Sort by:
General and I
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
love this drama. This is the first drama that I have seen Angel Baby in. She is so mesmerizing and talented. She looks like what a fairy queen would look like yet pulls off playing a strong character. I would like to see more if her dramas. Chang Wallace gets 5 stars from me in this drama. I recently saw him in a new movie with Lee Min Ho and he was read more very funny in that movie. Sun Sean I had not seen before he is another terrific actor. Would love to see him in another drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Goblin is a good drama, but even though I gave it a 9, it is not the best in other ways. I'll talk about what was good about the drama first, then I'll talk about what I disliked about the drama.

Characters

The characters were all great, especially the two male leads. Their interactions with each other were especially entertaining. I can't say for sure that I really disliked any of the read more characters, though I think I liked the second leads better than the male leads. They were more entertaining and they made a little more sense than the main leads, which I will get back to later.

Actors

I loved every one of the actors. Usually there's an actor I hate, but not in this drama. They were all enjoyable to watch and they all did a splendid job.

Plot

The story was interesting, especially with the grim reaper stuff. In the end I kind of wish that the way life and death work in the show would work similarly in real life too. The plot always kept me interested throughout the show and there were a lot of cliff hangers. Stupid plot devices were used sparingly and they partially made sense.

Visuals

The cinematography was fantastic. Even if you don't like everything else about this show, you will just like looking at it. It is beautiful and a sight for sore eyes.

Music

I love the majority of the music in this show and I've listened to many of the songs multiple times. The soundtrack really stood out and I don't think I really disliked any of the songs.

What I Disliked

I felt absolutely no chemistry between the male leads, personally. I thought they made great friends, but I always grimaced at any romantic moments. I just couldn't see them together romantically. I see them as inseparable friends, but no more than that.

Also, the main male lead kind of irritated me. He's supposed to be like 800+ years old but he acts like a child. Also, you cannot tell me that he never fell in love with anyone until he met the main female lead. I think it is an excuse to blame his childlike behavior on his personality. In You Who Came from the Stars, the main male lead had lead a similarly long life like the main lead of Goblin, but he was not childish in any name of the word. I felt that his personality was far more realistic for someone that had lived for a long time. As a character the main lead of Goblin is great, but when you realize how long he's lived he just doesn't make sense.

Overall

Of course I recommend that you watch Goblin. Overall it was a really good show and there are plenty of reasons to watch it despite my negative comments at the end. Give it a try and you'll probably like it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Somewhere inside Goblin, buried under a mound of PPL and tears, is a good show trying to get out. The first two episodes suggest what might have been, deftly mixing intense action and off-beat humor in a dark world filled with ominous reapers, wounded goblins, ghost-seeing teenagers and cabbage-wielding grannies. The stage seems set for a life and death clash of epic proportions. Alas, it quickly becomes apparent that the show has read more forgotten to include an antagonist. The goblin-reaper face-off devolves into a chummy bromance, leaving “fate” to play the role of spoiler. Unfortunately, it’s hard to fight disembodied destiny. Whole episodes are spent weeping in pretty scenery and eating Subway sandwiches. The talented cast tries to up the urgency, but with nothing tangible to battle, the pacing slows to a crawl. The extended episode lengths and the director’s tendency to linger a little too long on every moment exacerbate the problem. Even the romance falters on the uncomfortable age gap between the protagonists.

Every so often. interesting ideas pop up about guilt, redemption, and the role of kindness in a cosmos more random than rewarding. Alas, the fickle gods that rule this universe stay above the fray. A drama that actually allowed its characters to actively oppose them rather than simply lamenting their cruelty could have been powerful indeed.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Doctor Stranger
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
"Doctor Stranger" a.k.a "The missen opportunity".

Doctor stranger was a drama i went into and started watching with pretty big expectations. Right from the beginning of the drama, i was really into it, i thought it was really interesting and i honestly thought "this must be the best drama i've ever watched". But as the series goes on, it just goes downhill.

