Sort by:
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 1.0
  • Story 2.0
  • Acting/Cast 3.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
This show was trying to go in too many different directions at the same time but ended up being a heavy-handed romantic snooze fest with flashes of mostly bland humor and drama.
There never really seemed to be any sense of urgency to catch the bad guy.
How inept and pointless was that police force?
The real villains of this show are the writers by keeping the character of Do Bong Soon read more subordinate to the male lead whom she eventually marries, which shows a severe lack of imagination for a female character with super human strength.
I expected more "girl power" and female badassery from this show.
Other than being physically attractive, I saw no reason for the leads to be together.
I lost it when the bomb transformed into a fireworks display.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Stranger
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I don't have time to go into details, but also I cannot give spoilers anyhow. I can give this drama the best endorsement I am capable of as a person who has seen A LOT of Kdramas:

I have completed 244 dramas (nearly all Korean, a couple Chinese). I had but 1 that I rated a 10 - Signal....until I finished this one. I now have two dramas ranked 10. Yes, it's read more that good. There are no flaws. This drama is as good as Kdramas get: writing, directing, acting are all superb. There is never a facepalm moment. The lead male is perfection. The lead female is also, for a rare change, perfection! A truly competent and not in the least annoying female lead in a Kdrama, what a rare thing indeed! I had high expectations for this drama given the lead actors. I was not disappointed!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Introverted Boss
0 people found this review helpful
by Emma
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
It took me a few episodes to get into this drama, but after the third episode I couldn't stop. The story line was very good. I found everything falling in to place and ending up well giving me all the answers I wanted. This drama can be frustrating but be reassured that everything happens in it for a reason. The music was amazing, it fit the drama so well. I think all read more the actors did great in their rolls. I found myself very invested in each character and wanting to see more. I recommend this drama because it has the right amount or romance and tragedy.
My re-watch value doesn't mean anything about the drama itself, I almost never rate my re-watch values more than a 5.0 unless I rate a drama 10/10.

Enjoy Introverted Boss :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Q Series: Love of Sandstorm
1 people found this review helpful
by Jay
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
What I liked about this drama series was that each five of the family members had their own distinct personalities and although they were at different stages in their lives, some of the issues they faced were also shared by another family member. Because of this, characters were able to talk it out and help each other with their respective issues, which was nice to see.

Despite running only seven episodes, I read more felt that all the family members were given the appropriate amount of focus for their character arcs to be fully realized. Sometimes you might find yourself wishing for one character's scenes/arc to be finished to move on to another one but in this drama I never felt that way. I was equally invested in each of the character's lives and was anxious to see how they would sort out their problems.

However, one of the greatest strengths of this drama is its offbeat sense of humor. This drama deals with common issues such as finding purpose in one's life, infidelity, first loves/making a connection with another person and injects its own brand of offbeat humor to it that made it all very refreshing.

Also, any drama that features characters bonding over their shared love for great Japanese directors such as Kurosawa, Ozu, Mizoguchi and Oshima is a win in my book.

The cast features both seasoned actors and fresh faced actors with no prior acting experience but they were all uniformly excellent. Special shout-out to Sakuraba Nanami and her Mandarin skills and to Esther Yeh. In the latter's case, her character could be seen as annoying in less capable hands but she was a scene stealer for me and couldn't help but laugh at her interactions with Chris Wu and the rest of the family members.

I have to thank this drama for introducing me to One Ok Rock and really like how "Wherever You Are" was used throughout the drama.

At only seven episodes, you don't have to invest a lot of time with this one but if you're able to get on this drama's wavelength and enjoy a little wacky humor with your family dramas then I believe you will be rewarded with a gem of a drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Bring It On, Ghost
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Wow this drama far exceeded my expectations. This legit made it onto my list of fav dramas it's so good honestly if you're thinking about watching it, DON'T HESITATE! I love supernatural romance dramas and this drama expertly combined the two genres to create this masterpiece. Love it. Also, if you're put off by the "Horror" tag, don't be. It's not scary at all in my opinion. Of course, I know everyone read more has different tolerances of horror but the horror in this drama is very VERY minor so don't worry.

