Completed
emchi
57 people found this review helpful
May 8, 2018
60 of 60 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.0
Story 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 8.0
Very enjoyable, reversal of the drama norms, great to see a strong woman lead, and the pretty, weaker male, but she loves him regardless, he too at first refused his arranged marriage to her, but slowly fell in love with her and became her strongest supporter, really nice to see. Can't say enough about Sandra Ma's and Sheng Yilun's acting, really good, also fell in love with his voice, both opening and ending songs of each episode worth listening to, but I just love his ending song, Loyalty, throwback song, but such an easy to listen to, soothing voice.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Pacha Vang
45 people found this review helpful
May 22, 2018
60 of 60 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.5
This is a hilarious drama for me I enjoyed every episode!! This is a must watch if you are looking for something new ! Love the romance chemistry in here! The acting was great the actors and actresses all fit in perfectly ! I love the main couple as well as the second lead. This Romance gives off a new vibe of understanding and willingness to listen to one another. The ending was adorable but I believe it could have been better showing the younger faces instead of older. Please give this drama some love !! ??
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
mellorine
14 people found this review helpful
Dec 20, 2018
60 of 60 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
I HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!

It does stick to its genre of being ROMANCE, COMEDY, HISTORICAL and MILITARY!

NO DOUBT ABOUT THAT!

Well, where to start. hmmmm.

[The Story]
YOU ARE SO GONNA LOVE THE PLOT. Its about a woman pretending to be a guy for the war. She became a war hero so when she revealed to the emperor her real identity, she was pardoned. After knowing she's a woman, the emperor took this chance to marry her off to a prince. This prince is quite opposite to the girl. Their roles here might be a bit reversed however, from time to time, you will see the main girls feminine side bought out by the guy and you will see the guy's manly side bought out by the girl. They complete each other's personality. In the entire series, YOU WILL LOVE the development of the characters relationship. One good thing about this, is that it's not just about the two of them but also how they contribute to their country and how that contribution helped their character progress in time.

[The Ending]
Well, the ending is good but not THAT satisfying. Just finish it and find out for yourself. DONT WORRY, YOU ARE NOT GONNA REGRET IT!

The OST also deserves an applause! It makes you feel SO EMOTIONAL! The song makes you cry out of nostalgia... It makes you feel like the main characters are real people from legend..Their love really feels so real.
[P.S. The main guy sang it too with some other singer which is not the main girl]

Speaking of legend, they kind of remind me of the real ballad of Mu Lan. The main girl is Mu Lan and the guy is her lover. The series really does make you believe that the main characters really were legendary lovers from the past, like they were actually part of history and that you can still feel their love resonance to the present. Watching the series makes you feel like you were back at those ancient time too.


Will I re-watch it? I already did for the 4th time already AND I WILL AGAIN after I finish the rest on my list
Do I recommend it? YEAH! OF COURSE!!! GO WATCH IT NOW!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
PriscillaW
10 people found this review helpful
Jul 18, 2020
60 of 60 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers

Tomboy meets metrosexual guy in dynastic period & ignore what people say

Simply said, "I loved it!" :) A series where the main characters defy what's accepted as the gender roles during their times to just be themselves with a little conformity here and there. This series just kept me laughing and smiling then eager to get back to the main couple, Ye Zhao (Ma Sichun) & Zhao Yujin(Sheng Yi Lun), whenever the main plot shifted back to the issues of betrayal, murder, war & dethronement rose up outside of them. It was nearly impossible for me to stop watching, especially with how sweet, spoiled but brave & adorably bratty Peter Sheng's character Yujin is in this series and the way Sondra Ma's character, Ye Zhao's, bravery, loyalty, strength and mischievousness perfectly fits Yujin. They both grow as a couple. Ye Zhao's powerful presence is balanced out by Yujin's seemingly meekness & beauty. Both of them are beautiful and Yujin dancing is just as gorgeous to watch as Ye Zhao practicing her martial arts. Yujin's constant use of "bah! (pēi, 呸)" that it flows so easily every time he says it, forever makes it his trademark phrase for this character to me. XD From the music to the effects, they were done quite well lol except!! there was a road/path that was taken 3 or 4 different times, looked the same each time, but was still being used and messengers kept getting killed. There was a bit of a rush on revealing the identity of the spy who betrayed the Ye family, but all in all, this was an enjoyable series to watch!

