Sort by:
Love Me if You Dare
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
So my favourite genre is action/thriller with some gooey romance thrown into the mix. That's why I decided to watch this drama. Overall, I was left satisfied but there was just something missing in the experience for me.

The plot was pretty good. There were many twists and turns that kept you on the edge of your seat for the first half of the drama. However, they recycled the same pattern of read more events several times to the point where by the end it was quite predictable. That's why it is pretty fair to say that the first half of the drama is far superior to the second half of the drama. I don't want to say too much more about the plot, I don't want to reveal anything that would ruin the experience for those thinking about watching this drama, which by the way, you should. The plot is probably the strongest aspect of the drama as other aspects were quite disappointing which shows just how strong the plot was because it could stand by itself most of the time. However, the romance that was woven into this plot was a little lacklustre. Yes, they had super cute moments but what I want most from a thriller/ romance drama is the subtle intimacies. Like, holding hands, hugs, slight touches, glances, you know, all the kyeopta stuff. They did do some of these things but it was when they were alone and a full scene was dedicated to each romantic action. To be honest, these just felt like fillers as a break from the complicated plot. Less than half way into the drama, they were officially a couple which I thought would mean there would be more subtle romance throughout the rest of the drama. Sadly, that wasn't the case and they just continued with the short scenes of romance. Still cute, just a little lacking for me.

Characters were decent. The strongest character (development wise) was definitely Bo Jinyan. First I'll say WHAT AN AMAZING ACTOR!! Damn son you rocked the slightly psychopathic detective. Anyway, in the beginning he was very introverted due to his superior intelligence compared to others. His only close friend was Fu Ziyu (my fav character) who was pretty much his assistant. In the first half of the drama, you're in awe of Bo Jinyan's intelligence and love watching him slowly open up his heart to those around him when he gets close with Jian Yao. Though unfortunately, by the second half of the drama, we see less of Bo Jinyan doing his job and more watching the events unfold and then getting a brief explanation afterwards when everything is solved. The first time this happened, I didn't mind, it was pretty cool. But that gets old pretty quickly. Don't get me wrong, I loved his character. Watching him experience his first love was super adorable and he always looked so awesome when solving crimes.

The biggest disappointment for me was Jian Yao. In the beginning, she was smart, observant, independent and strong. Everything I love in a female lead. Then half way through the drama, she becomes the typical damsel in distress. We see less and less of her which I can understand to a point, but Bo Jinyan emphasised so much in the beginning that he needed her as his assistant. But it's like that point is completely forgotten and she just sits at home waiting for her man to return from war. WHY? She was so headstrong, I loved that, but no, she just sits at home longing for her man being of absolutely no help to anyone when she contributed SO MUCH IN THE BEGINNING. Sorry got a bit angry there but comE ON. Yeah anyway she was a huge disappointment, I expect a lot from the female leads, I hate it when they just go along with anything the male lead says. BE A STRONG INDEPENDENT WOMAN.

Anyway, FU ZIYU! MY FAV! He was so cute I loved him. Seeing his reactions to Bo Jinyan finally coming out of the dark isolated corner he closed himself off into was amazing. He looked so happy and proud of his friend. I love his relationship with Jian Yao as well, you can see how much he cares for her and that's always nice to see. No romance implied, just a genuine girl and guy friendship. GUYS AND GIRLS CAN BE FRIENDS PEOPLE.

Then there's Li Xunran. The childhood friend. BUT THE BEST SECOND LEAD EVER! HE COULD SEE THAT HIS FRIEND THAT HE WAS SECRETLY IN LOVE WITH WAS HAPPY WITH HER NEW MAN AND HE TOOK A STEP BACK AND LET HER CHASE THAT HAPPINESS! WHAT A GREAT GUY! Then suddenly he disappears for several episodes and you just sit and think for a second and you're like "Wait, where is he? What happened to him?". That's the same for Chen Mo, Bo Jinyan's pet tortoise. You'll see what I mean when you watch the drama. So random.
I won't mention the american actors since they were mainly to keep the plot moving forward, there wasn't really any character development for them. Though for an Asian drama which usually have terrible English actors, they weren't half bad.

