Sort by:
Thumping Spike 2
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
it was good ...as an otaku i can say that these was similar to Haikyu but only the volleyball part ...at least it gave me haikyu vibes and stuff
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
omg......my first Korean drama ever............this was such a good experience because of those 2 i watched also cheese in the trap .............THEY are so good .........the story the music ....her cutenessssss im dying! ist was so positive and funny ........it had sad parts too but yeah just watch it you will not regret it
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Cheese in the Trap
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
i loved it ....the music was always so beautiful and the actors so good ....the ending dsappointing at least for me
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Baby-faced Beauty
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 5.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 2.5
This was a beautiful concept, I just wish that they could have gone more into depth. Somethings were left unsettled and it feels incomplete.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
I highly recommend everyone watch this if you haven't seen it. This is by far my favorite out of all the U-Prince series so far. I loved that the male lead roles were flipped in this. Instead of the male lead being a jerk in the beginning and becoming nice, the male lead in "The Lovely Geologist" is a sweet and doesn't get mad easily. The 2nd male lead on the other read more hand is the jerk.
I fell in love with T-Rex when I first saw him. He looks too sweet and innocent. He's too cute, that you can't help but love him and his sweet smile. The female lead was kind of dumb and forgave too easily but realized her feelings before it was too late.
It had it's moments that will make you go "awe poor baby" then go "HAHAHAHA" because something funny will happen. It was really enjoyable.
The acting wasn't AMAZING but it wasn't bad either. It was good. The male lead did a great job and he hasn't had much acting experience. Same with the female lead but she's done a couple dramas. I loved the different facial expressions T-Rex had.
Overall, it was a cute and funny drama that I really loved and would probably watch again just to see T-Rex!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
First Love Again
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
It is absolutely a fascinating drama. Every episode will leave you excited for the next episode I love the chemistry between Lee Ha Jin and Cha Do Yoon..
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
What Happens to My Family?
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This was a very nice family drama. I enjoyed all the stories, even if it started to drag a little long toward the end. I heard it got an extension, so that may be the reason why some of the stories seemed to drag on a bit too long. Overall, I enjoyed this one a lot, though. Even though it wasn't perfect, I didn't feel the need to ff or skip any read more scenes or episodes. My main complaints were some things that were left unexplained or dropped from the beginning of the show, and also that the chemistry between the actors that were supposed to be in relationships could have been better. (I feel that was more of a direction thing and not the fault of the actors.)

For acting, Yoon Park (as Kang Jae) and Son Dam Bi (as Hyo Jin) in particular could have been better. Yoon Park was a bit stiff. Kim Sang Kyung (as Tae Joo) was good, but sometimes a little overacted - mostly when he was supposed to be funny. He nailed the more serious parts. Kang Shim was probably my favorite character, and Kim Hyun Joo did a good job acting her role. I also enjoyed Park Hyung Shik as Dal Bong as another favorite - it was really cute when you could see how similar he was to his father. I enjoyed all the characters, though - even the ones that could be annoying sometimes.

There was a nice balance between the comedy and the drama, and I laughed a lot and shed a few tears. There were definitely some emotional scenes. This drama really makes you want to show your family appreciation and love while they are still here with you.

I rated low on the re-watch just because I doubt I will ever re-watch a 53 episode drama.
The music was nice, especially the Father's Youth song - very touching.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Introverted Boss
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
The story about Ro Woon's sister death is really really really deep, plot twist... Hye Soo and Woo Jin is cute in this drama! Love their great chemistry. Surprisingly, what I like about this is that I don't see any pretty very very very bad evil character in this drama. Love the OST from Ben. Cheers. It is worth to watch. :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Princess Wei Young
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 1.0
  • Story 1.0
  • Acting/Cast 1.0
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
JUST COMPLETED WATCH ALL 54 EPISODES IN 4 DAYS TIME. SUMMARIZED - IN MY OPINION, OVERALL IT'S QUITE AN AVERAGE TO GOOD SHOW. STORY LINE IS OKAY. BEGINNING THE FIRST 10 EPISODES IT GOES STRAIGHT TO THE POINT OF THE STORY AND IN BETWEEN FROM 25 - 37th EPISODES, IT GIVES AUDIENCE ( MYSELF ) A VERY ANGRY, DISAPPOINTED, DISGUSTED AND IRRITATED FEELING WITH CERTAIN PARTS OF THE STORY ACTUALLY IS QUITE read more AN UNNECESSARY WASTE OF TIME. BUT JUST BARED WITH IT, AFTER THAT THE STORY LINE GETS BETTER AS SLOWLY MORE EXCITING AND QUITE A FEW SURPRISES. ESPECIALLY THE ENDING LAST 3 EPISODES IT'S QUITE A SURPRISE OR UNEXPECTED. I RATE THIS SHOW 6 SCORES OVER 10. IF COMPARE TO LEGEND OF MIYUE OR THE EMPRESS OF CHINA, THIS STORY IS A LITTLE LESS GLORIOUS. IT'S MORE TO LIKE " THE LAST WOMEN STANDING ". AND IF IT'S FROM THE POINT ABOUT POLITICAL, AND COMPARE TO NIRVANA IN FIRE, THIS STORY IS FAR LESS COMPARED TO. SO FAR, ONE OF THE BEST STORY AND DAMP WORTH A WATCH IS NIRVANA IN FIRE.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Dae Jo Yeong
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
If you can handle watching a very long drama of 134 episodes (1hour long each) then I'd highly recommend this drama. It's a long drama but it never drags or prolongs things. It moves from one situation to another and the flow is very good and well paced. It took me over 2 weeks of straight marathoning it to complete it.

