Sort by:
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
I needed a drama like this and I didn't even know it. I am so pleased with everything. The plot is really unique compared to other dramas. As a college student it was so fun to see that atmosphere and environment in the drama; I could relate. The love story of Bok Joo and Joon Hyeong was everything to me. Their relationship is so realistic unlike many in other dramas. They started read more as friends and then fell in love. They are truly relationship goals. This drama just gave so many feelings. I completely recommended. It is a must. It is a pity that the ratings were bad in Korea because this drama really deserves attention.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Secret Lovers
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
well to make it short

good things about the drama
1. their acting appears very good to me
2. the drama started really good.
3. the music is really good
bad things about it
1. but hated how the 2nd male acts out in the story
2. but got slowly grew tired of the casts especially the 2nd male lead...
3. but felt like the music doesn't meet the some of the read more scenes.


well these are just my thoughts though... don't be discouraged and watch it. its not just my cup of tea....
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I actually pushed this drama back for a couple of weeks because I thought the premise seemed like any other school drama, but I promise it's so much better. There were no villains or dramatic tropes, just our homegirl Bok Joo growing up and gaining confidence. The male lead was adorable and had such a great personality, because I'm sure we've all had enough cold, stoic male leads. The characters were written read more so well and I fell in love with every single one of them, even the second female lead and that's pretty rare.

The story was really well paced and was relatively light but definitely kept me interested. It was such a cute story that kept a smile on my face the entire time. This drama broke out of a lot of tropes that dramas normally have. I love the fact that Joon Hyung was WILLING to go to a therapist to talk out his problems, and that he actually has an aunt, uncle, and brother that took him in, cared for and loved him. There was no sibling rivalry though it may seem like that from the plot description, and because the brothers were so supportive of each other which was extremely refreshing.

This couple had so so so much chemistry. They felt REAL and GENUINE and I got so many feels. The second lead female Song Shi Ho actually had a lot of depth to her character. She wasn't just a jealous ex-girlfriend there to cause problems for the main couple, and she definitely showed a lot of growth as the drama progressed.

I loved the soundtrack (esp. Parts 1 & 3) and I still have them replaying on my phone.

I thoroughly enjoyed this drama and wholeheartedly recommend this well developed, genuine, and adorable drama. Go watch it! And I will leave this review with one word: SWAG! (this makes sense once you've watched the drama .-.)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo
58 people found this review helpful
by Malu
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I know there are already many reviews but I never felt such urgency to tell how much I have loved a show.
This drama was so refreshing and comforting, a complete year-end surprise. Never two friends became lovers so naturally. Never friendship, family and love were portrayed as adorably well as here. I didn't expect it to be so addictive and beautiful, I'm speechless.

STORY
The story itself seemed very attractive, but read more after seeing the first ep I felt somewhat disappointed. But thank God I didn't dropped it! From the fourth episode the quality increased a lot, the story took shape and the characters looked better defined. No doubt they took full advantage of this beautiful plot that only took the sport as an excuse to show how two friends fall in love as they struggle to achieve their dreams. No weak characters, no idiots and abusive male leads. I love the way this portrays the youth and its warmth.

ACTING
Applause for everyone! If I was already surprised by the drastic change of character Sung Kyung ventured into when she accepted this role, I was more surprised when I saw Joo Hyuk's adorable performance, which translated into the couple's insuperable chemistry. Seriously, I can never accept that they don't act side by side.
The secondary performances were also more than charming.

OVERALL
I finished this drama full of hope, as if suddenly I had injected a great dose of energy to get ahead. All of it reminds you how beautiful life can be. Give yourself the pleasure of watching this drama! Impossible to repent later. Oh and I almost forgot: SWAAAAAG!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo
1 people found this review helpful
by Vera
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
All 10/10 it might seems to be a little too much but really, it isn't! This drama was the most beautiful and heartwarming drama that I ever watched! The chemistry is more than on point! They even had a kiss that wasn't on the script, please!

