If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
Rak Ork Akard
0 people found this review helpful
6 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
For fans of WHO GOT MARRIED, THE BACHELOR, similar dating game shows, or of THE GREATEST LOVE / THE PRODUCERS / WORLDS WITHIN.
Basically anyone who enjoys seeing the romantic lives of celebrities, or of ordinary people in front of cameras and how fans react to the celeb couple. Fame combined with love. However this drama is also about the warmth, sincerity and relationships between people in a close-knit village. For people who love to root for underdogs.

.....or for anyone who enjoys a GREAT OTP/leads. For fans of Romance stories.


STORY
The MOST IMPORTANT aspect of any story, and the STRONGEST POINT of this lakorn.
Thai lakorns can never reach a 10, lakorns overall low quality compared to Kdrama. There was alot of loopholes/not perfect writing BUT this is still very much a recommended thai lakorn watch! Any drama even if lakorn deserves a 8.5 if it can make me become this addicted to it.
1st ep buildup was a pain but addicted from ep 2 already ALL THE WAY to the end. The small village with its warmth and the OTP who stole my heart. A Romcom but with dramatic aspects, the last few eps seemed almost like a light melodrama. Lovely plot idea, the hidden cameras that secretly broadcasted the village and the OTP  as reality TV lol


ACTING / CAST
While the ACTING itself could've been better (like in many thai lakorns and even kdramas/asian dramas unfortunately) the CASTING itself was PERFECT. Not only was the OTP suitable to each other but very suited to their lead roles. And the rest of the cast was on point too, I ended up caring for all characters in that village as well the the King and Kong duo.
The best acting from the leads/OTP, and while not the BEST acting itself from the rest of the cast everyone managed to still somehow charm with their characters. This is very much a character and relationships driven show. Even "annoying" characters ended up being somehow cute in their annoyingness. Eventually you get used to the ridiculous humor and the ridiculous characters.
Features one of the BEST FEMALE LEADS in all of Asian dramas. She was not only brave, stood up for herself and for others but was still vulnerable. She was extremely kind-natured yet without being a pushover. She didn't just pretend to be tough with a tough exteriour, she really was a strong lead. Sometimes hid her feeling but knew eventually how to open up. The male lead was weak though but even he eventually manned up, just wish it'd had been sooner.
Now I've become a fan of the female lead actress Cherry, she is the star of the show.
BONUS points to this lakorn for featuring GAY and BI (supporting) characters.


MUSIC
Beside the occasionally thrilling melodrama/thriller esque music, absolutely nothing special. Not bad enough to distract from the plot either. Some parts of the lyrics in fact really fit the plot, but otherwise just lame forgettable, plain bad music. Better music would've made it even more enjoyable but oh well it was good without music enhancement. Would prefer though that they'd used better music.
....1 point for music overall HOWEVER...
....Bonus points for the HILARIOUSLY over-dramatic music at not SO dramatic moments, parodying melodramas. Absolutely hilarious!


REWATCH VALUE
Don't take my rating of this aspect too seriously, I'm generally not a fan of rewatching, not even of good drama.
Overall not much reason to rewatch, but could rewatch some sweet moments of the village people and their warm community. The OTPs scenes I'd say are very rewatchable since they're so cute.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Delicious Destiny
0 people found this review helpful
6 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 5.5
This drama was awesome! The cast were great, handsome and beautiful!The story is okay - it was a mess because all characters are related somehow and it really was too much in my opinion. Although, most dramas have all characters with relation to one another. So it's normal I guess. As for the antagonist acted really well to the point that I want to slap her and another family member of hers. There was one plot of a illegitimate child, that story was interesting  - I was quite excited for the part where someone was exposed. hahaha. There's a lot of drama in this show so the main couples are on and  off a couple times due to secrets, threats, and bribery. I do not know why I continued with this drama even though it seems cliche. However, it did kept me wanting more and waiting for the next episodes to air. It was that good. Although towards the end it got a bit draggy and it was weird that one of the antagonists got off the hook and all of a sudden became nice. Overall, it was a nice drama. One of my favorites but I wouldn't re-watch it due to all the dramas between family members and rivals, etc. It's too much.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
North of the Earth
0 people found this review helpful
6 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
The story is heart wrenching, inspirational and entrepreneurial spanning over 20 over years. If you expect idol, pretty and cosmetic faces, modern buildings, fashions  and hi tech gadgets this is not your story. It is like a real life story mimicking the developments of 2 top 10 world class dairy companies in China (http://www.trendingtopmost.com/worlds-popular-list-top-10/2017-2018-2019-2020-2021/world/dairy-companies-world-india-best-largest-famous/).

