If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
Lost Love in Times
0 people found this review helpful
11 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
+1 Good Cast (When this first started... I LITERALLY couldn't tell the difference between the main two male leads. It took me more than a few episodes to be able to tell the difference since it was my first time watching these two male leads)

+1 Male Lead (Both were extremely handsome in their own way. At first I wasn't too fond of the first male lead because I didn't think he looked that great so I hesitated watching this drama. But I realized that after watching 10 Miles of Peach Blossoms, I fell in love with the male lead even though I didn't think much of him at first. So I gave this dude a shot and I was impressed. He's such a good looking man. <3)

+1 Story Line (Great story line in general but the production didn't follow through all the way, it lagged/dragged and discredited the storyline)

+1 Male Clothing Set (I feel like the male clothing in this drama stood out more because most of the main characters were Prince's, the clothing line was amazing. It brought out the masculinity, royalty and eloquence of the characters. I was quite disappointed with the female lead's clothing line for the most part. She had maybe one outfit that I remember liking and then she had this one outfit that I was absolutely not fond of at all)

+1 Romance Action (romance action wasn't really consistent throughout the drama but when there were romance action, it was definitely bubbly in my heart. <3)

+1 Music (the music didn't stand out a lot but it was good enough to keep me going, at least it wasn't horrible)

+1 Set/Scenes

+1 Brother and Father & Son Relationships (The last scene between the two male leads really throbbed my heart. Love the relationships between the brothers and then the fathers relationships with all his sons were complex and interesting)


-1 Poor Action (I was expecting more action since the topic was about war and sorcery but I was left disappointed. The action was poorly done as well, I had expectations since the clothing line for fighting was amazing but again, I was left disappointed. There was maybe very few scenes that caught my attention but no, if I include the sorcery action, it was terrible)
-1 Unnecessary Characters (I have to be honest, there were some character where I just thought "This person has little to no point in this drama or were pointless useless or gone the entire time, why do they even exist in here?
-1 Story lagged... seriously. I don't think the story needed to be 50+ episode long. It would have been just fine with 30-40 ep max and then it would have been a great drama that got to the point.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Eternal Love
1 people found this review helpful
11 days ago
Overall 9.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This is the only drama that I've watched three times. That's how much I loved it. But I'll keep my review simple and easy to read, instead of reading long paragraphs.

+1 Amazing Cast (No one can play a better Yehua)
+1 Beautiful & Befitting Music (music really set the tone/stage for this drama, went along with the theme, plot, and brought out the story altogether, without the music, or music in general, it would be hard to make successful dramas, good music is what draws people emotions and imaginations)
+1 Romance Action (more like +100, at first you're like where's all the real action? Just wait and keep watching, you WON'T be disappointed. Trust me on this one. It'll creep up on you and surprise you out of nowhere)
+1 Beautiful & Eloquent Clothes Set
+1 Strong, Creative and Complex Story Plot
+1 Set (pretty good for a fantasy drama for the most part)
+1 Relationship Build
+1 Character Build (except for the relationship between Moyuan and Siyin. It kind of came out of no where, like what? huh? They had a close mentor/mentee relationship? Didn't see that but since everyone said so then okay...)
+1 Strong Side Character Stories (Feng Qiu's side story was kind of redundant and annoying but they made the story interesting and impactful at the end)
+1 Good Ending

Cons?
- Fighting action could have been better and "floating/flying" scenes were average and very noticeable
- Like most dramas in general, some dragging parts that take forever with your typical mellow characters, but the story eventually picks itself up. Can't avoid that one.
-Some people will have a hard time liking the male lead at first but don't worry, he'll draw you in when you least expect it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Blood
0 people found this review helpful
11 days ago
Overall 6.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 6.5
Music 6.5
Rewatch Value 1.0
I watched this drama a while ago, but I stumbled upon its page today and saw that it had an overall rating of 7.4, so I thought I ought to make a review telling everyone not to believe that rating. I'll be honest, I watched this drama because it had Ahn Jae Hyun, dealt with vampirism, and was fairly well rated. It was actually one of the first dramas I ever watched and even then I knew that it was bad. The first seven or so episodes are OK, but after that point, the whole show just goes completely downhill. I feel like I sped through the beginning of this drama because it had genuinely good content, but as the show went on I found myself waiting days between each episode because forcing myself to watch it was miserable and I just couldn't do it. Side-note: don't even get me started on that ending. I mean what the hell was that? In conclusion, this drama is an idea that wasn't well thought out and could have been easily squeezed into ten episodes (or less) and still had the same content without anything lost. Please don't watch this, for your own well-being.


Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Nothing Gold Can Stay
1 people found this review helpful
by LLL
11 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
I've thoroughly enjoyed this drama but really did not foresee that ending. It's safe to say I don't usually watch many historical dramas (especially chinese ones) as I can't usually get into them but after watching only one episode of Nothing Gold Can Stay I was hooked and eagerly staying up till 2am awaiting the next 2 episode's release. I also don't watch Chinese dramas due to their lengths, I'm the type of person who usually has to finish the whole show unless it's really unbearable to watch and 60+ episodes can be daunting. Long dramas can also be a little dragged out in some parts due to the need to produce a large number of episodes but with Nothing Gold Can Stay I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of each episode and the plot, in this sense it was a much better drama than the widely popular, Eternal Love.
Overall, after watching the final episode and not realising it was actually the final episode (changed from listed 75 eps to 74) I have to say I wasn't too happy with the ending but the drama is for sure extremely well made and in my top 5 dramas of all time. If you're looking for a drama with more depth, a little romance and a smart, independent heroine I definitely recommend this one!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Koko ni Aru Shiawase
1 people found this review helpful
12 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 10
I will recommend this story to everyone.  The story is short and sweet about a man finding his calling in life.  What I liked best about about it was that it reminds us that the previous generations had lives before us.  Those stories can either teach us or just entertain us.  As stated before it is a short little movie and makes me happy every time I watch it .  So the title "Happiness is here" is very apropos for me.  Matsuda Shota is adorable as usual.
 I hope you enjoy it as much as i did : )
Was this review helpful to you?
You Who Came from the Stars
1 people found this review helpful
12 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
*This is my first review, so please bare with me :)*

This Drama came to me on a perfect timing as I was just trying to find something that could bring me to tears not only of sadness but also joy! I started watching it some weeks  back but for some reason didn't go pass the first episode. And don't get me wrong here, it's not that it wasn't captivating, I just was too busy and kinda forgot that I was watching it so I ended up watching Dream High instead. That's when I totally fell for Kim Soo Hyun and decided to put my chaos together and give You Who Came from the Stars a try. The result? An absolute vortex of emotions!

This drama won't only keep you at the edge of your seat from all the mystery going on but you'll find yourself riding a rollercoaster of laughter, despair and tears! Not only the storyline is amazing and gives you the perfect vibes of how not even 400 years are enough to learn about love and life but also bombards you with scenes from past and present that will help you understand the main characters without falling in a traditional RomCom where poor extremely good girl meets cold hearted rich guy. The development of all the characters is very good, they all mature in a good way and learn from their own experiences.  I will give this drama extra kudos for the villain, I'm not going to enter into much detail but I'm just going to say that THAT's how a villain should be!

The chemistry between the main characters is heartwarming, they are so different and yet compliment each other in a nearly perfect way. Kim Soo Hyun will captivate you with his charm and personality, he's a very lovable character and is so easy to empathize with  him. Jun Ji Hyun's character  on the other hand has so much charisma that it's impossible not to find yourself smiling during her monologues and hilarious scenes.

The supporting roles complemented the story perfectly. There really wasn't any single one who would get on my nerves and they all develop in a very loving and mature way!

