Completed
ASWATY
26 people found this review helpful
27 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 7
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 8.0

It was realistic first episode

Some will say it was boring, but don't believe them. Some people will say bad things about the actress cause she is not good in kissing scenes ?. Bro kissing scenes don't define an actors talent. ?. Now for the story.The healing you are looking for won't get in first episode. because the story had to be on track first. I think second episode will be promising.The school days scene were so funny.I think the actors are doing great.I think from second episode, the real story will begin. So I recommended to watch it.
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Anete143
9 people found this review helpful
20 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 7.5
Rewatch Value 7.0

Its just a realy cute romcom.

Its soooooo good. I am obssesed. 100% obssesed with it and I love to see both of them in a kdrama as main roles its so unexpected but I am here for it. I font like medical, doctor kdramas and was thinking I wont watch this one buuuut I gave one episode a try and I am sooooo happy I did juz this kdrama is going to be a masterpice I can feel it. Its mostly going to be a romance, comedy and a bit of melodrama but just a bit. Anyway I think you reading this should defionetly watch it like its also only 16 episodes. ?
Was this review helpful to you?
Completed
Always embarrassed
8 people found this review helpful
23 days ago
16 of 16 episodes seen
Completed 1
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10

Enjoyable

Park Shin-Hye's return to the screen in this captivating Kdrama is nothing short of a triumphant comeback. Paired alongside the esteemed Park Hyun-sik, the chemistry between the two actors is palpable, adding depth and authenticity to the storyline. With just two episodes in, it's evident that this series has the potential to etch its name in the annals of Kdrama history as one of the finest. For those on the fence about giving it a chance, fear not; the magnetic performances and engrossing plot make it a must-watch. So, without further hesitation, dive into this mesmerizing tale and witness the magic unfold!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 4/16
Coolforthesummer
20 people found this review helpful
27 days ago
4 of 16 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 9.0
Story 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 8.5
Rewatch Value 8.5

A Promising Start

Episode 1 was a delightful blend of humor, emotion, drama, sadness and heartwarming moments. It encompassed a variety of elements, creating a well rounded experience.

The beginning was solid and it seems like the writer has a compelling story to tell, a quality that i found lacking in recent romance/ romcom dramas.

The chemistry between the leads is evident, showcasing great potential.

The school scenes stood out as particularly amazing, im eager for more of such moments.

The use of color grading and filters in different scenes was impressive effectively setting the tone and enhancing the mood.

The music is pretty nostalgic, it will remind you of some old good drama music from 2016-18 dramas.

The leads journey to healing themselves is going to be really interesting.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 4/16
dreamfull78
8 people found this review helpful
20 days ago
4 of 16 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 9.0
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 9.0
Rewatch Value 9.0

Love, rest, and heal : A path to overcoming Depression

This drama blends comedy, romance, and mental health issues to give a masterpiece; It also shows the importance of taking care of yourself and your mental health, which is a much-needed message that everyone needs to hear.

The beginning was slow, however, the drama quickly began to quick up in the following episodes; the story is interesting, and you see yourself watching in anticipation of what's going to happen in the following episodes.

- Plot: So far, the plot is set up nicely and as the episodes progress, you can see the character's growth as well as the slow healing process. The past and the presence flashbacks scenes are well down and do not become annoying, instead are a delightful watch.

Also, I liked that both characters were going through something that they helped one another heal and grow; instead of one lead following around the other "to help them" both of the leads were actively trying to help one another and saw each other at their lowest as they healed together.

The genre of comedy and romance are well balanced along with addressing important mental health issues like healing through depression. I know I will be going back and rewatching this drama in the future.

- Acting: This drama is Park Shin-Hye's return to the screen and she's doing an amazing job acting alongside Hyung Sik. They pulled off those high school outfits and did not look as if they aged since they saw each other 11 years ago!

Also, the kissing scene has not come back yet, but they have done such a good job at acting, I wouldn't mind if the kissing scenes were awful.

- Music: The music gives very nostalgic feelings and adds warmth to the drama, instead of taking away from it. Sometimes, we see the music taking over the drama and distracting us from watching, but in this drama, the music did not do that, instead added to it.

