Sort by:
Introverted Boss
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
They look cute together ^_^ more kdrama's of them plss !! Park Hye Soo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kaseifu no Mita
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 1.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 1.0
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
It may be the difference of culture, but I found this drama just a bizarre and strange show, which tries to justify the problems of a dysfunctional family.

If it was just explaining why each was like that, that's fine. But the way the family treats Mita ... didn't give it to me. I was going to leave, but I jumped for the last episode just to know how it would end. read more It was one of the worst dramas I've ever seen.

The performances were medium, but the plot, which could be well developed, was run in a freak way.

SPOILER
The scene in which the boy punches her several times, and then, after a round of each one bursts out her sorrows, and the night ending as a happy family ... Where NOBODY apologized to her, and continued to treat She as a servant while she still had her mouth bleeding from the teenager's punches ... was the worst part of the drama. That made me jump to the end.
END OF SPOILER.

Would re-watch: Oh Hell NOOO!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Beautiful Mind
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
Story:
Before I started, I thought it would be more of a medical cliché. To apprehend to have the elements to be, it was not. The plot surprised me a lot, positively. The sensitivity used to build the plot was one of the best I've ever seen. Because of that, so far, it deserves the high scores.

As a fan, I would love for them to do only one special chapter in read more the end, showing them in the future ... just to calm my heart. I would not like a second season because I think it would spoil. There is no need or space for more plots as material for a second season .. But a special episode would already be more than enough.

Acting/cast:
At first, the female lead was very annoying. I already had a bit of prejudice with her acting since Cinderella and the four knights ... I thought of her as a very weak actress, but in the course of developing this drama, her "fluffy" feature fit in nicely into what her role asked.
The male lead gave a show. His acting was simply marvelous.

Music:
A small note for the simple fact that it was not memorable.You do not have an OST that leaves memories. You'll remember the drama very well, but not the songs.

Rewatch Value: It is certainly a drama that is worth reassisting.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
School 2013
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
I wanted to try this drama because I've loved everything else Lee Jong Suk has done, but I have to admit I was a little hesitant when I read other reviews saying that it had no romance (usually my favourite thing). But in the end, it didn't matter - the central friendship is as compelling as any romance, and more moving than many I've seen. Beyond that, each side story is almost read more as heart-rending.

What I love about this drama is that the characters all face realistic, emotionally complex problems, to which there are no easy solutions. They tackle those problems with bravery and persistence, but they also sometimes withdraw in fear and selfishness. That just makes you love them all the more. Each one is so relatable and ultimately, loveable - even those you feel indifferent towards at first. There are no quick fixes, no sweeping drama cliches. You feel like the world these characters live in is not so different from our own. Apart from the writing and acting, the drama is visually quite flat - there's nothing special about the direction or cinematography. The music is good but also not outstanding. But that just serves to underscore how careful and considered the writing and performance is. The fact that the drama is so gripping even when the visuals are so basic really says something and makes this a standout for me. And yes, Lee Jong Suk is adorable in it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hana Yori Dango
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
Amazing. I am surprised. Not because of the dorama itself, but because it is so overrated. After reading in so many forums that this dorama is the best, that it is recommended for everyone (especially for people new on the dorama world), that it has a Chinese version; a Thai version; a Korean version; a American version... WOW

This is the second dorama I watched years ago -mind you, the second first read more Episode. After my first experience with Japanese dramas, I was excited to watch more, and after a lot of research, I decided for HYD. I barely finished Ep. 1... I disliked Doumyouji tremendously, although I did like Makino. And I have to admit, I thought the guys were very plain (they were supposed to be the most handsome of the school). So I drop it.

Then, I became a fan of Arashi. This dorama was mentioned once in a while. I started to like MatsuJun. I liked Oguri Shun a little bit. I read the manga then, and WOW, it became the shoujo manga I hate the most. But anyway, i just had to watch this, so here I am.

