Sort by:
Boys Over Flowers
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 1.5
  • Story 2.0
  • Acting/Cast 3.0
  • Music 2.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Everyone seems to love this drama and I'm not sure why. I can appreciate some of the acting and there are some good scenes, but overall I didn't like it.

I think the actors did a good job with what they had, but I truly didn't like any of the characters. But I think every single drama cliche ever done was throw in and spat back out again, I cringed my way read more through a lot of the episodes.

I know tons of people disagree, and they are welcome to their opinions, but I just didn't like it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Cheese in the Trap
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
OK, this drama sky rocketed to the top of my favorites list during the first few episodes. I was edge of my seat waiting to watch the next episode.

The actors (especially KGE & PHJ) were amazing and played their parts really well, even in the episodes I didn't really enjoy, I thought almost everyone did a good job, but LSK's character was crazy. I almost had to fast forward thru the read more scenes with her in them, they were painful. I guess she did a good job portratying a spoiled rotten vengeful crazy person, but still painful.

It all started sliding downhill and fell off my list in a hurry. Ep 10-14 were kind of a mess. There were moments of greatness, that kept me hanging on, but it was a struggle. Then they hit rock bottom with the ending. What kind of ending was that? Anyway, best I can give it is a 3 because the beginning was so good.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
General and I
8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 1.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 1.0
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
What an absolute load of bullshit this show was. I don't think I have skipped so many episodes and fast forwarded so many scenes in any show before in my life. I had such a bad taste left in my mouth after I ended this, that I had to quickly download Master's Sun and use that as a relief to swallow this catastrophe down.

To be completely honest, I think the premise read more of this show is quite exciting and I bet the novel it's based on would be something spectacular. I will even admit that I really liked the idea behind the General's and Ping Ting's character. They were supposed to be strong and witty people in their own right and that was essentially what lured me in. But by God, that's not what this drama really ended up being.

Matters were made worse by the horrible acting. There is a lot of negative stigma attached with AngelaBaby but I did my best to keep an open mind and not be influenced by all the drama. Unfortunately, it was a wasted effort because she literally cannot act. Half of the time she's a blank board and in the other half she looks like a psychopath with her crazy eyes and creepy smile. I liked what her character was supposed to be but she destroyed it quite effectively.

Wallace Chung is a good actor but all the edgy scenes really didn't make him cool instead Chu Bei Jie mostly just comes off as an asshole who's trying and failing to assert his dominance over everybody.

The overdramatization makes everything more unbearable. With all that flying in the air, jumping over mountains and exaggerated facial expressions, General and I can't possibly expect the viewers to take its bullshit seriously. I watch Asian Dramas for their sincerity and poignancy, not whatever this superficial serialization was offering. So fucking disappointed.

It didn't help that I started watching it in between episodes of Eternal Love, which is why its flaws were even more noticeable than they would've been if an incredible show was not there for comparison. I really tried to give it a lot of chances but by the eighth chance, I thought it better for my sanity to skip most parts.

This is an unpopular opinion and if you are someone who has diligently watched all of its episodes and have arrived on a different conclusion, then good for you. Boos should always do their yous.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
38 Task Force
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This is one hell of a good drama that is so under-rated by people.
It has amazing story and unpredictable plot.
It's also fun to watch this. If you like "catch me if you can" movie, u will love this.

It's so fun to watch until you don't know about time,
There is no fillers or unnecessary plot at all.
All is well. Good job to the writer. Salute. Respect.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
49
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
I thought i want to start watching J-drama again and i choose this one, i don't regret it.
It's fun, cute, funny, but it has a deep meaningful story too. The most importantly it's short.
I cannot watch too lengthy drama anymore, i think i am just too tired, i need good drama that does not make me feel awful and feel forced to finish watching it. K-drama nowadays are full of read more fillers, i can't take it anymore, need to choose a good one, i don't have much time :D Anyway, this is a short drama with good story, i love it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Introverted Boss
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
By all means, this drama should have been pretty mediocre. Not too bad, but certainly not great, either. Every element, every twist, every plot line is something we all have seen in numerous dramas before.