A total of 34 Episodes is just nice. The flow is good, casts played their roles well,  the scenes really dictates the late eighties and nineties in a harsh environment. I finished the drama with a complete sense of satisfaction. The OST ending song is really nice with a fantastic voice matching the times.

Besides the lead actress and a few others who are elegant and pretty the others are all down to earth but they played their parts very well making this a very highly rated drama in the home country.  I happened to watch one of Yan Dan Chen’s drama lately by chance as she is  not really in the limelight  like the idol stars but found her to be a hidden gem and playing the lead role extremely well.  That lead me to watch this drama.  The backdrop is the great plains of Norther China and Mongolia and the great desert.  Weather conditions were extremely harsh and people can hardly make a living. Small companies come and go and the dairy industry is one of the main source of making a living. The opening up of government ownership to private and attracting foreign investments in the 90s sprung up an opportunity for a group of young people who took over a bankrupt milk factory and developed it into world class.  The story also does not equate success with just money. It is the self-fulfilment and actualisation of ones dreams that determine success. The thought of converting a vast desert to an oasis and green plains seems an impossible tasks meant for the gods of mercy.

Work, money, characters  and individual ambitions can override love, family and loyalty. Success also comes with a lot failures and sacrifices along the way before it triumphed to a world class company. You just cannot have the cake and eat it too.

This drama is worth watching and if you like watching the first few episodes you will likely complete it  …… This is definitely a fresh change from most of the recent themes that are overrated, messy and disjointed.

Videos  from Youtube - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7EVMsu8dOgs

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
My Amazing Boyfriend
1 people found this review helpful
by Nora
6 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I heard that this one was inspired from "My Love From Another Star" I noticed the similarities but they are both unique. This drama supposed to be a romantic comedy but I don't really feel the chemistry and romance between the two main characters. The actor is Korean and because of that they put some dubbing and the lips gesture doesn't really match and it feels really weird. Maybe if they just cast a Chinese actor it would be better and their interaction would be more natural?  I am not really sure. Nevertheless, the ending is so disappointing they could have made it better!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Eternal Love
0 people found this review helpful
by Nora
6 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This is the first time I am so OBSESSED with a drama ever!! I watched plenty of Korean and Chinese dramas before, and some of them are hella good, but none of them got me hooked!! The acting, the cast, music everything is so on point!! The story itself is also very unique like none other!! It made me laugh, cry and even annoyed everything mixed together T.T I am SO GLAD that they made this drama a happy ending, I know that Chinese dramas tend to have either cliffhanger or sad ending while this one NOT!! I highly recommend this to everyone!!
Was this review helpful to you?
Dream High
0 people found this review helpful
by Nora
6 days ago
Overall 6.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 5.0
The story started out pretty well in my opinion, quite interesting with the school for future idols kinda things. The casts are also pretty awesome I really like Wooyoung and IU. However, I am not really sure whether this drama supposed to have romance or not!! I finished the whole episodes in two days and I remembered being mad with the ending. Don't get me wrong, this one is not bad but not good either! I know that most of the casts aren't actors, but I don't like their acting here, they are a little bit stiff and unnatural.
Was this review helpful to you?
You Who Came from the Stars
0 people found this review helpful
by Nora
6 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I watched this because of my friend's recommendation, and what can I say? I have no regret AT ALL!! Jung Ji Hyun brought me so much joy watching this, her acting was pure hilarious!! The actor continuously being so gorgeous didn't hurt either LOL. The only thing disappointed is the ending, I think they can make it a little bit better, they have a great story as a whole after all. However, it's still a happy ending though. For those who like goofy hilarious female character and a cool type guy I highly recommend you to watch this!
Was this review helpful to you?
For My Love
0 people found this review helpful
6 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
Confession. I picked this one up because of Jin Dong and I'm not disappointed. A departure from Jin Dong’s usual portrayal of the ultimate good guy alpha male, Guang Ming is loving, gentle and always believe in the good of others. His noble intentions and philosophical outlook lead to misunderstandings with his beautiful wife and ultimately caused the break down of his marriage.