The drama is about the life of Dae Jo Yeong and read more his quest to recapture the old Goguryeo and create an empire that embraces all people from all origins (Baekjae, Goguryeo, Khitan, Silla, Mohe, Turks ectra...). It's about the founding of the Kingdom of Balhae. And all the heroes that were involved in its rising: Dae Jungsang, Dae Jo Yeong, Gulsabiwu and countless others. This drama does not lay heavily on facts (just take a look at Wikipedia and you'll know lol) - many of the characters life, death and even existence is quite fictional - but it made for a great story. One, the two main females don't even exist in reality :P Some sites say that the two rivals in this drama, Jo Yeong & Kaigu (Hae Gu) vie for the love of the two leading women - but that's simply not true. There will be two romances for Jo Yeong (one that never should have been and one that was always right) but as for the other guy, he only looked at one woman.

Cast/Characters: My all time favorite character was played by Choi Chul Ho as Gulsabiwu (one of Jo Yeong's sworn brothers). I adored him so much, out of all the characters in this drama I would marry him ^_^ His character was very loyal and faithful - a true friend/brother. He had an unending passion and determination to not let the enemy defeat him and when teamed up with Jo Yeong and Sudol he was unstoppable ^^ (I'm also a fan of this actor and I love it when I get to see him as a good guy so my heart can freely go "gaga" over him lol).
Dae Jo Yeong played by Choi Soo Jong - he is the reason I decided to watch this drama, I've been a fan of CSJ since I first watched him in 'Into the Flames' (his latest drama and I started backtracking all his dramas since then). I always like him in leader type roles as he plays them exceptionally well (Dae Jo Yeong, The Great Kings Dream, Into the Flames, Comrades, President, and more...). I always admire his characters and would follow his leadership without a doubt. His character in this drama was exactly like that: one you can trust and depend upon. His character is full of love and passion for his people. He pursued his dream of recapturing the old Goguryeo not for his own selfish desires but b/c it was not only his dream but his peoples dream. He once quoted: "One man's dream may end a dream, but a dream that we dream together always comes true." He was a man full of love, honor, and selflessness.
Kaigu played by Jeong Bo Seok was a man full of envy, hatred, greed and a thirst for revenge. His "dream" was out of selfish motivation. He only loved one woman but b/c of that also spurred him to hate Jo Yeong even more, as he felt what was his was taken. I kind of got tired of his "I'm angry" face as it felt extremely forced and uncomfortable.
Suk Yeong played by Hong Soo Hyun was the girl I liked in this drama and the one who I believed was always right for our lead character. She had a selfless heart, full of love and compassion just like our lead. They were very well matched. And I wish our lead had only had eyes for her for the entire drama but whatever... lol. She reminded me of Seo Ji Hye's character from 'Kim Soo Ro' b/c of her love that went unnoticed for awhile b/c his eyes were directed elsewhere - but eventually they look to the right one.
Chulin played by Park Ye Jin, I did not like her at all. I wish she would have stayed where she belonged b/c it was a love that I personally believed was very wrong - you cannot be lovers with someone that you are helping to destroy. Opposite sides cannot be together, it can only end badly and you could even make things worse. I couldn't believe that our lead guy didn't realize that. She would have been a decent character on her own but b/c the writers made her this way made me unable to ever like her.
Geom played by Jung Tae Woo (an actor I've started to really like since I first saw him in 'Comrades') comes on in the latter part of the drama (I think around the 80ish episodes) was a great addition to the casting, I really liked his character, even though you end up feeling so bad for him b/c of how torn he is and you can literally see it eating him up. But your heart will surly move for him. A great actor who really deserves lead roles! He always seems to be stuck doing "Supporting or guest roles" and I think that is just not fair to this actor who is so talented (I mean unless it's his choice but I don't think that's so).
And there were tons of other characters that shined but I obviously can't describe them all lol but I'll list there names: Mimosa, Geumlan, Dae Jungsang, Keum Mo Jang, Dae Dan, Yang Man Chun, & King Bojang. Heuk Sudol was a great friend but I wasn't too keen on him b/c outside of his friendship he was kind of a numbskull and drank too much and when he bickered or raised his voice I got annoyed. But I enjoyed the bromance between him and Gulsabiwu & Jo Yeong.