But it's the characters that made and wrapped the drama in shiny gold packaging for me. I know there are many people saying that the actress playing Ro Woon is extremely irritating, but somehow, I never thought read more that. Every action of hers fit her personality (nosy, loud, argumentative etc.) perfectly, so I could hardly fault either the actress or the character.

Which brings me to the acting. I thought most of the acting by the main and supporting cast were pretty solid. They did full justice to their characters (though I wish some of them got more screen time, but oh well). The leads were great and their chemistry was PERFECT. It's been a long time since I've seen the main couple so well casted, but they really did make an excellent pair. Their opposing personalities were surprisingly well matched and Eun Hwan Gi as a character was absolutely adorable. He was the main highlight of the show, to be honest. The couple and Hwan Gi were MAJOR points in favour of the drama, almost fully overshadowing the negatives.

The negatives were minor for me, since I could so easily look past them, but a main one would definitely be how much the beginning was stretched. There were a few unnecessary scenes which, I felt, could have been edited out for clarity. Hence, I agree that the first 5 episodes were pretty boring, which was why some people (including ones I know) dropped the drama early on.
But I highly recommend you push on, like I did. It gets MUCH better, the pace stabilises and the whole drama gets more interesting.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Noble, My Love
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 5.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
This drama is totally a definition of a very cheesy drama, but not necessarily in a bad way. It has every element of what a real rom-com should be like, starting from the rich man poor girl and ending with the evil mother. It was short, sweet and very fast paced. So if you're looking for a quick and cute drama to ease your heart, then give this a go!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
- No Comment -
Some people have already pointed out it's flaws.
- Full of fillers
- Crazy flashbacks
- Weird Romance Story for lead characters
- Oh my Gosh, it's so hard to finish this drama, i keep skipping it
- I prefer second lead story line but there is not much time for them
- End up It's so cliche
- Very predictable story line
- Boring
- The end read more (with so much resentment towards this drama)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Eternal Love
6 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Generally speaking, I usually have the opposite effect for over-hyped things. The more hype a thing has, the more likely it is for me to not like it. I went into watching Eternal Love with low expectations and as I had predicted at the time, I didn't find it too extra ordinary in the beginning.

STORY:

Eternal Love is comprised of the following three stages:

Episode 1-15:
This is when Yang Mi read more plays Si Yin and we are mostly being introduced to the characters. Ye Hua and Su Su meet up. It sets the pace of the story. This part doesn't have any wow factors, rather it provides an undercurrent of mild amusement. At this point you're not completely invested in the story but you also cannot let it go.

Episode 16-30:
Now this part was just plain torturous. This constructs the build up towards the main plot. It showcases Su Su's and Ye Hua's love and all the hardships she had to face as a mortal. Even though their sweet moments were heart warming, over-all this is literally the deadest portion of the show. It's not exactly the shows fault, rather the sypnosis's. We already know that SuSu is going to go blind and kill herself and honestly, I just felt like only after that, the true story would kick in which is why I had to fast forward some scenes because the whole wait did get, frankly, very boring. I understood that it was necessary for the character development and it provided a strong basis for the story to continue but that didn't mean that I found the drag-on particularly enjoyable. But since my intuition said that the light at the end of the tunnel would be very bright, I persevered.

Episode 30-58:
And this is when the show sky rockets to its summit. I think Episode 30 was by far the best episode made. From here onwards there are so many emotions; one great scene followed by another and suddenly I went from being half-heartedly interested to full on obsessed.

Acting:
Damn, I think I have a little bit of a crush on Yang Mi. She's such an absolute star to be honest. She portrayed her different personalities excellently. From the youthful and mischievous Si Yin, to the kind-hearted and vulnerable SuSu and finally to the boss ass queen Bai Qian; she simply slayed. There is this utter grace with which she speaks and moves that you can't help but be entranced by her. She was the true embodiment of a Queen and a total badass. Her fighting scenes were so empowering and the way she wields that Jade Purity Fan; just dang. She's a woman of power to her core and when Ye Hua forcefully kisses her once, she doesn't just let it be -nuhhun- she bestows him with a five fingered bitch slap 'cause ain't nobody messing with the Queen of Qing Qiu.