Now, i don't think doctor stranger is a bad series, read more i really don't. I think the idea they had for this drama, is really cool/interesting. The whole thing about communism and North-korea, it's just a really interesting concept, and it was too...for the first 5-6 episodes, after that the series sort of falls flat and becomes really repetitious. There was a lot of surgery scenes and a lot of scenes where Park Hoon was trying to convince his ex-girlfriend that she was his ex-girlfriend, I also found myself disliking her more and more as the series goes on, and by the middle of the drama, i was hoping that he'd just forget her and date "quack" instead. Some people say they think it gets better towards the end, i honestly don't think so. I absolutely loved the OST to this drama though. Bobby Kim-Stranger, I think that song especially fits really well with the drama. So my overall thought are that Doctor stranger is that K-drama that could've been amazing. If they had just put in a bit more effort with the scriptwriting, it would've been great. But i will say the acting was great (Lee Jong Suk did great and i loved his character), the storyline (the idea of the drama) was great and the music was great.

I hope that someone will come out with a drama that has the same concept as Doctor Stranger, just better.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Mary Stayed Out All Night
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
I re-watched Mary Stayed Out All Night. This is something I watched originally early on in my k-drama watching career, as it stars the Prince of Asia, Jang Geun Suk, who I loved so very much in You're Beautiful that I went on a binge watching everything I could find with him in it. Mary Stayed Out All Night (or sometimes it's known as Marry Me, Mary) has Moon Geun Young as read more Wi Mae Ri, the daughter of a father who is always on the run from debtors, and Jang Geun Suk as Kang Moo Kyul, an indie rocker who plays with his band in Hongdae. There's also Kim Jae Wook (who was delightful in Coffee Prince and another compelling reason for me to watch this show, though the stiffness that was an asset for his character in Coffee Prince is kind of a hindrance for his character in this show) as Jung In, the son of the chaebol who was childhood friends with Mae Ri's deceased mother. Rounding out (squaring out?) the love square is Kim Hyo Jin as Seo Joon, a temperamental actor and Moo Kyul's ex-girlfriend who's still holding a torch for him.

Mary Stayed Out All Night is a contract marriage drama. Mae Ri fakes a marriage with Moo Kyul in order to try to get out of the arranged marriage that her father and the chaebol arrange between her and Jung In. The pacing is uneven in this show, hitting a period just before the end where it really drags on, but I still find it utterly charming. When watching the early episodes, I really feel like one of Jang Geun Suk's goals was to follow up You're Beautiful with a drama where he smiles his adorable, heart melting smile as often as he made his twisty mouth, bitter pants face in You're Beautiful. Where the drama starts to drag is in the latter episodes, where his character gets much more broody and does a lot less smiling. I will say that this is the drama that showed me that Jang Geun Suk knows how to kiss a woman. :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Bring It On, Ghost
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I just finished watching Let's Fight, Ghost, which features 2PM's Ok Taec Yeon as a college student who can see ghosts and Kim So Hyun (who I liked a lot in Who Are You?: School 2015) as the ghost of a high school student (but think 17 or 18, not 15). South Korea does good ghosts. :) It's a cute show, with a fair amount of humor, creepy ghost makeup and visuals, read more and a satisfyingly creepy bad guy. It's a show from tvN, which is a cable station in Korea, as opposed to a regular broadcast station. A lot of the recent dramas that I've very much enjoyed have been from tvN. The pacing in Let's Fight, Ghost is fairly uneven, though, so I give it 4 out of 5 stars on DramaFever (where I watched it) and 8 out of 10 on MyDramaList (where I track what I've watched.)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I also recently finished watching Goblin: The Lonely and Great God. This show is also by tvN. It was beautiful, poignant, lyrical (to borrow Christina Bertani's descriptor), and all around wonderful. It stars the always amazing Gong Yoo (who I first loved in my first K-drama, Coffee Prince) as the Goblin cursed with immortality and Kim Go Eun (who did her television debut in 2016 in Cheese in the Trap) as the read more Goblin's Bride, who can see ghosts and is the only one who can break his curse. It also stars Lee Dong Wook (who, I will be perfectly honest, I feel in love with while watching him on the variety show Roommates and have loved in everything I've seen him in) who plays a Grim Reaper and his love interest is played by the very beautiful Yoo In Na (who I've seen in several shows and I'm very glad she finally gets to play a character who is not an utter bitch). There is no one on this planet who is as good at the wounded, kicked puppy look as Lee Dong Wook. You just want to hug him and carry him around in your pocket. I give this drama 5 out of 5 on DramaFever (where I watched it) and 10 out of 10 on MyDramaLIst. I'd give it 1000 out of 1000, even. The bromance between the Goblin and the Grim Reaper is amazing and would make this drama a joy to watch even if everything else in it sucked. Luckily, nothing in it sucks. Except maybe the age difference between the Goblin and his bride. But given how chaste k-drama romance is, I am easily able to give that a pass. :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
A while back, I watched Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo. I didn't exactly have a high bar set for it when I started it, but it was a thoroughly delightful series. It was funny and touching. The leads had great chemistry. It was a the kind of school based love story drama that seem to be a common theme. And it was entirely engaging. Lee Sung Kyung as the lead, Kim Bok read more Joo, was wonderful and poignant and funny in the role. I loved that her character was brash and loud and uniquely herself. And Nam Joo Hyuk as rising star swimmer Jung Joon Hyung was everything I wanted him to be. And he loved her thoroughly as she is and didn't seek to change her. Plus his sub story was heart wrenching. I highly recommend this show.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
It Started with a Kiss
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
"It Started with a Kiss" (ISWAK) was the first Asian drama I watched 10 years ago and it's still my favorite Taiwanese drama to date! (My favorite drama of all time goes to Kdrama "Legend of the Blue Sea" & "You Who Came from the Stars" -- also highly recommended :P).

