If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
Chicago Typewriter
1 people found this review helpful
12 days ago
Overall 6.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
Chicago Typewriter has a really promising and interesting story premise but unfortunately it was not executed very well.

The beginning is really good and you get hooked because you want to know what happened in the past. It is really lighthearted with a few good comedy scenes and the small dramatic scenes that are dropped in between prevent it from being boring.

But the series drops in quality after the exposition. It seems as if the creators had a really good idea but didn't expand it enough. After you have seen the idea the series has nothing more to offer. The whole middle of the series feels really stretched and filled with useless scenes that don't advance the story nor the characters very much. I have the feeling that the romance aspect of the show was supposed to be subtle and in the background but because the actual story wasn't really fleshed out they had to fill in the blanks with romance. This is not bad per se, but the relationship between the couple doesn't go anywhere. Their relationship doesn't get deeper and most of the time don't even feel like a couple.

The characters are not bad, but their characterisation is not very stable. When the creators of the show didn't know what to do, they just let characters act dumb and against their initial character traits just to advance the story and make it more dramatic. However this has the opposite effect and keeps you from being immersed in the story and empathizing with the characters.

For example, it is established that the characters in the present have the same traits as their past life counterparts. So Han Se Joo should be very clever because in his past life he was the head of the resistence, made perfect plans and was always cautious of the enemy. But when Baek Tae Min calls him and wants to trick him, he plays dumb goes to the place and then acts as if he knew that he was tricked all along. Then why go there in the first place and not call the police or something? That is just one example of accute dumbness.

Then it seems the writers just threw in things that don't make sense at all. When Se Joo falls down the roof the ghost Yoo Jin Oh possesses him, which isn't the problem, but why can he make Se Joo float and cushion his fall? Yoo Jin Oh can't even float by himself, so why can he float when inside another body? I hope you see what I mean.

And sometimes there are flashbacks, which are repeated throughout the series to waste time. All in all what I want to say is that the pacing of the series is really bad and you can clearly see where the writers put in extra stuff to stretch the runtime of the show. They should have made a mini series or fleshed out the story more, but in this state it feels like an unfinished prototype of a good show.

I really liked the part where they are sent back in the past by the ghost and explore the past. They should have told more of the past in this way or let the characters remember parts of their past after experiencing something emotional that triggers their memory. Instead almost all of the past story is told in episode 14 or 15 in one piece.

I really can't understand why it has such a high score here. I was really interested in this show after reading the summary and seeing that so many people liked it but unfortunately it really isn't all that great.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Lost Love in Times
0 people found this review helpful
by QAS
12 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 5.0
LLIT infused fantasy and sorcery elements with a fictional branch of the Western Wei Yuan dynasty.  Male characters are clad in voluminous, pattern-challenged costumes. The male and female characters wear monolithic head dress or braided hat hair.

Story 7. 0 - A very creative plot about Time intervention, with some shortfalls.  The story could have been tighter, and effective with three dozen episodes.

Acting Cast 8.0 -  The actors delivered solid acting performances.  William Chan and Cecilia Liu were the group leaders, but Zhang Ryan and Xu Jiawei walked away with the awards.  Zhang Ryan (Yuan Ming) receives the Wide Range of Acting Award, as the villain Prince.  Xu Jiawei (Yuan Li) receives the Congenial Character Award, as undercover Prince/Guardian of the Transformations.

Music 7.0 – The incidental music was  impressive, and facilitated the activity on screen.

Rewatch Value 5.0 – I am not in a hurry to relive the drama, but I might attempt it for William Chan, Xu Jiawei (Yuan Li) and Gong Jun (Yuan Che).

Overall score 7.0 -  Good production values in directing, editing, acting, set design and cinematography!  Costume and hair designs were over the top, and a constant distraction. Writing was average.  The best surprise was the ending.  Overall, the episodes stretched Time.

This drama should have started out the gate with eight weekly episodes, and finalized in seven weeks, to keep the viewers' attention span.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
My Mr. Mermaid
1 people found this review helpful
12 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Story : 8.0

I've read somewhere that this drama is so much like Love O2O ! but after I finished this I totally disagree it's so much different !!!

First , what I liked soooo much about this drama are the swimming team members <3 I loved their friendship how they care about each other how they trying and struggling to protect their dream ..
Tang Yi-Bai , Qi Rui-Feng and Yang Yang are my favorite characters loved watching them .. I didn't like Yun Duo character that much but she did make a cute couple with Yibai .

