Hi,

I'm still a newbie and I've almost only watched Japanese and Korean dramas so far. I'm wondering what's especially characteristic for Chinese dramas?

Is it more likely for them to have powerful women than in Korean or Japanese ones?
Not talking about physical capabilities especially, but overall and how they're treated by others, especially by men and their social status.

Just judging by covers of other shows (which doesn't say much of course),
it looks like it might be possible for them to more frequently have capable women who aren't treated as being weaker or inferior to men.
And recently a friend of mine also mentioned something similar about a Chinese show she watched.

Also, are the Chinese somehow more likely to create dramas with fantasy settings (rarely seen otherwise, at least on Viki)?

Thank you :)
Hello and welcome to Chinese dramas.

Personally, i prefer Chinese historical dramas or ones set in the early 1900s. Why? i don't really know. Maybe its an interest in Chinese history or maybe i like the costumes.

As for the women in the Chinese dramas, i don't think personally they are treated any different to K or J dramas. Perhaps the mums in C dramas aren't as psychotic as i have seen in K dramas and their 'rules' are perhaps not as strict.

I have definitely seen more fantasy dramas in Chinese then i have in any other country. Every country has it's own trend so you will find that certain years will have more of certain types of show.

A few for you to try out .. if you like fantasy try The Journey of Flower or Go Princess Go.It's very funny involves body swapping and hilarious situations. A few others that are well received, Love me if you dare for psychological and boss and me for romance.If you like power struggles and strong women, can try Cruel Romance or Too Late To Say I Love You.

As always, beware of character dubbing. It's very annoying but nothing can be done about it so you just have to get used to it :-)

Happy watching.