Sort by:
Sotus: The Series
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
11 days ago
11 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 9.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 10
this show is so good!!! krist is so freaking cuteee. i recommend this so to anyone who likes bl stuff..... i will forever be sad over the fact that they wont b a season 2, but the way the show ended is so freaking.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Little Princess
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 6.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 8.5
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
I love this show to pieces, although technically, it's kind of bad. But somehow, it caught me from the very beginning and I binge-watched it in two days and enjoyed every minute of it.

Story:
On the one hand, the story is refreshingly new: We start out with the girl who would be the antagonist in every other show we watch. She's rich, she's spoiled, she's thoughtless and sometimes rude, she kind read more of believes she's entitled to other people's attention. The good, poor, sweet girl who would usually be our protagonist is actually the girl our protagonist is up against. It's a fun twist, mostly because although she's a spoiled princess, the female lead is very lovable. You'll see her good points quickly, and come to love her for them (at least I did). On the other hand the story is chock-full of clichés, which for some reason doesn't make it any less refreshing. You have all the typical tropes you expect, all the accidental skinship, misunderstandings and twists. But, partly because Xing Chen is very straightforward, they sometimes take unexpected twists.
If you want cute, lovable characters, a fun storyline and occasionally slapstick humor, you won't be disappointed. The interaction between the lead couple is incredibly cute, they are so adorable. But please also be prepared for seemingly random interactions (you know those moments when people in dramas stumble and fall into positions where you think "how on earth did that happen??" – yeah, those kind of things). Small elements of the plot will be dropped, and there's very little consequences to people's actions, especially short term. The whole story is sparkly, cute and bubbly, and it is (as you might have guessed from the title) very fairytale. But it is enjoyable. If you're looking for a romantic comedy that's lighthearted and keeps you entertained, I think this might be it. Also it's rather fast-paced. There are hardly any scenes where you might be tempted to skip through, because almost all of them are relevant to the character's relationships or their feelings. Very little "scheming old men/evil mom" scenes, if you know what I mean. It's just unapologetic fluff from beginning to end, with a healthy dose of drama and obstacles thrown into the characters' way, but never so much that you start getting bored of the hurt.

Acting/Cast:
Nothing out of the ordinary. If you know Chinese drama, you know to expect fairly horrible dubbing in places. Funnily enough, Mike's works the best out of all the leads somehow. It didn't bother me at all for some reason (too caught up in the cuteness), but the dubbing is there. However, considering the sometimes outrageously far-fetched scenes (especially the falling scenes) and the cheesiness, I think the actors did rather well. (Also, they're all of them very good looking. I especially fell in love with Xing Chen and Yang Yang, they're incredibly pretty! Seriously, you could watch this show just for the eye-candy alone).

Music:
I rated this rather highly because, although you only have one memorable song that's repeated through the whole drama, it's a very catchy song. I know, that should maybe be a point deduction for some, but as I'm writing it the song is still stuck in my head. And although the English grammar isn't really right at all, it's still really sweet and I somehow love it.

Rewatch Value:
I might just rewatch this, I just loved the cuteness and Xing Chen. I'd just rewatch it for all her scenes.

Overall:
It's a little gem in the cheesy rom com category. I haven't watched this kind of drama since I first started watching drama years ago, since I in-between gravitated to the more serious, solid dramas with stronger developments. But it's so beautifully clichéd, hilariously cute, I just couldn't stop watching. I'd definitely recommend it, but I just think you should know that you're not getting into a drama that you should take seriously here. If you watch it and know that, you might be in for a treat :).

BUT:
A word of warning, especially for the musicians among us: Even to me, who hasn't touched about 90% of the instruments featured in this drama, it was obvious that the songs they were "playing" didn't fit their movements at all. It is so blatant that it might be off-putting for some. Also, as emotionally satisfying as the last episode is, it is so extremely ridiculous in places that I laughed out loud.

At the time when I'm writing this there are subbed episodes available on multiple sites. But episode 3 wasn't subbed completely, with about 40% of it missing, and the subs in the following episodes were sometimes VERY grammatically wonky. Once or twice for a few minutes the music went out of control or the subs would stop for one or two sentences. I was so devoted to this show that I didn't even mind, but it should be mentioned.

