Sort by:
D-Day
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
I do not know if I started to watch this drama with too much expectation or it was something else, but I am disappointed in many factors.

Well, let's start it. The very first scenes were awesome, they had strong acting and funny characters. I loved Dr. Kang (Kim Hye Eun) and Dr. Jeong Ddol Mi (Jung So Min) both rocked on this drama. I expected more from Kim Young Kwang with read more his main role character, it was not bad, but it was not good too. Supporting roles like Dr. Kang were shone more than the main character in many scenes.

The effects were HORRIBLE in many levels, destroyed buildings and streets seemed pretty much fake.
I'm going to emphasize the scene with pregnant being removed from the car, HER BELLY MOVED and it was so small even thou she was pregnant of TWINS (????????????????????????????) seriously how can a director let this pass.

Too many unnecessary scenes, with unnecessary characters overreactions. I am not saying those situation could not happen, I am just saying that they could have thought in some situation more attractive to watch.

Good story, but not very good executed.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
First Kiss for the Seventh Time
0 people found this review helpful
by Faa
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
What can i say? I guess most people want to be this girl. Who doesn't want to be like her who surrounded by handsome men? Well, our lovely ones. Our bias! The first time there was announcement about this drama, i immediately predicted about the story line. This is not much different from what I had predicted, but also not exactly like what I predicted. So, i still like this one anyway.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Legend of the Condor Heroes
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
OMG AWESOME!!! UTTERLY PHENOMENAL!!! EPIC!!!!!!

I love this show. Action-packed, great story, great character development, good acting and music!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sotus: The Series
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
So, I was watching SOTUS since 2 episode. And I reeeallyy loved it s ofar. I wanted to watch all episodes to write a review to make sure so Am Redi Nau!
SOTUS itself is really cute and romantic story about senior & 2 yrs younger junior. I liked it since I watched 1 episode becouse of age gap wich I love. Cast made good job, while watching it you can tell read more a lot about characters just by looking at them sitting. I was so happy when I saw that Bittersweet(author of SOTUS the novel) changed some things to make it better. Well... it worked, SOTUS became even dreamer after few changes. Also good thing is that cast is not 15-16 like in lots of gthai series so they could be more like... realistic? Passionate? I don't know how to name it but... they was really into play so it came out a lot better than if they were amatour young actors.
In one sentence- SOTUS is really worth to watch it becouse of story, actors, characters, ost, passion they put in and actually everything.
Then why did I gave them only 9,5 stars...? becouse I want s2 and there is no info about s2 :| sad life.

IT WAS REALLY HARD TO WRITE IT WITHOUT SPOILERS 'COUSE IT'S SO AMAZING, GO WATCH IT!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Girl of 0AM
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
When I started watching ( because of Taehyun ) I wasn't really expecting much from this. But I was really pleasantly surprised with Taehyun and his acting. Story was interesting, but a bit rushed so one mark down for that.. also personally for my taste episodes were quite short, 10 min if you exclude intro and ending scenes.Cast and music were really good. I was really laughing at some scenes :) So read more overall it was a good drama to watch. I recommend it, because of Taehyun of course ( I'm a huge fan sorry :) ) and also cause it's short and you can finish it within 1.5 hours and judge for yourself. All in all I liked it, and would probably rewatch it in the future!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Basically it is a must watch drama if you are a fan of Gong Yoo and Gong Hyo Jin

Story
It was a really cute story but if are a person who is in the box who is against of "Noona & Dongsaeng Love" this would be hard to digest..but if you neutral about that you will enjoy the story..and no need to tell anything about the people who love that type read more of love stories..cuz this is a perfect story for them.
Many people criticize this as its not nice to have a relationship b/w female teacher and a male student..but !!! don't be one of them...cuz ultimately its a noona dongsaeng love..
And in addition there are episodic stories which reveal about each student and about their personal relationships..which helped to understand the atmosphere of a school.
The story also show the different emotions which was well created by the cast specially by the main leads..