Second , totally loved the OST am so addicted to it specially this part : Across the pacific , heading for the ocean > TT am crying
and I loved & liked how they filmed the Swimming Competitions !!! it was AWESOME & beautifully shots <<<3 I was watching them compete and I felt adrenaline rush I'll hold my breath not knowing what will happens , this really was my favorites parts of the drama .

Third , Their some part of the story I didn't like which was draggy about Cheng Mei , Lin Zi and his little one .. if the writer didn't make them involved I think the story will be so much better ... and how Yi Bai parents and the dog suddenly disappeared !!!! I quite loved his mother she was cool :S

At the end , I'll miss this cast , OST & drama so much TT ... The drama has it flaws but I think everyone will enjoy watching the cast friendship , the competitions and the leads romance ~

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Code Blue 3
1 people found this review helpful
12 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
The NOSTALGIA!!!!!!!!!!!

And let me just say, Yamapi has grown to be a fiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiine looking guy!!!!! I never cared for his brown hair back then~ he's always looked better with black hair, and I like that he's switched up his hairstyle too. He looks older and more mature now.

This season, as some people mentioned, focused more on the characters rather than the medical side of things. To be honest, I don't remember the first 2 seasons going super deep into the medical things. They did a few procedures here and there, and kept repeating the same procedure in different episodes thereafter (my memory may be faulty, but this was what I remembered while watching). This season isn't quite different, although we get to see some different things, which were pretty cool, but some were also disturbing (organ procurement scene).
I liked that this focused more on the character stories. It was great that the originals came back, even if the older actors or actresses didn't have much screen time. I liked seeing where they ended up in life, their new challenges, how they matured and have become skilled doctors, how much more resilient they've become, and now even training fellows to be flight doctors. The characters aged, the actors aged, I've aged~ everyone was so natural in their roles and their character growth felt quite real to me, so I was invested in the them and their continued development. It was hard getting used to the new fellows. It was like watching season 1 all over again, them facing their problems, insecurities, getting into trouble and such. But once I started seeing their character development, I began liking them as well (I quite liked seeing Natori learn from Hiyama, since they were foils of each other). I think this was a well written season (or maybe I'm biased already). Some story arcs, I could do without (like the tumor in brain girl, although I liked the rivalry between Aizawa and Shinkai~ it was a healthy  + friendship sort of rivalry). Despite the girl being annoying, they did bring a life lesson into it, so I liked that. I liked that every episode had a life lesson to be learned, anything from losing a child to believing in yourself.
I loved how they used the same music as back then, especially Hanabi by Mr Children. The instrumental that was played when announcing the sponsors~ it was nostalgic and inspirational at the same time. There was this one weird background track, that sounded like it came from Pirates of the Caribbean though. It was odd...
I think I would definitely rewatch this. I would have to rewatch everything, starting from season 1 though. It would be a while before that happens.

Definitely, for those that enjoyed the other seasons of Code Blue, this is a pick-me-up. I'm not a drama enthusiast anymore, but I did quite like this.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Whirlwind Girl
1 people found this review helpful
13 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I recently finished it so not many people will see this but I definitely wanted to warn or in some cases "encourage" people about this show. I am I a huge fan of Yang Yang after watching Love O2O and I'm also ethnically Chinese so it's also great to not worry about subtitles.

Story: The story is such an interesting one. I personally have always liked school dramas at first so this kinda brought me back to my drama-newbie days. It's a pretty basic story tbh but the taekwondo is super interesting to watch. The love "Square" is pretty interesting and there's, of course, a pretty rich girl who wants to sabotage the main characters life.  If you're not into this type of sorta teenage looking romance then yikes it might not be for you

Acting/Cast: This was literally the main reason I watched the show. Yang Yang and the person who acted Fang Ting Hao are literally to die for. The other dude's okay but lmao I think they gave him a bad haircut so I wasn't AS attracted. The main female, however, I had some hard time accepting. Right now around the world (including Asia) the rise of a "strong independent woman" is high on the rise, probably because I'm used to dramas like Strong Woman Do Bong Soon or like Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo, I'm totally not used to this innocent cute concept that they threw in the drama. It's a drama about Taekwondo! Like, COME ON! Can't they give us a female lead that isn't spazzing out every tournament and having to depend on one of the 3 guys to make her feel confident?? UGH Her zoomed in face is literally like at least 20% of all the scenes and I really can't stand it so if you don't appreciate a weak female lead then don't watch it! (That's literally the only reason this show is not a 10/10 tho)

