Sort by:
Kiss Me
1 people found this review helpful
by Subi
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
To start of I am a kdrama fan and don't really bother wading from familiar waters, unless I see excellent reviews from a certain drama from different countries. Thai dramas I really really doubted, but boy was I in for a surprise with this one! I finally gotten my hands on finding full house Thai version and fell in love with the leads and was ecstatic to find that they had done read more another drama together. I have watched all the versions of ISWAK and this is the BEST!!!

I didn't think that these two could get cuter than they were in full house but to me they were PERFECT in kiss me! The story is altered slightly but this version has the right amount of everything to make you fall in love with the characters! I have become a huge fan of Mike and Aom!

The difference in the characters makes this version far better for me! The girl isn't super dumb and has pride in herself throughout the series and the male lead is not way too arrogant so that you would actually ship the girl with the second lead.

Although there were some slight flaws such as the lead taking way too long to make a firm decision in his life but he does in the end and you can feel that his type do exist. Those who take too long to make decisions but when they do they make it for a lifetime and are committed.

The couple scenes are really really cute and I just ended up wanting more!!!! I loved this series very much and hope Mike and Aom make new dramas together! Love this couple! Ship ship ship!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Star of the Universe
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
10 days ago
10 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Aww man....just finnished this drama. Someone call the doctor, i think i *OVERDOSE*
First let me start with the story - as a girl,i was jumping in my seat the entire time =). The story has perfect timing and its not too slow or too fast. This drama for 3 episodes(thats how i watched it) can be considered a masterpiece and i loved every minute of it. The story. the cast and read more THE *PLOTTWIST*!

Acting/Cast - First let me start with the star of this drama Ji Woo(Byul) she did so well in this drama * claps* considering she is playing a main lead for the first time she did 6/6 and i didnt hate her character. I have seen her only in the movie Cart and the drama You're All Surrounded so i know she has big potential! I cant wait to see her in another drama as a main lead because she was the main main here for me! (Cant believe she is only 1 year older than me 0_0)....
Next: Kim Jun Myeon(Suho) did really well and the character he played is.... i wish i could find myself a man like him *sobs*. His acting was good and i hope he does just as good in his next upcoming drama I eat bread.
Next: Shin Hyun Soo was a full of suprises in this drama and the twist damm... I have seen him in Remember - War of the son and i hope that he gets the main role one day, now that he has 2 dramas that did well! Lets cheer him on!
Lets include Na Hae Ryung she did really well as well. All off the cast can be described as full of potential and i hope they do well in the future because they did 1000/1000 in this drama!

Music - *cries* Really good now because of this drama, i will cry everytime i hear Suho....i mean Kim Jun Myeon sining. So good 10/10. All the leads are so talented!!!

Rewatch value - YES! I will watch it again, once my chest pain is gone, i will watch it all the way to episode 2 (you know...) Watch it if you havent already!

Overall- This drama touched my soul, my heart, my ears,my brain even my appendix! Because they all have feelings now 0_0 !!! Some people have watched this like a 10 minute episode drama with 21 episodes but i waited for all of them to be out like a 3 episode drama and i recommend you watch it like that. You will not regret it, i don't... maan i hope i find myself a man so cute as Woo Joo...
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Goblin
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 1.0
  • Story 1.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
5 episodios he durado. Todo en esta serie es tan absurdo que no te motiva a seguir viéndola. Lo mejor la música y los actores, pero no consiguen sostener la lamentable trama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
High Society
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 5.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
Honestly I dropped this drama at first but then continued watching it and the only thing I have to say about it is that the only interesting scenes (at least for me) were the ones with Chang Soo and Ji Yi. The rest of the drama was boring and uninteresting, the romance of the main couple was lacking and the story line was super messy. Overall an okay drama but I'd skip read more most of it and only watch the romance between Chang Soo and Ji Yi.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
Absolutely adorable from start to finish. Well constructed story, perfectly casted. I didn't feel the desire to skip over a moment of it. I could easily watch it again in the future.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
General and I
14 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 5.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 4.0
I had extremely high expectations for General and I. I'm a long-time fan of Wallace Chung; I've liked him since his role as Nalan Xingde in The Secret History of Kangxi. After I heard that he was going to take up the role of Chu Beijie in General and I, I promptly went to read the entire novel. The novel itself certainly impressed, but I can't say the same for the drama read more adaptation.

