Sort by:
My Little Princess
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I do enjoy cute dramas,and this is one of them..

She is the illegitimate daughter of a rich business man after his death, the wife brings her into her house and she starts to live like a princess. She is been promised to marry another rich businessman's son, she chased him for a long time, he did not like her, she fell in love with a different guy and the other guy read more who at the time did not fancy now starts to chase her.. It's a sort of love triangle but in a funny way..

She keeps on having day dreams in the middle of things.. that makes this drama quite funny too

It gets boring time to time but if you do not have anything to watch go for it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Great White Tower
8 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
White Tower is a metaphorical expression that is named in a way meant to criticize the Japanese medical system. Brace yourselves as this is going to be a really long review.

Before I start I’d like to say that I have always wanted to watch this drama ever since I heard all rave about it since I first started watching Asian dramas. Only, at that time I couldn’t find a way to read more watch it because back then Internet wasn’t as accessible as now and Asian dramas (especially J dramas) aren’t easily found streaming or even subbed. However, since I’ve decided to practice my Korean language through watching J dramas my first target would be those dramas which I’ve always longed to binge watch but couldn’t. Lucky for me a very good quality of this drama is available with Korean subs (and after long search I found Eng subs as well). The only reason I would be crazy enough to go for a medical, dialogue-rich drama such as White Tower in Korean subs is simply because I really wanted to watch it. “White Tower" was broadcasted in Japan in 2003, and in 2004, it won Japan TV Drama Academy Award for Best Picture, Best Director, and Casting Award. Because of its solid background, so I had a lot of expectations before even starting it and it has exceeded them.

The 'White Tower' is not a show of humanity, love, romance, etc., which is seen as a background for most of the medical dramas out there. White Tower is the desire of the humans to want to go higher. It shows humans constantly calculating in their minds and how they construct their behaviors in order to accomplish what they want. To put it simply it's not a medical drama, it's a story of various colors of humans. White grand tower: A white university general hospital, expressing its power and political color in its interior. Hence, is not a medical drama but a political drama.

Story:
Human desire for power and honor, battlefield of ambition surrounding the medical field. Based on the very popular Yamazaki Toyoko's novel "White Tower" this drama is a political story of doctors in a closed, bureaucratic university hospital. Yamazaki’s novel draws on the Osaka University School of Medicine as a model to draw attention to medical malpractices, the feudal system of medicine, and the struggle for power by doctors and so does the drama. For the sake of power, there is a dramatic struggle in the hospital centering on, Zaizen Goro, who seeks to hold all the power in his hand, and Satomi Shuji, who is seriously walking the doctor's path and is firmly idealistic in everything. The White Tower centers on the heroes who are on a constant path of choice, forcing extreme choices out of them. The main characters face conflict in the goal of the choice but they do not hesitate. The voice of a person who chooses power and honor sounds the same as his claim to keep his integrity and conscience. So the story goes around the hospital corridor like a tight knot that is never resolved. In the power struggle over the medical world, good and evil are only echoes for each other. The hospital is also a majestic tower in white clothing, but at the same time it is a dreary pit hidden behind a dark shade.

One of the good things about watching White Tower is the power of the story that comes from the power of human relationships. One evidential scene is when Zaizen Goro tells his father in-law “the problem isn’t the skill or talents it’s human relationships!!” And his father in-law laughs and says, “Of course it’s not the skills, if skills were enough the world would not be a battlefield would it?. It would be much easier world to live in if that was the case but it’s not” (You’d have to forgive me if that is not as accurate as it should be because this is what I understood from the scene which is interpreted through Korean subtitles).

