apart and crossing my fingers for him to turn the tables on all the assholes that had done him wrong.

Usually in melodramas, when you see the main character go through tragedy after tragedy, it turns from heartbreaking to frustrating real quick. Soon you go from wanting to wipe the hero's tears to slapping his mouth shut and putting an end to the sob fest. However, Ji Sung got me every time. His pain, helplessness and tears always made me wail like a baby. I didn't realize I was rocking so much H2O in my body until it came out gushing from my peepers. I think I felt quite a lot dehydrated after finishing this show.

Uhm Ki-Joon with his Cha Min Ho put out the acting of his life. He's heartless, ruthless, evil without a cause and at last, pitiful. He's probably one of the best antagonists of Dramaland and undoubtedly one of the most hated characters. His impulsive acts of violence leave you shaking with fury and you'll find yourself thirsty for his demise.
A lot of people thought that his situation was a little unrealistic but as a daughter of a detective, I can say that I've seen many real life cases where the criminals start with seemingly minor and thoughtless crimes and commit far worse atrocities to cover it up. In Cha Min Ho's case, he sticks to it to the very end. His bag of tricks is endless and you never find a peaceful moment with him.

Even though this show truly focuses on the two main men, some other characters will weasel their way in your heart and take permanent residence. These were the characters that I wanted to hide in my back pocket and protect from all the cruelty of the world. And even though my wishful thinking did not save all of them, I treasured every moment they were on-screen.
My precious and loyal Seong Kyu, my shady but hilarious Optimus Shin Cheol Sik, Prosecuter Choi Tae Hong who never once lost faith, Jeong Woo's merry band of prison inmates and the resilient Seo Eun Hye all brought their own flavor to the show.

This drama has a deep underlying message about how family makes or breaks you. How people are willing to go to every length to save their loved ones and how it's never too late for justice. With an extremely satisfying ending; giving closure to all the characters and answer to your every question, Defendant takes a spot among dramas that are consistently amazing from start to finish.

A dark and gritty suspense drama that comes with its share of heartbreak.

An absolute must-watch
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No