The reason why the novel stood out is because of the balance of power between the male and female leads. They are intellectual equals, quite unlike Kdramas where the male leads tend to be more dominant, and unlike the trend of female-centric Cdramas where the female leads tend to be smarter while the male leads are really just supporting characters who wield huge power to lend a hand in times of emergency (Princess Weiyoung). I think they tried to maintain the same balance in the drama as well, and I'll give them a little bit of credit for that.

From now on, I'll talk about the divergence between the novel and the drama, and my thoughts on whether these are sound/positive modifications:

1. First up, the character conceptualisation. In the book, the Jing An - He family was executed by the Yan king because their achievements are so great that the Yan king finds it unsettling. Chu Beijie did not play a part in inciting the Yan king. He merely pushed the decision by deliberating losing the battle which made the Yan king even more uneasy. There's no talk in the novel too about Chu Beijie wanting to cease battle to protect the civilians. In fact, I remember distinctly that Chu Beijie wanted to expand the territories of Jin; he was battle-hungry. There is clearly a huge difference in the personalities of the character for the drama and the book. I can see why it was changed. It's to make Chu Beijie a more likable character who regards the welfare of the civilians above everything. Personally, I prefer a male lead who isn't this "perfect" and one-dimensional really. I don't like this, but I can see people preferring it. The biggest change in Chu Beijie is how weak he's become in the drama. He was captured and tortured three times! For his love, of course, very "romantic", but I do prefer the book where he was a lot smarter and didn't have to rely on the damsel to save him in times of distress at all. Bai Pingting also didn't need any rescuing in the novel as well. On the other hand, the drama just turned into this cycle of Chu Beijie saving Bai Pingting, then vice-versa, and rinse and repeat again.

2. Next, we have the process of falling in love. Oh god. This is probably the most annoying aspect of the drama. In the book, Bai Pingting was captured by slave traders during her escape (when the Yan king was trying to kill the He family). She was then sold to the Hua family in Jin and became attendant to the
young mistress. She caught the attention of Chu Beijie while playing the zither. Chu Beijie thinks that she is Miss Hua, they fall in love, and Miss Hua makes use of Chu Beijie's affection towards "her" to cancel her previous engagement so that she can marry her beloved. Bai Pingting's servant identity was revealed, and she eventually stayed in Chu Beijie's manor. Even though the two of them are in love, they are wary of each other. Bai Pingting wants to know her young master He Xia's whereabouts whereas Chu Beijie knows that Bai Pingting isn't who she claims to be (Yang Feng). After some mutual scheming and whatnot, they separate. Isn't this a refreshing storyline? But in the drama, they chose to make the leads childhood sweethearts. If I wanted to watch childhood sweethearts, any bloody Kdrama will do. Why add in such a cliched plot device? Damn. Furthermore, Chu Beijie recognised Bai Pingting as the little girl he met, and decided that he must FORCE her to marry him. And somehow she gradually loves him back, for no rhyme or reason at all. What the hell?

3. The addition of a lot of vertices to the love polygon. Jealous, unscrupulous female character who loves the male lead, check. Another female character who falls for the male lead while the leads are separated, check. In the novel, it was just a love square and it was complicated enough already.

These are just some of the more obvious changes. And all adverse ones in my opinion. The drama honestly would've been much better if it was more streamlined and stuck to the novel like gum to the underside of the table. 62 episodes is way too much. I guess they had no choice but to extend the story with such stupid tropes to keep it going.

To add on, here are some of the flaws in production:

1. A glaring one is the green screens that they used. The first episode had really well cheoreographed fight scenes with pretty natural looking scenery. From then on, it just seemed like a lot of the characters were cut and pasted onto the background. It's so awkward to watch. So much money pumped into the production and this is the result? I can understand that Angelababy was pregnant and perhaps they had to speed up filming, thus leading to this. But I can't help but feel a little cheated. Looking at the trailers alone, I expected a gorgeous-looking drama on or exceeding Princess Weiyoung's level. Nevertheless, the end-product was far from that.

