Sort by:
Gay OK Bangkok
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
This series is literally one of the BEST BL drama's I've seen in a long time. It has an amazing cast, amazing writing, and each episode deals with really profound issues that I have never seen discussed in any Asian BL TV series I've watched in the past

Here's the break down:

STORY: 9/10
The story revolves around 6 gay men, with the main characters being Arm and Pom, two best friends read more who room together. Their lives, and the lives of the other characters, connect through a series of events that take place throughout the show. The writing and development for each character is well thought out and I grew attached to each character very quickly, despite it being a 5 episode series with each episode clocking in at around 29 minutes. What's really great about this show is the issues that it deals with are so taboo but yet eye opening and the way it is handled is so smart and educational. As a gay man in my 20's I really appreciate this sort of series. It's all very realistic, maybe too realistic for those expecting a fluffy BL drama... this show is definitely not for kids and not for the close-minded. The romantic and kissing scenes are so on point. I don't know if the cast is LGBT+ in real life but they sure had me fooled.

ACTING: 9/10
The actors in this series are phenomenal. They truly were invested in their characters and each actor gave their respective role layers and depth. Highlight actors for me are the ones that play Arm and Nat, but every actor in Gay Ok Bangkok really gave Oscar worthy performances, in my personal opinion. Very raw and realistic performances.

MUSIC: 9/10
The sound track was super good and changed throughout each episode. But the overall, the tone was maintained throughout. Fantastic!

REWATCH VALUE: 9/10
I would say this is an easy rewtach for me. Everything about this series impressed me and I did not want it to end

OVERALL: 9/10
Excellent! The only reason I did not give this drama a 10 out of 10 is because it's only five episodes and I felt as though the last episode was a bit choppy, the way it ended. But they make all that up with season 2, which you should all watch if you have not!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
W
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
Highly recommended . Each episode is unpredictable. Unique storyline. Though the ending was sad.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Faith
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 7.0
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Basically, after finish watching it, I can conclude that it is a love story hidden in a historical-action story. The love story here is not a normal drama love story (which is too fantasy). I like the fact that in every relationship (love , friend, bromance), have to protect our love. and with only one kiss scene, it still great.
I like both lead characters. they done their job very well.

The read more historical storyline is good nor bad. But, I dont think rewatch again about the historical scene. I could rewatch just to watch their love story. For the ending, I like to see them hug each other. Overall, the cinematography could have been better.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
City Hunter
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Good storyline and plot for action drama, even though the first 2 episodes kind of slow. The story makes us surprise and plot twist. Every episode makes the audiences curious what's next. Great music background. Really match every scene, especially during fighting scene. Those who really likes action drama without worry having less romance, this is it. The ending of the main story is great and satisfy. However, the epilogue ending could been better.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
This was such a fun show to watch. Kim bok joo and her lips, her fashion was nonexistent but it worked for her being such a nerd. Nam joo hyuk is handsome though and the fact that they ended up together in real life makes it so sweet to watch. The swaag team was hilarious and so was the whole cast. Bok joo dad did a great job acting out of order. read more Hes always the serious actor but he was comedic in this
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Prosecutor Princess
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 10
A REAL GEM
this is an amazing delightful, heartwarming & superfine drama
don't know why it has that bad rate
the plot was very good & so cute
i really liked soooo
watching Park Shi Hoo for first time & fall for him
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
One More Happy Ending
0 people found this review helpful
by Vick
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
overall great performance a comedy that isn't necessarily the best romance but certainly entertaining to watch, because there are four couples with very different needs and wants. They get together like a house on fire, its like a gentleman's dignity but with women as the 4 friends this time .
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Radiant Office
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
What I liked about this drama is the actual plot is as real as it gets. Last year I myself was looking for an internship and it was awfully hard. Getting out of the way travelling at ends of the country just to get that experience, just to become employable. I could see myself and every young millennial/gen Z person trying to get an internship and create a future in this overly read more competitive environment.

What do you do when you have tried everything ?
What do you do when you realise that getting the right job is not everything ? and the life you underestimated is at stake ?

Ho wons personality I really liked she was real in the sense she was humble but also knew how to stand up for herself. I would say it is a character that develops well throughout the drama.

