Completed
Nirvana in Fire
193 people found this review helpful
Nov 13, 2015
54 of 54 episodes seen
Completed 9
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This is such a phenomenal drama, it is truly one of a kind. If you're left unsatisfied after finishing dramas, thinking to yourself if only the writers made better choices, or if only the characters were better developed … then you should give this drama a try. Everything about this drama is AMAZING; it has a mind-blowing screenplay with incredible characters, not to mention its great directing and cinematography. (the action in this drama is top-notch, and the war in the later episodes was impressive beyond imagination!)

At First glance, this might look like another revenge drama, but it is much more than that. The goal of the main characters is not to infect pain and suffering on the ones who have done them wrong, and it's not to simply right the wrongs, but to do so while making the ones who've committed the wrong realize the gravity of their actions. In a sense, this is the hardest route to take for correcting what has been wronged, people don’t want to be reminded of their dark past, and even more to accept their faults. Nevertheless, the reason why I love this drama so much is exactly this, the main characters, although they’ve literally been through hell, are not out there for revenge nor to make themselves feel better, but they’re trying to reveal the truth.

The plot is complicated and very intelligently written. There are 54 episodes, but I have to say there is no dull moment. The story has many layers and builds up on its episodes, becoming more and more intense as the episodes go by; we watch the characters execute their plans and try to overcome all the foreseen and un-foreseen obstacles in the most magnificent way possible.

In my opinion there are two main characters, Mei Chang Su and Prince Jing.
Mei Chang Su is the most intelligent character that I’ve ever came across in a drama. For achieving his goals, he uses his knowledge to manipulate people to do exactly what he wants them to do, without them even realizing his involvement! Despite his ingenious and composed personality, he carries the deepest sadness inside him, and that is what gives him the greatest determination for concluding his goals.
Prince Jing is the moral barometer of the story. He is bold and true to himself, he values his loved ones more than anything, and he’s willing to do anything to protect them. That said, he would never go against his moral code, he is a constant reminder for Mei Chang Su (and us the audience) that they should never be untrue to themselves. His bold and strong character attracts capable people to him enabling him to have true leadership characteristic.

This duo is the best I’ve ever seen anywhere, their relationship is so endearing to watch and their personalities compliment each other so well. Just having them both on screen was enough to make me give up everything I was planning to do for the rest of the day and give my undivided attention to this drama.

Another thing that I really like about this drama is that the other characters are all intelligent as well, which makes us understand why they were in power to begin with and why they’ve been successful so far. This point makes watching the main character manipulate these smart and sneaky characters much more enjoyable

This drama is for the intelligent, for the ones who are willing to sit through long conversations and enjoy putting the pieces of the puzzle together, for the ones who understand that sometimes no matter the cost one has to fight for what is right. (sorry for the long review! if you made it this far, that means you're interested!! give it a try, you won't be disappointed!)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
It's Okay, That's Love
282 people found this review helpful
Oct 11, 2014
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 21
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.5
I have seen absolute darkness. I know what it's like to lie in bed, unable to leave, trapped under sheets of sweat-drenched anxiety because every single movement feels heavier than you are. I've lived for the moments you reach the surface and gasp for air, only to slip beneath the waves. Most importantly, I know how a single hand can reach into that darkness and pull you to shore.

For sake of argument, I am going to share something very personal. In 2009 I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder. This isn't a condition that you catch like a cold, but rather one that manifests at a certain age and snowballs until it's nearly impossible to function. You can't prevent it through proper care, you can't always predict its onset and you certainly can't run from it. Essentially, bipolar disorder means I suffer from violent mood swings - severe bouts of depression and self-destructive manic states. Most people are familiar with depression on some level, but the idea of a manic state is foreign so I'll take a moment to explain it. If depression is an extreme state of sadness or hopelessness, you can think of mania as an extreme state of happiness. It's generally characterized by impulsive (and often destructive) decisions, lack of sleep and is almost always accompanied by the physical feeling of euphoria (you can think of this as something similar to the effects of several drugs like ecstasy.) This state is the most dangerous and, for me personally, meant that I would blow through money on drugs and alcohol, ostracize my friends and family because of an uncontrollable temper and sail off into the sunset feeling invincible. These impulses left my life in ruins.