Normally I hate rewatch drama or whatever because I think that it's wasting my time to watch other dramas, but on this one I really think read more that one day I'll be watching it again.
I knew that Lee Sung Kyung and Nam Joo Hyuk were amazing actors but they really show to us all and more that they are capable to do in the acting world!!
The music was perfectly well with the drama I even saved some of them to my phone,so energetic... I love it.
About this drama all I have to say is that you who is reading this review should go as fast as you can watch it, otherwise, you'll be missing the sweetest drama of your life!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
This has got to be my favourite drama of the year so far, I liked everything about this drama, the story, the cast, the acting.
Story: It had a bit of everything, a slice of life, family, comedy, sports, romance, which is what makes this drama so good. KBJ's relationship with her father, her motivation to succeed in her sports career, her relationship with her childhood friend JH, her friends that are read more always there for her.
Acting/Cast: The two main leads Kim Bok Joo and Joon Hyeong had great chemistry, would like to see these two again in another drama.
Music: nothing that stood out but ok overall.
Rewatch Value: Once you've watched this you'll definitely feel like rewatching it after a while.

Also if you're a fan of messi you should definitely watch this drama haha.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
So healthy. Kim Bok Joo is one damn healthy drama. I couldn't find more appropriate way to describe it with one word. Drama that will sweep you off your feet with its engaging story, lovely characters, interesting humor, beautiful scenery, wonderful music and amazing writing. I'm not usually good at writing about romantic comedies as I'm not some vivid fan of them but let me tell you that this kind of romantic read more comedy wasn't seen until now. It really wasn't. On the first look it may seem like a typical Korean drama full of cliches and repetitive plot but as soon as you dive a bit deeper you'll see it's so far from that. I think this is actually the most untypical typical drama that has all kind of cliches packed so great that in the end all those cliches simply disappear and you're left with something different, a breath of fresh air that crawls under your skin and steals your hear for a lifetime.

Being a sport theme drama, it could be a turn off for some of you. But don't let that affect you, just skip that and watch it because sport is there just a setting for real plot. Okay, you have sport university and some competitions in swimming and weightlifting but it really doesn't get boring or concentrate on that. The main focus is on one girl and life around her, her family, friends and love life. How she with help of all those people gets to become confident, mature brave young woman who strives for the best and with hard work make her dreams come true.We follow her journey through all that, her first crush, her first pain, her tears, sweat and fail, her smile, happiness and excitement, her confusion and realization what is actually love and whom she really loves and finally her will to accept herself fully and be the best in weightlifting.
I enjoyed in watching all her journey, in all the details this drama gave me in past two months- Kim Bok Joo with her friends who are best friends one could have- three of them are indeed an epitome of AWESOMENESS, their firm friendship full of trust, care, adventures and funny moments; Kim Bok Joo with her family, her dad and uncle were highlight of this drama and I truly loved watching them love each other that much, one of the best family relationships shown in dramaland; Bok Joo wih her coaches, those two people who helped her and were beside her all the way, who encouraged her and were there in both celebrating and bittersweet times; and finally Bok Joo with Joon Hyeong.
I dare to say that this couple, these two amazing living creatures are one the best characters written out there, couple that really became a synonym of trust, respect, love and untypical uniqueness. I loved them separated and I loved them together, I think both are truly good people who, like any of us have their own insecurities and fears, and who simply wish the best for their loved ones. They really care for their family and friends and they really try and work so hard to become good, better and the best at what they're doing. In the end they left me with feelings of full admiration and love for them. Their relationship is one of the healthiest I've seen, if not THE healthiest. Filled with humor, funny moments, teasing, bickering, great chemistry, with such natural and easiness, trust and without any stupid misunderstanding, whenever you think "oh now they're gonna mess it up like in every other drama", they surprise you with simple and normal way of dealing with all the problems, writing is just too good. And that is the best part of this drama, original, refreshing, atypical, great writing.

The actors are great too, each of them fitted the role perfectly and each of them tried to give a good performance. I really liked them all with some of them who stole my heart in a second -Nam Joo Hyuk, Lee Sung Kyung and Lee Joo Young as Sun Ok, those three somehow stood out the most. The leads were indeed great, actors did a wonderful job in portraying all right emotions when they should and actually they kinda surprised me which is good, I'll be looking forward seeing their work more and more, definitely won me here. But I guess everyone in this drama won me over, that's how much I loved it. ;)