Director Seo was also a great personality. A guy that worked hard his whole life to make himself succeed not another chaebol that you see in every bloody Korean drama. In a sense, it gives you hope that hard work and integrity can help you climb up the ladder as difficult as it may be. I also like that fact that he is no prince charming, you can tell he is a perfectionist, detail oriented, smart and cold as ice when he needs to be.

One of the most interesting parts of this drama was how the friendship of the three develops and how they're not perfect with each other but at the end of the day these three care about each other like brothers.

The comedy part of the show with Director Jerk and Jung Tae was quite amusing and also assistant manager Lee.

Romance-there was definitely something but i felt that it was slightly rushed ?

Needs improvement:

I feel like the last episode had far too much to it- if they did 18-20 episodes it would be better.

Romance needed a smoother development !

If you want something that heavily focuses on romance then thats not it ! If you want a slice of life I would definitely recommend !
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
I Remember You
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
I marathon-ed this drama and love it to bits. But I'm giving it a 9/10 just bacause it was open-ended and I felt like for this type of drama, if there won't be a second season slated, they should have gave resolution to the JoonHo issue. There is just no closure for everything and nobody paid for their mistakes.

Romance is not necessary to make the story exciting. But the bromance between read more brothers Hyeon and Min is so beautiful. I kinda understand Min's devotion to Hyeon, his hyung has protected and taken care of him like a parent does when they were younger. I kinda wished my sons' relationship is that close.

Although the story arc is about serial killer Joon Ho and Min, I felt like they were not necessarily evil, but they do have a twisted sense of justice. Makes me think of Dexter (from the serial killer US series Dexter), but unlike Dexter who kills evil people just satisfy his nature to kill. Killing is never be justified. It's always wrong. But you will feel a sense of pity for MIn, maybe because Park BoGum acted him so well. I think that if he stayed with his hyung, he wouldn't have turned out as bad as he is. I do feel sorry for Cha JiAn, she was always getting beat up. Anyway, I think 16 episodes are not enough. Ep 1-15 are really great, plot wise, but ep 16 towards the end felt rushed.

****SPOILER****
I was feeling very crappy when I thought Min has died, but I'm glad that he didn't. I would really feel terrible and regretful if he died. Mostly because I think that he has a potential to change. He was not the type of serial killer who kills to satisfy his bloodlust, but someone who takes justice into their hands when they see people who abandoned their children because he thought he was abandoned and left in the clutches, plus brainwashed that his hyung left him. But he did show that he can restrain himself as is the case of the adopted parents who left their adopted son to die in the hands of bullies in one of the episode. And his promise to his hyung not to kill anymore.
****SPOILER****

I think that JoonHo is the catalyst to most of the trauma in Hyeon's life. He made Hyeon's father doubt his son, making him out to be a future psychopath, when even before when he already has suspicions, he never acted on them. But upon Joon Ho's goading, he locked up his son "to protect him and protect the world from him." which is twisted in a way, when all he could have done is talk to his son and guide him and shower him with love and understanding, Meaning, his dad is stupid.

Joon Ho, I think felt the need to belong to a family, that's why he is so obsessed with Min and Hyeon. Thinking of them as his children in his own twisted way, when he was the one who killed their father. Unlike other series with necessary evil, the main antagonists here are not annoying, makes you think about choices and morality.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Itazura na Kiss
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 1.0
  • Story 1.0
  • Acting/Cast 1.0
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I don't like dramas showing girls following men like a stalker and become their pup. The male lead was horrid to the main lady from day 1. Later he had a change of heart but even after getting married he was horid. KOKOTO was sort of ugly. She was pushy etc. This drama is a nigjtmare. I thinj I'm too old for this type of dramas. My first and last j drama. read more Thanks to this i never want to see a j drama..
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Madame Antoine
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 2.0
  • Story 3.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
Overall, I think it was very distasteful, giving a very unpleasant feeling while watching it. I managed to watch the first 10 episodes (fast-forward the rest), I quite like to watch the female lead and some of the cast, the acting was fine. It was not all bad (I did watched 10 episodes without forwarding), but the plot it revolves around is really really offensive, repulsive, displeasing, loathsome...I can go on and read more on.... I can't take it anymore so I gave up. If it deviates from the abhorrent plot, go off towards a more charming direction and not repeat the same thing over and over, this show would be more enjoyable.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Suisho no Kodo
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 6.0
  • Story 4.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.0
  • Music 7.0
  • Rewatch Value 4.5
Suisho no Kodo is the sequel to Ishi no Mayu. For those not aware, it's a crime drama focusing on Tokyo Metropolitan Police Department. A new case for Kisagari Toko and gang to solve. How does this one compare to the first season? Let's take a look.