Music: Throughout the entire drama it's just instrumental music. The lyric songs came on during the credits (but who sits and watches those unless it's airing?) so the first time an actual song played was in episode 128 (the ending) by Park Hyo Shin (and you'll cry). And then a little later another song is played a couple of times but more as background music. Songs: Park Hyo Shin 'Ae Sang/Sorrow' (it was played in a very appropriate scene). L. Woo & Sung Ho 'Before the Break Up' (I actually don't remember where this was played in the drama) and Joo Byung Sun 'Mothers Land'.

Also you may have to bear with the first 7 episodes as it's all about the older cast - I was quite bored during those episodes b/c they didn't have anyone I wanted to look at lol - the main cast doesn't appear until episode 8. Also if your like me you might hate the first romance. I almost dropped this drama during the span of episodes 40-50. After that I had no desire to drop it though - so if you reach that point just press through (skip watch if you must) and it will get much better ^_^ I personally skipped most scenes about the Empress of Tang and Xui Rengui (since it was things I pretty much already knew about anyways).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Fragile
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
dropped. not for me but dont get me wrong, this is a decent medical drama, not just the kind of medical drama that im looking for. since the main lead is a pathologist, expect to see lots of microscopic view of human tissues. if you're looking for surgeries and emergency life saving scenes, not here. but the drama in the life of every patient and personal issues of characters were quite interesting. read more if you're thirsty for eyecandies, Nomura Shuhei is here :)))) 7/10
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Eternal Love
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I normally refrain from watching shows that are super popular when they’re airing. Why? Cause I’ll get swept up with all the reviews and comments on how great/perfect the show is…only to realize that it’s full of loop-holes and everything is mediocre at best. Maybe the love from everyone else makes me a harsher critic of the show, but because of this habit(?) of mine I tend to watch popular shows half read more a year (or longer) after its done airing. When all the hype has shimmered down and I can watch peacefully (aka less like a grumpy grandma). However, I broke my rule with this drama. Eternal Love/Three Lives Three Worlds was a beautifully made drama that can certainly live up to its popularity, but only if you’re into a slow-paced romance.

Overall:
There are definitely some areas that were frustrating to me, areas that could’ve been further developed (or undeveloped LOL), and things that I wished were different. The romance between the main couple was detailed and you can feel how in love they were (mainly Ye Hua). However, because of how detailed the main characters were we only got a taste of all the supporting roles and their stories. This is probably the only ‘downfall’ of the show for me. Only because I wished there were more to other supporting roles. I actually wish this drama is longer just so I can see what happens to everyone. I would not recommend this drama if you’re looking for something fast paced. This drama is something that slowly builds over the span of 58 episodes.

Story:
Like most Chinese dramas this is based off a novel. The novel is by Tangqi Gongzi and for the most part I heard that the drama is incredibly like the novel besides the relationship between Bai Feng Jiu and Donghua Dijun. Which can be found in a spin-off novel titled Pillow Book. There are a lot of copyright/plagiarism allegations on the Three Lives Three Worlds novel. I'm not going to go in depth about them, but I'm pretty sure you can easily find articles on it. To whoever credit is deserved, the plot is beautifully written and I loved most of it. There are a couple of reasons as to why I got frustrated, but they mainly dealt with character development rather than the plot itself. For example, Li Jing went from being a rebellious prince with so much personality to a mopey king focused only on past mistakes. Besides this, I actually found myself wanting more and more. Mainly Yan Zhi and Zi Lan though…I loved them so much. Someone please write a fanfic for them. I'd read it.

