If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
Love in Time
0 people found this review helpful
11 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
There's something to be said for how cheesy this drama was but for me that was half of the appeal for me. The CGI left a lot to be desired and even the plot was threadbare at best. Though Danson Tang is new find for me and in those scenes where he relaxed from the whole broody vampire to loving boyfriend it just made me want a spin-off where I just got to see him being cute. I wasn't a massive fan of the female lead but she was far from awful. I would recommend this drama to those who are massive fans of vampires, namely Twilight.
Was this review helpful to you?
11 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This is one of the better action dramas that i have watched recently that can rival Sparrow, Disguiser or Rookie Agent.  Initially I though the casts were not so prominent but turned out the chemistry and acting were all above par.  The lead actress is actually quite beautiful and the male lead is good with excellent fighting skills. Normally I would watch an entire drama in weeks but for this I managed to complete the entire drama in 5 days.  You just want to know what is in next. I would say this drama has a nice flow,  slightly unpredictable, plenty of actions and the fighting scenes are quite real.  It is also a little exaggerated like all dramas when the lead or bad guys can never die.

A good story about the times when law and order is practically none. The gangs, police and of course the foreign armies are into each other for personal greed and power. Faced with a common enemy the locals eventually unite to fight a bigger foreign armies. It has a very nice ending depending on how one interprets them.

Vidoes can be watched through link - http://v.youku.com/v_show/id_XMTU5MTAzNTMyOA==.html


Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Heart signal
0 people found this review helpful
11 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I usually never write reviews but I guess after watching this show I feel like I can't stop thinking about it.
The concept in itself is very simple yet it managed to bring so many mixed emotions. At times i was frustrated at times sad but most of all I think I was smiling through a lot it. I have to admit I got really involved with their stories, some more than others (MSG couple ahhh), to a point where i feel very sad that it's over now.

The panelists were one of my favorite aspects of the show, I loved hearing their commentary and the way the psychologist explained why people act certain ways.
And I mean cmon Shindong's predictions were hilarious! Also when Sang min would stand up out of frustration I felt like doing the same :")
I guess the only complaint i have is that i disliked the ending, however, I guess I understand why it ended up that way.

It did give me a feeling sometimes that it was scripted and that may have been the case, nevertheless i enjoyed it so much i managed to finish it in 2 days. Definitely hoping there will be a season 2!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Uncontrollably Fond
0 people found this review helpful
11 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
Personally, i LURVE the drama and i have not RAGRATS!

People who loves melodrama should really watch this even though there are certain parts that makes you feel like stopping. Do continue and endure because in my opinion, I think being able to persevere till the end of this show was worth the irritating feelings that you feel when things gets too draggy.

Story has the typical over melodramatic situations like someone dies, terminal diseases, whichever you can think of. But it is still quite an unpredictable storyline. Most supporting roles are kind of annoying especially Tae Jin and that killer because they are so fickle minded at what they want to do etc etc. Do not pity the father/mother. DO NOT!

Never let what happened to the previous generations(parents) affect your life because your life is your life.
Their failure/wrongdoings aren's exactly your fault.

I would say this drama shows how each one of us might make certain mistakes that causes lots of shit. So i don't think certain scenes are 'too much' because in real life it does happen! *inserts raising both hands emoji*


Kim Woo Bin's acting were great! The scenes where he broke down were just so sad and it breaks your heart somehow, somewhere. Poor boy.
Suzy is better than her previous roles, never really find her irritating as compared to some people. I don't know why but I think all artists are fine as long as they are not too BLANK as a main role?


Music wasn't really an main point to me, in fact! I don't really remember any of their OST now that you ask me because I finished this quite some time ago.
But there are still musics that makes you tears together with the cast so I guess it's not too bad?


I did rewatched a few scenes but maybe not the whole show? Probably the ending few episodes, you will know why..... ;)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Big Boss
2 people found this review helpful
11 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10
Cute to the CORE . Don't believe me? watch it for yourself !!!  ;)

p.s don't expect lovey dovey scenes to be abundant in this after all the age group is ... :[

BUT!!!! if u like comedy and cute yet sudden plot twists this is it u found it !and if u like fantasy suff this is the one !

    >>> Oh   my   ...    they     said     it     must     be     500     characters     in    length   so     if     u    don't     mind    me    i    have    to     fill    up    this    gap     right     here    XD

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
What Happens to My Family?
3 people found this review helpful
11 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
Korean comedy and I don't get along, and more than fifty episodes of comedy was daunting at the start.  But if you're willing to put in some time and effort to get to know the characters of WHTMF and make it through the comedy scenes, I think you'll be rewarded.  I definitely was.  I realized afterward that the comedy was a good balance to the heavy the drama held for later.

