Sort by:
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Based on the first 4 episodes, this drama is very different from other Thai dramas which i watch, the series features 4 different sports, namely Volleyball, Badminton, Skateboard and Archery. This Spike edition focuses on Volleyball, despite Singha's sudden departure from Theppanya to St Sebastian. Than (whom is Singha's replacement quickly gel with the team especially with Puen who isn't friendly towards him. Than's never give up spirit and determination made Puen read more realises that he need to put their feud past and focus on winning in beating St Sebastian (whom Singha is in). Music wise is very different from other dramas, is a must watch for Volleyball supporters. 10/10
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Fighter of the Destiny
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 3.5
(the overall review was a deduction or summary of ll the other reviews below me)
1. story the story from my point of view was okay from the first 32 episodes but then all of the sudden the plot fell apart which distroyed my interest in the whole story ( am keeping the review short)

2. the acting for me was very poor the actors weren't interacting at all luhan was meant read more to play a pure and honesty and modest role but as i watched the story develop the love just seemed a bit.. fake the love didn't take time to develop they just out of no where feel in love . as for the actress bextiyar gulnezer is a very good actor as i admire her from "chinese paladin 5" and " the classic of the mountains and seas"
but this was not one of her best works so i rate it 7.5.

3. though i never really payed attention to the music in chinese dramas the music was i bit different from the fantasy element and story of the theme but i added all the reviews for the music and multiplied it by how many people that reviewed the drama below and got 11.5 and i ration the number to what i think it should get is 6.5

4. i never rewatched the drama because the story element fell apart during ep 32-the end

5. overall i got 6.5
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Chicago Typewriter
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Chicago Typewriter is a show that epitomizes slow and steady character development. Though the plot goes back and forth from present-day South Korea to 1930s Korea under Japanese rule, the story is fairly easy to follow with minimal twists and turns in the first few episodes. Since I have an interest in stories based in the early 20th century and didn't have much knowledge of Japan's occupation of Korea, I found the read more past plotline to be intriguing to watch and learn from. I think I was an even bigger fan of the past plot because this particular period isn't often found in Korean dramas (at least based on my experience in the K-drama-sphere), so it was in a way, a breath of fresh air. Romance, action, and comedy are often exhibited in Korean dramas, and Chicago Typewriter is no exception. It does not solely focus on one of these three typical genres over another, rather the show has a small, balanced slice of each. What the drama focuses most on is the character development and the characters' relationships, mostly the friendship exhibited between the three main characters. The soundtrack and score blends quite well with the complications and emotions of the trio's friendship (i.e. ranging from "sublime reminiscing/remembering" to deep sorrow to pure joy). I've rewatched bits and pieces of the drama, the poignant and most memorable scenes, rather than rewatched the show's entirety; in doing so, I've realized that being well-aware of what will happen made the story appear much slower for me. I would definitely recommend Chicago Typewriter to close friends who value and appreciate steady character development and a well thought-out storyline over big and bold action and romance.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Make It Right: The Series
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
The actors delivered the show beautifully,though there are still areas that need improvement. Some may dislike the music, but I find it catchy and it fits perfectly to the story. Great way to start an episode. The story is near perfection, perhaps something to answer some of the viewers confusion as to why Fuse can't leave Jean (I don't want to spoil). The cast is PERFECT! I've watched a couple of Thai read more Drama and I would have to say that they balanced well with everything. The show will make you gush, laugh, sad, mad and confused. I THINK that it gets better when you rewatch it, because there's not much of dull scenes. x
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Just You
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Since this was the very first Taiwanese dramedy I watched I won't shit all over it. In fact, this show taught me not only how to watch and what to expect from other T-dramedies, but that I shouldn't review them using American standards to avoid being overly critical. I've also found that translation is very important when there's a language barrier. Sometimes the translation can be too literal and the context of read more a scene has been misinterpreted.
However, for TTV shows like these, if you've seen one...
They're predictable, cookie-cutter affairs that are ripe with mellow-drama, Disney-style humor, and OTT performances, which is what they're supposed to be. Formulaic.
TaiwaneseTV producers know all too well who the hell their target audience is and more importantly that they're willing to spend money on products that are carefully displayed (product placement) throughout the episodes.
Anywho, what I find entertaining and interesting about these shows is how Taiwanese culture defines romance and gender roles.
Unfortunately for Aaron Yan's character, Yi Qi, I was introduced to the role of the romantic male lead for the first time or who I would come to know as the lead asshole -- an arrogant, condescending prick who gets a free pass for being a dick because he has mommy issues. Of course, he's good looking, earns a lot of money and is well educated so he knows better than everybody else, meaning he has the power. He's in control. In most of the TTV dramedies I've watched, this has been the case.
Enter Puff Kuo's character, Liang Liang, who I absolutely adored. Her eyes are amazing. I mean, why else would I give a rat's ass that her goldfish died. Liang Liang is so likable to the point that I felt that no man deserved her attention, much less her affection. I was hoping at some point early on that the writers would have her character exhibit more independence and kickassery. But after watching all 39 episodes of this show I've learned, sadly, that that type of female character is not popular.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Scarlet Heart
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
BRUH, THIS ONE WAS A ROLLER COASTER!