This is a family drama full of touching relationships and matters of the heart, transforming human connections from foes to friends, from lovers to enemies and vice versa. It centres around the lives and tribulations of one family which includes the protective and loyal Grandma Qi and her grand-daughter Ting Ting. Pan Hong in the role of Grandma Qi is exceptional and steals the show with her relentless pursuit of family unity and her unconditional love for Ting Ting. Tong Lei as the fiesty, clueless and impetuous wife is fitting. A classic case of opposites attract but it is the story of Guang Ming and Ding Xue's journey that will bring tears to your eyes. It may be a touch melancholic but it doesn't drown you in sadness. Yes, there are villains and antagonists but you come to understand their actions and for the most part, you forgive them.

I started the show because of Jin Dong and left with an appreciation for the veteran actors in the show.  The acting was superb and will leave you wanting more. Keep your tissue box around for this one.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
It Started with a Kiss
0 people found this review helpful
7 days ago
Overall 7.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.5
Loved the story because I have watched it previously from Playful Kiss (Korean version) and Itazura Na Kiss (Japanese version).
The acting of the cast was okay, the chemistry wasn't sizzling like the japanese version! However, I loved the second male lead a lot here. He wasn't annoying and did not over exaggerate his acting  like in the Japanese version (partially due to my bias for jiro wang keke). The male lead was also less cold than in the japanese version .
The music, well, I didn't pay much attention to the osts because they did not stand out. As for rewatch value, I think I would prefer rewatching the japanese version even though this couple was cute too.
Thought Itazura na kiss (Japanese version was better) but what I liked a lot about this version is that the female lead acknowledges the feelings of the second male lead.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Protect the Boss
1 people found this review helpful
7 days ago
Overall 7.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
STORY 7/10
Up until episode 13, I was determined to give Protect the Boss a strong 8, as it was a highly enjoyable (if predictable) ride. But as other reviewers mentioned before me, the final 5 episodes (that could be easily reduced into 2) effectively assassinated the plot (and some of the characters). It's not that the series couldn't last for 18  episodes. It could. There was definitely enough material to work with. The problem was that the writing in the final episodes was all over the place, it concentrated on the wrong stuff and did very little for character development; it was like the writers suddenly forgot that some of the characters exist (Eun Seol's father appeared and disappeared in a blink of an eye; the grandmother became strangely passive during some major moments), forgot what their relationships are ("Gangster Chairman" Cha suddenly doesn't approve of the heroine why  again??? it didn't make sense), or that the characters were going to say  something  (Eun Seol promised Ji Heon to definitely tell him why  she did what she did next time they talk....I was really waiting for  it...it never happened); or that they have valid issues that need to be  addressed (it would be nice if Ji Heon was shown to be as supportive of  Eun Seol as she is of him).  

That being said,  Protect the Boss IS a good drama, one that defies many cliches and  offers many hilarious moments, not to mention that:
+  the male lead acknowledges that the heroine is much more awesome than  him, there is never the typical arrogant male lead moment "she is such a  loser why do I have to like her?"
+ family dynamics of the rich family is unusual and entertaining
+ the antagonists are more pitiful and funny than villainous
+ the second female lead is really a precious cinnamon roll and she eventually befriends the heroine

Negatives:
- as mentioned, the last third of the show was poorly written and boring
- the main couple was nice and their chemistry was decent...but lacking, somewhat. I don't know why, maybe it only seemed to me that way because Choi Kang Hee who played the heroine looked like she could be Ji Sung's older sister (not that she wasn't pretty, she was!), they just weren't convincing as a pair - they were cute, but not the OTP of the century

ACTING/CAST 9/10
I've never ever heard before about this Ji Sung guy, but he was amazing, he made his character truly three-dimensional and believable, and I definitely became his instant fan.  He was adorable! The rest of the cast was great as well.

