Sort by:
Tomorrow With You
0 people found this review helpful
by Vick
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
Amazing drama!!!! really gives you a unique feel and there aren't a whole lot of dramas that have the tension and electricity that Yoo So Joon and Song Ma Rin have, i really felt they have good vibes and had great fun with their roles. The ending was... well we're not allowed to spoil it but it was very predictable and i couldn't help thinking that there was more to the story read more like someone was going to pop up right until the closing credits. i do recommend watching just on the sheer awesomeness of the story and the brilliant acting.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Day After We Broke Up
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
3 days ago
3 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I cried through almost all the episodes. This drama reminds me of an American movie I watched a long time ago. It's called "If Only".

THE STORY
I don't even know how to describe it without spoiling the show. After reading the comments, I thought the ending would be bad but it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. In the beginning, it seems like it's the same as every read more time slip drama you've seen before. But they actually made changes to make it unique in it's own. way.

THE ACTING
I liked all the characters. I love L. I agree with the comment that he needs to be in more dramas where he is the main lead. The girl is pretty good too. The little girl, who plays angel demon, I love her. She's so cute. Of course, Kang Nam Gil, I love it when he plays the lovable dad.

THE MUSIC
I love the OST. I can listen to it over and over. Infinite is one of my favorite bands and Myungsoo aka L is my first bias in the group.

REWATCH VALUE
I can definitely see myself re-watching this. Even though I cried multiple times, I think the story is short enough that I can revisit it later on.

OVERALL
I gave it a 9 because I didn't feel like it's the best drama I've seen. If you're not ready to commit to a regular long drama, then I definitely recommend watching this. It's short and sweet.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The K2
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
This drama is honestly so so good. I dig these kind of action dramas so I might be quite biased, but I read through the other reviews before posting mines so I think this is pretty accurate.

Story- 8/10 This drama started off so good and promising. I was hooked and the story was so good. This drama is a mix between romance, politics and revenge. Although I do have to admit, read more they didn't blend well together. It felt like there were 3 different settings in the same story. It didn't blend as well as the genres in DOTS blended. Anyways, as the drama started to progress around ep 12 or so I felt like the story was getting repetitive, none of my questions were answered and K2 was just a confusing mess at certain times. I completely agree with one of the reviews in the episode aspect---- after I finished an episode I would only find one thing that was new... the rest of the hour and 15 mins was .... idk... during the episode though I'm hooked and like oh yea!! This is so good but afterwards nothing really happened if I reflected on it lol. Nonetheless it's a pretty good story and well written. Not the strongest part of K2 though. Also, the ending for the villains were not good enough... I was not satisfied. After all that they did that's all they get???????? Korean dramas really need to step up their ending game. I know I say this in every review but oh my goodness I have yet to watch a kdramas w a satisfying ending.

Acting/cast: 10/10 THE REASON I FINISHED K2 is the cast! The cast is quite strong besides Yoona, I expected her to act badly but I was surprised. Her acting as Anna is very good compared to her previous performances---- she has improved a lot and fits the role well. But ofc compared to the excellent actresses she's quite average. Nothing special. I am an sone btw. Anyways, Chang wook was amazing as always. Ok and now *drumroll please* SONG YOON AH. Oh. My. Gosh. She is the best Korean actress I've ever watched! Usually, Korean actresses have a tendency to act in similar ways to each other but she acted in her own way and her portrayal as Choi yoo Jin was excellent. Also, for her age she's STUNNING. She's a beauty and a rare talent. Love her. Sung Won was awesome at acting too. Loved his portrayal. His smirks made me want to kick him off the face of this planet.

Music: 10/10 search up K2 ost on YouTube. Enjoy. You're welcome.

Rewatch: 3/10 I don't rewatch dramas I just finished.