*This was good:

- The actresses: from Makino to Tsubaki. Makino (Inoue Mao) is a tough girl, she barely cries and she can stand up for justice. She is cute without being too cute; she is strong, she can kick ass whenever it is needed. It is not wonder why Doumyouji loves her.

- The setting: no wonder it is one of the most expensive doramas in Japan. Doumyouji’s mansion O_O, the mother’s office, the school… everything is so vast, clean and bright! But not only the buildings and rooms are beautiful; the streets are as well. It was Christmas’ time I guess, because all the lights in the street are amazing, plus the trees and the sidewalks all covered with yellowish leaves… Japan is so beautiful.

- The OST: I liked “Planetarium” by Ai Otsuka. It suited all the occasions so well. And although I am not really a fan of Arashi’s song, the opening “Wish” was fun and young-ish, and it went excellent with the presentation. It has an anime style that goes well with the dorama.

- Soujiro and Akira: I’ve read many times “Oh Doumyouji”… “Oh Hanazawa Rui”. Well, in my case was “Oh Soujiro and Akira”. Not because they are handsome (although Matsuda Shota is attractive in a very period Japanese style) but because they were so nice and easy going. In my mind, they were like Takenaga and Ranmaru (from YNSH), because the first one was more serious and the heir of a house of tea, and the second one because he liked to hang out with older, married women. They provided comic situations, they were just two sidekicks but very likable… from episode 3. Very good friends to Doumyouji (no idea why) and they helped him and Makino several times.

- Doumyouji’s love. I guess I am like all women, because I thought that Doumyouji was very romantic when he wanted to be. The times when he confessed his love to Makino, but more than anything, the times he proclaimed that of course Makino was the best of women because he chose her. And in front of many people, nonetheless! And because I am a big fan of bickers, I love every time he and Makino had their little discussions. Also, the hugs, because it is rare in a Jdorama to have REAL hugs.

- The symbol of the apple. I thought it was sweet, that it symbolized friendship. I love Japan, and find these little meaningful things is a delight.

*Kind of funny:

- The clothing. It was so bad (the shoes, the jackets... again the shoes). I guess that in Japan, while more rich, more tacky, and it is obvious here. It was so bad I liked it. I think it is part of Japan's charm...their over-the-top fashion sense. Although some guys -well, all except Doumyouji- needed a good haircut. I liked Doumyouji curly black hair; I think MatsuJun looks nice with this kind of style.

- Makino's English accent. In the last episode, Makino is a contestant of Teen Of Japan. There is a challenge where the girls have to give a speech in English. She was very cute; I could understand at least 30% of what she said :D

- When she gets trained by the F4 was also very fun. Specially because it reminded me again of YNSH.

*And the "Huh? People like this?"

- Errr.. Doumyouji. While it is true that from Episode 3 he gets more charming, I will never forget his behavior in the first episodes. I still think he is a punk who likes to punch people for no reason. But worst of all, he sent boys to gang-rape Makino. That is unforgivable! That is the lowest of the low. As my dear Mr Darcy would say: “My good opinion once lost is lost forever.” He is a sadist, not only likes to punch everyone, but he is also a bully to girls (he likes to shove them). Not the nice necklace, nor the sweet words, can make me forget and forgive that.

- Hanazawa Rui. This has to be the worst hairstyle of Oguri Shun. That color and cut were awful. He is a good looking guy, but he doesn't look like it in this dorama. I don't understand how girls can say he is a "knight" who saved Makino over and over again. While it is true that he saved her, he is far from being a knight. Or maybe I have Hanazawa Rui-manga impregnated in my mind. The first time he saved her, he told her "May be I shouldn’t have. What is the big deal? It’s only your virginity, right?". What a "knight", huh. They made him more appealing in the dorama, but I never warmed towards him. I never felt the "love triangle" from his side. He liked Makino, but that's it. He was not "in love" with her. (on the other side, it was a positive thing, cuz I hate love triangles)

- The bullying is terrible. The "Red Card" is the silliest of all, the students are all so fake, and the teachers... what teachers? Seems like this school was all students and no staff.

