Sort by:
The K2
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 2.0
  • Story 2.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I was SOOOOOOO excited for this drama when I heard about it. Main reason was bc JCK was in it!!!! But while watching it. My excitement slowly degraded that I just couldn't watch it anymore. I tried to watch as much as could because I wish it would be better but I couldn't.

The plot was just........WEIRD. it was all over the place. So confusing. I've watched so many dramas in my read more life and this one was just a NO. I feel so sorry for JCW oppa but I just couldn't watch anymore.

The actresses and actors were GOOOOOOOOD tho. Choi yoo Jin. Omg! She was AMAZING. And of course my oppa was too. It's just sad that the plot wasn't good. *sigh. I'm sad.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Coffee Prince
1 people found this review helpful
by Andy
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 3.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
This drama brings back feelings from first crush,first love,first kiss and first heart break. Watching Gong Yoo play the role of Choi Han Kyul makes me want to marry him. lols. I mean where on earth can one still find a man who is as ideal as him and longs to be with his love as much as he does. He is everything a man can be yet as genuine and loving read more as we women.
Yoon Eun Hye's acting is superb. I can't think of any other actress who could play her role. It's as if she was born to play the role.
This is certainly one of the best dramas of all time. Gong Yoo as the most handsome Korean actor who shares the same spot in my heart as Song Joong Ki.

P.S I just wish Yoon Eun wore a different shirt in theit most intense kissing scene, instead of that red polo. It would have been more romantic if she at least wore a soft fabric shirt.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Empress Ki
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
Warning: do not watch if you have any heart problems. This is one large roller-coaster ride.

Story (9.0):
This show... It will make you question everything and change your way of thinking throughout.
First you will laugh when the good guys laugh, and sneer or cry when the bad guys laugh, and then you will cry when a good person dies, and cheer when a bad person meets their fate. But then read more you will cry when a neutral character suddenly dies offscreen, and even worse, start to question the good players motives and think how unfair it is and start crying when a villain meets their untimely fate. You will cry when an evil turncoat can't have his happy ending, and then you will laugh and cry some more and wonder how the protagonist suddenly became this person, realize what happened along the way to make her this way, and wonder how you didn't see it all coming, and why, why, why... And then you will bite into a lime covered in sweet, sweet sugar and wonder: why did I even watch this! And so you will have to go back to Episode 1 from the 18:30 mark just to assure yourself you didn't waste 50 hours of your miserable life and when you watch it you realize exactly what has happened in all those hours between episode 1 and the final episode and you are shocked just by how much this was NOT a waste of your life and it hits you like a slap in the face how amazingly sweeping, agonizing, beautiful, unfair, and awesome this drama story all was. And you don't regret a thing, while laughing and crying.

TL;DR: The story is brutally honest and amazing and mostly believable besides the fact that at one point multiple archers can't hit two people stretched out literally a single jumps distance away, and you may tire of scared and shocked and crying and dying faces, but all the happy stuffed in between was too good to give up.

Acting/Cast (9.5):
I'll admit, I can sometimes get fed up with Ha Ji Won's shocked/unbelieving face that she always seems to make, but she is a great actress and I've seen her in many, many other things and can hardly discredit her at all. The Emperor (Ji Chang-Wook) himself was an amazing cast for a likable cowardly nincompoop turned possessive feral puppy, and Wang Yoo (Joo Jin Moo) was great throughout.
But I'd also like to give special props to the Empress Danashiri (Baek Jin Hee) who perfectly portrays a perfectly justified "villain" who is completely understandable, easy to hate, and makes you pity her even in her downfall; also props to her brother Dang Ki Se (Kim Jung Hyun) and to Tal Tal. Frankly, I don't think there wasn't a good actor in this drama.

Music (8.5):
I'd love to give this music a higher rating because I thoroughly enjoyed the orchestral aspect of things and even some of the songs, but when you are at the very final episode in the very climax, the scene that LITERALLY finished off the drama, HOW DARE YOU make such a music change when I was expecting this one melody! I might exaggerate a little bit since it fit okay I guess, but I was supremely disappointed.

