The website is currently undergoing maintenance. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Nana
4 people found this review helpful
Oct 18, 2012
Overall 6.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
I wanted to watch this movie ever since I read its synopsis. It is a somewhat serious movie but has an amazing story.

Both the girls- Nana and Nana share a special connection and in spite of their polar opposite personalities, they manage to become true friends. I really liked how they bonded and were able to understand each other throughout the story. Plus, the support they had for each other was marvellous. This movie does show that sometimes even friendship is a part of our destiny.

Although it is slow and it took me three sittings to complete it, I'm glad I gave it a shot. The direction of this film was alright. There were some boring parts also but it ended nicely. I didn't feel its writing was up to the mark, but it manages to give the viewers a good story. I understood what they wanted to show but this movie fell flat on a lot of other levels.

The music is the best part of the movie. All the songs are catcy and have a great feel to them.

I don't think I'll ever be watching this movie again, but I'd still recommend it to every one who loves stories based on true friendship and human growth.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
18 vs. 29
12 people found this review helpful
Oct 18, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
At first I thought that this drama was about the amnesia and the troubled that brings forgetting a part or all of your memory and life. Or the mess that comes with being a 29 year old with the mind of an 18 year old… I read that growing old, is not growing up... that is crazy!! But that is just the tip of the iceberg!

To me this drama was really about second chances. When a second chance happens is a miracle, and you have to use it wisely! Because you never know if that chance is your last. That chance can and will change your life forever. And that is what they got, a miracle. A miracle that not only changed their marriage, but what they expected of each other.

With time we lose the sight of what is important. But what is important? What is important is the love we give and receive. The happy memories that we create with the people we love. The happiness and sometimes even the tears. Sometimes we don’t say what we feel or think. We break our relationship with our heart and lose the road that takes us to that happiness that we long so much… That is what Hae Chang and Kang Young forgot why they fall in love to begin with? During their time dealing with Hae Chang’s amnesia, Kang Young found the woman he fall in love with. He found those happy memories and those mementos that took his breath away. Those eyes that only looked at him…and those naughty smirks that were just the beginning of a love story…his own love story. For Hae Chang was a journey to find herself and rediscover the girl she once forgot. She was so lost in “being there” for Kang Young that she loses herself. Kang Young even said once that “she was the one who make him who he is”.

That is why I love this drama so much. I love that they have a second chance, a chance to find themselves, a chance to fall in love again. A chance to start over…No many of us has that opportunity!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
200 Pounds Beauty
31 people found this review helpful
by TheJ
Oct 18, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
Story: In all honesty, I wasn't expecting much going into this. The description given made it seem like the main role was getting plastic surgery for the sole purpose of getting the guy. It was really about much more than that.
After finally being pushed to her limit, and after more than one failed suicide attempt, she does the last thing she feels she can do to live a happy life. The story following the surgery is about her journey to accepting her new self while not completely forgetting her old self.

Acting/Cast: I loved the acting and the cast.

Kim Ah Joong did an amazing job of portraying an overweight person, and an amazing job of portraying the skinny person she becomes. In most shows/movies like that, the girl is instantly 500% more confident, while Kim Ah Joong still had to get used to people not gawking at her for being the "ugly, fat chick." Even little things, like learning to walk in heels, were a joy to watch.

I'm still unsure about Joo Jin Mo's character. He seemed to have two different opinions depending on who he was with, so I wasn't really sure what think about him. I suppose, if I ignore the fact that his character confused me, I can easily say his acting was amazing.

Music: Loved the music throughout the movie.

Rewatch Value: I could definitely see myself rewatching this movie often. Definitely. The last 10 minutes or so of the movie (mostly the speech in particular) had me bawling. Just full-on bawling.

Overall: Overall, even though I loved the movie, I had to give it an 8.
While the character herself makes it known that the surgery is for herself, and not for anybody else, it doesn't erase the fact that, ultimately, this was a movie about a person who's life becomes better only after becoming pretty in society's eye. It's just not the type of message I enjoy seeing in the media.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Sprout
5 people found this review helpful
Oct 18, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
Beautifully filmed with sweet characters and a simple but very watchable story line. It basically makes you want, no, YEARN to be a teenager experiencing your first love in Japan one hot summer, walking barefoot in the grass and listening to the cicadas on your balcony.The soundtrack is excellent and the leads are very pleasing on the eye! If you like high school dramas that take pleasure in focusing on the "little things" (eye contact, hand holding, lovely surroundings) then you will like this drama though it may be a little slow for some.
Was this review helpful to you?
You're Beautiful
6 people found this review helpful
Oct 17, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
First off, I want to say that besides Secret Garden, this is the only drama my daughter has sat through multiple episodes with me and was really into the drama. That's saying a lot! Anyway, I thought this drama was really cute. It had a good story, it was funny, the 3 male leads were easy on the eyes and all in all, a great kdrama to watch. I'm not a huge fan of the gender bender concept but I actually liked this drama better than Coffee Prince.