Some of the characters I liked at 1st ended up being disliked, and the ones I disliked ended up being liked very much more than the original ones. The unexpected deaths, though, those were really what caught me off guard. Still, this is a good drama I'd recommend to anybody who likes historical fiction.

10/10 from me!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Only Love Song
2 people found this review helpful
by John
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
Putting Gong Seung Yeon and Lee Jong Hyun together again after their honey dripping time on WGM was a stroke of genius for FNC! These 2 have awesome chemistry and they are visual eye candy. Gong Seung Yeon plays a type of part she has never played before, of a vivacious, feisty, arrogant Korean drama star with anger management issues and an arrogant attitude. She pulls it off with grace and style read more and still manages to look pretty and cute.

Lee Jong Hyun also shows sides of his acting ability never before seen, from silent, tough Busan namja to goofy pabo, but then slips back into his Busan namja leading man image again when required.

Together, they are golden. Their dramatic scenes are great, but what surprises is how well the play the comedic, slapstick humorous parts so well. It it obvious they are totally comfortable with each other. And the kiss scenes (5) well, I needed to turn up the A/C to cool down after watching them. Full on, open lips smooching like I've seen in only a few other Korean rom/coms. It's obvious to me they brought their A game to this drama, but I believe it is because they bring the best out in each other.

The script wanders and has a tendency to get lost at times, and there is a lot of replaying of old scenes, but the goofy, quirky, off center, sometimes slightly raunchy humor surprised and delighted me. It is as if they are portraying a tongue-in-cheek parody of Korean period dramas and the actors who star in them.

All in all a light-hearted piece of time slip rom-com that will have you laughing out loud in parts, and crying in others. I really enjoyed it. I hope they produce a Season 2 showing Ondal adapting to Korea in modern times. i t would be a hoot!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
MOON LOVERS also known as SCARLET HEART is the best. I've watched many korean drama but this one stay in my heart. Such an amazing drama, all the episodes are so captivating and all the cast are really great. Of all the korean drama I've watched this is number 1 for us. Highly recommended to everyone one.!!! Super favorite. BEST BEST DRAMA EVER SCARLET HEART
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Introverted Boss
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
I love introverted boss. Park hye soo so cute and they are acting very good. Woo jin best kisser better than ji chang wook. Thats my opinion
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
This is a drama with great cinematography. The story isn't bad either, but definitely falls off in the later episodes - maybe even halfway. The only thing I don't like is the music selection - I prefer more melodic, orchestral music, especially for historical dramas.

Overall, the production quality is great imo. Some of the camera shots are amazing.

The characters are fun to watch in the beginning and hooks you in. read more Unfortunately, it gets very melodramatic around the halfway point.

The cast is great, even greater for kdrama fans, especially for fans of good-looking male kdrama actors. They seem to have got them all in 1 drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Princess Hours
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 3.0
  • Rewatch Value 3.0
I started this drama with a lot of expectations because the Thai remakes of Full House and Playful Kiss were the best versions to me so far, so I was thinking they were going to do something as good with this story....Ehh no.
The story is exactly the same : Same jerk prince who cannot say a simple no to his ex, same annoying evil characters, and pretty much all the things read more the same.
What is different: the weeding is beautiful I must say, the landscapes are worth seeing, is not made in high school but university, she behaves more (a little bit) as a princess who knows her place and duty...but NO ROMANCE okay, the actress has a no kiss policy so you will only get real kisses from the ex girlfriend and the prince...yes, the second female leads get the real kisses.
The romance that was Goong is not there, and I don't think is blame in the actors (besides yes the no kissing policy) cause I can feel the chemistry is just like..something is off. I'm on episode 13-14 and they haven't get a real romantic scene. I give the story a 6 because is the same story, acting I think they are doing good with the script they have because is not the best. Music...Repetitive, boring. I will end this drama by habit of watching it but I think I could be using my time better watching Two Moons or something.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Eternal Love
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
I watched this series in 'marathon mode' over a period of three days. It was highly addictive to say the least. This drama was a beautiful display of Chinese cinematography, acting and storyline working together in complete harmony, balance and synergy to create a modern day masterpiece. I think this drama is a work of Art that shows true love can withstand the test of time and trials.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Princess Hours
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 1.0
  • Story 1.0
  • Acting/Cast 2.5
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Where to begin...
I can't fault (most) of the actors. They had very little with which to work. The script is almost nonexistent. There were so many directions the writer could have taken to make this an interesting remake. Instead the producers decided that the names of actors, pretty scenery, and beautiful costumes were enough to justify this horrendous piece of work. The director didn't help matters with his choices (again, sorry read more actors.) Editing was sloppy and use of music was even worse. I don't expect a masterpiece when watching any drama but I do hope that out of respect for those watching, those involved would strive for excellence and not just ratings. Very disappointing! This definitely goes down as the worst drama ever watched!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Princess Wei Young
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I just stumbled upon this on you tube and watched it because I saw Vaness Wu but my gosh this was one hell of a ride. It is an addition to my list of historical dramas. I did struggle to finish when I was already in episode 30 but nevertheless this drama is worth the time to watch. :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sassy Go Go
2 people found this review helpful
by Zoe
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
“Don’t forget that you will be happy tomorrow only if you are happy today.”

