Completed
bread-tie-twisty
23 people found this review helpful
Oct 19, 2016
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
This movie is better than the ratings give it credit for. I think it gets lower ratings because it isn't super predictable. But I liked this movie because it wasn't a predictable plot. I really had no idea where the ending was headed until the last 5 minutes. This film isn't a tear-jerker nor is it super funny. It is a film that shows how people's feeling change and how not to give up on someone just because they treated you or someone you are close to badly. Everybody regrets.
I thought the actors did a good job. Especially Ou Hao, who played Zhang Yang. I am going to look up more of his roles. He was good at showing the character development.
Its a bittersweet story and you should give it a try.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
janie
10 people found this review helpful
Jan 15, 2017
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Their acting is NO joke !Really realistic, their actings and faces are matching their characters so MUCH !
And the plot is unpredictable as bread-tie-twisty says. It's also a mix of classic and realistic movie because there is the pure hearted girl, the handsome guy and so on but the story will make it realistic... I try not to spoil you ;) Just WATCH IT and you will understand what i am talking about . GOOOO ! :)















PS: I'm french so sorry if i made some mistakes , feel free to correct me thank you ;)
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
zimzalaminho
2 people found this review helpful
Dec 21, 2019
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 10
This movie is literally no joke!
Since I've found it around two years ago and made his way to my top list of movies.
The cast, the story, the acting and the considerating amount of plot twist that had in it, made me love this movie so much that brought me to tears till the end.
Rarely I love movies or dramas from China, their language is difficult to follow if compared to the Korean one, and the acting sometimes tends to be unrealistic and over-exaggerated, but in this movie, everything was extremely realistic.
I loved how the friendship between the two girls, two opposite poles, started and developed. I extremely loved also how the faced the hardship of being adult and living a small city just to go into a city of 10 million people, where everyone is just considered more than a number than a real person. I loved the adding of betrayal, and how a love can born and end in a bad way but also how a person turns out to be extremely different from their past themseleves.
Absolutelt neeeds to be watched and rewatched againg and again! Extyremly underrated but probably one of the best!!!!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Meenoay
2 people found this review helpful
Jun 8, 2020
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers
First of all, The movie is based on the same Novel; Left Ear written by Rao Xue Man who is also the screenwriter of this movie. It's a depressing movie with a very dark side of high school teenagers and their life towards adulthood. Everyone is suffering in different ways this is the real message behind this movie. Li Er The first FL had a crush on his classmate Xu Yi who is good student in studies and Zhang Yang had a rich girl friend Jiang Jiao. The rich girl only needs attention and love which her father doesn't give her, so she wants this all from Zhan yang. On the other hand, Ba La is poor a girl people usually found in pubs. She had a crush on Zhang Yang. The male leads are more responsible for all the depressing things happened in this movie. Zhang Yang learned the lesson through unknowing truth with the passage of time and experiences but Xu Yi character left cliff hanger which nobody found out what he is doing in his life at the end. This movie basically portrays that you can have a crush on the wrong person and obsession towards certain human being is definitely leads you with destruction. You have to know what is right and what is wrong. Before going to regret in the future look into your present. Positive self-love is important in life. Things that seem like maybe not the way they are in the real and there must be the reason behind those things. Over-all if you want to know about every single detail more in-depth and also have an interest in human emotions then rewatch value is high. Moreover, this is great but it's up to the person what they drive from the movie.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Teaa
1 people found this review helpful
Oct 1, 2021
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 6.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 4.5

The Mains

This was a good movie but was very off topic from what I expected. The title says “The Left Ear” so I automatically thought that’s its gonna be about a girl who was deaf in left ear and about her life as if she was the main character. I was partially correct. This story sure did revolve around the life events of a girl who is deaf in left year but she was more of a side-main character(if that makes sense). The story was about Ba La and the Left-ear-deaf girl was her friend. I was confused till the end about what was happening which could’ve been avoided if I read the synopsis. China once again gives us a good story, I say you should give it a try, I liked where the story was headed to about those who are left behind. The ending wasn’t something I wanted it was rather unnecessary but hey that gives us a good end to think about what can happen next.
So go and watch this movie now hope you like it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
arashinta
1 people found this review helpful
Nov 24, 2019
Completed 0
Overall 6.0
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Music 5.5
Rewatch Value 5.0
This review may contain spoilers
[WARNING: the rating and review I give have the possibility to be subjective due to my preference for the genres, scenes or casts]