So the plot, very entertaining. Each episode has a new ghost with their own backstory that must be fought and each one is more entertaining than the last. Oh and I should mention, in the summary for the drama, it says the male and female lead "accidentally kiss and sparks fly". To be honest this is kind of misleading. This isn't a love at first sight, kiss, touch or whatever drama. In fact, maybe because of the age gap between the lead actors, the kisses are sometimes fake. You know, the camera trick kind of kiss where their heads just hover awkwardly close to each other. God I hate that. But they still have really cute moments that make up for the lack of real kisses so I didn't really mind. Anyway, the sparks it refers to have a completely different meaning and it's very interesting. Although, the main plot point that is revealed several episodes in is quite predictable, usually I don't like that. But, luckily, the comedic aspects of the drama made up for it. As with many dramas, I think the first half of the drama is slightly more refined than the last half of the drama. It's to be expected really, that's when everything kicks off and the writers are trying desperately hard to wrap the plot lines up into a neat little bow in 16 episodes. But again, the comedy makes up for it (though there is less comedy in the last half as the funniest characters aren't involved with the main plot line). Seriously though, this is quite possibly the funniest drama I have ever watched, but I will talk more about that later on. So yeah, the plot was good, I enjoyed it.

Acting, loved it. Ok Taec Yeon and Kim So Hyun worked very well together. They put across the emotions of the characters really well. I'm sure it's very difficult to be accepted in society when you tell them your girlfriend is a ghost and I think they dealt with the matter in quite a mature way. To be honest, I would rather they didn't have the awkward fake kisses and instead have more subtle intimacies. Can't turn down a tight hug or a forehead kiss. But anyhoo, despite that, they work so good together as a team. I don't know about you, but if I see a couple that have a cool handshake or high five a lot, I am on the floor. I don't know why, I guess I just love it when a couple are best friends as well as lovers, that just makes their moments extra special for me. Also, the way Bong Pal cares so much for Hyun Ji just squeezes, punches and slams my poor, sappy kokoro on the floor. The way he looks at her... UGH! Yeah anyway, I love their relationship and even when a spanner is thrown into the works they bring it back round.

Joo Hye Sung is the villain in this tale and he is your typical template psychopath. Talks slowly and quietly, smashes things, yells at random moments to scare you. It works. Damn he was creepy. Sometimes I find that villains in dramas have pretty weak reasoning as to why they are killing people and all. But in this one, his past is perfectly woven into the genre and plot of the drama. His actions aren't predictable either, you're constantly wondering how the protagonist and antagonist are going to meet and battle it out. I also like how we're not introduced to him at the very beginning. The writers weren't like, "Hey, here's your villain, watch out lol". They slowly introduced him and his actions became more and more deadly as time went on. All in all, he was a well written villain, though slightly stereotypical.

KIM IN RANG AND CHOI CHEON SANG! MY FAVOURITE CHARACTERS! POSSIBLY MY FAVOURITE CHARACTERS OF ANY DRAMA EVER! My god they were the funniest duo I have ever seen. Literally every scene they were in made me cry laughing. Usually it takes a lot to make me laugh in dramas, I have a very specific sense of humour. But they nailed it with these two. I'm laughing just thinking about it now. The choice of actor for these two couldn't have been more perfect and the way their characters were written was masterful. Even if you don't want to watch a supernatural/horror, just please watch it for them, you won't regret it. Kudos to Lee David and Kang Ki Young for portraying such hilarious wacky characters. They are what I miss the most about this drama. Incredible.

Finally we have Myung Chul. What a lovable character. Since Bong Pal lives by himself, Myung Chul is like a father figure who eats A LOT. That's probably why I relate to him so much. His character works as an exorcist who is in a bit of a slump. His glory days are long gone and now his reputation has hit rock bottom. Despite this, Bong Pal still trusts in him, mainly because he is his only confidant who is human and knows that he can see ghosts. I love the way Myung Chul is written in this story. He is so protective of Bong Pal and just wants him to be happy. What a guy. As he, Kim In Rang and Choi Cheon Sang are supporting characters, there isn't much to say development wise about their characters, but I still think they make one hell of a contribution to the drama.

I think the OST fit really well. Though the song Midnight Run is pretty metal and I think that was a bit over the top for the scenes it was used in. My favourite tracks have to be Console Myself and U & I. Console Myself was perfect in this drama, it was quite haunting in a way. How ironic. I love U & I just because it's a tune lol.

Would I watch this drama again? HELL YES. Mainly because of Kim In Rang and Choi Cheon Sang. I'm not even exaggerating they are hilarious. I watch a lot of melodrama and action/thriller dramas so this was a really nice change of pace.

Wow sorry this is a really long review but I had a lot to say, well done if you have read it all. I hope I have convinced you into watching this drama because honestly it's so good and it deserves more recognition.