Music: Eh it was great, not very impactful but it went with the drama pretty well and were all pretty inspirational so yayyy

Rewatch Value: Yeah basically because of the acting I'm not giving it a very high score. I'd watch for Yang Yang and Fang Ting Hao anytime tho ; )

Humor/Cinematography Rating (My own): This drama I think had a HORRIBLE sense of humor and some pretty bad cinematography (A lot of stuff looked like a pretty cheap greenscreen). The humor was extremely sexist most of the time, like that one guy who HATED Bai Chao for beating him just because she was a girl, or how the mom of Bai Chao's best friend kept yelling at her daughter to be more docile and do more house chores like a "proper girl". I think that's why I ESPECIALLY LOVED the "Korean" actors in the show (Yes the Chinese actors pretending to be Korean spoke broken Korean sentences, but honestly that was one of my favorite parts). Kim Min Gu was NOT about to let anyone stop her just because she was a teenage girl and I honestly appreciated her character. On the flip side, Bai Chao starts panicking everytime she competes unless Ruo Bai sits her down and be all like "Omg you gotta BELIEVE GIRL". One lesson I've taken from this drama is to be more assertive because no such thing as being fragile as Bai Cao getting 3 hot guys in real life, just saying!
The drama is mostly filmed in 3 locations, the place where Ruo Bai works, the place where Bai Cao grew up and in the fake school that the producers want the audience to think these people attend. 2 of the 3 listed looked like pure green screen products so I'd give it a pretty bad rating in that category.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Love, Now
1 people found this review helpful
13 days ago
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10
This drama was touching, sweet, and George and Annie's on-screen chemistry was the best I have EVER seen in a drama. There is simply no words for it. They were so natural with each other that I truly felt deeply connected with their characters. I caught myself laughing along with their happiness, crying buckets of tears (and trust me - you WILL cry) with their heart breaks, and I can't recall squealing as much as I did in other dramas because they are SO SWEET with each other!

This drama took me on a rollercoaster of emotions and I can't wait to go back and re-watch it in full. I love how it is more "adult" than the usual dramas these days. Without giving too many things away, it addresses the themes of sickness, marriage, family, and strength. It's a refreshing change from other dramas because you get to see their lives AFTER they have fallen in love. Usually a drama ends when the leads get together and their main obstacle has been overcome. But that isn't real life. Watching this drama, I felt that I was privileged enough to actually catch a glimpse of  a real couple's journey as they deal with whatever life throws at them.

Do yourself a favour and watch this drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
35 sai no Koukousei
0 people found this review helpful
13 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 6.0
A drama about school bullying with some sweet moments and young student bonding. Overall, the story was nice, with some thrill when it came to the individual stories. Actually, those stories were really interesting and entertaining, even though the ending was so so. The whole mystery around the leading lady's identity was overshadowed by the side stories, which wasn't that bad as it wasn't that great after all. However, the highlight of this drama was the performances that were really good. So, 7 out of 10.
Was this review helpful to you?
Reply 1988
3 people found this review helpful
by Andy
13 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Watched this series just right in time...i love it to bits! so this is how life is like when people have "conversations" instead of "gossips",  when life isn't perfect -just beautiful.. and of course Taek-ee's appearances are gold! i love how he is not all over the place in this drama that made each of his scenes priceless! how amazing it is to be back in time in an even better setting and a handsome bogummy on the side. I just love this so much! This is one of the reasons why I love watching  korean dramas more than anything, the writers/directors do know how to feed my heart, the actors/actresses play the roles so well. It's amazing how we are all the same after all, regardless of race, we'd be surprised how the life in Korea looks exactly the same as the life in my country in terms of hopes, friendships, family, love, challenges, dreams and so on. We may speak different languages but at some point we listen to the same songs. We may have different dishes but we share the same love for food. We may have different stories but we laugh at the same things. We may have different characters but at times we cry for the same reasons. We may have different dreams but there is always one thing we all want - LOVE.


Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The [email protected]
0 people found this review helpful
13 days ago
Overall 7.5
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
Yet to this day I have no clue what moved me to actually watch this series as it is totally not my genre, however after finishing it I thought it was quite a cute series. Acting was quite good, however the story was fair. Not too bad, not unique either and so now and then it was very cliché at certain parts, while there was a small twist at the end that threw me off, even though I knew what was going to happen to all these girls.

