Sort by:
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I would say what a beautiful story. The story did move me, not too emotional or dramatic. Every casts carried a wonderful role. The storyline was amazing. I love the problem-solutions scenes.

I love all the leading roles & supporting roles. They have shown an amazing talent.

What I love the most was the relationship between the Hongs family. I would love to have that kind of relationship; how they take care read more of each other & being a loyal brothers-sisters. A wonderful drama thus I gave a perfect 10.

If you kinda hesitate to watch this. Please DON'T! you would love it. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Strong Woman Do Bong Soon
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This drama is full of serious moments which turn into comedy while the overall drama turns from comedy into something (mostly) serious. I started watching it and I completely understand why some people really really hate it. It's different from other dramas, especially in the beginning. Don't worry, later on it takes more characteristics of a normal drama.

Story:
Prepare to get your typical drama clichées and moments...BUT there will always be read more a turn on it that takes the comical route. Seriously, this drama doesn't take itself very seriously (in the beginning).
What makes this drama different is: in other dramas there are many storylines working to problem and one resolution in the end, in SWDBS there is more than one main story and not all of them have the purpose to end at the finale but some of them are resolved right in the middle. I loved that. It seemed more real and kept the story fresh.
Also you will get A LOT of witty conversations and funny comebacks. It's just really funny, even if you can guess (some) of the outcomes. Also the characters are really interesting and enjoyable.
I do admit, that I didn't like Bong Soon all the time. Sometimes she was really annoying but that's not for the actress but the character. And the acting behind the character was really believable.

Acting/Cast:
I really really really have to compliment this cast. The cast was chosen perfectly, the characters were written amazingly. After this drama I really know what it means to act with your eyes. Seriously, I think like 70% of the acting was facial reactions. And not just the sad or touching parts but also the comedic acting was done perfectly. The lines were delivered perfectly and I really liked it. Compliments to HyungSik also, I didn't realise he was such a great actor.

Music:
Appropriate for the drama but I wasn't really into looking up the songs, I admit.

Rewatch:
I tend to only rewatch very few dramas...SWDBS...maybe one day. I'm not against it but I'll probably only rewatch specific scenes.

Overall:
A comedic drama with some genres which you'd never expect in a comedy. Get used to being totally confused over what's happening but enjoying it wholeheartedly. Also a plus point? I think SWDBS is a great and recommendable drama but you probably won't get into a drama slump afterwards. So nice not being depressed for once after watching a good drama ^.^
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Roy Lae Sanae Luang
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 3.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
To put it simply, this lakorn was a mess. They should have cut out a lot of the unnecessary, repetitive back-and-forth drama between the characters and made this between 10 and 13 episodes long. Some of the acting was really good, but even that couldn't make up for the crappy script and directing. Overall, it's about a 5 out of 10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Chicago Typewriter
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
Chicago Typewriter is indeed a heart warming/wrecking story.

I really enjoyed it but I felt like the story was dragged a little too much in my opinion. Of course the whole plot and story with its twist was awesome but I think that they often put too many unneeded fillers.

The music is what made this drama especially wonderful, it added a lot to the emotions. The cast was also perfect. Go read more Kyung Pyo was a wise choice for this character.

I would give this drama a try and then decide wheter to watch it or not. If you are a big fan of romance then I have to disappoint you a little bit. There's no denying that this is a story about love but it's not this kind of happy-dabby dramas.

Overall, I give this 7/10 points.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Age of Youth
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
Age of Youth would bring you an enormous nostalgia if you happened to stay in a dormitory/apartment with people who were first stranger to you (or even when you are currently living together with roommates with different stories and personalities.)

The drama has 12 episodes (one hour each). One might think it would not be possible to fit in five stories in twelve episodes, but watch it first before doubting. I found read more it amazing as to how the team was able show everyone's stories without shaking off the scenes' transitions. And that the story's direction was clear enough to be followed by the audience.

Age of Youth was able to depict the realness and pureness of a person. Everyone has their own struggles in life. They have their own ways to overcome those. Others may need someone to lean on, someone whom they can easily share their thoughts with, someone who would understand them. While on the other hand, there are those who would rather keep everything to themselves and try to solve it on their own for they have built a wall separating them from the outside world. It may seem pathetic and frustrating but baby, it happens and there are people living this way.

Throughout this whole process, the five leads were able to slowly open themselves up to each others and from being mere strangers, they have grown to appreciate one another that eventually leading to them treating them as sisters.

