Sort by:
Strong Woman Do Bong Soon
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Okay, so first things first - this drama is a wonderful drama that I would recommend in a heartbeat, especially to those who love a cute, good romance but are not looking for a heap load of angst in the relationship. Personally, this is my favorite type of drama. I prefer it when the plot does not revolve around what new misunderstanding happens between the main couple, and who tries to separate read more them next and *gasp* he has an arranged marriage, and she has cancer!

This drama forgoes all this and instead focuses on making Bong Soon Min Hyeok an otp to remember and top lists. I love those two (together and separately) to death! The process of them falling in love was such a lovely journey to be part of, and the way they looked at each other made my heart flutter. Especially Min Hyeok, who was so gone it wasn't even funny, just extremely enviable.

These two were simply adorable, and their personalities are really the strongest part of this drama. Bong Soon is a little ball of fire, and Min Hyeok becomes a teddy bear whenever he's around the peanut-sized king kong, even when he tries really hard to be mean (in a playful way). They were the whole package!

Now, I have absolutely no complaint about the entirety of their relationship, and again, I WOULD RECOMMEND this drama in a heartbeat, I really would. But at the end of the day, I couldn't give this drama full stars even though a part of me want to just for my otp. I think this is partly because I already watched Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo which is kind of the perfect drama in my opinion and does what Strong Woman tries to do perfectly.

What do I mean? Whereas the romance is the definite strong suit of this drama, the side plots is where it falls. Because honestly, there was only one truly interesting side plot to this drama and about a dozen unnecessary ones.

And Strong Woman drags *all* of them.

(1)We have the serial killer, who was interesting and made me bite my nails but fell flat at the end. (2) The whole unrequited-maybe-required love situation. (3) I admit I liked the gang members...at first. Then I kind of wished someone would kill them just so I wouldn't need to hear another peep from them. (4)There was also Min Hyeok's family, wasn't there? or did I imagine it? (5) Can't forget Bong Soon's mom and her entire family (will I get stoned if I say I really liked her mom? Even those she's brash and abusive?) (6) Oh, and her game! (7) And there is that annoying sunbae Dong Byung and his whole part of the story, which was murder on my ears and just gah.

And those weren't all. Each one of them *could* have been interesting and had potential (okay, perhaps all but Dong Byung. AND the gang members should've quit while they were ahead). but at the end of the day, almost every one of the many stories this drama tried to tell beside the one of our lovely main couple ended up falling short. They were either too long, or too short, or just broke the flow of the entire drama or made me scratch my head wondering why they were needed in the first place.

I enjoyed the heck out of this drama, don't get me wrong, and I smiled nearly throughout the entirety of it, and I LIVE for portrayals of romance such as this one, with the full on heart-eyes and inability to contain the love. But I also feel like this *could* have been the perfect drama if you made it 12 episodes and cut off giant chunks of gang-member nonsense and idiocy and focused instead on just a few of the plotline and saw them through...
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Radiant Office
0 people found this review helpful
by Vick
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 4.5
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
its not that romantic because it doesn't have that much needed mushy, gooie sickeningly sweet stuff I'm used to when i think ROMANCE. It however it did great making me feel what it would be like if i was actually working in a office. I thought you only needed to be fully employed then nothing can hurt or touch you but this drama showed me how wrong i was, even if your read more lucky enough to land a job there is no safety and you will always be at the mercy of someone else. Its a very funny yet deeply meaningful drama!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
2 Moons The Series
5 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
If you like SOTUS, you will bound to love this as well, this drama spans the love between 3 pairs of boys in a different kind of BL theme. Firstly, The layout of the drama is almost the same as SOTUS, where pink milk is involved, also a junior liking his senior, and the misunderstanding between a junior and senior turns from hate to a different kind of love. Also both SOTUS read more and 2 Moons have a similar faculty "Engineering".

Story: 9.5/10
Acting/Cast: 9.0/10
Music: 9.0/10
Overall: 9.0/10

Based on the first 2 episodes
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Tenno no Ryoriban
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Amazing how well received this dorama was, both in Japan and in the rest of the world (for people who watch doramas). In my case, unfortunately, it was a case of "everybody loves it except me". To be honest, I wasn't that interested in it, but I decided to watch it because of the wonderful reviews, and of all the awards it took that year. And I also love historical fiction, especially read more Japanese historical fiction, so why not.

