The Lost Tomb Series Order

The Lost Tomb Series is a television franchise based on the novel series Daomu Biji written by Nanpai Sanshu. It follows Wu Xie, Pangzi, and Zhang Qiling on tomb-raiding adventures. A fan translated the books which can be found here. This list is based on the order from the books. 

You don't need to watch in chronological order to enjoy the shows, especially for Ultimate Note or Reunion!!

Last Substantive Update: December 29, 2023

taomubiji Dec 18, 2020
13 Titles Loves
0% Watched
Sort By: Author's Order
taomubiji's Rating
Your Rating
  • The Lost Tomb

    1. The Lost Tomb

    Chinese Drama - 2015, 10 episodes


    Watch on YouTube or Amazon. If you don't like it, you can skip it. The Lost Tomb 2 and Ultimate Note provide flashbacks.

    Wu Xie explores a tomb for the first time with Pangzi, Zhang Qiling, his uncle, and others.

    Based largely on Volume 1. Read the fan translation here.

  • The Lost Tomb 2

    2. The Lost Tomb 2

    Chinese Drama - 2019, 40 episodes


    Watch on YouTube or Amazon.

    Wu Xie explores Wang Zanghai's underwater tomb with Zhang Qiling and Pangzi.

    Based largely on Volume 1 and Volume 2. Read the fan translation of Volume 1 here and Volume 2 here.

  • The Lost Tomb 2: Explore With the Note

    3. The Lost Tomb 2: Explore With the Note

    Chinese Drama - 2021, 24 episodes


    Watch on  WeTV, YouTube, or Viki.

    Wu Xie explores a tomb in the mountains that Wang Zanghai visited and discovers a Bronze Gate.

    Based on Volume 3. Read the fan translation here.

    *This show changes a lot of things from the books, so certain plot lines in Ultimate Note will conflict. 

  • Ultimate Note

    4. Ultimate Note

    Chinese Drama - 2020, 37 episodes


    Watch on iQIYI. You can start with this show if you want.

    Wu Xie starts to unravel all of the mysteries. 

    Based largely on Volumes 4-7. Read the fan translation of Volume 4 here, Volume 5 here, Volume 6 here, and Volume 7 here.

    The last volume of the main series (Volume 8) hasn't been fully adapted yet. You can read Volume 8 here.

  • Tibetan Sea Flower

    5. Tibetan Sea Flower

    Chinese Drama - 0000, 36 episodes

    Unaired. Filming is finished, so it's currently in post-production.

    Wu Xie investigates Zhang Qiling's past. Takes place 6 years after Ultimate Note.

    Based on the 1st sequel Tibetan Sea Flower. Takes place 5 years after the end of Volume 8. Read Tibetan Sea Flower here.

  • Tomb of the Sea

    6. Tomb of the Sea

    Chinese Drama - 2018, 52 episodes


    Watch on Viki, WeTV.

    Wu Xie is hardened by the conspiracy he's been forced into and the departure of someone close. Takes place ~8-9 years after Ultimate Note

    A second season is currently planned (announced in a live stream in February 2021 by the author of the novels). It is unknown if anyone in the cast will return.

    Based largely on the 2nd sequel Sand Sea. Takes place ~4-5 years after Tibetan Sea Flower. Read Sand Sea here.

  • Reunion: The Sound of the Providence

    7. Reunion: The Sound of the Providence

    Chinese Drama - 2020, 32 episodes


    Watch on Viki, iQIYI, YouTube.

    Wu Xie explores a new tomb with Pangzi and Zhang Qiling.

    Based on the 3rd sequel Restart. Takes place several years after Tomb of the Sea. Read Restart here

    *The short novel, Ten Years Later,  which explains why Zhang Qiling shows up again after Tomb of the Sea, has yet to be adaptedRead Ten Years Later here.

  • Reunion: The Sound of the Providence Season 2

    8. Reunion: The Sound of the Providence Season 2

    Chinese Drama - 2020, 30 episodes


    Watch on iQIYI.

    The second season of Reunion.

    Based on the 3rd sequel Restart.

    *Although chronologically last, the author of the novels is still writing about Wu Xie. This won't be the last show in the series. You can read the fan translation of the post-Restart sequels here.

  • The Mystic Nine

    9. The Mystic Nine

    Chinese Drama - 2016, 48 episodes


    Watch on Viki, iQIYI

    Set in the 1930s. This is a stand-alone prequel series that does not include the main characters Wu Xie, Zhang Qiling, or Pangzi. However, it can help you to better understand the family politics.

    Based on the prequel The Mystic Nine and some of The Mystic Nine 2. Read The Mystic Nine here & The Mystic Nine 2  here.

  • The Mystic Nine 2

    10. The Mystic Nine 2

    Chinese Drama - 0000, 48 episodes

    Unaired. Tentative Air Date: Unknown

    It is rumored that William Chan will be returning but everyone else is still up in the air. Production hasn't started yet. 

    I don't think it will be based on any novel.

  • The South Bureau

    11. The South Bureau

    Chinese Drama - 0000, 36 episodes

    Unaired. Tentative Air Date: Late 2024.

    The Southern Archives is a secret organization created by the Zhang Family. It explores the trials and tribulations of Zhang Haiyan during the early Republican Era (1912-1920s).

    Based on the side story The Southern Archives. Read here. 

  • Wu Xie Si Jia Bi Ji

    12. Wu Xie Si Jia Bi Ji

    Chinese Drama - 0000

    Unaired. Tentative Air Date: Unknown

    It shares a name with an extra side story novel called Wu Xie's Private Notes. So, it may be somewhat based on it. You can read the novel here.

  • Zang Hai Zhuan

    13. Zang Hai Zhuan

    Chinese Drama - 0000, 40 episodes

    This was originally about Wang Zanghai. However, the story was changed to be independent of The Lost Tomb Series and is no longer about him. This show only remains in the list to clarify that it's not part of The Lost Tomb Series.

taomubiji's Lists

Favorite Lost Tomb Series?
8 titles 14 loves 89 voters
Favorite Zhang Qiling?
7 people 8 loves 123 voters 1 comment
Favorite Pangzi?
5 people 4 loves 46 voters
Favorite Wu Xie?
8 people 11 loves 124 voters