If you're still experiencing technical difficulties, please report it here.
Wild Romance
2 people found this review helpful
Dec 4, 2012
Overall 5.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
The first few episodes were ok except the lead girl who just drove me crazy then the episodes went way down hill after that till episode 11 and 12 which were likely the best 13-16 were ok also and it had a good ending. My favorite couple were Mr. Robot and Ms Weird. I didn't feel that the main leads even had any type of romantic chemistry for the majority of the series but once they did it was cute. The lead female just looked plan stupid to me for most of the series as well and I hated her eye expressions but she started being slightly cute by the end of the series. The mystery I think was put there to make up for the lack of romance but it was pretty predictable and you basically know who did it by the end of the second episode but you weren't sure till halfway through. The late triangle addition just aggravated me. I really just felt like the mains relationships was either to slow to develop and then it was just there which was kind of annoying as well. It ended well though for the most part but I still like the Manger and writers couple story the best.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ghost
0 people found this review helpful
Dec 3, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This was a re-make of the American Film with Patrick Swazye and Demi Moore but I must say I preferred this version with Jun-Ho (Song Seung-Heon)as a potter, who falls in love but his wife loses her life on her way home.
Then there's the psychic who helps by saying all that she could not say (because she's dead) and also helps to solve the murder.

What got on my nerves however, was her inability to tell him that she loved him.
I kept saying it at all the opportune times but she never did, lol.

A nice classic especially for persons who love to watch a good
Was this review helpful to you?
A Man Called God
4 people found this review helpful
Dec 3, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I liked Song Il Gook and even Han Go Eun, together it was great acting.

Story- the movie started with a bang, it was revenge from the start and it was exciting. Great fight scenes. I was disappointed that the lead had few love scenes together, and the story line seemed to have a lot more scenes with the song Il Gook.

Even though they were together in the end I still think it could have been better and that the ending was rushed as too much time was spent on other matters that we trivial at the time.

Song Il Gook’s character was a man of few words and he definitely played his part very well.He was really perfect as Michael King/Peter Pan/ Choi Kang Ta.

Overall it was a good drama worth watching.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Rainbow Eyes
8 people found this review helpful
Dec 3, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
First, a word of warning, this film is graphic. If you are sensitive to violence or blood, stay away!

Now, this crime thriller has one of the most well thought out plots I have ever seen. Throughout the entire detective process you're left knowing hardly more than the main character, Kyeongyoon. And talk about a number of plot twists. It will keep you jumping from one person to the next as you try to figure out who-done-it.

Now, this movie doesn't only focus on the brutal scenes. As Kyeongyoon is trying to solve the serial murder case, we begin to see more and more of his personal life. He is getting married soon, but his job keeps taking away from their time together. His past also begins to cause a rift in their relationship, as he begins to spend more and more time trying to find out what happened to Lee Yoonsuh, who was at one time close to Kyeongyoon.

This is where beautiful cinematography comes in. Scenes from the past often take on an almost dream-like quality, with brightened lights and shifting images. This is definitely an experimental move, but it really caught my attention. It gave an almost chaotic feel, which closely mirrored Kyeongyoon's own feelings about his past.

However, the troubled relationship of the engaged couple doesn't begin and end with Kyeongyoon. His fiancée, Soojin, has a shocking past herself. It was quite honestly a jaw-dropping moment when you discover her secrets.

Overall, there are plenty of shockers in this movie and absolutely nothing was done without a purpose. I too was gasping multiple times during the last fifteen minutes as everything was unfolding. A couple viewings of this film might be needed to fully grasp all that happened, but it is well worth the second, third, or in my case, fifth watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Secret Garden
5 people found this review helpful
Dec 3, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
I finally decided to watch this after hearing so much about it, and overall I'm really glad I did. I enjoyed it a lot. It wasn't perfect, but it was still really good.

Well, let's get the imperfections out of the way first, shall we? Then we can end on an upper. ^_^ I think the main problem was that the plot didn't live up to its potential. It had so many chances to be unique, but then it would fall back onto the same old k-drama cliches. I was also disappointed that the fantasy element was underused. It could've driven the plot instead of mostly being used for laughs. And in the end there were a lot of loose ends that were tied up without really being resolved. Those were the things that bugged me.