There are multiple remakes with the same story line, but ISWAK is by far the best. (Please completely skip over the read more Korean one -- "Playful Kiss", it's really awful.) Unlike the Korean version, the casting/acting here is excellent. Ariel Lin does a really great job of being the silly but still likeable main female lead, Yuan Xian Qin, and is perfect with Joe Cheng, who plays the cold-hearted/genius male lead, Zhang Zhi Shu. The second male lead, Ah Jin, is also extremely funny and played by the awesome actor Jiro Wang!

Plus, the OST is also amazing, especially the main theme, "Practical Joke". There also are a bunch of other background songs that fit perfectly, like "Hear" and "The Whole World Knows".

If you can't tell, I would highly highly recommend this drama! ^__^ It's happy and funny and filled with memorable characters!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
General and I
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I don't think I will ever understand why Chinese dramas are ridiculously long - and for no good reason either. With that said, General and I (G&I) suffered greatly from said long episodes and the annoying drama tropes I dislike: unexplained time skips, disappearing characters, lack of character development, illogical character motivations and of course the drawn- out episodes. This may just be the only drama that I will review before finishing read more because the remaining episodes are very predictable. I managed to watch up to episode 56 before I decided to write my opinion on the drama; but, the writers could have just stopped at episode 32 and saved us the 30+ episode of rubbish. But, you should still watch it for amazing action scenes and cinematography.

On a Special Note:

Acting/Cast
Chung Wallace as Chu Bei Jie was great casting. Outside of the fact he literally carried the show, his actions scenes were also a treat to watch. There was plenty of eye candy from Angelababy as Bai Ping Ting, Sun Yi Zhou as He Xia, and Qi Hang as Ze YI - the casting directors did not disappoint.

More Please!
I would have loved to see more character development of Zou Yang as Zui Ju. She was an interesting character that the audience needed to understand her background and her motivations. Also, Wei Bing Hua as Chu Mo Ran killed it. Especially during his action scenes, he could certainly go toe-to- toe with Chu Bei Jie. Chang Xiao's cuteness overload was giving me life.

Honorable Mention
Gwei Fei for having no redeemable qualities. I love when antagonists are bad to the core.

Would I re-watch?
Only up to episode 32.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Marriage, Not Dating
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
This drama is like a gem in a pile of trash. And no, I am not saying that dramas around it are garbage. Marriage, Not Dating is both the pile of trash and the gem in it.

