Overall 9.0
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This was actually the first korean drama I ever watched, and it is the reason that I got into k-dramas and still love them to this day. I watched it a long time ago, but I wanted to write a quick review to reccomend it to other watchers. The story is at times heart-warming, at times heart-breaking. It was very well written, and it feels very real (there aren't "goodies" and "baddies" from what I remember). You feel the struggle that the two protagonists felt, and the actors carried their roles out well. I recommend this drama to watchers who love slice-of-life/romance dramas. I was particullarly fond of the female protagonist, because she was original and at times cold-hearted unlike most female protagonists in romance k-dramas, and the man's devotion and love to the female lead was very sweet. Struggles in reality, like cheating, were looked upon from a different view. This movie kept me on the edge of my sight, sometimes smiling, sometimes crying, and it is trully a lovely drama. Since this was my very first korean drama that I ever watched and it was a long time ago, i had nothing to compare it to and just found it wonderful. Some of the things I say may be wrong,but this is how I remember it. Definitly worth a watch!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Overall 7.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 5.5
In the area of anime and manga you will always find extravagant titles and, above all, powerful ones. But even real movies do not shy away from wanting to call attention to their specificity in this way. The Tokyo Night Sky is not a novel that was filmed, no manga or other pop entertainment work. Instead, it is a collection of poems by Tahi Saihate. Again and again, poetic lines are recited, even the dialogues often do not seem out of this world. A continuous action, however, the film does not have. Instead, it consists of randomly arranged scenes that, in part, follow a dream logic. Of which one sometimes can not even say what they have to look for in the film.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Left Ear
0 people found this review helpful
3 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 6.0
(8.5/10) Story: Such a unique storyline, but flawed in a way where I felt like something was missing at the end.

(10/10) Cast: I'm not really familiar with the cast, besides infamous Yang Yang, however, I was so immersed. Their acting captivated me till the end! Really worth watching. Splendid casting.

(10/10) Music: Don't trust me on this. I don't really pay attention to music at all. However, Ba La did have a singing scene which sounded really pretty.

(6/10) Rewatch Value: I would totally [and happily] rewatch this film if I was super bored and didn't want to watch anything else.

|| S P O I L E R S A H E A D - I N D E P T H R E V I E W A H E A D ||
I would have given this a super good score because I enjoyed this film a lot... However, every time I remember how Zhang Yang was violent towards Ba La, I want to throw up. Yet it seems like by the end of the film, no one even remembers that anymore. Yes, the bigger focus was on Ba La's tragic death and Zhang Yang blamed himself for calling Ba La a slut; however, he never really seemed to be apologetic for fucking abusing Ba La or even for cheating on his ex with Ba La.

I also wish Xu Yi had a more definite closure. I think the directors wanted to show how fucked up Xu Yi's character was ever since Ba La's death and his family situation; however, having him cheat on Li Er seemed so pointless. I really do wish Li Er was successful in saving Xu Yi from his mental break, even if it's just as friends.

However, maybe all of this is what made me like the film so much? Because it touched on so many sensitive topics in such a rounded way. Though I really can not forgive the physical abuse that Zhang Yang did on Ba La.

Also, Ba La's character is so beautiful. She has so many legit reasons to be fucked up, yet she had such an innocent mind at the same time? I'm not excusing the fucked up shit she did [and the director did a good job showing how she wasn't a good influence on Xu Yi, who started to be a bad boy, or Li Er, who started smoking] but her character was just so flawed in such a beautiful way.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
3 days ago
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 9.0
This movie is the one you're either gonna love it or hate it. There's no in between. If you're not used to Japanese Manga-like-non-realistic actings and jokes, you'll hate it. But if you're a fan of Manga and Anime, I think you'll love it. I did. I was expecting another live-action disaster like AOT because of the CGs but it was really good. It was so hilarious and the story is pretty interesting too. I also loved the actors and the acting was great. I hope they'll make a sequel.
P.S. I'm so gay for Hashimoto Kanna. <3
Was this review helpful to you?
What a Man Wants
0 people found this review helpful
5 days ago
Overall 7.5
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
I purely watched this because I'm a big fan of Song Ji Hyo. This was an enjoyable movie. Somewhat lighthearted and funny. There are a lot of "sex" scenes, but no nudity, still it's probably not safe to watch it around your parents because of the profanity and sexual jokes lol. There is mild nudity, but it isn't from the actors.

THE GOOD:
I really liked the style and directing because it was pretty creative in a couple scenes. I think Lee Byung Heon did a great job at delivering the movie. The cinematography is pretty bright and refreshing too. I didn't like Ji Hyo's character at first, but all of the other characters were interesting and they grew on me later on. The acting was pretty decent, not the most outstanding and impactful, but they were all refreshing to see. Due to the shortness of the film, the movie was prettt well paced, no slowness but that also could be its fault.