The Great White Tower is divided into two, half of which is a cross-section of the organizational society in which various political patriots are involved in the election of the chief of the surgery, and the other half is the doctor, the hospital and the patient's legal confrontation surrounding the medical accident. There are various doctors in the white tower. A doctor who is ambition-seeking, a humanist doctor, and a researcher. So what is a doctor? What does a doctor do? The easiest way to understand a doctor is to concentrate on what "doctors do". In The Great White Tower however, the story is searching and revealing out characteristics of real doctors in our society and dealing with their dreams and ambitions. To put it in simple words this drama is basically aimed at presenting the theme of "what is a doctor" through the confrontation between Zaizen Goro and Satomi Shuji.

It is also a good insight on how the hierarchy system works in the medical world in Japan, for instance the professor becomes a professor through assistant professors. The professor holds only one person in his / her department, and takes over all the power of the position until he retires.

Acting and Characters (This is a long section because there are just too many characters worth mentioning but I tried to minimize the list with 4 only):
Karasawa Toshiaki as Zaizen Goro is a genius that specializes in esophageal surgery and is the best in esophageal surgery. Has a desire for success and a strong ambition, he chases after his honor and reputation rather than his patients. The performances of Karasawa Toshiaki made it possible for me to know what he was thinking and what is he going to do without having to read the subtitles. He gave out such a GRAND performance how else could someone even love Zaizen’s ruthless arrogance if it wasn’t for Toshiaki’s realistic admirable performance, which does leave you vulnerable and can’t help but root for him. I will never forget Zaizen’a humming song and the way he moves his hands picturing the surgery in his head making his hands dance along as he operates inside his mind, something very profound that I’ve never seen before.

Eguchi Yosuke as Satomi Shuji has no ambition and no greed as a doctor, and therefore has little relationship with his career. He is a person who only cares about patients without being interested in becoming a professor. I read that there was some criticism thrown at Satomi’s character that he was a non-flexible idealist, and someone like him does not exist in the world, but I personally think that such a person might exist in the world. He is a person who can carry out his thoughts without leaving them to be compromised by external pressure. In other words he is the 'hope' that you may think it does not exist but at least it should not be forgotten. Not many people will understand Satomi, but you cannot help but appreciate him. I really liked Eguchi Yosuke’s portrayal of Satomi, it is quite impossible to separate the actor from the character now.

Ishizaka Koji as Azuma Teizo a person who cannot abandon his status as a member of a doctor 's family and is caught up in authority rituals. He is ahead of his retirement, and he gets caught up in jealousy and inferiority towards Zaizen Goro. Ishizaka Koji’s performance was solid I could feel Azuma’s anxiously and fear so easily due to his spectacular performance.

Hitomi Kuroki as Keiko Hanamori her relationship with Zaizen Goro is noteworthy, it can’t be seen as a simple affair. Keiko dropped out of medical school and ran luxury bar. She is the only one Zaizen opens up to and she is kind of supportive alley to him in this battlefield. The bar she operates is ran by the people in the hospital, so sometimes it comes in handy for Zaizen Goro. I love her witty brutal honest responses and discussions with Zaizan. I loved loved LOVED Hitomi Kuroki’s Keiko her facial expressions, her voice and her laughs everything was just so delicious and witty and fun to watch!! She was such a wonderful spark to the show.

I personally loved the relationship between Zaizen Goro and Satomi and all their electrifying and unforgettable scenes filled with conflicted dialogues, which were, breathtaking and deliciously witty. They are friends since college but they are very different. Their relationship is founded on acknowledging and respecting each other while establishing an angle of confrontation. It is interesting to have a relationship between two people who have different values but seek the same goal, which is saving patients and changing the system. In some ways, Zaizen tries to make changes from above, and Satomi tries to make a change from the bottom up. In the end, both of them wanted the development of the hospital and the development of medical care. However, their methods were different.

