The website is currently undergoing maintenance. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Ataru
7 people found this review helpful
May 9, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
Every episode is really amazing to watch, it kind of remind me of Mr. Brain, which is one of my favorite drama of all time. Plus the story line is very unique and entertainment, love the fact that even if its a criminal investigation has comedy involve. Really love how Nakai Masahiro plays his character. Awesome to watch!
Was this review helpful to you?
Heartstrings
4 people found this review helpful
May 9, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 7.0
This drama tickled my curiosity because I recognized Park Shin Hye and Lee Yong Hwa (both also co- stared in You're Beautiful)I though it would be a fair bargain because I liked their chemistry in the previous show unfortunately they didn't end up with each other on the said drama.

Now back to Heartstrings, Let's see Plus Points? I liked the set, the location of each scene was nice, I liked the fact that musical instruments were involved, and that they highlighted skill in playing. The cast was likeable, I think they played their parts well enough to satisfy viewers, those who should play instrument knew what they were doing which is a biggie on plus factors. I also liked the fact that all the main characters have their own partners so nobody gets really bummed in the end :D and the best was the OST, I have to say I liked the songs that they played in this drama even the instrumentals, I wasn't disappointed at all in that aspect.

Low Downs? There are handful of low downs as of this story, The story line for me it wasn't all so well made, the beginning was slow but it gets better by episodes 4 or 5 if I remember it right. But the story focused too much on the the production they were doing the centennial celebration, that I think it's too long for a certain undertaking. The story would've already showed other developments if it wasn't for that. And by approaching the end episodes it got too fast and the ending is weak for me, it wasn't the optimum resolution for the characters, I think it was particularly unfair for Lee Sin, watch it for you to understand. I also think Gyu Won abandoning the gayageum was sad, after being an advocate for traditional music. I also didn't like the potrayal of the bulimic girl (she's bulimic, binge eating then, guilt in eating that much so she purges all that she ate, THAT'S BULIMIA ALRIGHT) she needs certain type of intervention for her to get well ,they kind of sent the message that it's superficial thing, which is a no no! It sends misconception to viewers, that's sad :(


All in all I think one will enjoy watching this especially if you're musically inclined and into idols of some sort because it gives a light feeling. It'll still get you hooked at some point :)Especially the development of Lee Sin and Gyu Won's love story. That made me stick until the end haha Because I like their love team so much!


I hope I was helpful enough for you. Thanks!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Love Revolution
3 people found this review helpful
May 8, 2012
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
I starting watching this for Fujiki Naohito and he did a really good job in it, even though his character wasn't the usual likeable guy he plays. The rest of the cast did a really good job, too. The story was pretty soap opera-ish, but I still was invested in the characters enough to not mind. The biggest thing that bugged me about this show is how casual they were about sex and how there was an awful lot of it implied. I don't like that kind of thing. Otherwise it was a really good show and I really enjoyed Fujiki Naohito... and all the kissing scenes. ^_^
Was this review helpful to you?
Suugaku Joshi Gakuen
9 people found this review helpful
May 8, 2012
Overall 6.0
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
Sine, cosine, Mentaiko!
I always like quirky shows so this was right up my alley.
Although there is a series ARC of trying to become the "Math Boss", each episode is pretty much a standalone. Each episode presents a "rival" (emboldened by their signature "move"), quirkiness ensues, as well as various math problems and explanations - leading me to revisit my own high school math past and shudder lol. (I have NO clue what they were talking about with the math - didn't hinder the fun though.)

I think the story is what it is. It seems to try too hard sometimes to be *squeeee* and doesn't quite pull it off. It is definitely lacking in something. I honestly can't put my finger on what it is lacking, perhaps it's that there really doesn't seem to be a connection to the main character.

The acting cast is pretty one dimensional. They do an ok job at their roles, but the roles are so flat that there really isn't much room to do anything with them. (read as if each one is nothing more than a catchphrase). Nina doesn't really have enough pull on the audience. There is no investment. There are so many characters (both main and supporting) that it's like going to a random party and meeting everyone. It's overwhelming and kinda fun but you know you're never going to see them again, so there is no deeper connection.

The music is fine. They have random little let's burst into song times, but they could have done more with it.

Rewatch - can't really see the point.

Overall this is an ok show. It's cute. It's the kind of show you can watch one episode at a time as "filler". Got 25 mins to spare - catch an ep. Want a little laugh - watch an ep.