I thought Park Shin Hye was good as Go MiNam. She's just very likable. I didn't quite understand what she was doing towards the end but that's the writer's. The members of A.N.Jell were great. I LOVED Jeremy! His character was so happy and energetic all the time. And ShinWoo reminded me so much of JiHoo from BOF, it's not even funny. They are basically the same character and even look very similar (in my opinion). I was definitely rooting for him through the whole drama. TaeKyung was also a good character and Jang Geun Seok did a good job playing him. Yoo He Yi was a very good actress but I HATED everything about her character, Uee. She played her well, which is probably why I hated her so much.

I'll admit, I wasn't completely satisfied with the ending but despite that, it was definitely a good watch. I would probably rewatch this over time. I really liked it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Panda and Hedgehog
4 people found this review helpful
Oct 17, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I just love this drama! For me it doesn't even have disappointing parts.. With a good story-line and cute characters, you'll fell in love with it.. The more I watched it, the more I anticipate what will happens next.. I didn't even get bored.. As for the characters, they all have charms.. They're so fun to watch..
Was this review helpful to you?
To The Beautiful You
20 people found this review helpful
Oct 17, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I haven't seen the two other versions so I'm not really in the position to make any comparison, so I'll just write this review based on the criteria.

Story is okay, it's not original of course, since it's just a remake, but I did like how the story progressed. The pacing was just right, not too fast nor too slow. I loved the side stories better though than the main plot itself.

The cast was lovely, but the lead couple's acting was so-so. I'm a Shawol, but I kinda find Minho's acting annoying at times. Sulli was bearable for me though. This is the first time I got more interested with the supporting characters rather than the lead couple. The supporting characters had more substance in them. I'd especially like to commend Lee Hyun Woo. That kid really really really really really knows how to act. It was him who carried the entire show, in my opinion. He knows how to be cute when he needs to be cute, and knows how to be sad when needed. He can portray well whatever he needs to portray, and I was really awed by his great talent at such a young age as that. Honestly, I don't think I'd manage to finish this drama if not for Hyun Woo's adorableness.

The music was great. Well it's really no surprise since the production company's SM entertainment and it'd be really disappointing if the music turned out to be bad.

Overall, the drama's only visually attractive, but not so substantial, so if you're looking for something pretty to look at then you could try this one out.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Faith
19 people found this review helpful
Oct 17, 2012
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
At first I didn't like to watch 'Faith' because I didn't thought it was a very good drama BUT in the end, I think, it was one of the best decisions I ever made concerning dramas.

What I liked:
- The acting is amazing. The actors and actresses convince the audience with believeable and touching characters and I often forgot that they were acting.
- The costumes, the rooms, the surroundings, the whole appearance of the drama is unbelievable. Even though some of the uniforms seemed to be made of plastic than of leather, I liked the probs and I think it was made with much effort
- The music of the drama supports the storyline perfectly.
- The story is going very smoothly. If you don't like what happens in the first half of an episode than you only have to wait for the second and it changes. Still the story and the actions aren't too quickly.
- The main lead (Yoo Eun Soo/ Kim Hee Sun wasn't just a weak person. She proves that she is strong too.

What I didn't like:
- Some situations reappear in the drama. So something which happened already, happens a second time (If I say more it would be a spoiler)
- Sometimes they characters seemed to make the same mistakes again and again, so they didn't learn anything.
- THE OVERALL PROBLEM of the drama was repetition!!!

Normally I have problems with such dramas since they get boring halfway but this was one of the first dramas I watched without a break (even though I have to wait for the last four episodes^^)...so concerning historical dramas, I think, this is a MUST-WATCH!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
100 Days with Mr. Arrogant
7 people found this review helpful
by TheJ
Oct 17, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
Story: Taking into account the fact that this was made in 2004, I give the story a 7.
Even though it was made almost 9 years ago, I had to take off some points for some serious loopholes in the story. It seemed like, after the first 30-40 minutes, the story was just dropped. They had went from not liking each other to suddenly using cute nicknames so fast that you could get whiplash. There was never a hint of them liking each other, so it just felt off. Once I got over it though, it wasn't too bad.
The first half hour or so was definitely the best part of this movie though. I had to keep pausing because I was laughing so hard that I couldn't even hear what they were saying.

Acting/Cast: I'm already a big fan of both Kim Jae Won and Ha Ji Won, and while this didn't really make me feel better or worse about my like of Kim Jae Won (although seeing that body was a nice surprise), my love for Ha Ji Won definitely grew.

Even though Ha Ji Won was 25/26 when she filmed this (which I still can't believe while watching the movie), she pulled off her role as a teenager flawlessly.

Kim Jae Won was amazing in his role of self-absorbed rich boy.

I personally think they meshed well when on screen. The love-hate relationship they had going on was believable.

Music: I enjoyed the music throughout the movie.

Rewatch Value: Like I said, there were some things that just didn't make sense to me throughout the movie, so it's not something I'd want to give another try. At least not for a while.