I hope I didn't put you off it, because it's truly very sweet and I do not regret any second I spent on it :)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Sotus: The Series
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 9.0
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 9.0
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
I've known about Sotus the Seris being in production from well over a year ago. Even before Make It Right the Series came out. It's just that I lost hope/interest (if that's the right words) in it because it was taking so long for the series to come out, but when it eventually did I put it on hold for the first 3 months of it's airing because I was too into read more other dramas to watch Sotus. When I finally got around to watching Sotus; I was not the least bit disappointed.

The series is great with a really well written story be Bittersweet with it's "typical" kind of plot line, but interesting setups. What makes the series stand out is that the two actors portraying Kongpope and Arthit are really immerse into their roles that it makes the acting seem natural and flowing. If you were to compare with Lovesick and MIR (although I don't like to compare them), the acting seems more natural, but maybe that's because of the age difference between the leads of Sotus to the leads of Lovesick and MIR.

For being relatively new actors, Krist and Singto were very talented and as I stated above; acted very natural. All the other actors were great too.

I didn't really get pulled in by any of the music in the series, but overall the selection of songs in the series were not bad. They just didn't appeal that great to me.

There were some awkward scenes where things just "stood still" for a minute or 2 and you didn't really know what was happening, but other than that the series was great!

Definitely a must watch/re-watch! And I hope for a season 2 like the rest of the Sotus fans!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
My Man's Woman
3 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
"Love sometimes just isn't enough". This is my assessment after 24 heart-wrenching and anxiety-inducing episodes. My Husband's Woman delves into infidelity in the most realistic, brutal and no-nonsense way i've seen thus far, leaving behind nothing but sorrow, anguish and remorse. I'll say it early, save yourselves the pain and just skip this one.

That being said this is one of the best dramas i've ever watched because of the perfect, symbolic read more and realistic characters as well as the quite fast paced and pragmatic plot. The premise is simple and is set around a woman who is in love with a married men and does everything in her power to get him. The drama focuses more on the 2 main female characters, the wife and the mistress, while the husband takes the 2nd wheel of this ill-fated love triangle.

Interestingly, it is a lot different than other similar themed adultery kdramas. Usually we get a sad backstory that tries to excuse and partly maybe even justify the actions of the adulterer. Here the story is a lot more brutal, there is no melodramatic backstory to drive any of the character, thus the drama is completely character-driven; while it does a splendid job delving into the mind of each and everyone of them.

What the drama wants to do is not glorify cheating or excuse the adulterers or even punish them or push viewers into a forgiving mentality towards them. On the contrary, i would stay, it stays neutral to all of that, it depends on the viewer's viewpoint whether to understand, hate, like or dislike the characters, and it depicts solely the repercussions of infidelity in the most cruel way possible.

Starting from the couple itself, how years and years of (superficial -obviously) happiness fall apart, questions, doubts about what went wrong, efforts to save something that has already died, screaming, violence, paranoia is just the beginning. Having kids in this situation will only worsen the process making it even more heartbreaking. Children hating their parents, accusing themselves for their broken family, not knowing how to react or deal with it. Continuing to the extented family that are just ready to jump in, judge and make everything worse (whether they want to help or not). What's more, it widens its spectrum to social everyday life and work place, showing that people are ready to judge hate and ridicule the situation and everyone involved.

Furthermore, we get a very good insight on what adultery means in the korean society. The drama is 10 years old, so i'm guessing (and hoping) there's a sea change in this department but i liked how the writer sneakily promoted the idea of equity when it comes to adultery. If, in a society in which cheating men are considered normal, then so should women. Hate one-hate both or accept both. But also loved how it showed that no matter how strong the bond between the mistress and the husband is, there will always be situations that will prove that the marital bond is just too strong to be broken that easily thus "love is not enough" the feeling that kept coming back throughout the drama.