MUSIC 7.5/10
Some catchy songs but nothing to write home about.

REWATCH VALUE 6/10
Big yes to rewatching my favorite moments, but I don't think I'll be able to get through episodes 14-18 as a whole ever again.

OVERALL 7.5/10

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Memory Lost
2 people found this review helpful
7 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.5
So firstly i want to say that i have watched all  seasons, and i was kinda not sure on which one should i write the review.
However lets begin.
First of all the story  was really cool, i  really liked the  crime part of it . The idea of having an organisation  full of murderers is just PERFECT. This drama kept me interested till the end. You never know how the story is going to  unfold.The thing that really attracted me at the begining was the portray of the female lead- she is not a typical chinese or any kind of drama lead. She is a  strong and undepedandant woman, who can fight for herself and the people she loves and really importat wasnt annoying which could have happened really easy . Not to forget all the murderers were fantastic presented , their charectrer and why they became criminals  was really good made.
So i am going to recommend this drama to all people who enjoy crime ,mystery with lots of love elements in it. It is definitely not the typical crime drama.And if you are looking for somthing with less drama in it ( i mean love drama,however  a lot of love figures were involved hahahah it was definitely not only a triangle hahaha) this is the perfect example - there is none hahaha
My rating is around 8.5~9  out of 10.
Highly enjoyable .

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Go Ho's Starry Night
1 people found this review helpful
7 days ago
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 5.5
The story was light and fun. Something that you would enjoy if you want to see something that is entertaining without making you think hard. The casts was quite okay, although somehow I think the lead female role was plain-looking and not pretty enough to be contested by 5 different men at the same time.
I would reccomend this drama for those who doesn't want to commit to watching 40 episodes-long dramas. Each episode was less than 20minutes, so the story was quite to the point, doesn't keep you guessing all the time.
Music and sountracks was okay.
Was this review helpful to you?
Hello Harinezumi
1 people found this review helpful
7 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 8.5
I generally love most Japanese detective comedies, but some are better than others. I was looking forward to Hello Harinezumi based on the cast and director/writer, and it did not disappoint!

STORY
I never read the manga, so I'm not sure how many story arcs were based on it, but the script was tight and had that perfect blend of (light) black humor, pop culture wit (and tons of riffing off old detective shows), parody and physical comedy to go along with sympathetic characters, intrigue, and heartwarming moments...which to me is a perfect sum of why this genre is such a pleasure to watch! I tend to be a poor judge of how much Japanese humor translates, but I think even people who don't catch all the cultural references (some are a bit subtle) would find the characters and situations entertaining.

The cases were diverse and unique, no matter how standard they were, thanks to the great characters and acting. The stories had heart, and were a really fun range, from family situations to a 50-year-old cold case, to matchmaking, to treasure hunting, to starring in a slapdash "hero show" play for kids. You won't see street fights or too many dead bodies (there are some, however!), but each case has just enough mystery to be compelling in itself, beyond the already compelling character and relational arcs. While it's episodic, as usual there is a definite progression that makes the whole season feel very satisfying and complete, even if you don't know all the characters' backgrounds and there's no unifying thread. Still, you can't help but want more when you get the end! And happily, it seems like there's going to be a season 2, which is a huge detective show triumph! Really hope it happens.

CAST/ACTING
As for the actors, you can't go wrong with Eita and Morita Go, who are both hilarious in their roles as quirky partners who both characterize the agency's motto—to be "compassionate and meddlesome." They had great relational and chemistry with Yamaguchi Tomoko as their boss, who I wasn't familiar with and was surprised to find out how few roles she's taken over the past decades. While her character is the typical smart, tough-yet-caring, independent middle aged single female boss (and I must say, I always love those characters), her zanyness is refreshing (she's always nursing some new drink, treats her employees like bros). She has major flair, and Yamaguchi pulls off her character perfectly.

