Sort by:
The K2
1 people found this review helpful
by Zoe
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
My relationship with this drama spiraled completely out of control towards the ending. For most of the drama, I wasn't that interested, I watched it over a couple of months. But now, I've just finished this and I’m a little shattered.

This show is called K2 for a reason. It’s all about Ji Chang Wook’s role and everyone else is sort of useless. It really shows in Episode 13 when Ji Chang read more Wook is working hard and using his brains and the politicians are shaking hands and his girlfriend is lying in bed watching TV, and the secret agents are peeling beans in the kitchen.
The drama takes a while to get interesting. It’s a gentle and subtle sort of story but it stays with you and the big moments are big moments. I like the sort of strange premise of bad guys getting beaten by other bad guys and then taken care of by the good guys.
It’s really interesting to see how Je Ha can sympathise with Madame even while knowing how perfectly evil she is and how he can be nice to her while even knowing the full extent of her selfishness. And he hides his contempt well and he sees so clearly right through her.

Je Ha – male lead
I've only seen Ji Chang Wook in Healer. Je Ha has more confidence than Jung Hoo from Healer. I think Je Ha’s attitude was really great. He was always useful, always willing, yet always in control.

“He’s not a hunting dog. He’s a wolf.”

JCW’s character is both action and brains. You gotta love that. One of the skills of Koreans is getting into the heart of the matter. They really know how to hit a bad guy where it hurts.
I love how ruthless JCW is.
If Yoo Jin insults him with her petty ways he takes it up a level.
There’s nothing more satisfying than getting under the bad guy’s skin.

I'm not one for political thrillers. But this one reeled me right in. The characters are chilling.
I really loved Je Ha's snarky language, “your unsolicited concern” and “So all you people need to do is pray that I get through each and every day alive, no matter what” hahahah

He doesn’t let anyone step on him. And it’s interesting how verbal he is with getting what he wants. He’s not a “hit first talk later” kind of guy.

With his relationship with Yoo Jin, I think he also sees a bit of himself in her. The way she fights so hard and isn’t afraid to get her hands dirty to survive.

Ji Chang Wook is so good at being badass and vulnerable in a heart beat. I like how Je Ha is confident of his own value.
He’s actually pretty tough in the romance and I liked that. He doesn’t give a lot when he doesn’t want to. He’s confident with the way he handles Anna.

Anna – female lead

Yoona kind of gets the short end of the stick. Her role is not very exciting at all. All she does is cry and scream and tremble. I think her appeal for Je Ha is that he has found a creature who is more forlorn and bizarre than him. I liked that he had compassion for her, that he was interested in her. It was cute.
She was kind of like his pet. Like a tamagochi. When she went all prickly it was satisfying to see her being won over by Je Ha’s chivalry. I wasn’t sure if I’d like the relationship between her and Je Ha but Ji Chang Wook has got so much chemistry, I shouldn’t have worried. Just a word from Je Ha, and Anna starts thinking of other people instead of just herself and it’s really nice how she applies her revelation straight away.
I really liked that he talked some sense into her. He called her a cry baby hahaha.
I really like that even though the mother was the victim, the drama didn’t sugar coat her personality and her flaws. Anna knew to remember her fully and not just as the perfect dead mother.
When Anna starts interacting with people, it’s actually really fun.
Anna’s character is pretty weak but she was pretty damn useful and quick in a fight.

There’s a surprising amount of equality in the relationship.

Yoo Jin
“I’ve never betrayed anyone who’s never betrayed me before.”

I like that Madame Yoo Jin is so seldom sincere that the people around her can’t even detect her vulnerable moments because they think she’s just up to something.

“She’s the type to not shed blood in public even when she’s been shot!”

I was worried about her being annoying, but I kind of rooted for her as well. I liked the way she was calculating and how if someone made her uncomfortable she would make them uncomfortable right back.
In a way, I thought it would be more fun if she was more cold, and we later got to see her break. But, I guess it’s alright that she has a lot of observable pain right from the start.

I really like the filming when Madam calls Je Ha “K2” before the mission. I loved how the drama showed that Madame cared about Je Ha.

“If you find yourself in a situation that’s too dangerous, it’s ok to come back.”

I like how the plot came down to the two siblings.

