Sort by:
Scent of a Woman
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 5.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
So, the first few episodes are kind of boring someone might drop this if you have many dramas in your watch list, But wait till she goes on her vacation to Japan. Once she goes there and meets our main lead that's when this drama started to get interesting for me.

I have watched Lee Dong Wok in My girl, Hotel king (dropped), Goblin (dropped), blade man (dropped) and this is his read more best drama (for me). As an actor he was great in Blade Man but I didn't like drama on whole.


My favorite and most memorable part is when in episode 8 he walks in their tango class, throws his jacket, rolls his sleeves and grabs her waist, pulls her closer and starts doing the tango.

I loved it throughout then and I was also happy with its ending.

I started this drama because I was out of dramas as usual. I was hesitant at first because I don't like such dramas where you know main lead is going to die. But I am glad I gave this drama a try. There are very very few dramas that I watch till the end. If I crossed 12 episodes then i will definitely watch remaining episodes till 16 even if I am still hooked or not.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
The story was great I like the plot it's not to hard to understand and it was fun to watch also great ending.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 4.0
  • Story 4.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I pushed my way through the entire series because there were some sweet moments that made it really worth watching, yet I still feel like I'm writing this review to criticize more than compliment.

But let's start with a compliment:

I genuinely enjoyed the lead female character. This kind of strong, independent, no-nonsense lead female character has been a rare item in the Korean drama industry. I'm saying she's strong as in read more not TOO comically strong or bratty as well. Eun Hawon character is really likable, and it's the only part that makes sense why this kind of reverse harem plot works. The boys in the house genuinely like her, and I accept it. Most of the Korean dramas that go for either this generic reverse harem plot or the strong lead girl plot usually fail to deliver them naturally. I grew fond of her the most and her character made me stick around.

Another good point that *barely* kept me around was the sweet moments and the chemistry between the lead characters. I could feel that they really care for each other as well. Nothing was forced. The love story wasn't rushed. I enjoyed it. Sometimes the sub plots dragged on for too long and their sweet moments would restore my faith for this show.

Now onto the bad part:

The flow of this story really sucked. I did not watch this story real-time when it aired, nor did I follow the news regarding this story. But, what I wanted to say is, I believe this story has been rewritten several times as it progressed, maybe because the writers did so according to the rating – but, if they didn't, I tell you that this storyline lacks consistency whatsoever. Now, I'm aware that this is from a book. I still doubt they made the story entirely according to the original storyline because if I was a producer, I wouldn't pick up such story to produce from the start.

From the title: Cinderella and Four Knights, there are no FOUR knights at all. They're trying to sell that this is a reverse harem kind of story, with one lead girl and four lead guys and such, but it only lasted probably up to the first few episodes. The first few episodes promised you some kind of love triangle which was cliche but still entertaining.

From somewhere early in the series, however, out of *four* knights: 1) one of them loses complete interest in the lead female and goes back to the second lead female he ditched long ago for unexplained reasons, 2) one of them grows to like the lead female yet takes care of the second lead female to an unreasonable extent, 3) one of them likes the lead female genuinely but then of course – the plot won't allow them to even meet and talk properly, 4) and the last one of them leaves the *knight* title ever so quickly and branches out to his own super cliche sub plot although he has so much potential in everything from acting to looks to his chemistry with the lead female.

It felt so much like the writers lured us into such F4 - Boys Over Flowers kind of settings, then ditched us to an extremely cliche plot that revolved more around the second lead female – who I have to use the word "annoyingly boring" to describe. I like Son Naeun as a member of A Pink, but I believe her acting is very bad – either that or this character did the complete opposite of shining light on her as an actress. Her character is a "I-only-look-at-you" kind of pitiful(?) girl, but somehow the story (or her acting) made her evil. I thought she was going to grow into a likable second female lead because she was one of a few second leads that don't act evil towards the lead female character. However, her pitiful situations only turned her into a "I don't care if I look evil, I just want to own one of these rich guys" kind of character.