Anyway that's all for now, bye lol.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hit the Top
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
I thought this show was just ok. It started out promising, but kind of petered out toward the end. I thought that the ending was confusing (regarding the time travel element) and was sort of a cop out. I did like main characters - Hyun Jae, Woo Seung, but the whole storyline was too meandering to really have a solid plot and they focused so much on the main OTP that the read more other characters really suffered from a lack of development. Ji Hoon, Hye Ri, Drill, and the others were all given a good intro, but there was no follow through on delivering any sort of storytelling for their characters.

The show wasn't a total waste of time and there were cute moments and decent music, but overall I would not watch again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I'm not usually one for mafia shows - all that plotting, double-crossing, betrayal and portrayal of vice and cold-bloodedness doesn't really appeal to me (hence my dislike for revenge slap/kiss genres too), but I hesitantly decided to try this one because of a) some pretty good reviews/ comments about this show, and b) Mick was really channeling this 'James Dean' vibe which appealed very much to my superficial love of looks.

STORY read more I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised with how well-done this show was. The show starts off with a dramatic cold open where we are placed right in a scene rife with emotional and dramatic tension - and BANG! we're off. I thought it was a very effective and quick way of introducing the characters of our main leads, alongside potential complications which you know will inevitably arise in the future. That was some impressive directing and story-telling there.

What I thought was pretty amazing for this show is that for almost its entire run, it managed to maintain a well-tuned balance of action, plot-movement, romance, and character-building. The action/ fight scenes were generally high-quality (yes you have the occasional unrealistic bit here and there but overall very slick, smooth and edgy) and there was little stagnation in terms of storylines unfolding and revelation of plots/ backstories. Yet, in the midst of all that, there was also generous amounts of time spent to establish the characters and personalities of our key characters, as well as in building the relationships within the show. Aside from the rushed ending (I understand that the production team had to cut the show by 2 episodes, which was probably the main culprit for why the ending was below-par), I really enjoyed the whole drama. You get a sense that there was a very assured and strong directorial hand behind the entire show as scenes move coherently and seamlessly from one action/ story to another, and as characters almost consistently maintain their personalities and main characteristics throughout the run of the show.

I was also pleasantly surprised that there were no over-the-top psychotic, insane second leads/ antagonists here. The main cast driving the show were all well-rounded in their character portrayals and very realistically flawed people which made them very relatable and real. There were sufficient revelations of backstories and enough screen-time for us to get to know them and understand their personalities and motivations behind their actions and so we could emotionally connect with them - even if we sometimes disagreed or were frustrated with their course of action.

I liked a lot of the supporting characters here, flawed and human as they were. Standouts for me were: Fahsai's parents, Chen Biao and Ah Jo of the Golden Dragon gang, Fai and Nuch from LOLA Magazine, even Chen Ming's mentally challenged elder brother.

From a pacing, story-telling, directing and editing perspective, this has been one of the better lakorns I've had the pleasure to watch.


ACTING/ CHARACTERS
As in any mafia drama, of course there will be lots of shady, imbalanced, cold-blooded, ruthless and seedy people but, as I mentioned earlier, they are not your typical one-stock, one-dimensional villains. There is more depth and complexity to a lot of the characters in this show, which makes it interesting and compelling to watch because you're often trying to fathom what their true motives and intentions are behind some of the smiles or stoic faces. Honestly, I thought the supporting cast was great in this show.

PIMPRAPA/ PIMMY - as Botan/ Fahsai. As Botan, she was serviceable because really, Botan hardly had much screen-time for me to really connect with her character, but as Fahsai, she was wonderful. This is a personal opinion, of course, but I actually really liked Fahsai in this show.
From the start where she first finds out about her boyfriend of 10-year's betrayal, to her rather assertive and gutsy reactions when she meets Daniel, she really won me over from the first episode onwards. A lot of her reactions and responses were those which I could identify with. For majority of the show, the things she said and did were things I probably would have done too, if I were in her shoes, so she was eminently relatable to me right from the get-go.
Yes, there were some occasions where I found myself disagreeing with her course of action, but I could understand her motive and reasoning behind them and so could not really fault her too much for some of the things she did.
Her character did devolve a little towards the end of the show but as Fahsai had amassed a lot of goodwill from me by then, I was a lot more willing to find excuses for her weepy and rather passive behaviour by then. When one has gone through the amount of hard knocks this girl has gone through, I guess she is entitled to her moment of weakness and inertia and I can't blame her if she wanted to crawl under her blanket and stay there until the next century rolled around.