I also liked how Choi Yoo Jin’s scary relationship with her husband progressed.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
#1 ON MY FAVORITE DRAMA LIST! I'LL NEVER GET TIRED WATCHING THIS OVER AND OVER AGAIN!!
SWEEEEG!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Tomorrow With You
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
SO SWEET COUPLE!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Introverted Boss
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
Summary: This show is a semi-mediocre plot with a surprisingly great male lead. If you are a fan of Yeon Woo Jin, I would highly suggest this drama as he is very lovable and plays a truly unique personality that's not often seen in any leading characters. Also, it would probably be best when binged watched as you won't have much time to be bored with the somewhat slow progression of the read more story. Finally, I feel like the conclusion of the show leaves the greatest impact on how well you remember and like a drama and I felt like it was just a little blah, nothing outstanding.

+/- Plot:
The initial episodes of the drama were all over the place--at times it felt like the writers were trying to grasp at too many genres, a little horror, a little comedy, obviously romance. It just felt a little messy, like they were trying for too many things and weren't excelling at any of them. It's not until about the 5th episode where we find out some of the backstory, which makes this drama satisfactory--so if you're interested in watching this show make sure to keep that in mind! In the beginning of the show I was completely opposed to having such an introverted lead, but as I struggled through the episodes I developed a further understanding of him and even grew to be fond of him--just as many of the other co-workers. The key that makes this show achieve the minimal amount of greatness it has is all due to Yeon Woo Jin's character and his slow, but steady progression towards opening up to others and coming out of his shell. Every time there was a scene where he would honestly speak his mind I was honestly moved by what he had to say; not only because of the encouragement and approval he spoke, but also because we came to understand the difficulty he went through to do so.
Overall, the progression of the story is a bit slow and felt that it was a bit too unrealistic as the female lead basically forgives the unforgivable. However, I can't say that this drama was a complete failure as I enjoyed a decent portion of it, and am also a fan of the theme selected by the writers. This show is all about being comfortable with yourself, no matter what others may think of you, and finding strength in those around you to help you through times of struggle rather than relying on your own abilities. And because we got to see some character development, in terms of Yeon Woo Jin, in the direction of these themes I can't complain.

+/- Character/Acting:
As I stated before Yeon Woo Jin is the show stopper in this drama. Prior to watching this show, I had never seen any of his other works so I was quite shocked and pleased with his performance and portrayal of his character. He plays his sweet, yet introverted personality very convincingly and makes it even relatable to the audience as I'm sure even extroverts have experienced at least one of his situations.
Park Hye Soo played out her cute role well, however in the introductory episodes I found her character very, very annoying. It isn't until about a quarter of the way through the show where this starts to get toned down a bit and the cutesy traits are turned up instead. While her acting wasn't outstanding, because of the opposites in the two personalities I thought that the two worked well together--they had a decent amount of chemistry, which was better than I expected.
The second leads, Yoon Park and Gong Seung Yeon, were also a little annoying throughout the show. Primarily because of their character's personalities. But I guess with the progression of the show we come to understand them and their choices a little better. Gong Seung Yeon played out her character well, however because of her character's issues I was thoroughly disappointed with her development as I felt that almost in an instant she made a 180 turn towards mental stability. Yoon Park's character also seemed to deal with some issues of self-worth which were likewise, magically fixed--there was hardly any development of either of these second leads and because of it I felt like there were some missing elements to the show.

+/- Music:
The majority of this drama's OST is quite bubble-gummy and I'm really not a fan of the genre, so it was a miss for me.

Rewatch Value: I'm going to have to say I wouldn't rewatch this show, simply because there wasn't anything too outstanding about it. I enjoyed it while I was watching and for that I'm grateful for all the efforts that went into making this show.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hwarang
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
This drama did not take the route I thought it would. At first it seems more focused around the idea of friendship then it takes a turn towards romance. Do not get me wrong, I love the light-hardheartedness this drama focused around and it had you attached to every character.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Lovely Girl
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
I'm not really going to bash this show so much, Honestly I could give it a lower rating I get that, but it was an OK show.