Overall: 9/10 I recommend. Great great great acting!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Introverted Boss
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 3.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
So this drama was OK for the first episode. Until the girl started to annoy me. Had to drop this drama due to her character, basically. Honestly, the main guy was the primary reason why I started this drama (as I loved him in Marriage, Not Dating).
As mentioned, I had to drop this drama because of the girl. Get this, the girl has no respect to one's privacy and or to read more one's opinion. She was also very pushy and over-all over the top. Not sure if it's the actress's fault for not expressing or acting her character well or what but she or her character was a mess. Hate to say this but, the girl lead ruined a perfectly good drama for me.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
If you like historical dramas, this one won't disappoint you. It's well paced, the writing is solid and the story doesn't let you down for 30 episodes. There is a heartwarming romance, rousing action and heroes that you can really route for. It's about family ties and loyalty, camaraderie and standing up to fight for what's right - no matter the cost and no matter how bleak your chances.

Yoon Gyun Sang read more is really good as the Gil Dong. He is believable as the Mighty Child with superhuman strength that evolves into a rebel, but is equally believable when his character is beaten down and vulnerable. Kim Sang Joong is commanding as Amogae - Gil Dong's father- who lived most his life as a slave but realizes his strength and spirit. Watching him at times gave me goosebumps. I particularly loved the father-son relationship between him and both the adult Gil Dong and the young Gil Dong.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ka Badin
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
After starting on Meuan Khon La Faak Fah, I decided to watch some of the leads' other works to pass time while waiting for future episodes. That was when I realised that Thai TV channels only started getting HD in 2015. Can you believe that? Most (all) Thai dramas before that have really really really poor resolution (repetition for emphasis), and so I decided to watch Kha Badin which is in HD read more and has complete Chinese subtitles [1].

Kha Badin, being a historical drama, has less of the typical Thai drama tropes (hip, hip, hurray). It's supposedly about a man's fall from grace and his comeback. The protagonist is a nationalistic, loyal "servant of the King" who is willing to put national interests above personal gains. Very noble of him, of course. To me though, this drama is just a love story. If I were to write the synopsis myself, it'll be about a man being wrongly stripped of his ranks and a woman who stood by him, and how their relationship evolved from family (siblings-like) to lovers. It's not because I'm specifically looking out for romance, but I think the drama wasn't as successful in delivering its main theme as opposed to portraying the love between the leads.

Initially, I was really perplexed why they chose two leads who are not Thai-looking at all. I guess there's probably a lot of Thai Chinese/Chinese Thai (?) even back in the days so casting James Ma isn't that much of a stretch, but in spite of my adoration for Matt Peranee I can't fathom why they'd choose someone who won't even look out of place in a US TV series to act in a historical drama. It's also a little weird that Haym is supposed to be older than Lamduan, but she looks more like the elder sister (I guess James Ma just has a baby face since he looked younger than everyone except for teen Lamduan). Disregarding their appearances though, I think they did a decent job acting wise and had unexpected chemistry (especially after their reunion and in the last couple of episodes, so cute). Except... that James Ma always looked more creepy than romantic when speaking his "mushy" lines. He really needs to work on that. Matt Peranee is brilliant as always. I think she was filming a couple of dramas at the same time, so sometimes you could see the lethargy on her face. She did a great job with her character though, even though she may not look the part. I think it must be a testament to her acting that I don't find her jarring in a historical drama at all. On the other hand, Bua (played by Samai Maneerat) is interesting in that I'm not sure if the general unpleasant vibes I got from her character were deliberate or because of her stiffness. In any case, I guess she got the point across.

There are quite a lot of production flaws I spotted while watching the drama. The fighting scenes were especially lackluster. I wonder if it's because I'm used to watching Chinese dramas which tend to hire really famous martial arts directors to choreograph their fight scenes. Part of what contributed to the weak fighting was also the lack of power. They looked like they were just swinging their blades, but not using force. It doesn't help that the swords looked like (poorly-made) paper mache. The "blades" were so blunt that I wouldn't mind if any of the hits landed on me; they won't even leave a scratch. Moreover, there were no blood splatters initially, so the first couple of fighting scenes looked like rehearsals rather than the real thing.

However, the drama was entertaining throughout and funny at times. The plot wasn't very complicated and hence not as convoluted like other Thai dramas. The interactions between the lead characters were also enjoyable to watch. It's a drama I don't have many complaints about, which makes it better than 99% of Thai dramas already lol. I think 8.5 is slightly overrating it, but I don't mind going along with the flow once in a while.