2. Also, the dubbing. Wallace's dubber is just horrible. He has this slightly unorthodox pronunciation, kind of Cantonese-like, which makes him (actually, his voice) sticks out like a sore thumb. Plus, the voice totally doesn't suit the character. You can definitely get used to it, but it took me more than 10 episodes (still don't like it).

3. Styling. I'm pretty sure Princess Yaotian looks great in real life, but her styling in the drama does nothing for her. It looks horrible! The guys' long hairstyles looked like crap on all of them except Ze Yi and Fan Lu as well. I mean, Wallace Chung and Sun Yizhou looked fantastic with the man bun I have no idea why they had to give them the long hair/dreadlocks. I know it's to differentiate between the different territories but really it's so inconsistent that it's useless.

4. Chu Beijie's deliberate act-cool moves *cringe* (dramas need to stop doing this to their male leads). Forcibly trying to make your male leads "cool" tends to achieve the exact opposite effect. Also, why does he need a mask?

Now here comes the positives. Well, the non-negatives. Some of these are not even well done but just good enough:

1. The cute loveline between Fan Lu and Zui Ju. I didn't pay much attention to this subplot in the novel itself. However, the actors portraying the two characters actually brought more appeal to this storyline in the drama compared to the novel. Zui Ju is probably the most likable character in this entire drama, despite the bad acting (so, so bad). I was worried that they were going to alter this storyline when they gave Chu Moran and Zui Ju a lot of interactions during the time Chu Beijie broke away from the Jin court. Thankfully, they didn't change it that much.

2. The acting. Angelababy gets a lot of flak for being unexpressive. I don't actually think that she is that bad. I'm just slightly bothered by her constant smile, which just distracts me a little when the occasion clearly does not call for it. It may also be an after effect of plastic surgery though. Imo, she improved towards the end of the drama. Everyone else were just on par. The duo above (Zui Ju and Fan Lu) were cute but they are obviously very green. I'm not picky about the acting as long as it doesn't come across as unnatural, so in this aspect the drama gets a passing mark in my book.

3. Yaotian's ending. I liked He Xia and Princess Yaotian's romance more in the novel, even though the author didn't really touch on it much. In the drama, the two had very little chemistry (actually, chemistry was virtually non-existent for both pairings). Yaotian's ending is the same, but the way it ended was slightly different. I think they didn't want to make He Xia look too bad. But I actually like how "evil" he is in the book, and how tragic this pairing became. I thought it added more flavour to the story.

4. The OST. I must say, they have some really nice songs. My favourite is the duet by William Wei and Claire Kuo, followed by Tan Jing's song. The opening and ending themes don't appeal to me though.

In summary, I think the drama definitely falls short of expectations. It had good source material, but did not make good use of it. It had a huge budget, but didn't spend enough effort trying to refine the drama. If anything, the production itself just screams unprofessional to me. I do wish that they won't rush the filming so much, and gave more time to post-production as well. It could have been at least a pretty drama to look at, but now it's just... a huge disappointment. I usually write reviews only when I really like a drama, or when I hate it (don't ask me why I watch it all even though I dislike it, it's a childish question). General and I belongs to the latter. I'll give it a personal 4.0, but I'll scale this to a MDL rating of 6.5 [1].

-- Footnotes --

[1] The drama has a rating of 3.6 on Douban as of the time this review is written which is far closer to my personal grade but MDL just has biased ratings. You can see it. Candle in the Tomb, a fantastic drama, is rated 8.3 on MDL and 8.2 on Douban. G&I, an awful drama in comparison, is still rated 8.0 on MDL but only 3.6 on Douban. Therefore, if you are a longtime Cdrama watcher, 3.6 is probably fair and what you should take into account when deciding whether to watch or not. (Just revised my rating to 6.5, because 7 sounds average, but the drama is really below average.)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
This one was very fresh, enjoyeble, adorable!! I loved the plot, the characters also the secondary one who were really well made, and never left behind!! The acting was amazing for such new entry casts, loved every cameo
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
General and I
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
It’s surreal how much I’ve came to love General & I. Surreal as I don’t tend to fall in love easily for any drama but General & I has been easy to love, too easy and too difficult to let go but that’s the thing with great loves, they mark you the most and are harder to overcome, if ever.