Story
We all get distracted with school, work, romance, dramas...it's so easy to do.  We lose sight of the good things life gives us in favor of the stresses, and WHTMF captured the story of a broken family too preoccupied with those stresses to realize how broken they are.  Kang Shim and Kang Jae dedicated their lives to their careers and Dal Bong searched in vain for acceptance yet wasn't willing to put in the effort to focus.  Soon Bong believed coddling his children in their selfish desires was better than confronting them about their mistakes and neglect.  Sul Hee was more concerned with media image than giving her son what he needed, not to mention the supporting cast and their own list of troubles.  They all pushed aside the idea of family in one way or another, some much more stubbornly than others.

The only reason I wasn't able to give this section full marks is because there was a significant focus on comedy, and I have a hard time enjoying korean comedies these days.  Other than that, I enjoyed every bit of seeing the characters evolve.  The writer blended in the shorter side stories with the overarching plot well, and it all revolved around one message:  Life is unpredictable, and we must take each moment to appreciate each other and what we’ve been given.  WHTMF had quite a few heavy moments, but it balanced them with comedy and a focus on the positive.

Acting/Cast
The standout in this drama was the cast.  The story only struck home the way it did because of the acting.  Park Hyung Sik especially proved himself as a versatile actor with the delicate emotional scenes as well as that signature Korean comedy.  The seasoned actors also had strong performances, especially Yoo Dong Geun.  I will have a hard time seeing him as anyone besides the genuine, bespectacled Cha Soon Bong that danced to the radio in his tofu shop each day.

Some of the characters in the drama will test you, and it was surprising how vicious they got.  One character especially was so heartless that I swore during the drama that I would never forgive the things they did.  How could they be so mean?!  But the weight of regret they carried when the day of reckoning eventually came was enough for me by the end, and I embraced the cast as a whole.  It was a journey, sometimes arduous and frustrating, but worth it.  I encourage you to watch this if you are in the mood for a heartwarming story about an imperfect family needing a push in the right direction to find togetherness and healing.

Music
It isn’t very often that you hear a drama ost from an aged voice such as Choi Baek Ho, and I loved it!  I also loved Yozoh’s lighter counterbalance.  The choices the music director made were perfect for the drama plot and characters equally, and they heightened my emotions at the right times.

Rewatch Value
Parts of this are very rewatchable, though I don’t know if I would commit to rewatching the entire thing any time soon.  It was light, but it was also extremely heavy.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Kahogo no Kahoko
2 people found this review helpful
11 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
In the current trend of crime, medical, or complicated dramas, this show shined because of its simplicity and sincerity. It has such a big heart (just like Kahoko), you can't help but fall in love with it.

From the moment I saw Takahata Mitsuki's transcendent performance as Kahoko, it was love at first sight. From her multitude of expressions to her voice acting to so many intangibles, I have no words. Screen-caps and gifs alone don't do her justice. She made a flawed character like Kahoko feel real and lovable.

I also now have a soft spot for Takeuchi Ryoma, he's such a natural actor, and esp. gifted in comedy. His chemistry and comedic timing with Mitsuki was spot on. Their OTP was too darn adorable. This was such a funny, heart-warming show composed of all these talented actors, who all did such a great job.

Coming of age dramas are usually about school or career, but this is about family, which resonated all the more with me, with life truths that will stay with me long after the show is done. Some may have found Kahoko's childlike innocence and naivety off-putting. But that continuous hunger to persevere, grow and learn, and not lose that endless optimism and positivity for life is the perfect armor in this current world full of troubles. I'll always remember Kahoko fondly for being the beacon of happiness when I needed it the most.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
11 days ago
Overall 5.0
Story 5.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 4.5
Rewatch Value 3.0
Kon'nichiwa! I am back with a new JDrama review. I have an extra looooooooooooooong list of doramas to watch and review. I feel I must dedicate one whole month to Japanese dramas or else I will never be able to tick off all the dramas on my list. For today’s review I have the Japanese rom-com, Natsu no Koi wa Nijiiro ni Kagayaku starring Matsumoto Jun and Takeuchi Yuko. I have seen previous dramas of both these actors and was excited to see them together in a drama.
 