- Finally, to be honest, the plot is not one of its kind. Rich, spoiled boy falls in love with the poor, pariah girl. Love triangle. Bitch mother-in-law. First kiss after one bumps into the other. Both MC locked inside an elevator. Kidnapping. Dangerous situations for the girl. It was nothing new; it was almost like reading any YA book that are so popular nowadays.

To end my review, I would say that I do not regret watching this. It is, of course, A MUST. It has it funny and romantic situations, but also, a lot of silly ones. The good silly and the bad silly. I am not sure I will watch Season 2... I guess I will eventually, but after the last episode, I did not have the urge to continue.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love Generation
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I admit it, I was not very attracted to the story the first 5 minutes, mainly because it is an oldie and you can tell that it is. The quality is poor, I downloaded one that is so LQ that the faces are mostly pixelated. This is the first time I watch a real old dorama. Hell, I was in Middle School when this was released. I was a BSB fan, and read more not interested in Japan at all (wow, I was missing so much!). The thing is, Internet was a rare phenomenon, and I did not have access to it like I do now.

So once the shock of watching such a LQ dorama passed, I was hooked with the story. It has a Mexican soap opera feeling; the angles of the camera, the old soundtrack, the clothes... Even that apple in the middle of anything was so soap-opera-ish. I did not understand what it meant, although after half of the episodes, I kind of understood (the banner says "True love never runs smooth"; and it is obvious Teppei's and Riko's is True Love).

The story is a slice of life, a romantic one with several misunderstandings. Because the dorama has 11 episodes only, the misunderstandings don't last long (thankfully), but they happen one after the other.

All I can say is that the script was so well done I was immediately hooked, and it did not matter that I did not like most of the characters. Out of 5, I liked 2. I disliked the others intensely.

Who I liked?

- Riko, played by Matsu Takako. She can act, that is a big plus. Besides, I liked her personality. I like that she was so different from Sanae, that she was so easy-going and mostly annoying, but at least, very honest. Every time she cried, I was tearful. Poor girl, she suffered so much, but she never gave up! I admired her, because if I was her, I would have given up since episode 3.

- Eriko: Her best friend, interpreted by Fujiwara Noriko. She was a cheerful girl who was always there to support Riko-chan.

Before I start with the "who I did not like", I want to say that Kimura looked his best here. Not only he is younger (duh), but once he cuts his hair (or it is cut by someone else hehe) he looks really good. Nice haircut, simple but very sexy.

So...

Who I did not like?

- Teppei: while it may be true that KimuTaku looks his best here, it is also not his best role. Sure, Teppei is a "kakkoi" guy, he is a hard-worker, a nice friend and co-worker (what guy would be so nice to not have yelled at the girl who cut his glorious hair?). He also has his moments where the female audience would go "awwww" (such as when he hugs Riko from behind.. or when he runs to her hometown once he hears she is having an omiai). I had Shingo in mind during these scenes. There was a corner in SMAPxSMAP where the guys had to decide between A or B, which action is best liked by women? And according to Shingo, he had Kimura's characters in mind to decide, because Kimura's character are like, the epitome of Hero in a Romance. Well, not really. Teppei is not only a lecher, but an awful boyfriend. He makes Riko suffer constantly; he plays two sides. The only option Riko had was to trust him, and how could she? Even I had my doubts whether he really loved her or not. And once he hurt her, and she ran away, he went after her to do, what? To stay in front of her and be quiet? Say something, damn it!

Another thing I hated about him, but I guess it is all Kimura's, is that bad habit he has to smoke every damn time. In the office. Inside the taxi. At the bar. In his department. I hate smoking, and I hate that Kimura has, in that time already, smoker mouth (gray lips, stained teeth). Not appealing at all.

- Soichiro: what can I say, the Katagiri brothers are the worst. After he commits the worst crime a man can do to his fiancee, he has the nerve to ask for forgiveness. What an ass.