Then why did I still give Secret Garden a 9? Because everything else about it was AMAZING! The scenery, cinematography, costumes, action scenes, and people were all really beautiful. The dialogue was well written and well performed, especially the funny bits. But the main thing that was amazing about this show was the cast. SO GOOD! I've never watched Hyun Bin or Ha Ji Won in anything else, but watching this really makes me want to. They did an amazing job with their characters and also with playing eachother during the body swaps. And their chemistry was INCREDBLE! Some of the best I've seen in a k-drama. Those two totally made the show for me. The supporting cast was also amazing. I've seen a lot of the actors before (Lee Philip in Faith, Jang Seo Won in Heartstrings, Yoo In Na in Queen In Hyun's Man, Kim Sung Oh in Midas) so it was lots of fun to see them in this. Everyone played their parts really well and were really funny. An amazing k-drama cast.

So, although Secret Garden was perfect and didn't quite live up to its potential, I still really enjoyed it. Definitely in my top 10. ^_^

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
King2Hearts
4 people found this review helpful
Dec 3, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Where to begin? WHERE TO BEGIN!??? I honestly don't know! It is simply marvellous! Actually no scrap that, there are no words that can possibly do it justice, although I must say Rita's review hit the nail on the head and I fear my review will be a mere nonsensical ramble now xD.

Righto, I'll attempt to do this drama the justice it deserves with my prattling.
Initially I honestly thought it would be your typical Korean rom-com. In fact that is the precise reason I chose to watch it in the first place as I was in the mood for something lighthearted, filled with abundant humour after having seen a drama of a more serious and tragic nature. Well boy was I in for a surprise, and a pleasant surprise at that because it not only satisfied my yearning for pure romance and comedy but it was simultaneously, beautifully packaged up with real life issues. Issues in relation to politics, the opinions of the masses, the ravaging nature of the media and how they love to latch on to anything that'll catch the public's attention, (in other words: scandalous), patriotism, trust not only in yourself but those around you, and of course love, to mention but a few.
Love in this drama is portrayed in such a pure and powerful way. It highlights just how far it can go when accompanied with mutual faith and trust. Truly something to admire.

The acting was impeccable and the chosen instrumental themes (perhaps I'm a tad biased here as I adore instrumental and classical music) in my eyes, or rather ears, was simply both elegant and spine tingling! It had the desired effect on me, that I can safely say unless of course my reactions were just plain bizarre and abnormal (which wouldn't really be a surprise! :P). Ha Ji-won and Lee Seung-gi make a such a wonderful duo in this drama, they honestly do. They'll have you bawling your eyes out with tears of joy, sorrow and even plain shock! The two of them have definitely won me over, although technically I'd already been a fan of Ha Ji-won's work (I'm a huge fan of her strong female roles) so saying she's won me over with her performance in here would be a bit of a fib. Lee Seung-gi on the other hand, it was actually my first time seeing him in action. I hadn't a clue what his acting was like, his quirks, or the sorts of dramas/movies he's usually involved in, so seeing him for the first time in all his glory, and talent added to the overall spectacular feel of the drama.

Seriously guys, just watch it! This drama is not something anyone can possibly hate with every cell in their body. It is just not possible to hate it so, unless you're referring to the villains, in which case it is perfectly fine to do so (personally speaking, the insanity of the main villain and even his lackeys was something I found to be both incredulously hilarious and infuriating - still it only added to the little gem that this drama is). Go on, WATCH IT!!! You're bound to fall in love with it ^_^.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Tattoo
6 people found this review helpful
Dec 3, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This movie is very harsh, there are no rainbows or butterflies when it comes to this film. It's about the harshness of life and love that shouldn't be. The characters are very dark and are sometimes hard to understand until a flashback happens later in the film. The love between the Jade and Takeko is dysfunctional but real, you can almost understand Jade's obsession with Takeko. The actress did a very good job playing women in love. And it was nice to see Ranie Yang play a more mature role rather then her cutesy innocent stuff. I recommend this film to anyone who is willing to give it a try.
Happy Watching :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Silenced
4 people found this review helpful
Dec 3, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I'm at a loss for words when it comes to this film. It is a beautiful adaption of such a horrific and sad story. You can't help but feel a part of this film when you watch it. Everything that happens to the characters you take personally because it's like you become them. I couldn't cry during this film no matter how much my eyes burned, I was too busy being angry at the people who did such horrible things to these sweet children. The acting of the children and Gong Yoo is outstanding. It is an amazing film and I recommend that everyone watch it to give them a better perspective on how harsh life can be.
Happy Watching :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Love Shuffle
6 people found this review helpful
Dec 3, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
After reading endless praise-worthy reviews, and reading the synopsis, Love Shuffle seemed to be offering up something unique in the way of its plot with not 2 but 4 couples, and the fascinating concept of the 'love shuffle.' It’s a true OTP-guessing drama, fun and sexy, with a healthy dose of quirky characters and plot twists. All that, and I still couldn’t love it.