I crashed hard during my third semester of college and had to withdraw. At my worst I was suicidal, faced with a crippling loneliness that I had never felt before. You can think of it like standing knee- deep and staring into a dark pool of water. The only light is the reflection of your own eyes and even those seem foreign to you. If you shout you're greeted by a distorted echo that you recognize as your own, but it's masked by an alien quality. In this sense, mental disorders create two yous; the you that you're familiar with and the stranger you can't recognize beyond a silhouette and the stain it leaves behind. You're a prisoner in your own body and every single day you feel yourself inching closer and closer to the water.

If there is a single safe harbor in all of this, it's love. When two souls dredge through the fire and connect, the bond can become unbreakable. Empathy is the great uniter; shared pain is like cement. Love will harden through pain. Two souls become pillars, lifting the other out of the water and into the sky. This is what separates this drama from the rest. This is why It's Okay, That's Love is a masterpiece.

Mental health is not a topic that is addressed very often in Korean dramas, and when it is it often comes across as comical. Mental health balances between something people think of as self-imposed, something you can shrug off if you try hard enough, and something to be afraid of. Because of this, it's usually presented as one of the two extremes: something too light, often existing as comic relief or a silly quirk meant to add flavor without substance, or as something too heavy, existing as some ethereal force that twists the mind into something less than human. It's Okay, That's Love is able to present something serious and keep a lighthearted tone without being insulting.

If you're looking at the melodrama tag and expecting something that borders on makjang, this drama is not that. The feeling of melancholy threads this drama together, but it does not weigh it down. You won't find endless sobbing, misunderstandings or two-dimensional characters. Instead, this drama showcases the marriage of two souls through unconditional love and growth. Love is strongest when flaws can fit together like a jig-saw puzzle, and the characters in this drama compliment each other perfectly. It's important to emphasize that these characters are flawed. Too often dramas shy away from characters with real problems and instead settle on external conflict to move the story in its entirety. The characters in these dramas are perfect outside of the experiences they undergo and the forces that act on them and it makes them two-dimensional. This is not the case in this drama. Most of the conflict is internal, but it's relatable and organic. Every single character is presented in a manner that allows you to love and empathize with them - it's a multi-layered story, the supporting cast is also very well-developed.

In addition to a perfect atmosphere, this drama does something almost unheard of in a Korean drama. It presents a love story that is not about the chase, but rather endurance. Adult topics such as sex, intimacy and trust are at the forefront and allow the drama to paint a picture of actual couplehood instead of traditional guy-chase-girl or girl-chase-guy fare. You'll watch the couple grow not only as individuals, but as loving creatures. It doesn't stop at love, either, the concept of friendship as a refuge is just as strong. The entire cast grows over the course of the show, and if you're anything like me, you will grow along side them.

I really can't gush enough about this drama. It's been a very long time since I watched something that resonated within me with such perfect harmony. The soundtrack captures the moods perfectly, the actors (from main to supporting) have realistic and beautiful chemistry. The melancholy is haunting, but it won't overwhelm you. I cried, I smiled, laughed and lived with this drama. I saw those two souls grow into a love so pristine that you honestly believe they cannot live without each other. The term soulmate can only apply when two people love each other unconditionally, and they both crossed the sea in a rowboat to reach it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Age of Youth
138 people found this review helpful
Aug 27, 2016
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Age of Youth is one of the most precious dramas I have ever watched and I doubt I will ever find another drama like this that has evoked so much emotion out of me. It deserves every single bit of praise, and will remain in my heart as something beautiful and sensational. This drama is pure gold. I know I’m one of many opinions, but to fully understand what I’m talking about, Age of Youth is one of those dramas that everyone should at least watch once.

The plot was something that originally drew me in. It sounded very original and worthy enough to watch at least the first two episodes. While watching Age of Youth, there were so many moments that either relatable, touching or just plain hilarious. The writer did a fantastic job of the script. With the characters, it took me a few episodes to love all five of them (especially Jung Ye Eun) but each and every one of them, they had a story to tell and all made massive development with their lives. Yoo Eun Jae I grew attached to straight away because I felt a small connection with her and wanted her to grow stronger. Jung Ye Eun was annoying at first (and still can be), but her passionate personality made her admirable. Song Ji Won is the weirdest but most wonderful housemate, and always made a lot of scenes better. Kang Yi Na seemed to have an easy life, but had problems that she kept to herself and solved herself - her pride is something we should all aim to have. And finally, Yoon Ji Myung. I think everyone who has watched Age of Youth can agree that we all wanted to her to be happy as she deserved it the most. Her issues at work, with her brother and mother always caused her to be unhappy and we viewers did not want to see her suffering. All five of them were perfect, unique and lovable. Also, the boys - thank you for all being beside the girls and supporting them (except Ko Doo Young of course). My only issue with the story was the small ‘supernatural’ element that introduced some of the characters’ problems - I wish that was done in a different way.