- Sanae: although she is nice and does not have ill intentions towards Riko, I could not stand her. The main reason is that I hate her type: perfect ex-girlfriend, perfect housewife, soft-spoken, always there with Teppei even when they have broken years ago. So fragile she needed Teppei (Te-chan **sneer**) always there for her (and the stupid guy who had to comfort her even when his Girlfriend was there suffering). Besides, first she "loves" Soichiro; then turns out, she has always loved Teppei, and at the end, she wants to try things over with Soichiro. Make up your mind, woman!

To me, the story was somewhat similar to Inuyasha (I love that manga/anime). Teppei is like Inuyasha (although Inuyasha was more sensible, and he truly appreciated Kagome), even their personalities were alike: serious, rescuing whoever needed him. Riko is like Kagome, suffering because her love one cannot forget his first love. And although she suffers and cries because of him, she cannot go away. Better to suffer than not being with him. I cannot say Sanae is like Kikyo because she is not... at all.

There is not a single boring moment on these 11 episodes; true, there were times where I was biting my nails because of certain misunderstandings (although I was always rooting for Riko, and if she misunderstood something, it was for a good reason). I would recommend it to people who likes or liked to watch Latin soap operas.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nobunaga Concerto
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Well, that was a disappointment. This dorama had everything to be a success, but it failed. I was so excited to watch it... Not that it doesn't have good things. But it is like all good things have a counteract.


- Good cast: many good actors (Yamada Takayuki, Osamu Mukai, Shibasaki Kou), many popular actors (Fujiki Naohito, Mizuhara Kiko, Maeda Atsuko), good guest actors (Namase Katsuhisa, Nishida Toshiyuki) BUT, to me, only read more 3 were exceptionally good. They were Kaho, Osamu Mukai and Takahashi Issei. I may have cried a little bit with Kaho and Issei, their roles were touching and they were so good, with such a natural acting. I can't say the same for Oguri Shun as Saburo... he can't play a goofy guy without seem pathetic. It was like he was trying too hard. There was no chemistry between him and his wife; it was like they were more siblings like a married couple. Yamada Takayuki was too creepy (creepy smile, creepy role and creepy stalking). There were a lot of shouting; "donno!" this, "donno!" that; the guy who played Mori was laughably bad.

- Beautiful outfits, with a nice fabric and catching colors. BUT, they were hardly historical costumes. They were too modern. WTH with Nobunaga and his outfits that resembled pajamas? If I am correct, the dorama takes a span of at least 6-7 years (at the beginning Nobunaga's sister gets married and at the end, she has 3 daughters). Saburo goes to the Warring States period with a pair of grey socks. And by the end of the dorama, he still has the same pair? Because in no way he kept at least half a dozen of the same socks in his bag. He goes with a white hoodie, and in the 2nd episode he has ANOTHER white hoodie. I get that he has to have some outfits that make him HIM, a person from another time, but to have his clothes half in one fabric and half in another was too much...

- It has it touching moments, like the one with Oyuki and Ichi and her husband, BUT there were many corny scenes as well. I hate when the dorama shows the audience how nice and kind a person is, trying to sell us his/her good image just to kill that character later. Not that I liked the guy, he was so pathetic. I couldn't even watch his face, and every time he shouted "Donno!!", my, how annoying. His son was another pathetic character.

- I like time travel stories, BUT, it was never explained WHY or HOW Saburo traveled in time. And what about the others? And what happens in the present day? I guess I am comparing it to JIN, where all was well explained.

- I liked that Saburo, with his fresh personality, made his retainers to love him, BUT it was also kind of ridiculous and far from believable how he escaped several dangerous situations, how no one wondered about his clothes or weird behavior.

- Good OST, there was one sweet, quiet one. I liked the opening sequence + the opening song (it was like adventurous, rockish) and the ending song is one of Mr Children, whom I know now from Orange Days. It was a good song, BUT there was one soundtrack that didn't suit the story at all and it was used several times when it wasn't supposed to be used. Like, it was a serious scene but the OST was like a fun one.