The story is simple and cliché: two very intelligent war mastermind adversaries, read more one a general, nicknamed the God of War, the other a female strategist. Pitting against one another they’re formidable opponents: mind versus matter, prediction versus adaptability. Together they’re unstoppable. That’s the reason everyone wants to keep them apart. It’s not that they’re weaker separately, but rather unbeatable together. Chu Bei Jie is the general of the kingdom of Jin, related to the king by blood. Bai Ping Ting is a childhood friend of the Prince He Xia, a sworn enemy of Chu Bei Jie. Chu Bei Jie and Bai Ping Ting fall in love but their love is an obstacle to the wishes of the king of Jin, the Royal Consort, the Chancellor and to He Xia. Through tick and conniving plots, Bei Jie and Ping Ting are separated. After years of turmoil in the land, they reunite again for their love towards one another to fight against He Xia and unite the land under one empire, bringing peace to the people and stability to the land they so dearly love. This is the story in a nutshell but the drama is so much more than that, is the sacrifices one makes for the loved ones, the sacrifices one makes for family, for country, for honour, the battles one faces not to conquer to dominate but to conquer to maintain peace and to fight for the ideals of a better world and at opposite ends for everything antagonistic to that. For that reason the story is a 10 out of 10 without another thought.

The main catalyst characters: Chu Bei Jie, Bai Ping Ting & He Xia

Chu Bei Jie performed by veteran Hong Kong actor Wallace Chung and embodies the personification of Mars, the mythological God of War in every sense. He’s strong, determined and wrecks havoc amongst those foolish enough to get in his way. He’s smart and a brilliant strategist, able to adapt to local circumstances like no other. He’s also fiercely loyal to his king and to the woman he loves, never doubting her, never losing faith in her. He’s also not afraid to show his emotions to her, to hold her, to comfort her, to cry in her presence. Wallace Chung performs Chu Bei Jin brilliantly. He is Chu Bei Jin. For a man in his early 40’s to perform Chu Bei Jin, a character that is over 10 years his junior, to perform the stunts that he performs in the drama with the agility of a man half his age is a feat not accomplished by many and Wallace Chung does it effortlessly.

Bai Ping Ting is performed by Chinese A-List Angelababy. She took time to get used to on screen. Initially it was a struggle to see Bai Ping Ting. She appeared to passive when the character is anything but. Every scene seemed to drag with Angelababy’s performance. Is not that she was bad, rather she wasn’t good either. She was just flat and continued to be flat. Her emotions were so utterly standardized it was hard to empathize with Bai Ping Ting, despite liking the character so much on paper. It seemed that she was despondent of life and just existed. It was sad to watch. However as the episodes moved on, her performance grew more convincing, perhaps due Wallace Chung and Sean Sun’s performances who elevated the drama and by consequence perhaps made her elevate her performance as well. Bai Ping Ting is a character with more spunk than what was portrayed but saying that Angelababy’s performance was nice to watch with Wallace Chung and Sean Sun.

He Xia is performed by Sean Sun and what a remarkable performance that was as well. He’s younger than Wallace Chung yet on screen their prowess’s are evenly matched. He Xia is despicable and vindictive and a pain in everyone’s side. He marries for power then when he loses the woman he didn’t know he loved is too late. He could’ve been happy but he chose to pursue vengeance and in the end vengeance took over him and he lost himself. Sean Sun is phenomenal performing He Xia. He’s unreadable. His face demonstrates nothing, his actions demonstrate everything.

The secondary characters: the King, the chancellor, the Queen Consort, the Princess, Lady 13…what is interesting about them is that their role in the drama doesn’t drag. Once their purpose is finished they no longer appear in the drama. Normally secondary characters tend to stay in a drama from beginning to end but here, they don’t which is different but good. Once they no longer contribute to the story, bye bye and another character appears to take their place with the exceptions of the King of Yin and Princess Bai Lan. Acting/Cast, I would give it a 7. Not all characters are convincing but that mishap I gladly overlooked as I really enjoyed the drama.