This line is for the perfectionist, workaholic kids out there, like me.
I was actually really impressed by the way this drama addressed not kicking people when they were down. And that that was the whole point about cheerleading. It’s not for those who are in their happy place or people who are necessarily good. It’s people who read more need cheering up. There is a lot of generosity in this show. It really hit home for me the importance of showing support for people even though it might not seem like much, even when it seems like words won't help the situation.

The plot is fast-moving. As soon as someone says they’re going to do something, they do it, and it gets resolved pretty quick. So I like that we don’t have to wait or dread future happenings. I was warned that this was some serious content, but at least none of the kids are dealing with poverty, teenage pregnancy, jail, sexual assault, or homelessness. I’ve only ever watched two school dramas and that’s what was entailed so, in comparison this was pretty smooth sailing. For the record, this is my favourite school drama ever.

Kim Yeol
“Kim Yeol isn’t someone who you can mess with.”

Our rival leader has such a happy and empathetic face, it’s hard to dislike him. He also does this weird head dip that you might see on older actors. It’s a bit strange. He of course pulls off his menacing side very well too.
Kim Yeol is rather resigned to the system. He’ll protect himself but he’s rather bored with life.

“Geez...even when I lie, I’m practically bursting with sincerity.”

I couldn’t help but like him. There’s something about his expression and delivery of his lines that entertained me. Even in negative circumstances, there’s a non-sardonic smile that finds its way to his face. It’s a bit contrary to the usual image of a high school king.
He’s quite direct, I like that about him too. That he doesn’t beat around the bush.

“You wouldn’t talk to me, so I had no other way. So I prepared a time and place for us to talk.”

It’s also a really interesting concept to have characters acting so mean to people but then so freakin’ loyal to others. It’s such a clear theme in this story.

“Pride? That seems to be the most important thing to you. But for me, that friend is a lot more important.”

Right from the first episode, there is no room for judgment as we see the “bad guys” established. Everyone has their reasons or knows how to make up for their mistakes. I’m glad, because I didn’t want to watch a drama that made me really angry at a particular person. It was nice that I could root for everyone.

Another theme is trust. Kim Yeol always goes on about not trusting adults and people in general. But he started to change when people started putting their trust in him.

Yeon Doo
Eun Ji has the biggest brightest smile that wants to make me laugh every time I see it. She plays her character in such a fun and realistic way. I feel like her creativity for doing her own thing is really off the charts. I mean showing up to the preppy classroom in a sleeping bag? Gosh, I love this girl.
I can also understand why everyone looks to her for leadership. She has so much charisma and charm and ferocity.
If someone tries to physically intimidate her she just gives it right back to them.
It’s also so great how loyal her posse is and how they all care about her so much.
Her loyalty is what makes everyone love her.

Dong Jae
I usually see N so full of himself so it’s nice to see him as the innocent and quiet Dong Jae.
I love the friendship between Dong Jae and Yeon Doo. I love that even when she’s mad she remembers not to have physical contact and instead bashes him with a tissue box.
Dong Jae keeps such a calm expression on his face all the time. Even in tense situations his face never carries any malice. I really liked that about him. He’s very accepting of whatever happens.

Kim Yeol - “Dong Jae always gives you strawberry milk. I’ll make myself different by giving you vanilla milk.”

Ha Joon
“He learned how to love even if it hurts.”

Everything that comes out of Ji Soo’s mouth is gold.
Ji Soo is once again a hot-headed, angry and suicidal kid.

“I cut myself. Do you know why I did that? Every time you beat me up I also hated myself to death. I felt like I was useless. But I don’t feel that way anymore. I still get depressed at times, but...I will try to hold on to myself from now on.”