Story: The story of this centers around a music making company, mainly it being the romance between the producer, and he new rising songwriter. That the basic gist of I'm really can't go into much detail due to trying not to go into spoiler territory. read more The story I give a 7

Acting/Cast: I have a lot to say about the cast this time around. This was my first Rain drama, which I see now why many people love him. He a great actor, and I want to see him in more dramas after this. Krystal was the main female lead, and I was like OK with her performance. L the last guy I want o over with his performance, I like his character which made his performance great. The acting/cast I give a 9.5.

Music: For music their was really nothing that captured my attention. L song in the show was great though, and that was really great to hear. The music I give an 8.5.

Re Watch/ Overall: For a re watch value, I give it an 2, I will probably never re watch this. An overall value though is a 9, at least see if you can watch this once.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nightmare Teacher
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
The teacher was so creepy but charming! I loved his character, even though I also wanted to stay very far away from him and protect the students from him. I really enjoyed this drama and even though the ending was a TINY bit predictable, I would still rewatch this one if I wanted a bit of creepy to liven up my night :D

I liked the acting, and they behaved pretty much read more appropriately for high school kids. Making mistakes, dealing with insecurity, putting up a front to cover up insecurity, all things I did in school and can relate to.

I don't know if this counts as spoilers but if it does I'm very sorry! This next part I really, really liked and wanted to talk about so I tried to keep it vague.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

The third girl was my favorite, the writer. She wrote her fantasy, something I think all of us has done before and then realized how horrible it is in real life to have that kind of person with you. It says a lot about YA romance and how the perfect guy is sold to us in those types of books and tv shows. It also shows how much she doesn't know about writing characters that have more depth than the shallow, shiny parts. I feel like if I had seen something like this when I was 14, I wouldn't have had such crazy expectations in high school. I partially blame hormones and the fact guys at that age were annoying as heck, but I wasted too much time trying to be perfect so I could 'earn' my perfect guy and that just isn't reality. I know now how silly I was, but it was fun to see that in a character on the show.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Eternal Love
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
5 days ago
5 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
This drama will forever be in my heart. The most memorable drama I've seen this year so far and one of the best Chinese Wuxia dramas I've seen. I took so many screencaps, I'm saving them. I'll probably post some later cos I'm going thru a major withdrawal right now. >.< I've never in my life watched a drama past 40+ episodes long that's almost an hour long each. It was a read more challenge I was willing to accept and I did it. I've never loved a drama so much in a long while to the point where I watched all the behind the scenes videos raw, and the rest of the drama raw cos I couldn't wait for the rest of the episodes subbed. I was hoping DF released all episodes in one go and made it premium so I could finish it but then that never happened. Lol~ Still, 2 episodes every weekday wasn't and isn't as bad as 1 or 2 episodes a week like other dramas. I absolutely love and enjoy Chinese, (wuxia/historical/fantasy) dramas like these. I tend to shy away from these cos they usually end up in tragedy and I don't like watching historical dramas that ends in tragedy. That's a two in one combo I CANNOT and refuse to handle.

The story was brilliant! The synopsis sold me when I saw the words: "Immortals, Gods, Goddesses, and Demons". I'm all for those types of fantasies with magical, mythical being who has powers. I'm a huge sucker for genres like this. Everything about this drama was stunning. From the setting/cinematography, to the actors and their costumes/clothing which was mesmerizing. But what was even more beautiful was the love story. My cruise that had set sail. (I'll take more about that in the comment section cos I don't wanna spoil for others who might want to watch).

The acting was superb. Being a huge fan of Yang Mi was what got me to watch the drama in the first place. But then I saw that Dilmurat, Vengo and Vin, and that really got me more into the drama. Their characters were awesome. But that one cast member that surprised me the most was Mark. It's my first time seeing him in a drama and I must say, I was highly impressed with is acting. ? He's definitely on my list of favorite actors. ^^ To be honest, all the actors were amazing, even the supporting actors/actresses. Although I don't mind seeing Yang Mi in modern dramas, I definitely love her in these type of dramas. She definitely does shine in them. She portrayed her characters very well. I loved little A-Li~ How could I not mention little A-Li! A bundle of cuteness. All the actors just made it more memorable and awesome to watch.