Overall
The drama was thought to be serious and heavy, but to my surprise it was lighter than expected. It was a heavy and difficult topic to deal with, but the drama did not lose itself in the midst of the heavy content. As I was watching this drama my thoughts were shivering and possibly this is the most time they were provoked. It is really a thought-provoking drama that will hold on to you and never leaves you until you are done watching the whole thing. I could not take my eyes of the drama. Something is meaningful and profound from the title of white tower. A tower that is built to earn honor in a society through a university hospital but instead was destroyed and ruined by the absence of ethics and conscious. One of the best dramas, which will always remain memorable to me, definitely worth every praise and award. I could not possibly explain with mere words how much the ending touched me so deeply, I will only say that it’s rightfully one of the poetic thought stimulating ending I have ever seen and has managed to make me shed some tears. I don’t know if I will ever be able to let down my guard and watch the K version.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
D-Day
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
I started watching D-Day after seeing Kim Young Kwang act in Pinocchio. The previous and so far only medical K-drama I had seen was a huge disappointment which is why I didn't set my expectations too high.

I'd say it was all thanks to both good pace of action and the actors' incredible chemistry that got me hooked almost right away. Kim Young Kwang's character was completely different from Pinocchio and for read more me it really seemed like Young Kwang was truly enjoying his character in D-Day. And don't even get me started with Jung So Min. I have a feeling I haven't fell in love with a woman character in this extent before. But the most important thing is the chemistry between the main lead which really shook me!

The balance between action & suspense and humor is really good. The only thing that bothers me is (like with every single 20-episode-k-drama) that in the middle the plot started to drag, but from episode 1-8 and 16-20 the story and pace was on point.

Also the soundtrack BLEW my mind: It was rather like watching a high budget movie than a drama. After finishing the drama I had to listen to every track from the OST and I still can't believe how good work the composers have done with it!

Overall, after almost 6 months, D-day managed to be a K-drama that really got me hooked. It gave me hard time trying to focus on other things like school and even managed to make me cry which felt quite refreshing: For a long time dramas have tried real hard to make me emotional and haven't succeeded. D-day was a real savior and I motivated me to look for more thrilling and moving stories.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love Song
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
"Love Song" is a neat little drama about music. It manages to be impressive in almost every way aside from the somewhat bland plot.

STORY:
“Love Song” is not a particularly unique show. For the most part, it is a fairly generic story about a person who finds meaning to her life with music. While this plot may seem boring and overused to many people, the show also attempts to stand out read more from the rest by introducing elements like Sakura’s stuttering (which, in my opinion, helps the story greatly). The reason why I kept watching the show was not because of the plot, but because of how likable and engaging all the characters in the show were. Two characters that stood out to me would be the two main leads, which would be Sakura Sano and Kohei Kamishiro. Their relationship together in the show is a highlight that really helps the show despite its plot.

If there’s anything plot-wise that the show excels at, it would be character development. You can really see the growth in both Sakura and Kohei by the time the series ends. The theme of moving forward is exemplified through the characters that inhabit the show.

The show’s first half, I must say, is, however stronger than the second half. “Love Song” shows attempts at originality in the first arc, but slowly loses its quality as the series goes on. However, this is not to say that the show ends off poorly. It is just lackluster compared to potential shown in the beginning.
ACTING:
The acting in this show is amazing. As many other commenters have said, Fujiwara Sakura’s performance as Sakura Sano is fantastic. Despite this being her time acting, Fujiwara manages to be both a captivating and charming lead. Other characters are played extremely well too, although Fujiwara still continues to steal the spotlight every time she shows up. Masaharu Fukuyama is also fantastic as the male lead and is, in my opinion, perfectly cast as Kamishiro. Him and Fujiwara have fantastic chemistry, which makes their interactions a joy to watch. The reason why I rated this show an 8/10 despite its plot is because of the great performances found in “Love Song.”
MUSIC:
A show about music should have great music. Thankfully, “Love Song” manages to impress with its fantastic but small soundtrack. The theme song, being Fujiwara’s “Soup,” is an absolutely fantastic song. Other songs, such as “Suki Yo Suki Yo Suki Yo” and “500 Miles” (which is a cover) are fantastic additions to the musicality of the show as well. Of course, because of its small soundtrack size, the show ends up playing these three songs very often, so viewers will eventually find themselves very familiar with the music before the series ends. I became a fan of Fujiwara’s music thanks to this show, so I didn’t particularly mind the repetition in terms of the music on the show.