Fukuda Kyoko's character...not so much. She almost always had on one of two botoxy kawaii-puzzled expressions, and her general over-selfconscious aren't-I-pretty aura made it hard for  me to warm up to her somewhat generic and distracting character. I've liked her in a few roles that forced her to be a little more complex (e.g. Second Love), but she tends to not have much range, and in that sense I think this was a casting error even if her character is a stock one. The contrast is just too stark, especially when someone with flair like Aoi Yu comes onto the scene and her interaction with Eita's character is just oh so interesting-fun that you wish she was a main character! However, eventually Ranko-chan becomes more useful to the team even if she's more of a foil, and I stopped being annoyed as the other characters somehow made her seem cooler. Nearly all the supporting and guest actors did fabulous jobs, and I felt each episode got better and better.

OST/REWATCH
I loved the music, which was one of my favorite detective show jazz soundtracks next to Take Five...thanks to RADWIMPS (eclectic band that is great with soundtracks)...and make sure you watch the end credits each time...especially in the last episode. Too fun. Even though I rarely rewatch dramas—and especially not anything mystery-related—I'll probably rewatch this one sometime in the future as it's such a feel-good drama. It definitely will go on my list of favorites!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Secret Garden
0 people found this review helpful
7 days ago
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10
I already watched this for almost 8-9 times in just a span of 3 years. The first and only kdrama that I have rewatched. It is also the only kdrama that I have watched  I6 episodes continuously for 1 day. It is really very funny and entertaining. It has contradicting elements that made it more unforgettable and heartwarming. It  is  very realistic despite its fantasy elements. Still my most favorite kdrama of all time! It's not a perfect kdrama in terms of plot and other technicalities. But the acting of the actors and actresses especially the main leads and the execution of the script really captured my heart. Hajiwon and Hyun Bin really gave life to their characters; amazing portrayal!! The script is also commendable because it has the  right mix of lines/scenario that are  heartwarming,funny,witty,melancholic and most of the time metaphorical. I enjoyed the metaphorical lines pertaining to the fairy tale characters; it's a modern day /realistic fairy tale indeed. Many kdrama fans might not agree that this is the best but for me; I cannot find any other drama that touched my heart the most and made me feel so hurt,happy and so  in love. This kdrama also made me realize that true love really exists and for me their love story is the best example of what true love should be.It didnt portray the main lead actor as perfect and so crazily in love; it's very realistic that the main lead still thought of the consequences of his actions and tried to control his love for the main lead actress..But in the end, true love still prevailed. I hope Haji won and  Hyun Bin can still have another drama together or a season 2.. Still Hoping.. :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Family Outing: Season 1
0 people found this review helpful
by skai
7 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
For anybody that's daunted by 85 episodes that are all an hour and a half each, don't be. It took me around 130 days to actually watch it all, and I regret nothing. Family Outing basically invented being funny. If there were compilations of everything from this show that made me laugh, the compilation would probably be very long, but very worth it. I watched the show when I was 14, so my humor was different, but the show would still be hilarious if I watched it again.
   For 'story', well, that was fantastic. They just house sat for 85 episodes, which is very kind! They were always extremely kind to the house owners, and thankfully took good care of the house while the owners were gone. The morning missions especially constantly put a smile on my face, but I also really loved them finding a way to make dinner each evening. The staff definitely knew what they were doing deciding on what missions to do in order to entertain. I can admit, the length of episodes can cause in some boring scenes, but everything was made up for in the end in my opinion. 
  The cast was spectacular. You can tell they definitely bonded a lot over the filming. Even though two members left mid-show, their replacements were just as enjoyable to watch.  They interacted well with the guests and you can tell the guests were rarely uncomfortable. Personally I feel that in a variety setting, Yoo Jaesuk and Lee Hyori are great people to lead and make everybody comfortable. Everybody either truly grew a variety sense or their variety sense was heightened during this period. I really felt a growth between every cast member and as an audience member. 
  The music was good, the editing was well enough that everything made sense. I won't spoil anything music wise...
  Rewatch value is high! Even though it will be the 10 year anniversary soon, I know of many who have rewatched and I myself would be very willing to watch just about any episode again. Family Outing is regarded as a staple of Korean variety, and from watching it, you will really understand why.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?