The OST is nice, it’s not outstanding but it’s nice and it matches the drama well. In a scale of 0 – 10, it’s a 6.

Re-watch value: 10 out of 10. I loved Chu Bei Jie, loved, loved, loved the character and Wallace Chung! Bai Ping Ting matched him in every way possible. They’re a couple made in drama heaven, the Ying and the Yang, complements! Their battles against one another were phenomenal and when they put their heads together to fight their enemies was amazing! The drama remained solid and consistent if, dragging at times but that didn't compromise the story, building up to the reunion which ought to be watched again and again and again!

Overall General and I is as perfect a drama as they get even with its imperfections and flaws. As everything in life is anything but perfect the drama is a pure example of it, a story that is utterly perfect despite how unperfect and challenging it was along the way!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Maou
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 2.5
You may be thinking that I'm being a little too generous for my ratings, but this show broke me in so many ways I'm still speechless.

Story:

Not your average revenge plot, I can tell you that. This story is based around Serizawa Naoto and Naruse Ryou (Manaka Tomoo). Naoto is a Detective whose past comes back to haunt him in the most unforgiving of ways, while Ryou plays a wolf in read more sheep's clothing posing as the 'angelic lawyer'. It's interesting how this show didn't follow most revenge-based cliches, as there are no protagonists or antagonists, no soppy romance getting in the middle. It's dark, and unforgiving.

This show questions morality, love, forgiveness, justice and how one deals with loss. Whether it turns you into a monster, or saves you from the monster.

Acting/Cast:

Ho~ Ho~ The acting in this is superb. My opinions are in no way bias, yes i am in love with Ikuta Toma's work as I am familiar with him in Ouroboros, but I did not expect this - this punch to the gut. He and Ohno Satoshi were on the same wavelength throughout the drama. Seeing them work together, feeding off of each others emotions, it's captivating to watch. Ikuta Toma was MADE for this role just as much as Ohno Satoshi was. Some may think Ohno Satoshi's acting was a little wooden, but that's purely subjective. i thought the same too in the first episode or two, but afterwards he's quickly become my favorite actor who i'm now looking out for. The supporting cast was equally as great, but these two stand out.

Music:

Meh, in the beginning I thought it was a little bit cheesy. Yet, as I made it to the last couple of episodes the music was making my heart ache in emotion.

Rewatch Value:

Maybe after a month or two I'd come back to watch a couple of episodes. All subjective. If you're a masochist, yeah, you could watch it.

Overall:

Easily one of my top favorites. A show that'll stick with you throughout your life.

This is by all means not a happy show, it's brutal and dark. If you're looking for some romance, or Ikuta Toma kawaii-ness, turn back.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Runway
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Just finished watching this on Netflix.
I have to admit, I have scrolled past this one many times and never thought much of it, but today, having run out of dramas to watch, I finally pressed play.

I watched it all in one sitting and here's why:
*In the first episode it established the characters, and not only was the casting down right it paved the way to a really interesting body read more swapping story line. A teen girl & an arrogant top model.
*It addresses many of the issues if it was to really happen :) making it funny and not too outrageous in an already outrageous situation.
*The cast played their characters well, didn't have a moment where I thought "er.... really?" on top of that the humour was well written. Not too cheesy, just enough.
*I won't spoil the ending but I am so glad it ended how it did, no weird drag outs. It ended with full closure for us.

I only scored low for the music because in dramas the music is important to me, and in this one, I didn't really notice it, no memorable song, nothing. I may have to rewatch to listen out for it. For myself, I generally fall in love with the OST and go on to research the songs but not with this series.