Money of course wouldn't be possible to not have a prominent role in such a gritty drama. It shocked me how everything always revolved and apparently always will revolve around money. "Stay with him and accept his cheating and make him your personal atm machine for revenge", "If you stay with her, i'll disown you and you won't get any of the inheritance", "Quick get pregnant so you can demand some of the inheritance". Life is supposed to be about happiness, an affair happens because something in a marriage isn't working, bringing money to the topic just made the whole thing even more disgusting but that much more real too.

The drama is entirely character driven, hence it will be unappealing for most viewers. There is no backstory no shocking revealings nothing, just people meddling with adultery and the implications. The drama was ultimately a never ending fight between the characters -which woman will win- and a self-hating game of each character alone.

At this point i'd like to talk about the character since they were so significant. Each character represented something, fought for it until the end or let it consumed and eat him alive to his destruction. In the very end everything does happen in vain something that makes everything even more tragic and sad.

Hwa Young was the mistress, and she represented Greed. A sad person that was used by her family and decided that she'll do whatever it takes to be happy thinking nobody but herself for the first time in her life. However, for that one person she'd choose, she'll give her all, and she had nothing but her ego. She shreded that ego like it was nothing, she increasingly settled thinking this is what she wants and that she'll eventually be happy, but happiness comes from within. A greedy person who wanted someone else, someone empty, to give her everything and in return she'll give all of herself too. But it was not that simple. I appreciated her persisting personality, i appreciated her character up to a certain point, but everything in her life comes with a price. She was ready to change for 1 person, but she picked poorly, now she's gotta live with that. What she needed wasn't someone else to love her so she'll feel complete but she needed to love herself first in order to be complete.

Joon Pyo was the husband, and he represented Selfishness. A tad similar with the mistress at first glance but no. They were probably absolute opposites by the end. A person who loved deeply, but -plot twist- loved himself more than anything else, and he barely even realised it ever. 24 episodes and he couldn't make a simple choice, he many times felt like a tennis ball just being thrown here and there with no mind and will of its own. A complacent person, wanting it all till the end. But can you really hate and judge a person who is just too empty to even realise what is going on around him? Selfish people are usually selfish because they are empty.

Ji-Soo was a bit more difficult being the wife. One would expect she would be the easiest person to like and root for. Yet it took me several episodes to even bear her face. She represented those people-pleasers. Growing up as a cater for others, she barely even created a personality of her own. Being the pushover of her sister she never shaped a whole identity and all that came to bite her in the worst way possible. Such people need the personal time to get to know themselves first and cater for themselves before going on to form relationships.

All the characters were increadibly well-thought-out and well-written. I have to admit that i severely disliked them in the first half when there are barely any logical decisions made. I loved how there are shy, small steps made by all of them in terms of character development in the 2nd half, goes to show what dramatic situations do to all of us. And i was thoroughly shocked by how close i felt to all of them by the end. I wanted this to be over since episode 4, and by episode 24 i couldn't let them go.

In the very end i wouldn't call what happened "character development", real people don't change, they adjust. This is what happened here, the characters tried to adjust and i couldn't help but appreciate their authenticity and the marvelous writing. In the very end, it was nothing but themselves that kept them from happiness, the happiness they had been chasing since moment 1.

Lastly i'd like to mention the amazing deep messages we got about decisions and consequenses of our actions in this drama. In a very honest and rough way, situations like marriage decision, significant other choice, having kids, forgiving your spouce, your kid, your parent, life choices in general and a whole lot more were targeted and talked in a subtle but meaningful way.

The drama was full of symbols; beautiful but so so so difficult to watch.

The acting was luscious and spectacular by more or less the full cast. However, the real memorable acting here was by Kim Hee Ae who gave the performance of her life in every way. She was memorable, she conveyed the feelings and concerns of such a troubled, totally hateful character in the best way possible. I hated, i disapproved, i understood, i felt sorry, i rooted, i cheered, i felt sad, i cried. In episode 4 i would have never thought she would have made such a turn on me. Kim Hee Ae studied this character and made it hers.

Kim Sang Joon was brilliant too, i especially enjoyed his angry scenes, he was always rather quiet and remorseful, and his puppy eyes were on spot. Yet, he conveyed the mindset of his twisted character perfectly, acting like a victim when he was the sinner and really believing it. A wonderful ill-hated chemistry with Kim Hee Ae that basically made this drama work.