-- Footnotes --

[1] For those who are interested in watching the drama with English subtitles, I believe a subbing team has recently taken on the project, and episode 1 is available already.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I have previously watched two other adaptions of The Legend Of Condor Heroes, 2003 and 2008. I think the current 2017 LOCH is probably the best among the 21st century ones.

I haven't read the book, yet (going to read), but I think this adaption covered the story pretty well, while also being humorous. Personally I think they did quite good job in choosing the cast. The main characters don't look too read more out of age thanks to the (rather) young rookie actors, reminding here that Huang Rong is supposed to be 15yo at the start of the series and Guo Jing 17-18(?). I had a lot of prejudice about the actors but after watching the series I can say that the casting was quite nice! Loved Li Yi Tong's Huang Rong, and Michael Miu's Huang Yao Shi. Guo Jing was also definitely more handsome than the previous ones. These two rookie actors did remarkable job imo.

I think this adaption concentrates maybe more on the youth of Guo Jing and Huang Rong, going more through their relationship. Of course LOCH was always about the adolescent of Guo Jin and how he became a big hero from a naive youngster after many hardships, but I do think that 2017 definitely put a lot time to show the pure "innocent" love between Guo Jing and Huang Rong.

Now for the bad points. Like the other review, I also have to say that this adaptions Mu Nianci was little bit disappointment, just lacked something. Personally I also disliked the bad CGI. It was tolerable but at some scenes it just looked ridiculously bad. E.G the condor shooting part. Would've appreciated if they had at least tried to make the angles right, there were some landscapes outside the window that were so crooked.

What I missed was a proper opening theme song. 2003 adaption's opening was epic, this time it was only instrumental music. But again, I did like the soundtrack songs.

Overall, very nice adaption.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
JIN
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Amazing drama. AMAZING. I was hooked from the very beginning. And what it is best, the last 3 or 2 episodes are not boring or dragging at all (something that I've been dealing with with the last doramas I've watched). Everything was excellent in this dorama. Excellent.

This is the first time I see a period drama (a Japanese period drama, that is). I learned so much. First, this character, Sakamoto Ryoma, read more who is one of Japan's hero (although you would not believe it in this show... he was more like a comedy relief, but I've read some text about him to be more informed). And then, their life styles. This is the 1862 year.

Top-notch things about this wonderful dorama:

- Cast: many familiar faces, but also some new ones. Ayase Haruka has never failed me. She is amazing in everything she does. I think I will like whatever she is in. She plays the daughter of an important family, and she wants to be a doctor (which was not possible in that time, for a woman). Needless to say, she looked gorgeous as Saki-sama, in her kimono and fancy hairdo. Her brother is Koide Keisuke, another actor that has never failed me. He may be a little to tamed here, but I liked him so much he could have said two words in the entire show and I would have still liked him. Other actor that I've recently started to like is Kiritani Kenta (as the doctor Saburi). He has such a funny face, and boy he can act! He was wonderful as the new doctor who practiced his studies with prostitutes. And then it is Nakatani Miki, as Miki and the courtesan Nokaze. WOW, what a pretty, elegant lady. I have seen her only in one movie ("Densha Otoko") and I wasn't impressed. She was too plain, in looks and in acting. Boy did I change my mind! She is beautiful, she moved me with her acting as both Nokaze and Miki. She was so elegant and lady-like as the courtesan. Everything, from her voice to her little movements, were majestic. OMG, even her little feet were elegant. I love her smile, I can't believe I once thought she was plain.

The new faces, for me, were first, Ozawa Takao as Jin. Excellent his role as the doctor. I don't think I will be able to see him in another role, he WAS Dr. Jin. He traveled in time, from present time to Edo time. It was not hard to put into his shoes. Everything he did -every life he saved, every person he met- could change history, and he was afraid of it. But more than anything, he was a doctor, so of course he changed perspectives; his and the people he met. I could understand why two strong females, like Saki and Nokaze, fall in love with him. He was just, he was kind, he was skillful. On the other hand, I could not take sides. I loved Saki, she was an independent woman who was interested in medicine. I loved Nokaze, who had a very sad past and wanted her freedom. I loved Miki, Nokaze's great-great-great-granddaughter and present girlfriend. I could understand why Jin was so aware of the little photograph he took with him (where he and Miki were posing. With every change he made into history, the photograph changed). I don't know how this will end... and although I hate love triangles -or love squares- I wish Jin all the happiness and wisdom to chose a woman among these wonderful women.