Overall: It had its ups and it had its down. The chemistry between the leads made up for a lot of the downs. The beginning and ending also made up for the downs.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ouran High School Host Club
3 people found this review helpful
Oct 17, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 10
Now my review here probably is not the most objective as Ouran was one of the first animes I ever watched and the first drama I watched. It holds a special place in my heart and I absolutely love it! I just rewatched the drama since the movie should (hopefully) be uploaded soon. Story wise it is nearly the same as the anime with a few differences that I thought were excellent. They led to the relationships and certain characters to be developed. Don't expect everything to be like the anime because this is a live-action. Some things simply cannot be done. However they do add some quirky animations and include the crazy mind theatre of Tamaki.

The cast did a great job with their roles and really brought life to their characters. Kyoya's character was extremely well developed and was just wonderful. The twins and Tamaki were all perfect. The gal playing Haruhi for the most part did a great job, sure she didn't always show a lot of emotion, but Haruhi in the anime was pretty reserved as well (I haven't read the manga, please don't shoot me if this is wrong haha). Mori and Hunny acted their parts out well, they just were not given a lot of plot.

Music was pretty meh. Some of the instrumentals were lovely but would start at strange times.

I think this drama is definitely rewatchable as it is so short. 11 episodes at 20ish minutes is easy to do, and with the movie loose ends should be tied up nicely. Lovely, crazy, maddening standard manga/anime-Jdrama standard which I love. There are crazy antics and some lovely sweet scenes as well. If you need a laugh or a light hearted drama, watch Ouran.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Romantic Debtors
8 people found this review helpful
Oct 17, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
L??????ve it..ITS A TYPE OF MOVIE WHERE U LAUGH FROM THE.BEGINNING TIL THE END.If you are thinking of watching this movie, let me tell you DO NOT THINK JUST CLICK ON IT TO WATCH..Its a really funnny movie with amazing actors.. If you are looking for something with no sad, dead or sick person this is the.movie to watch.. You will love both leads and every1 in the movie..i dont know what else to say..FULLLLLY RECOMMENDED!!..
Was this review helpful to you?
Runway Cop
3 people found this review helpful
Oct 17, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I watched this w/ my Unnie yesterday. It was rly good. I enjoyed all the comedy (she didn't....just 1 way of how we r different). What I enjoyed the most is how AWESOME Kang Ji Hwan is as an actor. He totally throws himself into w/e role he is playing. He made nasty like super nasty. I can't believe he was able to gain that much weight and then loose it as quickly as he did plus buff it up. He is just AWESOME! I also enjoyed getting to see some "Flower Boys" in this. I love Lee Soo Hyuk's voice. There just aren't that many smexy guys w/ voices that make u melt like that. It's like an Asian chocolate rain voice. Anyway! I totally thought this was a rly good movie & I even made my Unnie stop & play certain parts again so I could make sure I saw what I did b/c it was just too funny. I don't think that this movie will let any1 down, even if u r not a comedy fan. It has serious parts & a little romance at the end. I invite every1 to give it a chance. I mean come on who doesn't like Kang Ji Hwan?

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Oct 16, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I began to watch this because i love Kim Jae Wook. I was so happy when I saw F4's Kim Joon, I loved this movie/serie.
It begins like girl met boyfriend's friend and they're so cute together! I felt like Kim Jae Wook was the main actor LOL but it's an interesting movie and if you like Kim Jae Wook is a MUST TO WATCH IT! The final...mmmm...you're gonna to be very curious MUAHAHAHA
Was this review helpful to you?
Summer's Desire
11 people found this review helpful
Oct 16, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I discovered this drama one day because I love Barbie Xu, I thaught that was a typical taiwanese boring drama, but I LOVE THIS DRAMA!! Is my favourite taiwanese drama of all times, you can't stop to watch more, this drama is based in a chinese manga, you're gonna see kisses everywhere and you don't know with who the main girl is going to be, YOU MUST WATCH IT!
Was this review helpful to you?
Haeundae Lovers
9 people found this review helpful
Oct 16, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Haeundae Lovers is an almost-complete mixture of all clichés you’ll ever find in dramaland. Adopted protagonist? Check. Arranged marriage? Check. Controlling parent? Check. Pitiful and sometimes scary third wheel? Check. Amnesia? Check. And the list probably goes on. The story wasn’t original. The cast isn’t really that captivating, but I did find the cast extremely sexy. Kim Kang Woo, Jo Yeo Jung, and Jung Suk Won? Sexy, right?

I don’t know why I decided to watch this drama, but I don’t regret a thing. It made me happy somehow, and made my mind relax because of its lightness. I was watching this along with Gaksital when the latter was still airing and it really helped ease my mind from so many mindblowing happenings in Gaksital. More than the story and the cast, I think I liked the music more. The music is really good, and there was this song by Kang Min Kyung which haunted me for a week, I think.

Overall, Haeundae Lovers is a fluffy drama that I think should be watched if and only if you’re a fan of the actors in it, or if you want to revisit drama clichés all in one drama, or if you’re just looking for something light to watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?