I'm definitely adding this drama to my list of MUST re-watch since I'm sure I'll be enjoying it every time I watch it! So go ahead and give it a try, you won't regret it!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
49 Days
0 people found this review helpful
12 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.5
The premise of this show has Lee Yo Won playing dual roles (Song Yi Kyung and Song Yi Kyung possessed by Shin Ji Hyun). Shin Ji Hyun is the daughter of a wealthy family who has lived a seemingly charmed life and ends up getting into a car accident and dying before her time. Fate offers her an opportunity to reclaim her life. While her body is in a coma, she has 49 days to find three people (parents and siblings don't count) who will cry genuine tears for her. Unfortunately, just before her accident, she discovered that her best friend and her fiance are not exactly who they seem. The 49 days include a lot of interlinking relationships and twists and turns. Lee Yo Won is great at glowering, which she gets plenty of opportunity to do playing Shin Ji Hyun interacting with her fiance. While there is plenty of humor in this show, I would not categorize it as a comedy. Definitely in the drama/tragedy corner. The ending of this show wrecked me.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
12 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
it starts out great and it continues this way until the end. it is a must watch drama and the main lead are two of the most famous korean actors. you will enjoy every moment and it has a clear ending ( something that a personaly realy admire since i hate spending that mach time in a drama and not seeing the end of the story). the main cople has great cemistry and I aslo liked the supporting couple.it is funny without ruining the dramatics. i watched the first time while it was ongoing and at the end of every episode i just couldn't wait for the next to come up ( i have watched it 4 time since then )

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Aishite tatte, Himitsu wa Aru
0 people found this review helpful
12 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
Story 10/10
I was really feeling the drama in the beginning, then it got boring and draggy. And bam, the last 2 episodes were mind-blowing. For the first time since I can't remember when, I could not predict that ending, that was sooo surprising imo. It's been a while since I saw that much creativity, I was expecting some **** SPOILERS?*****  revenge/crazy love kinda motive. BUT NOOOOO damn I was wrong. For that, I give a perfect score! (I guess I wasn't spoiled by the previous tags that were listed on MDL?)

Acting 6/10
I'm torn on that point. The cast in general was kinda good, but not outstandingly good, ya know wadda mean? Kawaguchi Haruna got on my nerves quick, especially since her character was way too marriage-obssessed. Like literally until the last second of the drama. She was nothing beside a crazy bride and her lack of emotions did not help making Sawa likeable. Fukushi Sota... is Fukushi Sota. A really pretty face, popular enough to get lots of first roles, but he still doesn't have the talent to pull them off. He is decent, don't get me wrong, but for such a complex character like Rei, he lacked the skill. (I was nearly laughing hard at his scenes in episode 10 since his acting was so over the top!). The rest, well, good!

Music 9.5/10
Music in Japanese dramas never disappoint. I love that contrary to other asian dramas, there's hardly no lyrics, except perhaps for opening and ending songs. For AT,HWA the ending is sung by the crazy talented Ieiri Leo, and she's the queen of OSTs so I've got nothing to say. All the instrumentals were on point!

Rewatch Value 6/10
Why -4 points? A simple reason. It's not a bad drama, but its rewatch value is highly dependent on the surprising ending. Once you know the entire plot, it just seems so not worthy to rewatch? Idk, it's still fresh for me.

Overall, I like the fact they made a follow-up story, available on Hulu Japan only. I couldn't see it yet, but it sure is on my to-watch list if it is ever available elsewhere.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Star of the Universe
0 people found this review helpful
12 days ago
Overall 5.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 4.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
A drama that doesn't leave any aftertaste, no good one no bad one either. I was worried Suho's acting would be an obstacle to me getting into the story, but in the end, the female lead's acting was the worst. I wouldn't be able to explain why but she had a knack for getting on my nerves ; the male lead's acting lacked of feelings, passion, it was too bland, flat.
The plot could have been interesting but is very cheesy, and doesn't make sense at times. Small mistakes that get you out of it and doesn't let you jump back in.
I wouldn't watch it again, and wouldn't recommend it either!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Big Boss
4 people found this review helpful
12 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
I enjoyed “The Big Boss“ fully. I was on YouTube and found it by chance and i was soo happy. Let‘s begin the Review: (And I‘m sorry, if there are any grammer or vocab mistakes... english is not my first language)

I liked the story, it was very entertaining...wait „like“ is a understatement...I LOVED IT. I loved the chemistry between the chracters. I loved it, how they could solve any problem and got new friends. Let‘s talk about my „they“ in the last sentence. The whole cast was amazing. Ye MuXi, the female lead, monitor of the class, my favourite chinese female actor and a very cheerful and joyful (i think both adjektive mean the same but who cares?). And then there is Liao Dan Yi, the male lead, intelligent guy and the opposite of Ye MuXi. And then there is the whole squad, where everyone of them is uniq.