At first I thought the actor had a funny face... a bit weird, since his eyes are very apart. But with every laugh I liked him more. He had those tiny wrinkles that made him attractive, he has a nice body and nice teeth. On the other hand, he has a huge Adam's apple (is it weird to take notice of that??)

The actor who played Dr. Ogata was also wonderful. First time I see this man. He did a good job playing the most important doctor in this little town. I was moved by his tears. And I was convinced of his importance and intelligence.

The little boy... waaa, I had tears in my eyes when he was crying for his mother. At first I thought he was a bit annoying and not a good actor, but he proved me wrong with the scene with his mother.

Oh, and Kohinata Fumiyo has a small role as well! He was, of course, wonderful. WOW the number of roles he played so far! One of the most prolific Japanese actors.

The man who played Ryoma-san was good, first time I see him. I just did not like his role that much, mainly because of the way he talked, and also because I just couldn't make up my mind that a guy like him has been the most important guy in Japan history. He was just too... he took things like a joke, which is fine of course, but as Ryoma-san... not so much I guess.


- Setting: the backgrounds were beautiful. The houses -so Japanese-, the gardens! The little red district... the trees! Houses were wide and so clean.

- Costumes: Saki's kimonos and Nokaze's... O_O WOW, beyond gorgeous. Their hairstyles, Nokaze's high shoes, her make-up. I loved one of Saki's kimono which was pink. Or another that was blue with little flowers. Scratch that, I loved ALL her kimonos! From the top of their heads to their tiny feet... everything was pretty.

- The surgeries: I am one of those people that cannot see blood... and since Jin is a doctor who has to perform surgeries -brain surgery, skin surgery, breast surgery...- everything looked very real. I was like O_O OMG. And of course, praying that Jin could save his or her life. It did not always happen -obviously- but I was so happy when he did.

- Soundtrack: the ending song not so much. But the opening and the one that accompanied the most important scenes (by Takami Yu). It was sweet and a bit sad and just beautiful. I loved it and I am currently searching it to have it on my playlist. One of my favorite dorama songs.

Before I decided to watch it, I've read several reviews in order to decide. Most of the reviews said that the end was not good. I think it was good, a bit of a cliffhanger but not a life-or-death problem. It ended like it was supposed to end. Some get their happy ending, some get a HFN. A perfect way to continue a 2nd season, but for people who did not like it so much, it can also end here.

Rewatch value is 100% since I have watched it already twice.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Moon Lovers: Scarlet Heart Ryeo
0 people found this review helpful
by Afi
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I LOVED this drama. LOVED. LOVED. It is the only drama with a score as high as 9.5 on my own drama list.

FULL DISCLOSURE: I had never watched or heard about the Chinese version before I watched MLSHR. I did not have an inkling of how it would end. I had no preconceived notions of what is "supposed" to happen.

I did not start out liking this drama, I confess. I read more watched it to gratify my friend who begged me to watch it just so she could have someone to discuss the drama with. The first few episodes didn't interest me much. It was fun, interesting, enjoyable with a few cliched moments but I didn't invest much in it emotionally and I thought that it would go in the makjang-ish direction.

Oh, how wrong I was. About halfway through the show (EP 9-10) when I had grown an emotional connection to the characters, learned to tell the princes apart (both physically and learn their different personalities), I knew this drama would be something special for me. There were moments before EP 10 which pulled on my heartstrings but I resisted them because I had almost made up my mind not to invest in this drama. But the drama pulled me in, it roped me in, it trapped me; I could barely resist. I let go. It was in EP 10 I let myself fall in love with this drama and let it take me where it was going.

