So I have been listening to Kpop for a few years now and I know it has been in the west for a while but kind  of a niche interest - like how people in the west like Kdrama or anime but it is kind of a subculture? 

And I know Kpop became more well known to western audiences because of BTS and maybe Blackpink but I didn't realize how popular/mainstream it had become. I chanced upon a teen fashion magazine website the other day (teenVogue) and I was surprised at number of articles related to Kpop artists. It even included artists like Exo or Mamamoo. 

So out of curiosity, just how mainstream is Kpop in general in the west, aside from BTS? I don't listen to the radio a lot but are there a lot of Kpop songs played? Do people in school talk about Kpop the same way as Dua Lipa or Taylor Swift?

It is not mainstream in the US, and I would imagine that holds true for most of the West. My guess is that it will be very difficult to become mainstream unless Korean groups cater to potential listeners by using English.

Korean (Asian) dramas and anime have the luxury of being subtitled or even dubbed, something that is difficult to do if you are just listening to music.

Fashion magazines might feature them because magazines have global appeal and the most popular K-Pop artists are usually young, stylish, and beautiful. It is easier to translate style and beauty than language.

Something is either mainstream or it is not, there is no half measure. The rewards are so great that while it may never be mainstream, it seems here (in the West) to stay.

I don't know if I ever listened to any k-pop song (from a radio) in my country (in central Europe) except PSY-Gangnam style. In TV there are also no free stations that would show animes (except pokemon). Everything that they show is some US cartoons like Simpsons and Futurama. But maybe my country is not the right "West" :D