Sort by:
The Greatest Love
2 people found this review helpful
by aec
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This drama was so funny and light! Nothing too majorly serious happened but it was a story about finding that one person who can move your heart and accepts you for who you are. I enjoyed that when they did finally decide to be together they didn't waiver from their relationship. I liked how he never gave up on his love for her and no matter what he was not giving her read more up for anything. The main couple was really endearing and I think that's why I gave this such a high rating, I really like them together. Gong Hyo Jin is turning out to be one of my favorite actresses and if she's in it I am willing to give it a shot. (Except maybe It's ok, that's love, I'm sorry I could not get through the first episode, it seemed all over the place! Will maybe try giving that one another shot at a different date)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
You're Beautiful
0 people found this review helpful
by aec
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
This one was actually a lot funnier than I initially thought I would be watching. There is one scene that had me dying of laughter(that pig scene tho)! The second love interest was a little dull (sorry to his fans) and I felt like it could've done without. Overall pretty good, I wish the ending was a little bit longer, seemed a little rushed. Overall a very funny and entertaining story.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Oh My Venus
0 people found this review helpful
by aec
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
This drama is so funny! The main couple had amazing chemistry with each other and with "the kids" as well. It was funny and heartwarming and at times heartbreaking. I am crushing on So Ji Sub so I'm a little biased as to how much I like the characters he plays. I definitely enjoyed the character of Kang Joo Eun. I thought she was a strong female lead and not wishy washy read more about her past love. I like how she accepted things that happen and wouldn't dwell on it but move on. I dislike love triangles and Kdramas are filled with them! Lol I can't escape them but I'm learning to accept them as they are and appreciate the characters who don't waiver from their path. Being someone who is kinda chubby too but what Korean definition probably refers to as "fat" (lol) I didn't take too much offense with how much this drama centered on looks. I feel like Kim Yeong Ho / John Kim really just wanted her to not have any health issues, so that was his main concern. Would def recommend if you like romantic comedies.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Kill Me, Heal Me
0 people found this review helpful
by aec
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Another really great drama! The main characters acting are pretty great. I like that it involved issues of mental health. I ended up caring a lot about all the personalities he had. It was very funny but definitely emotional and it just hooked you in, def recommend.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Dong Yi
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
This drama is an all time classic gem! This is the only "rise to power" drama that doesn't involve revenge on it. That's what I like about this drama. The female lead character doesn't need to be rude on her nemesis just to take revenge. I don't actually want to call it revenge, it's more like revealing the truth. She's so innocent and pure, but insanely smart. It's just the people who read more loves her and people who believes on her was the one who helped her rise from rock bottom to heavens above.

There has a lot of revelation on this show, I mean one after another. It makes you stay on the edge of your sit throughout the whole day. Another great about this show is you'll have an idea how the slave on korea was treated during joseon dynasty. How can powerful people manipulate slaves by their money and doing an unjust death so easily. This is actually an eye opener for us.

The characters were portrayed so well especially Han Hyo Joo's character which is Dong Yi. She's so innocent, beautiful, and smart. Her acting was so great. Very different on her acting in W which is so lame. I also like the character of Ji Jin Hee as the King. He looks so fearsome and strong as a king but when he was with Dong Yi as regular man, he looks so adorably funny. Lee So Yeon's portrayal of her character which is Jang Ok Jung was also great. From being a good concubine who helped Dong Yi to enter the palace to a very bad royal consort who also the one who tried to kill her. That's a very hard character to portray and I'll give her a credit for that.

Overall this drama is worth the watch! Highly recommended for those who wants to find a good drama. Don't be afraid of the 60 episodes. It's absolutely worth it!. Actually when you're on the final 3 episodes you'll wish that it would be longer that it ever should.


SUPERB DRAMA! 2 THUMBS UP! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Heart to Heart
0 people found this review helpful
by aec
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
I'm still trying to emotionally recover and for that reason alone i refrained from giving this a rating of 10 lol it has its flaws and it took a couple of episodes in for me to actually start warming up to the psychiatrist, because he was just the worst ever! But wow the emotional toll watching this took on me! Episode 15 by far was the most emotionally devastating acting I have read more seen in a while. The devastation of what they were going through was so amazing depicted! The acting so just stupendous! Loved this drama so much!!

**UPDATE: After a few days I've decided to bump it to a 10 just because this was just an amazing experience to sit through. The mental issues they address are so important and give light to what some people face on a daily basis**
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Fated to Love You
0 people found this review helpful
by aec
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This drama is so much more than just a comedy or even romance. It touches so many subjects on real life matters and how we each would deal with situations that arise. It's not a 10 just because I do feel like some situations were dragged out too long. But please be prepared to laugh your butt off! His facial expressions cracked me up.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Boys Over Flowers
0 people found this review helpful
by aec
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
So good!!! I understand what all the hype is about. It made me laugh, cry, happy, sad, joyful, melancholy. Overall the story is so good. I can't give it a 10 just due to the fact that it felt like some of the scenes were out of order, or some plot lines kind of seemed unfinished. I would definitely recommend for a starter drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Boss & Me
0 people found this review helpful
by aec
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
This was my frist time watching a Chinese drama. I didn't think I would be able to differentiate the dialect since I don't speak any type of Asian language. I was very surprised how different the language sounded compared to Korean or Japanese language. It took me a little bit to get used to, and also they speak faster so I had to get used to reading the subtitles at a faster read more pace.