MICK TONGRAYA- as Daniel Wang. Mr Giant James Dean! Goodness but he had me at hello with that poufy gelled-up hairdo and stoic demeanour. For a huge chunk and run of the show, he was brilliant as the head of the Golden Dragon gang. Generally calm, confident, unflappable and a very able fighter, it is easy to see why he was made a leader at such a young age. He came across very capable, strong and assured, and he was not one who was easily fooled or taken in. He was intelligent and sharp, and the way he deals with his underlings and entourage was the kind of assured authority I myself wished to see in my own boss at work. It is very understandable why his own subordinates were so loyal and respectful of him. Mick did a fantastic job in bringing all these aspects of Daniel to life - a great performance for me.
Some viewers appeared to be a little unhappy with some of Daniel's actions (from some of the comments here), and I can understand where they were coming from, especially towards the end of the show, but at the same time, I could also understand the character motivation and rationale behind the actions too because the show took pains to show it to us. I think a lot of people forget that the Daniel at the start of the show is no longer the same Daniel towards the end of the show. The Daniel towards the end of the show had experienced a lot more stuff and found out a lot more about the past which, inevitably, affects and changes a person somewhat. I could identify with some of his fears and insecurities which may seem a little out of character or disappointing for some.

And can I just say that I love the height difference between our main leads? Mick is so tall (190cm apparently), and Pimmy looks so petite and small beside him, it makes her look so cute when she keeps looking up at him during their interactions. They had good chemistry too, and some of their scenes came across downright adorable, especially when they're smiling at each other. I thought it was a good pairing here.

BOOM PIYAPHUN - As Chen Ming, was also great. I really liked to see his evolution throughout the series, even if I am sometimes frustrated and angry with him for being so blinkered and blind, and rather naive or stupid (his own words!). I liked that you get to see the difference between him and Daniel as gang leaders. One is a natural leader who governs with a very self-assured hand, while the other is rather lost and confused at having the leadership position suddenly and traumatically thrusted upon him. It's great to be able to see the dichotomy in leadership skills and personalities, and how they affect the rest of the group.

Special mention to JUTI as Chen Biao, my favourite right-hand man. What a character! Another great evolution as the series progresses. I loved his relationship dynamic with Daniel - there is a lot of trust and respect between them - and am so glad we got given a backstory to him too. His appearances on-screen added a lot of sparkle and pop to the show, especially when things got a bit melodramatic from our main leads. And can I just say that I love his voice? There is something in that rather deep timbre that really appeals to my aural senses which no other male character (Mick included) had.


MUSIC
I thought the music and background score was a great supplement to the show.

RE -WATCH VALUE
High. Because it wasn't only the romance which was compelling for me. I thought that the whole show (rushed ending notwithstanding) was very well-done. Well-balanced, well-thought through, great acting, strong directing and editing, with relatable and compelling cast. If the ending had finished as strongly as the beginning and middle bits, this show would have been spectacular.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Eternal Love
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 5.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
This drama had a really strong premise and interesting character development initially; the personality flopping between the 2 personalities of the princess was quite fun to watch and had lots of potential. 4-5 episodes in however, only the modern day girl appears, and the actually Qu Tan Er gets 0 meaningful screen time and it's just a straight love story between Xiao Tan and the 8th prince. This makes for a pretty read more boring watch as any interesting interactions between the first prince and Qu Tan Er are basically tossed aside, virtually eliminating any tension from the story as both alternate love rivals are basically neutered. The film editing and story flow gets really sloppy starting from episode 10; you'll watch a lot of scenes where wooden actors drone on in a predictable manner, scenes cut in between each other abruptly, characters forgetting or contradicting events that literally happened 10 minutes earlier, story elements that get thrown in without prior explanation and get tossed away just as quickly, among other obvious gaffes. Overall this drama had a really solid beginning, but it became more and more of a train wreck as the series progressed.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Heirs
2 people found this review helpful
by Bubu
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
My first Kdrama
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Princess Hours
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 2.0
  • Story 1.0
  • Acting/Cast 3.0
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Despite of the bad reviews, i pushed to finished the drama otherwise i cannot have a just review.
If you ever watched the original story goong from korea, you may find this thai version story odd.
The twist of the story is too much and too twisted which made the story odd.
The main cast khaning acting was too blunt... like no effort to give her best when it is crying time read more the supporting role minnie cried better than her... Khaning is not bad to do comedy roles instead...
Overall, this drama twist didnt give justice to the original story.
I end up disappointed.. I was a fan of Thai horror movies... I t was my first time to watch a remake drama from Thai... too bad it didint go well....
My rating for twtisting the story 1%, cast acting 3%, dress and costumes 5%, venue and views 8%,
My over all rating 2%... sorry
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Guardians
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I literally just took off half a point because Young Kwang smiled too many times. Until by the end, the impact of those smiles kind of lost steam. It just seemed a bit over the top for him to celebrate with that gorgeous smile everytime he advanced in his plan. Same with the evil kid. I just think they could have varied those facial expressions.