Rewatch Value (8.5):
Immediately after I finished episode 51, I went back and rewatched part of the first episode just to calm my racing heart. I've rewatched some of my favorite scenes since then, and while it's such a grand scope that it might not be easily rewatchable, it's not not rewatchable...

Overall (9.0):
Sweeping, romantic, utterly heartwarming and heartbreaking, actions that you can't stand and can't stand not to watch, if you enjoy historical dramas, then this is one that you can not pass up in good conscience. If you don't enjoy historical dramas or just can't do the 51 episodes, I don't blame you, but I'll say this (at the time of writing): it is the longest drama, almost by multiple of 2, that I've ever stuck with.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Queen In Hyun's Man
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Amazing! One of my all time favorites, even if it used a few tropes I at first was uneasy with, it all resolved quickly and turned out great!

Story (10.0):
This story... I'm personally a fan of both historical and modern day dramas and everything in-between, and while I generally am NOT a fan of time-travel, this plot just fused historical, time-travel, and modern in together in such a way that I read more couldn't deny the genius. There was a bit of stuff with the time travel and devices used that I felt uneasy with, but it all made perfect sense and couldn't be argued with. I believe this is one of those dramas where everything was planned out ahead of time and it definitely shows.
The only part that I felt dragged a bit was the very first episode when everything was being set up, but after that it was a pleasure to watch. I still get goosebumps from the scene with a time overlay... You'll know what I'm talking about once you watch it.

Acting/Cast (10.0):
Wow. One of my all time favorite couples! They even dated in real life afterward, though they've broken up since. Used to be my favorite drama couple ever, though there are some close runner ups now. The supporting cast is all decent, and play their parts well, even if the characters themselves can be annoying.

Music (8.0):
It's not extremely memorable music by any chance, but it fits the drama very well, often using that dramatic orchestral element that you might find in a historical drama. The songs were also very decent and didn't make me want to cringe, so that's a plus. Nothing I'd download to play back, but I'm giving it an optimistic rating because it fits well enough.

Rewatch Value (9.0):
I have yet to rewatch it. That is ever since I finished it, because as soon as I finished the drama I went back and watched all my favorite parts, which coincidentally happened to include both Yoo In Ah and Ji Hyun Woo... I will definitely enjoy rewatching this one.

Overall (9.5):
After I finished this drama, I probably would have told you that it was my favorite drama ever. Anymore I'm not so certain, but it's at least a contender... Go watch it, and if by episode 8 you don't like it, I'm sorry for you.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
6 days ago
6 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This was all set up to be one of my most favorite dramas ever! So how did it only make a final overall of 8?

Story (7.5):
I'll start with that I really enjoyed the first half more than the second half, even though the blossoming relationship was really great to see and there was great chemistry between the actors that didn't show up as much in the first half.
However, there read more were just enough overly ridiculous elements to this drama that it just couldn't get the 10 I so wanted to give to it after the first few episodes.
The main reasons include: stupid gangsters, stupid police, stupid "professional" workers, stupid comedy, stupid monk, stupid jokes...
The other reasons include: unnecessary gangsters, unnecessary "professional" workers, unnecessary stupid comedy, entirely unnecessary monk, unnecessary stupid jokes... And too little Ji Soo (only kind of kidding).
I enjoyed some of the comedy and loved to laugh at this drama, but it just got more and more ridiculous.
I don't want to bash on this drama too much because I really, really enjoyed it especially every scene that had: Park Bo Young, Park Hyung Shik, Ji Soo; and also didn't have: Kim Won Hae, Im Won Hee.
However, the final deal breaker was the final scene of the final episode, which episode I really enjoyed on so many levels and really didn't enjoy on some other levels.
It was great to see some last scenes with a sadly 2d but amazingly acted villain, and the result of relationship between mains was just the cherry on top... But then they had to go in and throw that last scene in which you see some irresponsibility with some mumbo jumbo about the world which I admit looked cool, but the more I thought about it the more I felt it didn't fit with the character...
*SIGH* That probably took away at least 0.5 off of my final score.

Acting/Cast (10):
Park Bo Young and Park Hyung Shik were aMAzing together, and having Ji Soo in there was just a great plus. The rest of the casting was great too, especially from the villain! and even from the overly ridiculous characters as they played it how they should have, even if I didn't exactly enjoy it all.