Bae Jong Ok was amazing as a person-pleaser, i have to admit during some conversations it felt like she was just uttering lives, i especially liked her paranoia scenes, she was shivering. I think there could have been better choices for this role, but she was not bad in any case.

I have to mention especially Ha Yoo Mi from the supporting cast, because she was flawless in her incredibly hateful and crazy sister role, hopefully i will never see her again lol.

Would i ever recommend this to anyone? No. Is this one of the best dramas i've ever watched? Yes. Confused much? XD

Problem here is, there is a very small amount of viewers that would enjoy this. Adultery is my favourite kdrama concept and out of all the dramas i've watched this was the most difficult one. There is no real comedy, there is no likeable or relateable character, you need to work hard to understand them. The episodes are big and in the very end you'll end up depressed plus this is a 10 year old drama. If you like the concept of adultery, you are mature enough to watch without judging too much (and it will be hard in this one) and you like serious, depressing dramas, give this a chance. I want to rewatch this in 10 or 20 years time, because i can feel there are a ton of things that i missed because of my age mostly and because i lack the expreriences this drama dealed with, but it won't anytime soon, this was difficult to get through just once.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Ku Woon Lun Paen Ruk
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 1.0
  • Rewatch Value 5.0
Ku Woon Lun Paen Ruk or Chaotic love is one of the best Lakhorns I have seen. I am not the top authority on Lakhorns but this one seemed to have all of the features of your typical Lakhorn, but with a 2016 “the viewers aren’t that stupid” sensibility.
The Good:
Its hard to find good, clear, interesting, recent lakhorn fully English subbed so when I find one I get super excited. read more I like watching the different life styles in Thailand and this drama showed a full range of social classes. Not just rich or poor, but in between too. There were a lot of storylines going and I liked that the writers weren’t afraid to make fun of how ridiculous some of the storylines were. There were parts where characters said “that would only happen in a lakhorn” lol. The story lines were interesting but still “lakhorn crazy” and made sense to the character development. Unlike the other lakhorns that I have seen there were subtle twists and turns to the plot which made it more interesting than the typical lakorn, with the typical lakhorn story. The majority of actors did a pretty good job of acting and some of them were almost believable. There were so many women in this drama but the “evil girlfriend/wife/mother/step mother” thing wasn’t really present. The last thing I loved was the hair styling…tons of baby hair!
The bad:
I never understood why the women on set with the MOST annoying voice is ALWAYS the female lead. UUGGGHH (we are watching a lakhorn so its really par for the course). This one used a lot of violence (I was super surprised). I felt uncomfortable with the ease men literally slapped the taste out of women, the violence against them was really disheartening. The clothing and style was epic hit or miss, the gay characters were essentially “props” and there were a couple of repeated and reused story plots which annoyed me.

The verdict: In judging lakhorns you have to remember many things are different than in your typical K Dramas/J Doramas/C Dramas or even Taiwanese Dramas. Understanding that there will be a bunch of evil women characters, scheming men characters, and annoying lead females sometimes will help you get through the times you want to pull your hair out. I felt this was a really good lakhorn because I wanted to see who was going to win, who was going to end up together and what happens to the fun gay bff?! The ending didn’t disappoint and there was a variety of storylines going to keep me interested- needless to say I thoroughly enjoyed it and marathoned it! If you are into lakhorns, like lots of drama and suspense with your romance and don’t mind seeing guns- I would suggest this to you. If you are new to lakhorns, cant stand violence against women, only like seeing strong female leads sit this one out.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Boys Over Flowers
2 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 1.0
  • Story 1.0
  • Acting/Cast 1.5
  • Music 4.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I've never felt so unsatisfied in my life after finishing a show.
Theres a huge overdramatic buildup with over the top bad things just happening to her/them over and over again. And then there is no resolution. To the plot, to their love story, to the love triangle, to the other characters. Well there is one but its so makeshift, I'm not even sure there was a point. Literally one of f4 read more doesn't even have a plot, but they try and give him one but never carry through with it. The resolutions to all the characters except for LMH's were all bad like I don't have a feeling of finished. They tried to resolve everything in 20 minutes, but no thqat doesn't work especially when you defy the reality of time.
The acting is eh. The story was cute until like half way through, and it just got irritating.
Nevertheless, it was incredibly addicting to watch, but I was actually torn apart. I hold so much hate for this show.
It was my first drama, and actually the worst I've ever seen.
Would Not recommend purely because of the anguish that it will give while watching and after its over.
I suggest you save up a drama you'll know will be really good to watch right after if you do watch this.