There is just one point in this show, which I didn‘t understand and like. Whenever there was a singing scene, the singing got dubbed. I was a bit stupid, but can live with it.

In summary, I really enjoyed it and recomend it to all who want to watch a comedy school-life drama with fantasy and much much more.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
7 First Kisses
1 people found this review helpful
12 days ago
Overall 6.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
This is the type of drama that I would recommend solemnly for the cast. I mean, 7 of some of the hottest hunks of the Korean drama industry, yes please! So if you like eye candy, then go for it! However, the story itself is very dull and not exciting at all, the female lead's acting skills were a bit too sloppy in my opinion. I get why the creators made this drama to advertise, because it really draws attention to some of the products and brands. For my liking, the drama was too transparent and lifeless. Would not re-watch it again!
Was this review helpful to you?
Secret Love Affair
2 people found this review helpful
12 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.5
Oh gosh, I just finished binge watching this over 3 days and I have to say, that this is one of the most beautifully scripted, acted and directed(both musically and visually) dramas I have ever watched.  Honestly, before SLA, I never knew of a K-drama that could be so inwardly and  intensely experienced.  (If anyone knows of any similar K-drama out there, please let me know!)

 While it can get quite dark and emotionally traumatizing to watch (having to see the characters you've come to love go through awful hell), there are also moments that are indescribably beautiful - of re-discovering oneself, of strength, of love. At the very least, it will likely leave you questioning and reflecting upon yourself, of how you have lived your life up to this present point.  

If you're on the fence about whether or not to watch this, I would say take the plunge if you're not afraid of trying something different and if you're open to shades of grey in life. :)

P.S. This is the first time I have ever liked a drama so much that I felt compelled to leave a review right after finishing it. That action in itself shows how much it has affected me.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Legend of the Condor Heroes
1 people found this review helpful
12 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.0
This version, out of the numerous adaptations of the same Jin Yong saga, the “Legend of the Condor Heroes”, is the least popular amongst those made in the last 30 years. However, this review was written with the hope that this version will receive more positive attention, as it is certainly deserving of it, being an earnestly and beautifully produced and directed show which did the fantastic saga justice.


Story
Story-wise, this was one of the most faithful to the saga in the novels. It was also relatively well-executed. Hence, the plot, story and execution were the strengths of this adaptation. However, it was not without flaws as the show focused on certain parts of the story more than others, resulting in an imbalance (as per the story in the novels). If one is not too nit-picky, that was still one shortcoming which can be overlooked.

Particularly worthy of note was the period while the story was based in Mongolia. There was more emphasis on this phase of Guo Jing’s journey in this version than there were in the others, and the care taken were admirable. If there is an absolute I dare assert with regard to the adaptations, it is that the 2003 version had the best Mongolia-based-phase out of all existing adaptations, no ifs or buts about it. It was truly fantastic, even with the inevitable flaws.


Cast/Acting
There were many criticisms and controversy with regard to the casting, especially for the main leads. However, while everybody has their own preferences for actors/actresses and their interpretations of the characters, personally, I found the acting and interpretations to be solidly competent and robustly interesting. I loved the Huang Rong and Guo Jing here. The only main issue I had was with Yang Kang and his actor, whom I thought overacted most times.

The rest of the cast also did very well and left a deep impression. I particularly appreciated the presence and gravitas some of the more veteran actors and actresses brought to the secondary characters, especially the more major characters of the wuxia masters.


Action sequences/CGI
While there were some annoying overuse of CGI, overall, I thought the usage was appropriate for the scenes they were employed in, and did not unnecessarily overshadow the more traditional kungfu moves during the same action sequences.


Cinematography
The cinematography here was simply breathtaking, with shooting locations spanning the breadth of China from the north to the south, giving a sense of deep realism to this version that moved me. In tandem with that touch of realism, the framing used also brought out the ethereal aesthetic of a black and white ink painting in many scenes, lending many scenes a sense of immersive beauty.