Around EP 12-15, where I find most dramas drag and lag and slow down and a lot is very skippable and expected, this drama picks up its pace. There are unexpected twists and turns and the fast pace kept me hooked and wanting more.

EP 16-20 were a beautiful conclusion to this story. For me, the ending was heartbreaking but beautiful. Unexpected but strangely satisfying. In spite of the tragedy there was still reconciliation and hope.

The soundtrack was beautiful. CBX's For You after the last scene in EP 20 brought on the waterworks for me. It was a lively but romantic song that reminded us of the lighter first few episodes and so intensified the pain of the last few. Davichi's Forgetting You and Lee Hi's My Love were absolutely beautiful and have been on my playlist since November. Epik High and Lee Hi's Can You Hear My Heart was a beauty too, though not absolutely appropriate for the more solemn moments. Im Sun Hye's Will Be Back was the well known "Death" song of the series and just a bit emotionally manipulative but I still love it so much though. When it came to the score, Pastoral Morning seemed to carry so much nostalgia and hope in it.

All the flashbacks were relevant and beautiful. The theme of nostalgia, reminiscing and looking back on one's life were heavy in the last few episodes and it was so affecting because that's what we all do when anything (our lives, a stage in our lives, a programme) is coming to an end: look back.

The princes with their varying personalities were all a delight to watch. Wang Eun was very little brother. Wang Wook was the virtuous one. Wang Jung was steady, brave, a fighter. Baek Ah was so flower boy but so loyal. So loyal. (In fact, my friend and I joked that MLSHR is a love story between Baek Ah and Wang So in which Hae Soo features). Wang Moo was more "uninvolved in their little games but wish them well" older brother. Wang Yo was the bad guy you grow to feel pity for. Wang Won was his sheep. And Wang So. Wang So. How can put Wang So in words? There are no words.

He was unpredictable, likeable, determined to keep what was his, and most of all, relateable. He has insecurities and hurts but he faces the future with determination. He will love and protect the ones he loves until the end. At first, he seems like your cliched "arrogant with a good heart" male lead but he is so much more than that.

The series stayed with me for months after I had watched it. I have never watched a drama that was so difficult to forget. I read fan theories, campaigned for a season 2, tried to get my friends to watch it, read up on the histories of the characters, participated in forum discussions, had dreams about this drama (literally, dreams about this drama at night. In my sleep. Vivid REM dreams).

So, why am I not giving it a 10?

First, Hae Soo. the lead was actually one of the most forgettable people in this show. She is nice and even likeable but not particularly interesting because the events seem to be happening to her. She doesn't take an active role very often. She does a few times, though.

Second. The romance between Baek-Ah and Woo-hee is not developed well. Baek-Ah and Woo-Hee's love story interested me but left me confused a lot of the time. I am not necessarily asking for more screen time, just better clarifications about why they did certain things they did. (This is me trying not to include spoilers) Wang Eun and Soon Deok, for example, had a lot less screen time as a couple than they did, but their story made so much more SENSE to me than Baek-Ah's and Woo-Hee's.

Third. The drama was so reverse harem. I would have been more satisfied if one less prince had been in love with her.

For me, this drama was so satisfying because of how much MORE I wanted at the end. I know for some people, this makes it unsatisfying but not me. Quite the opposite, in fact.

I watched BBJX after this. I still preferred this version and was glad that they stuck to the plot while taking some liberties of their own. I like that the ending was not exactly the same and that her relationships with the princes, while generally sticking to the same story, was developed in a slightly different way. One missing thing was that she didn't have as close a relationship with 13th prince in the Korean one. I didn't miss it the first time I watched MLSHR but after I watched BBJX, I wished it had been present.