Now for the villains. Not bad. We follow a chap called Xie Han who is you're typical psychopath. Eccentric, whispers when he talks, occasionally smashes things or yells to make you jump. Again, I don't want to reveal too much of the plot but basically whoever you think the main villain pulling all the strings is, it's not them lol. I will say though, I wish they spent more time with the main villain. When you watch the drama, you'll understand what I mean about this.

Wow ok this is a really long review, kudos to you if you're still reading lol, I'll wrap it up now.

OST. Nothing special. There was some cool rock music that played in the background whenever a new plot point was discovered. But that's all that was memorable for me.

Would I watch this drama again? Probably not. I did enjoy watching it and I would recommend it but unfortunately there was no consistency to the intrigue factor for the entirety of the drama to tempt me to watch it again. There were some great moments, but they were spread pretty thin in 24 episodes. Not enough butter for the toast sadly.

Overall, a good drama and a good watch. If you're like me and love thriller/action dramas then you should definitely watch this.

That's all for now, enjoy the show, bye lol.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Chinese Paladin 5
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Um drama muito bom. A atuação do segundo casal definitivamente salvou este drama. Joe Cheng desempenhou um papel excelente como Long You, sério, enigmático e respeitoso, dava para sentir na tela os seus sentimentos por Xiao Man. Quanto a Xiao Cai Qi ( Xiao Man) também foi brilhante. Carismática, alegre e apaixonada fez uma ótima atuação. Um par perfeito. Espero que aja uma continuação quanto a história deste secundo casal.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Hapimari: Happy Marriage!?
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
For this was a OK drama and story, nothing else, its the basics rich and poor love story with a marriage contract in the mix with your usual jealousy, at some point its was already predictable but you stay rooting for the couple, nothing more nothing less just a bit boring.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Descendants of the Sun
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
The story is unique, and I can see why it is so popular internationally, besides the popularity of the two main casts. What surprised me, was the supporting casts Ji Won and Jin Goo. I was more touched by their love story than the main casts, it's just my opinion dont hate on me lol
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Uncontrollably Fond
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
Suzy's acting is okay but Woo Bin's amazing!

It's not the best melodrama, I must say, but it's not that bad either.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
OH MY GOSH! This drama is the best teen/school drama that I have ever watched, for now of course. There wasn't a dull episode because each episode is a bomb. I highly recommend this drama! Watch it, I swear it's worth it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Stay With Me
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
I dropped this drama, for the mean time, after watching it until episode 20. For the first 15 episodes, I was hooked by how the story was going, the love and hate relationship between Yi Du and Wei Wei and the unrequited love of Huo Xiao. But soon after, I only felt like the need to finish it since I started it. I have this habit of finishing the show just because read more I started it, but in this drama, I just can't continue it anymore.

REASONS:
1. The love and hate relationship of the main casts, it's too much.
2. The slow paced storyline
3. Too many happenings that just make my head hurt.
4. SECOND LEAD SYNDROME, I JUST CAN'T ANYMORE WITH THIS BECAUSE HUOXIAO IS JUST TOO KIND AND HE DOESN'T DESERVE TO BE TREATED LIKE THAT.

Anyway. I still like Joe Chen.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Fated to Love You
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 4.5
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
I already watched this years ago and as far as I can remember, I liked it. But I think the original version (Taiwan) is still better. Overall, it is still worth the try.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
So here's the thing, the story is typical and the ending is predictable. But there is something in this drama that'll make you watch and crave for more. The 40 mins per episode is kind of short compared to other dramas but it would make you crave for more and that's a good thing, in my opinion.