What is the probability that you will like this? I have no clue I stink at math lol. But go ahead and give it a try - and please remember to SHOW YOUR WORK! (partial credit will be awarded.)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Playful Kiss YouTube Edition
27 people found this review helpful
May 8, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
1)The reason I watched this:

I already watched the drama then I found this YouTube Edition later on. I was unsure what to expect but I watched it anyway.

2)Storyline/Plot:

I would say they fixed some of the missing parts in the drama since the story felt unfinished back then.

Positive points:

*Unlike the drama, these short episodes showed us more Baek Seung Jo's love and care for Oh Ha Ni.
*There were Baek Seung Jo and Oh Ha Ni's normal marriage life that the drama missed while it was the core of the entire "Itazura Na Kiss" story.
*They added some cool parts that made the specials much fun.

Negative points:

It would have been much better if they made these short episodes a second season because they felt too short.

Story: 8.75/10

3)Acting/Cast:

Nothing to add from the drama, the usual cast but there are some points that I would like to mention:
*Baek Seung Jo was warmer here with a lot of affection which is something that we weren't used to in the drama but his cold attitude never disappeared.
*Oh Ha Ni had her usual foolishness although I wanted her to change that part but the needles special showed a different side of her: it was a great special.
*Baek Seung Jo's mom and brother were cute as usual.

Cast: 8.5/10
Acting: 8/10

4)The ending:

This ending was better than the drama's ending; it felt well-done even though I wanted more.

The ending: 8.75/10

5) My Impression (How did it affect me):

*It was fun but it was too short that I couldn't enjoy them enough.
*I kept recalling Itazura Na Kiss's story and comparing it with these specials, even though it wasn't very close but it was fair enough.
*I finished all the specials in one go, I really hoped they would make it a little longer.

My Impression: 8.5/10

6)Overall:

*If you watched the drama than you need to watch this.
*If you haven't seen the drama then don't watch this.

Overall: 8.75/10.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
1 Litre no Namida
8 people found this review helpful
May 8, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I was left with so much feelings after watching this incredibly moving drama. Sice it's based on a true story it made the plot even more touching.

The story is very realistic, probably because it's based on the diaries of the female lead in the drama. All characters are unique and the actors bring out the feelings of their characters so good, I sometime got the feeling that it was some sort of twisted reality show.
The drama develops pretty slowly and at times it can be a bit annoying, but mainly it just adds more emotions to the story. You get to know the characters really well and if your own emotions never matches the ones they are expressing, then your heart is made out of rock!

One thing I didn't like about the story was the drama was the lack of information you got about the relationship between the female lead and the male lead. Also, I have to pick one point off of the overall score because of the moments when the tempo was a bit too slow.

If I hadn't drained all the liquid out of my body while crying to this drama I would re-watch again, very soon. But the list of dramas is long and this drama was really painful to watch at some times. I have learnt a whole lot from it though, and I hope you do the same.
Watch it!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
May 8, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
Be aware Kpop the Ultimate Audition does have a very incomplete ending but it was still a surprisingly good watch…

Story- Obviously very similar to Your Beautiful however, the writers did a good job of taking the idea and making it their own. I liked the romance because it was well developed. I looked forward to new eps every week. The biggest disappointment was the ending. They had so many loose ends its not even funny. I would have really liked to see who made the M2 Junior group. Also I wanted to see how the fans reacted to the reveal of Seung Yeon and what would become of her career. Really there was so much more story to tell. You can’t blame the writers though because Channel A cut it short. The writers did what they could and I appreciate that.

Acting/Cast- Really loved the actress that played Seung Yeon because she was just perfect in her role as a very believable tom boy. I never did come to love the male lead and actually preferred the actor that played Ji Woo (I want to see more of him!) but the lead actors did have chemistry which made the romance believable. I liked the supporting cast but some of their acting skills were just okay.

Music- Very catchy and memorable enough to put on my ipod.

Rewatch- I would like to watch this again because it was funny and I liked the music. But due to the lousy ending it probably wouldn’t be for a little while.