First off, can you watch this without having seen the first season? Yes, you can. However some, what I would call important moments of Suisho read more no Kodo will be lost on you or not as impactful if you didn't watch the first one. Especially towards the end. So yes, while you can skip the first season, I would recommend watching both in order.

Like I mentioned in my review for Ishi no Mayu, crime dramas are not my cup of tea. I have though, seen a lot of them. Suisho no Kodo is, in my opinion a solid sequal. However I feel it does not elevate itself much and unfortunetly keeps it on the same level as it's predecessor.

The storyline is nothing to write home about, just like the first season. The "villain" is alot less interesting. In the first season it made sense why the story was about Kisaragi Toko. We understood why she was the focus, because of her past and connections to the case. This time, the show made her feel like of alot less importance and sometimes I was wondering why she ended up being to one doing certain things, that someone else very well could have done itstead. To prevent spoilers I'll keep it vague. Despite this Kimura Fumino make Kisaragi Toko a very likeable character, even when she ends up making stupid decisions. The cast does a great job overall, just like in Ishi no Mayu. However one member of the group is replaced and a new actor joins, who is also a serious and very uninteresting middle aged man. I would have preferred more character development for the others instead of this new character, but ultimately it's not a big problem.

The same music returns, and I still think it's one of the better aspects of this show. Sound design is well done, for the most part. Sometimes it can get a little bit silly. Rewatch value isn't very high for this one either, and I would rate it even lower if not for the fact that there are some good characters and actors that you might want to revisit. But the show is not worth it to watch again for plot alone.

I feel the show tries to be realistic and a little bit on the darker side. Alot of serious moments. This is fine. However, both the first season and Suisho no Kodo doesn't go dark enough for me. It even feels childish at times with how certain scenes are editied and certain plot points. I think this show would work well if we got some brutal criminal "villains" to clash with Kisaragi Tokos innocent personality. It could work really well as a movie.

Anyway a solid criminal drama, some intense moments but mostly predictable and it does nothing new. Characters is where this shows strength lies, and you get more from them in this second season. I would recommend this for people who like crime dramas. But if you don't, this won't get you interested in the genre.

I give Suisho no Kodo a 6/10.

*This is not a bad score! I base my scores like this. 1/10 is garbage, 5/10 is avarage and 10/10 is a masterpiece.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Descendants of the Sun
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 6.5
  • Story 5.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.5
A lot of people would hate me for this but i don't like this drama. I'm a huge fan of song joong ki. And song hye kyo is a great and beautiful actress but i don't like this drama. Too typical. Nothing unique. Their acting was good. But this wasn't their best. Ask the cast and they'll say the same thing about their acting here. It wasn't the best drama. It wasn't read more their best drama. It was just popular. And the lead actors had great chemistry. Both good looking. That's it. Nothing exceptional. Nothing out of the ordinary.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Signal
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
At first, i never thought i would love this drama. I don't know anyone from the cast. But the storyline was different. It was a great drama cause of it's twists and turns. Makes you want to watch the next episode immediately. I was quite disappointed when this drama didn't win the best drama for 2016. Most of the people who didn't vote for this are only into love stories or romcom read more series. Anyway, hope many would watch signal and make recommendations.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Little Princess
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
9 days ago
9 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 8.5
I am not really a fan of C-Dramas, more the K-drama type of person. However, I picked up this drama and I really enjoyed it. Even though the plot wasn't extra-ordinary, it was not as cliche as I had expected it to be. Although most plots has depicted the main lead, Xin Chen as an arrogant and spoilt girl who wanted to be treated like a princess, I had actually liked her read more personality. She is talented, confident and tough at times. The story was catching and refreshing to the cliche K-dramas i usually watch. Also, all the leads are really hot and pretty! ;) Its worth a try!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No