- I did not like the end. Besides, from being an annoyed Nobunaga's loyal retainer ("You are not the real Nobunaga, go away please") he suddenly decides that "please, stay with us donno". Huh? Make up your mind Tsune-chan. I hate that I won't see a likable character anymore in the movie, and that a hateful one will still be there with that creepy smile.

I don't know, many things would have been OK if this was a comedy, but it wasn't. And it wasn't a JIN either.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hana Yori Dango 2
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 1.0
  • Story 1.0
  • Acting/Cast 1.0
  • Music 2.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Just like the first season ... the show of abusive relationships continues. Honestly, this drama has long been out of line with reasonable sense.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Boys Over Flowers
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 2.0
  • Story 2.0
  • Acting/Cast 2.0
  • Music 2.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Like Jo-hannah said in reviwe below: this drama is a big WTF!

I watched cause saw many people saying "It's perfect! Was my first drama...! Just amazin! OMG, the F4".

So.. when I finished it, I could just think...OMG, how could this exist and have so many fans that loves it.

All the drama is just physical / mental / moral abuse.
In addition to the extreme romanticization of violence, and has read more a female leader who had everything to be strong, but they put a character to act always stupid and submissive.

This drama I do not indicate to watch nor out of curiosity.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
7 First Kisses
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 3.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
This mini drama has an interesting premise, a beautiful cast .. but overall it's pretty bland.

Due to his development, the ending disappoints. Considering that his development should have been closed at the end, this did not happen, and so disappoints.

It is worth watching for the curiosity of seeing all those beautiful and lonely men. You do not have to watch it again.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Gay OK Bangkok 2
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
If any of you read my last review on season 1 you'll see that I could not say enough good things about it, with the exception of the first season being too short. This is not the case with the second season, as it manages to outdo the first!

STORY: 10/10
The main cast returns from the first season with a few new wonderful additions. The new supporting cast members help reinforce read more and close open-ended story-lines from the last season and helps launch this season into a whole new direction. Season 2 continues true to form, dealing with similar issues as season one, but also tackling new issues such as family, mixing business with pleasure, monogamy, and issues that same-sex couples have to deal with when starting lives together. This season is longer than the last, having 7 episodes with each one clocking in at almost 49 minutes. The writers of this show make use of the time given to again beautifully develop each character with intelligent writing, relatable scenarios, and thought-provoking dialogue.

ACTING: 10/10
Holly smokes! Some of the most realistic and emotional acting in any BL drama I have ever watched. Arm's character is yet again a standout as this seasons focuses on fleshing out his character and shows him as more than just a one-nightstand type of guy. Ten (who plays Arm) really gave his character a new profound depth that we saw a hint of in season one, but dives deeper into his past and insecurities. Nat's character stands out for me in this season as well, and I think he may have been my favorite character of the season. In season one, Nat's character was always very calm, patient, and understanding. this time we see Nat pushed to his emotional limits as certain events cause him to become unhinged. It was so fascinating to see that side of his character and he pulls it off well, nothing too extreme or character damaging. I also want to mention the new added actress who plays Satang's friend. She had very little to work with in terms of development and story-line but boy did she work with what she had! She blew me away and I wish there was more screen-time with her character (Here's hoping for season 3).

MUSIC: 9.5/10
The only reason this is getting a 9.5 is because I can't say I remember a lot of the music. Not to say that it was bad because it was great. But there was nothing that I would say I could point out as my favorite.

REWATCH VALUE: 10/10
I would watch this season again ten-times over. This season went above and beyond the first and I truly hope they continue with at least one more season

OVERALL: 10/10
A Masterpiece. I know most of you may think I am giving to much hype and praise for this series, but it truly deserves it, in my personal opinion. This season did a great job of fleshing out all the characters and showing how we sometimes make mistakes, but instead of regretting the past we use it to become better for the future. The ending of season 2 is again open-ended and I hope there will be a season 3. Usually the lifespan for a BL drama is 2 seasons but I hope this show will be an exception. I need at least one more season to curve my withdraws.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Oh My Venus
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
Amazin!