The story is as cliche as it gets. Marriage contracts, evil mothers, ex girlfriends and second male leads, this drama has everything! While that doesn't necessarily make it bad, in this case it did. Both read more the second male and female leads were annoying and hard to understand, the writers failed to make them even a tiny bit relatable, they just threw their backround stories on us saying "Here! That's what you want, right?". Both of them felt superficial and God do I hate people who smile all the time like Yeo Reum did. Since it doesn't really have a story, then It's automatically aiming to be a character driven drama, but they failed to costruct good characters. The last 3-4 episodes redeemed a lot of the drama by giving some character development to Jang Mi's parents and Gi Tae's mother, the way they handeled her character was easily the best part of this drama. The two main leads were cliche. A clumsy, no good female lead who's driven by her feelings and a rude main male lead who becomes nice by the end because love(?). Both of them only got sappy developments which is fine I guess.

Now the gem of this drama was the atmosphere, the way they handeled the comedy and mood shifts. It's so hard to do, yet they managed to do such a good job at it a scene could be both funny and heart wrenching and only God knows how they managed to pull it off. That's why I still managed to enjoy this drama. The main characters, even if not the most original, were fun to observe, because of the comedic situations they got themselves into and the way the writers handeled them.

The soundtrack was catchy, too. The way they used the "Bridal Chorus" was very creative. All the songs could totaly stand on their own.

This could have been really good, but it just wasn't and I am not seeing what other people did. While the gem shines brightly I just can't ignore the trash around it thus I would only recommend this drama if you have nothing else to watch and want a few laughs.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
City Hunter
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
First of all, I have to say that SO MUCH HAPPENS in this series. It is 25 hours of action-filled, emotionally charged, complex plot so I found writing a good comprehensive review of it quite challenging. I don't even mention any of the awesome secondary characters or really do justice to the crazy emotional roller coaster of Yung Soon and Jin Pyo's relationship. So,please excuse my inadequacies and trust me that this read more is an exciting and gripping drama with all the plot twists and complicated and emotional relationships you could ever hope for!

City Hunter is a pretty typical need-for-revenge-made-me-a-vigilante type of thriller. Complete with the conceit that all it takes is a little strip of cloth over his mouth to make Yung Soon completely unrecognizable. If you've seen Arrow or Batman, this plot will mostly be nothing new to you. It's even based on a manga and has an awesome black and white manga style opening. (Random Question: Why are vigilantes always so wealthy?)

The twist in the story is an interesting one from a character stand point. While Lee Yung Soon wants to avenge his father, he is driven to it mostly by honor and the relentless pressure from his foster father rather than from any sense of real emotional betrayal by the perpetrators. The emotional drive behind the quest is Lee Jin Pyo and Yung Soon's desire to please him and earn his love. Jin Pyo is also still holding a lot of cards close to his chest and is blatantly manipulating Yung Soon. It is impossible to tell what his feelings for the boy are. He is an enigmatic figure and he and Yung Soon's relationship is deliciously complex. Their relationship takes what is a pretty generic revenge-vigilante plot line and bumps it up a notch. The pacing for the plot is really excellent for most of the show's run and even when that fails it still manages to have exciting cliffhangers in key places. The action/fight scenes are creative, well choreographed, well-shot and well- performed and are always exciting. In short, this drama overall is a ton of fun.

It makes sense that a complicated character and relationship are what make this drama stand out. What I've found in my limited experience with K Dramas is that developing characters and complicated relationships - and making the viewer 100% invested in them - is their major strength. They are certainly not above doing a little emotional manipulating but I'm down with that. I love characters that are conflicted in themselves and a vigilante plotline lends itself to that so well. Yung Soon's big conflict is that he just desperately wants a normal life and everything that comes with that. However, his upbringing has insured that he doesn't even know exactly what that looks and feels like.
My first impression upon being introduced to Lee Min Ho in his role as Lee Yung Soon, was that this kid was far too pretty to play a character that is meant to be a super duper bad ass vigilante. I mean look at him. He's really really ridiculously good looking (Zoolander reference intentional) not to mention slim and kind of willowy.

Apparently, Lee Min Ho is kind of a big deal in Korea. His career started as the ('a'?) lead in a hugely popular drama that I have not seen but I have certainly heard of, Boys over Flowers. That role and his good looks have pretty much guaranteed him a spot on every "hottest Korean actors" list you can find on the internet. What I didn't bargain for was that he is not only popular because of his pretty pretty face but because he is also a good actor. Probably the best I've encountered in the handful of K Dramas I've watched.