Overall, this drama is a light-hearted watch with important themes regarding mental health. Watching them grow and heal, truly does heal something within you as well. So, make sure to watch it because you end up loving it! (so obsessed!!)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Dropped 8/16
Xtinew
2 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
8 of 16 episodes seen
Dropped 0
Overall 5.0
Story 5.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Music 7.0
Rewatch Value 3.5
This review may contain spoilers

NOT IMPRESSED BY

Park Hyung-Sik
Does he lose weight? I can see his cheek bone, when he smile there's obvious deep wrinkles around his eyes. His baggy cloths, some part he acted childish. He probably just acting cute, but he's a surgeon, did he forget his actual character that none of surgeon ever act cute? He's mischaracteristic his part. While Park Shin-Hye didn't make a better impression either (why did she flip her hair so much?).

Holding hand scene
Sigh....seriously though. They're not in High School anymore. 2 adults who acted like kindergarten first love, especially when they're both medical doctors who know so much about human anatomy and biology, why should they acted squeamish, petrified than simply shy. Although they both adults (not young anymore) first time in love, their acting was barely.

SYSTEM IN KOREA
I don't understand the system in Korea. Is that true that doctor can get pay cuts easily? A Professor can bully and scream on top of his lung humiliating intern just like that? 2nd ML got no patients because of....(he wasn't in tik-tok?), administer drugs to patient in operating room without knowledge from the anesthesiologist? Is it really hard to find job as a doctor in Korea?

It's a bad directive, not good acting, dropped it on ep 8.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 8/16
IT leisure
1 people found this review helpful
2 days ago
8 of 16 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 8.0
Music 5.0
Rewatch Value 10

Finally 2 intelligent lead love story

My favourite love story is Japanese anime kareshi kanoshi. Two intelligent independent characters falling in love and loving lovingly, with good sense and supporting each other strongly . Hard to find such love story but Dr Slump seems to be one. Ep8 still good. Hope it end well. Skip all other dull characters and scenes. Focus on the ML&FL story is much more enjoyable. At least for me, a skip queen?. Hope you enjoy the drama!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 8/16
Shimo
1 people found this review helpful
4 days ago
8 of 16 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 10
This review may contain spoilers

Doctor Slump is giving me many butterflies while watching it

It's a very normal story about two people who share pain and disappointment about their life and the unexpected path it took.

After long years of hard work to be a doctor Ha Neul (Park Shin Hye) requit her job after knowing that she is depressed to take a break to think and take care of herself. In the other hand we have Yeo Jeong Woo (Park Hyung Sik) who is a very popular Plastic surgeon, but loses everything after a terrible surgery. So he moves on the roof in the house of Neul.
Then we got to know that were classmates in the high school, not a normal classmates but a very competitive ones, so we got to see many and many funny moments between them and also flashbacks when they were just students and believe me they competit about everything like : "let's find out who has the worst life !?" Hehe .

And i loved how they support each other when they're at their worst, and how she believed he was innocent from the first moment.
i loved the chemistry between Shin Hye & Hyung Sik ( something i wanted to watch since the Heirs).
And how warm and cozy is the dialogue in the drama! I cried in many scenes with them ㅠㅠ
I loved many supporting characters too like Nam Ba Da ( God, the sister brother interactions are so natural and funny),
And i liked Dae Young ( a true friend trusts in you even when everyone claims you are guilty).
I never wrote a review before watching the whole drama BUT this one is special!!! Can't wait to see more :)

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 2/16
linxminx
2 people found this review helpful
26 days ago
2 of 16 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 8.5
Story 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Music 9.5
Rewatch Value 8.0
This review may contain spoilers

Success Doesn't Always Bring Happiness

I've only watched two episodes, but I feel this has the makings of a really good Kdrama. This is taking a look at the very real impact ambition has on mental health. The two main characters are the star pupils of their high school. What comes with being the top student is not only the pressure of one's own expectations and ambition, but having to live up to the expectations of everyone around you. Being the top at anything also seems to carry with it the idea that that top person is perfect in all things. Not only is this not true, but the reality is that carrying the pressure to constantly be perfect, and at the top in all things, often leads to burn out and depression. If by chance one does make it to the top, it takes next to nothing for you to fall and fail, even if it isn't your fault. The story begins with the two leads established in their careers and are both experiencing a low point. We get to see in both the mental toll competition, ambition, and drive does to them, and also how very fickle the world around them is when faced with these low points in their professional lives . Luckily they have each other. The race to the top is brutal, but so is the fall from the top where you find out who your true friends really are. That's where our two main leads are in the first two episodes.

It has the makings of a really good story. So far it's been excellent. I hope it continues. The soundtrack also seems to be really good.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 6/16
Nimue
2 people found this review helpful
25 days ago
6 of 16 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 8.5
Story 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Music 8.0
Rewatch Value 8.5

Take a step back, breathe and come back strong as a log.