Acting/Cast
Both Gong Yoo and Gong Hyo Jin did really good job. They portrayed their characters really well and confirmed that they are very talented actors

Gong Yoo -
As a 19 years old student ..that was something no one will reject to see..he was so cute..couldn't believe that actors who played his uncle and teacher were younger then him in reality i don't wanna reveal more about his character since it could be spoiler.. simply he was really cute and adorable in a mischievous way..; and i think no need to talk about his acting skills since he was versatile actor from those days..

Gong Hyo Jin-
She was so pretty..as a person who loves her since master's sun i really enjoyed her character..in the first half she was almost the Pyo Na Ri in Jealousy Incarnate...

There were many good actors as students who later became popular actors..
so the cast was really good..

Music
nothing noticeable but it was OK..it helped me to enjoy the situations..

Re-watch value
i don't re-watch at all :P so not the person to talk about that.

What I Didn't Like About This Drama
After i watching the entire drama i realized that they could have do the same story much better with the same actors
i mean even though it was good story and had good actors there was something lacking as a drama...i thought about that several times and once thought its just because it was a old drama which aired in 2005..but then i realized I've watched dramas that are way older than this..
So i guess it was the editing part..when the raw story turned into a drama script..they did it wrong at some points..
So that is the only thing which i didn't like.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Shark
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Who goes to heaven? The one who doesn't repent?
Or the one who does?

Before I start I should mention that this is definitely “unpopular opinion” but that makes me all the more determined to write a review so here goes :)

I have been keeping this drama for the right time because I’m a revenge-themed drama LOVER and I have practically seen everything Korea has to offer in that category. Moreover, read more I especially have seen everything I want to watch for Kim Nam Gil… so I kept this one mainly because it doesn’t seem that he will be back to dramaland anytime soon. However my craving could no longer be suppressed anymore not after I realized that it is written by the same writer of The Devil, Memory and Resurrection.

Shark is not just a simple “revenge drama” with an obvious/repetitive plot, although I can’t say the plot is original but what strikes me here the most is the allegories that the story has offered in form of shark and Chagall’s painting “Orpheus”. The shark fish symbolizes that life must goes one as shark has to keep moving in order to live. The “Orpheus” painting features in some scene to remind us that this is a story between man and woman that cannot be together. The painting depicting the sad myth of Orpheus where he travels to the underworld to save his wife, only to lose her in the end because he looks back before they’ve both reached the upper world. An alternate title for this drama is actually "Don’t Look Back: the Legend of Orpheus". Shark is beautifully written and photographed, and it unfolds like a good book rather than just a television show. It has the depth of a Greek tragedy (references the story of Orpheus).

Story:
The story takes its time to establish the back-story of its hero and heroine, teenagers sincerely in love who are torn apart by a cruel turn of events that establish the revenge motivation. The plot reveals its layers like a good mystery novel, and has many eloquent scenes, the most powerful of which often feature no dialogue at all! This is what I call the perfect revenge drama, where there are so many victims, and yet the overall message is not really one of despair, but rather that love will triumph over revenge any day. It is the kind of revenge drama that haunts you with its inevitable tragedy. The origin of the revenge plot takes its time to reveal itself in exquisitely well written details. We get to know and care about major characters in their youth, and then follow them with interest into their adulthood. Shark had me hooked within its first few seconds, which reveal a teenage boy speaking directly into the camera, answering questions from an unseen young girl. That conversation replays over and over in Shark, and its poignancy becomes more and more touching when you see everything that happens.

The cinematography was lustrous and breathtaking on Shark, beyond beautiful! Many of the images were like classic paintings! I would freeze the images just to STARE at them in amazement! Images of beaches, lakes, woods, nighttime and daytime skies, gardens, picturesque streets and buildings, not to mention startling human facial close-ups on occasion, were all unforgettable.

This is not a romantic drama and certainly not a drama you’d watch for the romance. I’m very happy that the romance element was kept at its minimal and that it did not distract the core story. However it is fair to mention that the tension between Yi Soo and Hae Woo was indeed a bonus to the revenge line. It was astonishing well crafted and well acted. The tension between them was amplified by the fact that she is representing the law, and he is determined to be a criminal. It made the story all the more intense than it already is and looking back at all the revenge-themed dramas that I have watched I must say it is very rare that the level of intensity and romance is kept as subtle as it is in the case with Shark.