also I suggest watching The Heirs. It's the better slightly less overdramatic version of this that still has Lee Min Ho in it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Stay With Me
2 people found this review helpful
by QAS
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 5.5
  • Story 5.0
  • Acting/Cast 6.5
  • Music 6.5
  • Rewatch Value 1.0
I watched every episode until #20, but the erratic mood swings of Wei Wei and Yi Du, made me feel restless and listless. I switched to watching every five episodes until I reached the end of the line. The cast did a very good acting job.

Wei Wei acted like a childish teenager, as she kept pursuing Yi Du, even though he treated her shabbily. Yi Du was so trusting of his read more friend, who was his mortal enemy, yet he distrusted Wei Wei frequently, that I wanted to slap his head. Huo Xiao began to act needy and manipulative, which made me unsympathetic toward him. Mo Fan irritated me constantly with his distorted revenge plot. Some of the supporting characters were too melodramatic. At the end, Mo Fan went to jail for his criminal acts, but Yi Du was too forgiving. He treated Wei Wei much worse, especially dumping her in some rural area, with no cell phone or money. At best, this drama should have been 30 episodes long. Zhang Duo is a very attractive man, but I could not tolerate his character, Mo Fan. Derek Chang was my favorite cast member. His character seemed the most normal.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
To The Beautiful You
0 people found this review helpful
by Nora
Other reviews by this user
12 days ago
12 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.0
My very first officially completed K-Drama and I honestly only watched it because of Choi MinHo. I'm really glad I chose this one to start with cause it was just really cute and fun. The acting was pretty good and the music was on point with the scenes and that gave it an even better atmosphere.
Definitely hooked on dramas now!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Stay With Me
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 7.0
  • Acting/Cast 8.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 6.0
Stay With Me is a rom-com slash light-hearted romantic melo about too many second chances, obsessive love and a fairly weak case of revenge by proxy. The story has some ridiculous, rather makjang-like elements and is full of plot-holes but at the same time is addictively funny and heartwarming.

Wang Kai is sizzling hot playing a romantic lead, a genre that is somewhat new for him and I have to say he read more does not disappoint. Joe Chen’s already a proven actress and gotta give it to her pulling off a character that on some less capable actresses may come off as annoying and silly. But in the hands of Joe Chen, she gives Wei Wei an edge and a backbone but at the same time gives us the comic relief that is part and parcel of this character. Their natural chemistry is one of the highlight of this show.

The draw of Wang Kai may have enticed me to watch this drama and it did have enough content to keep me glued. I almost wanted to drop it at 30+ episodes when our lovely OTP keeps going back and forth breaking up and making up - one too many times. Characters don’t seem to have a constancy about them, changing colors too frequently - forgiving and forgetting seem to be the mantra of the day. The second and third OTPs are decent and deserve the screen time, giving the show an added notch of flair. But the uncle and sidekick pair got under my skin. I find these two serving very little purpose other than screen fillers and agitating the heck out of everyone.

The production set is very chic and modern. Whether it is the offices, the residences, restaurants or even the hospital, you see a very rich and slick Shanghai. Granted, it is about high fashion and the characters are all wealthy. Something I’ve noticed lately with many of the contemporary cdramas. Product placement is also front and center. Quite blatant and after 30+ episodes it can get a bit in your face.

The OST is catchy and worth downloading.