The good thing is that the producers decided to tell the stories of all girls and not only of the three major ones, which made it more interesting as other series similar to this have the tendency to just focus on the major characters within a series.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Criminal Minds
4 people found this review helpful
13 days ago
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 1.0
Boring, cold, emotionless.

I'm surprised at myself for finishing  this. It's hard to describe what went wrong here. The drama failed in so  many ways. The team never connected on a deeper base, the cases were  interesting in their core but the writing and execution sucked. It was  never able to build enough suspense to make me excited/worried/eager to  watch more.

Don't get me wrong. Some of the individual cases  were pretty gruesome and interesting (and I was shocked how violent they made them look) than what I would expect from a  k-drama. But most times it still left me cold because the writers extended the investigation part way too much while (at the same time) were still not able to explain the profiling part in a comprehensible  and gripping way. It felt like getting food thrown at your face.

The cast 'looked' amazing but their roles were written rather poorly and appeared choppy. If this would have been my first drama with those actors and actresses, I wouldn't be interested in any other drama they starred in. Dialogues  sounded boring, the tone of each voice was always the same monotone  sound which lulled me into sleep. Some of the background music were not  helping either. I missed emotions so much here. And I missed those tiny personal  interactions between the leads. A wink, a look, some short random remarks. I don't know.  They sounded like a bunch of people who  successfully memorized their texts... Which is why I couldn't connect to  any of them. They were so one-dimensional.  I admit that sometimes it  looked like they tried to be more, but... well, it wasn't enough.

They did have some kind of steadiness: Constant  stagnation.

And what ending was that? The finale felt flat. Most times I'm quite satisfied with the main villains in dramas. But this one? Nope. There are actors who are able to pull off EVERY damn role they are given, even the bad ones. And they are able to shine in even those. And then there are actors who only suit certain characters. The actor for the main villain in this show failed to impress me - solely because his acting and his appearance together failed to capture an otherwise intriguing figure.

I'm familiar with the original series this one is based on, but I'm not a regular follower. Though occasionally I watch one or two episodes once in a while. And I have to admit that I'm more satisfied with their cases than I was with this show, even though I'm not deeply connected with the leads in the US version either. The reason why I stick with the show when I stumble upon it while zipping through the channels is because I am glued to one special bond between two of the leads. And because their cases feel more compact which leads to a more intriguing investigation. Well, if I want to, I can go into more detail but I think I made my point clear.

So sad, this failed to reach my expectations. I so wish I could say something positive as well, but there's nothing I can think of. Everything that started out good/interesting became rather boring quite quickly because they stretched the developing process too far, didn't show crucial details in the leads' behavior/facial expressions and slow/dull scene editing...

But I did like the ending song!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
You Who Came from the Stars
2 people found this review helpful
13 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 5.0
If it wasn't for Jun Ji Hyun lead role interpretation, this drama would have been nowhere that good. In all honesty, while pretty close I'm not entirely sure this drama deserve its 8.8 rating (at the time I'm writing this) but since it brings up a lot of passion and interest (from what I've heard), maybe that's enough in itself to justify it.
As for me, this drama success is clearly related to Jun Ji Hyun : she depicts a character borderline lunatic, superficially arrogant and ... amazingly funny to watch. Not that Kim Soo Hyun is not any good (he's actually quite subtle and believable as an alien), but to me the alien here in this show was clearly Jun Ji Hyun.  
While the romance seems the main focus (and is quite good at that), comedic scenes and situations rhythmed the drama so well that there is not so much room to loose interest. And again, the exact moment where you understand that Jun Ji Hyun 'Chun Song Yi' character is not exactly the superb arrogant idiot she seems, you're screwed. Jun Ji Hyun is just imperial in this drama and get you hooked - line, sinker and all - in no time.
Still, there are inconsistent details and poor choices too. There are too many to point them all out, but at the same time, of too little importance to take them seriously. This is not actually bringing the show down, since at best it gets a little annoying from time to time.
So in the end, what remains is an overall very well-written drama, asking interesting questions, answering cold hearts with warm feelings, and along the way providing some action to entertain the malicious villain (who is by the way quite good at being a villain, thank you Shin Sung Rok).
Maybe that's enough to justify the 8.8 rating, after all ? That's not for me to decide. You go watch this then you tell us.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Princess Agents
1 people found this review helpful
13 days ago
Overall 5.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 5.0
Writers/producers/directors..please do your homework. Gunpowder was invented in 850AD, which was 300 years later after Wei. So there should not be fireworks used in signalling or in military warfare... audiences nowadays are not stupid any more. So Writers/producers/directors..you guys need to step up.  No more rubbish please. Looks like many writers nowadays lack of ideas or even do their research. For example, someone sick must vomit blood or when someone hear suprising news must drop something. Looks like these directors must be using same old and outdated textbooks.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
I Hear Your Voice
0 people found this review helpful
13 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
A story where the sum of the parts added up to more than that of each individual parts, a synergy, if you would. That said, not everyone would find this appealing, as even while I was thoroughly enjoying and loving the drama, its flaws were always apparent. However, if this drama is one that could weave its magic for you, it would be a gem not easily forgotten, as it was for me.