So it didn't take many episodes for me to realize that he is actually perfect for this role which has a serious bad ass side but also a sad and lonely little boy side (as so many vigilantes do) and he carries off the dichotomy really well. His look really works for this. He can pull off being an arrogant player prick one minute and a damaged little boy the next. Plus I don't know many dudes who could pull off looking and being bad-ass while wearing a pair of salmon colored skinny jeans.

The female protagonist, Kim Na Na (Park Min Young) also has her share of troubles. Ten year's previously, when she was just a school girl, her mother was killed and her father put in a coma by a car accident. She lives very stressfully, trying to pay her father's exorbitant health care bills by working multiple odd jobs like being a designated driver and selling sketchy health tonics. Despite these troubles, her personality is fairly cheerful and things take a turn for the better when she gets accepted to work as a secret service agent/bodyguard at the Blue House (the equivalent of the White House in the U.S.). Also working at the Blue House? Lee Yung Soon as an IT professional and unbeknownst to Kim Na Na, along with his revenge mission, Yung Soon has been asked, for some complicated unknown reasons, to keep an eye on Na Na. Mysteries everywhere! While he hides it well, he is pretty much smitten with her before he even meets her. And it's no wonder because Na Na is really lovely in a stunning but very girl-next-door sort of way.

She is also bad ass in her own right! She really annoyed me at first - there was a lot of over-the-top crying in the first few episodes and she is a little blatantly unfair to Yung Soon, though she of course does not know his secret. However, she eventually turned into one of my favorite female leads - she's strong, fearless, and compassionate. And way more emotionally intelligent than Yung Soon. Unfortunately, the drama seriously drops the ball on her character at a particular point but more on that below because it is tied up with my criticisms of the drama.

And what about the romance? It's development is fantastic. Slow burn, in best K drama fashion. Kim Na Na truly loathes Yung Soon, despite his good looks, until she starts to catch on to his secret and realize he is not quite the selfish a-hole she has thought him to be. And once she falls, she is so forthright and brave about her feelings - it is so sweet and confident and awesome. Unfortunately, once again, the Drama - despite putting a TON of screen time and effort into developing the romance - drops the ball.

Here's the reason why this Drama does not get full marks from me. It does a decent job of wrapping up the revenge plot line and resolving Yung Soon and Jin Pyo's relationship. Mostly. However, somewhere around episode 15ish it just completely goes off the rails regarding its characters and relationships which it has been meticulously developing. The romance and Lee Yung Soon's wanting to be part of a loving family are a huge theme of the drama but it mostly put those aside for the last 5 episodes or so and never really adequately picks theme back up and brings them to a closure. Kim Na Na, practically disappears from the show and her character is boiled down to two minutes of reaction shots per episode. The independence of her character completely disappears. The pacing in the last 5 or so episodes is also out of whack, spending lots of time on unimportant details so then at the ultimate end, everything feels rushed. It's a shame because up until that point the Drama was really hitting everything out of the park, so it was a shame to see it stumble in the end.

I'll end with some technical comments. The production values of the show are seriously top-notch. They are indistinguishable from a big-budget Hollywood action blockbuster and they sustain that for 25 hours of television. It's beautiful and stylish from the opening credits to the last shot.

I've also learned that it is impossible to properly review a K Drama without reviewing the Original Soundtrack. City Hunter's is AWESOME! The music was addictive and used really well to enhance the action. My favorite is the main "Heisty things are going down" theme music. Thence forth this shall be the music to accompany all my heroic ass-kicking. It has this driving jazzy drum beat, lush strings and then some bombastic and ominous horns come in mid way - Yum! The name of the song is Sad Run though as one Youtube commenter appropriately pointed out: " 'Sad Run'? More like Epic Strutting of Lee Freakin' Min Ho":0) https://youtu.be/evDbAajnosg