FINAL THOUGHTS:
“Love Song” is far from perfect. The second half of the show suffers from a slight decline in plot quality, and the ending is rather rushed. However, thanks to its strong music and acting, “Love Song” gets an 8 from me.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Master's Sun
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
A fun, light romantic comedy with touches of horror mixed in. I started watching Master's Sun on a whim because I had heard people talk about it and the name was familiar. I had no idea what it was about before I clicked play. If I had known the premise before watching, I might not have started it because it's not something I would normally have chosen. But I'm glad I did. read more The first few episodes sucked me in. It was fun and intriguing and a little scary. The premise is really unbelievable and silly. I am not the hugest fan of the mean rich guy who falls for the awkward girl storyline. I'm not really a fan of ghost stories. Some of the dialogue seems strange and stiff. The storylines are really unbelievable. But, despite all these things that this drama didn't have going for it, I actually enjoyed it a lot. There were several times when the situations got really silly that I wondered to myself why do I like this? I think the main reason is the charisma and talent of the actors. They somehow make you really care for these farfetched characters no matter what outlandish situations they are put in.

The Pros:
I was surprisingly moved by the ghosts' stories that are introduced in each episode and even cried over characters that were introduced in just that one episode. I got into the main romance and felt their heartache when they separated and ended up binge watching it into the early morning. So Ji Sub is really good as Joo Joong Won. There's something really likable and charming about him even when he's acting rude and standoffish. He was the main thing I looked forward to watching on screen. Gong Shil and Joo Won have good chemistry especially considering how crazy it is that these 2 characters would fall for each other. The supporting characters were nice to look at as well. The mystery kept me guessing. The romantic storyline is predictable but the actors are so good they really make you feel for them.

The Cons:
The reason I don't rate it higher is that I think the plot stalls a little towards the middle. Some of the scenes seemed kind repetitive at times. But that didn't really stop me from caring about the characters and enjoying it til the end.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ode to Joy
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Love Xiao Xiao,Wang Ziwen acting so well.Hower,Liu Tao Acting Not Good as such as before TV Series Drama by the way good to see
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Legend of the Blue Sea
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
It was fun to watch and later on it kinda got "heavy". It was sort of long for me, but hey, I enjoyed it. I almost did not watch this because I was very disappointed with Lee Min Ho's - "The Heirs" - it was an over-used plot capitalizing on the popular actor/actresses and just plain dumb. No depth. So here comes this drama, I was completely entertained and as I said, read more it was just a tad long but did not drag at all. I just prefer watching 16 episode dramas. The supporting characters in the story really added flavor to it and made this drama more entertaining.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Star of the Universe
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This was an amazing drama especially if you're an Exo-L or even if you're not you will become one after watching this. this prove that love can win everything despite who you are . It shows how hard the famous singer life is and teach us how meaning full he life is and the end is not really the end. Of course the ost is perfect their chemistry is not perfect but read more it's quite well , as expected I cried my eye out as well. I hope it has a lot of eps but it's only 6 . too bad to handle. #sobing
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Voice
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Most beautiful, sad, hopeful drama I've ever seen. My all time favourite!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Doctor Stranger
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Doctor stranger have many different aspect between politics, surgery and love. At first I was a little afraid of how they can put theses genders together without doing "too much" But I was entertained by the story really quickly !
Lee Jong Suk is just perfect, his acting is great as is the acting of Park HaeJin and Kang Sora ! The only character who deceive me is the one played by read more Shin Se Yeon... I don't know if it is because of the acting of the way the writers did their character but she didn't appeal to me like most others actress in others drama !

If I have to select criter to watch this dramas:

-The story: from the start to the end they have a great story line with many different genre who show us as much politics scene than medical. But at the same time, it is staying light and funny thanks to Dr Hoon and the love story isn't taking to much place either !