The acting was on point and this drama was a huge stepping stone in the actors careers. I know I should talk about each actress individually, but I feel like I expressed my feelings a lot in the previous paragraph as their acting was what helped to make each of the characters the best they could have been. The five actresses were amazing, stunning and won my hearts over. None of them wavered in their acting styles, they consistently stuck with their character and continued till the end. I will most definitely be keeping an eye out for their next dramas because I want to see how they all grow.

Music worked extremely well with each scene and every single track was gorgeous to listen to. If you ever have spare time, just stick on the Age of Youth soundtrack and fully appreciate the audio because it will be worth it. My favourite track is definitely the main one, Butterfly by Sogyumo Acacia Band - it has that perfect, young vibe to it.

There is no doubt about it, I would rewatch this right now if I didn’t have so many dramas to catch up on - but I most definitely will be watching this again before the end of the year.

Age of Youth is worth everyone’s time and for me, is the drama of the year - maybe of the decade/century as well haha. If you love a simplistic and cute story with well developed characters and immersive backstories, this is the drama for you.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Ugly Alert
78 people found this review helpful
Dec 21, 2013
133 of 133 episodes seen
Completed 2
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
It is really hard to rate a near perfect drama!! Some people will miss out on this gem simply because of the episode count. But I can assure that with 32-35 minute episodes, you will be swept into a story that will resonant with you from now on; one that you will use as a template for all future family dramas. The acting by all was superb! The writer promised to present a story without one single drama clique and it was delivered. I got to see the development of a romance from start to finish. Wait, I got to see the development of 3 relationships. The problems they presented made sense. Even the brief noble idiocy moment made sense to me. I never thought I would dismiss that as a necessary evil in the story. The supporting characters, you either loved them or hated them. But that was a testament to how well they acted. Overall, I do not feel that I wasted a moment of my time. As a matter of fact, I wouldn't be surprised if one day down the drama road, I re-watch the entire drama again. Yes, it is that good!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Eternal Love
147 people found this review helpful
Mar 1, 2017
58 of 58 episodes seen
Completed 14
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I made a vow to write a review immediately after the show ended and believe me when I say the emotions are still raw. Where do I even start? Eternal Love is such a compelling and beautiful piece I don't think I can find the exact words to describe it.

The story is brilliant in itself and I am honestly sure it did the book justice. I think if you're watching this without reading the book beforehand, you would love the show a lot more because you're watching without expectations plus either way, Eternal Love will blow you away (even if you're not a fantasy/xianxia/historical genre kind of person) Also, If you like The Journey of Flower, you will love this without a doubt.

Everything, every single thing is so stunning from the costumes, to the set and the cinematography. And the most beautiful part is, of course, their love story. The different clans coming together and all the magical elements and all are very interesting. I won't delve into the story too much because its pretty complicated but fear not, you will never be bored of it for a second.

The acting was spectacular. Yang Mi did a fantastic job as always. Although it was my first time watching Mark Chao, his character as either Mo Yuan or Ye Hua is so easily to fall in love with because he is that good at acting. Chemistry was flawless. A transparent love was beautifully portrayed; you could feel their love and pain and share their happiness. Kiss scenes are very good too. They're not exactly rough but tender and deep? I honestly did not expect so many kiss scenes because I was quite disappointed with the lack of intimacy in The Journey of Flower but you're blessed here :')

Every other character was very likeable having their own unique personalities. The other side characters and love stories are also super sweet especially Dong Hua's and Feng Jui's.

It seems like everything about the drama is perfect even its music is so apt. The entire OST is so enchanting played at right timings. The duet is so haunting which really gives Bai Qian & Ye Hua moments that goosebumps. So, so good.

The only problem I have (not with the drama) is that I hate misunderstandings that cause conflicts in a relationship which my heart cannot handle. Ye Hua and Bai Qian's relationship has many 'tragedies' that can really break your heart because they've been through so many tribulations caused by some side bitches but in the end, everything for this drama is worth it.