THE CRITICISM:
Okay, here is where we will go on a train ride, buckle up your belts my friend. My number one biggest criticism for this movie is the plot and writing itself. I hate how they pretty much glorify the affairs like something that people can leisurely perform without much consequences after. I get this is suppose to be for the main characters to find love on Jeju island, but honestly, (SOMEWHAT SPOILER: the cheating is excessive and they don't ever condemn cheating in a way that discourages having affairs. Instead, they make it look fun. At least from how I grew up, I condemn infidelity.)

The ending was alright, I wish there would've been something more.

The acting again, was fairly decent, but I definitely don't think it's the strongest acting from any of them. Maybe from too many main characters and too short of time, the screen time mainly goes to the 2 male leads (which is fine), so the rest of the cast don't get to prove themselves their true potential in their characters.

I honestly wish there would be more in depth explanations and scenes to show to progression leading to certain events. The sex scenes were in a way comical, nudity or not, I felt like it was there purely for the genre of sex comedy. It would've been better if they used those scenes to help develop the characters motivation or emotions, or move the plot along. I mean basically it just felt like a very safe film for cheating and sex.

Overall thoughts:
I won't stop anyone from watching it ( unless you're too young) because it won't leave you with a big impact, but it's entertaining. It doesn't change your life or anything, just pure entertainment. I mean that's usually what it is for sex comedies, but I wish there was more. The writing could've been stronger and it would've helped if the film is a little longer. I think mainly due to time they couldn't fit all of the detailed developement of some characters. I'm a big fan of Ji Hyo and I hope to see her in some bigger projects with more complex story lines where she can actually showcase her acting.




Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Forgotten
1 people found this review helpful
6 days ago
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
i don't know where to start. the movie is amazing. the rewatch vibe is sooo good. it's got this amazing twist where you just shock like legit. and it also has this kind of sense where it really gets you moving, which i barely notice in many shows or movies. very psychological so it really gets you into this "reality" horror that you always want to see in movies but barely get in touch with. they show the underground torture feeling, and the acting really hits the peek where you really empathy with the actors.

i wouldn't wanna spoil, but you do have this false identity going on that really sets the vibe and the tension, you have "suspicious" and the stage to revealing the truth which is really played well. a lot of action but in a small stage. honestly give the movie a try, like legit it got me clapping and jumping.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Hidamari ga Kikoeru
1 people found this review helpful
7 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 9.5
amazing fresh bl movie ..shounen ai is still ongoing .its full of slice of life and understanding btw to male leads and get attracted towards ech other because of their care politness helpful nature . i seriously donot understand the pyschology how person can be gay or lesbian .or its innate or made but while watching shounen ai not yoai, firstly its too different from yoai(search the meaning of both terms). its includes deep rooted character development with social family and their overall developmnet .it doesnt show mere concidence of falling in love with anyother male randomly ....this gives me fresh vibes soothing environment , actors acting was not over or less its according to the character needs at that stuations.
it shows how without social gender categorys one person can fall in love if that person really care for u ,understand and take the life problems as a first hand experience not a problem ......i m straight ahha but if a girl who really cares for me be with me in my good or bad time i may be i may be !!!! may be yes fall in love with her ..many people doesnt get in love becoz of smartness,looks ,personality different people may think diffrent and take things perception in diffrnt ways ...so i think falling in love without gender or sexual oriantion must nott be big issue in our society ...we all r humans .we love nature society family cat dogs so y not we can love same gender ...just becoz they were unable to proceed their offsprings .....? i donot know man its debatble topic btwn wide thinkers and narrow thinkers , society and religion,politics and people.
i love bl movie or anyother movies like this

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Asahinagu
0 people found this review helpful
7 days ago
Overall 5.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 5.5
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
Asahinagu is a high school sports movie focusing on the obscure elegant form of traditional spear play - Naginata. It's almost like Kendo, except less aggressive and more elegant, and has another part of the body that when attacked, will award the attacker a point. The movie failed to impress me in most of the areas aforementioned, leaving me disappointed even a whole day after finishing it.

I'll be honest, I picked this show because of the cute lead - Nishino Nanase. Which is good and all, a cute lead playing the role of a rookie getting strong, finding out more about her own strengths and weaknesses. However, this was shown very superficially, and her overall character development was weak, let alone the other characters. As for their acting skills, only the other lead, Shiraishi Mai, and coach, Eguchi Noriko, did well in playing their roles.

The motivation for most of the scenes are lacking and the cohesion between them are not as smooth as most other successful high school sports shows like Chihayafuru or March comes in like a Lion. I believe that if this were spread out over a few movies, there might be the chance that it could've been at the very least decent to watch. Attempting to cram a story about personal and team growth within 2 hours is never going to work. Period.

It is a waste, in my opinion. These girls are idols and this is a platform for them to step into the movie business, but they were given such a bad script to follow. Oh how we have lost such a good chance for cute girls to shine. Oh woe is us.

(Out of all the bad things this movie has, there was just 1 good thing I gained out of it - Ito Marika is cute. God damn cute.)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Double Mints
0 people found this review helpful
8 days ago
Overall 6.5
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 2.5
It is from author/mangaka Nakamura Asumiko so expect crazy plots. She's got a few your regular-typical BL but Double Mint isn't one of them. I like the premise of the story. Dark and violent (not Takahashi Mike or Sion Sono violent but you get the gist). And the actors weren't half bad in this film. But I get tired of BL stories with rape in it. It's too common in the BL world and not my thing. You can tell it's low budget but the production did well for it's given amount.