Music (7.5):
I guess I should also mention the music... It wasn't anything spectacular that I loved; the Love you love you song was fine and actually a really decent song, but nothing unique. Some people may like the Trouble song too, but not my cup of tea.

Rewatch Value (8.0):
For rewatch... I could re-watch a lot of the scenes over and over, and in truth I watched the majority of the drama twice, one raw and once with subs; but I think most of my rewatching will only be done on the first half, especially if it's full episodes.

Overall (8.0):
Wish I could have given it a 10, but had enough filler comedy I just couldn't deal. Still a great drama and recommended!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Coffee Prince
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
I COMPLETED WATCHING dis drama Yesterday.
gender blend drama. female lead misunderstood as an male ........ there is no triangle love story.
no bullying... only friendship nad love.
both the leads are good together. i quitly enjoyed the story
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
I enjoyed this drama . Actually a chemistry betweent them was really good. after finishing the wholle drama we kiind of miss them ( my feeling) .

in my point of view this drama storylline was not new but the presentation style was realy gooooood,. it guives a postive attitude............................. I MISS THEM......
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Strong Woman Do Bong Soon
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
I never expected to like this drama as much as I did. I expected it to be a repeat of "Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok-joo", and although they both have general romcom similarities, and strong female leads, they are totally different. This is really a superhero story as much as a romcom. Bong Soon is one of those characters that's easy to like and will be hard to forget. The show feels more read more like a comic than a drama and takes multiple genres to the extreme... it's an action-romance-thriller-comedy... and viewers should be warned that everything about this show is waaaaay over the top. I suggest not taking anything too seriously and just enjoying all the craziness this show has to offer.

Do Bong Soon is played by Park Bo Young, who was in one of my favorite dramas,"Oh My Ghostess", yet I didn't recognize her at all. With her super cute bob haircut, her amped up adorable personality, and her petite stature, it was exciting to see her character with this unexpected superhuman strength. I loved her character's origin story, and I'm always a fan of the anti-damsel in distress, so I was already interested in this drama from episode one. She really plays the sweet girl you don't want to mess with role extremely well.

She is matched with Park Hyung Shik as Ahn Min Hyeok, and I don't think I can accurately describe with words how charming, and just beautiful to look at he is in this role - it's *swoon* overload. He is not even my type, at all, but it's like they put a special perfection filter on him, and he played every scene in a way that made it impossible for me not to fall for him. Together their adorable couple rating is off the charts! Their chemistry is perfect, so perfect that the cheesiest scenes and moments still worked for me, and soooo many scenes were extra cheesy. He is also so supportive of her, which makes the traditional role reversal refreshing to watch. To me they came right up to the border of being obnoxious in their cuteness, but never crossed it, because they were such a good match.

The rest of the cast was mostly awesome too, considering all the genres that they had to cover. Ji Soo as In Gook Doo completes the love triangle, and plays his part really well, although I honestly couldn't stand how the actual character behaved. Gook Doo may inspire 2nd lead syndrome in some, but he was too controlling and self-righteous for me to really root for. I loved Bong Soon's family, BFF, and especially grandma. I also really liked the villain, who I think was played by the actor better than the character was actually written. He was creepy and sinister, yet kinda seductive and attractive, which I think is a recipe for an excellent villain/nemesis. Then there is the supporting cast MVP Kim Won Hae. I didn't love him in his first role, It was just too corny and gross for me, but his second role was hilarious in its absurdity. I applaud his ability to take both roles to such extremes. The cast is definitely full of memorable characters.

Part of the reason I deducted some acting points was because a lot of the comedy just wasn't my to my taste. Korean humor can get too silly for me sometimes, which was part of my issue with some of the performances. There is a whole gangster subplot that annoyed me. There is a Monk that is completely ridiculous. Then on a more serious note, Seol In Ah's role was pretty useless, and forgettable. There is also a family drama plot that I forgot all about until the end when it's obvious that they were missing. These criticisms are because of the writers, more than the acting, which is why i deducted even more points from the story. Don't get me wrong, I liked the story a lot, and loved watching Bong Soon become more confident and evolve into a Shero, but the story as a whole is all over the place. The thriller part is intriguing enough to drive her motivation, but it went from being seriously creepy to resolving with a more comic book feel. There are a lot of parts of the story that I felt were left without a real explanation, or resolved too quickly, but all of this was forgivable because of how much I still enjoyed watching every episode.