Rewatch it? Definitely. No qualms about it.

This is truly a masterpiece and I can safely say Eternal Love is my favourite C-Drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Hello Monster
119 people found this review helpful
Aug 21, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10
*SLOW CLAP*

I heard so many things about I REMEMBER YOU but I was quite hesitant to watch it because it's a crime-based story. No, I don't hate crime series. On the contrary, I love it so much that my expectations are quite high when it comes to this genre. I watched this drama without expecting anything. What I did not know was I was in for a big surprise...

STORY - This reminds me a lot of the American crime drama "The Mentalist". The plot is quite similar but the details are very different.
Being a sucker for stories with genius characters, the first episode had me hooked. I had this strange hunger that was only satiated by watching the next episode, then the next and the next until I reached the end... I tried to look for major holes but the writers had really done a great job in connecting every piece of the puzzle and covering up the tiny mistakes.
This drama really stands out because despite of having Crime as it's main core, the showcasing of violence was a lot less compared to other TV series. In fact, the drama is so rich in morals, brotherly love (oh, you cannot miss this), and friendship. I never thought that a crime drama like this is possible.

If there's anything that I feel somewhat lacking is the ending. I am not saying that it's not good, but rather, I was expecting a closure. After all what the characters have been through, I think they deserved a better ending.

ACTING/ CAST - Korean actors are really good, especially in conveying their emotions through their eyes. The actors in this drama are so 'in character' that you would feel their pain, agony, fear and even happiness. Needless to say Jang Na Ra (Cha Ji An) and Seo In Guk (Lee Hyun) did a wonderful job. A special shout out is not enough for Choi Won Young (Lee Jun Ho) who's acting is so superb that I find him really scary now and Park Bo Gum (Jung Seon Ho) who was hands-down amazing. They both deserved an award.

MUSIC - I enjoyed the music very much especially the intro/title music. It gives you the mysterious detective vibe. I actually find it quite similar with the manga series "Detective Conan's" intro.

REWATCH VALUE - I think this one deserves a rewatch. It's one of the dramas that you think you want to watch from the beginning again because you want to know if you missed any details.

OVERALL: This one deserves a standing ovation.

*SLOW CLAP FADING*

I ended this drama with a heavy heart. Not because it was bad, but because it's so good that I am sure I am going to miss it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Tonbi
60 people found this review helpful
May 10, 2013
10 of 10 episodes seen
Completed 5
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This is my first review so I will keep it simple. Tonbi is an incredible and heartwarming family drama which focused on the growing relationship between father and son. I loved how it represented the importance of family and how life's events and circumstances can weaken or strengthen family bonds. Yasu who was the father is such an entertaining character to watch. Never have I come across a character who made me laugh and cry at the same time. He is what I can only describe at best a Tsundere. His behaviour was unpredictable and often irrational. It is a wonder how he managed to have such a lovely and beautiful wife. There were moments in the show where I wanted to shake him so that he could come to his senses. His stubborness was frustrating to watch but at the same time you can't help but find him endearing and loveable as he learns the value of being a parent. Despite him being a real Baka no-one can deny his complete love and devotion to his son Akira. The acting by all the cast was fantastic and the instrumentals and OSTs which accompanied the series was beautiful. It was also wonderful to watch Akira grow and learn and to be a man in his own right. Relationships are never easy to manage and this also applies to parent and child relationships, they also need love and respect and the willingness to compromise and work through differences. No-one is perfect and this drama showed clearly the struggles of being a parent and that it is a continuous learning experience which in return becomes rewarding.

Overall this drama was a complete joy to watch and also very satisfying. It gave me an incredible and emotional experience and I can highly recommend this drama. It is worth investing 10 hours of your time to watch this lovely and heartwarming family story which totally captured my heart.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Chicago Typewriter
124 people found this review helpful
Jun 4, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 16
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
"To protect the love I couldn't protect in my past life. To meet again in a liberated homeland and love freely."

If I have to describe this drama in one word, I'd say it's "nostalgic". It does seem like an obvious choice since it's a story about past life, but making a mere viewer like me constantly feel warm and comforted by the characters and the bond between them is not something other past life stories can easily do. This is the product of seamless writing, talented cast and their acting, mesmerizing music and phenomenal cinematography. This drama is at the very top of productions of its kind, it will stay there for a long time, and it has possibly exceeded the standard value of other genres as well.