It was a story of what life is when you are young. You feel lost. You feel like you are not enough and the world does not deserve you so you better perish as you think you are doing a favor for everyone's sake. But no, youth is when you gain experiences that would be your foundation for the next decades of your life. Here's to when you would gain and lose friends. You would would experience love and heartbreak. Youth is nothing but a series of events which requires you to surpass in order to live your life to its extent. Youth is where you must enjoy your life the most.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
MARS - Tada, Kimi wo Aishiteru
0 people found this review helpful
by Shaz
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
Manga fans be warned!
I loved the Mars manga, it's one of my favourites of all time so as an ardent drama lover I was understandably very excited for this adaptation. Immediately the short length of the 10 episode series with each episode little more than 20 minutes long was slightly disappointing (for reference the manga is a 15 volume emotional rollercoaster). Still I held out hope that they would just focus read more on the first section of the manga and do that justice, and whilst they did follow the plot points of the manga, there were various things that were amended and added for the sake of making the drama more appealing to the teen audience as well as the omission of plot points such as Rei's motorcycling career. This made it a bit of a confusing watch for me at first, but after telling myself an adaptation does not have to be 100% true to its source material I soldiered on.

The main leads of Rei and Kira were interestingly cast, both are complex and playful and make for enjoyable viewing, however they both seem to lack that slight undercurrent of darkness which make their characters so interesting. Masao's creepiness is really played up, maybe even overly done, to the point sometimes I was wondering if I was seeing Masataka Kubota's Light Yagami instead of his Masao at time.

The music was great and a plus for the series, all in all it was a good watch but not a great one. i enjoyed it mostly for the novelty and am glad I saw it but probably won't be rewatching any time soon.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Suspicious Partner
7 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
His royal hotness, Ji Chang Wook, comes off strong and effective Atty. No Ji Wook, as expected of his range as an actor. He has the ever familiar gestures and stares that he has used to charm his love interests, but it works. Maybe I have been charmed by his bright smile and finely chiseled face, but he is one of the most formidable actors in K-dramaland no doubt.

Support characters, Atty. read more Byun and Atty. Ji Eun-Hyuk, are also effective and lovable. Nara's Cha Yoo Jung leaves a remarkable performance, as well.

The female lead is a big disappointment, lacking maturity as an actress, and lacks more depth as a character; she is supposed to be a black belt in Judo(?) and quite a strong/tough woman and yet she comes off weak and easily shaken.

It is almost painful to watch her acting opposite Ji Chang Wook. Nam Ji-Hyun's take on the character Eun-Bonghee is quite poor. She uses the same character reference for the provincial girl she portrayed in Shopping King Louie; which worked then for that show. Sadly, the same portrayal for a different and more empowered character in Suspicious Partner is flat out failure. She acts all cute with a cutesy voice that is not typical of a supposed confident lawyer / (acquitted) murder-suspect / mature lady, which is disturbing. Could she possibly be a miscast?

Can the writer do something to make character Atty. Eun Bonghee, smarter and more confident please? She is clearly surrounded by danger and yet she goes out alone at night, etc? Gosh, please help this character, writer-nim!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Chicago Typewriter
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I just finished watching Chicago Typewriter around 45 minutes ago and I can't help not to post a review about it so here it goes:

I kind of "dropped" the drama after its seventh episode (when it was still on air). I found it boring and interpreted the twists as shallow ones. Well, my busy schedule could also be one of the causes why I had to stop watching this. In fact, read more my brother continued watching this without me so he was obviously ahead of the story but I did not really care at first. Until yesterday. I was running out of dramas to watch so I decided to finally resume watching this one. (NOTE: If you plan on getting yourself involve in Chicago Typewriter, learn how to refrain from checking your phone from time to time for it would distract your focus. One must have a full attention while watching this because he/she would probably end up having messy thoughts for not following the scene's direction. )

I was regretting that I dropped this for a while. I never knew this would actually bring so much joy and unfathomable feelings to me. I have since loved period dramas especially those with political and social struggles in it. And this drama was able to depict the 1930s Japanese Occupation in Joseon where the brave youth of yesterday stood up in order to regain their country's democracy. Through this, the audience was able to picture what it was back then, and how those heroes fought for the independence we are currently savoring. It was a story of hope.

This success would not have happened without the chemistry of the actors. Yoo Ah In and Go Kyung Pyo's tandem was really magical. They have portrayed Han Se Ju/Seo Hui Young and Yoo Jin Oh/Shin Yul well and showed their characters' uniqueness. This also goes for Im Soo Jung and Yoo Ah In's team-up. And of course, their trio really appealed and brought the audience root for them. Honestly, I did not even want them to be apart until the end.