Overall: an Ok movie. It's entertaining.
Rewatch? Nothing I yearn to see a second time.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Psychokinesis
0 people found this review helpful
8 days ago
Overall 2.0
Story 3.0
Acting/Cast 1.5
Music 3.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
I skipped most of the part and manage to watch it within like 30 minutes.

Story: There's definitely some actions but I don't see the comedy part. It could explain how that power, that went into the water, came from. However, the superpower effects and editing was kinda cool.

Acting/ Cast: Lots of cast involved but I don't bother remembering or looking at who they are because other than the father and daughter, I don't think the rest made an impact.

Music: Of course there were some action noise

Rewatch value: Nahhhhh. Very easy to understand the plot. Not much of twists and turns or suspense. Hence, once is enough

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
To Each His Own
1 people found this review helpful
9 days ago
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
STORY: The story addresses Kar?shi (???), a Japanese term literally meaning "overwork death," or "death by overwork." It's a big problem in Japan and this movie portrays an overworked guy who attempts suicide and the guy who tries to save him. It's a redemption story with a lot of suspense, also mystery surrounding the identity of "Yamamoto." It has a great ending. NOTE: This is not Boy's Love or Bromance or anything like that.

ACTING/CAST: It's literally an All-Star cast! All of the actors, and the one actress, were superb. You just can't get too much better than these people!

MUSIC: It was good for a show like this, certainly. That ending song is quite good, check the comment section for a link to it English Subbed.

REWATCH VALUE: I will watch it again down the road.

OVERALL: Absolutely fantastic and heartwarming movie about a very powerful subject (Kar?shi) and two guys just trying to save each other.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Suddenly Seventeen
0 people found this review helpful
10 days ago
Overall 7.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 5.0
Don't we all wish to turn back the clock? This movie is about rediscovering self and what was once lost is found again. Technically not really time travel back to past for me as it only involves changes of memories and mentality since the female MC would become her younger self of 17 years old whenever she ate the special chocolate. However it is about this technicality that really made the plot interesting because it somewhat reminds us that in reality even without these special chocolates, we get to choose what mentality we want to project if we really look into ourselves. Whether we want to choose to believe in ourselves and revisit our lost dreams and passion, knowing in life it is never too late. At one point during the argument between the female MC and her long-time boyfriend whereby the female MC (the young, unafraid version of herself after taken the chocolate) blamed her boyfriend for getting in her way towards her dream and passion while the boyfriend retaliated on this blame, I thought to myself how true it is this scene - we all want to choose to be able to blame another for what has failed in our life when in reality all we can do instead is to pick up the mess ourselves and work towards getting things right. In the movie, it was shown how the female MC took the long route towards picking up herself but the journey was necessary for her to come to this realization - that whether it was her 17 years old self of her 28 years old self, she, alone can make it happen as long as she never give up and get lost in herself. I think this was truly the most meaningful drive home point for me from this movie. To be honest, I was not too keen on the ending except I guess to go along with the theme on 'what was lost found again'.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Love in Disguise
0 people found this review helpful
10 days ago
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 10
Rewatch Value 8.0
Very nice, easy to watch, feel good Movie. I liked it.

The above is my review but I could not submit that because I have to have 500 characters to "Submit"
Though why I have to write 500 characters to submit this review escapes my comprehension.
I am not allowed to write spoilers (which I never do - only that if in my opinion a Drama/Movie ends well)
So lets see if I have 500 characters now..........BRB.

Well I'll be!!!! not 500 yet this is really asking too much. All I want to say is that I liked it.

Well if I am not banned after this review I just want to say with this minimum 500 character restriction I will not be writing anymore reviews.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Our Times
0 people found this review helpful
10 days ago
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This movie was an amazing rom-com. Everybody fell for the main lead. This movie had so much comedy. Don’t worry there are some action parts in here. This story goes as an emotional roller coaster. You will feel angry, sad, excited and suspenseful. The dressing and the hair and makeup all fit the past and the present. It’s like a normal oldies Chinese class. Or it’s supposed to give you the feel of how the old Chinese classes used to look like. Mean teachers, homework, gangs, pretty girls and all the basic class stereotypes. I just wish that they kept the same characters in the future too. Cuz they use different people for the past and different people for the present. It would’ve been better if they just like changed the hair. But, it still fit. Pretty good movie to watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Swing Girls
0 people found this review helpful
10 days ago
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This movie really makes the viewer appreciate all the effort these girls put into this movie, having seen the background to this movie i can say these girls really are playing these instruments.
This movie launched the career for juri ueno and and shihori kanjiya
You will laugh out loud when the girls take charge of the bento lunches, trust me this is a super funny movie and wicked music too.
This movie got me hooked on japanese actresses so much i am learning the language and Shodo too.
You will be hooked the moment you view it beleive me.
Was this review helpful to you?