--

The story, for me, sums up into a beautiful story about destiny and camaraderie that surpasses the boundary of time. Instead of being something completely new, it surely makes a lot of new choices in characteristics, settings and storyline.

You will experience this simple concept of love and friendship on two timelines: one is back in 1930s Kyungsung (Old Seoul) when Korea was under Japanese rule, and one is in present time Seoul. Although the present time is their main timeline and their past is shown as their recollection, both timelines have their own weight and are laid out equally well.

The main characters are this story's forte. In the present time, we have a bestselling writer who appears snobbish at first but opens up into a very thoughtful person, a ghostwriter who can look both like a caring gentleman and a lonely lost puppy at the same time, and lastly, a fan who is strong, caring and rather very respectful for someone entitled "number one fan". They really are a bunch of good qualities which you can't help but fall for.

These three characters are then tasked with a mission to find out what truly happened in their past lives that makes things the way they are in present time. As they recall past events together, they develop a strong bond just as how they did in the past – if not even stronger because now they also have a chance to learn things about each other they previously didn't know.

At the same time, their past timeline is where the political genre comes in. It's not heavy on politics at all, I can assure you. It rather weaves this setting into the main message very nicely because here our main characters share their passion in fighting against the Japanese for liberation. It's rather super romantic, I must say. "To protect the love I couldn't protect in my past life. To meet again in a liberated homeland and love freely." – This quote says it all.

Other than that, this story gives you a good laugh. Side characters are as three-dimensional as the main ones, and many of them will surely grow on you. Also, this could be because I'm Korean, but even their dialogues and choice of action are three-dimensional. Every word they speak, everything they do, has a good reference and reason behind it. The constant mention of supernatural beings is witty, and how they involve famous quotes, poems and authors really fits with the plot. I can't praise this drama's writer enough for her super well-done research. There's really no plot hole or boring/dragging moments.

And, oh, did I mention? The said writer is Jin Soo Wan, the amazing writer behind Moon Embracing the Sun and MDL users' all-time favorite Kill Me, Heal Me.

--

For the cast, I have seen almost every single one of them in their past works, and they still didn't remind me of their other characters at all, which is always important. They were so alive in their roles. I specifically want to praise our leading cast Yoo Ah In, Im Soo Jung and Go Gyung Pyo who had to take on two roles each for their separated present and past characters. They all nailed it. Additionally, Kwak Shi Yang who portrayed the antagonist deserves extreme compliments. The fact that he made me utterly hate his entire being proves that his acting was marvelous. That is an A+ for someone who's been in the industry for merely 3 years.

Another thing I fell in love with was the music. This drama's OSTs are gems – not only because we have golden voices like Baek Yerin and SG Wannabe but because the lyrics were written according to the storyline. The music cues are planned out so well that it's almost cunning. They appear at every right moment to add meaning to what we're seeing on screen, and often times they call for tears. In other words, they are not just background music but part of the storytelling itself. Don’t ever forget to read the meaning of those songs, and you’ll be in awe.

Likewise, the cinematography, the costumes, sets and their props are also impeccable. "Visually stunning" describes this entire production. This is one of those few dramas that you can pause at any moment and get a beautifully-composed still image. Present day Seoul and 1930s also have a clear line between them – both done beautifully from a lot of research. The color is graded in a cozy lukewarm tone and will make you feel like watching a beautiful independent movie on a big screen.

--

Romantic, evocative, delicate, sentimental, homely.
“Nostalgic” it is. Nostalgic really sums up everything.

--

Witnessing how this drama played out every week felt just like witnessing a piece of art. I never thought I'd have a chance to give straight 10s on a review, but this drama felt like an exception from the very beginning, and it never disappointed me until the end. If this isn't enough to make you decide to watch, I don't know what else will.

I don't think I'll be able to get over this drama in a very long time. This drama is my home.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
49 Days
109 people found this review helpful
May 23, 2011
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
This review may contain spoilers
I had a lot of fun watching this "highly entertaining, very different from the norm" drama. It has a very real human story within a fantastical framework. It was entertaining and thought provoking throughout its run.

The actors had great chemistry, the music was very fitting and the cinematography was wonderful. It is not your typical love story. It is not a rom-com. It isn't really comparable to other dramas that have recently aired. The writer and director of this drama stand out in a spectacular way.