Natsu no Koi wa Nijiiro ni Kagayaku / Summer Romance Shines in Rainbow Colors) (2010) (10 episodes)

Kusunoki Taiga (Matsumoto Jun) is the son of the famous actor, Kusunoki Kotaro (Ito Shiro) and wishes to follow his father’s footsteps and become a popular actor someday. However, despite trying Taiga is unable to bag a decent role for himself and ends up working with reality shows to earn some money. One day, while skydiving he loses control over his parachute and ends up hanging mid-air from a tree in a deserted forest. He is rescued by a strange woman who he falls for at first sight. But she disappears without even telling him her name. Intrigued, Taiga goes to the same place the next day hoping to bump into her. He does meet her the next day and she recognizes him as the famous actor Kotaro’s son. She tells him that she is a big fan of his father’s work. But she once again leaves abruptly without mentioning her name to him. Taiga decides to get over his feelings for an unknown woman but finds himself in a fix when he sees her at his office as a new employee at his agency.
Let’s weigh Natsu no Koi wa Nijiiro ni Kagayaku on our drama beam balance and see if this dorama is an interesting watch or no.

 
 
Good Weights
Matsumoto Jun: This guy is funny. Really funny. He was the funniest version of Tsukasa Doumyouji (Gu Jun Pyo in Boys Over Flowers) of all the adaptations of Hana Yori Dango and with Taiga he just proved how effortlessly hilarious he can be. Jun can look overbearing and endearing at the same time. His comic timing is impeccable and he makes me laugh till my stomach hurts. His craziness is proven when Shiori finally confesses her feelings for him and he does not know how to react. It was the most amusing confession scene I have ever seen.
Coming to the role of Taiga as a whole, I feel Jun played his part flawlessly. His character is the best thing about the drama and this drama is watchable because of him.


 
Yuko Takeuchi: I adore this lady. I loved her in Pride (one of my most favourite Japanese dramas) and I liked her as Shiori too. Shiori is a doting mother who works hard to give her daughter a good upbringing while trying her best to deny her feelings for Taiga. Takeuchi’s innocent face and her sincere acting skills make her an apt choice for this role. I could not find anything lacking in her acting despite her having a one-dimensional role which has limited growth in the drama.  


Character Development: Natsu no Koi wa Nijiiro ni Kagayaku may not make it to my most favourite drama list but Taiga will always be a lovable character for me. I like that Japanese dramas show character development and do not believe in focusing on just the story while the characters show no growth. Taiga evolves as a person in the drama and does not reach his aim overnight. Taiga is a young boy who dreams to be a successful actor like his father but he does not do anything to achieve his goal. He feels he is innately talented and does not require to work hard on honing his skills. It is only when life gets tough on him does he realise that he is lacking as a performer. His journey is bumpy and he slowly works towards bettering himself in his craft. By the end of the drama, Taiga is as naïve as he always was but he now looks more passionate about his work than he was before.
Realism: I admire Japanese dramas for being so connected with reality when dramas are all about straying away from anything real. I want to mention one scene here which moved me and I could see how much of thought the writer must have put behind the scene trying to make it real while retaining the positivity in it. [[Spoiler]] Taiga’s father is most popular for a legendary character, Gin-san that he played on-screen. After his death, the movie producers cast a popular and established actor to reprise the role of Gin-san. When the news reaches Taiga, he feels heart-broken as it was his dream to step into his father’s shoes and take forward the legacy his father left behind. Since it is a drama and everything goes as per the lead’s wishes, I thought Taiga would suddenly be motivated to work harder and will end up bagging the role he feels he most apt for. However, this is JDorama where fantasy will also be entwined with reality. The role finally does go to the established actor and he visits Taiga to tell him how difficult it is to fill in his father’s shoes. Before he leaves, he tells Taiga that he can succeed him as the third Gin-san and Taiga feels overjoyed at the mere prospect. Nothing happens suddenly in Japanese dramas. I am mentioning this scenario here because for some reason I could imagine Abhishek Bachchan in place of Taiga. I remember Abhishek always said in his interviews that he loved his father’s role in Agneepath and how he would love to reprise his father’s character. However, it was Hrithik Roshan who was eventually cast as Vijay Dinanath Chauhan in the remake of Agneepath which went on to become a blockbuster. Taiga’s situation reminded me of Abhishek and I could see how the writer has shown brutal reality but concluded on a positive note by generating a hope in Taiga’s mind at being one of the contenders for the role. [[Spoiler]]  

 
 
Bad Weights
Lack of Chemistry: Jun and Takeuchi are impressive individually but together, they are not able to build the chemistry that is required to look like a convincing couple. I have seen dramas wherein an older woman falls for a younger guy and it is sad that only a few have impressed me chemistry-wise. This drama too falls short in this department and though I love Takeuchi I have to say that she does not look good with Jun.