Leave your brains at home, just soak it in for pure entertainment and enjoy this perfectly imperfect show.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Signal
0 people found this review helpful
by ivip
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This drama was fantastic... I haven't been able to find a drama that hooked me since My love from another star. I enjoyed everybit of this series. There were some plot holes and unrealistic reactions to certain scenes, but you quickly forgave it for everything else the drama offered. The leads were great. The story was super refreshing and well-written. And the OST was beautiful. This is a must-watch!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Stay With Me
0 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 8.5
  • Story 8.0
  • Acting/Cast 9.5
  • Music 9.0
  • Rewatch Value 8.0
Stay With Me was a really great drama that featured great acting, a genuine feeling of a relationship between the leads and a great soundtrack despite it's eventually tiring story line. Wang Kai and Joe Chen both did an amazing job as the main leads - their chemistry was off the charts and their fluffy moments felt extremely real. The second leads both did a great job supporting the main couple as read more well as developing their own love, though the age difference between the two was somewhat offputting.

Despite the fact that the drama started off quite strong in the beginning, it begins to repeatedly break up the main characters (sometimes several times in an episode), which makes it quite tedious to keep going at times. By episode 30, I would recommend that you make your own decision to keep going or to drop the drama, since there are a lot of repeated elements.

That being said, the overall drama was solid with great leads and is worth a watch just for the comedy and chemistry between the cast! Stay With Me also featured a great look into the background of the fashion industry, and the designs were beautiful. As well, the music was lovely and you definitely grow to cheer on all the characters as the drama progresses.

If you enjoy someone filled with drama and fluff, this is definitely someone I'd recommend checking out!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Healer
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 9.5
  • Story 9.5
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 8.0
  • Rewatch Value 9.5
What can I say? Healer has easily become one of my favourite recent dramas. Almost everything in it is perfect: the cast, the originality of the plot, the characters, and above all, the direction.
This is one of the best dramas I've ever seen in terms of directing. And it was not an easy one, since the genres are a little mixed and undetermined: action, journalism, melodrama and romance. You need someone read more qualified for this job: to get the right pace to make the action scenes thrilling and racy enough; to make the melo scenes touching and the romance scenes not to sappy. And director-nim did great at all those things.

About the cast. Well, Ji Chang Wook was definitely the man for the part. That mixture of Superman and James Bond really suited him. He's an amazing (and swoon worthy) actor.
Park Min Young was also great and her character is a lovable one. She's an easygoing yet brave and strong woman, which I appreciate every once in a while in a drama. The relationship between her and Healer feels natural and real.
And Yoo Ji Tae's charisma and presence fill the screen.

Everyone in the supporting roles is amazing, but I want to mention Woo Hee Jin, whom I loved in Moon Lovers, although she doesn't have much time on screen. And above all, Kim Mi Kyung. Actually, I don't know why her role is considered a supporting role, when her character is the key to Healer's success.

The music is good; maybe not extraordinary, but its use is so spot on in every scene that it feel great.

Not much more to say except that this is highly recommendable. Don't miss it and enjoy it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Miracle
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 8.5
  • Acting/Cast 8.0
  • Music 7.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.0
Although I was curious about this drama, I wasn't expecting much. And maybe that's why I was so pleasantly surprised. The Miracle may not be a masterpiece, but it's still quite refreshing.

What I enjoyed the most about it is that - FOR ONCE - even though one of the main characters starts overweight, the moral of the story is NOT that "skinny = happiness". The moral of the story is that read more your physical appearance alone doesn't define you.
Of course, your outward appearance matters, since it's the first feature people can see and judge, but who you are as a person is just as important. You're not any less worthy of living/being successful because your physical appearance doesn't match society's expectations. You shouldn't have to change your physical appearance for others.
It's really nice to see this kind of moral, especially in a Kdrama (even tho The Miracle is only a web drama per se).

Unfortunately, that point alone is not enough to disregard completely the flaws of this drama.
Mainly the main romance. It was too hasty, too shallow, too cliché. Even if it was cute, it fell flat. For a seemingly romance-focused drama, it's a bit unsatisfactory to say the least. Also the story had a lot of potential, but due to its short format, most of it was cut short.
The acting was also not outstanding, but I did nonetheless really much enjoy the performance of the two sisters, as well as the one Yang Hak Jin gave. Their acting had a kind of "rough authenticity" feel to it, which i personally liked.
As for the soundtrack, the songs are pleasing to the ear, but even so nothing memorable.