Overall if you loved You’re Beautiful you probably won’t fall in love with Kpop the Ultimate Audition but you might come to like it . It’s definitely worth a watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Love Rain
13 people found this review helpful
May 8, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I was curious from the start Love Rain filming, because the director / screenwriter insists on wanting Sukkie to be the lead actor. After I watched it, I knew that only Sukkie is a very proper character as Seo Joon. I even really like Yoona as a perfect partner for Sukkie after Park Shin Hye.
Good storyline, good picture, good chemistry, and excellent acting of the characters make this drama should not be missed. Although there are some scenes which I thought was slow, or some of the scenes which I thought was annoying, but overall this drama is amazing.
If you Sukkie fan, then this drama will make you really crazy about him.
If you are not fans, then you will fall in love with him.
I really hope that this story ends happily for Seo Joon and Ha na.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
You're Beautiful
6 people found this review helpful
May 8, 2012
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 6.0
So, I've been really holding off writing reviews for my favorite dramas, but I felt that it was time to let the MDL community know what I thought about this drama ;) I love the story of this drama, because it gives normal people a chance to see what the life of an idol really is like, well, as alike as a drama would show. The story is cute, but the writing is a little "Hm." There are many times throughout this drama that the character has to verbally say what they are thinking, usually things that didn't need to be verbally told when the audience just could have guessed or figured out naturally. I loved the chemistry between the two leads. They're the sort of couple you would never imagine to fall for each other; a wannabe bad boy, and a nun...hm. I thought that the cast did great. It was cool to see some FT Island and CNBlue, and I liked how the idols in this drama weren't particularly the main leads, but still had an important role in this drama. I loved the characters in this drama. Each one was unique in their own way. I've already rewatched this drama more than once, so I really loved it, but on a non biased level, I would rate the rewatch value at 6. It was a cute drama, which I loved, but I thought it was lacking a bit in the writing department. By the end of the drama I was literally plugging my ears when the dialogue turned to the characters voicing out their thoughts. Overall, adorable drama. I highly recommend seeing it. Don't let the weird character lines bug you one bit. I loved this drama. It was cute, and lighthearted, and one of the most innocent romances I have ever seen.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
ToGetHer
1 people found this review helpful
May 8, 2012
Overall 7.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
WHAT HAPPENED JIRO????!!! Ahh man! This makes me sad. When I first read the synopsis for ToGetHer I was really excited to watch it. The storyline is great. Maybe it's just me, but I love those celebrity/normal person relationship dramas, so I was really looking forward to this drama. I was highly disappointed as the drama went on, not because of the story, but because of the acting. All I can say is WHAT HAPPENED??! Any Jiro fans would be really excited to see this, because of him. I absolutely LOVE him, but for some reason his placement in this drama was awkward. He's a great actor, but I don't think he fit for the role of Mars.I didn't see much chemestry bewteen the two leads either. Rainie's character had no personality, which was really annoying. Rainie's character was completely different from any of her other roles, so I was impressed at how broad her character development was. Rainie did great, but her character was highly lacking. She was too quiet, or didn't have enough emotion. I don't really remember the music, so I just gave it a 6. I figured it was pretty even, but I decided to be nice and give it a 6 instead of a 5. I'm not sure about rewatching. I mean, great storyline, but the acting wasn't the best :( Overall, I give this drama a 7. I love Jiro as an actor, so it was great to see him, and I felt that Rainie did a great job, but it's not really worth rewatching. :(

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Coffee Prince
13 people found this review helpful
May 7, 2012
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
Let's make this review as Systematic as possible, I love this show so I'll try to make this one STICK! :)


STORY------ 9/10 ?????
This is one Korean show that had a story line based on gender bender genres of mangas and manhwas (as far as I know). I think it is by far one of the most successful or the most successful one to date. The story is basic, if you're familiar with this sort of plot, what I fancied is the attention to detail that they had, for you to take this kind of scratched framework and make it interesting for viewers is really a skill. I loved the way each of the subs-plots unfold with every episode,the sequence of events and how it was presented, the conflicts were showed in a way that you will laugh but at the back of your mind you'll think that it's hard to be in that situation. However the ending was a bit weak for me, I just wished there was a bit more to it. Just a little dash of sparkle will do. But it satisfies the curious mind never the less.

ACTING/CAST------ 10/10 ?????
I was very much satisfied with the cast,this is a role I didn't imagine Yoon Eun Hye (Eun Chan) would actually take, if you remember her form "Goong" she was as feminine as ever then a sudden transformation, she played this part so well I was amazed. This was the first time for me to encounter Gong Yoo (Han Gyul), I was fond of his style in this drama sense of fashion, etc. He embodied the character of Choi Han Gyul, he owned that character like it was made for him (even the writer of this drama agrees. The supporting cast was superb so perfect 10 for this.

