The website is currently undergoing maintenance. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Bachelor's Vegetable Store
10 people found this review helpful
Mar 7, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 7.0
There are 2 main story lines in this drama.One is how Taeyang struggles to make the vegetable business work with his group of "Fresh Man" despite Jin Shim/Ga On's mother.And The other is how Jin Shim takes on Ga On's place and therefore there will be a lot of problems,but Ga Ons father finds out about the lies Ga Ons mother had said to her husband and therefore will be even more problems will arise.This show has a very complex storyline where bits of other characters also contribute,like Seul Woo) and his mother,Jung Dam Bi and her parents,and other members of "Fresh Man" and so on.
This drama was so heavy and seriously packed that you know its called "Bachelors Vegetable Store" so to be honest I thought it would be a light drama where I would have to stop about in the middle,but this is the second "food-drama" that had me surprised because it was so awesome ,on the egde and complex!( the 1st was baker king,kim tak goo:) )

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
You're Beautiful
9 people found this review helpful
Mar 7, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
First thing, I love Park Shin Hye, she's an amazing actress.

I absolutely loved this drama, you fall in love with all of the characters and keep wanting more! The story was really excellent, and at first I was a little hazy with the main actor, but he really does grow on you and you come to love him as well.

I would recommend this to anyone, such a great show!
Was this review helpful to you?
A Love To Kill
10 people found this review helpful
Mar 7, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
OMG...Rain is awesome!!! The other cast members where good also, but Rain just stole the show!!! The story is good, but I think some aspects could have been better developed. The angst the main characters go thru seems a little over the top. However, you can see where Bokgu is coming from thru his childhood story. I don't know why it is a romantic commedy because it isn't very funny...it has it's moments, but for the most part it actually sad and tragic. The theme song is beautiful and I have listened to it about 100 times. I probably wouldn't rewatch it just because it is sad. RAIN should do more dramas!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Shining Inheritance
8 people found this review helpful
Mar 7, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
I really enjoyed this story as well as the main actor and actress that did such a wonderful job.

However, I found that the first maybe 7 episodes dragged on for far to long and I almost stopped watching because of it. However, the drama did pick itself back up! It was a great story and a great ending, and I would recommend it to anyone who likes a good tear jerking romance. You do have to have quite the tolerance to get through the beginning episodes though but I promise it will get better.

You will find yourself hating the main villain, probably more then you've hated any bad guy in a show or movie before, and it will make you want to yell at your screen over and over. The actress does an excellent job at it though, as I've seen her play a complete opposite role and she does a phenomenal job at it.

So overall, very good drama, but a very slow start. This drama is what made me fall in love with Lee Seung Ki. x3

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
City Hunter
7 people found this review helpful
Mar 7, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
What can I say? This was one of THE best dramas I have ever watched. The story was outstanding, the cast was brilliant, and the music was great as well!

I have absolutely no complaints about this drama whatsoever, and would recommend it to everyone. It's got the perfect amount of romance and action mixed into one show, so if you're looking for some great entertainment I would choose this over any drama.

You'll laugh, you'll cry, and you'll want to watch it again!
Was this review helpful to you?
Heartstrings
9 people found this review helpful
Mar 7, 2012
Overall 4.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 2.0
I started watching this because I loved the main actor and actress, and it seemed like a really promising drama.

As I got into it though, it seemed to just continuously draaaag, from start to finish. It's not hard to lose your interest, and the beginning of it, to me, seemed like they could of left out the first couple episodes excluding the first episode.

However, the one thing I did love about this drama was the music, I thought it was wonderful, and the acting was very good as well, but I could definitely say I will never re watch this show.
Was this review helpful to you?
Aishiteru
13 people found this review helpful
Mar 7, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 6.0
From the very first episode, I was hooked to the story. The story was interesting and intriguing too since we are eager to understand the motives behind Tomoya's action. We are given bits and pieces of the puzzle at a time and are eager to know if our hypothesis is correct or not. The acting was really great. We get to experience the pain of both parties and see the extend of how this incident affects them. The music was just so perfect for the drama and I fell in love with the ending song. I'm not too sure if I would rewatch this drama, though. Overall, it's a beautiful drama that will get you to reflect upon your life and your relationships with others.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Black & White
20 people found this review helpful
Mar 7, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Lets get this out the way cus I know someone is gonna kill me for parts of this statement.

Despite my torn opinion of him as an actor (damn your managers for steering you to more crap roles than good), "Black & White" has firmly asserted Vic Zhou into my mind as a "actor" and not a "Idol actor".

Yes I liked him in "Mars" and "Sweet Relationship" but it was his portrayal of the not-so-by-the-book "Chen Zai Tian(Pi Zi)" that made me go back and re-watch those dramas to confirm to myself; "Was he always this good?"

In this we have him playing a cop with more going on under the surface than meets the eye, partnered with a straight laced kind of cop, "Wu Ying Xiong" played by Mark Chao.

First of all, the dynamic between these two was bloody brilliant.