The drama was pretty interesting. It was a little slow on some parts but overall a good storyline. It was nice to see their relationship progress and see how steady and how much faith they had in each other.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Birdie Buddy
0 people found this review helpful
by aec
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
Like most other viewers, the ending left everyone unsatisfied. Really though, if you pay attention carefully (take the blinders off) you realize that that ending was there all along. I wish they would continue with her story so we could see what happens to her in the future.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Six Flying Dragons
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
My gosh, this historical drama is fantastic!!

I can't believe I happily sat through 50 episodes of this drama, it made me fall even more in love with Korean Sageuk/historical dramas.

OST
First and foremost, that OST!! I have never, I repeated NEVER bothered to download a Drama's soundtrack just because I enjoyed it while it played during the drama. But with this soundtrack, it made me search every corner of the read more internet universe just to get every version of every song, even the instrumental/acoustic tracks.
The OST blew me away and is like nothing I have ever heard, it almost became a character of its own throughout this drama.

Cast
The cast has acting skills to write home about. Everyone from the leads, to the supporting and the extras who played their part by really adding to the historical element of this drama whether they ere crying or dancing in the streets through the roller coaster of events. The male leads are striking both in looks and performances. Although many have been criticising the female lead for her single-expression performance, I thought she did a good job of just performing a headstrong no-nonsense character?

Writing/Story
The heroes of this show are the writers!! From the witty one-liners to the captivating monologues delivered by the cast, the writing will totally impress you. The writers especially did a good job of great character development throughout all 50 episodes. The same leads that you meet in episode one change and mature and develop in the most realistic but surprising way.

All in all this drama gets 10's all round, I can find nothing wrong with it. If you're not used to watching 50-episode dramas, no worries! You wont even notice the time go with this drama, before you know it, you're at episode 50 and balling your eyes out over how amazing it was and the withdrawal symptoms will immediately set in LOL ;)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Suspicious Housekeeper
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I freakin' love this drama!!! Becuase most Kdramas rely on strong romance between the characters, it was so refreshing to see a drama that has tuned down the romance (it is still there, just not so much in your face) and still be very interesting and captivating!

The lead actress is excellent, and the best part of the drama was seeing her and the the supporting characters develop. It shows how people read more make life-threatening mistakes and how this affects others. To see the characters grow from strength to strength was the most satisfying thing for me. Such a roller-coaster of emotions!

The dry humour was excellent during the times of the lead females creepy and robotic moments.

I recommend this drama to anyone looking for a change to the usual cliche sappy romance that you would find with Kdramas. Happy watching!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Refresh Man
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
This was my first Taiwanese Drama, and honestly, i LOVED it!!! Coming from the huge world of addictive Kdramas, I was shocked with myself that I actually happily completed this drama without any episode skipping. This drama, as I have realised is the case with many Taiwanese dramas, was much SLOWER than the average Kdrama. I usually can;t stand a slow Kdrama/any drama in general as I only watch dramas to escape read more from regular life and really be captivated and engrossed in what I am watching.

So yes, not super fast-paced but definitely enjoyable. Becuase of this drama, I have opened myself to other Taiwanese dramas such as 'Two Father's' which is a 2013 drama that I have just fallen in love with!

Anyway Aaron Yan in this Refresh Man drama is absolutely breathtaking both in looks and performance. The female lead is fun to watch because of her perseverance and the supporting characters do their job quite well, bringing out important themes of friendship, truly caring for those who work around you and also loyalty in and out of the work-place. The OST is just so fun and cheerful, I almost want to learn mandarin just so I can sing that damn song everyday!

Overall, very good drama with just enough romance and life lessons to keep you watching. However, because of the slow-pace, it has very poor rewatch value. All in all, the best thing about this drama is the continuous message about never and not giving up!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sotus: The Series
0 people found this review helpful
by brdo
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 2.0
  • Story 2.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.5
The series introduces too many characters and scenarios but barely, if at all, follows up with them. How do they expect the audience to care about the characters if the screenwriters don't care themselves?

It looks like they filmed and edited this with a potato. But that is not the biggest kicker... sadly the main leads don't have much chemistry as a couple. Kongpob is flat and wholly uninteresting as a character. read more I dare say Krist's superb acting alone is enough to watch this series though.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
this was the first bl i ever saw! it was amazing, book and frame are so freaking cute and tee and frame. honestly the first couple episode their acting were HORRIBLE but they improve ALOT. i recommend this for anyone who likes bl, i have watch this show over 15 times.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No