If I may analogize this movie with food, then I'll say that this movie is a high fiber food which hard to digest (^_^;) Actually, the whole story is not that hard to digest, but some of the scenes sometimes left me wondering its meaning (^_^;)

First of all, I’ll say that this movie worth a '18+' sign because almost half of this movie talk about night life and free lifestyle. Other than that, hatred becomes the main issue in here. Because of Zhang Yang's hatred toward Xu Yi, many tragedy occurs. There's also issue of greed and arrogancy.

This movie portrays hate, lust and greed better than it portrays love. I feel that they focused on showing how the negative nature of human can be a disaster to other human. I don't even understand how in the end Zhang Yang and Li Er have a mutual feeling. I don't know either why Left Ear become the title, since that topic is very few showed (^_^;)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
russian white bear
0 people found this review helpful
Jan 19, 2022
Completed 0
Overall 6.5
Story 6.5
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 4.0

BaLa BaLa BaLa

arrgghhh i wasnt gonna write anything but the more i think about the more it annoy me.
honestly BaLa character is the flaw that disturb the flow of this story. when i remove BaLa from the equation it went from bad explanation to no explanation. why is everyone is so quickly and really fixated in BaLa. If they would slow the pace a bit and more carefully, BaLa relationship with other character would make more sense. I havent read the nove, so i have no idea if BaLa's story is originally like that or not.
I would have rated it 1.5 point higher if not for that.

edit: ok, i finally read the novel.

bala's story and relationship was better explained in the novel while despite the shorter length i find the later part was better in the movie, it felt more meaningful.
i gotta say both the movie and novel have their own pros and cons. there are some parts that the novel elaborate better and other parts that the movie summarized better.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
llwa qweq
0 people found this review helpful
Dec 14, 2022
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 1.0
This review may contain spoilers

A movie with an IMPACT

I felt depressed after watching this movie. The whole premise is a twisted play of life in the dark sense.

The one thing that stuck with me is that the character Xu Yi was violated and didn't get any justice. After watching the movie I felt li er & Zhang Yang have no right to make that final comment on Xu Yi's life or how his life might be now. Both of them played out his emotions like a play thing and expected everything to fall in line with their expectation.

The fact that Zhang Yang turned out the way he did makes it more unjustified. He ruined someone who trusted him and destroyed someone else and he gets to live the life he wanted.

Xu Yi ended up like that because of what happened to him but what happened to him were due to the deep emotional left by many others. His mother killed herself, his first love turned out to be trap set by his most trusted friend to destroy himself and the girl who had a crush turned out to be a silent instigator. His half brother succeed in destroying his younger half brother on many levels. His family(parents), his love life, his career and his future self.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Nicolelodeon
0 people found this review helpful
Aug 21, 2020
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers

If you’re searching for a light rom-com, this is definitely not for you!

The story of the movie started off simple, a girl with a hearing-loss in her left ear had a crush on the popular basketball player at school. But things get complicated after that, she has a kind heart and she’s willing to risk her life to save others.

The story gets twisty in the middle, much more complicated than before. The story was sad and dark, nothing comedic, nothing sweet in the middle, but I was interested in what’s coming next. That was why I loved this movie. I wasn’t bored at all even though I’m a sucker for rom-coms.

The acting was so real, it’s not too much - it’s perfect. The music was also very touching. I find it sweet how Zhang Yang purposely whispered in Li Er’s left ear and she immediately understood, because ‘the left ear is closest to the heart, you’ll immediately understand even though you can’t hear.’