I also forgive the last episode, which had mostly filler, but I loved the very end (obvious but perfect), which made me very curious about what a second season would be like.

The OST was good, and matched the show well, especially the "Super Power Girl"Theme! However, I did not fall in love with any of the songs, not even Park Hyung Shik's ballad.

Now comes the highest score for me - rewatch value. I gave it a 9.5 because I could definitely see myself watching this more than once. With all it's flaws, and silliness, I just had so much fun watching, and couldn't wait to watch the next episode! I almost gave rewatch a 10 but I would definitely skip through some of the comedy scenes.

Overall, I would recommend this as a cute twist on a superhero story that encourages female empowerment, not in a subtle way... in a walnut hammer over the head way! I also love the message of not underestimating someone based on appearance, and helping others selflessly. I think it's best to just embrace that the plot is chaos, the comedy is ludicrous, and enjoy the fact that it may not always be coherent but it all supports this character's journey to her destiny (well, maybe not the stupid monk). I also highly recommend it to anyone who is on the lookout for a talented and crush-worthy actor, because I think Park Hyung Shik definitely fits the bill.

If you're looking for maturity, a substantive plot, characters with great depth, and no clichés or exploited stereotypes... back away from this drama slowly and don't come back to it until you're in a lighter mood.

This is the drama equivalent of a bag full of candy! Not every flavor in the bag will be good, but most of it is delicious, and the sugar high makes it all worth it!

Oh, and if there was a Bong Soon video game, I would totally be excited to play it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Secret Love Affair
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
this drama was going to be brilliant but wz sorrow it has 2 huge negative points
1st :
lots of piano music tracks wasn't necessary at all except filling the drama
2nd:
lots of flashbacks even from the same ep. which made the drama very slowly and at the same time boring
.
3rd: i couldn't find it
the sub was horrible i tried to figure out the drama as much as read more i could
.
in spite of all that i was fond of (Yoo ah in) love to (kim hee ah) sooo
his love was pure , innocent & faithful till the end
he tried as much as he can to keep the love relation between them in spite of the big age difference & the
Social level difference
i really loved how he tried to proof his love to her
first time to me to see (yoo ah) but his acting was brilliant
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Healer
3 people found this review helpful
by Elle
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This drama is phenomenal and pure perfection. The story is timed perfectly and keeps you clinging to your seat. With excellent performances from Ji Chang Wook, Park Min Young and Yoo Ji Tae driving the story forward, this drama is in a class of its own.
The chemistry ... oh man, the chemistry between the lead protagonists is soooooo good. Their love is sweet and nurturing. I particularly liked how Ji Chang read more Wook depicted the differences between Healer and the shy Bong Soo. It made me very reminiscent of Superman and Clark Kent.
I found this drama very balanced across its genres. It touches on mostly Action and Romance, but there's just enough Comedy to keep it light enough. It has all the good feels, but it is by no means a melodrama. Thank goodness. I cannot recommend this drama enough. In fact, I am ready to watch it again!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Strong Woman Do Bong Soon
1 people found this review helpful
by Elle
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Omo, omo, this couple is going to be a fan favorite. Min min and Bong Bong are just too precious. Their love is what drives this drama forward, keeping everyone watching ...
This drama is by no means perfect. There are a few plot holes, and the drama has the tendency to focus too much on secondary characters. Even with these shortcoming, the romance in this drama makes up for it.
This read more drama is truly fresh and new. Featuring a peanut size King Kong as the lead protagonist. Park Bo Young will steal into your heart. Park Hyung Shik's performance as a snarky chaebol keeps delivering the SASS. His love and obsession with the surprisingly strong protagonist will keep you grinning from ear to ear. What are you waiting for?! Go Watch It!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Queen In Hyun's Man
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Under no circumstances should this one be missed if you're a sucker for the following:

- Time travel
- Romance
- Historical

So much said about Queen In Hyun's Man and FINALLY able to take this one off the drama bucket list in 2017 is an experience hard to describe. But here it goes. A drama-altering experience much in the same way Kim Boong Do's future experiences forever changed the way he read more looked at things once he is back to that reality of his. In my case, this rewrote all expectations for time travel romance, while asking me to re-evaluate - ever so politely- all time-travel drama watching experiences I've had prior to this. For one, this drama interweaves between both past and present elements/worlds throughout the entire plot.