Otherwise, fantastic drama. Young Kwang did great read more with his adorable self. Perfect for the role. Everyone else did really great as well. I love the story, marathoned this in like 2 days just because I had some work to do in between. Probably could have got it in one.

Music was my favorite. And I am positive I will rewatch this several times over. Just a really great drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Suspicious Partner
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 1.0
  • Story 1.0
  • Acting/Cast 5.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
What a wasted opportunity for bromance and female friendship and a crazy, amnesiatic murderer.

Everything the writers promised, they ended up letting us down on. The romance was infuriating/incredibly boring. Instead of exploring the idea of friendship and betrayal and forgiveness, we just walked in a circle for 20 episodes. (I REFUSE TO SAY IT WAS 40 BECAUSE THIS NEW NUMBERING SYSTEM IS STUPID!!!!) And the one and only time I've actually read more been Excited to see amnesia in a drama (wait. it's not one of our leads who gets amnesia? it's...the murderer?! what a fascinating idea. yes please!)...it turned out to be basically a non plot-point. Why'd they even try to market the story around it if it was going to be that insignificant???

I hate this drama. I hate it with every fiber of my being. My actual rating is negative 100.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
All About Secrets
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
Really good show!! got me to stay up the entire night to watch it! really nice!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Perfect Match
0 people found this review helpful
by jia
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
This drama was very good in the beginning. I like the romance and cuteness in the drama but after the director dragged this drama a couple more episodes, it kind of started to get a little boring. This drama was suppose to end at 19 episodes but definitely watch this if you like cooking and comedy.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Suspicious Partner
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
I think that this drama had a lot going for it, but despite some really great things about it, it didn't quite do it for me.

I tried to start the show 3 times and each time something annoyed me in the story. Despite that, I kept watching to get to the good parts because of the high rankings the show received. I had a really hard time with the first 3-4 read more episodes. I found No Ji Wook and Eun Bong Hee's encounters to be rather awkward; not pleasant to watch at all. On top of that. I felt that there were way too many unlikable characters (evil killers, mean girls, cheating boyfriends, uncompromising DAs) and I didn't like the twist in which a girl suddenly became a suspect and there is literally nothing anybody saw or heard because of some ridiculous blackout. It was too unbelievable for me. However, it did eventually get to the good part.

The criminal part of this story that pertains to the serial killer is its best part. The plot twists are surprising and interesting and I can't believe how amazing Dong Ha was in his role. Hyun Soo was probably the most interesting villain I've seen so far. He was scary, creepy and intriguing at the same time. His interactions with the people around were always tense and made things more interesting. I mean, Dong Ha really stole the show here. I felt like I feared him but was also curious about him. Just when I felt like I knew everything there was to know about him, it turns out that I was wrong all along. This was one of the best stories like that out there. However, I can't get over how unrealistic the lawyers' jobs were portrayed. I mean, this show was more of a police drama than lawyer drama. This is not what lawyers do! This really annoyed me throughout the show.

I think that the weakest part of the show was the romance. It started off kind of promising, but it quickly became bland and boring. They kept moving around in circles and almost no interaction between the two was interesting. I couldn't really see Ji Wook and Bong Hee as love interests and I don't think that I particularly liked Bong Hee's character. It's not that I disliked her; she was just very lukewarm to me and I don't want to feel this way about the main character. I also didn't feel much chemistry between the actors. I wonder if it was the writing or Nam Ji Hyun's acting. I mean, after watching Healer I can't get satisfied with the level of chemistry that I saw in Suspicious Partner.
I really liked how the relationships between the lawyers and other people developed and how natural the progression was. I regret that I didn't feel like that about the main couple.

All in all, I'm glad that I watched this show but it didn't make it into my all time favorites.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No