Mark was also a very nice surprise. He expressed a multitude of emotions just with his eyes. He didn't have to speak or show rather even the slightest twitch of his face spoke volumes. To be honest, I really fell in love with Ye Hua's character in the later part of the show. He's so selfless and devoted in his affection for Bai Qian that you can't help but root for him. Mark's delivery of Mo Yuan's character was also very impressive. Mo Yuan is a personality that demands respect and he gave him the elegance and majestic aura that was required.

Their chemistry is sizzling hot and both of them compliment each other to the max. I love how their love story transcends all worlds and they're two people destined to be together. I mean towards the end I was so committed to seeing their happy ending that for the first time in my life, I deliberately went to seek out spoilers just so I could have a consolation that everything wouldn't be in vain. Even though the ending is pretty sappy and the consequent events just turn out to be interestingly very very convenient for everybody, I think I wouldn't have opted for less.

The most annoying part of this show probably has to do with everything that was related to the Ghost Realm. Xian nu is literally the world's dumbest villain to ever grace the screens. I mean sure if you gonna be a negative ass bitch, filled to the brim with inferiority complexes, the least you can do is actually have some brains to execute your deviltry, instead she remains pitiful throughout and besides being an annoyance, doesn't amount to much.
Never fear though, because her husband matches her toe to toe as far as stupidity is concerned. Li JIng has a constant "woe-is-me" expression plastered on. He always acts like he is the most tragic person alive and he's constantly throwing pity parties and pining after someone he wronged. Like really bitch, if you gon' whine about how pathetic your life is and how you're suffering so much you should've thought better when you decided to waste your life being a nuisance and cheating on someone you supposedly loved. Smh. I was very thankful when both of these roaches finally ended up dead 'cause they literally belonged with each other in hell.

One of the best things about Eternal Love are the side stories. I had so much love for Dijun and Feng Jiu. Dijun, with his constantly amused face (as if the whole world was a huge joke to him) and Feng Jiu, with her endearing personality and child like tendencies really won me over. This show has so much character development and attention to detail. With excellent emotional delivery and story writing, I think the hype surrounding it is more or less justified.

One thing that I found hilarious was how little Bai Qian truly cared for her son like, ain't nobody got time for that but A-li is legit a ball of adorableness and the few moments they share together are absolute bliss.

Rewatching a 58 episode show is no easy feat so I don't think that I'd be doing that but there are definitely some iconic moments that I have already watched a thousand times over and will continue to revisit.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kleun Cheewit
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
OMG, i can't breath because of this thai drama, i love both of them (Mark and Yaya) since 2011!!!
the lead actor and actress are so freakin awesome, i hope i can watch them together as a couple in other lakorn !! i hope so 1000 %
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Good Wife
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
A two day marathon with an all night binge of streaming and ice cream to finish. Loved the freshness and strength of the wife. Each episode showed growth in her character and her perceptions of "self" as opposed to the blur women find themselves in when they are married -- usually there is a you somewhere buried at the end of the day of taking care of everyone else's needs. This was read more not that kind of drama -- even mother in law was no more than a woman whose child you married - not a focus of your intention. Didn't watch many of the American episodes of the Good Wife but I'm convinced this was a better crisper version. Of course the ending could be debated. What isl a Good Wife? But I thought the ending was apropos to the situation since contested divorces could become dirty and everyone was in a position that would be harmed by pursing that route. My favorite line in Jurassic Park "Life finds a way" I believe love found a way in this drama and it was satisfying to see a strong woman rise out of the ashes to achieve her goals and ambitions.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
So, it's just my early Wuxia before I start being chinese drama fans.