Overall, The Miracle is refreshing, sweet, full of positivity...and short; you can basically view those 12 episodes in about 3 hours. So if you're looking for an uplifter, and don't mind turning a blind eye on apparent flaws, look no further.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Shopping King Louis
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 10
  • Story 10
  • Acting/Cast 10
  • Music 10
  • Rewatch Value 10
This is the most romantic and cute Drama I watched so far!

It is just perfect.
I loved the story from the begining and the story was told in such a lively and adorable kind that I just couldn't stop!
It started amazing and kept this amazingness till the end.
I really loved the character development and and how every chacter found his own place.
The cast was perfect and Seo In read more Guk and Na Ji Hyun were the perfect lead.
They looked and acted absolutly perfect with each other They are a perfect match.
Also I really loved the OST it was always fitting and setting the perfct mood for the scenes.
All In All I absolutly Loved this Drama!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
The Day After We Broke Up
1 people found this review helpful
Other reviews by this user
13 days ago
13 days ago
  • Overall 7.5
  • Story 5.5
  • Acting/Cast 7.5
  • Music 9.5
  • Rewatch Value 7.5
Ahh...I was so exited to write a review once this dama comes out but after watching it not anymore. First let me tell you that when the intro/opening for this drama started i thought i was watching a chinese drama not a korean one because it was so long.
About the story, what can i say?! It was really confusing and i was wondering what was happening in the drama until i read more came around episode two and four that i could understand what was happening much better than before lol. But still, until the end this drama was really confusing. The story is not really original and i had a feeling that i had seen dramas or other shows with a really similar story lol. Even if it wasnt original it had great potential and that's the reason i really liked it and kept watching it. But i'm gonna be honest,that i think the writer failed to make the story original and it ended as just another drama of the 1M SK dramas airing every year that nobody is gonna remember.
The acting and the cast was okay but i really had high expectations for L which he covered around 50%.I dont understand why he has to play a musician for a 3rd and soon 4th time. When i was watching this drama his acting as a sweet guy reminded me when he was playing a 3minute boyfriend on SNL Korea and his acting was 90% the same...Maybe he is tired of this type of role. Who knows?! - p.s i'm sure he is, but we will see in his next drama). And let me tell you he was 75% of the reason i even started watching this drama. I hope that one day he gets a normal role as a student or maybe a killer or a doctor just something that's not close to a singer.
As for the main female Yoon So Hee. Her acting was also okay, just fine but i felt nothing and it's not really her fault but the writer who didn't do his job right. I know her from the EXO video that's a drama version of their song growl and maybe you know her from other dramas and i think she has potential.
I think even the leads were confused at some point about how they should act because of the story and i don't blame them. The supporting actors on the other hand were 10/10 because they didn't have to be confused by the complicated time stuff and that's the reasons i'm giving the acting 7.5.
Now to the music! This drama has one of the best songs a drama could have and honestly my ears felt blessed when L started signing. I think they invested so much into the music that they forgot everyting else but maybe that's for the better because now i can give them a good rating. Thank you for doing atleast this right. But if your are considering watching this drama let me warn you that there is a lot of music i honestly remember more music scenes than any of the other... just so you know if a lot of music is not your cup of tea. I myslef think they over did it with the music in a few scenes that's why i'm giving it 9.5 not 10 but maybe i will change my mind in the future and change it who knows.
As a rewatch value its good enough to rewatch it if you have nothing else to do. I would watch it again when some time passes and i dont have dramas to watch(impossible).
So should you watch it?Yes! After all you may like it more than i did and if you are a fan of L and INFINITE go ahead and watch it don't hesitate. This drama reminds me when L playd an idol in My lovely girl with Kristal of F(X) and Shut Up: Flower Boy Band which were all better than this drama and i recommend you to watch them too. Because of this i think L must be tired of playing a signer all the time atleast that's how it looks to me because his acting is not as good as it was in those two dramas. Let's wish him good luck with his next drama! Overall its a good drama with good cast but i think it could have been better if they had put some more effort into making it original. Go watch this drama yourself and see if you agree with me because my opinion may be diffirent from yours.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No