She was unbelievably stubborn for (literally) unsaid reasons while she could just go out and have a happy life while forgetting the main guys. She has the looks and she's from a well-raised background as well. Plus, her interest in fashion design seemed useless. It played no part in the plot, and I wish writers would stop stereotyping fashion design major as a "high class" thing. Beautiful, barbie-like female characters don't need to like fashion to look sophisticated. Try harder.

Likewise, I didn't enjoy the stereotypes in this story at all. Jung Ilwoo's character (Kang Jiwoon) was built around a quiet, rebellious guy with a troubled past, so they gave him a street-racer mask to wear while in the story it was just him fidgeting with his toy cars from time to time. It didn't look cool and rebellious. It looked pathetic.

Ahn Jaehyun's character (Kang Hyunmin) – the playboy successor of Haneul Group – can he be even more cliche than this? I mean, playboy chaebols are fun to have in a story, but this characteristic of him progressed to nowhere. His playboy character was out for – I don't know – 2 or 3 episodes at the beginning? And he's a supposed successor of their family business but I see him lazing around inside the mansion the *entire* series. In fact, he doesn't seem very aloof. He has a heart, but they didn't make use of it at all.

Lee Jungshin's character (Kang Seowoo) is a musician. Why? There's no back story to his characteristics. He's popular and is a good singer and that's all. It's pretty cliche. Rich and romantic, yet he seemed the most unattached to the entire chaebol successor family. Again, there's nothing bad about this, I just feel like this musician character is very stereotypical. And again, for a chaebol grandson who's *finally* nice and decent, he's out of the picture from the first half of the series. He likes the main girl alone and feels sad alone and such. His music plays almost no part in putting his character together with the main girl or other guys, and despite that, there's no explanation in why he fails to convey his love to the main girl at all. (Oh, wait, why? Because the writer doesn't want that. Then WHY did they even make his character up at all?)

I still forced my way through the end purely because of the lead female character. She was the only decent one in the entire series. It made me cringe, though, how she ended up at the main guys' house with terms like "mission" and such. And although she's naturally kindhearted, genuinely wanting the boys to reunite as a family was a bit odd, given that she hasn't been raised in a warm *family* as well. Apart from that, the final pairing was reasonable.

Sidenote: I skipped so many scenes in the first 3 episodes. And each episode dragged each scene so much.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Another Miss Oh
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
One of the best romance drama ever!

Definitely one of the best unique romance plot that I have came across.
1.) Unique characters. Instead of the story, I am more drawn towards the characters and personalities created by the writers. From uncommon jobs like sound directors to straightforward and sassy personalities, sparks really do fly between these characters.

2.) I need to talk about the character of normal Oh Hae Young. I read more find her so relatable (especially her voice-overs). People find her irritating but at the same time cannot help but sympathize her for the comparisons that she suffer. She is confident yet feel inferior when she is with the gold OHY.

3.) Gotta address the biggest illogical part of the story, which is the revenge part. Although the revenge on ex-girlfriend seems to be weird, I gotten over it really quickly as the main point of meeting another Oh Hae Young is more attention grabbing. Especially such a weird/special Oh Hae Young.

4.) The strange part of the story will be the psychic visions (no spoilers right, I am trying my best). Seemingly unnecessary, yet very important. There will be a lot of question marks and guessing throughout the drama, maybe even after it end. Then just let your (or netizens') creativity take over:)

I am really a super super big fan of Seo Hyun Jin right now!!! Totally captivated by her and Eric's chemistry. Not gonna talk about all the steamy kiss scenes that I have really enjoyed. You will definitely be laughing like crazy especially at the second couple, their chemistry is also no joke. So much fun and surprises.

Music is nice too. The OST "What is Love" is really addictive and sweet. Meanwhile I want to give credits to the unique cinematography, making it look a bit like a movie. Although sometimes I do find it irritating, I enjoyed it for most of the time especially during emotional scenes, it makes me immerse into the feeling/atmosphere.