Plus with some positive vibes and melodies, and some great outdoor shots, beautiful sceneries, I think this drama has it all. And it really deserves to be praised.
Where you have friendship that is so raw, real and pure, where you have family bond where nothing could destroy it and where you do all that you can for your beloved creature, where you have a guy who is probably the most untypical male lead in dramaland and who is literally the best guy you could ever meet and when that same guy loves you in such a normal, natural, feel good way, where you have a team that actually cheer for you without any backstabbing, when you have all that plus your own strength and will, I think you have the whole world under your feet. This is the message that Kim Bok Joo left me, simple yet heartwarming lesson- that all the people are ordinary people and that we all with the power that comes from our hearts and from the hearts of our loved ones, we can become extraordinary. Just believe in yourself, never give up and SWAG.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Oh My Geum Bi
9 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Imma start this review on a positive note because I’m tired of all the crying. Where are all my melodrama fans at? Gather up, Oh My Geum Bi is easily one of the best melodramas of 2016 and one of the most beautiful, heart-breaking and heart-warming dramas I’ve ever watched. And there I was bitchin about how 2016 lacked proper melos; thank you Geum bi, thank you!

Story
Oh My Geum Bi read more tells a beautiful story of affection, devotion, forgiveness, becoming a better person, letting go and growing up. It’s a very simple story about a little girl who suffers from a terminal illness and has a very bad history with abandonment while she’s thrown at the hands of a clueless swindler who doesn’t know what to do with her. The story is quite predictable but the key point here is the simplicity and the chemistry among the actors that makes this drama grow into something unexpectedly special.

But, what made Geum Bi so particular? It just felt so real.

We are all born perfect and beautiful, without a trace of hatred, meanness, deviousness avarice or anything similar; and yet slowly we become that and so much more, why? We are born perfect and instead of keeping that, we are belittling it to the point we are nothing like that masterpiece we once were.

People are defined by their experiences. We’ve all been through some kind of trauma while growing up, either at home (most usually) or at school, or even later, that made us think lowly of ourselves, hate ourselves, hurt ourselves, have social issues and be afraid of people, want to hurt them back ect. Something scarred us, ruined the purity and instead of covering that scar, help it heal, we build on it. We build our lives on all the shit that happened to us, and deep inside we stay in that moment forever and we start hurting each other thinking this is the only way to survive. What does it take for the harming to stop? It takes another perfect human being, a kid, to remind us what we actually were and what we lost.

Geum Bi gave me hope that there is a way for everyone to regain the lost happiness, the lost innocence, the lost positivity and purity. This is why Geum Bi was special because it showed that we are all perfect, but we’ve just… forgotten about it.

I consider this drama a very heavy and depressing melodrama. I wouldn’t recommend marathoning if you’re a softie like me. Getting attached to the characters came way faster than expected, every character has a sad story, a trauma of some sorts if you may, that directed their life completely. Geum bi helps them work through these issues and see their selves in a whole new positive light. It’s amazing to want to change for a special person, isn’t it?

Best part of the drama is the character development. Geum Bi founds herself in the midst of crazy situations and scary self-obsessed people. And yet, being her flawless perfect self as a kid she finds a way to pass that light to them, inspire and motivate them to become better, and they thrive; inspirational and beautiful in every way.

Another amazing part of the drama was the family bond. The fact that blood is only the loosest way to define family and that people who love you will stick with your through thick and thin no matter what. They are out there; it’s time we found them!

The drama is full with heart-warming and extremely meaningful moments, outdoors among grown-ups, in the house as a family and at the school between kids. It shocked me how kids even with their silly beefs and complaints they would stick to each other when it’s needed, they are considerate and helpful expecting no compensation while grown-ups would only scheme and plot against each other no matter what. Why? The drama puts everything in perspective. It is incredible and worth noting to mention how Geum Bi changes literally everyone around her with the way she acts. And this was enough for me to overlook some convenient or inconsistent writing here and there.

During the later episodes we get to see how difficult it is to live with a person with special needs and the drama overall sends a strong and meaningful message against discrimination of the inclusive.

There is some subtle comedic relief thrown in there to relieve the tension, but don’t expect much.
Lastly, another thing I enjoyed was the genuine effort to make the backstories intense. There were some plot twists, some of them expected some not, but what I want to point out is the good writing here. There wasn’t a dull moment while everything had a meaning.

Geum Bi taught me the meaning of true deep unconditional love, what it looks like and what it can do. True love doesn’t need to be romantic to change you, to reinvent and enlighten you. I sincerely hope we all get to find our Geum Bi in this life.