*Story: it is basically about Akiyama Tokuzo, a short-tempered boy, who after many years, becomes the Emperor's cook. He married young, but he immediately took off to Tokyo to learn how to cook, leaving his wife. Of course his parents + his in-laws were angry at him, and eventually, the in-laws make his daughter divorced from him, but he didn't care, he just wanted to be a cook. Then he goes to France, meets a french girl, falls in love. Years later, he gets the invitation to be the Emperor's Cook, decides to come back to Japan but his french girlfriend wants to stay in France, so he comes back alone. In short time, he meets his ex-wife again, marries her, have children, all while he cooks for the Emperor. Then comes the war, he has some difficulties and the story ends with him retiring after 50 and some years later.

Yeah, yeah, all very good. I see that the dorama has a lot of heart, which I absolutely love. There is a lot of friendship (Akiyama with his older brother, RIP; Akiyama and Shintaro, Akiyama and his former rival Yamagami, Akiyama and his former lover, Akiyama and his mentor...), and that is precisaly why I couldn't like the story. This is supposed to be about fighting for your dreams (which he did) but in the process, he hurts Toshiko, his wife. He makes his family suffer, his poor parents, his poor brother... Akiyama doesn't struggle so much, since everything is served to him. His brother gets him his first job, his mentor helps him to become the Cook, he gets help from people around him... Honestly, he got all too easy.

I hated how much Toshiko suffered, only because she has to go and fall for this immature brat. And then, because fate say so, they remarry. I hate that the 3 people that root so much for him were the ones that suffered so much, because of him.

All his "adventures" to become a cook were kinda boring. I think I only liked all the scenes that involved Toshiko. Episode 11 specially made me a bit teary-eyed. The final episode was not good. I hate all the American scenes, all the bully and discrimination, and the blond bully was so bad at acting! Cringe-worthy.

*Cast: the cast is top-notch. My favorite was Kuroki Haru, hands down. She was so good, she makes a perfect docile Japanese girl. She made me teary-eyed many times. Her life was so unfair :( Usami-san was also good, this kind of acting I like best (quiet, kind) and there is also the doctor from JIN who is so good at being nice and quiet too. Kiritani Kenta will always be excellent for me, he plays a laid-back guy here, happy and a bit silly (he is so good at this kind of roles). And of course, Suzuki Ryohei, the sick older brother. Poor Shutaro! It was so sad to see him thinner and thinner in every episode. If that isn't commitment from the actor, I don't know what it is.

Regarding Sato Takeru... all those reviews praising him, but also, most of those reviews say "I am a big fan of him". Well, I am not, and I can see this more objectively. To me, he was the worst in the cast. Not that he was BAD, but he wasn't good. He can cry, I give you that. But I hated how he changed his voice... why make it deeper? It felt unnatural. Because he was a short-tempered guy, the actor overacted in most of his actions, it was like watching an anime. I love overacting in comedies but it was unnecessary in this dorama, which was so real.

There were a few others who were so bad, but who weren't important to the story. Like Araki-san, the bully at Akiyama's first job... GAWD, all that shouting. The French girl was just "too happy" and the American people were so bad it is not worth mentioning again.

*Music: the OST was nice but the ED was MEH. On the other hand, the OP was so cute! I loved the little drawings (so Japanese, but in France!) and the song was well-suited. Also, the cinematography was really nice, beautiful colors and the settings were clean, clear and fresh. I almost wanted to live there.

Maybe if Akiyama were more sympathetic I would have loved this more, because the cinematography, the clothes, the period time, the food, the settings, (most of) the actors, were all excellent.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Gokusen
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Gokusen is one of my favorite manga. I mean, literally. It is right up there, in the top 5. I have re-read it several times, especially the last volume. It is funny, romantic, silly, entertaining... When I finished it, I was glad that I had at least the anime and the dorama.

If the manga is a 10/10, the anime is 7/10. If the anime was not good enough, the dorama is read more even less.

What is good:

The actors. Nakama Yukie looks exactly as Yankumi, and when she needs to appear sweet, she does, but when she has to fight, she looks like a bad-ass. The actors have a lot of chemistry: among the students, between Yankumi and her students, between Yankumi and Shin... The best moments of the dorama were all the scenes where the guys were together. And some of them look so young! Oguri Shun, Matsumoto Jun.. even an unknown Matsuyama Kenichi (who barely opens his mouth).