All in all, this drama needs to be seen and be appreciated by the generation of today. Not only they would gain knowledge on history, but for them to admire what our forefathers have done in order for us to enjoy the liberation we are having now.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Only Love Song
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
No doubt, this show further proves that Lee Jong Hyun and Gong Seung Yeon's chemistry is really MAGICAL! Although JH has been thought to be better off as an idol and a musician/singer than an actor, his acting opposite someone he truly/obviously adores in real life, apparently helped in overcoming his awkwardness as an actor. The lovely SY has been showing steady progress and strong skills in acting since she debuted, so read more she pulled off the spoiled, potty-mouthed, top-star and lovable character! Haha! She was able to balance off that sexy and elegant vis-a-vis serious and funny Soojung whom charismatic Ondal and narcissistic Gen. Ko Ilyong would fall for. Joo-hyung Park's skilled portrayal of the narcissistic villain is spot on, and truly hilarious, which makes the show more enjoyable to watch. Lee Jaejin's Samyong is also memorable and endearing; Didn't know Jaejin could act so well! Bravo to all the actors!

Many scenes appeared to be referenced from JH and SY's stint in We Got Married, which worked nonetheless, especially since this drama undoubtedly has a built-in fan-base; And many would be more than satisfied to see the long-awaited onscreen reunion that comes with bonus intimate scenes between the two main leads. Since this show is a web-drama and expects foreign viewership, the usually censored lines/actions and kissing scenes in Korean TV dramas were done away with. Those kissing scenes, by the way, were done confidently with passion and intensity. It was indeed a great move to cast JH and SY to be the leads in this drama!

There was some trouble with continuity of scenes and the storyline. The show also obviously lacked budget/the luster of the usual cast-of-a-thousand-extras/actors saeguk dramas; But when you are too busy swooning over the visuals and sweetness of the 2 main characters, all is glossed over with the taste of honey that overflows from every interaction of Soojong and Ondal. The director and production team did a good job anyhow, with the resources made available for them. The script obviously invested more on the main leads and it worked just fine.

If only for the contagious sweetness of the 2 main leads/characters, together with the magic that they create together that lights up the screen, this drama is quite a RECHARGING experience that is worth to be rewatched over and over. A Season 2 would be even better!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Circle
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
Although the show lacks computer graphics that are typical of sci-fi shows (maybe due to budget constraints for TV?) this drama continues to hold its ground with the solid storyline and impressive direction and acting from a pool of very very brilliant actors. Jingoo is definitely well beyond his years as an actor, showing intensity and maturity. Kim Kang Woo is as usual, precise and forceful. Gong Seung-Yeon is not only beautiful, read more but she also is strong as an actress and quite effective in playing 3 personas of Byul/Jung Yeon/Bluebird. All the rest of the actors are equally brilliant and such a delight to watch. Casting is PERFECT! This drama is gripping and keeps one on his feet. As it is, it is already a masterpiece; how much better it could be when it gets more CGI? Daebak!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Shopping King Louis
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
I've just finished watching Shopping King Louis. This review is my personal opinion, judged by the divided mentioned factors.

What to expect from this drama:
This Drama has a few cliches I won't disclose in this review, however, none of them did I find harming to the show. You'll also be surprised by the fact that the good guy wins the girl, not the one who treats her poorly - is that read more a spoiler? Ugh, I guess you could guess it from the summary. The drama is lighthearted, simple, and easy to watch. Comedy and romance are the core genres and portrayed well. The romance is especially cute and unique.

My overall score of this show is 7, which is, in my opinion, an above mediocre score. Here's why...

My first area that I'll cover is the story. The plot is very simple, lighthearted and easy to watch. Of course, there are some cliches placed in some episodes but overall I think the plot handles it quite well. My personal opinion of the story is positive. Whenever I see something that has to do with amnesia I hesitate but this drama uses this element in a non-cliche/annoying way. The characters stay true to themselves throughout the drama and undergo individual character development. The characters, as well as the story, is well thought out without any major, story-destroying plot holes. In fact, I didn't find any plot holes at all.

The acting in this drama is good, but not the best I've witnessed out there. However, I must say Seo In Guk portrays his character adequately and stays consistent in his acting throughout the drama. The characters are fun and each actor does a great job to stay constant, hence my rating falls on 6.0.

In regards to the music in this drama, I'm fairly surprised. Whether it's the magic touch of Monsta X or something else, I don't know. What I do know is that I love the music in this show - and not only the main ost. I'm sure you'll enjoy it as well.