Acting
Heo Jung Eum won best young actress award in KBS drama awards 2016. She deserved it and that is all I’m gonna say here. Brilliant, flawless and immaculate isn’t enough to describe it. Hope we can see more of her in the future

Oh Ji Ho is a good actor, and I think he was chosen for this role because of the impeccable chemistry he had with Heo Jung Eum. It was really magical. Father-daughter feels were so real. He was good at his comedic scenes and quite emotional when he needed to be. Overall a spectacular performance.

Park Ji Hee is firstly very beautiful and secondly she has this “broken mother” aura to her therefore being a perfect fit for this role. Second time I’m seeing her in a drama and I didn’t regret a moment of it. Emotional, dramatic, motherly and loving she had it all.

Oh Yoon Ah was exceptionally good at her role as well, as well as my personal favourite Lee Ji Hoon.
Kid actor Park Min Soo left a strong impression as well.

Overall the full cast was amazing and memorable.

Recommend/Rewatch
I’d wholeheartedly recommend this to every melodrama fan. People who are into depressing stuff that feature terminal illnesses ect, you’ll love this. Family drama lovers, viewers who enjoy incredible character developments I call out to you. This is not a drama to be missed. However it can be pretty depressing, so bear that in mind. I will definitely rewatch this in the future because it was beautiful, but so heartbreaking, it’s gonna take a while.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I don't think you'll ever find a cast that has more chemistry together than this one. Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo is an adorable, fluffy and hilarious, yet realistic drama that depicts the struggles of Bok Joo through her university life. The story is simple but deep, and always has life values to teach. The chemistry between Nam Joo Hyuk and Lee Sung Kyung is off the charts - I've never felt read more more strongly about a couple. The acting is phenomenal, from the main leads to the side characters, and the entire cast just has an aura of natural sunshine, making WF very enjoyable.

The music is also wonderful, always spot-on, and completes the drama in such a lovely way. Even if you don't think you're into sports, WF is a drama that revolves around an athlete, rather than the sport itself, so give it a try anyways!

This is one of my ultimate favourite dramas and I would honestly watch it several times over just for the pure magic of it all
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Okay... So this is the first time I write a review in my whole life, but I really felt the need to do it about this drama
I just want to say that I'm completely speechless. Everything this drama brought to us, every episode, was like a fresh wind in the hottest days. I think I speak for a lot of people, but this drama had that special gift to put a read more big smile on my face in the end of EVERY episode (not the mention the last one, because damn I became a happier person bc of that).
I just want to say, and I mean it, this drama is unique, is special, is a masterpiece. Once you start watching it, it becomes like drug or something, and you want more and more... Really
A big big big thank you to the director, the producers, the cast, everything was PERFECT! Thank you so much to make me begin this new year with a huge smile on my face!
I hope this drama won't get forgotten in the next years, because they deserve all the attention, it has definitely became my favourite drama and I really hope it inspires people to create more dramas like this one!
Everything was beyond perfect!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Something About 1 Percent
0 people found this review helpful
by aec
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
A cute story........nothing too major or emotionally moving happens. Its a nice fluff drama that you can watch when you don't really feel like doing anything else. The OST was ok I think what I enjoyed more were the actual sound effects that they would insert, hilarious! Pretty funny overall, good to watch to pass the time.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I have to say 2016 was the most cute year in dramas to me, Love O2O, shopping king Louie and now.. Weightlifting fairy Kim Bok Joo!
Okay, okay I have a crush in Nam joo hyuk and Lee Sung-kyung since years ago. You can hate or love them, but on this drama.. they gave everything. * Hands up*

About the drama:
Cute story, cute romance, and fantastic cinematography. The colors in every read more image are a pleasure to my eyes.
Most important thing on this drama apart of actors/actresses perfomances, are the way writers made the story. A real story, where the characters grow up together but most important, where they know support, admire and treat each other.
They are relationship goals? Hell yeah!

No suffocating triangles where the leads feed this,NO.
No makjang or amnesia stuffs, or idk dramatic things what only happen in other universe called TV, lol

But..
Lot of love and emotions.
Cute relations.
Funny moments
and lot of adorable clips where you will remember at least, a crush, a relation, a friend, a laugh or the youth we were or are leaving behind!!