Story:
A plot that speaks of an important subject, in a light, positive and relaxed way. I liked the fact that they fled aspects that appear very much in k-dramas: violent/abusive attitudes. Perhaps these are common features in Korean culture, but for someone on the other side of the world, slapping faces, humiliations (in public or not), bosses / family / partners who yell, pull on the arm, push ...is not read more good to watch (for me). THEN, I find it very cool that this drama doesn't have in its plot the typical line of the poor girl / naive / half dumb + the arrogant / abusive chaebol, nor have a super restrictive family that does everything not to leave the girl with the heir, and try to marry him at all costs with another ... things like that. In my opinion, the drama already deserves a very high score for this.

Negative point: Possibly, due to the Korean beauty pattern and the pressures of the society, the person can not "feel" beautiful and well, or be healthy, being chubby. I felt the story put it can only be healthy by losing weight. Of course there are cases and cases, but thinking about the side of someone who lives healthy and feel beautiful, and yet has the "big" body ... this person can get angry watching this, due to how the story deals with the theme .


Acting/Cast:
Just great! The chemistry between the main couple, and the secondary ones. Overall, it was quite natural.

Music:
To me, is the is the smallest score.Not that the OST was bad, just not remarkable. Writing this review, I cannot automatically remember any of the drama's music and that's the point. Other dramas, when I think of them, some of the songs soon begin to play in my mind. With that, it was not so..

Rewatch Value:
Worth it. When I am stressed, needing to see something that enlightens my spirit, and retake this drama ... I don't disappoint.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This was such a nice, heartwarming dorama. I am not sure it is one of my favorites, but I honestly cannot say anything bad about it. 11 episodes just flew by.

I loved Hiramasa-san, he is the epitome of what I consider Japanese men to be. Quiet, well educated, cold-looking, awkward, hardworking, no interest in woman or having a relationship. Main interest is living a quiet, comfortable life. All of these changes read more once he makes a marriage contract with Mikuri-san. I like how their relationship evolved. We may not have seen much skinship and lovey-dovey things between them, but that was precisely the charm. Mikuri has to do all the work but with patience. A man like Hiramasa-san would be scared off otherwise, ha! I like how she came up with little things (like Tuesday's hugs) to be closer to each other. And just when you thought this Hiramasa was just too slow and wouldn't do anything to take things further, he surprises us with a kiss! (ok, I was not surprised since I was spoiled on Tumblr... and because when that kiss happened, the kiss in YOI also happened. Ha!)

I am not really a super fan of Gakki, but she had a wonderful character in this dorama. It was impossible not to cheer for her, not to root for her. It was lovely how she falls for this little guy (this is not a lie... Hoshino Gen is truly little!). I love her imagination and how the dorama shows us how her mind works! The little scenes of her imagination were always funny to watch.

The other characters were all likable. In the past, I used to be not a fan of relationship between a much older woman and a much younger man. But in this case, it wasn't possible to not root for Yuri-san and the Ikemen-guy. Yuri-san is such a beautiful woman! I couldn't believe she was 49 years old, so I had to look it up. I am surprised to say that she is 47! She looks like 40 or less, even if you can see her wrinkles, which makes her even more pretty, because she is all natural! The age gap is not that much in real life (it is 11 instead of 17 years), and Kazami was a lucky guy to have her at the end. I love her point of view regarding marriage and being single, and I teared up a little bit the time she cried.


Story: As mentioned before, I was very interested in this story because Hiramasa-san represents Japan male youth nowadays. But it is not only that, the dorama also focuses on work and being a housewife, and being a new-mother who has a husband in an affair (and prefers divorce instead of accepting said affair... as far as I know, because of what I have read, Japanese women prefer to ignore the affairs of their husbands), and there is also romantic relationship between an older woman with a younger man, and a bit about homosexuality and the pressure of a Japanese person to come back to Japan after having lived outside for so long. I mean, although this was a romantic comedy (more comedy than romantic, and to emphasize this, I have to say I laughed out loud in almost every episode), there were also many serious and contemporary issues. The main issue may be entirely Japanese (main male character is an herbivorous guy) but the other issues are worldwide. The only, let's say "twist", that wasn't too much of my liking was the one at the end with Numata-san. And that's because he is like 60 years old and the boy is like 20. Ew.