Definitely a rewatch:) My favorite romance drama. Teaches me a lot about love, to be brave and to cherish what we have. And don't jump into conclusionssssss. GO WATCH IT RIGHT NOW!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
8 days ago
8 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
so i just finished this lakorn and i can say that this is the top1 out of the lakorn that i've watched so far.
acting,cast, storyline were so good that i can't find a word to describe it.
i really enjoyed it.
but the only flaw of this lakorn is daniel being stupid, in episode 11 i really hated him.
*spoiler*
if he really love fahsai, then why he must marry kwan, read more just for that stupid responsibility:?! huh?
and force fahsai to love someone who she doesn't? tho i love chen ming. haha but well its still

so that's it. i highly recommend this lakorn to everyone. as for those saying that they didnt like the main couple lead, i think it really depends on u.
add; the feels of this lakorn is like those watty stories that i've read. i feel so empty right after i finished it.
AND AH JO DESERVES BETTER!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Strong Woman Do Bong Soon
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I looooved the chemistry between Bong Bong & Min Min but the random filler characters were just so out of place and awkward, getting rid of the suspense from the main plot with the psycho killer. Like literally I loved the gangsters and Bong Soon's mom at first but then they would just pop up in the most random places like what...?
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Strong Woman Do Bong Soon
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
I really liked the show. I think it deserves an 8 but I gave it an 8.5 because of the following:
-The romance was great. Who she ended up with, they were soooo cute together. The guy especially, I loved how he played his character. He is so cute when he's in love.
-I liked the dark, detective story. The criminal played his role well, he was so creepy.
-The comedy was read more great most of the time
-the bromance! Ah! So good!
-Music perfectly fit the show
-the acting was of course excellent

What I didn't like though that really brought down the score I gave:
-It tried to be too many things. If the show had stuck to one aspect like the comedy and bong soon trying to come to terms with her powers, I think it would've been better. I know why they had to have the criminal storyline but it was so contrastingly dark, it was jarring sometimes. I felt like the best parts about the show was the comedy and the bromance but They didn't touch on those as much. they should've come up with a different storyline to get her comfortable with her powers.
-I REALLY disliked two of the characters. That lead gangsters who was hospitalized forever in a body cast and the project team leader, omg, they were both sooo annoying. I didn't think they were funny at all. It really detracted from the show. They were both so useless and their characters were so over the top. No not good.

I still recommend people watch it. The beginnng was really strong. Towards the middle it got more involved in the crime genre. Each were good stories, i just thought it was too much together. It was overall, a really funny show and the romance was so cute! I just loved them. And seeing Bong Soon grow up and into her powers, seeing her believe in herself, it was a nice thing to watch.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Plus Nine Boys
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Plus Nine Boys.

This is a short little drama centered on a family of four men (three brothers and their uncle) who are in their 9th years of their various decades (9, 19, 29, and 39). Apparently, according to the wikipedia page for the show, there is a common Korean belief that the ninth year of a decade will bring more hardships than usual. In this show, there are basically four couples read more - the uncle, Gu Kwang Su (played by Oh Jung Se), who is a television producer who was once dramatically denied during a marriage proposal ten years earlier. His love interest is Ju Da In, played by Yoo Da In, who was the woman who left him and is now a divorced single mother with a five year old daughter. The oldest brother is Kan Jin Gu, played by Kim Young Kwang, a travel agency employee who has been something of a playboy, and the woman who has been his best friend that he's now fallen in love with, Ma Se Young (played by Kyung Soo Jin). The middle brother is Kang Min Gu, played by Yook Sung Jae, who is a high school student and competative Judo athlete, who falls for an older girl, Han Su Ah (played by Park Cho Rong). The youngest brother is Kang Dong Gu, played by Choi Ro Woon, who is a child actor well known for a very popular role when he was younger, but who has found acting awkward as he's gotten older. There's a little girlfriend for him, as well, named Jang Baek Ji (played by Lee Chae Mi), but his story line is much more about his struggle with his acting than his relationship with her.