It's a short series compare to what I normally watch, but I definitely will be recommending this to others, fun and humorous comedy before we sit through another drama.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
High Society
1 people found this review helpful
by Nora
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 6.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
I had my ups and downs with thjs drama that I had to put it aside for a while in order to be able to finish it. I gotta be honest, it's kind of nothing special or new or maybe I just think that. But I really liked the actors especially the second leads. Park Hyungsik is a really talented actor and I hope he gets more recognition cause he deserves it. read more At first I kinda hated the first leads cause I just didn't feel the chemistry, there was none! But with the progress of the drama I started slightly feeling it, it wasn't great but it worked. As for the whole family dramas, I got really bored watching them thay sometimes I had the urge to skip those parts all together but I lived through them! To sum it up, I mainly watched because of the second leads to be honest cause they were just really cute and I loved them together. And to end this, I can honestly say that it wasn't bad but don't have high expectations either cause it's just not that kind of drama and my rating is actually because of the second leads cause if it weren't for them, this would have been a floop!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
While I was quite excited to start Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo, I can not say that this show delivered as much as I expected. I definitely laughed, and the actors in the show were excellent, but the plot line just did not catch my interest in the way I hoped it would.
Overall, the story itself is pretty simple and typical. This is not to say that the storyline itself is read more bad; it is a good show for casual viewing and for those looking for something heartwarming to kill time. However, if you are looking for something fresh and original, I would not say that this drama nails that on the head. I found that the plot lacked much individuality besides the main protagonist being a weightlifter. The story itself is pretty predictable and follows the traditional kdrama "childhood friend love story" plot line.
Would I rewatch this show? No. Would I recommend it to someone who likes love stories? Yeah, sure.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love Keeps Going
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
In many ways this is pretty standard romance drama fare, but the leads have chemistry and the story didn't stagnate but kept moving. I actually like that the female lead, while being a pleaser/fixer type person wasn't really a pushover and was quite smart. I also like that there really wasn't an instalove situation with the leads either. I downgraded this show because the side stories didn't do too much for me, read more it took a weird turn around episode 9 to 10 and though I thought the ending was quite clear, it left some people confused. Never a good sign when your audience doesn't get it, but again I think it is quite understandable and didn't have issues with it.

It's on the shorter side for T-Dramas (13 episodes) so for the nice chemistry I would give it a go with some judicious use of the fast forward button.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 5.5
  • Acting/Cast 6.0
  • Music 6.0
  • Rewatch Value 2.0
The reason why I chose this drama among the lot, is the number of great reviews it got. I've read words like "perfect", "unforgettable" and "awesome" in regard to it, so I started with more than a little expectation. These high praises are also the reason why I'm writing a review myself; because perhaps out there there's someone like me who'd find words like "bland", "silly" or "yawn inducing" much more befitting read more to this particular drama.

The plot is sweet enough, but I truly fail to see its purpose. The premises, that is, a girly girl who lifts heavy weights, could have been everyone else that comes to mind – a clown, a dock worker, a truck driver or a simple student. The sport of weightlifting itself does absolutely nothing to deeply define this girl, except for 2 details: 1st, the hardship of balancing love for this sport with the basic womanly needs of being pretty; 2nd, the ridiculous choice of main actress, who is as believable as a weightlifter as I am as the first queen of Goryeo.
In Cheese in the Trap, the last drama I saw her acting in, someone called her "a giraffe", which I'd say is quite accurate a description. Lee Sung Kyung is tall, thin and beautiful, and her acting here consists of an alternation of pouts and a goofy gate that should lead us to believe she's not feminine. While watching, I spent a lot of time deciding whether I should raise one eyebrow or both.

The humour is off, at least for my taste. I didn't laugh once. There's too much screaming and wrestling, and most of all, there's too much eating. When I enter the realm of Korean drama, I'm psychologically prepared to see people eat at every opportunity, but here they really don't do much more. The quantity of food – and junk food – shoved into everyone's mouth is such that I got nauseous.

Acting is average. None of the actors shine in his or her performance, possibly because the script has no room for deep characterization. This isn't even a coming of age kind of story, since all characters end up being basically the same they were in the beginning, but with a partner. All the interesting cues, those that somehow delved deeper into the emotions of some characters, are conveniently skimmed and resolved in the space of a few minutes. Everyone lies to everyone else and calls it either friendship or protection. Bah.

There is some music… I think.