I was especially pleased to hear and later find out that Peter Sheng did both the opening and ending songs for the series. He has a beautiful singing voice. Hu Qing & Qiu Shui, beautiful couple. Xiyin & Haerdun would've also been a beautiful couple if not for their tragic end. The cast & crew are to be praised. Old Minister Yang & Grandpa Ye show you that just because they've been kissed by time, they still got moves to amaze & tickle you. To my surprise, an actor I've seen in 3 other series so far, Zhao Zhen Ting is very adorable and petulant as Xu Duohua!!! I love him being able to fully express the character he plays. As Xu Duohua, Zhao is just really expressive & sweet! So happy to see him in this series <3

So you have to see it all the way through to the end! lol they'll make you laugh time & time again. I'll be honest though, the end, I mean the very end was sweet but ... I feel like they could have given us a glimpse of Ye Zhao pregnant, Yujin at the delivery and a view of all their kids. That would've been nice to see.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
ejwoodrum
8 people found this review helpful
Mar 13, 2019
60 of 60 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

Great Great Drama + Great Great Cast

One of the best dramas I've seen in a long time. Peter Sheng and Sandra Ma showed great chemistry throughout the entire drama. It was as if the parts were written just for them. I passed this drama up several times before finally deciding to give it a shot and its storyline and cast went above and beyond my expectations. In many scenes I laughed until I cried. I will definitely watch it more than once. I enjoyed every episode although midway the main characters weren't seen as much as I would have liked. The other cast members were outstanding in their parts and made the drama one that will be in my top 5 for years to come. Don't miss out on this one. From beginning to end it doesn't fail to entertain except that the ending could have been better written. I wish they would have shown them still young enjoying their children more after all the conflict between the different clans had ended and they could enjoy married life together. I still loved it and highly recommend it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Lia0215
7 people found this review helpful
Oct 8, 2020
60 of 60 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

One of the best historicl dramas

Lets start with the story although it had some clichés, like the struggle for power within the court. We also get to see new things like a soft male lead and our tough general female lead. The roles got reversed which is something refreshing to see. Our female lead was also smart and was never a damsel in distress. We also have two loyal friends who never betray her and major character development from all of them. We got to see how our duke changed from a playboy to someone demoted to his wife. This story has to simply the best historical drama out there. I also loved how they stayed loyal to each other after they started getting along.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
T ehko
7 people found this review helpful
May 30, 2019
60 of 60 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 10
TLDR - Watch it.

I didn't go into watching this with many expectations as im generally not a fan of role reversal. But they used a BAD trope in a very original an likeable way making it better and more real than most all other dramas.

Comedy - I almost rarely find Eastern 'humor' in these shows or novels funny. This has its funny moments. Like the ML in that 'tea house' (or whatever it was ); simply Outrageous. I think i kept saying why is this happening but was chuckling the entire time.

It even has some angst, and political fare. Its really good.

Its main drawback is that it never takes itself overly serious, but that is also its strength. As such it avoids really dumb plots we see associated with trying too hard to make the audience feel bad. So if something bad happens, you can expect a resolution at some point... not a 50 episode slog to see that maybe the character was okay. And right after the resolution to an issue it doesn't have to be the next powerful lady/man who steps up to be the bad guy (the entire show is a great mix of story).

Its just better than 99% of the other shows out there. How it has a 8.0 is a quandary to me. No pretty enough people, not enough fan service? Isn't self hating or depressing? I don't know the reason, i do know its great.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Komentator isenk
5 people found this review helpful
Jun 17, 2020
60 of 60 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers
One of the funniest drama that i watched so far. How can the writer come up with the stories like this... :D

If you think this is typical stories that dominate women than men you can't be more wrong. This unordinary stories that tell how a strong women try not to make her man feel unappreciated especially because this stories setting in the past where men typically became dominant.

This stories also tell us how the under achievement men become strong & can became something when there is a women (or anyone) push him & believe him from behind.