I held off watching this drama for years even although it was considered by some to be the ultimate in Noona romance - a favourite trope of mine - just because I could not stand looking at Lee Jong Seok and not a fan of Yoon Sang Hyun either. However, Lee Bo Young and Lee Da Hee captivated me, so after coming off from another disappointing drama, I opted to plunge into this classic.


Story:
As a wannabe legal and courtroom drama, it might come off sorely lacking in many aspects, and many-a-times laughable - but with the many miscarriages-of-justice in real life at the back of my mind - I could not fault the show’s at times wide-eyes idealism when it comes to law and its principles. At the heart of this show was its sincere believe in the inviolable notions of truth and justice, a theme threaded throughout, as were other more spiritually illuminating lessons, peppered across the the storyline, which in actuality were catalysts for and vehicles of learning and growth for the characters. I also thoroughly appreciated the beats of comedy dotting the story, which had me chuckling each and every time, as ridiculous as they could be sometimes. The strength of this drama was not its plot, but its ability to weave in the disparate bits and piece of each sub-story to build towards a momentum highlighting the relationships and growth of each of the main/secondary characters, while delivering heartfelt messages, a feat in my estimation.

The pacing was also gold, with not many sub plots leading us on a merry chase, as most were resolved within an episode or two at most, which meant not too many unnecessary fillers. Even the extensions were put to good use, fleshing out more of the secondary characters and providing skinships for our main OTP.


Characters/Cast:
The drama excelled in its characters and the development arcs for each, whether they were the leads or seconds, even the minor and villainous characters. Solidly competent acting backed up each, though I was wholly impressed by Jung Woong-In (as Min Joon-Gook) and Kim Hae Sook (Hey-Seong’s mother, Eo Choon-Sim), top notch veteran actors who stole the show even with the little screen time they had.

Lee Jong Seok and Yoon Sang Hyun mollified me with the actings chops they brought to their roles, and made their characters wonderfully lovable and  engaging. Still, I had to keep myself from covering LJS’s face nearly the whole time I was watching the drama. I got used to his visuals just as the drama ended and rewatched the series for the ‘love story’ afters, since that was after all the original reason for which I watched this drama (a first for me, to rewatch just after completing a drama, and generally not fond of rewatching except for particular scenes).

Lee Bo Young and Lee Da Hee, while not really wowing me with their acting, did so excellently in the roles they were given that they embodied Jang Hye-Seong and Seo Do-Yeon for me, both amazing female characters I adore. Lee Bo Young, especially, had my eyes glued to the screen all the time with her interpretation of Hye-Seong and her elegant beauty.


Romance:
I won’t actually categorize the romantic relationship for the main pairing here as a romance, as I didn’t feel any romantic vibes while watching. The progress in the relationship was executed organically in a somewhat low-key manner, excepting the constant comfortable domesticity and skinship. What we undoubtedly have, however, was a love story in the true essence of such. The beginning of the love story began with a courageous choice, and the progress, marked by loyalty, determination, familial love, sacrificial love, comfort, caring, courage, honesty, trust and acceptance. The dynamics of their relationship were such that each spurred the growth and maturity of the other, nudging them to be better people by the end. After all that, why not a romantic and sexual bond too?

While the life-and-death situations in the show gave our couple the adrenaline to bond over, the reciprocated small gestures of care and love, as well as the honest communication shared that cemented theirs as a relationship and love to stand the test of time and other ravages.

I never imagined that I would be getting a love story after my own heart in a drama, but colour me happily surprised.


Music/OST:
I did not find the tracks or music particularly appealing while I was watching the drama, but they grew to become favourites after the fact. The listening durability of the tracks were high, and am glad I stumbled upon some good singers and bands via the lovely OST.