--Stroy--

The first 10 episodes, you'll watch a background why Main Chara become like that. It's quite interesting. and because of it we'll appreciate more in the future episode. About 4-5 episode later, you'll feel rather bored because the plot is take in the same place and we know what to do in that scene. I suggest you just read more forward it to find an interesting scene. Finally, after some hardship to wait a badass scene, we'll surely found it in the less episode. And you'll have some euphoria sense till the end.

--Acting/Cast--

The main character is suit to act like that. Because, he's not really handsome, but his deed make him a charismatic person. So, that's why many girls like him. And for girls have their own uniqueness. Zhao Ming, the naughty mongolian princess who always threaten main chara badly but actually it just to attract some attentions. Xiao Zhao, the cold women but have big love for main chara. Yin Li, the crazy girl who always love main chara while still kids. You'll think who suit main chara more, and then you'll know it.

--Music--

I dont have much about it, but the ending time song sound very touching.

--Rewatch Value--

If I rewatch it, I'll skip some episodes and then going to the scene while main chara in adult form.

--Overall--

I like this drama because of epic wuxia fight. And of course, the main chara make me think "there's still a person as good as him, i hope he will deserve the best girl". If you like the story about person who'll dominate martial art world because of his Kung-Fu, this is the answer.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Super Star Academy
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 1.0
  • Story 1.0
  • Acting/Cast 1.0
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I've watched my fair share of bad dramas, but this was just the worst! The plot was terrible, as well as the acting. Each episode consists of a 22 minute runtime and after finishing the end of episode 4 I regret having continued past the second.

Like most dramas you get a gist of a shows originality and likability within the first 2 episodes. This had neither for me. If you're into read more dramas with a supernatural/school/romance and action type of genre, I recommend watching Moorim School (on KissAsian) first, I watched the entirety of that series and it was good but not to the point of wanting to rewatch.

I'm not sure how Super Star academy obtained the reviews it did with its lackluster acting, plot, and show effects, but to each their own.

I've made the mistake missing out on dramas sooner because I was too focused on the reviews. I recommend if you're on here looking through the reviews before watching, give a try. Each person has their own opinion and if you like it great, if not then I feel your pain.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Eternal Love
5 people found this review helpful
by QAS
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
Ten Miles Peach Blossoms is one of those rare drama phenomena of the early 21st century. The skills of the actors, the scriptwriter, the novelist, the directors, the music composers and musicians, the set designer, the costume designer, the production crew, are reflected in this cinematic masterpiece that China has shared with the world. The emotional pull of the story and creative plot transcend culture and language. When subtitles can draw tears read more of sorrow and joy, the actors, directors and the scriptwriter have done a very effective job.

The charismatic actor, Mark Chao, was destined to play Ye Hua and Mo Quan. His interpretations of the two unique individuals, demonstrate his range of acting skills. Yang MI revealed her acting range with the two dinstinctive entities, Bai Qian and Su Su.

The psychotic, obsessive antagonists, Su Jin and Xuan Nu, as much as we hated them, were portrayed convincingly by personable actors, Maggie Huang and Zhu Xudan, respectively.

The young actors, Hummer Zhang (A-Li), Huang Tianqi (Fire Qilin), Zhang Youhao (Mi Gu), and Little Zhao Ge character, ultimately stole the show.

If there were travel tours to Peach Blossom Valley, international travelers would be booking the next flight to China.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kleun Cheewit
10 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I have been watching lakorns since last year and even longer have watched various of other Asian dramas for seven years now that I easily lose interest because either the plot, characters, or the overall storyline makes no sense or changes within the middle. The same cannot be said of this drama, from beginning to end the storyline, characters, and plot has always been consistent. I didn't know much of Yaya or read more Prin before heading into this drama, but afterwards they have made a huge impact when it comes to further lakorns in the future.

The story is like Secret (kdrama), if anyone ever watched it, and although Secret has been one of my favorite dramas when it comes to revenge/hate turning into love and obsession, this lakorn has beaten it out of the water due to the main characters but more so to Yaya's potrayal of Jeerawat or Jee.