What was bad:

It is like the scripwriter took only the characters from the manga and nothing else. Everything was different. It seems like a crime to change such a wonderful manga. What was changed:

- Fujiyama-sensei: she lacks personality in the dorama; she is a beauty and nothing else. And she is not even a friend to Yankumi; her closer friend is an invented nurse.
- Shinohara-sensei: in the dorama, he is a detective who is not even close to Yankumi. He is always right in the middle of every fight, festival, party, etc. It was like he was working for the school or something.
- The Ooedo clan: they were a merely comic background. And the Kumicho was just a therapist for Yankumi, always there to listen to his Granddaughter issues and to have sympathy for her problems. Kyo-san is non existent, and Tetsu is "in love" with Yankumi (WTH!).
- Yankumi wants to be a teacher and nothing else. She does not want to be the Kumicho and her Grandpa supports her decision (as if Yankumi would refuse her role!).
-Every student's story: Kuma and his dad; Uchi and his mom; Shin and "his sister"... everything was made up. Honestly, I did not care about Kuma and Uchi, but that special episode, where Shin tells Yankumi that he wouldn't go to college and instead, was going to South Africa! That was such a big crime I almost burst in tears. Since when Shin cares to be a missionary?! Shin, who only wanted to study law to be the lawyer of the Ooedo clan and be beside Yankumi forever.
- The fact that she was a Yakuza is barely important. It is only relevant for her language, nothing else.
- Yankumi: this is not the actress' fault, it was the script. She acted silly most of the times. People who have read the manga know she is somewhat childish and silly, but not all the times. She was also a bad-ass, temperamental. And dorama-Yankumi likes to give looong speeches, which were kind of MEH.

Although I have to admit I almost squeal like the Shinkumi fan I am when Shin reveals he is also a rival in the love for Yankumi =D

Ending song: "Feel the breeze" by V6. Catchy song that fits the dorama perfectly.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Soredemo, Ikite Yuku
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Waaaa, another wonderful human drama... I knew it, I knew it was going to be excellent. Another kind of J-doramas I love, because it was simple: simple clothes, simple but stunning locations, nothing snobish and all too real. I mean, look at Eita and Hikari! He is not even shaved; she has no make-up. They both have black hair (no dyed hair here). And although there are cries every episode (it was read more impossible not to cry -for the characters I mean, I did not cry once) there are no shouts nor overacting (though I like overacting in J-doramas, if they are comedies of course).

*Story: 10/10*
I was hooked from the very first episode. It is very human: it is about family, revenge, regrets, resentment, forgiving... Both families are still living in the past, even if the murder happened 15 years ago, but no one (except for the younger brother of Hiroki, played by Takana Kei, who looked a bit like Osamu Mukai sometimes) has moved forward. Fukami family is still sad and angry; and the Misaki/Toyama family is still with lots of regret and remorse and sadness. I love how Hiroki gets to know Futaba and slowly starts to realize that it is not the family's fault, at least not entirely. I know that it is part of the Japan society, to blame the whole family of the murderer (or criminal) and the family to become a pariah, but it was so sad! I mean, they suffered as well; they also lost a son.

And about the murderer, poor guy. He was sick. It was hard not to feel sorry for him. Total psychopath, but how it was represented you can tell he was mentally sick.

Although if we have to summarize, not a lot happens, it is never a dragging dorama.

*Acting/Cast: 10/10*
I mean, if it wasn't for the cast, I may have not watched this. I love Eita. I love Hikari. Mothers and father were also good, so pitiful... not to mention Kazama Shunsuke. I know him, of course, being a Johnny and bestie of Aiba, but I never once saw him as a Johnny; only as a pitiful murderer. Tears were abundant and all of them so good. Honestly, I wanted to comfort Hikari most of the times; she is just so vulnerable! I wanted her to be happy with Hiroki.

*Music: 10/10*
OMG, the music was so good! The OP and ED song was the same but full of feelings. And the OST is already in my playlist... sad and beautiful. I love it. I would give a 11/10 if I could.

Rewatch value: 8/10
Man, I am so disappointed with the ending. Otherwise this would have been a 10/10 for me :(
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Spring Day of My Life
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
A human melodrama about a woman receiving a heart transplant, and a man who loved his deceased wife very much. Pity he missed that something else in the drama!
Part of the blame is also on her account, Choi Soo Young popularized the drama mongoloid, she did not act well and that blah blah blah, did not convince me. On the other hand the heartthrob Kam Woo Sung gave a show apart, read more I liked the acting and the choice as protagonist.
Negative point but also does not go to great fanfare is the story to be similar to "Angel Eyes", but very interesting. Finally, the end that was neither good nor bad was a morbid ending to a morbid drama segmented into small cast and script shortcomings.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Flower Boy Next Door
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
7 days ago
7 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
A story of a well-written love triangle, centered around an introverted girl.
"Flower Boy Next Door" is one of those dramas that are not good but also not bad at all, it can be said that is balanced, after all he adds, there is much to learn to watch it.
Fun and attractive "Flower Boy Next Door" has its highlight in overcoming the protagonist, the cast helped a lot giving a perfect read more match for the drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
W
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
This is the series which made me love Lee Jong Suk so much. His acting was really good. The series has a good story line. Its different from any typical Kdrama. You could feel and see the strong screen chemistry of the two main characters. Over all its a korean drama that's worth watching and easy to love.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Never really had the urge to watch this drama in the beginning. But curiosity led me to watching it from beginning to end. And would rewatch it again soon. Lee Sung Kyung proved she can act and do it well. The interaction between he characters were good which made the series a well loved kdrama of its time.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Strong Woman Do Bong Soon
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
Good cast with strong chemistry between Park Bo Young and PArk Hyung Shik. Storyline is pretty good. A series that leaves a smile on your face.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Liar and His Lover
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
Its a light and refreshing Kdrama but it's not so much of a rewatch value. There is little to no chemistry between Joy and Lee Hyun-Woo. If more experienced actors were casted, I think the whole series would have given much more of an impact. The songs however are really catchy and nice.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ode to Joy
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 2.5
  • Story 2.5
  • Acting/Cast 2.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I have started this drama last year and get bored, I ended up dropping the drama, i decided to give an other chance but no, None of the female leads were promising, each are more boring than the other one, Don't watch with for Wang Kai, you won't see him much in the drama. I feel like I was watching some sort of psychological drama.