Maybe I’m hung up on the idea that there is, or should be, something wrong fundamentally with casually switching partners every week. Or maybe this is too much fiction for me to be able to accept that a psychiatrist would really put his suicide-prone patient into the mix. Not that these are even serious flaws for a TV drama, but something from the get-go was telling me, “I don’t like it.” I nearly dropped the show at only two episodes. A week later, and after some serious consideration, I picked it up again.

I’m happy I did so, because there are good themes to this drama. For one, it doesn’t hurt to analyze what’s at the heart of a basic human relationship. These are not your typical marriage-obsessed characters. Indeed, some of them are quite the reverse, and some don’t seem to care one way or the other. In Kdramaland, everything seems to scream of that one fated lover. Miss your OTP, and you might as well resign yourself to a lonely, sad existence.

Here is where Love Shuffle breaks a few boundaries. These are human beings yearning for one other, yes, but not necessarily or exclusively via typical romantic outlets. If I loved anything about this drama, it’s in the friendships that were forged and honed throughout. The foursome that live on the same floor, drinking wine each evening in the hall in their PJs. The women who come together, alternately snarky and supportive. The men who bond both in jealousy and in commonality. The couples who are not destined, but can still inspire.

Love Shuffle is commendable in its uniqueness, and multiple-plot driven storylines. It's even at times hilarious, though be sure to watch with decent subtitle translations, as oftentimes the jokes are Japanese-specific. I’m not sure why, but every now and then I find myself walking around thinking, “Yay, panda...” Sadly, that’s about as much enthusiasm I had overall, though that is not meant to be a discouragement. I thoroughly recommend Love Shuffle, as I don't doubt that I am one of the few people out here too picky for my own good. So what do you think?

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ju-on: The Grudge
5 people found this review helpful
Dec 3, 2012
Overall 4.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 4.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
I watched this film because of it's american counterpart. I wanted to see the original since it's such a classic.
I did not enjoy this film at all, it's not that I don't like horror films I do or else I wouldn't have volunteered to watch it.
But this film is all over the place and very confusing. One moment your in the past, then the present, then the past again, the future and back to the present only to be brought to a future different then before.
The story is good but with all of the confusing time jumps I didn't have a chance to enjoy the film.
That being said it is a classic film so you should give it a chance, maybe you'll like it more then I did.
Happy Watching :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Pride
4 people found this review helpful
Dec 3, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Yay for Pride! It’s a first-rate steamy romance; no wait, it’s a first-rate inspirational sports drama. No wait, it’s a bit of both and somewhere in the combination is a half-hearted attempt to tell a new and unique story… no wait, there’s nothing new or unique. But if you A) Like a decently spun romance, or B) like Japanese hockey, then this is the drama for you.

Pride sets off with some pretty decent story-telling, and a couple of nicely charismatic actors. Initially I was watching this thing for Kimura Takuya, who plays hockey-player extraordinaire Satonaka Halu. He’s your standard rom-com lead, romantic yet insecure, and to cover up his insecurities, he hides behind the ‘Pride of the Iceman.’ I think that has something to do with being awesome on skates, padded up like an Eskimo, and generally being able (and allowed) to bowl over any man who gets in your way.