The actors are great. I like how the story is very light, perfect when you read more just want to chill after a long day from school or work. There's also this tingly sensation caused by the protagonists that would make you want to go into a relationship as soon as possible.

Overall, it's a good drama to watch. Try it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Second to Last Love
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This seems like a kind of hybrid between rom-com and family drama. It's refreshing that the main romance/story line is about a couple in their forties, which is a nice break from all the 20-something and 30-something romance dramas. Kim Hee Ae plays Kang Min Joo, a successful television producer, and Ji Jin Hee plays Ko Sang Shik, a safety minded civil servant. Sparks fly when the two of them clash. The read more extended cast in this drama is delightful and really flesh it out. Unfortunately, the pacing is tedious. I really did like the story, but there were far too many 'if you people would just take five minutes to /talk/ to each other' frustrating moments. It took me almost a full year to watch the show, because the pacing was just so off. Which is really unfortunate, because like I said, the cast was superb.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Tunnel
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
One word . Perfection!! Never had watched a serie that I thought I Just love all of it. Its wonderful. The first episode was boring to me but i kept watching and Thank God i did ! from the second episode i fell in love with the cast and the story it surprised me many times
I love all the characters the good Guys and the bad guys , the actors all read more of them have lots of charisma ! Even tho they irritated me here and there it felt very human , and they are very good looking !! Hahahah Man I Just loved all of it . I wish it would never end . Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Signal
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 3.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I normaly do not write reviews but I had to now. I Just finished the serie and I am angry I watched till the end for this.
I personally think of what is the point of having an transmission of past to the future If you still going to mess up everything and people die the same. What is the point !!!.
I like it because the corruption and injustice is realistic read more , but come on give me Some hope ! !!!
If the world we live in is like this give me at least Just a little hope. I am glad they caught one of the bad guys at the end, but what I was hoping for the whole show is that Detective Lee would finally live His love with Cha . Man this woman been waiting for freakin 15 years, is not 5 nor 10 but 15 years ! What hurt me the most was that Park's brother still died ! What is the point of the radio !
If the show wants to show what happens in real life that is good but dont put the radio transmissions in it because it is distracting and you hope that someone Will be saved , there was little saving and alot of mess up .
I could had taken everything If at least in the end scène Park , Cha and Lee would actually see Each other but noooooooo. I was waiting for that the whole serie but noooo.
Again I was frustrated . But now that My anger is gone I Really appreaciate the values it gaves
I wachted this because I thought it would be awesome like Tunnel who is btw the best serie I wachted love love love ! but not at all.
But overall i loved the acting of the main characters was great, the story and the concept confuses me.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
JIN
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Jin is an 11 episode Japanese drama that some viewers might find familiar as the Korean drama re-make might be better known to a lot of drama fans. As of this time, I have only watched Jin (part 1) and not the sequel.

I really enjoyed Jin as the writer managed to do a very good job of interweaving the emotional situations involving the characters with the medical scenarios and meshing it read more with the political world of Edo. One or two things that didn't quite come together are as follows:

Time Travel: I've said it in other reviews, and I'll say it again: it never makes sense. Just don't expect some serious explanation for that fetus tumor...yeah, I know. It sounds and is weird. Just go with it and perhaps part 2 will answer that question. But probably not.

Truly that is the only issue I have with the drama. Things I liked:

Actors: I truly thought they all did a good job. There are not many reviews here of Jin, and I took the time to read the "6" rating review because I was interested what the issue was. Drama watching is such an individual thing and what bothers one person another doesn't care about etc. It appears it was the acting style of some of the actors. I think perhaps if this had been my first Japanese drama, I would understand that because there is a certain earnestness sometimes in the way scripts are written and acted out that I have taken this to be a cultural difference especially coming from the K-dramas. All I can say is it's subjective, and I didn't have any issues here. With a few exceptions, it's pretty much what I see in most Japanese dramas.