For the writer's part: So Hyun Kyung told a very good story with twists and turns and a movable plot that kept you watching. Just when you think the story is moving in one direction it does a little flip and takes you on another, unexpected path. The themes of 49 Days are love, forgiveness, family, death and learning to truly live. It is a beautiful story.

For the director's part: He kept the plot moving and stayed true to the writer's vision. The camera work was very well done and I love when the lighting and the shots are part of the action and mean everything to how the story is told.

There are plenty of light moments but this show was never meant to be a comedy. I have seen comparisons to other more comedic shows and I feel that is doing this show an injustice. It's been a long time since I've watched a drama where the plot was so evenly paced and well planned out. Even though that plan may have taken me in places I didn't expect and were not the norm for a Kdrama.

It is easy to stick with this show and sometimes you will be on the edge of your seat wondering what will happen to the characters you have grown to love. (Han Kang! I adore you) I was satisfied with the ending. I was impressed and pleased with the story I was told. I recommend 49 Days highly.

If you haven't seen it, try not to read the spoilers!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
It's Okay, That's Love
118 people found this review helpful
Jan 9, 2015
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I can't believe how much I love this drama...

The characters feel like real people that actually have impacts on everyone around them. This is awesome because many times writers of dramas tend to forget characters that aren't in the main couple/triangle. I love that this drama shows actions and reactions of so many people, all while being able to keep the viewers absolutely in love with the main characters. No one felt overshadowed or forgotten, and you can feel how everyone involved really cared about telling this story.

The cast is filled with some of my favorite actors of all time, so of course the acting is superb. The mark of a great actor is that you completely forget that they aren't their characters while onscreen, and the entire cast pulls this off perfectly.

As for the OST...probably the best I've ever heard. This is the first time I've purchased music from an OST, and I bought not one, but two songs from this drama. One particular song is used to drive the plot further emotionally, and in the two biggest scenes it's used, it works perfectly to really capture the viewers' entire being into that scene. Those scenes hurt so much, yet I found myself watching them over and over because of how heartbreaking they were and beautifully they were put together.

I already want to watch it again, and I've just finished! This has definitely become one of my favorite shows (not just kdramas!) of all time.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Age of Youth
81 people found this review helpful
Aug 28, 2016
12 of 12 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 9.0
As soon as I watched the first 2 episodes, I knew this was going to be one of my favourite dramas. I was hesitant about the ending because there have been too many dramas that start off well but slow down in the middle and may rush the ending, and no longer have the same feeling as the earlier episodes. This show surpassed my expectations, and maintained the warm, cosy feeling throughout.

PLOT:
Anyone looking for a fast-paced action packed drama, should look away now. This show really defines slice-of-life. I am sure everyone watching this drama could relate to one of the girls or even just a situation faced by the girls. I was able to relate to different situations and aspects of many of the girls personally and also have seen other friends/family facing similar situations:
- Jin Myungs hardships! I could especially relate to her feeling lost.
- Ji Wons non-existent dating life
- Friends who have faced similar situations as Ye Eun in their relationships/love life
- Eun Jae's hesitation, timidness
- Yi Na questioning herself and her decisions in the last 2 episodes or so
There have definitely other aspects. I just listed some that were especially relatable to me.
I was really glad that the plot focused on the girls the most and not the boys. It didn't take a detour. It was consistent. Each girl's individual storyline and character growth was moving, and the different episodes focused on different stories perfectly. The show shows us how the girls are important as individuals as well as their relationships with each other. It was very apt and moving that throughout, the relationship between the girls, them as a 5, was way way more important then their relationship with any of the guys/ or any one else tbh. They valued each other and nothing came in between them. It was very realistic in portraying their relationship, even though they lived together, and despite the closeness, each individual has their own personal hardships (defo last ep), and you don't share every single detail with everyone. Another point was that they didn't try to force the 5 girls being close to each other equally, it made perfect sense for some girls to be closer to each other then to others - this never undermined their bond as a 5 though. I could ramble on about this but I'll stop.

CAST/ACTING:
I don't have any complaints. I could imagine the actors as their characters perfectly. Never once did I doubt the acting, or imagine anyone else doing a better job. I was immersed in each and every character and that is partly due to the actors job (also story/director etc). The guys played their part really well, and very convincingly. I didn't think the acting was over the top or anything.