In conclusion, this drama is everything I expect from a tragic romance. Be prepared to fall into the characters and their world and their loves and hates and hopes and disappointments.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
If you're wondering whether you should watch it or not, you definitely SHOULD. The Plot is all over the place and could've been much better. I still don't quite get why Gong Yoo should be a Goblin. The main Antagonist feels very weak and kind of unnecessary the show could've done without him altogether. They seem to complicate things far more than they should for no reason. The age gap between the read more two main couple annoyed me at first since both of them are great actors but they do much better when they have a partner with sizzling chemistry but I chose to ignore it and just enjoy it. The acting and the comedy makes up for some of the plot holes. I sometimes wished they would've gotten the fantasy genre out of the drama altogether because they seemed like they couldn't commit much to it. They wanted the Goblin and the Grim reaper's powers without all the complicated background.However, despite all this I finished it yesterday and I felt so sad I couldn't sleep. The soundtrack is really beautiful and all the character's acting is top notch. It felt like I've been watching this for a lot longer than just 16 episodes, which makes sense, since one episode is an hour and a half basically. I think the best way to enjoy this kind of Drama is to not get too worked up about what's going to happen at the end but to fully enjoy the scenes in every episode and treat it as a single movie. The two main male characters are my favorite thing in the drama. They even have more friendly/brotherly chemistry than the main couple. Gong Yoo is amazing as usual, I can't get over how well he can really portray every single emotion with just his eyes. Lee Dong Wook was adorable here. I love the two female leads as well they did a great job. I loved every character presented here Mr. Kim the secratary, Yu Chairman and Deok Hwa were so adorable and such scene stealers. This is probably my favorite ensemble cast for 2017.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Noble, My Love
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This is a cute little offering if you don't have the time to get involved in hour long, 20 to 30 episode dramas. Don't get me wrong, I love a good drama as much as the next person but sometimes when you're watching 30 episodes that are an hour each the situations are so repetitive and you want to shout at the screen and tell the characters to get it together already! read more That's where Noble, My Love comes into play. Yes, it's 20 episodes but they are all super short and range from 15 to 18 minutes each. But don't worry in that time frame they manage to do an excellent job weaving a story about one arrogant chaebol and one adorably cute headstrong veterinarian that meet, hate each, but find their happily ever after together. This one isn't without fault as the characters do spend a lot of time hating each other and a lot less being in love. The love aspect is a bit rushed as well as suddenly they go from hating each other to really enjoying being together but hey, like all dramas you have suspend all sense of reality and just go with the flow. The ending was a little rushed but all in all, if you don't have the time or patience to get involved with an epic drama or just need a break from longer dramas this is a perfect little cute romance you can watch super fast without putting a ton brain power into it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love O2O
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
Honestly in my Top 5 Asian Dramas of All Time

There weren't a lot of angsty moments or miscommunications (of course it's a drama so there needs to be SOME, but not a lot thank God). It's honestly just a drama that you can just watch again and again - I find myself coming back to this drama no matter how many other shows I watch.

One thing that stood out for read more me was the friendships - the relationships between characters were done really well, and there was a lot of humour in the show. Lots of characters that were really sweet, cute or charismatic and made you love them ie. Bei Wei Wei (female lead) isn't some helpless girl - she's smart, funny, awesome at gaming and she has a great sense of humour. ALSO THERE IS AN EVENTUAL POSSIBLE BL COUPLE AND THEY'RE ADORABLE (just saying).

Seriously, watch this show! Each ep is 45 mins and they fly by! AND you can watch it on Youtube with Eng subs. It's also worth finding the English translation of the original books, because the author has written several short side stories that take place in the future, and give a sense of completion to their story that I don't think the series did.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I don't have enough words to describe how much I loved this drama! It made me laugh, cry and get so invested in the characters. I was that addicted to this drama that I looked forward to the new episodes every week and between them I would read all the recaps available online. :P

I really love the fantasy/supernatural themed dramas and thought this story was very unique featuring reincarnation, grim reapers, read more goblins, demigods etc it was very in depth. My only gripe and it is a very small one...is that I found the romance unsatisfying for me. Ji Un Tak seemed so young to me compared to Kim shin that I almost felt uncomfortable. Also Ji Un Tak seemed a bit immature even though she had so many hardships.

The bromance relationship definitely interested me more than the romance, Kim shim and the grim reaper just have such a fun relationship and are so similar it was great. The cast was of course A-M-A-Z-I-N-G especially with Gong Yoo and Lee Dong Wook.