Story:
Very Simple, Jee is a major nangek/celebrity who despite all the fame and status lives her life constantly in the rumor mill potrayed as a whore and slut who snatches up people husbands. In reality, she is anything but and instead is just a woman or rather a girl who just wants love, mainly from her mother that she continuously protects at the cost of her own self-respect. While Satit is a young lawyer who is deeply in love with his fiance Tiw, all for justice and the fight for the underdog and the little man. Unlike in the synopsis, Jee is NOT an alcoholic and instead is lusted after by her stepfather and is heavily drugged (IM style in the arm) and in her pursuit to run away from her eventual rape innocently hit and run over Satit's fiance Tiw. Instead of actually running, Jee tries to express her apologies and own up to her mistake, however, the people around her refuses for her to do so and instead her assistant takes the fall while she lives her life in a constant cycle of regret, guilt, remorse, and horror for the fact she cannot pay for the crime that she caused.

Satit, however, doesn't believe what is released to the public and is in hot pursuit to punish Jee for his fiance's death which leads to his obsession. Eventually constant interactions, fighting/arguments, and slowly seeing the inner truth of who Jee really is makes him falls in love with her. But at the same time, he struggles with the reality that he might be falling for the very woman who killed the love of his life and is constantly struggling to battle his own feelings.

Of course there are two other couples but in reality it became such a nuisance (really in Piak and Chaiyan's case) but they only at times help the main draw closer and own up to their feelings.


Acting/Cast:
If I didn't state it earlier, this show was amazing not from the story itself alone, but from the flawless potrayal from the main characters and the amazing chemistry between Jee and Satit. Although Prin was amazing showing Satit as someone obsessed, I have to give the full recognition to Yaya for such an amazing job as Jee.

Yaya: have never seen her before, never knew her before, or etc...but my GODDDD!!!!! She was simply amazing as Jeerawat. She potrayed the hard as nails, aloof, bitch that everyone saw her but at the same time show the vulnerabilities of a young woman (more so girl in my opinion) that just wanted love. Love from her mother and those around her that were actually genuine. At times female leads that just cry nonstop would be annoying and ridiculous but you knew Jee was crying was because she built such a icy facade for the world that when it came to herself, her manager Suki, and her best friend Dao, that was the only time she could really be herself and let it out. Each time, each time, Yaya did such an amazing job showing the emotions of someone lost, tired, hopeful, yearning, and just wanting someone to just love her for herself. Although as the audience battled with the decisions she made at times Yaya did such a seamless job in showing someone fighting with herself and inner desires, wants, and needs. She was not a Candy female lead or someone so darn evil you wonder if she was REALLY a lead female. Rather she was human. She was realistic. She came from a broken home, her mother and her struggled and suffered for everything they got, and even then she wouldn't show others her true self. she was tough as nails and at the same time vulnerable. She was as real as you are gonna get if you want a realistic female lead that is not sugarcoated but is not always wearing a smile despite all the crap life hands to her.

Piak: a insecure housewife now producer/director who constantly suspects her husband Chaiyan is sleeping with his female actresses (nangek) and more specifically, thinks he is sleeping with Jee. Her (adopted) brother is Satit.

Chaiyan: is best friends with Jee, rather shares a brother/sister relationship to Jee that is constantly misconstrued to his wife and the media as an affair.

Dao: Jee's best friend with Jee and is in love with Jate

Jate: confused and playing both fields. In love with Jee but attracted to Dao.


Rewatch Value, Overall:

I would watch this show again at least a few months from now to completely forget the story-line (which i doubt) as this show is just so darn intriguing, and not so predictable compared to most dramas. As i stated before this show has two other couples and to me were either annoying at times or just so unbelievable, but they don't ruin the story. This lakorn is sooooooo enjoyable, intriguing, and unpredictable. Highly recommend to watch, and watch, watch, and then watch some more.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No