Acting/Cast:
I actually started this drama because of an interview I saw of Mark Chao. I know everyone was hesitant on staring this because Mark wasn’t your conventional pretty boy and was comparing him to Yang Yang (actor who’ll play Marks role in the movie), but there was something so genuine about him in his interview that I started the drama right away. Mark brilliantly portrayed the role of Ye Hua! For the most part his character was stoic, but when he showed emotions…I felt shivers. From the way he looked at Bai Qian, the way he softly smiled, the way his eyebrows furrows, or his breakdown from sadness/grief…he basically threw my emotions and heart in a frenzy. I can go on for days as to why I love Mark Chaos acting, but I’ll stop. Needless to say, I'm super excited to see his future works.
I have never seen a drama with Yang Mi before (I’ve only heard of her cause she married a HK born actor), but I loved her portray of Si Yin, Su Su, and Bai Qian. She went from being an aloof and mischievous disciple to being kind hearted and easily manipulated human and finally to being a well-respected, classy, and badass queen. There was something about her that never changed when she portrayed these different characters and that made it more convincing that they were all the same person, but different lives. Kudos to her! Though I do believe she does better with her mischievous scenes over her emotional ones.
The rest of the cast was great! I don’t want to delve into each character since there are a ton of supporting roles, but I loved them all. I think everyone did incredibly well on their portrayals whether they were to be liked or hated.

Music:
The soundtrack has been on repeat for days.

Rewatch Value:
At the moment no, but maybe in the future.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Panyachon Kon Krua
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
What an adorable series. I really enjoy watching Mark Prin act. I watched him Kluen Cheewit and loved it and that led me to his other dramas. I didn't think I could imagine him with someone other than Yaya (although I know he gets paired with his real life gf Kimberly quite often) but they really managed to pull off the acting. The story itself is a bit thin and in some read more parts you wonder about the character's motivation (or lack there of) but the series itself seems to recognize these faults and makes fun at times, which I appreciate. What really makes it is that the scenes between Mark Prin and Kimmy are truly funny and just super adorable. It does make you laugh out loud and ball up your fingers from the sweetness/cuteness. It's a fun drama to watch. Definitely worth a try. I did think they were dragging things out a bit towards the last two episodes but all the Khun Tam and Cha'em scenes leading up to it are pretty awesome.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Great series. The actors are very good and have some great dramatic scenes. Shun'ya Shiraishi and Ryohei Suzuki are very good together as brothers, the action is good. Akira (Shiaishi) is cool as ever. Good story and the imagination fills in most of the gore.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Yowamushi Pedal
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Yowamushi Pedal (Yowapeda) is one of my favorite (if not my #1) sports anime. I find it completely engrossing and many of the characters are endearing. I'm always hesitant to look at live actions not based on a slice of life because I think they tend to be awful This was not the case with Yowapeda. I really enjoyed it. So much so that I finished the all too short drama in read more 1 sitting.

The story revolves around Onoda Sakamichi, a freshman at Sohoku High School, who in his quest to revive the anime club and make friends realizes the joy of cycling and road racing. The one thing the Japanese excel at is storytelling. What other countries take 16-25+ episodes to tell, the Japanese tell in less than 12. It's no different here. The anime sometimes draws out some of the competition. The drama does not. It is very succinct. Yes, there are things missing, but you really don't need them. The story is very well told. Obviously, and I don't think this is a spoiler, they could not have covered the Inter High in 7 episodes. That's for season 2 (cross fingers).

The cast is good. Many of the characters never looked like high schoolers so it's no surprise that the majority of the actors look like HS is a decade or 2 (maybe 3) behind them. One thing that infuriates me with live actions is when the actors don't look like the characters they're playing. The character's hair is blonde or pink but the actor's hair is jet black. Huh? Not so with Yowapeda. I was pleasantly surprised to see that Makashima even had green hair with highlights. Naruko's hair is really red. Not only did they get the looks right, the voices were eerily like the seiyuu's for many of the characters, especially Naruko. I even compared the cast list to see if any of the actors were the same. That being said the acting itself was solid. No one will win an award but you know who they're playing and they do a good job.

The music is forgettable. I was really saddened that the "Hime" song Onoda sings is not in the live action for some reason. He has a song but it doesn't resonate or embarrass like Hime. If there is a second season, I would probably rewatch this season and go straight into the new one.

Overally the live action of Yowapeda is solid. It's fun to watch and slightly addictive.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No