Writing: This is the key as many genres are rolled into one and blended beautifully. This did not get bogged down in politics even though it's made clear that Japan is in a very tenuous time. I enjoyed how the medical scenarios were addressed and how we learn so much of the time simply by bringing forth what the people needed help addressing. (The time frame is in the 1860s.) Also, all the characters grew as the drama proceeded and the pacing of the story was good. The perk of 11 episodes is no filler.

History: I seem to have learned a lot about what was going on in Japan without even knowing it. That's the sign of a good drama; it is enjoyable while educating me at the same time. Now the choice a viewer will have to make is whether to look up who Ryoma is. Sometimes I do not want to know about history during a drama, but it was very apparent that this was a famous person in Japan, and I didn't think I'd enjoy it as much while our main character is very aware of who he is, what he does, and how he dies. So I did look him up, and I recommend it if you, like me, are unaware of Japanese history. I feel it helped my enjoyment of the drama.

Direction/Music etc: It is beautifully filmed and well done. Costumes are amazing. I liked the song well enough but thought it was a bit over the top sometimes for the times they were playing it. There were no behind the scene issues that hindered my enjoyment of the drama.

Bonus: No psycho women trying to do each other in and actually a bit of a friendship develops between two unlikely gals. Also bromance galore.

So, overall, if you want a quick drama (all episodes 45ish minutes except the first and last), I highly recommend Jin. I plan on starting the sequel shortly though this drama really stands alone. Both are currently on Viki.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Doctors
1 people found this review helpful
by Leni
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I'm really mad because of this dramas rating on MDL. "Doctors" is one of the best medical kdramas, in my opinion of course. Even if I haven't watched many kdramas and medical ones yet. But trust me, this show is worth everything.

Soundtrack is amazing. I'm in love with one song, I'm listening to it while writing this review. It's just beautiful, what else can I say...? If you don't believe me, read more listen to SE O "this moment" (it's ost part 5).
Like it? So let's move on.

Cast. I saw Park Shin Hye in her two other dramas and I hated her. Or maybe not her, but her acting. She was so bad, priss and flat. Tho I started to like her. Yes, because of "Doctors". In this show, she was really good. Really, really good. In two first episodes I coundn't recognized her, she has changed a lot.
Also, I fell in love with two other actors. I saw that they recieved awards for their acting (in this drama ofc). I noticed that most of the characters exactly knew what they want to say. Yes, I am aware that they are actors, but they are playing normal people. People who doesn't know everything, even if they are doctors. But they sounded like they knew everything. But it wasn't a disadvantage. It was interesting, beautiful in poetical way. (ok, I don't know what I'm writing here, but these words are my feelings ok?)
All the characters were charming and lovely and I love them all. Although on the beginning I didn't like Lee Sung Kyungs figure, I quickly change my view and I started to admire her.

Story. The story wasn't complicated. It's all about revenge and love. And medication ofc. And relations between doctors. For me, every episode was interesting. Nothing was missing. This drama was really enjoyable to watch. I don't know if there are any disadvantages left. But this is just me. You are different, you have different needments...
But I recommend "Doctors" to you. This drama is perfect to watch on long, lazy evenings or sth. It's not good as "Goblin" or "Descendants of the sun" but it's really great. I'm sad because I ended this show so quickly. One day I'll watch it again.

Feelings. My heart keeps doing doki doki right know, while writing this review. And my heart was doing DOKI DOKI while watching surgeries in "Doctors" and while listening to its amazing osts I'm so broken inside please give me more as good kdramas as "Doctors" I don't ask much huh?

So yes. This is why I gave 10/10.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 5.5
This one needs to be eng subbed, so more people can enjoy this. This was like a mesh of Healer and City Hunter. The cast was full of beautiful people. There was a perfect balance between the fluffy romance and the intense bloody action scenes.
I loved that no one suspected the HMH to be the skilled masked fighter because he looks like such a cute puppy. The writers also did a read more good job in making me debate on who the good guys and who the bad guys were.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No