Music: Excellent OST. So fine, the OP isn't "OMG, I LOVE IT!", but it is cute and with a nice mood and fits the dorama perfectly. The soundtrack that goes along the dorama was soo good. Like Italian-like (with acchordeon), and it was almost in every laid-back scene. And of course, the ED "KOI" is so catchy! I thought I wouldn't be part of the fandom, but I was wrong! The dance is cute, Hoshino Gen certainly can sing on live, and it will always be part of the best months of 2016 for me. One, because I visited Japan, and two, because YOI was also broadcasted at the same time. So from now on, every time I listen to this song it will be a natsukasshii! feeling for me XD

I would totally rewatch this, no doubt. And would I recommend it? Heck yes! This may not -yet- be one of my favorite dorama (I can't say WHY exactly), but I can say that anyone who wants to watch a light but realistic dorama, to give this a try. There are no silly misunderstandings, no overacting, no stupid tears, so soap-opera-ish scenes... totally recommended.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I wasn't expecting much but found myself sucked in and overall enjoying the experience. I loved Choi Min Soo's character as K's father. Lee Hyun Woo did an excellent job as the lead.
Joy has potential but still needs time to develop as an actress. Lee Seo Won role was a bit pitifully written for several episodes, I was happy to see he was redeemed however in the end. . I loved read more the relationship between all Crude Play and Mush and Company,...The Shi Hyun and Seo Yeon characters...they could have had more air time together..perfect chemistry. Of course...The music made the show....The end felt a smig rushed to me but still satisfying ....I would give it 8-8.5 out of 10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
I binge-watched this dorama the whole weekend. I can't believe I've never read nor see anything about this, the cast includes Fujiki Naohito and Kiritani Kenta! Fukada Kyoko and Endo Kenichi! Ishida Yuriko and Furuta Arata! The cover looks like a fun show. And the song is catchy.

This kind of drama suits Fukada Kyoko so well. She is stunning, looks like a doll. Acts like a doll too, sometimes very wooden. read more And she loves to pout, but she does it so well! She is perfect for a simple-minded character. Recently I watched "Please love the useless me" (which was good, btw) and I said that Shunin was like Buchou, a little bit. And surprise! She has a dorama with Buchou, nonetheless.

I liked the show, otherwise I wouldn't have finished it in a couple of days. It was light, as light as a dorama about cheating husbands can be. Kiritani Kenta runs an agency that investigates extra-marital affairs. Serina comes to work for him, and in the meantime, disguises herself to be close to her husband in his office. So while she is in disguise most of the times, it was pretty much the same outfit, not all the variety that shows in the poster, which was a bit disappointing.

I hate love triangles, and even if the two guys are these 2 hotties, I couldn't like it. Besides, for the first time, I had a 2nd-lead-syndrome. Guy 1 is a jerk, does not appreciate Serina, takes her for granted, commits the biggest treason, does not deserve her love. Guy 2 has a lot more chemistry with her, is the only really likable character among punchable characters, and what is more, is not a jerk.

And Serina... my, I wanted to shake her so badly many times through the drama. All she says is "Fumi-kun, Fumi-kun". She is very in love with her husband, to the point where she looks obsessed. She is the sweetest, but also a stupid, weak, and too forgivable. She does nothing. This is supposed to be the journey of a dependable woman that becomes stronger, but if stronger means turning right... (???) Every day she is watching her husband with his boss, flirting or not, sharing a mascot charm strap, etc, etc, and she does nothing except mope. Gawd, it was infuriating.

Terrible ending. She does not change at all. Oh, and btw, her father is another big jerk! Can't recommend this to any feminist. The romance is super offensive. Taking aside that offensive fact, Serina in cover + some cases were amusing to watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No