Overall, a 9/10 ⭐️ Recommended for anyone who’s watching for a sad-but-happy-ending romantic movie without the need to tear up hehe!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Miss Romcom
0 people found this review helpful
Oct 6, 2020
Completed 0
Overall 7.5
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 7.5

Dark and poignant coming of age film

A lonely good girl who has the urge to be bad. A troubled boy who wants revenge. A lonely bad girl full of life. A popular boy who is self destructing, We follow their lives as they intertwine in high school until a tragedy strikes that changes some of them. It's a dark story with excellent acting especially from Sandra Ma as Li Bala and Oho Ou as Zhang Yang. Sandra Ma was very alluring as Li Bala and I could see why the characters gravitated towards her. I thought I'd be mesmerized by Yang Yang, but instead I was drawn to Oho. Even when he's a jerk, he has this certain something that makes him stand out.

I enjoyed watching this film and would recommend if you're looking for something different and dark and not too taxing on the brain cells. I don't know if I will remember this movie a month from now, but I definitely think it's worth checking out.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Daebak
0 people found this review helpful
Sep 30, 2021
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Music 6.0
Rewatch Value 4.0
This review may contain spoilers

Didn't liked the ending!!

I recommend you to watch this movie. After reading everyone's review don't get confused it's actually a good movie.
I learned, this life is all about misunderstanding.
Zhang Yang ruined everyone's life just be cause of misunderstanding.
Acting/Cast was no joke they portrayed it really well.
The plot wasn't predictable. It is bittersweet story
I didn't liked the end bcoz Zhang Yang fucked over Xu Yi's life (Due to which her mother died), Ba La's life (Due to which she died), and physically abused Ba La, cheated on his ex, and then got a happy ending.
I would actually say Li Er done the good job until end. She didn't betrayed her dead friend (Ba La). Supported Xu Yi until end

THIS MOVIE IS BETTER THAN THE RATINGS GIVE IT CREDIT FOR!♡

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
baijingting
0 people found this review helpful
May 25, 2018
Completed 0
Overall 8.5
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 6.0
(8.5/10) Story: Such a unique storyline, but flawed in a way where I felt like something was missing at the end.

(10/10) Cast: I'm not really familiar with the cast, besides infamous Yang Yang, however, I was so immersed. Their acting captivated me till the end! Really worth watching. Splendid casting.

(10/10) Music: Don't trust me on this. I don't really pay attention to music at all. However, Ba La did have a singing scene which sounded really pretty.

(6/10) Rewatch Value: I would totally [and happily] rewatch this film if I was super bored and didn't want to watch anything else.

|| S P O I L E R S A H E A D - I N D E P T H R E V I E W A H E A D ||
I would have given this a super good score because I enjoyed this film a lot... However, every time I remember how Zhang Yang was violent towards Ba La, I want to throw up. Yet it seems like by the end of the film, no one even remembers that anymore. Yes, the bigger focus was on Ba La's tragic death and Zhang Yang blamed himself for calling Ba La a slut; however, he never really seemed to be apologetic for fucking abusing Ba La or even for cheating on his ex with Ba La.

I also wish Xu Yi had a more definite closure. I think the directors wanted to show how fucked up Xu Yi's character was ever since Ba La's death and his family situation; however, having him cheat on Li Er seemed so pointless. I really do wish Li Er was successful in saving Xu Yi from his mental break, even if it's just as friends.

However, maybe all of this is what made me like the film so much? Because it touched on so many sensitive topics in such a rounded way. Though I really can not forgive the physical abuse that Zhang Yang did on Ba La.

Also, Ba La's character is so beautiful. She has so many legit reasons to be fucked up, yet she had such an innocent mind at the same time? I'm not excusing the fucked up shit she did [and the director did a good job showing how she wasn't a good influence on Xu Yi, who started to be a bad boy, or Li Er, who started smoking] but her character was just so flawed in such a beautiful way.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
The Left Ear (2015) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.5 (scored by 1,198 users)
  • Ranked: #5739
  • Popularity: #4099
  • Watchers: 2,912

Top Contributors

10 edits
8 edits
7 edits
6 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
Film (Serious)
204 titles 83 loves
Chinese Movies
51 titles 21 loves
« Chinese - Movies »
66 titles 9 loves

Recently Watched By