This is a very bitter sweet show, as well as being on the short side (it's only 14 episodes long). The love stories are nicely romantic and each one has it's own distinct flavor. Unfortunately, the pacing in this show is uneven, which makes it sometimes feel really draggy, which is surprising considering how much ground they have to cover with just 14 episodes to cover it. My favorite couple was probably Jin Gu and Se Yeong.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Love in the Moonlight
0 people found this review helpful
by Moni
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
I'm not a fan of historical dramas but Park Bo Gum in handboks lured me in. What I love about this drama is the balance of lightheartedness and tragedy. There's enough lovey dovey moments that doesn't make you want to cringe of the cliche-ness. There are also enough tear jerking moments that balances the comedy. I would be lying to say that the last 3 episodes didn't disappoint me. I found the read more ending too rushed and easy. I was waiting for some sort of plot twist but sad to say, there was none. The ending may not be memorable but the overall story is.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Because of You
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Don’t let the 56 episode tag scare you away. Yes— it is long and Yes— some parts could’ve been shortened and Yes— it is a melodrama with makjang tendencies. But— it’s so worth it!

First and foremost, this production is well-made, well-cast and well-acted. The leads are capable and play their roles with class and conviction. The villains, oh my, they made me grit my teeth and ball my fists throughout three-quarters read more of the show but it’s all thanks to the brilliance of Wu You as the contemptible Wu Xin and her dorky, shameless mother, Wang Ai Yu. The duo gets away with witchery, spinning lies over the course of 17 years.

Amidst this human sorcery, life goes on blissfully for Zhang Guo Guo, growing up not knowing her fate as the heiress to an esteemed embroidery powerhouse. But truth and destiny will prevail as the power of the plot and amazing acting tie every event together in a journey worth our patience.

Very much a melodrama, with all the angst and tears you’d expect from this genre, Guo Guo and Yun Kai’s sweet and uncomplicated love for each other is secondary only to the main storyline— Guo Guo returning to her roots. Also entwined in all the sub-plots is the enduring message of maternal and paternal love - biological or adoptive, it can be likewise powerful or destructive.

Stellar, stellar cast including little Le Tong. What an ensemble of perfection. Well worth the angst!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Strong Woman Do Bong Soon
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
ok so this drama...what can i say lol
I JUST FREAKING LOVED IT!

Im a big fan of jisoo and Park bo young and now an even bigger fan of Park hyung SIk, even tho it is my first drama watching with him in it. i just thought the way they all portrait their characters was off the charts. the chemistry between the main lead was something just truly amazing. i hadn't read more watched something so sweet which made my heart flutter in a while! I usually suffer then second male lead syndrome especially when it is jisoo lol coz i feel like he deserves better and actually deserves to get the girl but in this drama, i was strangely okay with him not getting her coz honestly i think they were perfect and no one could have done it any better.

the drama is absolutely hilarious although i do think that some scene were just over exaggerated and could have been cut out. some heartfelt moments, thrilling moments and some action. this is a must watch and i can't wait to see what they actors have more to offer. i hope to watch them all in other dramas as main leads and hopefully jisoo's next drama has him getting the girl lol
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
It seems like 2017 will be the year of strong female leads, not that i'm complaining. I think it's nice to finally see more strong female leads that aren't just the main characters pretty little doll that needs to be protected or the whiny girls that are even worse. Anyway, let's get to the review.

Story:
When i first saw the plot of this drama and heard the title, i immediately thought read more of "Weightlifting fairy Kim Bok joo", and wasn't to excited about watching it. Now don't get me wrong, i looooved "Weightlifting fairy Kim Bok joo". I just thought it was unnecessary to make a new drama with the same plot, all over again. Especially since "Weightlifting fairy Kim Bok joo" just fininshed airing not too long ago.
But once "Strong Woman Do Bong soon" started airing, people started talking about it a lot and therefore, i had to watch it.