Story (9/10): Action is excitingly divided between the past and modern worlds, unlike most works of this genre where the character is stuck in the past or future 95% of the time and time travel aspect fails to be relevant majority of the time. While most time-travel pieces conclude the power of fate/history in remaining true to its course, this one explores the impact of one's actions and the precarious position of history as a result of it.

Let me make this clear. This is not a perfect drama. In fact, loopholes and flaws are clear at times. Characters and core premise are non-dimensional for the most part, but the charm of the characters, emotional twists and unpredictable turns in the telling of the tale to keep audiences thrilled down to the last minute, largely make up for it. For this, I am glad to let them pry the get out of jail free card for a 9 score.


Acting/Chemistry (9/10):

Something is just so charming about Yoo In Na as Choi Hee Jin that the attraction towards her character is so believable because of it. Ji Hyun Woo isn't what you call captivating at first glance but doesn't take long to grow on you thanks to his chemistry with Yoo In Na. Seriously one of the most romantic pairings in dramaland, so I bet you can imagine how toyed with my poor heart felt when I learned this ship ACTUALLY sailed in real life just to sink shortly after.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Eternal Love
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I started to see this drama because I really like Historical dramas, and the Summaries looks great. However I thought that was so many episodes *58* I came to an end very quickly, nor wanted to believe, because this drama is really very good and addictive, I cried in some parts, I laugh not crazy in others.

The history as very well done and always keeping the part interesting and captivating every read more episode that passes. Not only focusing on the main characters, but also on those around them, like the little fox * that I loved * and others from other worlds, and how they intersect. Wow. By the way I didn't read the book yet so I can't comparet.
In my opinion all the actors were excellent. I could really feel the pain of them all, the love and their happiness, when there was. Especially for Chao Mark and Yang Mi who let me surrender to them, they really make the best in this drama, I have seen a little of romance dramas but this one ... in romance? geez I was in love to. And when Ye hua starts to cry .. I cry too!
And the bad lady, I was cheated by her in so many ways * I feel bad* but good acting.

Rewatch - Obvious !!! I would come again and feel everything again. I would take the potion to live it all over again * laugh *

I will of course tell everyone to wath this, is now on my favourite!! Love it! love it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Eternal Love
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
I hope you guys all realized this is just a cleverly disguised Return of the Condor Heroes. The dead giveaway was ppl calling Bai Qian as Gu Gu. That only happens in ROCH (and this derivative work of course).

I'm writing this review based on only the first 43 episodes before I gave up the series.

The primary reason I gave up at episode 43 has to be the unbalanced main character read more pairs.

In ROCH, Xiao Long Nu was someone every pervert wanted to sleep with. In 3L3W, only the crazies Yehua and Li Jing pine after Bai Qian. BQ is this really old 140000 aunty that everyone mocks behind her back for being old... OK, that is A-grade writing talent right there.


Anyways, this is what I actually saw when I viewed those episodes thru ROCH vision:

Bai Qian = Xiao Long Nu.

Ye Hua = Yang Guo

Mo Yan = Yang Kang (YG is the splitting image of YK in ROCH)

When Su Su made the jump in Heaven = 16 years separation between YG and XLN

Jade Purity Fan of Kunlun Mountain = Mongolian Prince's fan weapon (3L3W has a fan weapon b/c ROCH has it)

Li Jing = the rapist in ROCH (the only other char infatuated with XLN)

Su Jin = mix of Huang Rong (cunning) and Guo Fu (spoiled)

Xuan Nu = Li Mochou (her man never showed much interest in her, causes all the aggravations and terrible things she does; there is a segment in ROCH where LMC goes around with an abducted baby, in 3L3W she strolls around with her sick child)

Heavenly Lord (current) = dumb Guo Jing (he always makes terrible decisions and needed Dijun to bail him out of difficult [mental] situations)