Too many ‘coincidences’: Drama world survives of convenient coincidences. And I am a very accepting viewer I easily believe what the drama writer wants me to believe. However, sometimes some ideas are too hard even for me believe. And this drama tries to sell too many coincidences which I find difficult to accommodate. For instance, Taiga first meets Shiori when she rescues him in the forest. She coincidentally has a pair of scissors in her bag which she uses to snap the cable of Taiga’s parachute. Coincidently, she happens to be a big fan of his father. Coincidentally, of the many fans, Taiga’s father chooses father has, he chooses to write back to Shiori to help his son. Coincidentally, Shiori’s husband is dead and Taiga has nothing to worry about before he can ask her out. Coincidentally, Taiga’s brother is Shiori’s daughter’s teacher and is also in love with her. Even if I could gulp down all the other coincidences, one coincidence that I am unable to digest is the fact that Shiori lives in the same locality as Taiga. Taiga’s father was a rich man and their house is lavish too whereas Shiori is finding it difficult to make ends meet and lives a humble lifestyle with her daughter. Despite the difference in status, they share a locality which is something I find difficult to wrap my head around. If the Japanese do not believe in status and if the rich and poor live together in harmony, then that is a different thing. But if that’s not the case then I firmly refuse to buy this convenient coincidence.
Shoehorned Angles: Now drama lovers know how there is always a second-lead in a romantic drama. This drama has not one but several second-leads. In most dramas. Second-leads help to get the main leads closer but here, all the extra love angles only burdened the show with unnecessary characters. For instance, Taiga’s elder brother likes Shiori and so does Shiori’s late husband’s brother. Both these men like Shiori but do nothing to add to the story as our main couple is too busy fighting their feelings for each other to pay heed to these two men. Similarly, there is a fellow artist named Sakura in Taiga’s agency who likes him and vows to steal him from Shiori. However, she too does nothing to keep her vow except for trying to kiss Taiga. I fail to understand why is she even there in the drama. This drama could have been better had it not added unnecessary angles to the central love story.
 
The drama beam balance has more good weights than bad but the bad weights outweigh the good weights. The drama had a good cast with some really cute kids but the story was lacking. The drama was slow paced and the script was boring in certain parts. I could watch it only because of Jun and Takeuchi's performances.  
I give Natsu no Koi wa Nijiiro ni Kagayaku 2.5 out of 5 rating. The extra 0.5 is for the amount of positivity this drama holds. Though this drama exudes a lot of warmth, it is insufficient to keep you from feeling cold. I found myself dozing off on several occasions while watching the drama. I would recommend this drama only to those who do not mind watching some decent feel-good dramas. Also, if you feel bogged down by difficulties in life then this drama is perfect to reignite the lost motivation.  
 
Originally posted on www.alphagirl.in
 
 
 

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Together With Me The Series
0 people found this review helpful
by Via
11 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.5
This series was so good. If you watched  Bad Romance the Series and fell in love with the BL couple then you're really gonna love this because it's all about them and how they met and ect.
Story: The story was superb, It was something fresh and different for me. With BL stories they all end up the same way, Boy falls in love with a friend, keeps it a secret, tells another friend, Friend finds out, things get awkward,  afraid to tell family blah blah. This story had more twist and turns then those other dramas. It honestly shows another side of BL irl and obstacles they face and it has openly gay characters ;) Characters who aren't afraid to make it known that they're gay because there's nothing wrong with it and nobody really has a problem with them. They have a character my personal favorite Yihwa who would go to hell and back for her friends, doesn't care about their sexuality, all she wants is to see them happy and she is freaking hilarious may I add. The show had a good mix of romance, comedy and dramatic scenes that keeps you on the edge of your seat for every episode. 
Music: The music is really good and sung by Tul, the actor who plays Knock, who has an amazing voice btw.
Acting :The acting was so great, you felt the chemistry between Knock and Korn and it felt real. And the person who plays Yihwa is as badass and funny as she was in the Bad Romance series.
I say give it try, It's really good. Also if you want I personally recommend watching the Bad Romance series again when you finish this one, It just makes everything 10x more cute in that one xD Since it continues on their romance. Sorry if my review is all over the place xDD

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
11 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10
Of all Lee Joon Gi’s dramas, this is actually my top 1 well in fact to all Korean dramas I’ve watched so far this is definitely my all time favorite and I’m still hoping & praying for the Second Season.
Story - This drama for me is a total package. Comedy, Action, Historical, Romance, heavy Drama as in everything is here.
Acting/Cast - Very good actors even Idols are here like IU & Baekhyun, they both gave justice to their characters and special mentioned to my favorite actor Lee Joon Gi who really captured my heart after watching like (first 2 episodes).
Music - OST is love
Rewatch Value - I've watched this I think 5 or 6 times already and still can't move on..
Overall - Perfect dramas to watch for over and over

?