MUSIC:
The songs were so perfect! I have been replaying Sogyumo Acacia Band - Butterfly. There is something about the song that makes me just want to reminisce my youth and think about stuff (lol). It fitted the show so perfectly. It was subtle yet it did its job.

REWATCH VALUE:
I gave it a high rewatch value, because I'll probably rewatch this at some point - probably after university finishes and I miss my college days. Though I don't know if I'll be able to handle it. It has already made me feel so much, and taught me a few life lessons, I don't want to rewatch it and make it less impactful on 2nd watch. Its too soon now.

FINAL THOUGHTS
The highlight of this show is definitely the girls. The only negative I have is the shortness, but they sure packed a lot in 12 episodes. I know each girl's story didn't complete (in kdrama completeness - happily ever after sense), esp YE EUN at the end, but in true fashion of this drama and its genre: life isn't start and stop, its ongoing for them, they don;t all need to have a boyfiriend or everything figured out, because thats what life is for. They only showed us a snippet of their life and so we can't expect everything to end completely and perfectly.

[A lot of comments going around earlier about when Jin Myung will develop her backbone. Speaking from life experience, I know someone in similar situation who had and still has many many hardship, but keeps quite and deals with it all. It took her many many years before she finally came to realise that this is her life, and she needs to live it her way, that she need to speak up for herself and not put up with people who hurt her. So people don't just change overnight. It takes a lot of self-realisation and growth. And I'm glad the show touched on this the way it did, for everything to reach a limit before you finally break down]

Age of Youth was definitely one of the best written, acted, and directed kdrama I’ve seen so far this year (this and Signal). And I sincerely pray for a second season!

This is so long.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo
139 people found this review helpful
by Malu
Jan 12, 2017
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I know there are already many reviews but I never felt such urgency to tell how much I have loved a show.
This drama was so refreshing and comforting, a complete year-end surprise. Never two friends became lovers so naturally. Never friendship, family and love were portrayed as adorably well as here. I didn't expect it to be so addictive and beautiful, I'm speechless.

STORY
The story itself seemed very attractive, but after seeing the first ep I felt somewhat disappointed. But thank God I didn't dropped it! From the fourth episode the quality increased a lot, the story took shape and the characters looked better defined. No doubt they took full advantage of this beautiful plot that only took the sport as an excuse to show how two friends fall in love as they struggle to achieve their dreams. No weak characters, no idiots and abusive male leads. I love the way this portrays the youth and its warmth.

ACTING
Applause for everyone! If I was already surprised by the drastic change of character Sung Kyung ventured into when she accepted this role, I was more surprised when I saw Joo Hyuk's adorable performance, which translated into the couple's insuperable chemistry. Seriously, I can never accept that they don't act side by side.
The secondary performances were also more than charming.

OVERALL
I finished this drama full of hope, as if suddenly I had injected a great dose of energy to get ahead. All of it reminds you how beautiful life can be. Give yourself the pleasure of watching this drama! Impossible to repent later. Oh and I almost forgot: SWAAAAAG!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
1 Litre no Namida
103 people found this review helpful
May 31, 2011
11 of 11 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 5.0
I have never seen a drama that has made quite an impact on me as this one has. This drama is based off of the true story of Aya Kito and it really is upsetting that this disease truly exists without a cure. Every day now I feel happy that I can speak, write and walk while she had to continue living as she lost those abilities.



The main actress and actor had such amazing chemistry that even after months, just hearing the song "Konayuki" by Remioromen breaks my heart. Thus being said the soundtrack is beautiful.



The reason I didn't give the rewatch value a 10 is because, despite this being a flawless drama, it's too heartbreaking for me to watch again. I would really love to, since it's my favorite, but I have never cried so much in my life. You will want to watch it again but if you are like me, you're not sure your heart can take it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Healer
195 people found this review helpful
Feb 25, 2015
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 8
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Perfection. That is the only word I can use to describe the absolute treasure that was Healer.

Funnily enough, I almost passed by this drama and, had I not been practically forced to push the play button, I would have missed out on the best drama I've seen in my twelve years of drama watching experience. Even the fact that this is my first drama review on MDL shows how highly I think of this drama and how strongly I feel that the overall rating of #2 and popularity of #1 is completely well deserved. Healer has become my top favorite drama, dethroning my previous favorite, which had held onto the top spot for the last seven years. That's the power of Healer.