This theme is well suited to many of us. Everyone of us could use a little break from our hectic life and this drama delivers such a refreshing take on mental illness; its taboo and aftermath. I love the premise of it although some may find it as another cliche.

Story
It’s a simple story but it is told to invite us in to love all the characters and how the story will takes us. The setup was done way back from school years to adulthood. The dynamic is pretty consistent throughout the first two episodes. I didn't even notice how fluid it is as time passed by and now I can't wait for the upcoming episode.

In a nutshell, it's about two rival ex-schoolmates, Ha neul and Jeong-woo, who are momentarily in the 'slump' of their life somehow destined to be entangled in a web of affection. I'm eagerly anticipating how their relationship will unfold as the setup is pretty solid. This duo has incredible chemistry in my opinion. From rival to ally which would blossomed into love. Such a classic trope but well executed.

Cast
Park Hyung-sik as Jeong-woo is such a class act. His fall from grace and how he copes with it were handled effortlessly. His carefree persona resonates well as to adapt with the difficult situation he's in. As for his childlike behaviour is such a charmed pleaser. And when Ha neul starts to awaken his dormant competitiveness, I naturally shift on to his side and began to root for him all the way (no offence to Ha neul, I still think you're amazing).

Park Shin-hye as Ha neul is amazing in this. For the first time she is not acting as a ‘damsel in distress’ in a romance drama. The moment when she stood up for herself on her own terms was pretty satisfying. I was never really fond of her works in this genre before but now I'm her new fan. She is killing this character. Her antics and comic expressions really convince me as this 'manic' Ha neul. She really is the weirdly-ignorant-study-holic gal who will stop at nothing to reach her goal.

The rest of the cast are great as well; Ha neul's family is on crack. Her best-friend is pretty good and I can't wait for her story to unfold with Jeong-woo's ‘frenemy’. This second lead couple looks promising as well.

Music
It's ok so far.

Will I watch this again?
Still ongoing but I would say yes for now.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 2/16
BlackNinja
2 people found this review helpful
26 days ago
2 of 16 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
Before watching this I saw some people
say Ep1 was Meh and not that wow But
I'm already Sold off just when l'm done
with ep1 because AHH this is actually the
first Kdrama I've seen this year that
actually making me stay. I like The First
EP 1which is A SOLID start to building
the internal conflict and The Hook of a
show. makes a viewer wants to
know...what happens next. Pretty good
writing there tbh. that's what's needed in
a good 1st EP.
Impress me how they still Look good and
Young in Highschool! (Not Young as
realistic high schooler) BUT how are they
still so young omg. it's been years.
Acting wise l'm not worried AT ALL.
PARK shin Hye is serving and l'm glad she
is as always
Hyunsik wow. His facial expressions are
literally my fav type of things.
Effortlessly funny. me getting flashback
of MinMin
Excited for more. With 16 eps please
don't let me down!!

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Ongoing 2/16
Dramaqueen12345678
1 people found this review helpful
26 days ago
2 of 16 episodes seen
Ongoing 0
Overall 10
Story 10
Acting/Cast 10
Music 10
Rewatch Value 10
This is my first review ever for a drama series. Just 2 episodes in and I’m loving it already. As someone who had suffered the Burnout Syndrome years ago, the story resonates with me so much. I was so moved by the female lead and I cried with the two leads at the end of Ep 2.

Male lead’s predicament also incidentally echoes the recent tragedy of an actor when he suffered a dramatic fall from grace. The line between right and wrong is blurred. Years of hard work and success could be destroyed just overnight.

The premise is dark and heavy yet the series injects hope and narrates its story in a bright and lighthearted manner. There’s in fact plenty of LOL moments. (Hyungsik is so funny ?)

Good story, great humor and brilliant acting so far. This healing drama deserves all of the hype and more. Hope it gets even better. Just stream it.

Read More

Was this review helpful to you?
Doctor Slump (2024) poster

Details

Statistics

  • Score: 8.6 (scored by 3,423 users)
  • Ranked: #380
  • Popularity: #517
  • Watchers: 26,269

Top Contributors

179 edits
63 edits
28 edits
21 edits

Popular Lists

Related lists from users
All Time Favorite Dramas
671 titles 1649 loves 35
Upcoming Korean Dramas & Movies
226 titles 245 loves 4
MY PLAN TO WATCH (2020-2023)
821 titles 26 loves

Recently Watched By