-The actors: Park HaeJin and Lee Jong Suk together is a definitely something to see, and Sora is great to like all the supporting actor !


The music is not bad but not any song "amazed" me to the point that I can remember it so I can say that the music stayed basic even if it was not bad !

I really loved this drama so I can only recommend him greatly ! Even more if like me you really like the principal actors ! They wll not deceive you in that one for sure !
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Murphy's Law of Love
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
If anyone is shocked that this is my first non k drama than you'll win the award for not being shocked. I feel like Twain dramas are so much more different than K Dramas that this did took a while to get into but it worth it.

Story: For a story, it centers around Murphy's laws (which I know nothing about). Honesty it was not a turn off to start with, it read more about relationships, and what really goes into it. This is a basic concept, but it goes into so much detail, and with 1 hr 13 min episodes their is filler in there but I liked it. The story I give a 8.

Acting/Cast: I really do not know much about Taiwan actors due to I don't watch these dramas a lot. For starters I'll start with Tang Dawson the main male lead. I liked him as an actor. He mainly known for Chinese dramas, but he has done a few Taiwan dramas. For Li Ivelyn I liked her in this, but her character did get annoying sometimes. The final name I go into is Chien Jolin the second lead. A second lead he played the character well. For acting/cast I give a 9.

Music: So the music for me it grew on me. With these dramas they have a beginning and an ending theme. I start with the opening which is fly with me. It always nice when the opening is really great because it gets you really pumped up for the episode. and the opening itself was cute that is in itself should be watched once. The ending is All I Wanted To Say. this was not as great as Fly With Me, but it was great when it was sung in one of the episodes by one of the actors (not saying who for spoilers reason). The music I give a 10.

Rewatch/Overall: For a rewatch value it a 7, I have a tendency that I'll rewatch this due to it being my first. Overall is an 8.5 with the flaws it deserving of an 8.5.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Star of the Universe
6 people found this review helpful
by Nora
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
This was a really cute fun story but not something that wowed me or anything. I don't think I'm ever gonna rewatch it unless I have to in some sort of situation but I don't regret watching it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Prime Minister and I
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 3.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 3.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
the first chilly KD i 've ever seen i felt it boaring
Lee bom so was sooo emotionless in this drama
the story i felt it a little shallow
the drama was so predictable
for me i saw it took high rate for nothing
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Battle of Changsha
1 people found this review helpful
by Subi
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I initially started this drama for the hunk Wallace Huo but ended up loving the story and all the characters. Wallace does not dissapoint and neither do any of the other characters. There is no way I would continue to watch a drama only for one guy if the story was not intriguing and and all the characters dod not play their parts well enough.

The story really transcends the meaning of read more war and clearly depicts the struggles the population faces in the event of one and makes us realize how grateful we should be for our freedom! The screenplay is fluent and the story I sent coherently woven thus making it a pleasure to watch. It has a lot of realism that normally lacks in Chinese dramas I found and makes it a pleasure to watch.

One of the strongest and if not the strongest character in the story that stole the show was Ren Cheng Wei! I didn't know who he was and initially found his character to be quite repulsive, but then everything changed and it showed that a man who loves his family shows it in more than one way. Of course we are taought to live life following the right path and always doing good. Although I wouldn't justify completely what he does, you can start to understand why he does it.

Of course there are numerous battle scenes but nothing too graphic at and the love story is subtle but still manages to tingle all those nerves. Give it a shot and I'm sure you'll fall in love with the two leads like I did!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
General and I
4 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
I think this is the first time I have found a chinese drama so compelling.Usually due to the poor CGI or sometimes due to the stories I drop the cdramas that I start. But this drama had me hooked to my seat from beginning to end. True at times you might find that they are dragging out the angst and romance and why the hell cant these two people be together?!!!! But read more the superb acting by Wallace Chung and the great background score make up for it all!!!
A must watch for any drama lover!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No