This version used a palette of muted and darker colours for its scenes, lending a dirtier, grittier and more epic feel to the whole show, which really matched the wuxia genre, I thought. Not only that, it lent a tinge of tragedy and bittersweetness throughout. While the story was a somewhat positive exposition on the journey of a patriot-hero, it was also a story littered with deaths and tragedies, and I applaud the show for not shying away from this sense of sadness through its visual presentation.


Costumes
The costumes and set pieces utilised here could be considered simple and drab, but were actually custom made for the show based on historical records and the novels, and here too, the effort to be true to its source material and historical background was clearly shown.


Music
While the tracks used here would have their work cut out for them in topping the nostalgic impact of the TVB adaptations’ theme songs, I never once thought it paled in comparison. The opening theme song, “Heaven and Earth Are in My Heart” was a marvelously epic encapsulation of the whole ‘hero’ journey, and the ending song, “True Love is Beautiful” was a lovely sentimental ballad which could well ensnare your audio senses. The musical score employed throughout the show was also suitably impressive - compositions which were predominantly classical Chinese instrumentals - elevating the impact of many scenes.


Conclusion
This is the least pretty adaptation so far, with an intensity and realism that made it a more plodding viewing compared to other versions. However, it was the one which I thought captured most concisely the essence of the saga as written in the novels - from story, acting, backdrop, feels, props to cinematography - which was essentially a distillation of the idealisation of Confucian values through the epic journey of Guo Jing. Hence, this version resonated deeply with me, and has remained my favourite out of all the ones I have had the pleasure to watch. It is truly a masterpiece worthy of its source material.


Choices

If dark, gritty and epic is your cup of tea, the 2003 version is highly recommended.

If a slightly revisionist-story, specific/well-known actors/actresses and general prettiness are your preference, the 2008 version might be a good choice.

If bright, pretty, romance-weighted and ‘idol-ish’ are your preferences, the latest 2017 version would be a fine choice.

If a good story, wonderful acting, nostalgia and simple curiosity (as to why they were such beloved classics), the early-1980s TVB/HK-versions are a must.

The 1996 remake from TVB would also be a solid choice, especially if Cantonese is your language of preference.


Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
12 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10
when I thought that my favorite BL series is "2 Moons", then after watching this, I would say that this is the BEST BL series I've seen so far..

The acting is really great, no awkward kissing, the couples have chemistry and the story line was really good...and I like that each character has its own story...and the ending was really good..

These are my favorite characters by the way :

*Yihwa - you will never find a girl like her - beautiful,smart,confident and a real friend..i want to have a friend like her...o no, i want to be her!!She is so BAD!
*Farm - if Bas has the cutest face I've seen, I would say that Game has the most innocent face. I love the way he played his character..its cute, funny and innocent. Im kinda sad though on what happened to him on the end
*Farm's ex-girlfriend - I forgot her name..but i really like her. I know that somehow she became a part of the antagonist team, but i never got annoyed or mad at her. almost all of her scenes are cute and funny. And I really find it funny, that while she is still in a relationship with Farm, both of them are trying to catch the pervert doctor's attention.
and of course, our main love team - Korn and Knock -- the chemistry is really great, great actors, no awkward kissing..they are the main reaon why we watched the show..

characters we love to hate :

Pleng - we all hate her. But the actress who played this character really played her role well. She is pretty and good in acting. I like her!

Dr. Bright - at first I liked his character. But on the last few episodes, his real character was revealed..and I am so disppointed and mad at him!!! He is cute and hot...and I am really mad on what he did to Farm..Farm doesnt deserve him. I want them to end up together but base on what happened, I dont think it is possible. One thing that I like about the series is on how they end the Farm and Bright story..its more realistic that they didnt end up together..Honestly, I am so mad at Dr. Bright that I almost forgot that he I Porsche, the sweet husband of Arm...he is the opposite of his character..


If I will have a chance to write a continuation of the story of Bright and Farm, I want them to meet again, talk and try it again.. But i dont want them to end up together.. I just want them to meet again to learn important lessons of life and move on and find happiness...

This series , for me, its satisfying, and the quality of this is really good...its now on top of my BL favorite list..I hope in the future, a new Bl series can beat this!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?

Recent Discussions