The Music/OST is utterly beautiful and alluring to hear/listen to. Absolutely loved it. From when there was sweet moments(you'll hear sweet melody) to when there's an epic battle/fight scenes (you'll hear something powerful that goes along with what you're watching, putting you at the edge of your seat)

I will definitely rewatch this and I'm going to start downloading each episode some time soon. I didn't skip any episodes nor did it feel long and draggy, in fact, I wanted more episodes. Lol >w<

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS! WHOLEHEARTEDLY! NO HESITATIONS, JUST GO FOR IT. I PROMISE, YOU WILL LOVE AND ENJOY EVERY MOMENT OF IT.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Master's Sun
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
Before I commence the review, I must admit that I am hopelessly and helplessly in love with So JiSub. After "I'm sorry, I love you" I placed him on the "This man can do no wrong" pedestal and he'd have to demean himself by putting out a shitty as fuck production like "General and I" for me to feel some typa way about him and even then, I'd probably chalk it up read more to some excuse on his behalf. I have the kind of love for him that if he were to toss out his toenail clippings, I'd be the creep that would gather them around, encase them in a titanium built capsule and put it under my pillow for safekeeping.

So obviously, it was because of him that I started watching this drama. However, despite my unconditional inclination towards him, I'm not the kind of person who'd give out a biased review and so to be completely honest, even though Master's Sun has a lot of perks, it isn't as dazzling and mind blowing as people claim it to be.
I mean an 8.8 rating? Hm dramalist, you know that's pushing it a little bit, no? But then again, if trash like Love O2O can get as high, I think we'll let it slide.

Story:

Even though the premise of this show is quite unique, it hasn't truly escaped the KDrama cliche. You've got your recurring theme of amnesia, the "I love you so I'll let you go" bs, the martyr-esque actions on the hero's behalf, the unnecessary back and forth love between the main leads and of course the irrelevant draggy parts where the creators thought of prolonging the story into further two hour episodes instead of wrapping it up in one like it should've been.

However, the reason why all of these minor flaws are overlooked is because this drama gives so much joy. All the characters are extremely likable and throughout its episodes it somehow manages to maintain a steady rhythm that keeps the viewers interested. Every episode has a new ghost story, while simultaneously having a backbone that gave the serial its direction. The characters develop beautifully; they grow into themselves and by the last episode all of them had evolved into mature and three-dimensional personas.

Cast:

The thing I love about So JiSub is that he always delivers a performance where I can look past his name and immerse my self into the character he plays. When I watched Master's Sun, it wasn't So JiSub that made me relentlessly crack up, rather it was President Joo.
The best term to describe Joo Joong Won is adorably nasty. He's very materialistic, selfish and practical and yet he radiates innocence. When he's being a brat and telling people to get lost, instead of getting offended you can't help but want to squeeze his cheeks. Every thing that comes out of his mouth is just plain hilarious.

Countless of times, I had to press the pause button so that I could get my laughter in control. He's incredibly witty and his comebacks always gave me so much life. At the same time he is a very loyal and devoted man and you can't stop all the warm and gooey feels that erupt wherever he's concerned. I swear, I'd be his candy girl a thousand times over.

This is my first drama by Gong Hyo Jin and I admit that I was a little apprehensive. Not gonna lie, I'm a pretty shallow person and even though I preach about inner beauty, I do like my characters to be pretty. Tae Gong Shil literally held up her middle finger in the face of every single stereotype that society associates with beauty. Her hair has never seen a brush, she stinks, she has major panda eyes, her clothing is "drab" (if we're being kind) and she doesn't give enough fucks to be embarrassed about it whatsoever.

Now starring against a man who's so incredibly handsome is very hard when you're playing such a supposedly dull character. However, soon enough you start to see her pretty heart and you start to love her for who she really is. She is kind hearted, strong and persistent. Even though in the beginning she appears to be an insecure and weak woman, soon we discover the deadly claws she's been hiding. She's extremely blunt for what she wants and if she wants you to know you're no good, best believe you'll know it. She can cut you up pretty nicely and later in the show she more than makes up for all the times she had to deal with Joo Joong's shit.

One very refreshing thing about this drama was how honest the main leads were with each other. They don't have the same petty misunderstandings that usually plague KDrama relationships. They have conversations, they talk and stabilize themselves as independent people before being together and that was something I really respected.