I love how "Zai Tian" was like the Captain Jack Sparrow of policing, down to the little walk and womanizing. Vic Zhou had us rolling our eyes and laughing at every wink, saunter and hushed seduction While Mark Chao's "Ying Xiong" had us busting stitches at every foiled seduction attempt he smote like some cock-blocking god.

But with every laugh they got us with every dramatic scene too, not overly done, nor overly drawn out, which was a godsend because some dramas can wring out that angst for all it's got and still ask for another bucket.

While the characters were a good symmetry for each other, the story writing and editing and directing were just as perfectly matched.

You don't feel rushed while watching it, and you don't feel it's too slow. Just the right pace, coupled with great actors putting it to the best that they can push it made "Black & White" the best Taiwanese produced drama I have ever had the pleasure of watching.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Protect the Boss
7 people found this review helpful
Mar 7, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
From episode one, i was completely hooked. This Drama is ridiculously funny. Yea, Yea, its the typical "rich Chaebol son meets poor girl" love story.. but its soo much more then that. Being a huge Cassie for many year, I began watching this Drama for the simple fact that Jaejoong played an important role.. but soon enough i was rooting for the other actor who i had never even seen before and didn't care at all if Jaejoong's character jumped in a hole and just stayed there for the remaining episodes. was that harsh? forgive me. just go watch this drama. The acting is great. The story is Great. You will laugh until you pee.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Mean Girl Ah Chu
3 people found this review helpful
Mar 7, 2012
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 4.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Not as bad as I thought it might be after watching the first episode (thank you my annoying habit of finishing everything I start). I like the role reversal; Girl saves guy rather than guy saves girl. If anything it's got the Taiwanese holy trinity:

Good looking leads

Decent (if not good) story: [I am sorry Taiwanese fans but as much as I watch a lot of Taiwan dramas like the next addict, I find a lot of it fluff drama]

Good balance of humor/romance

It was, thankfully, not all Taiwanese-idol-fluff drama. Sam Wang has got to get more leading roles, by the way. He's actually not that bad when you get him out of the shadow of someone else's drama. Though such is the life of a second lead, your talent can go unnoticed (I, until recently, didn't like Ming Dao for the same reason, too many idol-fluff, not enough proper acting. Once you get these two to do something out of the norm they surprise you).

Can I say that it's the greatest drama ever? No.

I can say it wasn't a waste of time, nor am I demanding my life back after watching it. It was average, acceptable, and light enough to watch and think fondly of after completing it.

Can I say that I'd re-watch it? Well... I already did. When it came out and last year when nothing good was on.

Overall: Fair enough for a good time and maybe one or two re-watches.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Assault Girls
2 people found this review helpful
Mar 7, 2012
Overall 3.0
Story 3.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 3.0
Rewatch Value 2.0
First and foremost, go watch "Avalon" before watching "Assault Girls". Avalon was the movie the director came out with before "Assault Girls" and it makes you understand why the movie was made in this way to begin with.

With that said, "Assault Girls" was lacking as a movie in writing. The Story failed the visuals. We did get a few funny lines at the beginning, and if you are a gamer, you'll get why it's funny. We've all been around to witness dumb gamer banter on PK servers. But the story in its entirety fell short, or rather it felt like there wasn't a story at all, it was more like watching someone's 3D game play. Fun for the user, not always fun for the observer.

Yes, it was filmed in a desert, but that was the gaming environment... get over it.

I hate to refer back to something not everyone has seen, but with "Avalon" they did the reverse. They tried to show equally the in-game and off-game environment.

It showed the universe that the writer of the script wanted to portrait while also, curiously, their choices in unrealistic colors for the real world and realism for the game world gave you a sense that for the player portrayed in "Avalon" the real world held no luster. It's as if her reality wasn't real enough for her.

While with "Assault Girls", the lack of off-game time in the movie was it's downfall because it left us with no real insight into character development. They made a sad attempt with the opening sequence but that was... what? About 15 minutes in or so compared to how long the movie was? There was a shot at working together and collaborating as an undertone at some point too, but because the story was so underdeveloped it either went unnoticed by most or just made any viewer that noticed confused.

In Summary, go watch "Avalon" first if you felt like the movie would have been worth your time with more story in it. Watch "Assault Girls" if you have watched "Avalon" and get the meaning to the long ass written intro in the beginning of the movie. If you get that, watch the rest. You might not think it was worth the time after but you'll understand where the direction went wrong and at least won't think that the movie was a complete waste of time.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Assault Girls
2 people found this review helpful
Mar 6, 2012
Overall 3.0
Story 3.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 4.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
The title is what caught my attention. I just knew it was going to be good. BOY WAS I WRONG!!! A movie based all in one location (desert) and the whole movie was basically about a group of people playing a RPG. The only thing that I did like was the use of the weapons by each person. Hands off to the case because I would not have been able to make this kind of movie knowing that it was not that great. I really did not know how to rate it to be honest because it was that bad to me.
Was this review helpful to you?
Mar 6, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
Unlike my fellow reviewers so far I happened to like this drama. Although it is very slow at the beginning and it is not Matsumoto best drama. They rest of the cast makes up for this. You can relate to Shiori's struggling with the loss of her husband and being a single parent but also with her developing feelings for Taiga against her better judgement. Not to mention the kids who play in this completely steal the scene and you can't help but love them. I would recommend you atleast give it a try. It's only 10 episodes sometimes the things people say are the worst end up being the best thing you've ever seen. It's all a matter of opinion. Best of luck! Have fun watching!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Always
23 people found this review helpful
Mar 6, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
My Mini Back-Story:

It was late and I was bored, so I didn't have time for a new drama. Hence, I went ahead and looked for a movie in my "to watch" list. Ta-dah!