Never to be rewatched. Once was enough to establish this is not my kind of drama and simply forget about it. My 6 is due to the fact that I completed it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Princess
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
I started to watch this drama as I was looking for a light romance, I had shed enough tears with the other romantic dramas, so I decided to give it a go, without having any expectations.. From the first episode I started to enjoy it..

The chemistry between the characters were great, I shipped them from the first moment, The museum scene was quite funny, she acted like she is dating with read more our chaebol to make the museum president jealous, she was there to check on her as she is the girl her prof loves...


Lee Seol is a college girl who has a crush on her archeology prof portrayed by Ryu Soo Young, I can't blame her every girl wants an intellectual guy, but her prof is in love with the Dea Han Museum President since he was a college student, who is going to be engaged with our Chaebol..

Yoon Jo is set to be engaged with our chaebol, her ex is the prof, but whenever she is not ok, she runs into arms of prof, he is another idiot its been many years since you break up and you have not changed your pin to enter to your flat.. for what reason??

The Church scene on ep4, when Lee Seol's mother puts her letter written to her instead of her prayer letter into the box and when the father / priest started to read it on Sunday Prayers, that scene was quite funny, it is the start of many misunderstanding, this let people to think she is pregnant, and even the priest got shocked but then he said it is normal these day, what would he say at that moment :))

The scenes with prof and our chaebol is fantastic, they both like / love her without knowing their feelings at the time, during the scenes I was humming let the two tigers fight haahh ( this is way before the love developed in between the characters)

Lee Seol is loud, a bit naive but she is beautiful with a good heart, she is quite lively, I loved the outfit and tiara she was wearing when she was looking after her mother's hostel... Her transformation is amazing..

When Hae Young chucked out from his flat by his granddad he goes to department store for clothes shopping, but he accidentally goes to women's lingerie part and starts to look around at the same moment Princess is also at the department store and happens to pass from the same section, he's been caught while hiding behind the mannequin with sexy lingerie on eh while he is holding the mannequin everybody gives him a look :)) ofcourse he has not only been chucked out of his flat grandad put hold on all his credit cards.. :))

later on he's been assigned to teach her some etiquette. that's the time when they find a chance to get more close...

We can see our chaebol is jealous of the prof.. How many times they came face to face and the anger in between them, oh gosh.. they could have easily have choked each other. One is certain of his feelings but not openly telling her, the other one is hiding and denying it as long as he can...

The fiance Yoon Joo thinks she can jump from one men to another one whenever she wishes, she's so arrogant and selfish, mean, she does not know what she wants, maybe a little bit jealous because she knows the guy she wants as a fiance and her ex are all falling for Lee Seoul... She even selfishly can say whether you leave the palace on your own or we get you out of the palace time to disappear of.. that's being mean, jealous and selfish. It is public who is going to decide not you, it is not OK to say there's no one on your side in the palace.

There is no reason to hide her past, as the public would love her more if they learn she was one of them, working hard to earn money...

There are also plots twists in the drama, such as Lee Seol's & Hae Young's first meeting... Well if you are watching the drama now and if you are on the first episodes you obviously think yeah yes when she was acting as the princess when she was on part time job.. wait and see.. it was a bit surprising for me not expecting this...

Princess & Chaebol has got opposite characters, while one is warm, open hearted ,the other one is like an iceberg, calculated..

We do have to wait a little bit for their first kiss but it was unexpected for both parties.... first kiss is shared on a snowy winter day while it is snowing..

On a drunk night when our Chaebol put our princess to bed, the alarm bells were already ringing for him.. he already fell for her no matter how he tries to deny it....

Yoo Joon using both men for own benefits, and she has still hopes to marry one of the other, she insanely thinks whatever I can get, whoever I can get is on my benefit.. Sorry Yoo Joon you are destined to be single for the rest of your life.. You should not be this much btch..

Both men are proud of Seol but one is showing this with his body language and emotions while the other one is not showing anything at all, just standing there like a statue, without showing any emotions at all.

Later on YJ assigned as a director in the palace and she has done her best to make Seol uncomfortable but at the end she could not beat her..

at the end YJ lost both men, while trying to get a better one....... at the time.. but let's see what future brings for her... Men are brainless so I am guessing prof will take her back, though she does not deserve any of these guys.