Acting:
Suffice it to say that every character in Shark is carefully drawn to reveal genuine human beings with their own emotions and agenda. However KNG’s Yi Soo/ Kim Joon is the heartthrob of Shark! You will be entirely captivated by the dark-eyed grace, gentleness and menace of Nam Gil in this complex role (even though he does bad things, my heart broke for him). His facial expression switch from cruel cold revenge seeking man, to a broken lonely soul who is inside desperately calling to be saved. When it comes to acting through facial expressions and even without many dialogues it’s always KNG who leaves me breathless. Yi-soo’s revenge is a well thought out and carefully executed. His desire to seek revenge is perfectly understandable, yet because it is so easy to feel for his character’s plight, it is difficult to watch him move further and further into the dark side.

Son Ye Jin: Her portrayal of a compassionate, righteous prosecutor and a true friend/lover was very much convincing. Hae Woo serves as the moral conscience of the drama. I can’t say that I love her character and I can see why most didn’t but I understand her character giving the circumstances and tests she is put through the entire time.

Music:
The soundtrack was lovely and haunting, just perfect for this poignant story of two people caught up in a web of intrigue, murder, and revenge. When the drama had aired in 2013 I was already in love with BoA’s "Between Heaven And Hell" before I even get to watch the drama! It caught my ears and heart when my friend sang it and I couldn’t help but fall in love so imagine how I felt while finally watching it through the eyes of the story.

Overall:
Shark is about revenge, about how there are consequences and reactions for every action, it’s about love but it’s not a love story, and it’s about finding those truths and then facing them. Shark is very good at being this well-oiled machine. It’s thought out and there is a strategy and enough metaphors (sharks! Orpheus!) to make it interesting. It has twists and turns that don’t feel forced and very little slip ups even though there are more characters in this than one would have thought. The ending may not be the best way to wrap up things but it certainly isn’t the worst way, I embraced the ending here (with its flaws) and appreciated it much more than some of the many other revenge-themed dramas that I’ve seen.
If you are a revenge-themed drama fan or a melodrama fan don’t let this one slip away from you! In the end we might like some "gems" that other people may have considered "waste", you never know.

Kim Nam Gil has once said, “I experienced a slump when KBS2’s ‘Shark’ didn’t receive a lot of love.” I would like to tell him that just as there are people who didn’t appreciate Shark there are those who did and even watching it in 2017 this is such a wonderful revenge drama, so thank you for making it happen and thank you for being part of it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Senior Secret Love: Puppy Honey
0 people found this review helpful
by Liz
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
A simple and sweet story that's really heartwarming and funny and has nice characters and lots of adorables puppies.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sotus: The Series
2 people found this review helpful
by Liz
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
(Sorry for my english)
It's incredibly rare for me to give 10 to something because I think that's the vote reserved to just masterpieces and nothing else but that's exactly what is Sotus for me: a masterpiece and the most beautiful and perfect love story I've ever seen.
I love every aspect of this drama, the actors are great (especially the two leads who seem really in love, I was blown away read more by their performance, they deliver all the feelings in an incredible realistic way) the characters are all likeable and adorable, the music is beautiful and perfect in every scene, the love story is finally a realistic one (I was so tired of the love at first sight of movies and drama..) that keep me in tension since the very beginning ... I have no complain at all and I have to say that I hope that there won't be a second season, I'm too afraid that if there is the magic will be ruined by the same old cliches ..
I must, howewer, admit that not all in this series is perfect, there are some incredible bad mistakes like bracelets that change to one arm to the other and many things like this that could have been avoided with more attention.. the sound also is somethimes really bad but I know that is a problem of all the Thai series.
These two problems anyway for me don't ruin at all the magic that I feel in this serie that I must say it became my favourite serie of all time... yes, I'm madly in love with Sotus XD
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
A love relationship thats refreshingly healthy, sweet and without the usual kdrama tropes. I know quite a few ppl has express they didnt watch due to reservation on both male female leads. I urge you to give this a chance. Its so long since ive met a drama that give me all the warm fuzzies and remind me the best in a supportive relationship.