The side characters are also pretty amazing. Secretary Kim, Kang Woo, Yi Riyeong, Joo Won's aunt, her husband and even Tae Gong Shil's older sister and her blabbermouth brought their own to the show.

This serial has so much fluff and happiness and is truly a feel good drama. Despite all this though, I don't think I'll be rewatching it anytime soon for it doesn't bring forth drastic bursts of emotion and isn't exactly a never before seen phenomenon.
It has a more of a "enjoy it while it lasts and then say goodbye" vibe. And that's exactly what I'm doing for despite all of its cuteness, it isn't something you cannot let go of.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Battle of Changsha
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Family comes First. Close Family ties. That will teach you in this drama. This is my first time to watch a war drama and I can't believe that I will love this. The Hu family will be remain in my heart forever. Taking care of each other no matter what or how difficult it was. The cinematography, characters all of it was perfect!!!

Plot: This was a slow pace from episode 1-10. read more But please don't stop. It just built the story for the cast and after episode 10 it will be a good drama. It gave the feeling the hardship of being in the war and no one is exception for this.
Characters: Not gonna lie at first I started to watch it because of Wallace huo but at the end you will love all the characters. My favorite characters are:
1. Xue Jun Shan- This guy was an epitome of a good pillar of the house. At first you will be annoyed to him but in the end I've became a fan of him so much. I cried. A very kind and caring brother-in-law. A funny guy, a loving husband, a good friend. So I got teared up while writing this one..
2. Gu Qing Ming- A very honest and dedicated military officer indeed. I must say he surpass his acting in the love me if you dare. He gave a pure and honest emotion. My favorite scene is when he interacts with Jun Shan. They really look like brothers...
3. XiangXiang- At first I was really annoyed to xiangxiang but she really matured in the middle of the story. The fiesty xiangxiang was so perfect to arrogant but kind Gu Qing Ming..

Some of the characters that I like is the assistant of Gu qing ming and Jun Shan they are very loyal. I love also the major general of quing ming.

Overall this will be one of my favorite and it open my heart to try different genre. I will definitely watch it again. Thank You Battle of Changsha
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Eternal Love
8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
As a person who initially watched this drama because there was nothing else to watch on the korean side post-goblin, I went into it only knowing who Yangmi was (in the cast).
I have to say, poster/stills wise, the cast didn't look impressive (besides Yangmi that is) so I pretty much had no expectations. Boy was I pleasantly surprised by the end of it.

To be fair, the first few episodes was read more pretty bland. Definitely needed though, to set up the characters. I recall thinking, this God Moyuan is really easy on the eyes, with his facial hair and all. And that was pretty much it.
Things really picked up when Yehua came into the picture - from the snake/dragon troupe, to him for the first time in his life receiving unconditional affection from another, to him trying to woo the girl as repayment, to him falling in love etc. it was all so innocent and pure... which was all a set up for the incoming storm of angst, pain and tragedy that was coming for our two main leads. I'm not a person who backs away from angst ... I feel that the story is much more complex, worthwhile and a better investment when done right, and I feel this drama was the exact definition of that. Sure, it was painful, but at the same time, I was able to appreciate the acting scope of the actors, and in particular, Mark Chao (I could write a whole essay about how thoroughly impressed I was by him). One of the key moments in this drama, where he is forced to do something so terribly wrong to Susu, was probably the same moment when I realised that this guy isn't the stereotypical chinese male lead (sorry, but not many chinese actors cut it for me - they just do the pretty well ...). He is a true actor with huge emotional range. This was truly confirmed by the iconic bts of the same scene - where it showed him being so affected by the scene that he kept crying after "cut" was called out. From there on, it was the "Yehua show" for me. The guy has a knack for showing various emotions and I still don't know how he does it. Not to mention that as the drama goes on, he became even more and more good to look at. I seriously question myself every moment because I initially was like.. meh ... There was fire whenever he stared into Baiqian's eyes!
Mark also plays Moyuan (if you hadn't noticed haha) and he wonderfully made him so distinct that I never thought that they were the same person. Ever. Seeing some of the little moments from the bts clips makes me appreciate it even more as it seems Mark worked especially hard to maintain this - his thorough discussions with the director about the characterisation of his characters during key moments really impressed me.