Lee Seol is not like Anne Hathaway in Princess Diaries.. She has a more mature character comparing to Anne in Princess Diaries.

When Nam Jung Woo speaks I feel like he is speaking in French, so sexy hahaha

Lee Seol & Hae Young has got that much frustration that my tv room was about to set on fire .... :))

The reaction grandad gave when he learned that the two spend the night alone in one room was worth to see / watch :D

HY & YJ are in a way forced to marry.. Not gonna say whether the wedding is set or not.... Well hell Pandora's box is open after grandad asked them to marry.. Well cards are all open and on the table now, let's wait and see..

Somebody finally understand that YJ is after the money..

She is too bitchy that she wants both men for herself. She even send a text msg to both men but luckily both men were together when they received the text msg from her...

It was quite funny when Joo Sang Wook appeared as an oppa and LS wanted to give him a warm hug and been pulled by HY haaah

Her sister is another bitch....

YJ is so evil that she even went to LS's orphanage to investigate.. but she was shocked to see LS coming to orphanage with prof.

When 2 revival females goes up for a drink, you know what's coming next, their claws are sharpened and ready for a cat fight...

LS & HY both likes to chicken out, she chickened out when HY asked him if she likes Mr P or NJW, he chickened out when she asked if he is still the enemy...

Sisters and YJ characters are more or less the same, jealousy, evilness, being over confident and selfish. She even dares to claim the sachet as hers and shows this prof with the influence of the director.

She became so pro that she even prepared her own course schedule.

ahh guess who is going to give her music & dance lessons

"RAIN OPPA"

I had too much expectations. royal wedding , honeymoon and half a dozen of babies
President asked him not to marry Seol and go to Washington bec of tax fraud image?? We see that he is not a strong character, he can’t cope with things…


If the president asked him to kill himself was he gonna kill himself?


what did we had at the end.. He did not even propose her properly..


He just left that big rock by the fountain pool. So he is at the airport waiting to go to Washington DC he looks around and can not see the Seol, so he jumps into the plane, he asked for a glass of red wine, when he was about to sip a hand stopped him, he looked it was Seol, he asked her how did she got in? She said bec you wanted bec I wanted.. He give her a kiss, she gave him a passionate kiss, end of story!! So where is the wedding? what did we have? Did she dropped being a princess??

If she wanted to give up being a princess why did not she do it when he first asked her to be his woman??This does not make sense. We need a sequel, remake, with a proper ending.. thats it…


One big slap to the moron prof, that woman played with you not only with you with HY, she tried to harm your student which you also had a crush on. She tried to damage the imperial family image, and you open your arms and say welcome back to me baby… Ahh Jeezzz I had enough of idiot brainless men in this drama…. This woman dumped you for HJ, dumped HJ for you, caused so much tantrums, problems blah blah, and you forget things and forgive this much easily!!! so let her get away with things with a blink of an eye, let the evil win…


They should have solved this princess issue by ep 8 and by episode 16, we should have seen, Mr.P's dad is now back to Korea, everything is resolved. Mr P & Seol is married with a one daughter, Seol is expecting their 2nd child, the child is running around the palace garden.. etc etc.. Seol, Mr P and dad is sitting and enjoying the bright summer's day and suddenly we see her rushing to the hospital, she gave birth to a son, the future prince. They are both happy, they took the children to the sea where they scattered the chairman's ashes.. They share a big, passionate kiss, daughter asks what dad is doing to mummy :P blah blah blah.

I expected a much more better ending ahh that's left to our imagination.....

I am so angry that they have only give us a couple of kisses, they had such a great chemistry

So such a great chemisty is wasted, Now Kim is married to Rain oppa and I don't think we'll ever see her in such a cute a romance, maybe Rain oppa will get jealous hahah

We can clearly see why Rain OPPA got married with this beautiful girl :)) ( Kim Tae Her)

Oh God !!! I love Song Seung Heon and thanks to his sweetness I turned into a fan girl after watching his few dramas

If you want to see more of him jump to Saimdang, the Herstory, currently airing on dramafever.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No