What I love in this stories is In the review we can read Yu Jin (YJ) describe as "pampered, lazy and spends his time on "useless" artistic pursuits" but because of Ye Zhao (YZ) who believe YJ is not like what people see him at the end YJ can prove himself to become someone that is not just an empty shell.

I also love this stories even though YZ is so strong as a women, but when it come to her families (YJ families or her own) she can become so humble and not over bearing.

Re-watch: like to re-watch several ep but not from begin to end

Overall: This funny stories is show how love and how to support each other. Very suggested for you who search new kind of drama to watch....

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
krystellaris (kryst)
4 people found this review helpful
May 4, 2020
60 of 60 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 7.0
Story: I think like for most ppl actually the play with stereotypical gender roles is what made the series stood out first, while later seeing the hilarious comedy value. I personally wished that the series have just kept it's essence like the first 20 episodes, where comedy was the main plot. Because from the 30th episode the series definitely got weaker in my eyes with the drama and political focus, which is much less entertaining. I would have given at least 9,5 points to the series if they have kept the quality and comedy focus of the first 20 episodes.

acting/cast: I have to say it has been a while, where I was that satisfied with a cast. Like the main leads nailed their roles and supporting casts are in their role completely as well. I especially actually loved the mother of the male lead lol.

Definitely worth watching, one of the funniest c-dramas I've seen. You might need to get used to the style of this work. So at least watch the second episode, if you make it through then you got a series for laughter for a while.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Riley Kim
4 people found this review helpful
Aug 18, 2018
60 of 60 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 9.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 9.0
The story as well as the cast were good. Both Sheng Peter and Ma Sandra portrayed their role very well. The characters development was also amazing, as you would love the evil or irritating characters at the last episode. The transition between the hate relationship to love of the leads were also good, its just that during episode 20 on wards the story focuses more on the family/political issues that sometimes both the leads were not seen. In addition the ending was quite disappointing as it looked like it was rushed. It would have been better if the story line continued were it left off rather than skip it to a much further years. But overall, the drama was worth the watch.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Tayjessi
4 people found this review helpful
Jun 26, 2021
60 of 60 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

I wish I could watch this again for the first time

This is a masterpiece! I love it so much this lived up to its name! It literally brings you on the battle field and you see everything! Unlike other dramas that barely show any fighting....
Normally in dramas i would develop a crush on the ML, set him for my screensavers search for his social media accounts and all that...he is awesome and handsome and yes i still went to search for him, but this time...this is the first time where I've fallen in love with the female lead instead!!!!
Shes just a badbitch! And also her sis inlaw and two wing women... Bad bitches all of them.

This is the best gender reversed show ever.

The castings ? Amazing
The story? Even better!

General Ye showed them nasty officials and the e tire kingdom that a woman doesn't need to always be tied down with just cooking, embroidery and having kids!
She proved to them that women can take charge and i freaking loved that!!!

LISTEN TO MEEEE!!! WATCH IT!!!
ITS LENGHTHY BUT WATCH IT, YOU'LL GET YOURSELF HOOKED.

I AM SATISFIED! AND I WILL DEFINELTY REWATCH!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Cambear
3 people found this review helpful
Dec 19, 2018
60 of 60 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 8.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.0
A refreshing break with gender norms — a lot of women kick butt and the main lead is a beta male that’s more obsessed with artwork than martial arts.

The story works best when it’s focused on the main leads. There’s lots of fun and romance as this mismatched couple get to know each other. It’s so refreshing to see the role reversal and it’s not overplayed.

The secondary couples also have their moments and are actually pretty strong since I usually get bored by them. It helps that they aren’t the norm — scheming to get their love back by doing evil things that no one really notices. These characters get fleshed out and are almost too noble. Also very unique - people in this era aren’t obsessed with gender so much as the person. Nice to see some variety here.

One major hiccup — the story wanders around from episodes 20 to 40 as they need to stretch for time. This section is all about politics so it’s a lot of sitting around and talking. And talking. Yawn.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Oh My General (2017) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 7.9 (scored by 3,956 users)
  • Ranked: #3016
  • Popularity: #1441
  • Watchers: 11,177

Top Contributors

63 edits
52 edits
38 edits
22 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users

Recently Watched By