My rewatch value is 5.5, which is based on the fact that I rarely fully rewatch dramas. If I'm rewatching something I only watch few certain episodes. So, I've set it to 5.5 as an "Maybe I'll return but I'm not sure" kind of score. Vague but true.

You'll like this if...
- You want something unique/fresh in the romcom (romance/comedy) genre.
- You enjoy a simple lighthearted story that comes in a complete package.
- Seo In Guk acting like the cutest kid ever.
- You enjoy a unique story from time to time.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
W
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
My favorite Korean drama.Absolutely the best in every aspect.It's a must watch for me but careful!You need to have a lot of time as this will make you lose your sleep.Also a box of tissues next to you is adviced as this is an emotional rollercoaster.
P.S. If you weren't in love with Lee Jong Suk,this drama is the one that will make you love him no matter what.
P.S.2.The female lead read more is absolutely amazing as well.She's a great actress and plays a relatable and overall great character.It's refreshing to have an interesting female lead that doesn't make you want to rip her heart out.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Torranee Nee Krai Krong
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 5.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Well.

Firstly, I love Yaya and Nadech. So they're the main reason why I decided to watch this. That and there's also the fact that I'm kind of in a lakorn watching phase.

Anyway, there wasn't really any surprise in the story, it was the typical enemies-to-lovers show. Yaya's character was so bratty at first, I found her really annoying. She would scream for every little thing!! And Athit, Nadech's character, was read more almost a saint. If I were him, I'd beaten some sense out of Nee in the first couple of episodes. There wasn't any plausible reason for the way she behaved towards him, aside from her personality being that of a pain in the ass grandma's little girl.

I confess the first half of this lakorn was a pain to watch. I prayed as I watched, wanting to arrive as soon as possible in the episode Nee would finally grow up and stop being so irritating. And that took so long!

BUT! I must be fair. When they finally got together for real, it was the cutest thing in the world. I swear I wasn't ready for all that sugar punches. So sweet, so, sooo sweet, I can almost say it was all worth the pain, just because of the last two episodes. Athit was perfect, so romantic.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love in the Moonlight
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
I'm a drama newbie, so yeah, this was the first drama I ever watched. I think this was a good time for me to rewatch, because I'd just been blown away by Reply 1988, and I needed to take a step back and recover. Also, I needed more of Park Bo Gum. Just more.

Does this hold up to a rewatch? I scored it at a 9 on my first go around, read more and I can honestly say that YES, it absolutely does stand up to a rewatch. In fact, it might have been even better for me this time around, because I have a better understanding of Korean culture and I have a few fusion Sagueks under my belt to compare.

Moonlight is still awesome in every category for me. The storyline, the pacing, the characters, the OST, and even down the the amazingly beautiful hanboks designed for the show. I think there is a meticulous attention to detail.

Does that mean the show is perfect? Well no, I could point out some things that are slightly less than stellar--fat princess played for comedy affect... um no. (Just once, please can we have a fat person who is just a person?) Ra On's helplessness in parts of the show I could have done without. She lost a little of her feisty appeal at some point, so that was disappointing. Simplistic plot--that's not to say it wasn't good, but if you're looking for something truly deep and convoluted, this just isn't it. Watch it for what it is--and yes, this was tailored more for a YA audience--and that I have no problem with.

What stood out in this show? Well, obviously Park Bo Gum was AH-mazing. That boy can do no wrong in my eyes. He really inhabited the character of Young and made us believe 100% in this prince. And boy, does he look fine in a hanbok. Also, Kim Yoo Jung was a pleasant surprise. She's such a young actress, but she can be really expressive, and, unlike that other Moon show where the actress looked 12 and had the range of a dead fish, KYJ actually had some mobility to her features, which she used for good effect, and looked more the age of the character she was playing.

Some of the side cast deserve praise too, particularly Kwak Dong Yeon who was able to sell me Chief Kim's conflict in his silent way.

All in all, a very tight production, a beautiful story told, and a great ending. What more could you want?
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Addicted Heroin
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
BEST BL EVER.
The chemestry between the characters is something that couldn't be explain.
The story, finally, is different from every BL that i watch. Original, beautiful, touching, happy, real. Even if the relationship is develop very fast ( the part of Gu Hai ) his falling in love seem so real that this doesn't count, it's amzing like this. This series is perfection.
It's so sad that they have banned from read more China. But at least the last episode has a happy ending! HAHAH
The song, oh gosh, i falling in love with the song, they make me found out song like " Hero - Family of the year. " or " Touble i'm in - Twinbed" .
they put it the song in the right place of the series. The filming is the best i ever seen in a BL, seem so professional.
So, in the end, WATCH IT.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No