MUSIC------9/10 ?????
The musical score was pretty, I still sing the opening theme up to this point whenever I remember it, then again rating all of the show's background songs, instrumentals, you don't recall all, there are these few that you still have to go though your memory palace to remember from what scenes was it used.

REWATCH VALUE ------ 10/10 ?????
Oh you'll rewatch this for sure, It has a very high charisma for rewatch, it's very invigorating, a feel good show. It's the kind of show that you instantly remember when you sit on your couch one lazy afternoon, and there's nothing good on the TV and when you want to activate your inner love bug, just for the fun of it, even during you're bitterly single days. :))


OVERALL ------ 10/10 ????? *Clap Clap
Overall it's very much OUTSTANDING AND IS A TWO THUMBS UP ON RECOMMENDATIONS, Like a summer chick flick :P


P.S
Try looking for a copy that has good subs, I've seen some with crappy subtitles it will ruin your day. The Tagalog audio dub is also good for those who speak in this native tongue, although they modified the dialogue a bit, it made it more funny, I swear. :)

Thanks for reading I hope this is helpful enough for you guys ;)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Dream High
4 people found this review helpful
May 7, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This is definitely one of the best stories I have watched so far.

The execution of the story is great. The development of the characters from the start to the end is awesome, the story was well written. You will identify yourself with one of the actors/actresses. The characters are generic yet unique at the same time.

My personal favorites are Sam Dong and Hye Mi...Sam Dong made me cry big time. Hye Mi matured from being a spoiled brat rich kid into a fine lovable lady.

The songs are good, too.
Was this review helpful to you?
49 Days
6 people found this review helpful
May 7, 2012
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
49 Days I could say is one unique story. It is not your typical Korean drama.

It will make you think about your own life. It will make you wonder, "If I were in Shin Ji Hyun's case, will I be able to find 3 pure tears?"...

The storyline is awesome. Be prepared for the ending.

Overall, this drama is an eyeopener as it touched a sensitive topic about the value of life. This should be watched with an open mind and a positive outlook.

A must-watch drama. The actors are great and the storyline is unique.
Was this review helpful to you?
Secret Garden
9 people found this review helpful
May 7, 2012
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I tried not to be biased, but I think I couldn't help it. I have never been a fan of any celebrity, not even of those from my country (Philippines). But after watching the first episode of Secret Garden, I knew, I am a huge fan of Hyun Bin and Ha Ji Won.

The first few episodes may bore some viewers, but take my words for it, as the story progresses, you'll get hooked as things get more exciting.

I believe this is Hyun Bin's best performance so far. All of the characters were superbly acted. The soundtrack is awesome, as it perfectly matches the emotions. There were a lot of funny and cute scenes as well. Kim Bi So is adorable, as well as OSCA who is charming on his own right. Gil Ra Im is not your typical lead actress, she can kick some ass LOL.

Definitely a must-watch series. I've given it an outstanding rating, 10.

I am sure you will enjoy the rollercoaster of emotions. Secret Garden will make you cry, laugh, crazy...you'd even want to break Kim Joo Won's mom's neck LOL.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Hana Yori Dango
40 people found this review helpful
May 7, 2012
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
AHHH I LOVE THIS DRAMA!!!!!!! So much better than the Korean version if you ask me.

Story: So if you've read the manga, watched the anime, or have seen either the Korean/ Japanese version you already know the story. For others the story may seem a bit weird but it has a lot of heart and it totally grabs your attention. Its a romantic comedy so its a story based around love.

Acting: Ahh soo much better than the Korean version, much much much better. Though the cast wasn't as pretty as the Korean version they were excellent actors. I already liked Matsumoto Jun from Kimi Wa Petto but this story made me fall in love with him. The main female Inou Mao is SOOO SOOO SOO much better than Goo Hye Sun and her horrible acting. I love the cast, and I thought the girl who played Shisuka was GORGEOUS! She was so pretty.

Music: I really liked the music it was cute and catchy. But I got annoyed after they played it over and over again.

Rewatch: Definitely will watch again when I'm in the mood for a good romance drama.

Forget the Korean version of the drama, why wasn't this my drama. Why did the Korean version have to be my first drama and ruin Kdramas for me for a while. If you want pretty sets and pretty actors go to the Korean version, but if you want awesome acting and true feelings this version is THE BEST!! LOVE LOVE LOVEEEEEE

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?