Dijun + Feng Jiu = White haired Yang Guo + Guo Xiang (they're not fated to be together, but an arc is created in the mortal realm for the pair as an extra add-on to ROCH)

When BQ fell from the peach tree and YH caught her = Yang Guo chance encounters XLN in the woods of Passionless Valley

Meeting of BQ and YH in sea kingdom = variant of meeting in Passionless Valley where XLN claims (pretended) she didn't know Yang Guo, and Gongsun Loue eyeing the pair with envy

Yao Guang + Mo Yuan duel in episode 01 = Lin Chaoying (mischievous version) and Wang Chongyang (apathetic version) with slight difference LCY did not threaten to commit suicide if she lost, and WCY actually told her to move away upon her defeat.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Strong Woman Do Bong Soon
11 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
The production and cast were promising. The storyline was ugly.

Overall this show received a 7.5/10 from me rather because of the production and not the storyline itself. The entire production would receive somewhere between 9-10 points out of 10 from me for a romcom drama like this. The direction was great; the set and props were outstanding; the cast was full of both eye candy and skills that were appropriate for read more each of their role. I have to admit, the cinematography was amazing. It was pretty. It was beautiful.

THE CAST:

I'm never a fan of any of them, but I believe they did a really great job. The set of 3 leads owned their roles. I mean, before I start criticizing the writer's choice of characters (because cutesy and tiny female lead is never my cup of tea), Park Boyoung (Do Bongsoon), Park Hyungshik (Ahn Minhyuk) and Jisoo (In Gookdoo) were the perfect ones for each of their role.

I even believe that the writers wrote this story with Park Boyoung in their mind. Tiny and cutesy role is definitely for her, and she's a good actress as well. This is only my second drama with her, however, and I believe that the next one with her is gonna start boring me a bit. Her tone and acting is just so *her* like she was in Oh My Ghost. This happened to me with Hwang Jungeum in every single drama she was in as well.

Park Hyungshik was also suitable for the role. He's handsome and young. Although this kind of rich and jerky (yet cute) CEO is gonna stick around with him for a long time (because it's almost his real life anyway), it was still fresh to see him. I could never imagine someone else, not even Lee Minho who is handsome and is a veteran actor, for this role at all. Jisoo was great as well. The protective and super manly guy friend who is also a police, what else could you ask for? His serious acting made me believe he cared for Bongsoon for real. His acting and looks are promising. I'd love to see him in a main role one day.

THE STORY:

The story, however, was a strange mix of romance, comedy, supernatural(?), police investigation, and even bloody thriller. How would they mix into a good storyline? There's no way. I believe they needed to take out at least one. If they remove the comedy element, they might get an asian version of Jessica Jones. But then again, they aimed for a super duper cute female lead instead of a fierce-with-a-past kind of girl.

The rhythm/flow/dynamic of this storyline is super strange. It was like an incredibly bumpy road instead of a smooth rollercoaster. The comedy element was almost too forced that it wasn't funny. Some parts were even disgusting that just made me fast-forward throughout the show.

The thriller part started out really strong in the beginning which tipped off the consistent cute and comical tone of the entire Do Bongsoon character. That villain character was just too over-the-top that the entire sub plot around this guy doesn't fit in with the tone of this story at all.

Plus, the entire reason Bongsoon and Hyungshik got together was because *his* case, not the one in her neighborhood. He was being threatened, and that case was solved so easily and quickly. It was definitely just there to bring the two together.

The love story between the two/three leads was boring. Nothing was special. Nothing really developed or had an impact on any characteristic change. It was just there, out of nowhere. I have to admit that they were cute and fluffy together though. They were almost too cheesy together and I usually don't prefer that kind of super cringy stuff, but I believe it helped even out the darker tones regarding the villain.

The plot was very predictable, by the way.

But all in all, I wouldn't keep watching until the end if it wasn't entertaining. Like I said, I liked the cinematography and the cast a lot (surprisingly, given that I'm never a fan of any of them). It was something to watch in my free time and I did take my time to finish it. The bad parts weren't soooo bad that it let me down anyway. At least the first episode started off nicely. If you wanna see for yourself, I don't recommend you against it. I have a reputation for dropping series halfway through if the first few episodes are slow and have too much flashback. This one was fine.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No