Finally, I watched the show on Viki.com which uses amateur teams of translators that are either volunteers or likely only paid a little to produce the subtitles. This is a cool system and it definitely allows the site to offer lots of dramas translated into many languages. However, my experience has been that you have to be prepared for a lot of meaning to be lost in translation. The translations are usually literal rather than meaningful and it can lead to confusion. (For example one translation I copied down: "You're sitting on top of your father's head now, aren't you?" Um, what?) Also because it is usually a team doing the translating, sometimes terms that are frequently used throughout the series can switch mid stream. For example there are two characters that are initially in early episodes referred to as ex-boyfriend and girlfriend but later in the show (and more accurately) they are ex-husband and wife. It doesn't effect my overall enjoyment and understanding of the show but I do feel like I maybe miss nuances. Something to be aware of if you plan on watching the show in translation on Viki.

FINAL VERDICT: If you like comic book revenge-vigilante plot lines you will love City Hunter which is well done and so much fun though it loses a little steam towards the conclusion and has a very frustrating ending.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I have finished this drama a few days ago and I am still speechless. It was just perfect. The cast had a really good chemistry and the story was great. I love the bromance between the grim reaper and the goblin. Even more after seeing the behind the scene footage. I love the two great love stories. It was a rollercoaster but it was worth the tears. I enjoyed watching the drama read more because it all fits. The overall appearance was perfect. The people who worked behind the drama really did a great job. The costumes, the make-up, the stage setting, the plot... Everyone who put their blood, sweat and tears into it did an outstanding job.
The actors did a great job. After seeing the bts footage I am even more impressed by them. They did a lot of improvisation and I think this shows how good their skills are and how good their chemistry is.
The writers did the best job out of everyone. Without them the drama wouldn't have been that good. The plot was so well written with everything just perfectly matching. The writers have found the right balance of wit and seriousness. I can't say more without spoiling everyone. You just have to watch for yourself. It is by far the best drama I have ever seen.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Legend of the Blue Sea
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I really enjoyed watching LOTBS alot. In fact, it has become one of my favourite k drama. I know that the show is not without its flaws, but flaws and all, I'm completely in love with the show.

Even though the show may be predictable, but what lies in its beauty is its predictability. I enjoy watching a drama with substance, and even though it's predictable, it's still a joy to watch. read more It might not have the in the moments kind of plot where the drama puts you on the edge every episode, making you wonder whats going to happen next and etc, but it has the everyday ordinariness to it, and that's what makes me love the show so much. I'm aware that there are other drama who are also ordinary, but somehow, i loved that for a fantasy drama, one that plays with the age old legend of the mermaid, all they crave for is the simplicity and ordinariness of everyday life.

Jeon Ji Hyun and Lee Min Ho played their roles very well. And well, their chemistry to me, is amazing. It's not the out of this world chemistry where people will go omg, their chemistry is the bomb kind of thing, it's more towards of them being together, and being just like any other ordinary couple and their longing for something so simple that makes it special to me. I attribute their chemistry to the directors and producers of the drama too. Chemistry between leads is a subjective thing. It also depends on the direction and nature of the drama. If a drama is meant to be warm and fuzzy, and not hot and sizzling, then the way the main leads interact and act will also change accordingly to the direction of the drama too..

I would say give this show a try. You may or may not like it initially, but there's something special about wanting to be ordinary that makes it special to me. In addition, this show also showed me another side of Lee Min Ho. If i have to choose, this would be my favourite drama of his since his BOF days till now. And as usual, Jeon Ji Hyun, is amazing. She pulls off being a mermaid effortlessly when we know it's otherwise for her while filming!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Cheese in the Trap
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I could firmly say that this is the best drama series that I've ever seen. First of all, the casting for this show was superb, all of the actors were so natural and perfect for their roles. I sang along to the soundtrack all the time and even now, I come back to the OST once in a while. Without spoiling anything I'd like to say that you really need to watch read more this drama 2 times at least. The first time you're gonna be smiling, talking to yourself and encouraging the characters. Also, you're probably gonna be very shocked as well. The second time, you're going to be viewing those characters a lot differently, but also laughing and hoping for a better ending.
Definitely one of the best Korean dramas out there. With a combination of comedy, romance and drama this will be a great series for a 2-day binge :D
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No