When i started watching it, i loved it right from the start.
Although it, in some ways, are similar to "Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo", it wasn't as similar as i had feared. It's mostly just the fact that both of the female leads are strong and doesn't live up to the stereotypical "pretty-like-a-doll" girls that we are used to seeing in dramas, and the fact that both dramas are romantic comedies. In a way you could say that "Strong Woman Do Bong soon" is the "adult" version of "Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok joo". "Strong Woman Do Bong Soon" is more "dark" i guess you could say.
You have the creepy kidnapper, and the adult jokes, that made it more "mature", while "Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok joo" was more sweet and not as "dark".
(The reason for why i'm using ("") when i say "dark", is because "Strong Woman Do Bong Soon" wasn't really that dark either. It's mostly just an absolutely hilarious and sweet drama, but it's "darker" than "Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo", if you get what i mean...why are both of those titles so long?").
Overall the story was great and entertaining all the way 'till the very end.

Acting:
I have officially added another actor and actress to my favourite-actors/actresses list. I have seen dramas with both before, and they both did well in those too,
it's just that i like to see actors act different types of roles before i make my mind up on wether i think they're good actors or not, and i can honestly say that Park Hyungshik and Park Bo young are great actors.

Their chemistry was great, they were such a cute couple and their bickering is the best thing i've seen this year, or the next best thing i've seen this year after the bromance.

Can we just take a minute to talk about how much i ship Hyungshik and Jisoo, like for real. I kinda hoped that this drama would take a turn and that Hyungshik's character actually was gay but...you can't always get what you want now can you?

Music:
The music was good, very fitting with the superhero theme that this drama has. I don't have much more to say.
It was good.

Rewatch value:
9/10, because i don't really rewatch dramas, but it's a drama i could've rewatched, if that makes any sense.

Overall:
All i have to say, is that i think "Strong Woman Do Bong Soon" is the best drama that has aired so far (of the once i've seen at least) this year! Loved it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Strong Woman Do Bong Soon
44 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
So how would I describe this show? This story tried to be too much. It was a romance mixed with slapstick humor, and dark thriller. How did those elements combine? Not too well, actually....but the parts that were good were good enough to keep me watching until the end.

This show started off strong and I was loving it up until about a little over halfway, when it dawned on me that read more the story was just kind of nonsense. But the leads are so freaking adorable (and probably every teenage girl's dream fantasy romance) that they kept sucking me back in every week. I said the other day that I didn't think I'd had a girl crush on anyone in a show yet, but Park Bo Young may have reached that status for me. And Park Hyung Shik is almost too pretty - but his acting as Ahn Min Hyuk crushing on Do Bong Soon --- I just "can't even" with him. Too cute for words. They were so cheesy together, but this ahjumma was eating it up. Seriously....this romance is what the show has going for it. But even that is unrealistically done. This show is just fluff....lots and lots of fluff.

The story line is chaotic. There is an evil villain that is just too horrifying to be in a rom-com. It was very jarring to go from sweet romance scenes to a creepy masked kidnapper who is terrorizing young women. And the slapstick antics of the gangsters and the high-school gangsters and the screechy femme planning team leader was funny the first time but became just useless filler that was pretty annoying fast forward material. And a lot of people hated that, although played for laughs, the mom seemed abusive (may be why the writers tried to explain that one away in the final episode.) There were funny parts, sure, but they overplayed their hand with them quite a bit.

The only thing I would rewatch in this show is the moments with Min Hyuk and Bong Soon.

Would I recommend it....sort of. I mean, you'd have to know going in that the story makes no sense, but as a backdrop for a super cute, cheesy beyond belief romance...if you can deal with that then, yeah, go for it. I was entertained for sure (otherwise the rating would be like a 4). But if you need a plot that is logical and a more 'mature' (not THAT kind of mature, but more grown up) romance, then this one won't be right for you.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Strong Woman Do Bong Soon
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 8.0
  • Story 7.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
the first half of the drama had some of the best episodes in kdrama but after a while the drama got boring and repetetive especially during episodes 8-14

still the last 2 episodes made the show justice which is the reason why i was able to give this a high score
the acting was fine but during some scene Ji Soo was quite akward and not believeble as a detective.
i don't read more think i'll ever rewatch this
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
King2Hearts
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
Warning, this will be a very long essay. I wrote this years ago somewhere else. I just need to let more people know how much I loved this show, so pardon for the irrelevance (or the long-squee moments instead of reviewing lol).