This is a bit of Sex and read more the city w/o mature- sex content a bit of Friends the two American dramas I most dislike. If you do not like those two you won't like this, but if you like them you'll possibly enjoy.

Female leads are so loud first.

An-Di is the ice cube of all the girls living in the apartment
Ju Er is after hunting a rich man
Ying Ying is the most innocent of all

for me this was too boring, could not pass ep 7

One of the most over rated Chinese Dramas ever.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Heirs
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 4.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 3.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This show would have been a 8 out of 10 had it not for been the terrible casting choice for the female lead, Jiang Xin as Tang Ning.

Jiang Xin's portrayal of her character did not fit Tang Ning's background at all. Throughout the entire show, she seems to be capable of only one single expression - a dazed, teary-eyed look (Those who have watched it would instantly know what I am read more referring to). Rather than being the strong, Harvard-educated lawyer that Tang Ning should be, Jiang Xin makes Tang Ning a meek and dumb woman who at times tries to be "cute" but ends up being seriously annoying. Previously, I never believed that a single actor/actress can so substantially lower the enjoyability of an entire show, but Jiang Xin proved me very wrong.

If you can look past Jiang Xin's miserable failure, you will find the show quite enjoyable. The majority of other actors do a very good job portraying their characters, such as the actor and actress who played Dai Po and Tang Jing respectively. The plot was quite engaging throughout the show, though the emphasis on hereditary cases seem a bit forced. Music was enjoyable but not outstanding.

Overall, I don't believe it is worth a watch. At around episode twenty I was quite ready give up. The prevailing opinion from the youtube comments at that point all were along the lines of "Jiang Xin makes the show unbearable to watch."
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sotus: The Series
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
There's magic in this story and I can attest to that when I watched the whole episodes with no skipping the third time. Even though it's a coming-of-age drama among university students, there's magical element that I couldn't figure out until I re-watched the whole episodes.

The vulnerability yet honest portrayal of the leading characters is what makes me hooked to the series. They're like velcro straps that you wish to get read more out from the system but would require certain level of force to detach from the characters and their budding love story.

Honestly, I didn't find this appealing during the first time that I watched this. I felt like it's another first-time romantic story among 2 male lead characters who wished not to label themselves as gay but just ended up falling in love. I skipped most parts and episodes until the episode where Arthit and Kong's kissing scene in the rooftop. There is where I felt that they have this palpable chemistry but kinda forgettable. But that proved to be wrong when I binge-watched it again from evening to early morning, sacrificing the plan to sleep in on a weekend. It's during this binge-watching that I felt certain giddiness, the similar reaction I have experienced watching Isak and Even in Skam and Max and Tul in Bad Romance.

I like the delivery of the lead actors especially Arthit's acting. Their moments were done in slow-paced dramatic motion that, at times, I felt the scenes were dragging. But the cutesy parts especially when Arthit smiles were magical that just watching those scenes can compensate the less pragmatic storyline of the series.

I can't really find lots of kissing scenes in this series, typical of Asian BL series but those only two kissing scenes are, I think, enough to feel the magic of the love story of male characters who want to express their love and just be "fuck it, I don't care! I have to do this 'coz it feels so right!"

Overall, SOTUS the series is a BL Drama that is full of moments of friendship and overcoming obstacles in the SOTUS system and a certain kind of romance that may not anymore be that special to some but still worthy to relive the first-love moments.

I am not Thai but I commend the Thai entertainment industry for bringing these characters to the Asian audiences.

Also, I am done with BL stories that are all about tragedy and mostly negative storyline. Although I like some arguments in plots from time to time, I want to see another dimension in the portrayal of gay love with positive notes.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No