Kudos to the rest of the cast as well. Yangmi did a wonderful job in my opinion. I loved her as the haughty Baiqian too. And little riceball A-li. His scenes with Yehua were the epitome of fluffiness.

The romance in this series was of another level. Watched a lot of c-dramas and was never this impressed. Ever. The chemistry was sizzling and the actors really became the characters they played. I cannot even fathom how much pressure is on the movie version of things because the actors here were spot on. A mountain would have to move 10 million miles for anyone to replace Mark as Yehua in my eyes. It's just impossible.

All in all, reincarnations, love across three lives, stellar performances; everything that I love in one drama. A definite re-watch (not that I haven't been watching) and still experiencing major withdrawals even after two weeks. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Miss in Kiss
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 5.5
  • Acting/Cast 4.0
  • Music 4.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I dont even know why I tried.
I've watched the Korean and Japanese versions (both seasons) completely, attempted to watch the Thai and first Taiwanese version (gave up because of the lack of HD videos) and was extremely dissatisfied with the ending EVERY SINGLE TIME. After watching this, I realise that I should've just skipped it and not wasted my time.

After every version of the show, I always got this very, read more very strong feeling that the main girl (Ha Ni/ Kotoko/Yue Qin/whatever) ended up with the wrong guy. Anybody who has spent even an iota of their time watching the trailers and clips know what I'm talking about. I mean, WHY would you wait years and years for a guy who doesn't even bother to look your way? Even the most dedicated of girls would shrug and give up after a year of non response.

Yes, the second male lead (in this case, Ah Jin) gets very annoying sometimes, but he's so, well, awesome the rest of the time. He's always there when she needs him, talented and cute, and most importantly, actually gives a crap about her.

The casting was probably the worst I've seen in any adaptation (yes, even worse than the Japanese one). Lee Dino is cute, but NOT in a cold genius sort of way. Most of the time, he just came off as indifferent and uncaring, not cold and mean. Dino's acting range is pretty limited, but he was WAY out of depth here.
The female lead was irritating, more so than ANY of the other versions. I don't even know how that's possible- do they have an award for that? They should. On the plus side, she has one of the best crying faces I've seen; her face gets all red and splotchy, which is much more realistic than the delicate crying most actresses employ.

Overall: Skip, skip, skip. If you can handle the non-HD quality of the first Taiwanese adaption, watch that instead. The Korean one isn't that bad, but beware of the bad acting. The Japanese one is annoying (with, yes, bad acting) but 2 seasons, so a longer story. In short, ANYTHING is better than this.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
It's a meaningful drama which convey the message for us to appreciate our life. Enjoying every moment of it. The drama is kinda funny as well, overall it's very exciting and anticipating.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
A simple and engaging rom-com which the entire cast marvelously gave life to. I've been looking for this kind of rom-com for awhile now, one that makes you feel young again. The chemistry between the leads were on point - the way they looked at each other, the hugs were not awkward, the kisses warm and tender. Definitely something you'd want to watch again. I would love to see more rom-coms from these two.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Candle in the Tomb
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
A breath of fresh air among Chinese dramas.

Though there are some other dramas that also relate to tomb raiding, Candle in the Tomb is executed best. A solid main cast, good sense of suspense, and an interesting storyline all made this my most enjoyable drama of the recent batch.

Jin Dong and Zhao Da are great as Hu Ba Yi and Fatty. Their acting and interactions made this a great watch, read more especially with Fatty being a greedy idiot. They also voiced their own characters, which added to their great acting. Joe Chen also does well as Shirley, being a strong and independent female lead, similar to some of her other roles. An Li Man was one of my favorite characters. I love the way he speaks.

The plot always kept me intrigued. A short drama, but it included multiple arcs. The mysteries of each place kept me hooked, and the cinematography, especially in dark places, was superb. I wasn't ever sure if our band of characters were safe. Romance was not prevalent but I do see a budding hint. No cheesy over-the-top romantic scenes like you see in other dramas here.

There are still so many plot points to explore and expand upon. I'm looking forward to seeing the sequels if there will be any.

Only con I think there is would be some of the side characters. Most of them were quite useless and just a liability for our main leads. How on earth were they chosen to go on a treacherous trek through the desert? And the drama just glossed over what exactly happened to them at the end (though I heard this was different from the novel).
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No