This is now one of my all-time faves, why are you reading this? Go watch this drama now! You owe it to yourself :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Introverted Boss
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I was really looking forward to this drama and did enjoy it for a while but I found it quite average.

The story was pretty good with a couple of twists and did make me laugh with just the difference of personalities in the leads. The female lead was great but I found that the Eun Hwan Ki had a lot of goofy personality traits, obviously designed to show how introverted he read more was. As an introvert myself I found some of his traits funny but others almost offended me in its portrayal. I guess its called drama for a reason though.

Overall I thought it was a nice average drama with a cutesy heartwarming feel despite the tragic events.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
4 days ago
4 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Romantic Doctor, Teacher Kim is very heartwarming and teaches you so many lessons – I finally understood that after I finished watching. Despite the high rating this drama receives on MDL, I did put this one off for months for the fact that the poster and the title suggest a very melodramatic non-romantic drama. How ironic.

I'm glad I finally gave it a try. This one is going to be on my read more top 5 for a very long time. It's a perfect mix of medical, comedy and romance. Yes, there is great comedy if that's what you normally look for. I would vote this as an equivalent to the American TV series 'House MD'.

First of all, out of all Asian medical dramas I've seen, I really think this one has done the best job. It doesn't take medical elements too lightly, yet it doesn't get too obsessed with 'showing off' medical knowledge either. The story sets inside a hospital, it progresses as they treat patients, there's blood, there's surgeries, and they definitely make you believe everything is real and enjoy every procedure at the same time.

The characters are probably the show's forte. Everyone is great at what he/she does. There are a lot of dramas/movies that go for the 'clumsy' or 'unskilled' main characters who get by because of their 'cute' or 'nice' personality and basically 'pure luck'. That kind of characters belong to romcoms. Romantic Doctor's characters are rather smart in a very likable way. They're not too good to be true also. They do make mistakes, and they also teach you a lot of lessons as they fix them. Characters from main to even some small patients develop in a very satisfying way.

At the same time, the titular character Teacher Kim is the gem of the show. His every word combines into countless inspirational quotes. He's witty and funny and can be sarcastic at times, yet he's very dependable like a father figure to so many characters in the drama. The term 'romantic' isn't used that often in the drama to describe him, however. I did expect that to happen since it's the title of the show. But after watching the entire show, I finally understand why he calls himself like so. "Romantic" here is as in his 'positive, idealistic, hopeful yet realistic' view of life. It's not the 'love and relationship' kind of romantic. It's not about him and his love interest at all. I rather find this point refreshing.

There's also comedy in this drama – actually there is a lot more comedy than you can imagine. Teacher Kim's frequent sarcastic remarks are already funny enough, and the quirky supporting characters add a lot to that. It's not the slapstick kind of comedy, by the way. You've got to know that the tone of this drama is not dark or melancholic at all just because it's set in a hospital and the poster looks gloomy. I smiled and laughed a lot.

Compared to other romance-medical drama, I'd say this one has less romance. Still, it's definitely there. In down moments when they take a break from their main medical scenes, the romance will keep coming back to remind you that it's there, and it's really cute and worth the wait.

I really liked the cast in this one. Everyone has done an amazing job at portraying their roles. I'm so glad they don't go for the unrealistic good-looking doctors. Honestly, this might be a disgrace to the actors, but I'd say they're good-looking just enough to look believable as doctors – not as models walking around the hospital like some medical dramas go for.

Also, after finishing this, the drama special 'Master Kim's First Love' is a must-watch. It should even be considered the 21st/final episode of this series because a lot of unanswered questions will be answered there. It makes the entire show complete.

I don't remember any song from this drama, but I still think it's a medical drama, so OSTs aren't their main point. I also don't choose to re-watch a drama very easily. I wouldn't choose to re-watch this one so soon also because I personally don't need to see all those technical scenes over again. I gave it a fairly high 8/10, however, to honor such a great drama.

I had an amazing experience, and you will as well.

EDIT: I just found the full OST album of this drama, and, wow, it's got an entire album full of quality compositions. If you take time to appreciate them one-by-one with headphones, you'll feel the passion of this drama from it. Still, I'm not changing my scores because this good music barely received spotlight during the show.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No