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Two Weeks
1 people found this review helpful
11 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This is one of my favorite among other dramas of Lee Joon Gi.
It is almost perfect for me, but I gave 9 as I am expecting more romance from the main actors (Lee Joon Gi & Park Ha-Sun), but aside from that I love everything about this drama. The story between the father & daughter who barely knew each other but then the Love is simply there. It's just so sweet...Lee Joon Gi was at his best portraying the father who will do everything to save his child. OST is also perfect for every scene...Highly recommended for a second watch…
Was this review helpful to you?
Girls' Generation 1979
0 people found this review helpful
by ta
11 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
First impression: I came to this drama because Lee Jonghyun (not a fan but he acts well right) and curious with another Bona's role (she did it in The Best Hit and I think I started to like her acting)

If you're into the story of youth, coming of age, so on. Then you should watch this drama. The story was good, it's related and nostalgic to us. I had a good time watching this drama because the flow isn't that fast. The acting was great too. I love all characters here, they really did it well. But for Bona, sometimes I felt her voice was kinda annoying but yea.

For the music, as a listeners of various genres, I love all songs in this drama. Carpenters, E, aaaaah 90s songs are the best and fits the scene. I kept singing to any songs. And I think I'm gonna searching for Korean soundtrack as well.

Since it's only 8 episodes, then I think in the future, I'll rewatch the drama. :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
11 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Lee min ho and jun ji hyun what an amazing pair together and separate. I only watched coz of them. It was an emotional roller coaster of traditional and romantic stories. U definitely will get glued to it. I miss it already.  The crew and the acting. Their fate and destinies. There was some funny moments like cha si ah and her family,  tae oh and a drunk siah, also the conning aspect. Of course there has to be an evil person and they did a great job raising our blood pressure. Highly recommend this show.
Was this review helpful to you?
Love is More Than a Word
0 people found this review helpful
11 days ago
Overall 4.0
Story 3.0
Acting/Cast 6.5
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
+1 Good looking cast
+1 Clothing Line

-1 Unenthusiastic storyline
-1 Poor story build up
-1 Unclear story
-1 Awkward in general

Not worth it. I'm sorry. I was completely lost and confused in this drama. I fell asleep multiple time trying to watch this drama. It's only 12, 30-minute episodes... but it was so boring I just skipped to the end and was still confused so I gave up. I'm having a hard time completing this review because I have to reach at least 500 words in order for this to even be a review.
Was this review helpful to you?
The King's Woman
1 people found this review helpful
11 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 5.0
+1 Cast: I don't think the two leads matched but they were great leads individual-wise. The second male lead I found to be quite boring,  except for his swordsmanship

+1 Videography/Cinematography: was absolutely amazing. Probably one of the only reasons why I kept watching this drama was because it was greatly done. The visuals were amazing.

+1 Music: It didn't catch me at first but wow, towards the end the music really gets to you

+1 Value of Friendship, Peace and Kindness: The female lead did a great job holding a strong character that stood up for her values of friendship and kindness and pursuit of peace. However, it's what got her in trouble and what made me upset at the same time.

+1 Complex Relationships: The main two leads had a complex relationship. I'm not sure if I liked it or not. All I can say is, they both have trust issues. At different points I had feelings of contempt for both of them.

+1 Action: Action was better than most I've seen in dramas. The swordsmanship and fighting kind of got redundant for me because so many fighters kept showing up and some of the same fights kept happening over and over again so I skimmed through those parts knowing that the action was already good. It was the storyline that needed to hurry up.

+1 Clothing Line: I was a bit disappointed in the female leads clothing set but I knew it showcased her value of modesty and simplicity. However, two particular I enjoyed seeing clothes in was the first male lead (King) and the Han Shen.

+1 Tragedy: I enjoy tragic genres in general

-1 Story dragged like most dramas do. I'm glad it wasn't a 50+ drama. Hallelujah Amen!
-1 I felt uneasy about the female lead the second male leads relationship (her senior, not the king). I guess I'm just never comfortable with the idea of a person who walks into another relationship while still in love with another person. On top of that, I personally wanted her to only be in love with one person.
-1 Redundant political schemes as always.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?

Recent Discussions