Equally impressive as an acting force, however, is Takeuchi Yuko playing Murase Aki as the girl left behind… by another guy/jerk introduced halfway through drama. Here’s the rub: Halu was warned never to sincerely love a woman, lest it interfere with his career; Aki is technically still waiting for her boyfriend to return (after a two year hiatus – and these people obviously don’t believe in phones). So in the meantime, to stave off loneliness and generally have fun, they’ve agreed to date until Aki’s boyfriend returns, and then they’ll part amicably as friends. Maybe…

As a sports drama it’s honestly not too bad. Keep in mind, I’m not a huge sports junkie and I’m not generally fond of the genre, but I’m also not completely averse to seeing hot guys working out. Did I have any genuine anxiety that maybe the team wouldn’t play well in the finals, or that every player would become injured and remain crippled? Not really. Were the slow-motion sequences of pucks magically sliding towards the goal net cheesy? Yes, sort of. Did I really care one way or the other? Nope.

As a romance story, it’s above average with a touch of good chemistry, some fairly hot kiss scenes, and then some… And really up through the halfway mark, I had nothing too bad to say about the development of the couple. Unfortunately then we’re hit with your typical dose of angst, stupidity, and a serious lack of communication.

I give a pass on this, ignoring the random bits of ridiculousness. (For a more indepth analysis, you can visit my blog). I watched this mostly for the romance and for Kimura and I was not terribly disappointed with either. I’d also like to see more of this guy in the future, so I think Pride was far from being a waste of time.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Faith
3 people found this review helpful
Dec 3, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 6.0
Although in 2012 time traveling concept is overdone, yet I believe everyone has it own story & beauty. I watched this drama with that mindset. I wasn't wrong. This drama had it's own beauty & story line. I like it more when it was about medic stuff. I think it would be more interesting if it was more about medic. But again it still has a good story. I wished it had less politics though. It was a little relevant.

The cast was amazing. I loved the lead female. she has a unique laughter. The male lead, Lee Minho, is the reason I watched this drama. I loved the supporting cast who were helping the leads.

Lastly, I loved the ending. I was going to kill someone if it was the way they hinted it to be.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ma Boy
2 people found this review helpful
Dec 3, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This was so cute and funny :P If you're looking for a drama with a complicated plot, and several unexpected twists, then Ma Boy isn't the thing you're looking for LOL. But, on the other hand, it's entertaining, innocent, and light-hearted. I really liked it! :D The only problem I had was the lead actress. Not with her, exactly (she's a great actress), more with her age.
As the show progressed, I realized there was a huge age gap between the main leads: like, 8 years. I usually don't care, especially since it had nothing to do with the story. They were both portraying seventeen-year-olds, after all. But in real life, she's younger than me, which is usually quite weird because I'm just 15. She is 13, and the lead actors were already between the ages of 19-21. So each time there was a romantic scene, I was sort of torn between going "awwww" or getting weirded out LOL.
At the end of the day, I decided to ignore that fact and simply enjoy the drama!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Oh Ja Ryong is Coming
12 people found this review helpful
Dec 3, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I recommend this series for anyone who enjoyed series like "Unexpected You", "Ojakgyo Brothers" or "Assorted Gems". It is a family oriented comedy series with a combination of touching storyline and well executed comedic turns it keeps me wanting to come back to watch what happens next.

It have some great writers and a great cast of actors. Especially the primary couple Oh Yeon Seo and Lee Yang Woo, who have some fantastic chemistry and obviously fit perfectly together. They are a pleasure to watch, and I applaud their hard work
Was this review helpful to you?
Curse of the Golden Flower
1 people found this review helpful
Dec 3, 2012
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 3.0
I think it is safe to say that the audience expects certain things from a Zhang Yimou film; masterful direction of gorgeous visuals and deep characters who endure and survive, their struggles evoking the audience's empathy.
With such a high standard set by himself, sadly this particular offering doesn't satisfy and is in fact rather disappointing.

The characters, despite their troubles, remain vacant and unlikeable, their plight and the story seeming to come second to the aesthetics of the film. This film is certainly worth watching for the costume design alone, and although some elements were not period correct, artistic license is well permitted in this kind of feature. Unfortunately the glorious costume designs are somewhat overshadowed by the almost assailing barrage of colour throughout the picture, which would feel more like a carefully considered element were the whole picture not marred by moments of very poor CGI.

Furthermore, the pacing of the film felt unbalanced, the result being that by the end of film you felt like not much altogether had occurred, and what had happened was made irrelevant by the lack of compassion for the main characters and what happened to them.

Still, I'd say it's worth a watch, particularly for designers and fans of the cast, but I wouldn't give my time to watch it again.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?