If strong characters all around, both male and female, are your thing, watch it. If a solid love line without stupid, nonsensical love triangles and noble idiocy break ups are your thing, watch it. If you enjoy a good action, romance, political, and gripping-the-edge-of-your-seat-intense drama, then this is definitely, definitely for you. Watch it.

The acting by the ENTIRE cast is flawless. The OST is amazing and so well suited to each scene that its played in. Healer will make you experience the widest range of emotions throughout its 20 episodes and you'll still feel like you didn't get enough. Heartwarming, touching, beautiful, intriguing, heartbreaking, action-packed, downright hilarious, and so perfect! That's Healer.

In fact, I don't think there are enough words in the world to describe Healer and the effect it has on me and this is coming from a writer. The plot was solid, the pacing was perfectly balanced while never slow, and the characters were so natural and realistic. I walked into this drama unfamiliar with the cast and walked away a fan of all three leads and then some.

If you've ever fallen so in love with someone or something to the point where your heart hurts and throbs with the pain of overwhelming emotions, then you'll understand what Healer has done to me. But, quite frankly, it would hurt more to never experience this drama than to deal with the withdrawal of a perfect in every aspect drama.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Kill Me, Heal Me
158 people found this review helpful
Mar 13, 2015
20 of 20 episodes seen
Completed 7
Overall 10
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I will mention BOTH the good and the bad of this show----- SO THIS IS KIND OF LONG, SORRY.

THIS SHOW IS HONESTLY AT THE LEVEL OF MASTER'S SUN, YWCFTS, AND HEALER. It is one of the best so far for 2015.

At a first glance, this show may seem like a mess. When I began watching this show I had VERY low expectations because of the description -- rich chaebol with memory lapses and 7 different personalities falling in love with a docto......... it sounded like a recipe for disaster.

But, don't worry because the writing and production team turned KMHM into a masterpiece with the help of main actor Ji Sung. ALSO, the title Kill Me, Heal Me is beautifully illustrated in the show--I cried tears of happiness when I saw the meaning.

Not only is the show itself well-written, it is CONSISTENTLY GOOD. Where many other dramas slowly fall apart half-way through the series, this show managed to keep delivering quality episodes from start to finish. the actors also flesh out their characters and fill the show with meaningful symbolism.

ACTING: Ji Sung is, hands down, the BEST ACTOR I have ever seen in a Korean drama. (My opinion only--pls don't be offended) He makes me laugh with him and then immediately cry a few seconds later. If that isn't superb acting ability, I don't know what is. The screen romantic chemistry between the two leads are also OFF THE CHARTS. They are amazing together because this is the 2nd time they've acted together! :-) Anyhow, I have only praise for the acting in this drama.

MUSIC: 1/3 of the reason why I cry every episode is the music. The main OST, Auditory Hallucination, is a perfect mixture of rap and soft singing, and this contrast between soft and rough reminds me of the doctor's healing and the main character's tragic anger. After watching the first two episodes, I've been listening to this song every single day for the past 2 months. In fact, tears are rolling as I write this--I'm listening to it right now. The other songs are also perfectly timed, although they didn't leave as heavy of an impact on me.

PLOT:
Multiple-personality disorder is a sensitive and controversial issue that can easily be misrepresented or shown with a lack of seriousness. KMHM manages to avoid this problem despite its hilarity. The plot successfully transitions from comedy to tragedy in mere seconds, and this is the reason for its success: by having light comedy first, it then forces us to look at the sad situation of personality disorders without us looking away.

Many people, including me, dislike pure melodrama--and KMHM did a great job of softening the blow while maintaining its seriousness. I promise you there ARE hilarious situations every episode, but overall the show leaves you wondering about what the main character had to go through in his life. This show makes us feel pity for the characters without using cheap tricks.

An evidence of this show's success would be when fans of this show fundraised over $3000 in a week (american dollars) for a cause after watching the show.

REWATCH: YES YES YES. I personally watched this 2 times before writing a review. I plan on watching it again in a couple of months.

NOW, time for my CRITICISMS:
- One thing this show overdid was its flashbacks. This can get a bit annoying after 14 episodes, so make sure to skip ahead if you ever get tired of it. (skipping some flashbacks will help you have a good experience with this drama)
- The main female lead's high pitched screaming can be very loud and irritating---especially for people with sensitive ears. Be careful with the volume control, guys and girls. I personally got used to it, but I know some people who couldn't stand her voice.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?

Recent Discussions