Storyline:

The storyline is in no way original. I've seen this happen in several melodramas before. It felt like a deja vu. Nonetheless, it was heartfelt and touching overall.

So if you're ever in a mood for another melodrama-I've-seen-it-before with good acting, then here is what Only You has to offer...

a) Looking for cute couple or nice feel romance? Here is the right place! I thought our OTP worked really well together. I've long overused the phrase "they complement each other". Though, it's true! That phrase applies here too. I also loved our two leads' complexity, but I wish they delved more into their dark pasts.

b) Sports/Fights. Want to see some MMA? Check this out. There are quite some worthy cringing gory scenes.

c) Willpower. I love how Han Hyo Joo's character, Jeong Hwa, is always so optimistic/cheery despite her circumstances. It was inspiring. Han Hyo Joo always lights up my mood.

d) Good pacing. I didn't find that it was too slow at any point. I wouldn't say perfect pacing either, but it never bored me.

e) Funny moments. Not laugh out loud moments, but I did chuckle a few times at the beginning from our OTP interactions.

If you're an avid drama watcher like me, then you've probably seen this storyline from somewhere before. Though, it's not done badly. It just wasn't something that blew me away.

Acting/Cast:

Great acting from Han Hyo Joo and So Ji Sub. Actually, the movie's strongest point goes to the acting.

This is the first time seeing Jyo Hoo in a movie and she gave a good impression like always. Though, I hope she won't stop acting in tv series.

She acted really well as a blind person. The way she looked at Ji Sub's character, Cheol Min, was really expressive. The same applies for Ji Sub. The way he marveled at her makes me believe that he truly loves her. They're both very expressive actors.

Though, the acting wasn't phenomenal. I've seen them act better in previous projects. Not to say that they didn't excel here, but it wasn't anything new.

I wish they delved more into the main characters' minds. I felt like I never understood them inside-out. I still had some lingering questions at the end about our main characters.

Music:

The songs were pleasing to my ears/heart while watching the movie. I especially liked the instrumental ones playing during the scenes where Cheol Min was boxing.

Truthfully, I don't remember much about the songs as soon as the movie ended.

Bonus:

Puppy/Dog!!!

Overall:

Nothing jaw-dropping or mind-blowing.

If you want something simple/slightly tearjerking/enjoyable then watch this. Other than that it's not a must-watch. If you're a fan of Han Hyo Joo (like me!) or So Ji Sub then this movie will definitely not disappoint you.


Overall rating for review: 7/10

Purely for entertainment: 8.5/10

My Dramalist rating (avg): 7.75/10

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Padam Padam
44 people found this review helpful
Mar 6, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This is a drama that does not fit simply into one category. I'd say Padam Padam is equal parts love story, tearjerker, crime drama, and supernatural tale. It combines all four genres seamlessly, and every moment of it felt genuine. I think much of the credit should go to the outstanding cast. I also liked that the director made some interesting storytelling choices that kept me engaged. This drama may not be fast paced, but it's originality stopped me from ever being bored. It was also consistently good. Not one of the 20 episodes felt like filler/unnecessary to me... and I think that's rare.

I can't think of one bad actor in this cast. Jung Woo Sung, as Yang Kang Chil, was intense, and very moving. Han Ji Min, as cool/controlled Jung Ji Nah, was his perfect counterpart. Their relationship had all the familiar elements (opposites attracting, destined path crossings, and family disapproval...) but without simply relying on clichés. My only small criticism is that they had some of the worst onscreen kisses I've ever seen, though the rest of their romantic moments more than make up for it. It could be argued that their awkwardness fit the story, but I just found it distracting. Their romance was portrayed as much deeper than a few cute moments, so I do have to give them a lot of credit for that.

Of the exceptional supporting cast, I have 3 favorites. Na Moon Hee, as the mother, was a really great character, and expertly played. Choi Tae Joon, as the son, was the only character that made me actually cry. Kim Bum, as the charming yet odd Lee Gook Soo, was my absolute favorite. His character's journey was so awesomely unexpected, and he did an amazing job with it.

As I mentioned earlier, this is a tearjerker, but there are plenty of funny, sweet, intriguing, and inspiring moments too. Some aspects of the story are left open ended, but that didn't bother me at all. I thought the end episode was beautifully done, and gave me all the closure I needed. I can't agree that this drama is perfect, but It is certainly better than most, and not to be missed.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?