I recommend a lot this drama, you will enjoy from minute 1 to the last minute, and this will be hard to forget. (I can't believe I kept watching a drama all this long without fall in depression while waiting for episode lol)

Thank you kim Bok Joo, Thank you Joon Hyung, be happy together my babies!!! I will keep you forever in my heart.

... And remember , a powerful relation where both grow up (in every obstacle ) and overcome everything together in this thing called life is the best option always.. !!! Cherish people who always will support or stay next to you :D ..
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Oh My Geum Bi
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Oh My Geum Bi hits all the right spots in the story and the countless conflicts faced, albeit leaving some issues unresolved and the sudden change of heart of the characters, it's still forgivable because of the cast's utterly amazing performance especially of Heo Jeong Eun where she's undeniably the light of the show and the last resort of almost all the characters related to her and its beautiful to witness these read more characters' transformation at the end of the show.

The show too has its flaws especially of how lazy some sub plots has been resolved so easily or just in a snap, the moments where there is Chi Soo and Joo Yeong is actually one of the best moments of the show, their presence in Geum Bi's life is an escape to her illness for a while and it's touching because at second half of the show that's the part where all things will go wrong and do nothing but sympathize to Kang Hee and Hwi Cheol.

Great drama, will definitely watch again maybe in years to come, I shed too much tears in a single show, TOO MUCH just TOO MUCH
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
One Sunny Day
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Simply it was really cute and warm story..Usually I'm not a person who enjoy those simple love stories but this drama was able to make me satisfy..i ended up being happy with a bright smile on my face :D

Story

It didn't had much story..but it was ok..and i didn't felt there is anything lacking cuz it was a mini drama..if it was a long one it wouldn't be enough..
There were read more many funny moments...and also moments which force us to fall in love..
Cast

So Ji Sub- he didn't have enough lines...but!!!!! he always used his lovely face to express..those master's sun expressions were there..ahhh i must stop now cuz i will write billion sentences about how good he was..
any way even you are not a fan of him you surely love his character here...

Kim Ji Won-i was not a fan of kim ji won before this...but awww.she was so adorable here.and now i love her.^_^

Kim Yeong Wung- he was funny,..

Kim Mi Kyung- didn't notice it was her..but later realized she was kinda cupid there.

Music
Nothing much to say ..but there was a cute song...

Rewatch Value
I don't re watch..so not the person to talk about that. :P
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ex-Girlfriend Club
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Hmm..
Its not bad.. But with a world of exciting drama's out there to watch.. I just couldn't bring myself to finish it.

Story: I was a little hesitant while starting because i'd never seen such a short drama before and I hate it when things end abruptly and aren't wrapped up well.. But the unusual story line caught my attention and I decided to give it a go. I'm sure people read more have said this before.. but it really gave me a 'John Tucker must die' kinda feel. I had read comments and reviews praising the nature of the main leads relationship and that was one of the reasons I wanted to give this drama a go.. So I enjoyed the initial episodes and the build up.. But the downfall for me was the over exposure of the ex's. I know that that is what the drama is about.. But it was all just so unintelligent and silly.. Certain days I could bear it to get to the better parts but on certain days (more often than not) it was really unbearable. When there was no doubt that the main leads are going to be together without any hiccups on the way I just found no reason to keep watching after the 8th episode. Don't get me wrong, I don't love angst and I love a nice, problem free relationship with lots of cute moments to aww at but there has to be some chemistry.. It shouldn't feel like two siblings.

Characters: This may sound bad and superficial but being attracted to the main lead is a major factor that keeps me interested in watching a drama. And in this case I just wasn't. And i'm not talking about physical appearance only. He just seemed so child like (not in an endearing way) and so one dimensional and boring. Song Ji Hyo is basically the reason I picked up this show and she didn't disappoint. I mean I may be biased because I absolutely love her but I enjoyed her portrayal of Soo Jin. The ex's were just toooo over the top for my liking and I just found it exhausting to keep up with their motives for their actions. The second lead,if we can even call him that, was an arrogant know it all that I felt absolutely no feeling for whatsoever.

OST: The main song was honestly the best part. It was so upbeat and lively and just seemed to fit the chaos on the screen.

All in all, I would say.. You caaaan watch it but there are definitely better things out there.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No