This drama has three elements that catch a bucket of love. I won’t talk much about the (AMAZING) plot, I only want to stay in the realness of the character read more and how a glimpse of life can be so well captured in this series.

Firstly, I noticed this drama portrays how the role of husband and wife should be (at least from my view). Jae-ha carries the most responsibility of his country. He has to be tough and smart and wise and professional in hiding his personal problem. He is the face of the country. On the other hand, he is just a human.

At some points in his life, he falls apart- physically, mentally, or both. Then it is the righteous time when a woman ‘catches’ him and makes him stand. There is no talking of gender issue here, I am just pointing out the role of male and female in a relationship. Their case’s difference between common people is only the weight of responsibility that the male has to carry on his shoulder.

Hang-ah is a perfect match for Jae-ha in many ways. Regardless they are the main leads in this drama which I personally put that fact aside, their character just complete each other. They have their own unique similarities which equal with their differences. Many dramas out there is trying to only focus on the leads’ differences and try to make them fall in love, while Hang-ah and Jae-ha have the same amount of reason to hate or to love each other. *I don’t know how to describe them anyway. Lols. Because they are just my favorite brainy-brawn-bad-ass characters (yeay!)

Back to Hang-ah and her role as how any wife should be. And I just want to emphasize things happening in one episode which turns me into Jae-ha fans, Hang-ah fans, the royal family fans (the mother/queen, Jae-shin, Jae-Kang who are so welcoming Hang-ah), and Jae-ha-Hang-ah’s chemistry fans. Hang-ah is the most tough woman I’ve ever seen – in dramaland by far. She is not just advanced in martial art because she is so damn lovely and cute at the same time. Mostly, her feminism side is shown when she is being with Jae-ha. This is just realistic! errr yeah, I've seen Hang-ah girl type in real life.

So.... I’ve just explained the first element – the main subtle message for me which is about the role of man and woman in the world of how to rule a country, now, lets take a look to the second elements: politics.

I never interested to any part of political issue that any drama brings out – I still don’t care. However, The king 2 Hearts brings me to a whole new level of getting involved in political issue because I like how the main leads rule it. Its Jae-ha who wins over my heart, steals every adorable moment in my imagination to belong to his character, and he is such a witty-and-brainy person. His stepping up to become the king is precious and that is his best charm. Oh not to mention he is just the most romantic and sweetest king ever – or can I say he is just a portrait for every king in the world who adores his queen so much?. Hang-ah has the same equal role in ruling or steering the politics except she comes from north, a female, and she is not the throne. Those parts strengthen her legal to be on Jae-ha side. If she has the same power with him, I think the story would turn out differently. Maybe when Jae-ha ‘fell’, she overtook it and seemed more powerful than Jae-ha and it would hurt my fangurl side to team up with the king (lol, what? Ok just ignore my random thought). So the strength in Hang-ah makes them perfect to combine their power.

The third element is how the romance doesn’t interrupt nor is awkwardly inserted in the middle of the tense in the drama because it has its own way to win viewer's heart. It is there from the beginning, you know. Comparing to the other shows, the king and queen love story in this drama is the real winner. It does not make me all whinny when the threatening moment comes, but the story is intriguing, gripping, and entertaining. Moreover, a small caring gesture either from Jae-ha or Hang-ah just gives me a whole butterflies to my stomach. Them teaming up to confront the bad guy is the best thing.

To conclude, this is just a perfect drama for you if you're looking for a modern-setting korean royal story with badass female lead (who is so RARELY found in dramaland) and an adorable king. Also, you might enjoy the King's journey from him being a scaredy cat to be a powerful (and the sweetest) king like I did. And I know, I will love it all over again when I re-watch this for nth times :')
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No