I liked how he totally didn’t mind that his best bud was falling for their arch enemy. I really liked how he became friends with Yeon Doo. That gummy bear scene is so cute.

At first Ha Joon is only loyal to Kim Yeol. But then he started expanding his friendship circle. And he really is so brave with the way he backs up the crazy Yeon Doo. Ha Joon is the one character that really has everything on the line.

Yeon Do to Ha Joon - “That’s why you get mad because you don’t know your own feelings.”

Kim Yeol - “Seo Ha Joon! You traitor! Choose between me and Kang Yeon Do.”
Ha Joon - “Of course I’d choose you.”
Yeon Do - “Yeah!”
Ha Joon - “But she’s so strong...”


Ha Joon jokingly says, “If he cheats come to me. I’m very faithful, you know.”


Ha Joon’s relationship with Yeon Doo is really interesting. He wouldn’t have liked her so much if it wasn’t for him opening up to her because of his best bud’s interest in her. And he also loves her because she is so concerned about Kim Yeol, just like he is. His like for her almost seems like an extension of his friendship with Kim Yeol. He even (only) gets jealous when Kim Yeol gets jealous of someone else. Ha Joon likes to see Yeon Doo happy with Kim Yeol. Kim Yeol, is a bit more territorial haha.


“Wait...why am I jealous of them getting punished?”

I kind of like how the perspective on punishment changed throughout the drama.
For the posh kids, it was like it was the end of the world. But they came to see that it’s just part of life and sometimes it’s worth it, or sometimes being punished with your mates isn’t so bad as long as you’re together.

Romance
“Now you kids are flirting by using pickled radish?”

Bahahhaha.
In the end Kim Yeol and Yeon Doo were like a married couple looking after the kids, and supporting each other like a well-oiled machine. They’re such mature teens.

“If I’m alone with you under an umbrella...I may get myself in trouble.”
I like the premise of the two opposing gang leaders. A bit of a Romeo and Juliet. Even right from the start, almost every time Kim Yeol looked at Yeon Doo when she wasn’t watching he smiled or looked completely fixed on what she would do next.
It’s also interesting to see that it’s a relationship that could only develop if one of them was defeated. One of the things that Korean dramas like to do is let a hero see the heroine’s raw pain, and that is what moves him. I guess it’s a passion thing, that he saw her heart, and realised what he’d done to wound her.
I kind of liked how easy going Yeon Doo is. She’s not too prideful or spiteful against Kim Yeol.
They let a lot of words fly, but I feel like there’s a grudging respect on both sides.

“Hey, you idiot!”
“I’m No. 1 in this school!”
“I know, you No. 1 idiot!”

I love how Kim Yeol knows he’s being unreasonably jealous towards the naive Dong Jae and how he tries to drop hints to make Dong Jae go.

“You should eat at home! Your mum will be disappointed!”

Dong Jae – “Yeon Doo. Let’s eat dinner at your place.”
Kim Yeol - “Hey! E-e-eat….at your own place.”

I also liked how the couple showed the parents that it wasn’t puppy love.

Yeon Doo - “I was a person who didn’t think much, but just did things. I’ve calmed down a bit now. I’ve also learned to protect myself thanks to Yeol. ”

Kim Yeol - “I am grateful and happy that she believes in me no matter what. Now that I’m with Yeon Doo who believes in me...I’m beginning to have the courage to believe in other people.”

I also noticed that when Koreans want to change the conversation to something more intimate, they thank the person.

Bromance
Hell. Yes.

“It’s the first time I’ve seen this.”
“Huh? What.”
“That kind of expression on your face and you laughing like that.”

I love how observant the friends are. And the way Ha Joon notices how happy Kim Yeol is.

Kim Yeol - “We should do nothing. We don’t smile or cry. Let’s stay quiet as if we were dead. The adults want us to do that.”
Ha Joon - “That’s why I’m trying my hardest to survive. It’s all for you.”

Ha Joon -“I’m on my knees now for what Ha Joon did yesterday. Please forgive him.”

Kim Yeol - “I don’t care.”
Ha Joon - “It doesn’t sound like that’s coming from someone who turned the classroom upside down for her.”

I thought it was interesting the way the boys each showed their true colours in protecting Yeon Doo. For example, Kim Yeol always approached in a very predictable, political way while Ha Joon stood up for her in rather dramatic and risky ways.

Yeon Doo’s mother is the best. “It’s ok if you’re not good at studying. It’s not like your grades could get any lower, anyway. And dancing...I’ll allow it since you love it so much. But I won’t be able to stand it if you’re ostracised or in pain alone, ok?”
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No