Male: Handsome, Proactive, Supportive, A tease, Tall, Sweet, read more A listener, Values family, A swimmer
Female: Strong, Tall, Pretty, Charming, Values family and friends, Vibrant attitude, straight shooter, Weightlifter

Story: Friends to couple, first love, college life, sports life, family and strong friendships

Bokjoo and Joon hyung seriously the sweetest couple in K history. It is very refreshing when a guy is proactive, means what he says and acts on it when he realises his feelings. What worked to make this drama awesome is the amazingly natural chemistry of our leads who are comfortable and playful on and off screen. Couple that with the writer whose previous works includes Oh my ghost, you know its a winner. The charm of this drama is that its not heavy but its not your usual fluff. It has winsome characters, and male female leads you come to love and a sweet journey watching this two support each other through the challenges they faced in school or at home and fall in love. The drama doesnt dwell too long on one issue and never draggy. It highlights the wonderful time in college with the first blooms of love and the amazing girlfriends we have.

Ive never more convinced of two people more suited for each other, as jeon joon hyung and kim bok joo complements each other. Long after this show ends i will always remember our bokjoo and joonhyung.

Watch and you will know what i mean. This underdog show captured my heart in surprise. It has so much heart warming scenes not just the romance but also father-daughter and mother-son relationship. Really a gem
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Bad Romance The Series
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Guys where can I watch episodes 12 with eng sub? Please :) please help I can't wait anymore. Omg ???? love the bromance between knock and korn.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Pasta
0 people found this review helpful
by aec
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 4.5
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
This is a good drama for someone looking to maybe become emotionally stable again after watching an emotionally draining drama :) it's pretty light and fluffy and good to pass the time. The ending seemed kinda abrupt and I didn't really like how it seemed maybe she wasn't gonna get the opportunity to learn. I do like how you kinda get a behind the scenes look at a restaurant kitchen and how read more cut throat becoming a chef is.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Moorim School
0 people found this review helpful
by aec
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Really interesting drama. I like that it centered on martial arts and kind of almost supernatural powers sort of thing. I really liked the friendship between the 2 main characters, although some of the acting was eh.......good to watch if you are looking for something a little different. I do wish the story centered around the female leads and that they were the "strong" ones.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Let's Eat 2
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Just finished binge watching Let's Eat 2 after being completely taken with the first season of Let's Eat. It's good. The main appeal for me is we get a second helping of the charismatic Dae Young and more mouthwatering food scenes. There are a lot of plot similarities between this and the first season but the characters and relationships are different enough that it doesn't feel repetitive. The show does a good read more job of depicting the friendships, the trials and loneliness of single people living away from family with humor and compassion. I particularly enjoyed the realistic friendship between the 2 main characters. I found myself routing for the opinionated, prickly and likable heroine Soo ji.

The romance and friendship was more developed and feels more real this season. Where the first season was fluffy and fun, the second season is a more angsty with a little less attention given to food. This drama is likable and entertains on its own but i think it appeals more to fans of the first season who want to see more of Dae Young's character. I love his character because he is an everyday guy - someone who'd be fun to hang out with, always there to help his friends when they are in trouble, and always ready to give his opinions on food.

Though I enjoyed this overall I preferred the first season because the supporting characters were more entertaining there. The supporting characters here never really grew on me and I found myself always wanting to fast forward to see Dae Young, Soo ji, and Sang Woo instead. I found myself annoyed by the meddling of the grandma character and was really turned off by the landlady and Joo Seung characters. If they hadn't taken up so much screen time I would have rated this drama much higher. The mystery sub plot was particularly unappealing.

Still, overall I'd recommend this to food lovers and romantic comedy fans. The friendship, romance and delicious food scenes make up for the weaknesses. I iiked the main story and characters enough that I might even rewatch it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Master's Sun
2 people found this review helpful
by aec
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I don't watch scary stuff. In fact I can't even watch trailers to scary movies! Ha! To be able to actual watch this and finish these episodes makes me realize how amazing this drama is! The storyline and characters made everything worth enduring, even those bursts of creepy/scary moments. The comedic relief was everything! Very hilarious and I thought both actors did an extremely well job portraying their characters and also they read more are some of my favorite actors so I'd probably believe anything they are in.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No