Overall
I am one of those who fell under the spell of IHYV, and felt fortunate because of it. How often does a story pierce our heart and mind and do not let go even through the passage of time? Not often, in my case, and hence I treasure those moments when such a story comes into my life. The drama shot into my short list of Favourites after a long, long drought, and the emotional and intellectual resonance from it has been extremely satisfying, if nothing else.  

My rating is an effort to be more ‘objective’ about shows, and while they might be lower in relative to others, it is not a reflection of how I feel or think about the show. I love IHYV and it comes highly recommended, but it is not a 10 and I can’t in good conscience give it that even if my heart tells me otherwise. It is also in acknowledgement that loving something and considering it “Daebak!” is very subjective, given the many people who could not get into or enjoy IHYV. The good thing is, though, that there are so many wonderful stories and dramas out there that there is one bound to appeal. Enjoy.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Circle
0 people found this review helpful
by Sash
13 days ago
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 7.0
You know this is a good drama if you are probably the last one to catch the show and still end up wanting to leave a review!

I honestly never expected an intricate sci-fi plot from this show, and for that matter any other kdrama ever. So I was pleasantly surprised and stumped when this show proved me wrong. A great sci-fi plot should keep you guessing till the very end, only to supply the right logical answers at the right moment, according to the rules it has established in its world. It is also a definite plus if it makes you ask certain existential questions, and ponder on them. For instance, what makes you, YOU? Is it your memories? or the way you look or your actions perhaps ?  This is exactly what the show manages to do.

There were episodes early on, where the plot gave the impression that it was predictable, because it seemed to be going in a direction that I thought it would. But immediately after, it completely turned upside down and exceeded my expectations. So make sure you stick till the end to get all those delightfully gratifying answers to the no doubt numerous questions you will have and trust me it will be like sweet honey from nectar :P (I am not exaggerating). I would rather reveal no details of the plot and have this review make no sense than spoil that satisfactory moment in the show, when things fit in like a puzzle !

Yeo Jin Goo's acting was a hit and his lead character kept me engrossed and not just for the obvious reasons :P

The background music especially during suspense scenes was well planned and I really liked the score. Even the high attention to detail in the scenes in the future  was appreciable and made the show look way more realistic.  

To be fair, there were some usual kdrama filler scenes (** insert bunch of board members arguing when an incident happens) even in the future, which were questionable both for their necessity and general annoyance.  But I feel the good parts of the show managed to cover that up for me.

The ending of the drama tied most of the loose ends as a good show should do and at the same time left leeway for new questions that I think a second season might answer. I for one, would surely lap it up if they came up with a second part.

So go on, it is worth the 1 and a half day you will spend marathoning the show !

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
King is Not Easy
1 people found this review helpful
13 days ago
Overall 7.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
What’s that drama?
This Chinese drama about soul-swapping was a hit romantic-comedy, but it also featured the worst plot twist of  2017.
da da da, da da da da da, da da da da DA, dadadadada…
What is “King Is Not Easy.” CORRECT!

Jeopardy question aside, I’ll break down this review into cast and plot, with a few comments on production, music, and re-watch value at the end.

Cast: Being a soul-swapping drama means that Bai Lu and Zhang Yi Jie had to be good at playing each other’s characters and their opposite genders, and in my opinion they were. They were hilarious, and the majority of their acting seemed very genuine *applause*.  All the characters, including our leads, did well. The plot is very silly, and the cast did a good job not taking their characters too seriously.

Plot: As the plot is bipolar, so must my review be. To avoid spoilers I will simply refer to the two plot arcs as “Arc A” and “Arc B.” Arc A was everything you expected it to be; the story was funny, sweet, and entertaining. It’s 20 minutes of guaranteed lighthearted fun—Arc B not so much. Arc B was highly confusing and disappointing. Presumably the arc was meant to add depth to the show, but is was not needed and very poorly done.

Production-The dubbing (the ADR) was very irritating at first, but I got used to it.
Music-Theme song was annoying, but the ending theme was pretty. The rest of the music was unmemorable.
Re-watch value-It is such a short show that I would re-watch it, but I would stop before I got to Arc B.

Overall, I enjoyed this show, it fulfilled its purpose by making me smile and laugh a lot. 7.5 stars.
P.S. At the end of each episode are short skits. Don't miss out—watch them!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?

Recent Discussions